DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are rejected in the Instant Application.
Status of claims
Claims 1-20 have been amended
Claims 1-20 are pending in the instant application
Claims 1-20 are rejected in the instant application
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but not persuasive. Examiner maintains his rejection. See examiners response below.
Applicants arguments:
Applicant has amended the claims and Abhigyan (Sharma) does not teach the amendments as filed 03/09/2026
Examiners Response:
Examiner respectfully disagrees and has updated the rejection below to identify the amendments as taught in Sharma. Examiner respectfully disagrees, Sharma clearly teaches API calls in communication with controllers external to the network. Please see examiners update rejection below. Applicant is kindly asked to set up a formal interview to identify the inventive concept or how the applicant intends the claims to be interpreted. Examiner maintains his rejection.
Double patenting rejections are maintained, applicant argues the amendments overcome the double patenting rejection. Examiner respectfully disagrees and points to the mapping of the double patenting rejections highlighted below.
Examiner kindly suggests prior to filing a response, the applicant set up a formal interview with the examiner such that details about specific limitations can be clarified inventive concept clearly defined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 10/21/22, 6/3/24, 7/9/25, 8/25/25 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered if signed and initialed by the Examiner.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); and In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claim 1, 8, 15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8, 15 of copending Application No. 17960774 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in in the instant application are broader than the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Instant Application
Application No. 17960774
claim 1. One or more processors comprising: circuitry to receive an application programming interface (API) call indicating at least a controller external to a core network; and in response to the API call, cause the controller to communicate one or more control signals to one or more devices within the core network, the one or more control signals to cause the one or more devices to modify performance of the core network, wherein the one or more control signals are generated by the controller using information from a transport network and an access network
1. A processor comprising: one or more circuits to perform an application programming interface (APJ) to indicate one or more controllers to control one or more devices within one or more 5G access networks.
claim 8. A system, comprising at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the system to perform an application programming interface (API) to cause a controller, external to a core network, to communicate one or more control signals to one or more devices within the core network, the one or more control signals to cause the one or more devices to modify performance of the core network, wherein the one or more control signals are generated using information from a transport network and an access.
8. A system, comprising memory to store instructions that, as a result of performance by one or more processors, cause the system to perform an application programming interface (APJ) to indicate one or more controllers to control one or more devices within one or more 5G access networks.
claim 15. A method comprising:
performing an application programming interface (API) causing a controller, external to a core network, to communicate one or more control signals to one or more devices within the core network, the one or more control signals to cause the one or more devices to modify performance of the core network, wherein the one or more control signals are generated using information from a transport network and an access network.
15. A method comprising:
performing an application programming interface (API) to indicate one or more controllers to control one or more devices within one or more 5G access networks.
Claim 1, 8, 15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8, 15 of copending Application No. 17960777 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in in the instant application are broader than the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Instant Application
Application No. 17960777
claim 1. One or more processors comprising: circuitry to receive an application programming interface (API) call indicating at least a controller external to a core network; and in response to the API call, cause the controller to communicate one or more control signals to one or more devices within the core network, the one or more control signals to cause the one or more devices to modify performance of the core network, wherein the one or more control signals are generated by the controller using information from a transport network and an access network
1. A processor comprising: one or more circuits to perform an application programming interface (APJ) to indicate one or more controllers to control one or more devices within one or more 5G transport networks.
claim 8. A system, comprising at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the system to perform an application programming interface (API) to cause a controller, external to a core network, to communicate one or more control signals to one or more devices within the core network, the one or more control signals to cause the one or more devices to modify performance of the core network, wherein the one or more control signals are generated using information from a transport network and an access.
8. A system, comprising memory to store instructions that, as a result of performance by one or more processors, cause the system to perform an application programming interface (APJ) to indicate one or more controllers to control one or more devices within one or more 5G transport networks.
claim 15. A method comprising:
performing an application programming interface (API) causing a controller, external to a core network, to communicate one or more control signals to one or more devices within the core network, the one or more control signals to cause the one or more devices to modify performance of the core network, wherein the one or more control signals are generated using information from a transport network and an access network.
.
15. A method comprising:
performing an application programming interface (API) to indicate one or more controllers to control one or more devices within one or more 5G transport networks.
