DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s arguments and amendments filed December 28, 2025 have been entered and considered.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 11-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al. (US 20230006119 A1), in view of Inukai (US 20020000576 A1) and Sasaki et al. (US 20130153941 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Oh et al. teaches:
A display device comprising:
a first electrode [EL1, Fig. 16] and a second electrode [EL2, Fig. 16] extending in a second direction [DR2, Fig. 16] above a substrate [SUB, Fig. 16];
a pixel unit [PXL(PXA), Fig. 17] comprising a light emitting element [LD, Fig. 17] on the first electrode [EL1] and the second electrode [EL2];
a first signal line [CL1 “first connection line”, paragraph [0291], [0294], Fig. 16] electrically connected to the first electrode [EL1, Fig. 16] for providing a first power to the first electrode [EL1, Fig. 16]; and
a second signal line [CL2 “second connection line”, paragraph [0291], [0294], Fig. 16] electrically connected to the second electrode [EL2] for providing a second power to the second electrode [EL2, Fig. 16],
wherein at least a portion of the first signal line [CL1, Fig. 16] and at least a portion of the second signal line [CL2, Fig. 16] extend in a first direction [DR1, Fig. 16] crossing the second direction [DR2, Fig. 16], and
wherein at least another portion of the first signal line [CL1, Fig. 16] extends in a second direction [DR2, Fig. 16].
Oh et al. does not teach:
A constant power.
Inukai teaches:
A constant power [paragraph [0020], [0085-0086]].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Inukai into the teachings of Oh et al. to include a constant power, for the purpose of continuously emitting light, improving display, it is not necessary to control using a switch the potential applied from the power source provided in the IC, the present invention is useful in materializing panels of a larger screen size.
Oh et al. and Inukai do not teach:
wherein at least a portion of the first signal line and at least a portion of the second signal line extend in a first direction crossing the second direction to overlap the first electrode or the second electrode in a plan view.
Sasaki et al. teaches:
wherein at least a portion of the first signal line [17, paragraph [0099], [0101-0105], [0109], Fig. 1-2, 4] and at least a portion of the second signal line [11, paragraph [0129], Fig. 1, 4] extend in a first direction crossing the second direction to overlap the first electrode [22, paragraph [0101-0105], [0107], Fig. 1-2, 4] or the second electrode [24, paragraph [0101-0105], Fig. 1-2, 4] in a plan view.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Sasaki et al. into the teachings of Oh et al. and Inukai to include wherein at least a portion of the first signal line and at least a portion of the second signal line extend in a first direction that is not parallel to the second direction to overlap the first electrode or the second electrode in a plan view, for the purpose of reducing layout space, and increasing density, alignment accuracy, and performance. See also, MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Regarding claim 2, Oh et al., Inukai and Sasaki et al. teach the display device according to claim 1.
Oh et al. further teaches: the display device further comprising:
a display area [DA, paragraph [0108-0109], Fig. 16-17] in which the pixel unit [PXL (PXA)] is located;
a non-display area [NDA, paragraph [0108-0109], Fig. 16] surrounding at least a portion of the display area [DA];
a first power line [PD1, paragraph [0293], Fig. 16] having at least a portion in the non-display area [NDA, Fig. 16], and configured to supply the first power [VDD] to the first signal line [CL1, paragraph [0291], [0294], and [0297], Fig. 16]; and
a second power line [PD2, paragraph [0293], Fig. 16] having at least a portion in the non-display area [NDA, Fig. 16], and configured to supply the second power [VSS] to the second signal line [CL2, paragraph [0291], [0294], and [0297], Fig. 16],
wherein the first power line [PD1, Fig. 16] and the second power line [PD2, Fig. 16] have a plate shape [Fig. 16].
Regarding claim 3, Oh et al., Inukai and Sasaki et al. teach the display device according to claim 2.
Oh et al. further teaches:
wherein the first power line [PD1] and the second power line [PD2] are spaced apart from each other in the first direction [DR1, Fig. 16], and are on a same layer.
Regarding claim 4, Oh et al., Inukai and Sasaki et al. teach the display device according to claim 2.
Oh et al. further teaches:
wherein the first signal line [CL1, Fig. 16] comprises a (1-1)-th signal line [CL1 Top Horizontal part, Fig. 16] extending in the first direction [DR1, Fig. 16], and a (1-2)-th signal line [CL1 Vertical part, Fig. 16] extending in the second direction [DR2, Fig. 16], and
wherein the second signal line [CL2, Fig. 16] comprises a (2-1)-th signal line [CL2 Top Horizontal part, Fig. 16] extending in the first direction [DR1, Fig. 16], and a (2-2)-th signal line [CL2 Vertical part, Fig. 16] extending in the second direction [DR2, Fig. 16].
