DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Response to Amendment
The amendment with respect to claims 1, 6-7, and 14 filed on 08/21/2025 have been fully considered for examination based on their merits. The previously presented claims 2-5, 8-13, and 15-16 have been considered.
Response to Supplemental Amendment and Remarks
The supplemental amendment and remarks filed on 08/21/2025 has been fully considered and entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments (see Remarks, page 10) filed 08/21/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that ABE does not disclose all the limitations recited in the amended independent claim 1. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. In this Office Action, a previously used prior-art from TAMURA for rejecting the Claim 14 have been added to the previous citations from ABE have been combined to teach the amended claim limitations of Claims 1, 6-7 and 14. TAMURA showed in Figure 12, regarding the distance relations of the modified area groups Ga-Ge with respect to the second surface (or the top surface, 20b) in the thickness direction as amended to Claims 1, 6-7, and 14 (see the respective claims in the 103 rejection below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshinori Abe, (hereinafter ABE), US 20110312193 A1, in view of Muneo Tamura et al, (hereinafter TAMURA), US 20070111481 A1.
Regarding Claim 1, ABE teaches a method for manufacturing (method for laser processing, [0007]) a light-emitting element (Fig. 1, 21, [0033]), the method comprising:
preparing a wafer (Fig. 2, S100, element-group formation step, 20, wafer-like substrate, 11, [0046]), the wafer (Fig. 3B, 11, wafer-like substrate, [0046]) including
a sapphire substrate (Fig. 8A, 11, substrate, a sapphire single crystal, [0034]) including a first surface (Figs. 3B/8A, 11a, substrate front surface) on a first surface side (Figs. 3B/8A, 11a, substrate front surface) and a second surface (Figs. 3B/8A, 11b, back surface) on a second surface side (Figs. 3B/8A, 11b, back surface) opposite (annotated Figure 3B) to the first surface side (Figs. 3B/8A, 11a, substrate front surface), and
a semiconductor layer (Fig. 8A, 12) located at the first surface (Figs. 3B/8A, 11a, substrate front surface);
a laser beam (Fig. 5, 64, [0060]) irradiation process (Fig. 6, S204/S206/S208/S210, first-fourth scan, [0068]) of irradiating (Fig. 6, S204/S206/S208/S210, first-fourth scan, [0068]) a laser beam (Fig. 5, 64, [0060]) into the sapphire substrate (Fig. 8A, 11, substrate, a sapphire single crystal, [0034]) from the second surface side (Figs. 3B/8A, 11b, back surface); and
a separation process (Fig. 11, cutting step, S300/S308, carry substrate unit from stage, [0027], [0126]), of separating the wafer (Figs. 12A-12D, substrate unit, 30 is cut, [0133]), into a plurality of light-emitting elements (Figs. 12A-12D, plural element chips, [0133]) after the laser beam (Fig. 5, 64, [0060]) irradiation process (Fig. 6, S204/S206/S208/S210, first-fourth scan, [0068]), wherein
the laser beam (Fig. 5, 64, [0060]) irradiation process (Fig. 6, S204/S206/S208/S210, first-fourth scan, [0068]) includes:
a first irradiation process (Fig. 6, S208, perform third scan) of forming a plurality of first modified portions (Fig. 8C, L3, third modified region, [0040]) along the first direction (Figs. 8A/8C, Z- direction) by irradiating (Fig. 6, S208, perform third scan) the laser beam (Fig. 8A, 64, [0068]) along the first direction (Figs. 8A/8C, Z- direction); and
a second irradiation process (Fig 6. S204, perform first scan) of forming a plurality of second modified portions (Figs. 8A/8C, L1, first modified region, [0040]) along a first direction (Figs. 8A/8C, Z- direction) parallel to the second surface (Fig. 8A, 11b, surface) by irradiating (Fig 6. S204, perform first scan) the laser beam (Fig. 8A, 64, [0068]) along the first direction (Figs. 8A/8C, Z- direction), and
the second modified portions (Figs. 8A/8C, L1, first modified region, [0040]) are formed in the second irradiation process (Fig 6. S204, perform first scan) so that a length (Figs. 8A/8C, H1) in the thickness direction (Figs. 8A/8C, Z- direction) of the second modified portions (Figs. 8A/8C, L1, first modified region, [0040]) is greater than (Figs. 8A/8C, H1 > H3) a length (Fig 8C, H3) in the thickness direction (Figs. 8A/8C, Z- direction) of the first modified portions (Fig. 8C, L3, third modified region, [0040]).