Claim 1, 8, 15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8, 15 of copending Application No. 17960796 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in in the instant application are broader than the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Instant Application
Application No. 17960796
claim 1. One or more processors comprising: circuitry to receive an application programming interface (API) call indicating at least a controller external to a core network; and in response to the API call, cause the controller to communicate one or more control signals to one or more devices within the core network, the one or more control signals to cause the one or more devices to modify performance of the core network, wherein the one or more control signals are generated by the controller using information from a transport network and an access network
1. A processor comprising: one or more circuits to perform an application programming interface (API) to cause one or more indications of one or more devices within one or more 5G core networks to be stored.
claim 8. A system, comprising at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the system to perform an application programming interface (API) to cause a controller, external to a core network, to communicate one or more control signals to one or more devices within the core network, the one or more control signals to cause the one or more devices to modify performance of the core network, wherein the one or more control signals are generated using information from a transport network and an access.
8. A system, comprising memory to store instructions that, as a result of performance by one or more processors, cause the system to perform an application programming interface (API) to cause one or more indications of one or more devices within one or more 5G transport networks to be stored.
claim 15. A method comprising:
performing an application programming interface (API) causing a controller, external to a core network, to communicate one or more control signals to one or more devices within the core network, the one or more control signals to cause the one or more devices to modify performance of the core network, wherein the one or more control signals are generated using information from a transport network and an access network.
15. A method comprising:
performing an application programming interface (API) to cause one or more indications of one or more devices within one or more 5G core networks to be stored.
Claim 1, 8, 15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8, 15 of copending Application No. 17960788 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in in the instant application are broader than the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Instant Application
Application No. 17960788
claim 1. One or more processors comprising: circuitry to receive an application programming interface (API) call indicating at least a controller external to a core network; and in response to the API call, cause the controller to communicate one or more control signals to one or more devices within the core network, the one or more control signals to cause the one or more devices to modify performance of the core network, wherein the one or more control signals are generated by the controller using information from a transport network and an access network
1. A processor comprising: one or more circuits to perform an application programming interface (API) to cause one or more indications of one or more devices within one or more 5G access networks to be stored.
claim 8. A system, comprising at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the system to perform an application programming interface (API) to cause a controller, external to a core network, to communicate one or more control signals to one or more devices within the core network, the one or more control signals to cause the one or more devices to modify performance of the core network, wherein the one or more control signals are generated using information from a transport network and an access.
8. A system, comprising memory to store instructions that, as a result of performance by one or more processors, cause the system to perform an application programming interface (API) to cause one or more indications of one or more devices within one or more 5G access networks to be stored.
claim 15. A method comprising:
performing an application programming interface (API) causing a controller, external to a core network, to communicate one or more control signals to one or more devices within the core network, the one or more control signals to cause the one or more devices to modify performance of the core network, wherein the one or more control signals are generated using information from a transport network and an access network.
15. A method comprising:
performing an application programming interface (API) to cause one or more indications of one or more devices within one or more 5G access networks to be stored.
Claim 1, 8, 15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8, 15 of copending Application No. 17960793 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in in the instant application are broader than the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Instant Application
Application No. 17960793
claim 1. One or more processors comprising: circuitry to receive an application programming interface (API) call indicating at least a controller external to a core network; and in response to the API call, cause the controller to communicate one or more control signals to one or more devices within the core network, the one or more control signals to cause the one or more devices to modify performance of the core network, wherein the one or more control signals are generated by the controller using information from a transport network and an access network
1. A processor comprising: one or more circuits to perform an application programming interface (API) to cause one or more indications of one or more devices within one or more 5G transport networks to be stored.
claim 8. A system, comprising at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the system to perform an application programming interface (API) to cause a controller, external to a core network, to communicate one or more control signals to one or more devices within the core network, the one or more control signals to cause the one or more devices to modify performance of the core network, wherein the one or more control signals are generated using information from a transport network and an access.
8. A system, comprising memory to store instructions that, as a result of performance by one or more processors, cause the system to perform an application programming interface (API) to cause one or more indications of one or more devices within one or more 5G transport networks to be stored.
claim 15. A method comprising:
performing an application programming interface (API) causing a controller, external to a core network, to communicate one or more control signals to one or more devices within the core network, the one or more control signals to cause the one or more devices to modify performance of the core network, wherein the one or more control signals are generated using information from a transport network and an access network.
15. A method comprising:
performing an application programming interface (API) to cause one or more indications of one or more devices within one or more 5G transport networks to be stored.
