DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed August 6, 2025 have been entered. Claims 1, 3-4, 6-14, 16-18, and 20-24 are pending, but stand rejected for the reasons detailed below.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 31, “a front face” should read --the front face-- considering “a front face” was previously introduced in line 9.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 7-9, 14, 20-21, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cai (CN Publication No. 112255803, as cited in IDS) in view of Jeong (KR Publication No. 102157575), Yoon (US Publication No. 2021/0029855), and Ishii (US Publication No. 2008/0292128).
Regarding claim 1, Cai discloses an electronic device comprising: a display member (display component of AR glasses 1000) comprising at least one glass (lens of AR glasses 100); a frame (frame 200) supporting at least a portion of the display member (display portion of 1000); and a leg member (temple 100) coupled to at least one side of the frame (200), wherein the leg member (100) comprises: a first structure (first housing 11), a second structure (second housing 12) coupled with the first structure (11), a speaker (electroacoustic module 20) between the first structure (11) and the second structure (12), a front face (sound emitting portion 21) of the speaker (20) being configured to radiate sound in a first direction (toward 1111; see Figure 6), a printed circuit board (circuit board 42) disposed in the space (101) formed between the first structure (11) and the second structure (12), a rib (comprised of inner stepped portion of baffles 1113, 1114, plates 1115, 1116, and partition plate 30) comprised in at least one of the first structure (11) or the second structure and accommodating the printed circuit board (42), a sound radiation hole (sound outlet 102), wherein a rear face of the speaker (side of 20 opposite sound emitting portion 21) is disposed to face a resonance space (Figures 3-6, comprised of space between 12 and 20, 40 and space accommodating 41) formed between the first structure (11) and the second structure (12), wherein the resonance space (comprised of space between 12 and 20, 40 and space accommodating 41) includes a first space (space between 12 and 42; see Figure 5) in which the printed circuit board (42) is disposed, wherein the resonance space (comprised of space between 12 and 20, 40 and space accommodating 41) is connected to the rear face of the speaker (side of 20 opposite 21) and is configured to provide a resonance with respect to sound radiated in a second direction (toward 12) opposite to the first direction (toward 1111), wherein the resonance space (comprised of space between 12 and 20, 40 and space accommodating 41) is spatially continuous (through space provided between partition 30 and 12; see Figure 3) with the first space (space between 12 and 42) in which at least one electronic component (components on 42) is disposed on the printed circuit board (42), wherein a front face of the speaker (sound emitting portion 21) is spatially connected to the sound radiation hole (102) through a second space (sound guiding cavity 103) spatially separated from the resonance space (comprised of space between 12 and 20, 40 and space accommodating 41) and the first space (space between 12 and 42), wherein the second space (sound guiding cavity 103 within first chamber 1011) is formed by the first structure (11) and the second structure (12) and is smaller than the resonance space (comprised of space between 12 and 20, 40 and space accommodating 41; see Figures 3-6), wherein one surface of the printed circuit board (portion of 42 facing 12; see Figure 3) is disposed to face the first space (space between 12 and 42), wherein another surface of the printed circuit board (portion of 42 facing 111; see Figure 3) is disposed to face a radiating space (space between 42 and bottom plate 111; see Figure 3) separated (by 42) from the resonance space (comprised of space between 12 and 20, 40 and space accommodating 41).
Cai does not disclose at least one ventilation hole formed in at least one of the first structure or the second structure, and a sound radiation hole formed in an area spaced apart from the at least one ventilation hole, wherein the resonance space is spatially continuous with the at least one ventilation hole through a first space in which at least one electronic component is disposed on the printed circuit board, so as to facilitate emission of heat, generated from the at least one electronic component into the first space, to outside through the ventilation holes.
However, Jeong teaches at least one ventilation hole (holes in cover 230 aligned with microphones 15, 16) formed in at least one of the first structure or the second structure (cover 230, corresponding to 12 in Cai), and a sound radiation hole (sound outlet 330, corresponding to 120 in Cai) formed in an area spaced apart from the at least one ventilation hole (holes aligned with 15, 16), wherein the at least one ventilation hole (holes aligned with 15, 16) is spatially continuous with a first space (space between circuit board 12 and cover 230) in which at least one electronic component (microphones 15, 16) is disposed on the printed circuit board (12) so as to facilitate emission of heat, generated from the at least one electronic component (15, 16) into the first space (space between circuit board 12 and cover 230), to outside through the ventilation holes (holes aligned with 15, 16) (NOTE: holes in cover 230 functionally capable of dissipating any heat generated by microphones or any other electronic components on circuit board).
