11Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
The response of the applicant has been read and given careful consideration. The response of the applicant has been read and given careful consideration. Responses to the arguments of the applicant are presented after the first rejection they are directed to.
Claims 11-16 and 19-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Confirmation of the election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/7/2025. The restriction of the previous action is incorporated by reference and made final.
invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kozhuhk 20030138734, in view of Wang 20120235049, Yamamoto et al. WO 2006126444 and Yuan et al. 6317189.
Kozhuhk 20030138734 (cited by applicant) illustrates in figure 2, an exposure apparatus where a light source (210) emits light which is reflected off an reflective LCD photomask which is (electrically) driven using a computer (260) and the light is then incident upon a substrate (240) mounts upon a stage (250) [0024]. Referencing FIG. 2, data representing a geometric pattern may be stored on electronic media such as a magnetic disk or CD-ROM. The geometric pattern may correspond to an electronic component, interconnect pattern, or other such features which are commonly formed on semiconductor wafers, flat panel displays, or printed circuit boards by means of projection lithography. The data may be transferred to imaging computer 260 which processes the geometric pattern data and generates output signals which are used to form an image of the geometric pattern on reflective LCD 300. More specifically, imaging computer 260 applies a potential difference across selected front and rear electrodes as necessary to form an image of the geometric pattern across an array of pixels contained within the reflective LCD. For example, imaging computer 260 may apply a voltage of +5 volts to selected front electrodes and -5 volts to selected rear electrodes, thereby generating a potential difference of 10 volts across pixels which are ON. In a positive mode liquid crystal display, the geometric image is represented by dark pixels on a light background, much like a light-field polarity mask in a fixed mask projection lithography system. Conversely, in a negative mode liquid crystal display, the geometric image is represented by light pixels on a dark background, much like a dark-field polarity mask in a fixed mask projection lithography system [0036]. The radiation source (210) may be selected to emit visible light, ultraviolet light, extreme ultraviolet light, x-rays, electrons, ions or other forms of radiation as are commonly used in projection lithography processing [0062]. in order to prevent degradation of the radiation pattern reflected by a reflective LCD, the liquid crystal material contained in the reflective LCD must be chosen such that the wavelength of radiation emitted by radiation source 210 is outside the absorption spectrum of the liquid crystal material. For example, FIG. 7 illustrates the absorption spectrum for the liquid crystal compound ZLI-3376-000/100 sold by the Merck Group. The absorption spectrum shows that incident light with a wavelength greater than approximately 340 nm will not be absorbed by the liquid crystal material. However, incident light with a wavelength of 260-340 nm will be absorbed by the liquid crystal material, with the lower wavelength light being absorbed to a greater extent than the higher wavelength light. Consequently, in one embodiment of the present invention, radiation source 210 may be an excimer laser with a wavelength greater than approximately 340 nm and the ZLI-3376000/100 liquid crystal compound may be used as a liquid crystal layer in the reflective LCD. In an alternative embodiment of the present invention, an excimer laser with a wavelength of approximately 220 nm may be used in conjunction with Merck Group liquid crystal compound MLC-9300-100 [0063]. A geometric pattern is formed on reflective LCD 220 by electrically configuring an array of configurable pixels within reflective LCD 220. During the projection lithography process, radiation from radiation source 210 is imposed on the geometric pattern contained in reflective LCD 220. Radiation reflected from reflective LCD 220 is reduced and focused onto photoresist covered substrate 240 by projection system 230, thereby forming a reduced image of the geometric pattern on substrate 240. As shown in FIG. 2, projection system 230 comprises an imaging lens disposed between reflective LCD 220 and substrate 240. Substrate 240 is removably fixed to substrate stage 250. Substrate stage 250 is connected to a substrate positioning system which provides for movement of substrate 240 across the image plane. The present invention may also include a condenser lens disposed between the radiation source and the reflective LCD for directing radiation to the reflective LCD as well as filters disposed between the radiation source and the condenser lens and the projection lens and the reflective LCD. These elements are well known in the art and have been omitted from FIG. 2 for purposes of clarity [0024]
The position of the examiner is that the liquid crystal display (LCD) embodiments disclosed clearly is electrically driven using electrodes based upon the connection to the computer (260) illustrated in and the disclosure of the application of voltage across the front and rear electrodes of the array of pixels at [0036].