ABE does not exclusively disclose a method for manufacturing a light-emitting element, the method comprising: the plurality of first modified portions being formed at positions that are a first distance from the second surface in the thickness direction; and the plurality of second modified portions being formed at positions that are a second distance from the second surface in a thickness direction, the second distance from the second surface in the thickness direction being less than the first distance, from the second surface in the thickness direction, the plurality of second modified portions being arranged in the thickness direction with the plurality of first modified portions.
TAMURA teaches a method for manufacturing a light-emitting element (wafer cutting and dividing method, [0003]), the method comprising:
the plurality of first modified portions (Fig. 12, Ga) being formed at positions that are a first distance (Fig. 12, distance between Ga and 20b) from the second surface (Fig. 12, 20b) in the thickness direction (annotated Figure 12); and
the plurality of second modified portions (Fig. 12, Ge) being formed at positions that are a second distance (Fig. 12, distance between Ge and 20b) from the second surface (Fig. 12, 20b) in a thickness direction (annotated Figure 12), the second distance (Fig. 12, distance between Ge and 20b) from the second surface (Fig. 12, 20b) in the thickness direction (annotated Figure 12) being less than (annotated Figure 12) the first distance (Fig. 12, distance between Ga and 20b), from the second surface (Fig. 12, 20b) in the thickness direction (annotated Figure 12), the plurality of second modified portions (Fig. 12, Ge) being arranged in the thickness direction (annotated Figure 12) with the plurality of first modified portions (Fig. 12, Ga).
Therefore, it would have been a prima facie obvious of one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have modified ABE to incorporate the teachings of TAMURA such that a method for manufacturing a light-emitting element, the method comprising: the plurality of first modified portions being formed at positions that are a first distance from the second surface in the thickness direction; and the plurality of second modified portions being formed at positions that are a second distance from the second surface in a thickness direction, the second distance from the second surface in the thickness direction being less than the first distance, from the second surface in the thickness direction, the plurality of second modified portions being arranged in the thickness direction with the plurality of first modified portions. The laser beam induced cracks, fused regions with variations in the refractive index have been formed at locations on a wafer which are widely known as “modified areas” and these modified areas are helpful for the cutting at predetermined multiple rows and a relatively larger thickness of a wafer workpiece, that can be easily cut along the cutting start areas (TAMURA, [0007-0008]).
Regarding Claim 4, ABE as modified by TAMURA the method according to claim 1.
ABE further teaches the method (method for laser processing, [0007]), wherein
the plurality of first modified portions (Fig. 8C, L3, third modified region, [0040]) is formed in the first irradiation process (Fig. 6, S208, perform third scan) by irradiating (Fig. 6, S204/S206/S208/S210, first-fourth scan, [0068]) the laser beam (Fig. 5, 64, [0060]) at a first pulse energy (P3, third output, [0094]),
the plurality of second modified portions (Figs. 8A/8C, L1, first modified region, [0040]) is formed in the second irradiation process (Fig 6. S204, perform first scan) by irradiating (Fig. 6, S204/S206/S208/S210, first-fourth scan, [0068]) the laser beam (Fig. 5, 64, [0060]) at a second pulse energy (P1, first output, [0085]), and
the second pulse energy (P1, first output, [0085]) is greater than (Figs. 14A/14B, P1>P3) ) the first pulse energy (P3, third output, [0094]) .
Regarding Claim 5, ABE as modified by TAMURA teaches the method according to claim 1.
ABE further teaches the method (method for laser processing, [0007]), wherein
the plurality of first modified portions (Fig. 8C, L3, third modified region, [0040]) is formed in the first irradiation process (Fig. 6, S208, perform third scan) by irradiating (Fig. 6, S204/S206/S208/S210, first-fourth scan, [0068]) the laser beam (Fig. 5, 64, [0060]) at a first spacing (Fig. 8A, I3),
the plurality of second modified portions (Figs. 8A/8C, L1, first modified region, [0040]) is formed in the second irradiation process (Fig 6. S204, perform first scan) by irradiating (Fig. 6, S204/S206/S208/S210, first-fourth scan, [0068]) the laser beam (Fig. 5, 64, [0060]) at a second spacing (Fig. 8A, I1), and
the second spacing (Fig. 8A, I1) is greater than (Figs. 8A/8C, I1 > I3) the first spacing (Fig. 8C, I3).
Regarding Claim 6, ABE as modified by TAMURA the method according to claim 1.
