DETAILED ACTION
Summary
The Applicant’s arguments and claim amendments received August 7, 2025 have been entered into the file. Currently, claims 1 and 5 are amended and claims 3-4 are cancelled, resulting in claims 1-2 and 5-16 pending for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on June 19, 2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishimura, et al. (US 2005/0284750 A1) in view of Li, et al. (CN 108376759 A), cited on IDS.
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Nishimura teaches a bipolar electrode (100; electrode sheet) comprising a current collector sheet (101; bipolar current collector) (¶ [0233], Ln. 1-2; Fig. 31C). The current collector sheet (101; bipolar current collector) includes an insulating sheet (104) with a first conductive layer (105; positive electrode metal layer) formed on one surface of the insulating sheet (104) and a second conductive layer (106; negative electrode metal layer) formed on the other surface of the insulating sheet (104) (¶ [0234], Ln. 1-6). A first electrode material mixture layer (102; positive electrode active material) is carried on the first conductive layer (105; positive electrode metal layer) and a second electrode material mixture layer (103; negative electrode active material) is carried on the second conductive layer (106; negative electrode metal layer) (¶ [0233], Ln. 5-7).
One edge (first region portion) of the insulating sheet (104) includes a first insulating area (107; first exposed region) and the other edge of the insulating sheet (104) includes a second insulating area (108; second exposed region) (¶ [0235], Ln. 1-4). The first conductive layer (105; positive electrode metal layer) has a first exposed portion (109; first coated region) and the second conductive layer (106; negative electrode metal layer) has a second exposed portion (110; second coated region) which are located on opposite edges of the insulating sheet (104) and utilized as connecting points to first and second terminals (configured to be connected to a tab) (¶ [0237], Ln. 1-5). The first exposed portion (109; first coated region) is connected to a first terminal (302; positive electrode tab) and the second exposed portion (110; second coated region) is connected to a second terminal (303; negative electrode tab) (¶ [0244], Ln. 6-14).
The second insulating area (108; second exposed region) is located on the backside of the first exposed portion (109; first coated region) and the first insulating area (107; first exposed region) is located on the backside of the second exposed region (110; second coated region). Nishimura teaches that this configuration (one-to-one correspondence) prevents short circuiting between the first terminal and second conductive area and between the second terminal and first conductive area (¶ [0237], Ln. 6-14; Fig. 31C). As shown in Figure 31C, the projection of the first exposed portion (109; first coated region) does not exceed a projection of the second insulating area (108; second exposed region), and a projection of the second exposed region (110; second coated region) does not exceed a projection of the first insulating area (107; first exposed region). Nishimura does not expressly teach that the second insulating area (108; second exposed region) and first exposed portion (109; first coated region) are located on the same edge (first region portion) as the first insulating area (107; first exposed region) and second exposed region (110; second coated region).
Li teaches a lithium battery including positive electrode sheets (4) and negative electrode sheets (6) laminated with a diaphragm (5; insulation film layer) disposed in between (¶ [0014], Ln. 1-5). The positive electrode sheets (4) and negative electrode sheets (6) have a square groove structure in the edge portion (first region portion) including an electrode tab welding area (2) and electrode sheet vacant areas (3) (¶ [0036], Ln. 242-243). Li teaches that the tab welding area (2) of the positive electrode sheet (4) corresponds to the tab vacant area (3) of the negative electrode sheet (6) and the tab vacant area (3) of the positive electrode sheet (4) corresponds to the tab welding area (2) of the negative electrode sheet (6). (¶ [0041], Ln. 299-303). Li teaches that the square groove structure decreases the volume of ineffective area, and increases the volume energy density (¶ [0010], Ln. 85-87).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the current collector of Nishimura to include the second insulating area (108; second exposed region) and first exposed portion (109; first coated region) on the same edge (first region portion) as the first insulating area (107; first exposed region) and second exposed region (110; second coated region). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that different configurations are common in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the current collector of Nishimura so that the first exposed portion (109; first coated region) and second exposed portion (110; second coated region) are located on the same edge of the insulating sheet (104) in a square groove structure as taught by Li. One would be motivated to modify the current collector to have a square groove structure in order to decrease the volume of ineffective area and increase the volume energy density.
