DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-9, and 21-29 are pending.
This is a second action non-final.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-9 and 21-29 are pending. Claims 1 and 4-8 have been amended. Claims 21-29 have been newly added.
Claims 1-9 and 21-29 are under examination.
Withdrawn Claim Objections and/or Rejections
The rejection of claims 1-9 and 21 under 35 USC 112(b) for being indefinite as set forth on pp. 2-3 of the previous office action (mailed on 03/04/2026) has been withdrawn in view of the amended claims (filed on 05/01/2026).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1.Claim(s) 1-3 and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. “Single-Atom Nanozyme Based on Nanoengineered Fe-N-C Catalyst with Superior Peroxidase-Like Activity for Ultrasensitive Bioassays.” Small (Weinheim an der Bergstrasse, Germany) vol.15,48 (2019): e1901485. doi:10.1002/smll.201901485 (list of references filed on 03/04/2026).
Cheng teaches a method of making a single atom nanozyme linked structures, the method comprising:
forming a soft template having nanoscale structures in an aqueous solution (see page 1
“In order to synthesize CNT/FeNC, oxidized CNTs were dispersed in pyrrole solution.”);
adding a solution of a monomer and a solution of a metal containing salt into the
aqueous solution such that the metal containing salt causes polymerization of the monomer to
form nanostructures according to the nanoscale structures of the previously formed soft
template in the aqueous solution, the formed multiple polymerized precursors having individual polymerized precursors having individual metal atoms from the metal containing salt embedded into molecular structures of the multiple polymerized precursors (see page 1 “In order to synthesize CNT/FeNC, oxidized CNTs were dispersed in pyrrole solution. The pyrrole molecules would be adsorbed on CNTs due to the π–π interaction between carbon plane of CNTs and pyrrole (Scheme 1a). Then ammonium peroxydisulfate acting as an oxidant was added to induce pyrrole polymerization to obtain polypyrrole coated on CNT (CNT/PPy) (Scheme 1b). Subsequently, the hybrid was dispersed in the mixed Fe(NO3)3 and NaCl solution to adsorb metal cations (Scheme 1c). Finally, the CNT/PPy with adsorbate suffered from a high-temperature pyrolysis at N2 and then NH3 to achieve the CNT/FeNC (Scheme 1d), which was used as nanozyme in this work.”, see scheme 1);
upon forming the nanostructures/precursors, coating the individual nanostructures with a confinement layer in the aqueous solution, the confinement layer covering at least a part of the external surface of the individual polymerized precursors (see scheme 1, see page 1 “Then ammonium peroxydisulfate acting as an oxidant was added to induce pyrrole polymerization to obtain polypyrrole coated on CNT (CNT/ PPy) (Scheme 1b).” The instant specification teaches that the confinement layer can include a solid molecular structure that covers at least a portion or the entire surface of the individual nanotubes (see [0009]). Polypyrrole is a known solid molecular structure); and
after coating the individual nanostructures with the confinement layer, pyrolyzing the
nanostructures coated with the confinement layer to derive the single atom nanozyme (see
pages 1-2 “Subsequently, the hybrid was dispersed in the mixed Fe(NO3)3 and NaCl solution
to adsorb metal cations (Scheme 1c). Finally, the CNT/PPy with adsorbate suffered from a high-
temperature pyrolysis at N2 and then NH3 to achieve the CNT/FeNC (Scheme 1d), which was
used as nanozyme in this work.”),
wherein during the pyrolyzing of the nanostructures, the confinement layer at least
restricts or completely prevents migration of atoms on the external surface of the individual
nanostructures (see scheme 1c and 1d showing the atoms remaining before and after
pyrolysis).
The difference between Cheng and the invention as instantly claimed is that Cheng
does not teach multiple nanostructures.
