DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 25, 27, 28 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malhan et al., (United States Patent Number, US 7,557,434 B2) hereinafter referenced as Malhan, in view of Koo et al., (Korean Patent Publication Number, KR 20170069365 A) hereinafter referenced as Koo, and in view of Fuji Takashi et al., (Japanese Patent Application Publication, JP 2006310486 A), hereinafter referenced as Takashi.
Regarding claim 25, Malhan teaches a semiconductor package (structure shown in Fig.1) having a heat radiation structure (Fig.1, formed by elements #43), the semiconductor package comprising: a lower substrate (Fig.1, element #2) comprising: a first insulating layer (Fig.1, bottom element #77, column 6, row 1); a first heat radiating metal layer coupled to a lower surface of the first insulating layer (Fig.1, bottom element #43), wherein a horizontal length of the first heat radiating metal layer is less than a horizontal length of the first insulating layer (Fig.1, horizontal length of bottom layer #43 is less than the horizontal length of bottom layer #77); and a first metal pattern layer coupled to an upper surface of the first insulating layer (Fig.1, element #10, formed by patterns, elements #10a and 10b, shown in Fig.3A); an upper substrate comprising (Fig.1, element #1): a second insulating layer (Fig.1, top element #77); a second metal pattern layer coupled to a lower surface of the second insulating layer (Fig.1, formed by elements #7, #8 and #9, patterns elements #7a, #7b #8a, #8b and #9a are shown in Fig.2A); and a second heat radiating metal layer coupled to an upper surface of the second insulating layer (Fig.1, top element #43), wherein a horizontal length of the second heat radiating metal layer is less than a horizontal length of the second insulating layer (Fig.1, horizontal length of top element #43 is less than the horizontal length of top element #77); at least one semiconductor chip bonded to an upper surface of the first metal pattern layer (Fig.1, elements #20 and #30); at least one first metal spacer provided between the at least one semiconductor chip and the second metal pattern layer (Fig.1, a spacer/post is provided between element #30 and element #7); a second metal spacer provided between the first metal pattern layer and the second metal pattern layer (Fig.9, posts are provided between elements #7 and #10, note that Figures 1-24 describe same embodiment, column 5, rows 65-67); a molding housing filled in a space between the lower and upper substrates (column 10, rows 58-61);
Malhan does not teach a plurality of first heat radiating posts coupled to a lower surface of the first heat radiating metal layer. Koo teaches a plurality of first heat radiating posts coupled to a lower surface of the first heat radiating metal layer (Fig.7, elements #200 are coupled to elements #130). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Koo and disclose a plurality of first heat radiating posts coupled to a lower surface of the first heat radiating metal layer. As disclosed by Koo, the posts increase the surface areas that comes in contact with the coolant, which improves heat dissipation (paragraph [005], rows 1-4).
The combination of Malhan and Koo does not disclose a first post connecting frame coupled to lower ends of the first heat radiating posts. Takashi discloses a first post connecting frame coupled to lower ends of the first heat radiating posts. (Fig.17, first post connecting frame, element #49 is coupled to the lower ends of heat radiating posts, elements #42). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Takashi and disclose a first post connecting frame coupled to lower ends of the first heat radiating posts. As disclosed by Takashi, this increases the rigidity of the structure, and prevents breaking or cracking (paragraph [0029], rows 1-4), and helps dissipate the heat away from the posts.
