Detailed Action
Specification Objection
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Where the title is not descriptive of the invention claimed, the examiner should require the substitution of a new title that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Form paragraphs 6.11 and 6.11.01 may be used.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 102
Claims 1-3, 5-7 and 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cheng (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2019/0096951) of record.
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 9 of Cheng discloses a photoelectric sensor, comprising: a base (404), having a light receiving surface and comprising a pixel unit region (106); and a plurality of light trapping grooves (408), the light trapping grooves arranged in a part of the base in a thickness direction in the pixel unit region and arranged on a side of the light receiving surface of the base, wherein a surface shape of each of the light trapping grooves is hemispherical (semi-oval or semi-ellipse, as shown in FIG. 8. Mathematically, ellipse includes circle as a special case, therefore, Cheng teaches a surface shape of each of the light trapping grooves is hemispherical). Moreover, the claimed shape was a matter of choice, as evidenced by FIGS. 6-8 of Cheng. In re Dailey 149 USPQ 47, 50 (CCPA 1966). See also Glue Co. v. Upton 97 US 3,24 (USSC 1878). MPEP 2144.04. It has been held by the courts that a change in shape or configuration, without any criticality, is nothing more than one of numerous shapes that one of ordinary skill in the art will find obvious to provide based on the suitability for the intended final application. See MPEP 2144.04 (IV) (B)). In addition, pertinent art US. 2011/0222145 of record also teaches light trapping grooves can be various shapes such as pyramid, circular cone, prismatic column, curved surface, prism, cylinder, hemisphere, corner of a cube, and the like [0060].
Regarding Claim 3
FIG. 9 of Cheng discloses a light-transmissive layer (902) filling the light trapping groove and covering the light receiving surface in the pixel unit region [0038].
Regarding Claim 5
FIG. 8 of Cheng discloses a maximum depth of the light trapping groove ranges from 150 nm to 600 nm [0035].
Regarding Claim 6
FIG. 8 of Cheng discloses in a direction parallel to a surface of the base, a transverse opening size of the light trapping groove ranges from 150 nm to 600 nm [0035].
Regarding Claim 7
FIG. 8 of Cheng discloses a material of the base comprises silicon [0029].
Regarding Claim 20
FIG. 9 of Cheng discloses an electronic device, comprising: the photoelectric sensor according to claim 1.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claim 4 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng, in view of Yokogawa (WO 2015190318) of record.
Regarding Claim 4
Cheng discloses Claim 1, wherein the base (404) comprises a photosensitive pixel region (106), and the photosensitive pixel region comprises a plurality of pixel unit regions distributed in a matrix.
Cheng is silent with respect to “the photoelectric sensor further comprises a light isolation structure arranged in the base between adjacent pixel unit regions”.
FIG. 10 of Yokogawa discloses a similar photoelectric sensor, wherein: the base comprises a photosensitive pixel region, and the photosensitive pixel region comprises a plurality of pixel unit regions distributed in a matrix (FIG. 11); and the photoelectric sensor further comprises a light isolation structure (14) arranged in the base between adjacent pixel unit regions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Cheng, as taught by Yokogawa. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Cheng in the above manner for purpose of improving sensitivity of light absorption (ADVANTAGE of Yokogawa).
Pertinent Art
FIG. 17 of Yao (CN 110224038) discloses a photoelectric sensor, comprising: a base (200), having a light receiving surface and comprising a pixel unit region (X, FIG. 3); and a plurality of light trapping grooves (201), the light trapping grooves arranged in a part of the base in a thickness direction in the pixel unit region and arranged on a side of the light receiving surface of the base, wherein a surface shape of each of the light trapping grooves is arcuate. Pertinent art also includes US 20110222145, 20110146782 and WO 2012117931.
Response to Argument
Applicant's arguments with respect to Cheng have been considered but they are not persuasive. FIG. 8 of Cheng discloses a surface shape of each of the light trapping grooves is hemispherical (semi-oval or semi-ellipse. Mathematically, ellipse includes circle as a special case. Therefore, Cheng teaches a surface shape of each of the light trapping grooves is hemispherical). Moreover, the claimed shape was a matter of choice, as evidenced by FIGS. 6-8 of Cheng. In re Dailey 149 USPQ 47, 50 (CCPA 1966). See also Glue Co. v. Upton 97 US 3,24 (USSC 1878). MPEP 2144.04. It has been held by the courts that a change in shape or configuration, without any criticality, is nothing more than one of numerous shapes that one of ordinary skill in the art will find obvious to provide based on the suitability for the intended final application. See MPEP 2144.04 (IV) (B)). During patent examination, the pending claims must be "given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification." en banc decision in Phillips v. AWH Corp., 415 F.3d 1303, 75 USPQ2d 1321 (Fed. Cir. 2005), see MPEP 2111 [R-5]. In addition, pertinent art US. 2011/0222145 also teaches light trapping grooves can be various shapes such as pyramid, circular cone, prismatic column, curved surface, prism, cylinder, hemisphere, corner of a cube, and the like [0060].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHENG-BAI ZHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897