Nishimura in view of Li does not expressly teach a plurality of exposed regions (109 and 110; first and second coated regions) and a plurality of corresponding insulating areas (108 and 107; first and second exposed regions) alternately arranged in the length direction of the current collector. Nishimura in view of Li additionally does not expressly teach that a projection of an end of each first exposed portion (109; first coated region) close to an adjacent second exposed region (110; second coated region) is spaced apart from a projection of an end of the adjacent second exposed region (110; second coated region) close to the corresponding first exposed portion (109; first coated region) by a predetermined distance.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the current collector of Nishimura in view of Li to include a plurality of exposed regions (109 and 110; first and second coated regions) and a plurality of corresponding insulating areas (108 and 107; first and second exposed regions). Nishimura in view of Li teaches the exposed regions (109 and 110; first and second coated regions) and corresponding insulating areas (108 and 107; first and second exposed regions) in a square groove structure (alternating) and the mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (see MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(B)). In including a plurality of exposed regions (109 and 110; first and second coated regions) and a plurality of corresponding insulating areas (108 and 107; first and second exposed regions) along the edge of the insulation layer (104), a projection of the end of each first exposed portion (109; first coated region) close to an adjacent second exposed region (110; second coated region) would be spaced apart from a projection of an end of the adjacent second exposed region (110; second coated region) close to the corresponding first exposed portion (109; first coated region) by a predetermined distance.
Regarding claim 2, Nishimura in view of Li teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above. Nishimura teaches that when the second insulating area (108; second exposed region) is located on the backside of the first exposed portion (109; first coated region) and the first insulating area (107; first exposed region) is located on the backside of the second exposed region (110; second coated region), short circuiting can be prevented when the terminals are connected to the insulating areas (108 and 107; first and second exposed regions) (¶ [0237], Ln. 6-14). Nishimura does not expressly teach that an area of the projection of the first exposed portion (109; first coated region) is smaller than an area of the projection of the corresponding second insulating area (108; second exposed region) or that an area of the projection of the second exposed region (110; second coated region) is smaller than an area of the projection of the corresponding first insulating area (107; first exposed region).
Li teaches that the side edges of each tab welding area (2) are 2.5 mm apart from the pole sheet active layer (1), indicating the tab welding area (2) is smaller than the corresponding tab vacant area (3). Li teaches that this distance ensures there is no short circuit between the positive and negative electrodes (¶ 0037], Ln. 264-271).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the current collector of Nishimura in view of Li to leave 2.5 mm between the exposed regions (109 and 110; first and second coated regions) and the corresponding insulating areas (108 and 107; first and second exposed regions), making the exposed regions (109 and 110; first and second coated regions) smaller than the insulating areas (108 and 107; first and second exposed regions), as taught by Li. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make the exposed regions (109 and 110; first and second coated regions) smaller in order to prevent short circuiting when welding terminals to the exposed regions (109 and 110; first and second coated regions).
Regarding claims 5-7, Nishimura in view of Li teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above. Nishimura teaches that when the second insulating area (108; second exposed region) is located on the backside of the first exposed portion (109; first coated region) and the first insulating area (107; first exposed region) is located on the backside of the second exposed region (110; second coated region), short circuiting can be prevented when the terminals are connected to the insulating areas (108 and 107; first and second exposed regions) (¶ [0237], Ln. 6-14). Nishimura does not expressly teach that the length of each first exposed portion (109; first coated region) is smaller than the length of the corresponding second insulating area (108; second exposed region) and the length of each second exposed region (110; second coated region) is smaller than the length of the corresponding first insulating area (107; first exposed region) by a difference of between 2 mm and 20 mm, along the length direction of the current collector. Nishimura additionally does not expressly teach that the two sides of the second insulating area (108; second exposed region) exceed the two sides of a projection of the corresponding first exposed portion (109; first coated region) and the two sides of the first insulating area (107; first exposed region) exceed the two sides of a projection of the corresponding second exposed region (110; second coated region) along the length direction of the current collector.
Li teaches that the side edges of each tab welding area (2) are 2.5 mm apart from the pole sheet active layer (1), indicating the tab welding area (2) is smaller than the corresponding tab vacant area (3). Li teaches that this distance ensures there is no short circuit between the positive and negative electrodes (¶ 0037], Ln. 264-271).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the current collector of Nishimura in view of Li to leave 2.5 mm between the exposed regions (109 and 110; first and second coated regions) and the corresponding insulating areas (108 and 107; first and second exposed regions), which falls within the claimed range of 2 mm and 20 mm, as taught by Li. In doing so, the length and sides of each insulating area (108 and 107; first and second exposed regions) would exceed the length and sides of each exposed region (109 and 110; first and second coated regions), the two sides of the second insulating area (108; second exposed region) would exceed the two sides of a projection of the corresponding first exposed portion (109; first coated region), and the two sides of the first insulating area (107; first exposed region) would exceed the two sides of a projection of the corresponding second exposed region (110; second coated region) along the length direction of the current collector. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make the exposed regions (109 and 110; first and second coated regions) smaller in order to prevent short circuiting when welding terminals to the exposed regions (109 and 110; first and second coated regions).