ABE further teaches the method (method for laser processing, [0007]), wherein
the first direction (Figs. 8A/8C, Z- direction) is along an a-axis direction (Figs. 8A/8C, Z- direction) of the sapphire substrate (Fig. 8A, 11, substrate, a sapphire single crystal, [0034]),
the laser beam (Fig. 5, 64, [0060]) irradiation process (Fig. 6, S204/S206/S208/S210, first-fourth scan, [0068]) further includes:
a third irradiation process (Fig. 6, S210, perform fourth scan) of forming a plurality of third modified portions (Fig. 8D, L4, fourth modified region, [0040]) along a second direction (Figs. 8A/8D, X- direction) by irradiating (Fig. 8D, L4, fourth modified region, [0040]) the laser beam (Fig. 5, 64, [0060]) along the second direction (Figs. 8A/8D, X- direction), the second direction (Figs. 8A/8D, X- direction) being along an m-axis direction (Figs. 8A/8D, X- direction) of the sapphire substrate (Fig. 8A, 11, substrate, a sapphire single crystal, [0034]); and
a fourth irradiation process (Fig 6. S206, perform second scan) of forming a plurality of fourth modified portions (Figs. 8B/8D, L2, second modified region, [0040]) along the second direction (Figs. 8B/8D, X- direction) by irradiating (Fig 6. S206, perform second scan) the laser beam (Fig. 5, 64, [0060]) along the second direction (Figs. 8B/8D, X- direction), and
the fourth modified portions (Figs. 8B/8D, L2, second modified region, [0040]) are formed so that a length (Figs. 8B/8D, H2) in the thickness direction (Figs. 8A/8C, Z- direction) of the fourth modified portions (Figs. 8B/8D, L2, second modified region, [0040]) in the fourth irradiation process (Fig 6. S206, perform second scan) is greater than (Figs. 8B/8D, H2 > H4) a length (Fig. 8D, H4) in the thickness direction (Figs. 8A/8C, Z- direction) of the third modified portions (Fig. 8D, L4, fourth modified region, [0040]).
TAMURA further teaches a method for manufacturing a light-emitting element (wafer cutting and dividing method, [0003]), the method comprising:
the plurality of third modified portions (Fig. 12, Gb) being formed at positions that are a second distance (Fig. 12, distance between Gb and 20b) from the second surface (Fig. 12, 20b) in a thickness direction (annotated Figure 12),
the plurality of fourth modified portions (Fig. 12, Gd) being formed at positions that are a first distance (Fig. 12, distance between Gd and 20b) from the second surface (Fig. 12, 20b) in the thickness direction (annotated Figure 12); and the fourth distance (Fig. 12, distance between Gd and 20b) from the second surface (Fig. 12, 20b) in the thickness direction (annotated Figure 12) being less than (annotated Figure 12) the third distance (Fig. 12, distance between Gb and 20b), from the second surface (Fig. 12, 20b) in the thickness direction (annotated Figure 12), the plurality of fourth modified portions (Fig. 12, Gd) being arranged in the thickness direction (annotated Figure 12) with the plurality of third modified portions (Fig. 12, Gb).
Regarding Claim 7, ABE as modified by TAMURA the method according to claim 1.
ABE further teaches the method (method for laser processing, [0007]), wherein
the first direction (Figs. 8A/8C, Z- direction) is along an a-axis direction (Figs. 8A/8C, Z- direction) of the sapphire substrate (Fig. 8A, 11, substrate, a sapphire single crystal, [0034]), the laser beam (Fig. 5, 64, [0060]) irradiation process (Fig. 6, S204/S206/S208/S210, first-fourth scan, [0068]) further includes:
a third irradiation process (Fig. 6, S210, perform fourth scan) of forming a plurality of third modified portions (Fig. 8D, L4, fourth modified region, [0040]) along a second direction (Figs. 8A/8D, X- direction) by irradiating (Fig. 8D, L4, fourth modified region, [0040]) the laser beam (Fig. 5, 64, [0060]) along the second direction (Figs. 8A/8D, X- direction), the second direction (Figs. 8A/8D, X- direction) being along an m-axis direction (Figs. 8A/8D, X- direction) of the sapphire substrate (Fig. 8A, 11, substrate, a sapphire single crystal, [0034]); and
a fourth irradiation process (Fig 6. S206, perform second scan) of forming a plurality of fourth modified portions (Figs. 8B/8D, L2, second modified region, [0040]) along the second direction (Figs. 8B/8D, X- direction) by irradiating (Fig 6. S206, perform second scan) the laser beam (Fig. 5, 64, [0060]) along the second direction (Figs. 8B/8D, X- direction), and
the fourth modified portions (Figs. 8B/8D, L2, second modified region, [0040]) are formed so that a length (Figs. 8B/8D, H2) in the thickness direction (Figs. 8A/8C, Z- direction) of the fourth modified portions (Figs. 8B/8D, L2, second modified region, [0040]) in the fourth irradiation process (Fig 6. S206, perform second scan) is greater than (Figs. 8B/8D, H2 > H4) a length (Fig. 8D, H4) in the thickness direction (Figs. 8A/8C, Z- direction) of the third modified portions (Fig. 8D, L4, fourth modified region, [0040]).