Because Cai and Jeong teach similar temple configurations (see Figure 5 in Cai and Figure 4 in Jeong), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the microphones and ventilation holes of Jeong to the printed circuit board and second cover of Cai, respectively, such that the resonance space (space in first chamber 1011, between 20 and 12 in Cai) is spatially continuous with the at least one ventilation hole (holes in 12 in Cai, as modified by Jeong) through the first space (space in second chamber 1012, between 12 and 40 in Cai) in which at least one electronic component (components on 42 in Cai, including microphones 15, 16 combined from Jeong) is disposed on the printed circuit board (42 in Cai, as modified by Jeong). Doing so would have allowed the electronic device of Cai to receive and process sound inputs from a user during a phone call (see page 3 of Jeong).
Cai in view of Jeong does not teach wherein the radiating space includes at least one heat radiating member guiding a heat radiation direction.
However, Yoon teaches a surface of the printed circuit board (Figure 6, top surface of 340, including processing device 341) is disposed to face a radiating space (space above 340), wherein the radiating space (space above 340) includes at least one heat radiating member (comprised of TIM 392 and heat dissipation member 393) and guiding a heat radiation direction (away from 340).
Because Cai also suggests the circuit board includes processing components (see page 4 and Figure 3), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have arranged the processing device of Cai as modified by Jeong in a radiating space of the PCB in Cai, as taught in Yoon, considering it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C). Doing so would have also allowed the circuit board to process/execute software and managed the connected electronic components (see Paragraph [0031] in Yoon).
It would have also been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the heat radiating member of Yoon to the radiating space and PCB of Cai as modified by Yoon. Doing so would have improved the heat dissipation of the circuit board and protected the circuit board from electromagnetic interferences (see Paragraphs [0005]-[0013] in Yoon).
Cai in view of Jeong and Yoon does not explicitly teach wherein the emission of heat, generated from the at least one electronic component into the first space, to outside through the ventilation holes, is driven by sound radiating into the resonance space.
However, the principle of thermoacoustic cooling is not new. For example, Ishii teaches wherein the emission of heat (see Figure 3 and Paragraph [0010]), generated from at least one electronic component (components on circuit board 5) into a first space (space adjacent 5 and openings 10), to outside through ventilation holes (opening portions 10), is driven by sound radiating into a resonance space (space between 9 and 5).
Because the resonance space of Cai as modified by Jeong and Yoon is spatially continuous with the first space and the ventilation holes, the device of Cai as modified by Jeong and Yoon is considered to be capable of performing the thermoacoustic cooling function, as evidenced by Ishii, absent any claimed structural difference. See MPEP § 2114 I & II, "While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function... A claim containing a 'recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus' if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.” In the instant case, the resonance space of Cai as modified by Jeong and Yoon is spatially continuous with the first space and the ventilation holes, and is therefore capable of performing the recited function.
Regarding claim 4, Cai in view of Jeong, Yoon, and Ishii teaches the electronic device of claim 1, and further teaches (in Yoon) wherein the at least one heat radiating member (392, 393) includes a first heat radiating member (plate 612 of 393), a second heat radiating member (spreader 611 of 393), and a third heat radiating member (392), wherein the first heat radiating member (612) includes a radiating plate (see Figure 6), wherein the second heat radiating member (611) includes a heat pipe (see Paragraph [0050]), and wherein the third heat radiating member (392) includes a graphite sheet (Figure 7 and Paragraph [0050], conductive layer 712 of 392 being comprised of graphite).
Regarding claim 7, Cai in view of Jeong, Yoon, and Ishii teaches the electronic device of claim 1, further comprising (in Cai): a sealing member (Figures 4-7, stepped wall adjacent slot 1119 accommodating 12) in at least one region of the rib (comprised of inner stepped portion of baffles 1113, 1114, plates 1115, 1116, and partition plate 30; see Figure 7), wherein the sealing member (stepped wall of slot 1119 accommodating 12) is configured to accommodate the speaker (20) and the printed circuit board (42).
Regarding claim 8, Cai in view of Jeong, Yoon, and Ishii teaches the electronic device of claim 7, and further teaches (in Cai) wherein the sealing member (wall of 1119) comprises a closed curve shape (see Figures 5-6) along a circumference of the rib (comprised of inner stepped portion of baffles 1113, 1114, plates 1115, 1116, and partition plate 30) accommodating the speaker (20) and the printed circuit board (42).
Regarding claim 9, Cai in view of Jeong, Yoon, and Ishii teaches the electronic device of claim 1, and further teaches (in Cai) wherein the at least one ventilation hole (holes in 12 of Cai, as modified by Jeong) is disposed in at least one region of an upper portion or a lower portion (in a region/area adjacent 116) of the rib (inner stepped portion of baffles 1113, 1114, plates 1115, 1116, and partition plate 30).