Wang 20120235049 In view of the foregoing, the present invention provides an improved reticle inspection system reflecting an improved balance of design objectives, achieved by configuring an SPF as a thin film coating positioned on or proximate to the EUV imaging sensor. More specifically, the concern for protection of the objective optics primarily arises from concern with degradation caused by out-of-band light having a wavelength in the 100-1200 nm range. An examination of the spectrum produced by typical EUV light sources, however, reveals only insignificant levels of out-of-band light with a wavelength between 100 and 1200 nm, which is not excessively damaging to the objective optics. Moreover, only a small fraction (e.g., <10%) of the optical energy occurs at a wavelength greater than 120 nm. It has been further determined that almost all of the out-of-band light energy emitted by a typical EUV light source is in the 10-70 nm range, which is effectively filtered by the Mo--Si multilayers of the reticle and/or mirrors of the optical system. The determination that all or a portion of the SPF functionality can be moved to the reflected light path allows the filter to be configured as a thin film coating placed directly on or proximate to the EUV image sensor, which produces a number of important advantages [0036].
Yamamoto et al. WO 2006126444 (machine translation attached) teaches the exposure apparatus of the present embodiment includes an EUV light source 1 that emits EUV light of a predetermined wavelength as a light source for supplying exposure light. The light emitted from the light source 1 enters the illumination optical system 2. Thereafter, the EUV light is reflected by the plane reflecting mirror 3 to illuminate a reflective mask (reticle) M on which a pattern to be transferred is formed. As shown in Fig. 2, between the light source 1 and the mask M, only the neutral density filter 23 for changing the amount of exposure light and EUV light of a predetermined wavelength (for example, 13.4 nm or 11.5 nm) are selectively used. A wavelength selective filter 24 that transmits light can be provided [0017)
Yuan et al. 6317189 teaches a reflective display comprises a pair of substrates and a holographic polymer dispersed cholesteric liquid crystal (HPDCLC) material formed between the substrates. The holographic polymer dispersed cholesteric liquid crystal material comprises a holographic polymer dispersed liquid crystal material and a cholesteric liquid crystal material. These two materials reflect one or more different intrinsic colors such that individual cells of the display can reflect one or more different intrinsic colors. The cells can comprise more than two layers, with each layer being reflective of a different intrinsic color. The cells in such embodiments can reflect three different intrinsic peak wavelengths and one or more intrinsic colors, enabling the display to reflect all colors (abstract). Two layer embodiments are illustrated in figures 7 and 8 and three layer embodiments are illustrated in figures 9 and 10.
FIG. 7 shows a third exemplary embodiment of a holographic polymer dispersed cholesteric liquid crystal display 80 according to this invention. The holographic polymer dispersed cholesteric liquid crystal display 80 comprises a pair of substrates 82; a pair of electrodes 84; and a light reflective medium which comprises a cholesteric liquid crystal layer 86 that is formed separately from a holographically structured polymer dispersed liquid crystal layer 88. The illustrated cell is shown in the off-state, in which the cholesteric liquid crystal layer 86 is in the planar texture and first and second intrinsic peak wavelengths (of one or more intrinsic colors) are reflected by the different layers, as depicted by the arrows R.sub.1 and R.sub.2. The holographic polymer dispersed cholesteric liquid crystal display 80 comprises a single voltage source 90 that selectively applies voltage to the cholesteric liquid crystal layer 86 and the holographically structured polymer dispersed liquid crystal layer 88.