Regarding claim 5, Oh et al., Inukai and Sasaki et al. teach the display device according to claim 4.
Oh et al. further teaches:
wherein the pixel unit [PXL(PXA)] comprises a first adjacent pixel area above the first power line [PD1, Fig. 16] in a plan view with respect to the second direction [DR2, Fig. 16], and a second adjacent pixel area above the second power line [PD2, Fig. 16] in a plan view with respect to the second direction [DR2, Fig. 16],
wherein the first adjacent pixel area is not above the second power line [PD2, Fig. 16] with respect to the second direction [DR2, Fig. 16], and
wherein the second adjacent pixel area is not above the first power line [PD1, Fig. 16] with respect to the second direction [DR2, Fig. 16].
Regarding claim 6, Oh et al., Inukai and Sasaki et al. teach the display device according to claim 5.
Oh et al. further teaches:
wherein the (1-1)-th signal line [CL1 Top Horizontal part, Fig. 16] and the (2-1)-th signal line [CL2 Top Horizontal part, Fig. 16] extend in a same direction [DR1, Fig. 16] in which the first power line [PD1] and the second power line [PD2] are spaced apart from each other.
Regarding claim 7, Oh et al., Inukai and Sasaki et al. teach the display device according to claim 4.
Oh et al. further teaches:
wherein the first power line [PD1, paragraph [0294-0297], Fig. 16] is electrically connected to the first electrode [EL1] through the (1-1)-th signal line [CL1 Top Horizontal part, Fig. 16] and the (1-2)- th signal line [CL1 Vertical part, Fig. 16], and
wherein the second power line [PD2, paragraph [0294-0297], Fig. 16] is electrically connected to the second electrode [EL2] through the (2-1)-th signal line [CL2 Top Horizontal part, Fig. 16] and the (2-2)-th signal line [CL2 Vertical part, Fig. 16].
Regarding claim 8, Oh et al., Inukai and Sasaki et al. teach the display device according to claim 4.
Oh et al. further teaches:
wherein the first signal line [CL1] further comprises a (1-3)-th signal line [CL1 Bottom Horizontal part, Fig. 16] electrically connected to the (1-2)-th signal line [CL1 Vertical part, Fig. 16], and extending in a same direction as the (1-1)-th signal line [CL1 Top Horizontal part, Fig. 16], and
wherein the first power line [PD1, paragraph [0294-0297], Fig. 16] is electrically connected to the first electrode [EL1] through the (1-1)-th signal line [CL1 Top Horizontal part, Fig. 16], the (1-2)-th signal line [CL1 Vertical part, Fig. 16], and the (1-3)-th signal line [CL1 Bottom Horizontal part, Fig. 16].
Regarding claim 9, Oh et al., Inukai and Sasaki et al. teach the display device according to claim 8.
Oh et al. further teaches:
wherein the first signal line [CL1] further comprises a (1-4)-th signal line [CL1 and PD1 connection points, Fig. 16] comprising a first extension portion [Top CH1 and PD1 connection point, Fig. 16] electrically connected to the (1-2)-th signal line [CL1 Vertical part, Fig. 16], and extending in a same direction as the (1-1)-th signal line [CL1 Top Horizontal part, Fig. 16], and a second extension portion [Bottom CH1 and PD1 connection points, Fig. 16] extending in a same direction as the (1-2)-th signal line [CL1 Vertical part, Fig. 16], and
wherein the first power line [PD1, paragraph [0293-0297], Fig. 16] is electrically connected to the first electrode [EL1] through the (1-1)-th signal line [CL1 Top Horizontal part, Fig. 16], the (1-2)-th signal line [CL1 Vertical part, Fig. 16], and the (1-4)-th signal line [CL1 and PD1 connection points, Fig. 16].
Regarding claim 11, Oh et al., Inukai and Sasaki et al. teach the display device according to claim 4.
Oh et al. further teaches:
wherein the first power line [PD1, Fig. 16] and the second power line [PD2, Fig. 16] are on a layer [Surface of device] that is different from that of the first electrode [EL1, on PSV layer, Fig. 18A] and the second electrode [EL2, on PSV layer, Fig. 18A].
Regarding claim 12, Oh et al., Inukai and Sasaki et al. teach the display device according to claim 11.
Oh et al. further teaches:
wherein the first signal line [CL1] and the second signal line [CL2] are on a layer that is different from that of the first electrode [EL1] and the second electrode [EL2].