Regarding claim 14, Cai discloses an electronic device comprising: a display member (display component of AR glasses 1000) comprising at least one glass (lens of AR glasses 100); a frame (frame 200) supporting at least a portion of the display member (display component of AR glasses 1000); and a leg member (temple 100) coupled to at least one side of the frame (200), wherein the leg member (100) comprises: a housing (comprised of first housing 11 and second housing 12), a speaker (electroacoustic module 20) disposed inside the housing (11, 12), a front face of the speaker (sound emitting portion 21 of 20) being configured to radiate sound in a first direction (toward 1111; see Figure 6), a printed circuit board (circuit board 42) disposed in the space (between 11 and 12) formed inside the housing (11, 12), a rib (comprised of inner stepped portion of baffles 1113, 1114, plates 1115, 1116, and partition plate 30) configured to accommodate the printed circuit board (42) in at least one region of the housing (11, 12), a sound radiation hole (sound outlet 102) formed in the housing (11, 12), wherein a rear face of the speaker (side of 20 opposite sound emitting portion 21) is disposed to face a resonance space (space in first chamber 1011, between 20 and 12) formed inside the housing (11, 12), wherein the resonance space (comprised of space between 12 and 20, 40 and space accommodating 41) includes a first space (space between 12 and 42; see Figure 5) in which the printed circuit board (42) is disposed, wherein the resonance space (comprised of space between 12 and 20, 40 and space accommodating 41) is connected to the rear face of the speaker (side of 20 opposite 21) and is configured to provide a resonance with respect to sound radiated in a second direction (toward 12) opposite to the first direction (toward 1111), wherein the resonance space (space in 1011, between 20 and 12) is spatially continuous (through space provided between partition 30 and 12) through a first space (space in second chamber 1012, between 12 and 40) in which at least one electronic component (components on 42; see Figure 2 and 5) is disposed on the printed circuit board (42), wherein a front face of the speaker (sound emitting portion 21) is spatially connected to the sound radiation hole (102) through a second space (sound guiding cavity 103) spatially separated from the resonance space (space in 1011, between 20 and 12) and the first space (space in second chamber 1012, between 12 and 40), wherein the second space (103) is smaller than the resonance space (comprised of space between 12 and 20, 40 and space accommodating 41; see Figures 3-6), wherein one surface of the printed circuit board (portion of 42 facing 12; see Figure 3) is disposed to face the first space (space in 1012, between 12 and 40), wherein another surface of the printed circuit board (portion of 42 opposite 12; see Figure 3) is disposed to face a radiating space (space between 42 and portion of 11 opposite 12; see Figure 3) separated (by 40) from the resonance space (space in 1011, between 20 and 12).
Cai does not disclose at least one ventilation hole formed in the housing, and a sound radiation hole formed in an area spaced from the at least one ventilation hole, wherein the resonance space is spatially continuous with the at least one ventilation hole through a first space in which at least one electronic component is disposed on the printed circuit board, so as to facilitate emission of heat, generated from the at least one electronic component into the first space, to outside through the ventilation holes.
However, Jeong teaches at least one ventilation hole (holes in cover 230 aligned with microphones 15, 16) formed in a housing (cover 230, corresponding to 12 in Cai), and a sound radiation hole (sound outlet 330, corresponding to 120 in Cai) formed in an area spaced apart from the at least one ventilation hole (holes aligned with 15, 16), wherein the at least one ventilation hole (holes aligned with 15, 16) is spatially continuous with a first space (space between circuit board 12 and cover 230) in which at least one electronic component (microphones 15, 16) is disposed on the printed circuit board (12), so as to facilitate emission of heat, generated from the at least one electronic component (15, 16) into the first space (space between circuit board 12 and cover 230), to outside through the ventilation holes (holes aligned with 15, 16) (NOTE: holes in cover 230 functionally capable of dissipating any heat generated by microphones or any other electronic components on circuit board).
Because Cai and Jeong teach similar temple configurations (see Figure 5 in Cai and Figure 4 in Jeong), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the microphones and ventilation holes of Jeong to the printed circuit board and second cover of Cai, respectively, such that the resonance space (space in first chamber 1011, between 20 and 12 in Cai) is spatially continuous with the at least one ventilation hole (holes in 12 in Cai, as modified by Jeong) through the first space (space in second chamber 1012, between 12 and 40 in Cai) in which at least one electronic component (components on 42 in Cai, including microphones 15, 16 combined from Jeong) is disposed on the printed circuit board (42 in Cai, as modified by Jeong). Doing so would have allowed the electronic device of Cai to receive and process sound inputs from a user during a phone call (see page 3 of Jeong).