While Cheng does not explicitly teach the use of multiple nanostructures, Cheng does
teach all of the invention of instant claim 1 as detailed above. Thus, in view of Cheng, one of
ordinary skill in the art would reasonably optimize the use of multiple nanostructures. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to duplicate the nanostructures as one in the art would know that multiple nanostructures would allow for greater surface area which would increase the sensitivity.
In the same manner, duplication of parts is not patentably significant. See MPEP
2144.04(VI)(B): B. Duplication of Parts In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA
1960) (Claims at issue were directed to a water-tight masonry structure wherein a water seal of
flexible material fills the joints which form between adjacent pours of concrete. The claimed
water seal has a "web" which lies in the joint, and a plurality of "ribs" projecting outwardly from
each side of the web into one of the adjacent concrete slabs. The prior art disclosed a flexible
water stop for preventing passage of water between masses of concrete in the shape of a plus
sign (+). Although the reference did not disclose a plurality of ribs, the court held that mere
duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is
produced.) (instant claims 1 and 22).
Cheng teaches the nanostructures individually having multiple active sites for catalyzing an oxidation reaction (see page 1 “The synthesis and catalytic mechanism of atomically dispersed CNT/FeNC SAN has been illustrated in Scheme 1. In order to synthesize CNT/FeNC, oxidized CNTs were dispersed in pyrrole solution. The pyrrole molecules would be adsorbed on CNTs due to the π–π interaction between carbon plane of CNTs and pyrrole (Scheme 1a). Then ammonium peroxydisulfate acting as an oxidant was added to induce pyrrole polymerization to obtain polypyrrole coated on CNT (CNT/PPy) (Scheme 1b).” see scheme 1);
the confinement layer coats at least some of the multiple active sites on the individual
nanostructures (see scheme 1B); and
the method further includes removing the confinement layer from the individual
nanostructures after pyrolyzing the nanostructures (see scheme1D) (instant claims 2 and 23).
Cheng teaches the nanostructures individually have multiple active sites for catalyzing an oxidation reaction, the individual active sites having a single atom of the metal in the metal containing salt covalently connected to additional atoms of the polymerized monomer (see scheme 1, see pages 1-2 “Subsequently, the hybrid was dispersed in the mixed Fe(NO3)3 and NaCl solution to adsorb metal cations (Scheme 1c). Finally, the CNT/PPy with adsorbate suffered from a high-temperature pyrolysis at N2 and then NH3 to achieve the CNT/FeNC (Scheme 1d), which was used as nanozyme in this work. During the synthesis process, NaCl was used to assist Fe in directly converting to atomic Fe–Nx–C moieties, leading to 100% Fe-Nx-C moieties in the final CNT/FeNC SAN (Scheme 1e).);
the confinement layer coats at least some of the multiple active sites having the single
atom of the metal in the metal containing salt (see scheme 1c-e); and
the method further includes removing the confinement layer from the individual nanostructures after pyrolyzing the nanostructures (see scheme 1c-d showing the confinement
layer being removed after pyrolyzing the nanostructures) (instant claims 3 and 24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant
application to perform the methods as taught by Cheng, where multiple nanostructures are
used, to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. As Cheng shows, a nanostructure can be
made with the methods as claimed above, one of ordinary skill would have reasonably created
multiple nanostructures in the same manner with a reasonable expectation of success. It would
have been prima facie obvious to one of skill in the art to reasonably optimize the use of multiple
nanostructures. Thus, claims 1-3 and 22-24 are obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
2.Claims 4-5 and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng as applied to claims 1-3 and 22-24 above and in view of Yang et al., “Rod-shape inorganic biomimetic mutual-reinforcing MnO2-Au nanozymes for catalysis-enhanced hypoxic tumor therapy”. Nano Res. 13, 2246–2258 (2020). https://doi.org/10.1007/s12274-020-2844-3 (list of references filed on 03/04/2026).
The teachings of Cheng as it pertains to claims 1-3 and 22-24 are discussed in the 35 USC 103 above.
Cheng does not teach adding KMnO4 nor does Cheng teach reducing KMnO4.