Malhan does not teach wherein a horizontal length of the first post connecting frame is less than a horizontal length of the first heat radiating metal layer. Koo teaches a horizontal length of the first heat radiating metal layer is longer that the horizontal length of the area where the heat radiating posts are located (Fig.7, horizontal length of element #130 is larger than the horizontal length of the area where the heat radiating posts pins are located). Takashi teaches a horizontal length of the first post connecting frame is equal to the horizontal length of the area where the heat radiating cooling posts are located (Fig.17). Therefore, the combination of Koo and Takashi teaches a horizontal length of the first post connecting frame is less than a horizontal length of the first heat radiating metal layer. It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Koo and Takashi and disclose wherein a horizontal length of the first post connecting frame is less than a horizontal length of the first heat radiating metal layer. Making a horizontal length of the first heat radiating metal layer longer that the horizontal length of the area where the heat radiating posts are located, allows for optimization of the arrangement structures of posts with different shapes (Fig.5, Koo) in order to obtain the optimum cooling performance. Making the horizontal length of the first post connecting frame equal to the horizontal length of the area where the heat radiating posts are located provides maximum contact area between the post connecting frame and the posts, and therefore maximum heat dissipation away from the posts, while leaving a larger available volume for coolant in the cooling chamber, which also helps heat dissipation.
The combination of Malhan does not teach a first cooling device coupled to a lower surface of the molding housing, wherein the first cooling device is not in direct contact with the first heat radiating metal layer. Koo teaches a first cooling device coupled to a lower surface of the molding housing, wherein the first cooling device is not in direct contact with the first heat radiating metal layer (Fig.7, bottom element #900, is coupled to the bottom surface of the molding housing, and is separated from element #130 by element #910). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Koo and disclose a first cooling device coupled to a lower surface of the molding housing, wherein the first cooling device is not in direct contact with the first heat radiating metal layer. The cooling device allows the use of a coolant fluid that increases heat dissipation, while connecting it to the molding housing results in a robust structure from mechanical point of view.
The combination of Malhan, Koo and Takashi teaches a plurality of second heat radiating posts coupled to an upper surface of the second heat radiating metal layer; a second post connecting frame coupled to upper ends of the second heat radiating posts, wherein a horizontal length of the second post connecting frame is less than a horizontal length of the second heat radiating metal layer; and a second cooling device coupled to an upper surface of the molding housing, wherein the second cooling device is not in direct contact with the second heat radiating metal layer (same arguments as noted above apply to the second heat radiating metal layer and second cooling device). Making the top and bottom cooling assemblies the same, result in an easier design, by allowing the use of similar parts.
Regarding claim 27, the combination of Malhan, Koo and Takashi teaches the semiconductor package of claim 25 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Takashi further teaches the semiconductor package of claim 25, wherein the first heat radiating posts and the first post connecting frame are located in a coolant flow path of the first cooling device and a coolant of the cooling device circulates the coolant flow path (Fig.7, elements #42 and #49 are located in a coolant flow path of the first cooling device, element #61, paragraph [0014], rows 8-9). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Koo and disclose wherein the first heat radiating posts and the first post connecting frame are located in a coolant flow path of the first cooling device and a coolant of the cooling device circulates the coolant flow path. The coolant provides an active cooling mechanism that helps dissipate the heat from the radiating posts and the post connecting frame.
Regarding claim 28, the combination of Malhan, Koo and Takashi teaches the semiconductor package of claim 25 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Koo teaches the semiconductor package of claim 25, wherein the first heat radiating posts are independent vertical posts that are not directly connected to each other (Fig.2, elements #200 and paragraph [0051], rows 1-3). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Koo and disclose the first heat radiating posts are independent vertical posts that are not directly connected to each other. As disclosed by Koo, this allows one to easily change the arrangement structure of the cooling posts in order to improve cooling performance (paragraph [0058], rows 1-3).
Regarding claim 31, the combination of Malhan, Koo and Takashi teaches the semiconductor package of claim 25 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. As noted in the rejection of claim 25, Koo teaches first heat radiating posts. It is noted that the limitation “wherein the first heat radiating posts are formed by being masked using a screen mask or a stencil mask, printing metal paste or non-metal paste onto the heat radiating metal layer, and then, being hardened” is being treated as a product by process limitation and, as such, only the structure is required to meet the limitations (MPEP 2113).
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malhan in view of Koo, Takashi and in view of Tomoya Oohiraki et al., (United States Patent Application Publication Number, US 2021/0020456 A1) hereinafter referenced as Oohiraki.