Cai in view of Jeong does not teach wherein the radiating space includes at least one heat radiating member guiding a heat radiation direction.
However, Yoon teaches a surface of the printed circuit board (Figure 6, top surface of 340) is disposed to face a radiating space (space above 340), wherein the radiating space (space above 340) includes at least one heat radiating member (comprised of TIM 392 and heat dissipation member 393) and guiding a heat radiation direction (away from 340).
Because Cai also suggests the circuit board includes processing components (see page 4 and Figure 3), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have arranged the processing device of Cai as modified by Jeong to a radiating space of the PCB, as taught in Yoon, considering it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C). Doing so would have also allowed the circuit board to process/execute software and managed the connected electronic components (see Paragraph [0031] in Yoon).
It would have also been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the heat radiating member of Yoon to the radiating space and PCB of Cai as modified by Yoon. Doing so would have improved the heat dissipation of the circuit board and protected the circuit board from electromagnetic interferences (see Paragraphs [0005]-[0013] in Yoon).
Cai in view of Jeong and Yoon does not explicitly teach wherein the emission of heat, generated from the at least one electronic component into the first space, to outside through the ventilation holes, is driven by sound radiating into the resonance space.
However, the principle of thermoacoustic cooling is not new. For example, Ishii teaches wherein the emission of heat (see Figure 3 and Paragraph [0010]), generated from at least one electronic component (components on circuit board 5) into a first space (space adjacent 5 and openings 10), to outside through ventilation holes (opening portions 10), is driven by sound radiating into a resonance space (space between 9 and 5).
Because the resonance space of Cai as modified by Jeong and Yoon is spatially continuous with the first space and the ventilation holes, the device of Cai as modified by Jeong and Yoon is considered to be capable of performing the thermoacoustic cooling function, as evidenced by Ishii, absent any claimed structural difference. See MPEP § 2114 I & II, "While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function... A claim containing a 'recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus' if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.” In the instant case, the resonance space of Cai as modified by Jeong and Yoon is spatially continuous with the first space and the ventilation holes, and is therefore capable of performing the recited function.
Regarding claim 20, Cai in view of Jeong, Yoon, and Ishii teaches the electronic device of claim 14, and further teaches (in Yoon) wherein the at least one heat radiating member (392, 393) includes a first heat radiating member (plate 612 of 393), a second heat radiating member (spreader 611 of 393), and a third heat radiating member (392), wherein the first heat radiating member (612) includes a radiating plate (see Figure 6), wherein the second heat radiating member (611) includes a heat pipe (see Paragraph [0050]), and wherein the third heat radiating member (392) includes a graphite sheet (Figure 7 and Paragraph [0050], conductive layer 712 of 392 being comprised of graphite).
Regarding claim 21, Cai in view of Jeong, Yoon, and Ishii teaches the electronic device of claim 1, and further teaches (in Cai) wherein the at least one ventilation hole (openings in 12, as modified by Jeong) is configured to emit heat provided by at least one electronic component disposed on the printed circuit board (components of 42, including microphones 15, 16 of Jeong) and radiate sound generated by the speaker (20) to the outside of the leg member (100) at a first region (adjacent openings in 12, as modified by Jeong) of the leg member (100), and wherein the sound radiation hole (102) is provided adjacent to the speaker (20) to radiate sound generated by the speaker (20) to the outside of the leg member in a third direction (rearward direction) different from the first direction (toward 1111) and the second direction (toward 12) at a second region (adjacent 102) different from the first region (adjacent openings in 12, as modified by Jeong) of the leg member (100).
Cai in view of Jeong, Yoon, and Ishii does not explicitly teach the at least one ventilation hole is configured to emit heat provided by at least one electronic component disposed on the printed circuit board and radiate sound generated by the speaker to the outside of the leg member in the first direction at a first region of the leg member. However, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have arranged at least one ventilation hole of Cai in view of Jeong, Yoon, and Ishii on the bottom surface of housing 11 (as suggested in Cai -- see Figure 5), since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C). Because this arrangement would result in a configuration identical to the claimed device (see Figures 2-3 of instant application), the device of Cai as modified by Jeong, Yoon, and Ishii is considered to be as capable of performing the function as the claimed invention, absent any claimed structural difference. MPEP § 2114 I & II, "While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function... A claim containing a 'recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus' if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.” In the instant case, the ventilation hole of Cai as modified by Jeong, Yoon, and Ishii is connected to the resonance space of 20 defined in Cai and is adjacent to circuit board 42 is Cai. Due to common principles of heat radiation and sound diffraction, at least some heat and sound would radiate outward, in the first direction. Therefore, the device of Cai as modified Jeong, Yoon, and Ishii is capable of performing the recited function.