Yang teaches adding potassium permanganate (KMnO4) to the aqueous solution upon forming the nanostructures (see page 2247 “Briefly, dried MSNRs were evenly blended in 4 mL KMnO4 (0.02 M) by sonicating for 15 min.”); and
reducing the KMnO4 to form a manganese oxide (MnO2) coating on the external surface
of the nanostructures (see page 2250 “And oxygen generation catalyst (MnO2) was grown on
the surface of MSNR by in situ reduction of KMnO4. As revealed in the TEM images (Fig. 1(b)),
a core–shell structure with a shell thickness of about 10 nm was observed, indicating the
successful coating of MnO2.”) (instant claims 4-5 and 25-26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the application
to consider combining the methods of creating single-atom nanozymes taught by Cheng, with
the addition of KMnO4 and MnO2 taught by Yang. Yang teaches that oxygen generated
catalyst (MnO2) was grown on the surface of the mesoporous silica nanorods (MSNR) by in situ
reduction of KMnO4 (see page 2250). Yang provides motivation by teaching that MnO2
provides the benefits of increased oxygen content, thermal sensitivity, and the ability to rapidly
catalyze the composition of hydrogen peroxide into oxygen (see page 2257). The artisan would
have reasonable expectation of success based on the cumulative disclosure of these prior art
references at the time the instant application was filed.
3.Claims 6-8 and 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng as applied to claims 1-3 and 22-24 above, in view of Yang et al., “Rod-shape inorganic biomimetic mutual-reinforcing MnO2-Au nanozymes for catalysis-enhanced hypoxic tumor therapy”. Nano Res. 13, 2246–2258 (2020). https://doi.org/10.1007/s12274-020-2844-3, and in view of Junseop et al., “Fabrication of Multidimensional Metal/Conducting Polymer Hybrid Nanoparticles and Their Chem/Bio Sensor Applications” Thesis from Graduate School of Seoul National University (2015) (list of references filed on 03/04/2026).
Cheng teaches wherein the individual polypyrrole nanotubes having multiple active sites each having a single iron (Fe) atom covalently connected to additional nitrogen (N) atoms which in turn are covalently connected to additional carbon (C) atoms of the polypyrrole (see scheme 1d-e showing Fe being bonded to nitrogen atoms, and being bonded to carbon atoms, see page 2 “During the synthesis process, NaCl was used to assist Fe in directly converting to atomic Fe–Nx–C moieties, leading to 100% Fe-Nx-C moieties in the final CNT/FeNC SAN (Scheme 1e). The atomically dispersed CNT/FeNC SAN was proposed to possess superior peroxidase-like activity, which means that it can catalyze H2O2 to generate hydroxyl radicals (·OH) though surface Fenton reaction between H2O2 and Fe ion. [12,33]”) (instant claims 7-8 and 28-29).
Cheng further teaches during the pyrolyzing of the formed nanotube, at least restricting
or completely preventing the migration of iron (Fe) atoms on the external surface of the
nanotube, thereby reducing aggregation of the iron (Fe) atoms during pyrolysis (see scheme 1).
While Cheng does not explicitly teach that MnO2 coating at least restricts or prevents migration of iron atoms, one of ordinary skill in the art would have considered swapping out the
polypyrrole confinement layer taught by Cheng, with Yang’s MnO2 confinement layer as MnO2
provides the benefit of increasing oxygen content and thermal sensitivity (see page 2257) and
MnO2 can rapidly catalyze the composition of endogenous hydrogen peroxide (H2O2) into
oxygen (see page 2257) (instant claim 8 and 29).
Cheng does not tech the use of iron chloride, potassium permanganate, or manganese oxide. Cheng also does not teach coating the individual formed nanotubes by adding KMnO4, reducing the added KMnO4, and multiple nanotubes.