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Malhan, Koo and Takashi teaches the semiconductor package of claim 25 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Koo further teaches the semiconductor package of claim 25, wherein a vertical distance between the lower surface of the first insulating layer and the lower surface of the molding housing is equal to the thickness of first heat radiating metal layer (Fig.7). Oohiraki teaches the thickness of the heat radiating layer (Fig.5, element #13, paragraph [0056], row 6) is between 100 um and 5 mm (paragraph [0030], rows 4-6). Therefore, the combination of Koo and Oohiraki teaches a distance from a bottom surface of the insulating layer to a bottom surface of the molding housing where the heat radiating posts are exposed is between 100 um and 5 mm. The range disclosed by claim 26, between 40 um and 4 mm, overlaps the range disclosed by prior art and therefore a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Koo and Oohiraki and disclose a distance from a bottom of the insulating layer to a bottom of the molding housing in a range that overlaps the claimed range between 40um and 4mm. The molding housing compound needs to be thick enough to provide electrical insulation, mechanical and chemical protection to the insulating substrate, but thin enough to leave the bottom surface of the heat radiation plate and the heat radiation pins exposed to allow heat dissipation.
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malhan in view of Koo, Takashi and in view of Mukaibo Nagatsugu et al., (Japanese Patent Application Publication Number, JP 2010232366 A), hereinafter referenced as Nagatsugu.
Regarding claim 29, the combination of Malhan, Koo and Takashi teaches the semiconductor package of claim 25 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. The combination of Malhan, Koo and Takashi does not teach the semiconductor package of claim 25, wherein the first heat radiating posts and the first post connecting frame are formed as a single body. Nagatsugu teaches wherein the first heat radiating posts and the first post connecting frame are formed as a single body (Fig.7, post, elements #21 and the connecting frame, formed by elements #22 and #39 form a single body). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Nagatsugu and disclose wherein the first heat radiating posts and the first post connecting frame are formed as a single body. This increases the rigidity of the structure as compared to having the posts connected to the post connecting frame using a connecting member and might reduce the number of process steps required to build the cooling structure.
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malhan in view of Koo, Takashi and in view of Ryouhei Yumoto et al., (United States Patent Application Publication Number, US 2021/0134609 A1), hereinafter referenced as Yumoto.
Regarding claim 30, the combination of Malhan, Koo and Takashi teaches the semiconductor package of claim 25 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. The combination of Malhan, Koo and Takashi does not each the semiconductor package of claim 25, wherein a metal adhesive layer is interposed between the first insulating layer and the first metal pattern layer or between the first insulating layer and the first heat radiating layer. Yumoto teaches wherein a metal adhesive layer (Fig.5, element #27, paragraph [0052], rows 3-5) is interposed between the insulating layer (Fig.5, element #11, paragraph [0052], row 3) and the metal pattern layer or between the insulating layer and the heat radiating metal layer (Fig.5 element #27 is interposed between elements #11 and #23). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Yumoto and disclose wherein a metal adhesive layer is interposed between the first insulating layer and the first metal pattern layer or between the first insulating layer and the first heat radiating layer. Metal adhesive layers can provide strong bonding between metal and insulating layers, and their thickness can be easily controlled to prevent the deformation of the metal layers, due to thermal stress caused by different thermal expansion coefficients of the materials of the package.
Claim 32 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malhan in view of Koo, Takashi and in view of Yoo et al., (United States Patent Application Publication Number, US 2020/0388557 A1), hereinafter referenced as Yoo.
Regarding claim 32, the combination of Malhan, Koo and Takashi teaches the semiconductor package of claim 25 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Koo teaches wherein each of the first heat radiating posts are attached to the first heat radiating metal layer by welding (paragraph [0051], rows 1-3). Takashi teaches wherein each of the first heat radiating posts are attached to the first heat radiating metal layer by brazing (paragraph [0023], rows 1-3). The combination of Malhan, Koo and Takashi does not teach the semiconductor package of claim 25, wherein an adhesive layer is interposed between the first heat radiating metal layer and each of the first heat radiating posts. Yoo further teaches wherein an adhesive layer is interposed between the first heat radiating metal layer and each of the first heat radiating posts. (paragraph [0019], rows 3-11). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Yoo and disclose wherein an adhesive layer is interposed between the first heat radiating metal layer and each of the first heat radiating posts. An adhesive layer can provide strong bonding between the first heat radiating metal layer and each of the first heat radiating posts, and represents a cost effective method as compared to welding which needs specialized equipment.