Regarding claim 24, Cai in view of Jeong, Yoon, and Ishii teaches the electronic device of claim 1, and further teaches (in Cai) wherein the at least one ventilation hole (holes in 12 of Cai, as modified by Jeong) functions as a damping hole for the speaker (20), and wherein the at least one ventilation hole (holes in 12 of Cai, as modified by Jeong) is arranged in a region corresponding to the printed circuit board (42).
Regarding the functional limitation “the at least one ventilation hole functions as a damping hole for the speaker,” because the structure of the electronic device of Cai as modified by Jeong, Yoon, and Ishii is identical to the claimed structure, the electronic device of Cai as modified by Jeong, Yoon, and Ishii is considered to be as capable of performing the function as the claimed invention, absent any claimed structural difference. See MPEP § 2114 I & II, "While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function... A claim containing a 'recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus' if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.” In the instant case, the at least one ventilation hole of Cai as modified by Jeong, Yoon, and Ishii is located in a resonance space at a rear portion of the speaker, the at least one ventilation hole is capable of acting as a damping hole for the space, and therefore capable of performing the recited function.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cai (CN Publication No. 112255803), Jeong (KR Publication No. 102157575), Yoon (US Publication No. 2021/0029855), Ishii (US Publication No. 2008/0292128), and in further view of Mack (US Publication No. 2016/0252727).
Regarding claim 3, Cai in view of Jeong, Yoon, and Ishii teaches the electronic device of claim 2, but does not explicitly teach wherein a first electronic component is disposed on the other surface of the printed circuit board to be connected to the radiating space, and wherein a second electronic component consuming less power than the first electronic component consumes is disposed on the one surface of the printed circuit board and connected to the first space.
However, Mack teaches wherein a first electronic component (Figure 6B, NAND) is disposed on the other surface (see Figure 6B) of the printed circuit board (PCB 640) to be connected to the radiating space (space within temple 320 adjacent portion of PCB shown in Figure 6B; see Paragraph [0059]), and wherein a second electronic component (Figure 6A, buttons) consuming less power than the first electronic component (NAND) consumes (buttons necessarily consuming less power when buttons are not being pressed and NAND is being used) is disposed on the one surface (see Figure 6A) of the printed circuit board (640) connected to the first space (space within temple 320 adjacent portion of PCB shown in Figure 6A; see Paragraph [0059]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the electronic components of Mack to the circuit board of Cai as modified by Jeong, Yoon, and Ishii. Doing so would have increased the functionality of the electronic device by allowing the user to turn the electronic device on and off, and store flash memory (see Figure 6A-6B and Paragraphs [0051]-[0052], [0057] in Mack).
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cai (CN Publication No. 112255803), Jeong (KR Publication No. 102157575), Yoon (US Publication No. 2021/0029855), Ishii (US Publication No. 2008/0292128), and in further view of Wang (US Publication No. 2021/0072559).
Regarding claim 6, Cai in view of Jeong, Yoon, and Ishii teaches the electronic device of claim 1, but does not teach a waterproof member configured to prevent moisture from being introduced into the at least one ventilation hole, wherein the waterproof member is provided in a region surrounding an inside of the at least one ventilation hole.
However, Wang teaches a waterproof member (Figures 25-27, waterproof membrane 4c1) configured to prevent moisture from being introduced into the at least one ventilation hole (Figures 26-27, comprised of accommodating space 415 and sound inlet 413), wherein the waterproof member (4c1) is provided in a region surrounding an inside of the at least one ventilation hole (inside of 413, 415).
Because Jeong and Wang both teach holes aligned with microphones, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the waterproof member of Wang to the ventilation hole of Cai as modified by Jeong, Yoon, and Ishii. Doing so would have prevented water from damaging the internal components of the leg member (see Paragraph [0222] in Wang).
Regarding claim 16, Cai in view of Jeong, Yoon, and Ishii teaches the electronic device of claim 14, but does not teach a waterproof member in a region surrounding an inside of the at least one ventilation hole.
However, Wang teaches a waterproof member (Figures 25-27, waterproof membrane 4c1) in a region surrounding an inside of the at least one ventilation hole (Figures 26-27, inside region comprised of accommodating space 415 and sound inlet 413).
Because Jeong and Wang both teach holes aligned with microphones, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the waterproof member of Wang to the ventilation hole of Cai as modified by Jeong, Yoon, and Ishii. Doing so would have prevented water from damaging the internal components of the leg member (see Paragraph [0222] in Wang).