Yang teaches coating the individual formed nanotubes includes:
adding potassium permanganate (KMnO4) to the aqueous solution upon forming the polypyrrole nanotubes (see page 2247 “Briefly, dried MSNRs were evenly blended in 4 mL KMnO4 (0.02 M) by sonicating for 15 min.”); and
reducing the added potassium permanganate (KMnO4) to form a magnesium oxide
(MnO2) coating on the external surface of the individual formed polypyrrole nanotubes (see
page 2250 “And oxygen generation catalyst (MnO2) was grown on the surface of MSNR by in
situ reduction of KMnO4. As revealed in the TEM images (Fig. 1(b)), a core–shell structure with
a shell thickness of about 10 nm was observed, indicating the successful coating of MnO2.”) (instant claim 6 and 27).
Yang teaches adding potassium permanganate (KMnO4) to the aqueous solution upon
forming the nanostructures (see page 2247 “Briefly, dried MSNRs were evenly blended in 4 mL
KMnO4 (0.02 M) by sonicating for 15 min.”); and
reducing the KMnO4 to form a magnesium oxide (MnO2) coating on the external surface
of the nanostructures (see page 2250 “And oxygen generation catalyst (MnO2) was grown on the surface of MSNR by in situ reduction of KMnO4. As revealed in the TEM images (Fig. 1(b)),
a core–shell structure with a shell thickness of about 10 nm was observed, indicating the
successful coating of MnO2.”) (instant claims 7-8 and 28-29).
Yang does not teach multiple nanotubes.
Junseop teaches nanostructures that contain multiple nanotubes (see figure 6);
adding the solution of the monomer and the solution of the metal containing salt includes
adding a solution of pyrrole monomer and a solution of iron chloride (FeCl3) to the aqueous
solution such that the iron chloride (FeCl3) causes polymerization of the pyrrole monomer to
form the multiple nanotubes of polypyrrole according to the nanoscale structures of the
previously formed soft template in the aqueous solution (see page 35 “Uniformly sized
polypyrrole (PPy) nanoparticles were previously prepared with PVA, FeCl3, and pyrrole
monomer in distilled water, as following (Figure 11).”, see figure 11 showing polymerization, see page 37 “The materials obtained from the electrospray were dispersed in various
concentrations of the FeCl3 aqueous solution and stirred for 4 h at 70°C.”) (instant claims 7-8 and 27-29).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the application
to consider combining the methods of creating single-atom nanozymes taught by Cheng, with
the addition of KMnO4 and MnO2 taught by Yang, and with the teaching of adding a solution of
pyrrole monomer and a solution of iron chloride to form multiple nanotubes taught by Junseop.
Yang provides motivation by teaching that MnO2 provides the benefits of increased oxygen
content, thermal sensitivity, and the ability to rapidly catalyze the composition of hydrogen
peroxide into oxygen (see page 2257). Junseop provides motivation by teaching that
polypyrrole is a promising conducting polymer because of their easy synthesis, tunable
conductivity, reversible redox property, and their environmental stability (see page 14).
Junseop provides motivation by teaching that the amount of pyrrole monomer used during
fabrication can control the diameter of the nanoparticles (see page 82). Junseop provides
further motivation by teaching that the morphology and density are controlled by the
concentration of FeCl3 in the aqueous solution (see pages 52-53). The artisan would have
reasonable expectation of success based on the cumulative disclosure of these prior art
references at the time the instant application was filed.
4.Claim(s) 9 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al., as applied to claims 1-3 and 22-24 above, and in view of Tao et al. “Conjugation of antibodies and aptamers on nanozymes for developing biosensors.” Biosensors & bioelectronics vol. 168 (2020): 112537. doi:10.1016/j.bios.2020.112537 (list of references filed on 03/04/2026).