Claim 1, 8, 15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8, 15 of copending Application No. 17960770 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in in the instant application are broader than the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Instant Application
Application No. 17960770
claim 1. One or more processors comprising: circuitry to receive an application programming interface (API) call indicating at least a controller external to a core network; and in response to the API call, cause the controller to communicate one or more control signals to one or more devices within the core network, the one or more control signals to cause the one or more devices to modify performance of the core network, wherein the one or more control signals are generated by the controller using information from a transport network and an access network
1. A processor comprising: one or more circuits to perform an application programming interface (API) to indicate one or more devices within one or more fifth generation new radio (SG-NR) core networks, with which one or more devices within one or more 5G transport networks is to share information.
claim 8. A system, comprising at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the system to perform an application programming interface (API) to cause a controller, external to a core network, to communicate one or more control signals to one or more devices within the core network, the one or more control signals to cause the one or more devices to modify performance of the core network, wherein the one or more control signals are generated using information from a transport network and an access.
8. A system, comprising memory to store instructions that, as a result of performance by one or more processors, cause the system to perform an application programming interface (API) to indicate one or more devices within one or more fifth generation new radio (SG-NR) core networks, with which one or more devices within one or more 5G transport networks is to share information.
claim 15. A method comprising:
performing an application programming interface (API) causing a controller, external to a core network, to communicate one or more control signals to one or more devices within the core network, the one or more control signals to cause the one or more devices to modify performance of the core network, wherein the one or more control signals are generated using information from a transport network and an access network.
15. A method comprising:
performing an application programming interface (API) to indicate one or more devices within one or more fifth generation new radio (SG-NR) core networks, with which one or more devices within one or more 5G transport networks is to share information.
Claim 1, 8, 15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8, 15 of copending Application No. 17960764 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in in the instant application are broader than the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Instant Application
Application No. 17960764
claim 1. One or more processors comprising: circuitry to receive an application programming interface (API) call indicating at least a controller external to a core network; and in response to the API call, cause the controller to communicate one or more control signals to one or more devices within the core network, the one or more control signals to cause the one or more devices to modify performance of the core network, wherein the one or more control signals are generated by the controller using information from a transport network and an access network
1. A processor comprising: one or more circuits to perform an application programming interface (API) to indicate one or more devices within one or more fifth generation new radio (SG-NR) core networks, with which one or more devices within one or more 5G access networks is to share information.
claim 8. A system, comprising at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the system to receive an application programming interface (API) call indicating at least a controller external to a core network; and in response to the API call, cause the controller to communicate one or more control signals to one or more devices within the core network, the one or more control signals to cause the one or more devices to modify performance of the core network, wherein the one or more control signals are generated by the controller using information from a transport network and an access.
8. A system, comprising memory to store instructions that, as a result of performance by one or more processors, cause the system to perform an application programming interface (API) to indicate one or more devices within one or more fifth generation new radio (SG-NR) core networks, with which one or more devices within one or more 5G access networks is to share information.
claim 15. A method comprising:
receiving an application programming interface (API) call indicating at least a controller external to a core network; and in response to the API call, causing the controller to communicate one or more control signals to one or more devices within the core network, the one or more control signals to cause the one or more devices to modify performance of the core network, wherein the one or more control signals are generated by the controller using information from a transport network and an access network.
15. A method comprising:
performing an application programming interface (API) to indicate one or more devices within one or more fifth generation new radio (SG-NR) core networks, with which one or more devices within one or more 5G access networks 1s to share information.
Claim 1, 8, 15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8, 15 of copending Application No. 17960763 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in in the instant application are broader than the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Instant Application
Application No. 17960763
claim 1. One or more processors comprising: circuitry to receive an application programming interface (API) call indicating at least a controller external to a core network; and in response to the API call, cause the controller to communicate one or more control signals to one or more devices within the core network, the one or more control signals to cause the one or more devices to modify performance of the core network, wherein the one or more control signals are generated by the controller using information from a transport network and an access network
1. A processor comprising: one or more circuits to perform an application programming interface (API) to indicate one or more devices within one or more fifth generation new radio (SG-NR) transport networks, with which one or more devices within one or more 5G core networks is to share information.
claim 8. A system, comprising at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the system to receive an application programming interface (API) call indicating at least a controller external to a core network; and in response to the API call, cause the controller to communicate one or more control signals to one or more devices within the core network, the one or more control signals to cause the one or more devices to modify performance of the core network, wherein the one or more control signals are generated by the controller using information from a transport network and an access.