In the event Applicant disagrees with Examiner’s interpretation above, claim 9 is alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cai (CN Publication No. 112255803), Jeong (KR Publication No. 102157575), Yoon (US Publication No. 2021/0029855), Ishii (US Publication No. 2008/0292128), and in further view of Cheng (US Publication No. 2022/0082870).
Regarding claim 9, Cai in view of Jeong, Yoon, and Ishii teaches the electronic device of claim 1, and suggests wherein the at least one ventilation hole is disposed in at least one region of an upper portion or a lower portion of the rib.
However, Cheng explicitly teaches wherein at least one ventilation hole (Figure 2, microphone hole 122) is disposed in at least one region of an upper portion or a lower portion (see Figure 2) of the rib (cover 12).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have rearranged the ventilation hole of Cai as modified by Jeong, Yoon, and Ishii to be in the lower rib portion, as taught in Cheng, considering it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C). Doing so would have also arranged the ventilation hole in an inconspicuous location on the temple of the electronic device (see Figures 1-2 and Paragraph [0019] in Cheng).
Claims 10 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cai (CN Publication No. 112255803), Jeong (KR Publication No. 102157575), Yoon (US Publication No. 2021/0029855), Ishii (US Publication No. 2008/0292128), and in further view of Li (US Publication No. 2015/0087924) and Ouyang (CN Publication No. 107065228).
Regarding claim 10, Cai in view of Jeong, Yoon, and Ishii teaches the electronic device of claim 1, but does not teach at least one temperature sensor disposed in the space formed between the first structure and the second structure; and at least one processor electrically connected to the speaker, the printed circuit board, and the at least one temperature sensor, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: measure a temperature of the leg member through the at least one temperature sensor, determine whether the measured temperature is equal to or greater than a first temperature, when the measured temperature is equal to or greater than the first temperature, determine whether a sound signal is being output through the speaker, and when the sound signal is not being output through the speaker, output the sound signal through the speaker.
However, Li teaches an electronic device comprising: a leg member (Figure 2, frame 15) and at least one temperature sensor (temperature sensor 19); and at least one processor (signal processing circuit 11 and processor 13) electrically connected to the speaker (Paragraph [0018], sound reproduction device), the printed circuit board (substrate of signal processing circuit 11 and processor 13), and the at least one temperature sensor (19; see Paragraph [0018]), wherein the at least one processor (11, 13) is configured to: measure a temperature of the leg member through the at least one temperature sensor, determine whether the measured temperature is equal to or greater than a first temperature, when the measured temperature is equal to or greater than the first temperature, determine whether a sound signal is being output through the speaker, and when the sound signal is not being output through the speaker, output the sound signal through the speaker (Paragraph [0022], communication between temperature sensor 19, processing circuitry 11, 13, and sound reproduction devices capable of performing the recited functions; see MPEP § 2114 I & II, "While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function... A claim containing a 'recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus' if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the temperature sensor and processing circuitry of Li to the leg portion and printed circuit board of Cai as modified by Jeong, Yoon, and Ishii, respectively. Doing so would have improved the functionality of the electronic device, by allowing the electronic device to communicate to a user when their body temperature is beyond a normal threshold (see Paragraph [0015], [0022] in Li).
Cai in view of Jeong, Yoon, Ishii, and Li does not explicitly teach the at least one temperature sensor disposed in the space formed between the first structure and the second structure.
However, Ouyang teaches at least one temperature sensor (temperature sensor 18) disposed in the space formed between the first structure and the second structure (Figure 2, housing 14).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have arranged the temperature sensor of Cai as modified by Jeong, Yoon, Ishii, and Li within the first and second structure, as taught in Ouyang, considering it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C).
Regarding claim 17, Cai in view of Jeong, Yoon, and Ishii teaches the electronic device of claim 14, but does not teach at least one temperature sensor disposed in the housing; and at least one processor electrically connected to the speaker, the printed circuit board, and the at least one temperature sensor, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: measure a temperature of the leg member through the at least one temperature sensor, determine whether the measured temperature is equal to or greater than a first temperature, when the measured temperature is equal to or greater than the first temperature, determine whether a sound signal is being output through the speaker, and when the sound signal is not being output through the speaker, output the sound signal through the speaker.