FIG. 8 shows a fourth exemplary embodiment of holographic polymer dispersed cholesteric liquid crystal display 180 according to this invention. In FIG. 8, the light reflective medium comprises a cholesteric liquid crystal layer 86 separated from a holographically structured polymer dispersed liquid crystal layer 88 by an electrode 84, and two voltage sources 90 and 91. The voltage sources 90 and 91 selectively apply voltage to the cholesteric liquid crystal layer 86 and the holographically structured polymer dispersed liquid crystal layer 88, respectively, to cause these layers to selectively reflect or transmit light at the associated Bragg wavelengths .lambda..sub.BC and .lambda..sub.BH .
FIGS. 9 and 10 show, respectively, fifth and sixth exemplary embodiments of a holographic polymer dispersed cholesteric liquid crystal display according to this invention. As shown in FIGS. 9 and 10, multi-color displays can include a light reflective medium that has more than one of the cholesteric liquid crystal layers and/or more than one of the holographically structured polymer dispersed liquid crystal layers. Each layer of these light reflective structures will reflect light of a different intrinsic peak wavelength. It will be appreciated that the different intrinsic peak wavelengths can each be for a different intrinsic color.
In particular, FIG. 9 shows the fifth exemplary embodiment of a holographic polymer dispersed cholesteric liquid crystal display 110, which comprises cells 111 that include a light reflective medium including three separate layers. The holographic polymer dispersed cholesteric liquid crystal display 110 includes a cholesteric liquid crystal layer 112 formed between a first holographically structured polymer dispersed liquid crystal layer 114 and a second holographically structured polymer dispersed liquid crystal layer 116. The layers 112, 114 and 116 are disposed between a pair of substrates 118 and a pair of electrodes 120, and are totally separated from each other.
In FIG. 9, the illustrated cell is shown in the off-state, in which the cholesteric liquid crystal layer 112 is in the planar texture. In the off-state, the first holographically structured polymer dispersed liquid crystal layer 114 reflects a first intrinsic peak wavelength R.sub.1, the cholesteric liquid crystal layer 112 reflects a second intrinsic peak wavelength R.sub.2, and the second holographically structured polymer dispersed liquid crystal layer 116 reflects a third intrinsic peak wavelength R.sub.3. For example, the first holographically structured polymer dispersed liquid crystal layer 114 can reflect blue light, the cholesteric liquid crystal layer 112 can reflect green light and the second holographically structured polymer dispersed liquid crystal layer 116 can reflect red light. Thus, the cells 111 of the holographic polymer dispersed cholesteric liquid crystal display 110 can emit all colors by selectively mixing the three reflected intrinsic colors R.sub.1, R.sub.2 and R.sub.3. It will be appreciated that the three intrinsic peak wavelengths can optionally be for less than three intrinsic colors (i.e., one or two intrinsic colors).
When an intermediate voltage is applied to the cells by a single voltage source 122, the first holographically structured polymer dispersed liquid crystal layer 114 reflects the first intrinsic peak wavelength or intrinsic color R.sub.1, the second holographically structured polymer dispersed liquid crystal layer 116 reflects the third color R.sub.3, and the cholesteric liquid crystal layer 112 transmits all wavelengths of the incident light I.
FIG. 10 shows the sixth exemplary embodiment of the holographic polymer dispersed cholesteric liquid crystal display 210 according to this invention. The holographic polymer dispersed cholesteric liquid crystal display 210 comprises three separate voltage sources 122, 124, 126. One voltage source 122 is associated with the first holographically structured polymer dispersed liquid crystal layer 114, the second voltage source 124 is associated with the cholesteric liquid crystal layer 112, and the third voltage source 126 is associated with the second holographically structured polymer dispersed liquid crystal layer 116. The holographic polymer dispersed cholesteric liquid crystal display 210 comprises four electrodes 120. The first holographically structured polymer dispersed liquid crystal layer 114, the cholesteric liquid crystal layer 112 and the second holographically structured polymer dispersed liquid crystal layer 116 are each between a pair of the electrodes 120. The voltage sources 122, 124 and 126 can selectively apply voltages of selected values to the first holographically structured polymer dispersed liquid crystal layer 114, the cholesteric liquid crystal layer 112 and the second holographically structured polymer dispersed liquid crystal layer 116 to enable the holographic polymer dispersed cholesteric liquid crystal display 210 to selectively reflect one, two or three, intrinsic peak wavelengths in all possible combinations. The different intrinsic peak wavelengths can be for different intrinsic colors.