8. A system, comprising memory to store instructions that, as a result of performance by one or more processors, cause the system to perform an application programming interface (API) to indicate one or more devices within one or more fifth generation new radio (SG-NR) transport networks, with which one or more devices within one or more 5G access networks is to share information.
claim 15. A method comprising:
receiving an application programming interface (API) call indicating at least a controller external to a core network; and in response to the API call, causing the controller to communicate one or more control signals to one or more devices within the core network, the one or more control signals to cause the one or more devices to modify performance of the core network, wherein the one or more control signals are generated by the controller using information from a transport network and an access network.
15. A method comprising:
performing an application programming interface (API) to indicate one or more devices within one or more fifth generation new radio (SG-NR) transport networks, with which one or more devices within one or more 5G access networks is to share information.
Claim 1, 8, 15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8, 15 of copending Application No. 17960762 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in in the instant application are broader than the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Instant Application
Application No. 17960762
claim 1. One or more processors comprising: circuitry to receive an application programming interface (API) call indicating at least a controller external to a core network; and in response to the API call, cause the controller to communicate one or more control signals to one or more devices within the core network, the one or more control signals to cause the one or more devices to modify performance of the core network, wherein the one or more control signals are generated by the controller using information from a transport network and an access network
1. A processor comprising: one or more circuits to perform an application programming interface (API) to indicate one or more devices within one or more fifth generation new radio (SG-NR) transport networks, with which one or more devices within one or more 5G access networks is to share information.
claim 8. A system, comprising at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the system to receive an application programming interface (API) call indicating at least a controller external to a core network; and in response to the API call, cause the controller to communicate one or more control signals to one or more devices within the core network, the one or more control signals to cause the one or more devices to modify performance of the core network, wherein the one or more control signals are generated by the controller using information from a transport network and an access.
8. A system, comprising memory to store instructions that, as a result of performance by one or more processors, cause the system to perform an application programming interface (API) to indicate one or more devices within one or more fifth generation new radio (SG-NR) transport networks, with which one or more devices within one or more 5G access networks is to share information.
claim 15. A method comprising:
receiving an application programming interface (API) call indicating at least a controller external to a core network; and in response to the API call, causing the controller to communicate one or more control signals to one or more devices within the core network, the one or more control signals to cause the one or more devices to modify performance of the core network, wherein the one or more control signals are generated by the controller using information from a transport network and an access network.
15. A method comprising:
performing an application programming interface (API) to indicate one or more devices within one or more fifth generation new radio (SG-NR) transport networks, with which one or more devices within one or more 5G access networks is to share information.
Claim 1, 8, 15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8, 15 of copending Application No. 17960754 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in in the instant application are broader than the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Instant Application
Application No. 17960754
claim 1. One or more processors comprising: circuitry to receive an application programming interface (API) call indicating at least a controller external to a core network; and in response to the API call, cause the controller to communicate one or more control signals to one or more devices within the core network, the one or more control signals to cause the one or more devices to modify performance of the core network, wherein the one or more control signals are generated by the controller using information from a transport network and an access network
1. A processor comprising: one or more circuits to perform an application programming interface (API) to indicate one or more devices within one or more fifth generation new radio (SG-NR) access networks, with which one or more devices within one or more 5G core networks is to share information.
claim 8. A system, comprising at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the system to receive an application programming interface (API) call indicating at least a controller external to a core network; and in response to the API call, cause the controller to communicate one or more control signals to one or more devices within the core network, the one or more control signals to cause the one or more devices to modify performance of the core network, wherein the one or more control signals are generated by the controller using information from a transport network and an access.
8. A system, comprising memory to store instructions that, as a result of performance by one or more processors, cause the system to perform an application programming interface (API) to indicate one or more devices within one or more fifth generation new radio (SG-NR) access networks, with which one or more devices within one or more 5G core networks is to share information.
claim 15. A method comprising:
receiving an application programming interface (API) call indicating at least a controller external to a core network; and in response to the API call, causing the controller to communicate one or more control signals to one or more devices within the core network, the one or more control signals to cause the one or more devices to modify performance of the core network, wherein the one or more control signals are generated by the controller using information from a transport network and an access network.
15. A method comprising:
performing an application programming interface (API) to indicate one or more devices within one or more fifth generation new radio (SG-NR) access networks, with which one or more devices within one or more 5G core networks is to share information.