TAMURA further teaches a method for manufacturing a light-emitting element (wafer cutting and dividing method, [0003]), the method comprising:
the plurality of third modified portions (Fig. 12, Gb) being formed at positions that are a second distance (Fig. 12, distance between Gb and 20b) from the second surface (Fig. 12, 20b) in a thickness direction (annotated Figure 12),
the plurality of fourth modified portions (Fig. 12, Gd) being formed at positions that are a first distance (Fig. 12, distance between Gd and 20b) from the second surface (Fig. 12, 20b) in the thickness direction (annotated Figure 12); and the fourth distance (Fig. 12, distance between Gd and 20b) from the second surface (Fig. 12, 20b) in the thickness direction (annotated Figure 12) being less than (annotated Figure 12) the third distance (Fig. 12, distance between Gb and 20b), from the second surface (Fig. 12, 20b) in the thickness direction (annotated Figure 12), the plurality of fourth modified portions (Fig. 12, Gd) being arranged in the thickness direction (annotated Figure 12) with the plurality of third modified portions (Fig. 12, Gb).
Regarding Claim 8, ABE as modified by TAMURA the method according to claim 1.
ABE further teaches the method (method for laser processing, [0007]), wherein
the plurality of third modified portions (Fig. 8D, L4, fourth modified region, [0040]) is formed in the third irradiation process (Fig. 6, S210, perform fourth scan) by irradiating (Fig. 6, S204/S206/S208/S210, first-fourth scan, [0068]) the laser beam (Fig. 5, 64, [0060]) at a third spacing (Fig. 8D, I3),
the plurality of fourth modified portions (Figs. 8B/8D, L2, second modified region, [0040]) is formed in the fourth irradiation process (Fig 6. S206, perform second scan) by irradiating (Fig. 6, S204/S206/S208/S210, first-fourth scan, [0068]) the laser beam (Fig. 5, 64, [0060]) at a fourth spacing (Figs. 8B/8D, I2), and
the fourth spacing (Figs. 8B/8D, I2) is greater than (Figs. 8B/8D, I2 > I4) the third spacing (Fig. 8D, I4).
Regarding Claim 9, ABE as modified by TAMURA the method according to claim 1.
ABE further teaches the method (method for laser processing, [0007]), wherein
the plurality of third modified portions (Fig. 8D, L4, fourth modified region, [0040]) is formed in the third irradiation process (Fig. 6, S210, perform fourth scan) by irradiating (Fig. 6, S204/S206/S208/S210, first-fourth scan, [0068]) the laser beam (Fig. 5, 64, [0060]) at a third spacing (Fig. 8D, I3),
the plurality of fourth modified portions (Figs. 8B/8D, L2, second modified region, [0040]) is formed in the fourth irradiation process (Fig 6. S206, perform second scan) by irradiating (Fig. 6, S204/S206/S208/S210, first-fourth scan, [0068]) the laser beam (Fig. 5, 64, [0060]) at a fourth spacing (Figs. 8B/8D, I2).
Regarding Claim 10, ABE as modified by TAMURA the method according to claim 1.
ABE further teaches the method (method for laser processing, [0007]), wherein
the plurality of second modified portions (Figs. 8A/8C, L1, first modified region, [0040]) is formed in the second irradiation process (Fig 6. S204, perform first scan) by irradiating (Fig. 6, S204/S206/S208/S210, first-fourth scan, [0068]) the laser beam (Fig. 5, 64, [0060]) at a second spacing (Fig. 8A, I1), and
the second spacing (Fig. 8A, I1) is greater than the fourth spacing (Figs. 8B/8D, I2).
Regarding Claim 11, ABE as modified by TAMURA the method according to claim 1.
ABE further teaches the method (method for laser processing, [0007]), wherein
the second spacing (Fig. 8A, I1) is greater than the fourth spacing (Figs. 8B/8D, I2).
Regarding Claim 12, ABE as modified by TAMURA the method according to claim 1.