Li teaches an electronic device comprising: a leg member (Figure 2, frame 15) and at least one temperature sensor (temperature sensor 19); and at least one processor (signal processing circuit 11 and processor 13) electrically connected to the speaker (Paragraph [0018], sound reproduction device), the printed circuit board (substrate of signal processing circuit 11 and processor 13), and the at least one temperature sensor (19; see Paragraph [0018]), wherein the at least one processor (11, 13) is configured to: measure a temperature of the leg member through the at least one temperature sensor, determine whether the measured temperature is equal to or greater than a first temperature, when the measured temperature is equal to or greater than the first temperature, determine whether a sound signal is being output through the speaker, and when the sound signal is not being output through the speaker, output the sound signal through the speaker (Paragraph [0022], communication between temperature sensor 19, processing circuitry 11, 13, and sound reproduction devices capable of performing the recited functions; see MPEP § 2114 I & II, "While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function... A claim containing a 'recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus' if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.”).
Cai in view of Jeong, Yoon, Ishii, and Li does not explicitly teach the at least one temperature sensor disposed the housing.
However, Ouyang teaches at least one temperature sensor (temperature sensor 18) disposed in the housing (Figure 2, housing 14).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have arranged the temperature sensor of Cai as modified by Jeong, Yoon, Ishii, and Li within the housing, as taught in Ouyang, considering it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C).
Claims 11-13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cai (CN Publication No. 112255803), Jeong (KR Publication No. 102157575), Yoon (US Publication No. 2021/0029855), Ishii (US Publication No. 2008/0292128), Li (US Publication No. 2015/0087924), Ouyang (CN Publication No. 107065228), and in further view of Saux (US Publication No. 2021/0099799).
Regarding claim 11, Cai in view of Jeong, Yoon, Ishii, Li, and Ouyang teaches the electronic device of claim 10, but does not teach wherein the at least one processor is further configured to, when the sound signal is not being output through the speaker, adjust a volume intensity of the speaker and output an inaudible frequency signal.
However, Saux teaches wherein at least one processor (processor 2) is further configured to, when a sound signal is not being output through a speaker (speaker 7; see Paragraphs [0021], [0035]), adjust a volume intensity of the speaker (7) and output an inaudible frequency signal (Paragraph [0035], processing circuity of ANC system capable of outputting an anti-noise frequency below 20 Hz).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the ANC circuitry of Saux to the circuit board of Cai as modified by Jeong, Yoon, Ishii, Li, and Ouyang. Doing so would have increased the functionality of the speakers by allowing them to output a noise cancelling frequency to decrease ambient noise (see Paragraphs [0004], [0021], [0035] in Saux).
Regarding claim 12, Cai in view of Jeong, Yoon, Ishii, Li, Ouyang, and Saux teaches the electronic device of claim 11, and further teaches (in Saux) wherein the inaudible frequency signal comprises a frequency domain of about 20 hertz (Hz) or less (see Paragraph [0035] in Saux).
Regarding claim 13, Cai in view of Jeong, Yoon, Ishii, Li, and Ouyang teaches the electronic device of claim 10, but does not teach an amplifier electrically connected to the speaker.
However, Saux teaches an amplifier (Paragraph [0019], amplifiers connected to microphones, wherein microphones are electrically connected to speakers to output an anti-noise cancelling frequency) connected to the speaker (speaker 7).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the microphones, amplifiers, and ANC system of Saux to the printed circuit board and speakers of Cai as modified by Jeong, Yoon, Ishii, Li, and Ouyang. Doing so would have increased the functionality of the speakers by allowing them to output a noise cancelling frequency to decrease ambient noise (see Paragraphs [0004], [0019], [0021], [0035] in Saux).
Regarding claim 18, Cai in view of Jeong, Yoon, Ishii, Li, and Ouyang teaches the electronic device of claim 17, but does not teach wherein the at least one processor is further configured to, when the sound signal is not being output through the speaker, adjust a volume intensity of the speaker and output an inaudible frequency signal.
However, Saux teaches at least one processor (processor 2) is further configured to, when a sound signal is not being output through a speaker (speaker 7; see Paragraphs [0021], [0035]), adjust a volume intensity of the speaker (7) and output an inaudible frequency signal (Paragraph [0035], processing circuity of ANC system capable of outputting an anti-noise frequency below 20 Hz).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the ANC circuitry of Saux to the circuit board of Cai as modified by Jeong, Yoon, Ishii, Li, and Ouyang. Doing so would have increased the functionality of the speakers by allowing them to output a noise cancelling frequency to decrease ambient noise (see Paragraphs [0004], [0021], [0035] in Saux).
Claims 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cai (CN Publication No. 112255803), Jeong (KR Publication No. 102157575), Yoon (US Publication No. 2021/0029855), Ishii (US Publication No. 2008/0292128), and in further view of Predon (US Publication No. 2018/0132353).