Paragraph [0285] of Oh et al. (US 20230006119 A1) states that the first and second electrodes [EL1 and EL2] may be on different layers [Fig. 15]. Therefore, first or second signal lines [CL1 and CL2] must be on a different layer than either the first or second electrode [EL1 and EL2]. This limitation can be applied to both first and second electrodes [EL1 and EL2], such that the first and second electrodes [EL1 and EL2] are on a same layer and different than the layer where the first and second signal lines [CL1 and CL2] are located. Selection of a particular relative location of signal lines and electrodes does not associate with an unexpected advantage or feature. This limitation would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art through routine trial and error or by normal design procedures. See also, MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Regarding claim 13, Oh et al., Inukai and Sasaki et al. teach the display device according to claim 1.
Oh et al. further teaches:
wherein at least a portion of the first signal line [CL1, Fig. 16] is on a layer that is different from that of at least a portion of the second signal line [CL2, Fig. 16].
Paragraphs [0292-0294] of Oh et al. (US 20230006119 A1) states that the first and second signal lines [CL1 and CL2] are connected to first and second pad parts [PD1 and PD2]. Where first and second pad parts [PD1 and PD2] and located in the Non-Display Area [NDA], and first and second signal lines [CL1 and CL2] extend in the Display Area [DA]. Selection of a particular relative location of signal lines does not associate with an unexpected advantage or feature. This limitation would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art through routine trial and error or by normal design procedures. See also, MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Regarding claim 14, Oh et al., Inukai and Sasaki et al. teach the display device according to claim 1.
Oh et al. further teaches:
further comprising a transistor [T, paragraph [0177-0178], Fig. 18A] electrically connected to the light emitting element [LD], and comprising a source electrode [SE] and a drain electrode [DE],
wherein the first signal line [CL1] and the second signal line [CL2] are on a same layer [PCL, Fig. 18A] as the source electrode [SE] and the drain electrode [DE].
Regarding claim 15, Oh et al., Inukai and Sasaki et al. teach the display device according to claim 1.
Oh et al. further teaches:
wherein a distance at which the first electrode [EL1] and the second electrode [EL2] are spaced apart from the substrate [SUB] is greater than a distance at which the first signal line [CL1] and the second signal line [CL2] are spaced apart from the substrate [SUB].
Paragraph [0285] of Oh et al. (US 20230006119 A1) states that the first and second electrodes [EL1 and EL2] may be on different layers [Fig. 15]. Therefore, first or second signal lines [CL1 and CL2] must be on a different layer than either the first or second electrode [EL1 and EL2]. This limitation can be applied to both first and second electrodes [EL1 and EL2], such that the first and second electrodes [EL1 and EL2] are on a same layer and a greater distance from the substrate [SUB] than the first and second signal lines [CL1 and CL2]. Selection of a particular relative location of signal lines and electrodes does not associate with an unexpected advantage or feature. This limitation would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art through routine trial and error or by normal design procedures. See also, MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Regarding claim 16, Oh et al., Inukai and Sasaki et al. teach the display device according to claim 1.
Oh et al. further teaches:
The display device further comprising:
a display area [DA] in which the pixel unit [PXL(PXA), Fig. 16-17] is located; and
a non-display area [NDA, paragraph [0007], Fig. 16] surrounding at least a portion of the display area [DA],
wherein an electrode configuration [EL1, EL2, EL3, EL4, Fig. 16] is not in the non-display area [NDA].
However, Oh et al., Inukai and Sasaki et al. do not teach:
An electrode configuration formed in a same process as that of the first electrode and the second electrode.
Although Oh et al., Inukai and Sasaki et al. do not teach an electrode configuration formed in a same process as that of the first electrode and the second electrode. This limitation is rendered moot due to the claim describing a method of manufacturing.
[See MPEP 2113 Product-by-Process Claims (I-III)]
Regarding claim 17, Oh et al., Inukai and Sasaki et al. teach the display device according to claim 2.
Oh et al. further teaches:
wherein the first signal line [CL1, Fig. 16] and the second signal line [CL2, Fig. 16] are on a same layer as the first power line [PD1, Fig. 16] and the second power line [PD2, Fig. 16].
Regarding claim 18, Oh et al., Inukai and Sasaki et al. teach the display device according to claim 2.
Oh et al. further teaches:
wherein a distance at which the first signal line [CL1, Fig. 16] and the second signal line [CL2, Fig. 16] are spaced apart from the substrate [SUB, Fig. 16] is less than a distance at which the first power line [PD1, Fig. 16] and the second power line [PD2, Fig. 16] are spaced apart from the substrate [SUB].