Alternatively, the holographic polymer dispersed cholesteric liquid crystal displays 110 and 210 can comprise more than one cholesteric liquid crystal layer 112. For example, the holographic polymer dispersed cholesteric liquid crystal displays 110 and 210 can comprise two cholesteric liquid crystal layers 112, and a single holographically structured polymer dispersed liquid crystal layer (col. 11/line 39-col. 13/17).
Kozhuhk 20030138734 does not teach LC devices (LCDs) which use cholesteric liquid crystals or the use of stacked LC pixel layers which reflect different EUV wavelengths.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the embodiments taught by Kozhuhk 20030138734 by using cholesteric liquid crystals composition including the PDLC materials taught in Yuan et al. 6317189 (abstract) to form multilayered/laminated LC devices as taught with respect to figure 7-10 and the associated text of Yuan et al. 6317189 where each cholesteric LC stack includes one pixel element which is optimized for 13.5 nm and another is optimized for 11.5 nm which are known useful EUV wavelengths as evidenced in Yamamoto et al. WO 2006126444 which allows the EUC liquid crystal to be used in different EUV exposure apparatus with different sources with the cholesteric LC pixel layer chosen to match the EUV exposure wavelength and decrease the propagation of other wavelengths through the system as taught in Wang 20120235049 by reducing the reflectance of these other wavelengths with a reasonable expectation of forming useful masking devices based upon these being known functional LC devices in Yuan et al. 6317189.
The applicant argues that Kozhuhk 20030138734 does not teach the use of cholesteric liquid crystals or a plurality of stacked liquid crystal pixel units on page 8 of the response. The examiner agrees that the reference does not anticipate the claims as it uses nematic LCs and only describes a single LC layer. The applicant on page 14 argues that while Yuan et al. describes a LCD display it describes reflecting different visible wavelengths, not different EUV wavelengths. The addition of Yamamoto et al. WO 2006126444 and Wang 20120235049 addresses this.
In the response of 1/26/2026, the applicant argues the Yuan et al. does not teaches a liquid crystal mask, so it does not cure the defect of the combination with the other references and in particular with a EUV light. The applicant also argues that the liquid crystal material is chosen on the basis of the wavelength used in the exposure. These arguments ignore that EUV optical elements including the masks are reflective and that Yuan et al. describes the use of cholesteric PGDLC materials and interferometric exposures to tailor the reflectivity of the cholesteric PDLC layers to specific wavelengths based upon the pitch of the Bragg grating formed in the PDLC material. This addresses both the points raised by the applicant. The desire to use EUV is based upon the finer patterns which can be formed using EUV exposure wavelengths. The rejection stands.
Claims 1-5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Kozhuhk 20030138734, in view of Wang 20120235049, Yamamoto et al. WO 2006126444 and Yuan et al. 6317189, further in view of Baur et al. WO 2022023546.
Kozhuhk 20030138734 teaches the programmable masks such as DMDs or LCDs and alignment stage for the workpiece, but does not describe the stage in detail.