Cheng teaches a method of making a single atom nanozyme linked structures, the method comprising:
forming a soft template having nanoscale structures in an aqueous solution (see page 1
“In order to synthesize CNT/FeNC, oxidized CNTs were dispersed in pyrrole solution.”);
adding a solution of a monomer and a solution of a metal containing salt into the
aqueous solution such that the metal containing salt causes polymerization of the monomer to
form nanostructures according to the nanoscale structures of the previously formed soft
template in the aqueous solution, the formed multiple polymerized precursors having individual polymerized precursors having individual metal atoms from the metal containing salt embedded into molecular structures of the multiple polymerized precursors (see page 1 “In order to synthesize CNT/FeNC, oxidized CNTs were dispersed in pyrrole solution. The pyrrole molecules would be adsorbed on CNTs due to the π–π interaction between carbon plane of CNTs and pyrrole (Scheme 1a). Then ammonium peroxydisulfate acting as an oxidant was added to induce pyrrole polymerization to obtain polypyrrole coated on CNT (CNT/PPy) (Scheme 1b). Subsequently, the hybrid was dispersed in the mixed Fe(NO3)3 and NaCl solution to adsorb metal cations (Scheme 1c). Finally, the CNT/PPy with adsorbate suffered from a high-temperature pyrolysis at N2 and then NH3 to achieve the CNT/FeNC (Scheme 1d), which was used as nanozyme in this work.”, see scheme 1);
upon forming the nanostructures/precursors, coating the individual nanostructures with a confinement layer in the aqueous solution, the confinement layer covering at least a part of the external surface of the individual polymerized precursors (see scheme 1, see page 1 “Then ammonium peroxydisulfate acting as an oxidant was added to induce pyrrole polymerization to obtain polypyrrole coated on CNT (CNT/ PPy) (Scheme 1b).” The instant specification teaches that the confinement layer can include a solid molecular structure that covers at least a portion or the entire surface of the individual nanotubes (see [0009]). Polypyrrole is a known solid molecular structure); and
after coating the individual nanostructures with the confinement layer, pyrolyzing the
nanostructures coated with the confinement layer to derive the single atom nanozyme (see
pages 1-2 “Subsequently, the hybrid was dispersed in the mixed Fe(NO3)3 and NaCl solution
to adsorb metal cations (Scheme 1c). Finally, the CNT/PPy with adsorbate suffered from a high-
temperature pyrolysis at N2 and then NH3 to achieve the CNT/FeNC (Scheme 1d), which was
used as nanozyme in this work.”),
wherein during the pyrolyzing of the nanostructures, the confinement layer at least
restricts or completely prevents migration of atoms on the external surface of the individual
nanostructures (see scheme 1c and 1d showing the atoms remaining before and after
pyrolysis).
The difference between Cheng and the invention as instantly claimed is that Cheng
does not teach multiple nanostructures.
While Cheng does not explicitly teach the use of multiple nanostructures, Cheng does
teach all of the invention of instant claim 1 as detailed above. Thus, in view of Cheng, one of
ordinary skill in the art would reasonably optimize the use of multiple nanostructures.
In the same manner, duplication of parts is not patentably significant. See MPEP
2144.04(VI)(B): B. Duplication of Parts In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA
1960) (Claims at issue were directed to a water-tight masonry structure wherein a water seal of
flexible material fills the joints which form between adjacent pours of concrete. The claimed
water seal has a "web" which lies in the joint, and a plurality of "ribs" projecting outwardly from
each side of the web into one of the adjacent concrete slabs. The prior art disclosed a flexible
water stop for preventing passage of water between masses of concrete in the shape of a plus
sign (+). Although the reference did not disclose a plurality of ribs, the court held that mere
duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is
produced.) (instant claim 21).
Cheng does not teach covalently linking the formed nanozyme to an antibody.