Regarding claim 33, the combination of Malhan, Koo and Takashi teaches the semiconductor package of claim 25 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. The combination of Malhan, Koo and Takashi does not teach the semiconductor package of claim 25, wherein the first heat radiating posts are joined to the first heat radiating metal layer after the molding housing is formed. Yoo teaches wherein the first heat radiating posts are joined to the first heat radiating metal layer after the molding housing is formed (Fig.4A, molding process is performed and Fig.4B posts are attached to element #116, paragraph [0045], rows 1-6). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Yoo and disclose wherein the first heat radiating posts are joined to the first heat radiating metal layer after the molding housing is form. The molding housing provides a strong structure from the mechanical point of view, which allows the attachment of the heat radiating posts while protecting the semiconductor device from potential damage.
Claim 34 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malhan in view of Koo, Takashi and in view of in view of Goto T. et al., (Japanese Patent Application Publication Number, JP 2011091184 A), hereinafter references as Goto.
Regarding claim 34, the combination of Malhan, Koo and Takashi teaches the semiconductor package of claim 25 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. The combination of Malhan, Koo and Takashi does not teach the semiconductor package of claim 25, wherein a first horizontal distance from a lower left corner of the first insulating layer to an upper left corner of the first heat radiating metal layer is less than a second horizontal distance from the lower left corner of the first insulating layer to a lower left corner of the first heat radiating metal layer. Goto teaches wherein a first horizontal distance from a lower corner of the insulating layer to an upper corner of the heat radiating metal layer (Fig.2, horizontal distance is element #E2, from a lower corner of the insulating layer, element #1, to an upper corner of the heat radiating metal layer, element #3, page 1, last paragraph, row 2, of the machine translation) is less than a second horizontal distance from the lower corner of the insulating layer to a lower corner of the heat radiating metal layer (Fig.2, second horizontal distance is the sum of elements #L2 and #E2. Note that there is no difference between left and right sides of the package, in regard to the insulating layer and the first heat radiating metal layer). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Goto and disclose wherein a first horizontal distance from a lower left corner of the insulating layer to an upper left corner of the heat radiating metal layer is less than a second horizontal distance from the lower left corner of the insulating layer to a lower left corner of the heat radiating metal layer. As disclosed by Goto, this reduces tensile stress generated at the end portion of the heat radiating metal layer due to thermal cycle (page 3, paragraphs 6 and 8, of the machine translation).
Regarding claim 35, the combination of Malhan, Koo and Takashi teaches the semiconductor package of claim 25 as set forth in the obviousness rejection and the combination of Malhan, Koo, Takashi and Goto teaches the semiconductor package of claim 34 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. The combination of Malhan, Koo and Takashi does not teach the semiconductor package of claim 34, wherein a gap between the first and second horizontal distances is 1 um through 200 um. Goto teaches wherein a gap between the first horizontal distance and the second horizontal distance is (Fig.2, the gap is equal to #L2, the difference between the first horizontal distance, element #E2, and the second horizontal distance, sum of elements #L2 and #E2) is between 110 um and 500 um (page 2, second paragraph, of the machine translation). The range of claim 35, between 1 um through 200 um, overlaps the range disclosed by prior art and therefore a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Goto and disclose a gap between the first distance and the second distance that overlaps with the range between 1 um through 200 um. As disclosed by Goto, this feature of the package reduces tensile stress generated at the end portion of the heat radiating layer due to thermal cycle (page 2, paragraphs 6 and 8, of the machine translation).
Conclusion
/CRISTIAN A TIVARUS/Examiner, Art Unit 2899 /DALE E PAGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899