Claim 1, 8, 15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8, 15 of copending Application No. 17960751 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in in the instant application are broader than the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Instant Application
Application No. 17960751
claim 1. One or more processors comprising: circuitry to receive an application programming interface (API) call indicating at least a controller external to a core network; and in response to the API call, cause the controller to communicate one or more control signals to one or more devices within the core network, the one or more control signals to cause the one or more devices to modify performance of the core network, wherein the one or more control signals are generated by the controller using information from a transport network and an access network
1. A processor comprising: one or more circuits to perform an application programming interface (API) to indicate one or more devices within one or more fifth generation new radio (5G-NR) access networks, with which one or more devices within one or more 5G transport networks is to share information.
claim 8. A system, comprising at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the system to receive an application programming interface (API) call indicating at least a controller external to a core network; and in response to the API call, cause the controller to communicate one or more control signals to one or more devices within the core network, the one or more control signals to cause the one or more devices to modify performance of the core network, wherein the one or more control signals are generated by the controller using information from a transport network and an access.
8. A system, comprising memory to store instructions that, as a result of performance by one or more processors, cause the system to perform an application programming interface (API) to indicate one or more devices within one or more fifth generation new radio (5G-NR) access networks, with which one or more devices within one or more 5G transport networks is to share information.
claim 15. A method comprising:
receiving an application programming interface (API) call indicating at least a controller external to a core network; and in response to the API call, causing the controller to communicate one or more control signals to one or more devices within the core network, the one or more control signals to cause the one or more devices to modify performance of the core network, wherein the one or more control signals are generated by the controller using information from a transport network and an access network.
.
15. A method comprising: performing an application programming interface (API) to indicate one or more devices within one or more fifth generation new radio (5G-NR) access networks, with which one or more devices within one or more 5G transport networks is to share information.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sharma et al. (US20230018000A1) hereinafter Sharma.
Regarding claims 1, 8, 15. Sharma teaches one or more processors comprising: circuitry to receive an application programming interface (API) call indicating at least a controller external to a core network (¶0060 see Network API gateway 230C provides an external interface for API network service 158. For example, network API gateway 230C may provide a list of APIs available to applications ¶0043 see core network 230A provides an entry point to data networks for user devices. For example, core network 230A may access data networks outside of core network 230A to provide connectivity between external networks and UE 210A.);
In response to the API call, cause the controller (¶0033 see control APIs utilize various controllers for access and core networks (e.g., radio access network (RAN) intelligent controller, 5G Network Exposure Function (NEF), etc.). These and other controllers may be exposed by network API service 158 to external applications (and users) for them to request features from the network in an on-demand manner) to communicate one or more control signals to one or more devices within the core network (Fig 2A see element 158: ¶0032 see The communications network 125 also includes network API service 158. As further described below with reference to later figures, network API service 158 collects and stores data from various network elements and access networks, and then makes that data available to applications and other entities that otherwise typically would not have access to network data), the one or more control signals to cause the one or more devices to modify performance of the core network (¶0033 see network API service 158 may provide “guidance” APIs that analyze network data and provide insights to applications (e.g., predictions of future network performance) that enable applications to adapt based on the guidance), wherein the one or more control signals are generated by the controller using information from a transport network and an access network (¶0033 see API service 158 may also provide an analytics engine that ingests data streams from multiple sources and output metrics of interest to applications in real time. Network API service 158 may track these metrics separately for each user and may provide accurate estimates (e.g., wireless/cellular performance) for a given user. In some embodiments, control APIs utilize various controllers for access and core networks (e.g., radio access network (RAN) intelligent controller, 5G Network Exposure Function (NEF), etc.). These and other controllers may be exposed by network API service 158 to external applications (and users) for them to request features from the network in an on-demand manner.. control APIs utilize various controllers for access and core networks)
Regarding claims 2, 9, 16. Sharma further teaches one or more processors of claim 1, wherein the core network, the access network, and transport network are comprised in a computing network, and the one or more devices are to perform wireless service using 5G, 6G, or 3GPP communication standards (¶0031 see 5G and wireless access, ¶0134 see transport layer, Fig 2A see access and core networks)
Regarding claim 3, 10, 17. Sharma further teaches one or more processors of claim 1, wherein the controller is to receive information from one or more multi-access edge computing networks (MEC), and wherein the controller is to use the received information to generate network settings of the one or more MECs (¶0023 see embodiments combine data from multiple access and core networks to provide guidance to applications ¶0033 see network API service 158 may tap into data sources from multiple access networks (e.g., cellular, fixed-access) as well as core networks (e.g., mobility core, IP backbone). Network API service 158 may also provide an analytics engine that ingests data streams from multiple sources and output metrics of interest to applications in real time. Network API service 158 may track these metrics separately for each user and may provide accurate estimates (e.g., wireless/cellular performance) for a given user ¶0072 see network API services are implemented in a network core or on network edges, or in cloud-based network edge locations).