Baur et al. WO 2022023546 teaches a method of alignment of a photomask on a translational stage. Fig. l shows a schematic view of an exemplary sample stage too having three translation axes and one rotation axis. The translation axes are substantially mutually perpendicular to one another and thus form an orthogonal coordinate system. The sample stage too hereinafter is also called mask stage too or stage too. The baseplate no of the sample stage too has rails 120 for displacing the chuck surface of the sample stage too in the y-direction. The slide 130 of the sample stage too can be moved on the rails 120 along the y-axis. On its top side, the slide 130 carries rails 140 enabling a second slide 150 of the sample stage too to be displaced along the x-direction. The second slide 150 forms the baseplate 160 for the displacing unit 170 in the z-direction. The rotation axis 180 is arranged on the displacing unit 170 of the sample stage too for the z-direction, said rotation axis being oriented or aligned parallel to the z-direction. The rotation axis 180 carries the chuck 190, the mask holder 190 or the mask plate 190. Hereinafter the chuck surface 195 of the chuck 190 denotes the sum of the points on which a photo mask, on its underside, which has no pattern, bears on the chuck 190 (page 16).Scanning the sample stage can comprise displacing the sample stage, without rotating the sample stage. Scanning the sample stage can comprise: (a) first scanning of the sample stage in a diagonal direction with respect to a marking to be scanned; (b) dis placing the scan path for a second scan by a predefined distance perpendicular to the first scan path; and (c) repeating step (b) until the repeated scan meets a reference point of the scanned marking (page 7). Finally, a computer program can comprise instructions which, when they are executed by a computer system, cause the computer system to carry out the method steps of the method described above (page 13)
The combination of Kozhuhk 20030138734, Wang 20120235049, Yamamoto et al. WO 2006126444 and Yuan et al. 6317189 does not teach the motorized translation stage.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the embodiments rendered obvious by the combination of Kozhuhk 20030138734, Wang 20120235049, Yamamoto et al. WO 2006126444 and Yuan et al. 6317189 by using translational stages taught in Baur et al. WO 2022023546 having rails (page 16) and able to be scanned (page 7) using computers to control (electric) motors enabling the scanning (page 13) to enable precise alignment/positioning of the LCD mask. While Baur et al. does not specifically disclose motors, the reference clearly describes functionality which can only be attributable to the use of motors.
There are no arguments beyond that addressed above. The rejection stands.
Claims 1-5,7-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kozhuhk 20030138734, in view of Wang 20120235049, Yamamoto et al. WO 2006126444 and Yuan et al. 6317189, further in view of Xu et al. WO 2018032531, Baur et al. WO 2022023546 and Hasegawa et al. JP 2005-064391.
The combination of Kozhuhk 20030138734, Wang 20120235049, Yamamoto et al. WO 2006126444 and Yuan et al. 6317189 does not exemplify of teach cooling of an EUV liquid crystal mask or translation stage for EUV mask.
Xu et al. WO 2018032531 (machine translation attached) teaches with respect to figure 1, a stereolithographic exposure device which includes a photosensitive resin pool 1, a carrying unit 2, an LCD liquid crystal display unit 3, and a light source 4. The photosensitive resin bath 1 has a transparent bottom wall 11 and a peripheral wall 12 fixedly disposed above the bottom wall, and the bottom wall 11 and the peripheral wall 12 constitute a first accommodating space 13. The detailed configuration of the photosensitive resin bath 1 will be explained below. A carrier unit 2 for carrying a printed object is disposed above the photosensitive resin bath 1, which is capable of moving vertically toward or away from the photosensitive resin bath 1. The LCD liquid crystal display unit 3 is located in the first accommodating space 13 of the photosensitive resin bath 1 and is disposed on the bottom wall 11. The light source 4 is disposed on the outer side of the bottom wall 11 , that is, the light source 4 is located outside the first accommodation space 13 . During operation, the LCD liquid crystal display unit 3 displays a cross-sectional pattern of the printed object in a light-transmitting area and a light-shielding area, and the light source 4 is transparent through the bottom wall 11 and the LCD. After the unit 3 is shown, the liquid photosensitive resin in the photosensitive resin bath 1 is irradiated so that the liquid photosensitive resin is cured on the carrying unit 2 in accordance with the cross-sectional pattern of the printed object (7/27-8/2). Referring to Figures 6 to 9B, a specific structure of the photosensitive resin bath 1 will