Regarding claims 8 and 12, Nishimura in view of Li teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 11 above. Nishimura additionally teaches that the insulation layer (104) includes a middle region (second region portion) arranged sequentially with the edge (first region portion) (Fig. 31C).
Regarding claim 9, Nishimura in view of Li teaches all of the limitations of claim 8 above. Nishimura further teaches that the first exposed portion (109; first coated region) is entirely covered by the first conductive layer (105; positive electrode metal layer) and that the second exposed region (110; second coated region) is entirely covered by the second conductive layer (106; negative electrode metal layer) (Fig. 31C). Additionally, as shown in Figure 31C, Nishimura teaches that the middle region (second region portion) is entirely coated with the first conductive layer (105; positive electrode metal layer) on the first surface and entirely coated with the second conductive layer (106; negative electrode metal layer) on the second surface.
Regarding claim 10, Nishimura in view of Li teaches all of the limitations of claim 9 above. Nishimura further teaches that the conductive layer for the positive electrode current collector sheet may be preferably aluminum or an aluminum alloy and that the conductive layer for the negative electrode current collector sheet may be preferably copper or a copper alloy (¶ [0100], Ln. 1-11).
Regarding claim 13, Nishimura teaches an electrode assembly (battery cell) in which the bipolar electrodes and separators are alternately arranged, and adjacent first electrode material mixture layers (102; positive electrode active material) and second electrode material mixture layers (103; negative electrode active material) face each other with the separator therebetween (¶ [0243], Ln. 1-5). In this case, the bipolar electrode is the bipolar electrode in view of Nishimura and Li, meeting the limitations of claim 11.
Regarding claim 14, Nishimura in view of Li teaches all of the limitations of claim 13 above. Nishimura further teaches that the electrode assembly may be a stack type electrode assembly. Nishimura teaches that the stack type electrode assembly is produced by stacking a plurality of bipolar electrodes arranged in the same direction (¶ [0248], Ln. 2-5), which would result in the first exposed portions (109; first coated region), which are connected to the positive terminals, overlapping and the second exposed portions (110; second coated region), which are connected to the negative terminals overlapping.
Regarding claim 16, Nishimura teaches a lithium ion secondary battery (¶ [0319], Ln. 1-4), including a bipolar electrode. In this case, the bipolar electrode is the bipolar electrode in view of Nishimura and Li, meeting the limitations of claim 13.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishimura, et al. (US 2005/0284750 A1) in view of Li, et al. (CN 108376759 A) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Watanabe, et al. (US 2002/0068217 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Nishimura in view of Li teaches all of the limitations of claim 13 above. Nishimura further teaches that the electrode assembly may be a spiral type electrode assembly (wound battery cell) (¶ [0319], Ln. 1-3). Nishimura in view of Li does not expressly teach that the distance between adjacent positive tabs and adjacent negative tabs is gradually increased in such a manner that, once wound, the tabs overlap.
Watanabe teaches an electrode rolled battery including an anode and cathode rolled in a manner with a separator in between and tabs respectively provided with a plurality of cathode active material parts and anode active material parts (¶ [0051], Ln. 1-7). Watanabe teaches that as tabs may be set at any position, it is possible to set the tabs so that they may pulled in a line in the diameter direction of the rolled body (¶ [0172], Ln. 9-14), which would involve adjusting the distance between the tabs gradually. Watanabe teaches that when the tabs are arranged regularly (such that the plurality of positive tabs overlap and plurality of negative tabs overlap), they can be easily gathered compared with the conventional process (¶ [0176], Ln. 1-6; Fig. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the battery cell of Nishimura in view of Li to include tabs set at gradually increasing distances so that, once rolled, the tabs are arranged regularly as taught by Watanabe. One would be motivated to make this modification in order to allow tabs to be easily gathered.
Response to Arguments
Response-Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
In light of the Applicant’s amendment to claim 1 to incorporate limitations from dependent claims 3-4, the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Nishimura, et al. (US 2005/0284750 A1) in view of Li, et al. (CN 108376759 A) has been modified to include the limitations of dependent claims 3-4. Applicant's arguments filed August 7, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that neither Nishimura nor Li teach: (a) part of the first surface located at the first region portion has a plurality of first exposed regions being alternately arranged with the plurality of first coated regions in a length direction of the bipolar current collector, and a part of the second surface located at the first region portion has a plurality of second exposed regions being alternately arranged with the plurality of second coated regions in a length direction of the bipolar current collector; or (b) in the length direction of the bipolar current collector, a projection, on the reference plane, of an end of each first coated region close to an adjacent second coated region is spaced apart from a projection, on the reference plane, of an end of the adjacent second coated region close to the corresponding first coated region by a predetermined distance. This argument is not persuasive. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SARAH J JACOBSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1785
/MARK RUTHKOSKY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1785