Regarding claims 4, 11, 18. Sharma further teaches one or more processors of claim 1, wherein the controller is to receive information from the core network, the access network, and the transport network, wherein each of the core network, access network, and transport networks are 5G networks (Fig 2D ¶0033 see control APIs utilize various controllers for access and core networks (e.g., radio access network (RAN) intelligent controller, 5G Network Exposure Function (NEF), etc.). These and other controllers may be exposed by network API service ¶0068 see FIG. 2D is a block diagram illustrating an example, non-limiting embodiment of a network API service providing control functionality in accordance with various aspects described herein. FIG. 2D shows all of the elements of FIG. 2C with the addition of access controller 210D and core controller 220D. In embodiments represented by FIG. 2D, network API service 158 may modify network features within access network 220A using access controller 210D, and may modify network features within core network 230A using core controller 220D)
Regarding claim 5. Sharma further teaches one or more processors of claim 1, wherein the controller is to receive one or more parameters to identify the one or more devices within the core network (¶0102 see a request to authenticate a UE device to a network API service is performed. In some embodiments, this corresponds to a UE device authenticating on behalf of an application running on the device, on behalf of the device itself, or on behalf of a user to which the UE device is registered. At 220F, an authentication nonce is received. As described above, the authentication nonce may be a cryptographic nonce, a non-cryptographic nonce, or any other identifier capable of identifying a user to a network API service.)
Regarding claim 6, 13. Sharma further teaches one or more processors of claim 1, wherein the API call is further to cause the controller to communicate the one or more control signals to at least one access device, the at least one access device within the access network, wherein the API includes a request for the at least one access device to receive the one or more control signals (¶0042 see access network 220A may be any type (or any number) of access networks that enables UE 210A to communicate with core network 230A. For example, access network 220A may be any of the access networks described above with reference to FIG. 1 . Access network 220A may include many devices or elements capable of providing data to network API service 158 at 222A. For example, access network 220A may include network routers, switches, cellular base stations).
Regarding claim 7, 14, 20. Sharma further teaches one or more processors of claim 1, wherein the controller performs one or more neural networks to generate network settings, based, at least, in part on the information from the transport network and access network (¶0077 see embodiments described herein can also employ artificial intelligence (AI) to facilitate automating one or more features described herein. The embodiments (e.g., in connection with automatically identifying acquired cell sites that provide a maximum value/benefit after addition to an existing communication network) can employ various AI-based schemes for carrying out various embodiments thereof. Moreover, the classifier can be employed to determine a ranking or priority of each cell site of the acquired network. A classifier is a function that maps an input attribute vector, x=(x1, x2, x3, x4, . . . , xn), to a confidence that the input belongs to a class, that is, f(x)=confidence (class).. classification approaches comprise, e.g., naïve Bayes, Bayesian networks, decision trees, neural networks, fuzzy logic models, and probabilistic classification models providing different patterns of independence can be employed).
Regarding claim 12. Sharma further teaches the system of claim 8, wherein the API is to further cause the controller to identify the one or more devices within the core network based, at least in part, on one or more parameters of the API (¶0102 see a request to authenticate a UE device to a network API service is performed. In some embodiments, this corresponds to a UE device authenticating on behalf of an application running on the device, on behalf of the device itself, or on behalf of a user to which the UE device is registered. At 220F, an authentication nonce is received. As described above, the authentication nonce may be a cryptographic nonce, a non-cryptographic nonce, or any other identifier capable of identifying a user to a network API service.)
Regarding claim 19. Sharma further teaches the method of claim 15, wherein the method further comprises: identifying the one or more devices within the core network, in response to the controller calling the API, wherein the API comprises parameters indicating the one or more devices to receive the one or more control signals (¶0102 see a request to authenticate a UE device to a network API service is performed. In some embodiments, this corresponds to a UE device authenticating on behalf of an application running on the device, on behalf of the device itself, or on behalf of a user to which the UE device is registered. At 220F, an authentication nonce is received. As described above, the authentication nonce may be a cryptographic nonce, a non-cryptographic nonce, or any other identifier capable of identifying a user to a network API service.)
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
References are cited not only for their quoted language but for all that they teach.
/ATTA KHAN/
Examiner, Art Unit 2449