Regarding claim 20, Oh et al. teaches:
A display device comprising:
a display area [DA] and a non-display area [NDA];
a first alignment electrode [EL1] and a second alignment electrode [EL2] on the display area [DA];
a pixel unit [PXL(PXA)] comprising a light emitting element [LD] having at least a portion positioned between the first alignment electrode [EL1] and the second alignment electrode [EL2]; [Fig. 17-18]
a driving controller [driver (not shown), paragraph [0104], [0109], [0118-0119], Fig 1A-5] in the non-display area [NDA] and configured to control driving of the pixel unit [PXL]; and
a line unit [Line part (not shown), paragraph [0104], [0109], [0118], [0172], Fig. 1A-6E, 16] comprising a first signal line [CL1, paragraph [0172], Fig. 16] electrically connected to the first alignment electrode [EL1, paragraph [0291], Fig. 16], and a second signal line [CL2, paragraph [0172], Fig. 16] electrically connected to the second alignment electrode [EL2, paragraph [0291], Fig. 16],
wherein the non-display area [NDA] comprises a fan-out area [an area where the driver for driving the pixels PXL and a portion of the line part electrically connecting the pixels PXL and the driver to each other are provided, paragraph [0109], Fig. 16] positioned between the display area [DA] and the driving controller [Driver (not shown)],
wherein the line unit [Line part (not shown), paragraph [0104], [0109], [0118], [0172], Fig. 1A-6E, 16] comprises a first power line [PD1, paragraph [0297], Fig. 16] and a second power line [PD2, paragraph [0297], Fig. 16] having at least a portion in the fan-out area [an area where the driver for driving the pixels PXL and a portion of the line part electrically connecting the pixels PXL and the driver to each other are provided, paragraph [0109], Fig. 16], and spaced apart from each other in a first direction [DR1, Fig. 16] , the first power line [PD1, paragraph [0297], Fig. 16] being configured to supply first power [VDD] to the light emitting element [LD] through the first signal line [CL1, paragraph [0291]] and the first alignment electrode [EL1],
wherein the second power [VSS] line [PD2, paragraph [0297], Fig. 6A-6E] is configured to supply second power different from the first power [paragraph [0125], [0297]] to the light emitting element [LD] through the second signal line [CL2, paragraph [0291]] and the second alignment electrode [EL2], and
wherein at least a portion of each of the first signal line [CL1] and the second signal line [CL2] extends in the first direction [DR1, paragraph [0292], Fig. 16].
Oh et al. does not teach:
A constant power.
Inukai teaches:
A constant power [paragraph [0020], [0085-0086]].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Inukai into the teachings of Oh et al. to include a constant power, for the purpose of continuously emitting light, improving display, it is not necessary to control using a switch the potential applied from the power source provided in the IC, the present invention is useful in materializing panels of a larger screen size.
Oh et al. and Inukai do not teach:
wherein at least a portion of each of the first signal line and the second signal line extends in the first direction to overlap the first alignment electrode or the second alignment electrode in a plan view.
Sasaki et al. teaches:
wherein at least a portion of each of the first signal line [17, paragraph [0099], [0101-0105], [0109], Fig. 1-2, 4] and the second signal line [11, paragraph [0129], Fig. 1, 4] extends in the first direction to overlap the first alignment electrode [22, paragraph [0101-0105], [0107], Fig. 1-2, 4] or the second alignment electrode [24, paragraph [0101-0105], Fig. 1-2, 4] in a plan view.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Sasaki et al. into the teachings of Oh et al. and Inukai to include wherein at least a portion of each of the first signal line and the second signal line extends in the first direction to overlap the first alignment electrode or the second alignment electrode in a plan view, for the purpose of reducing layout space, and increasing density, alignment accuracy, and performance. See also, MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al. (US 20230006119 A1), in view of Inukai (US 20020000576 A1) and Sasaki et al. (US 20130153941 A1) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Yang et al. (US 20210288104 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Oh et al., Inukai and Sasaki et al. teach the display device according to claim 9.
Oh et al., Inukai and Sasaki et al. do not teach:
further comprising a third electrode on the substrate, and configured to be provided with the second power supplied from the second signal line,
wherein the second electrode is on one side of the first electrode, and
wherein the third electrode is on another side of the first electrode.