Tao teaches covalently linking the nanozyme to an antibody (see page 1 “To use
nanozymes, a critical step is to conjugate them to affinity molecules such as antibodies and
aptamer via bioconjugation (e.g. a covalent linkage or high affinity biotin/avidin interactions), or
via physisorption.”) (instant claims 9 and 21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the application
to consider combining the methods of creating single-atom nanozymes taught by Cheng, with
the teachings of covalently linking antibodies with nanozymes for use with biosensors taught by
Tao. Tao provides motivation by teaching that in order to use nanozymes, a critical step is to
conjugate them to affinity molecules such as antibodies via bioconjugation (e.g. a covalent
linkage) (see page 1). Tao provides motivation by teaching the use of a nanozyme with a lateral
flow strip design (see figure 5e, see page 7 “Developing more cost-effective and time-saving
assays with high sensitivity and selectivity is key in biosensor development. Lateral flow
immunochromatography has attracted extensive attention for its simplicity, where the best-
known example is probably the pregnant test strips (Zhao et al., 2018). This technology has also
been used in the nanozyme field. Duan et al. (2015) developed MNP-based immunochromatographic strips using Fe3O4 nanoparticles as a nanozyme probe. This was the
first report of introducing the Fe3O4 nanozyme into an immunochromatographic strip and the
sensitivity was about 100 times greater than that of a colloidal gold strip, attributable to the
catalytic signal amplification (Fig. 5e).”). Tao provides further motivation by teaching that the
use of nanozymes in an immunochromatographic strip increased the sensitivity about 100 times
greater than that of a colloidal gold strip, attributable to the catalytic signal amplification (see
page 7). Lastly, Tao provides motivation by teaching that the nanozyme-strip method can be used for diagnosis of infectious diseases without the use of advanced analytical instruments,
making it more accessible and affordable (see page 7). The artisan would have reasonable
expectation of success based on the cumulative disclosure of these prior art references at the
time the instant application was filed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/01/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pp. 15-16 applicant argues that ammonium peroxydisulfate is not a metal containing salt. Examiner agrees. However, NaCl is a known metal containing salt and Cheng teaches the use of NaCl on page 1.
On p. 16 applicant argues that Cheng does not teach or suggest the combination of “adding a solution of a monomer and a solution of a metal containing salt….Such that the metal containing salt causes polymerization of the monomer to form multiple nanostructures…” and “upon forming the multiple nanostructures, coating the individual nanostructures with the confinement layer in an aqueous solution”. Applicant argues that Cheng can not possibly teach or suggest “after coating the individual nanostructures with the confinement layer, pyrolyzing the nanostructures coated with the confinement layer to derive a single atom nanozyme.
However, Cheng teaches adding a solution of a monomer and a solution of a metal containing salt (see page 1 teaching the use of mixed Fe(NO3)3 and NaCl solutions (a metal containing salt), see page 1 teaching the pyrrole molecules (monomers). The instant specification teaches that pyrrole monomers are added to FeCla at paragraph 0008).
Further, the applicant’s recitation of “adding a solution of a monomer and a solution of a metal containing salt…such that the metal containing salt causes polymerization of the monomer to form multiple nanostructures” is considered intended use. In response to applicant's argument, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Cheng teaches after coating the individual nanostructures with the confinement layer, pyrolyzing the nanostructures coated with the confinement layer to derive a single atom nanozyme (see page 1 “Finally, the CNT/PPy with adsorbate suffered from a high-temperature pyrolysis at N2 and then NH3 to achieve the CNT/FeNC (Scheme 1d), which was used as nanozyme in this work”). Cheng explicitly teaches making a single-atom nanozyme (see abstract).
On p. 17 applicant argue that Yang, Junseop, and Tao do not cure the deficiencies of Cheng. The arguments of Cheng are discussed in the response to arguments above. Yang teaches adding KMnO4 to the aqueous solution upon forming the nanostructures, and reducing the KMnO4 to form a MnO2 coating on the external surface of the nanostructures. Junseop teaches nanostructures that contain multiple nanotubes and adding FeCl3 to the aqueous solution. Tao teaches covalently linking the nanozyme to an antibody.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/MCKENZIE A DUNN/Examiner, Art Unit 1678
/GREGORY S EMCH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1678