be described in detail below. In the present embodiment, the photosensitive resin bath 1 mainly includes two portions of a bottom wall 11 and a peripheral wall 12. The bottom wall 11 has a generally "back" shape with a hollow portion 111 therein and the opposite sides of the solid portion are recessed inwardly to form a third receiving space 112. The transparent second cooling plate 14 and the above-described LCD liquid crystal display unit 3 are disposed in the third housing space 112. The solid portions of the peripheral wall 12 and the bottom wall 11 are identical in shape so that they can still be placed on the bottom wall. One side of the bottom wall 11 is fixedly provided with a locking element 113 which has a longitudinal cross-section in the shape of a "[" and is pivotally connected to the bottom wall 11. The locking member 113 has an engaging position and a free position, and when the locking member 113 is in the engaged position, the bottom wall 11 and the peripheral wall 12 are fixed to each other. When the locking member 113 is in the free position, the bottom wall 11 and the peripheral wall 12 can be separated from each other. That is, the height of the locking element 113 and the height of the peripheral wall 12 should be substantially the same so that it can just snap onto the edge of the peripheral wall 12 when it is rotated to the locked position. 10A to 10C, the second cooling plate 14 is disposed between the bottom wall 11 and the LCD liquid crystal display unit 3, and has a second inwardly concave, meandering shape toward a side of the LCD liquid crystal display unit 3. The fluid passage 141 and the two ends of the second fluid passage 141 form a third hole 142 and a fourth hole 143 communicating with the outside on the second cooling plate 14. The second fluid passage 141 is at least 60% of the range in which the LCD liquid crystal display unit 3 is disposed, so that the coolant flowing into the concave passage can sufficiently absorb the heat radiated from the LCD liquid crystal display unit 3. The shape of the second fluid passage 141 may be the same as that of the first fluid passage 451 (9/18-35). In the working process of light curing 3D printer, there are mainly two heat sources. The first heat source is the light source component, which releases a large amount of heat during operation, and the second heat source is the heat released during the curing of the liquid photosensitive resin. In order to ensure that the components of the 3D printer can work at normal temperatures, it is necessary to dissipate the heat generated by the heat source in time. By providing the first fluid passage for the light source, it is possible to cause the coolant to flow in the substrate, thereby absorbing heat generated by the light-emitting element. The coolant is generally water, and a grease having a high transmittance can also be used (3/16-21)
Hasegawa et al. JP 2005-064391 (machine translation attached) teaches that in EUV systems optical members and chucks are placed in a vacuum, and radiative cooling to the surrounding environment due to convective heat transfer cannot be expected, so reticles, wafers, reflecting mirrors, etc. via holding means such as reticle chucks, wafer chucks, mirror holders, etc. It is necessary to cool the optical member. Conventionally, optical members such as a wafer, a reticle, and a reflecting mirror are absorbed by EUV light by being held by holding means such as a reticle chuck, a wafer chuck, and a mirror holder provided with a cooling means for circulating cooling water at a constant temperature. Thus, the heat generated in the optical member is radiated through the holding means, and the temperature rise of the optical member is reduced [0016].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the embodiments rendered obvious by the combination of Kozhuhk 20030138734, Wang 20120235049, Yamamoto et al. WO 2006126444 and Yuan et al. 6317189 by using translational stages taught in Baur et al. WO 2022023546 having rails (page 16) and able to be scanned (page 7) using computers to control (electric) motors enabling the scanning (page 13) to enable precise alignment/positioning of the LCD mask and providing a cooling plate which uses flowing water on the backside of the reflective LCD mask similar to that taught by Xu et al. WO 2018032531 which is used to dissipate heating of the LCD due to the light used in the exposure and including it as part of the chuck/stage of Baur et al. WO 2022023546 as it is known in the art to use water or other fluids to cool the (reflective) EUV masks through the chuck as evidenced in Hasegawa et al. JP 2005-064391
There are no arguments beyond that addressed above. The rejection stands.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MARTIN J. ANGEBRANNDT
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1737
/MARTIN J ANGEBRANNDT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737
March 16, 2026