Regarding claim 22, Cai in view of Jeong, Yoon, and Ishii teaches the electronic device of claim 1, but does not teach wherein the at least one heat radiating member includes a plurality of evenly spaced protrusions arranged in parallel and extending in a direction corresponding to the heat radiation direction for guiding heat in the heat radiation direction.
However, Predon teaches wherein the at least one heat radiating member (Figure 3, heat sink 3) includes a plurality of evenly spaced protrusions (fins 7; see Paragraphs [0050]-[0051] and [0084]) arranged in parallel (see Paragraphs [0050]-[0051]) and extending in a direction corresponding to the heat radiation direction for guiding heat in the heat radiation direction (see Figure 3 and Paragraphs [0050]-[0051] and [0084]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the fins of Predon to the heat radiating member of Cai as modified by Jeong, Yoon, and Ishii. Doing so would have increased heat dissipation by increasing the heat dissipation surface area of the heat radiating member (see Paragraphs [0047]-[0052] in Predon).
Regarding claim 23, Cai in view of Jeong, Yoon, and Ishii teaches the electronic device of claim 14, but does not teach wherein the at least one heat radiating member includes a plurality of evenly spaced protrusions arranged in parallel and extending in a direction corresponding to the heat radiation direction for guiding heat in the heat radiation direction.
However, Predon teaches wherein the at least one heat radiating member (Figure 3, heat sink 3) includes a plurality of evenly spaced protrusions (fins 7; see Paragraphs [0050]-[0051] and [0084]) arranged in parallel (see Paragraphs [0050]-[0051]) and extending in a direction corresponding to the heat radiation direction for guiding heat in the heat radiation direction (see Figure 3 and Paragraphs [0050]-[0051] and [0084]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the fins of Predon to the heat radiating member of Cai as modified by Jeong, Yoon, and Ishii. Doing so would have increased heat dissipation by increasing the heat dissipation surface area of the heat radiating member (see Paragraphs [0047]-[0052] in Predon).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3-4, 6-14, 16-18, and 20-24 have been considered, but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Cai as modified by Jeong does not teach wherein the resonance space and first space of Cai are spatially continuous with the ventilation holes taught in Jeong so as to allow for the dissipation of heat (Arguments, pages 10-13). However, Examiner submits that the combined ventilation holes of Jeong (see annotated Figure 3 below, where holes of Jeong are combined to cover 12 in Cai) would be in direct communication with the first space and resonance space of Cai (see annotated Figure 5), so as to allow for the dissipation of heat. While Examiner agrees that neither Cai nor Jeong explicitly teach wherein the dissipation of heat is driven by sound radiated into the resonance space, Examiner submits this is a functional limitation capable of being performed by the resulting structure of Cai as modified by Jeong, as evidence by Ishii (US Publication No. 2008/0292128), considering the structure of Cai as modified by Jeong is identical to the claimed structure.
Applicant argues Jeong teaches away from features of the claim because Jeong teaches an acoustic guide 350 designed to concentrate sound toward the ear, such that the sound is suppressed from radiating in other directions. (Arguments, page 14). However, acoustic guide
350 is concerned with sound emitted from the front side of the speaker similar to sound hole 102 in Cai. The concentration of sound referenced by Applicant is unrelated to Examiner’s reasons for citing Jeong. Jeong is simply cited to teach it would have been obvious to have combined microphones to a PCB and to have combined holes in a housing structure that align with such microphones. Examiner submits that acoustic guide 350 has nothing to do with the reasons for combining the teachings of Jeong to Cai, and thus does not teach away from combining the cited references.
Applicant argues Ishii does not acknowledge the concept of utilizing a resonance space in which sound radiation is formed to facilitate the emission of heat (Arguments, pages 14-15) Examiner disagrees, considering Ishii explicitly discloses where resonance from a rear portion of the speaker is configured to drive heat rearward, out of housing openings (see Figure 3). Considering Cai discloses a similar configuration, Examiner maintains the resonance from the rear of speaker 20 in Cai is capable of pushing heat out from within housing 11, 12, through the holes combined from Jeong.
Applicant argues Examiner engaged in improper hindsight bias when stating the cited references taught specific limitations (Arguments, pages 15-17). However, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). It is unclear where Applicant believes Examiner engaged in improper hind sight bias. However, Examiner submits that each and every combination of references above is provided with reasonings/motivation as to why/how a PHOSITA would combine such references. Because the combination of references above teaches an identical configuration to the claimed device, Examiner maintains the structure of the combination of references is capable of performing the claimed functions, as indicated above.
For these reasons, and the reasons detailed above, claims 1, 3-4, 6-14, 16-18, and 20-24 stand rejected.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GAGE CRUM/Examiner, Art Unit 2841
gsc