Yang et al. teaches:
further comprising a third electrode [ELT1 (Right of CNL1), Fig. 8] on the substrate [SUB, Fig. 5, 8, 9], and configured to be provided with the second power supplied [VDD, Paragraph [0123]] from the second signal line [PL1],
wherein the second electrode [ELT1 (Left of CNL1), Fig. 8] is on one side of the first electrode [ELT2 (of CNL2), Fig. 8], and
wherein the third electrode [ELT1 (Right of CNL1), Fig. 8] is on another side of the first electrode [ELT2 (of CNL2), Fig. 8].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Yang et al. into the teachings of Oh et al., Inukai and Sasaki et al. to include further comprising a third electrode on the substrate, and configured to be provided with the second power supplied from the second signal line, wherein the second electrode is on one side of the first electrode, and wherein the third electrode is on another side of the first electrode, for the purpose of distributing different voltages to different parts of the device and increasing performance. See also, [MPEP 2163.02 Standard for Determining Compliance with the Written Description Requirement] and [MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts].
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al. (US 20230006119 A1) in view of Inukai (US 20020000576 A1) and Sasaki et al. (US 20130153941 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cheng (US 11114478 B2).
Regarding claim 19, Oh et al., Inukai and Sasaki et al. teach the display device according to claim 1.
Oh et al., Inukai and Sasaki et al. do not teach:
wherein a thickness of the first electrode and a thickness of the second electrode are greater than a thickness of the first signal line and a thickness of the second signal line.
Cheng teaches:
wherein a thickness of the first electrode [8, Col.8, Lines 50-67 to Col. 9, Lines 1-5, Fig. 1B, 4R] and a thickness of the second electrode [7, Col.8, Lines 50-67 to Col. 9, Lines 1-5, Fig. 1B, 4R] are greater than a thickness of the first signal line [131/141/161, Col. 17, Lines 9-11; Col. 21, Lines 34-63, Fig. 4R] and a thickness of the second signal line [132/142/162, Col. 17, Lines 9-11; Col. 21, Lines 34-63, Fig. 4R].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Cheng into the teachings of Oh et al., Inukai and Sasaki et al. to include wherein a thickness of the first electrode and a thickness of the second electrode are greater than a thickness of the first signal line and a thickness of the second signal line, for the purpose of reducing resistance, increase signal transmission speed and response time, decrease signal interference and short circuits. Selection of a particular relative thickness of signal lines and electrodes is not associated with an unexpected technical advantage. This limitation would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art through routine trial and error or by normal design procedures. See also, MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A) Changes in Size/Proportion.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claims 1 and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues on pages 1-3, Section: 1. Claim Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. §103, in remarks filed December 28, 2025 that secondary reference Sasaki et al. (US 20130153941 A1) does not teach the limitation “wherein at least a portion of the first signal line and at least a portion of the second signal line extend in a first direction that is not parallel to the second direction”. Applicant amended claim 1 to replace the words “that is not parallel to” with “crossing”. It can be seen in Fig. 1 of Sasaki et al. (US 20130153941 A1) that at least a portion of the first signal line [17], and at least a portion of the second signal line [11] extend in a first direction [vertical] crossing the second direction [horizontal]. Applicant’s argument regarding this limitation of claim 1 is not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pages 3-4, Section: 1. Claim Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. §103, in remarks filed December 28, 2025 that the current prior art of record does not teach the amended limitations of independent claims 1 and 20. Examiner agrees with Applicant; However, after a new line of search and consideration of the prior art the amended limitations of independent claims 1 and 20 can be overcome by newly cited source Inukai (US 20020000576 A1).
Applicant’s amendments to independent claims 1 and 20 include the limitation “for providing a constant first power to the first electrode” with regard to the first signal line, and “for providing a constant second power to the second electrode” with regard to the second signal line. This limitation can be overcome by newly cited secondary reference Inukai (US 20020000576 A1), paragraphs [0020], [0085-0086]. It should also, be noted that applying a constant power to a display device is not new and is a known limitation in the art. For at least the reasons mentioned above, the amended limitations of independent claims 1 and 20 can be overcome by the cited prior art.
Applicant argues on page 4, Section: 1. Claim Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. §103, in remarks filed December 28, 2025 that dependent claims 2-19 depend on independent claim 1 and should therefore be in condition for allowance. Examiner disagrees with Applicant for at least the reasoned mentioned above.
In summary, Applicant’s arguments regarding the directions of the first and second signal lines is not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments regarding the amendments to independent claims 1 and 20 are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The amended limitations of independent claims 1 and 20 can be overcome by newly cited secondary reference Inukai (US 20020000576 A1). All claims directly or indirectly dependent on independent claims 1 and 20 are also rejected for at least the reasons mentioned above.
Conclusion
/D.M.H./Examiner, Art Unit 2815 04/01/2026
/MONICA D HARRISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815