ABE further teaches the method (method for laser processing, [0007]), wherein
the laser beam (Fig. 5, 64, [0060]) is irradiated (Fig. 6, S204/S206/S208/S210, first-fourth scan, [0068]) at a position more proximate to the second surface (Figs. 3B/8A, 11b, back surface) than the first surface (Figs. 3B/8A, 11a, substrate front surface) in the third irradiation process (Fig. 6, S210, perform fourth scan).
Regarding Claim 13, ABE as modified by TAMURA the method according to claim 1.
ABE further teaches the method (method for laser processing, [0007]), wherein
the laser beam (Fig. 5, 64, [0060]) is irradiated (Fig. 6, S204/S206/S208/S210, first-fourth scan, [0068]) at a position more proximate to the second surface (Figs. 3B/8A, 11b, back surface) than the first surface (Figs. 3B/8A, 11a, substrate front surface) in the first irradiation process (Fig. 6, S208, perform third scan).
Regarding Claim 14, ABE teaches the method (method for laser processing, [0007]) according to claim 1, wherein
the laser beam (Fig. 5, 64, [0060]) irradiation process (Fig. 6, S204/S206/S208/S210, first-fourth scan, [0068]) further includes a fifth irradiation process performed after the first irradiation process and before the second irradiation process,
the fifth irradiation process (Fig. 6, S204/206/208/210, perform third scan; similarity with first-fourth irradiation processes) includes forming a plurality of fifth modified portions (Figs. 8A-8D, L1-L4, first/second/third/fourth modified regions; similarity with first/second/third/fourth modified portions, [0040]) along the first direction (Figs. 8A/8C, Z- direction) by irradiating (Fig. 6, S204/S206/S208/S210, first-fourth scan, [0068]) the laser beam (Fig. 5, 64, [0060]) along the first direction (Figs. 8A/8C, Z- direction), and
the second modified portions (Figs. 8A/8C, L1, first modified region, [0040]) are formed in the second irradiation process (Fig 6. S204, perform first scan) so that the length (Figs. 8A/8C, H1) in the thickness direction (Figs. 8A/8C, Z- direction) of the second modified portions (Figs. 8A/8C, L1, first modified region, [0040]) is greater than a length (Figs. 8A-8D, H1/H2/H3/H4) in the thickness direction (Figs. 8A/8C, Z- direction) of the fifth modified portions (Figs. 8A-8D, L1-L4, first/second/third/fourth modified regions; similarity with first/second/third/fourth modified portions, [0040]).
TAMURA further teaches a method for manufacturing a light-emitting element (wafer cutting and dividing method, [0003]), the method comprising:
the plurality of fifth modified portions (Fig. 12, Gc) being formed at a distance from the second surface (Fig. 12, 20b) in the thickness direction (annotated Figure 12) that is less than (annotated Figure 12) the first distance (Fig. 12, distance between Ga and 20b) from the second surface (Fig. 12, 20b) in the thickness direction (annotated Figure 12) and greater than (annotated Figure 12) the second distance (Fig. 12, distance between Ge and 20b), from the second surface (Fig. 12, 20b) in the thickness direction (annotated Figure 12), the plurality of fifth modified portions (Fig. 12, Gc) being arranged in the thickness direction (annotated Figure 12) with the plurality of first modified portions (Fig. 12, Ga).
Regarding Claim 15, ABE as modified by TAMURA teaches the method according to claim 1.
ABE further teaches the method (method for laser processing, [0007]) wherein
the length (Fig. 8C, H1) in the thickness direction (Figs. 8A/8C, Z- direction) of the second modified portions (Figs. 8A/8C, L1, first modified region, [0040]) is not less than 1.3 times and not more than 3 times (Figs. 8A/8C, by looking at the modified portions size as appeared in Figures 8A/8C, not to scale, but in general, the range between one unit and three units for comparison between L1 and L3) the length (Fig. 8C, H1) in the thickness direction (Figs. 8A/8C, Z- direction) of the first modified portions (Fig. 8C, L3, third modified region, [0040]).
Regarding Claim 16, ABE teaches the method according to claim 1.
ABE further teaches the method (method for laser processing, [0007]) wherein the length (Figs. 8A/8C, H1) in the first direction (Figs. 8A/8C, Z- direction) of the second modified portions (Figs. 8A/8C, L1, first modified region, [0040]) is greater than (Figs. 8A/8C, H1 > H3) the length (Fig 8C, H3) in the first direction (Figs. 8A/8C, Z- direction) of the first modified portions (Fig. 8C, L3, third modified region, [0040]).
Claim(s) 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ABE in view of TAMURA, and further in view of Takeshi Sakamoto et al, (hereinafter SAKAMOTO), US 20210053158 A1.
Regarding Claim 2, ABE as modified by TAMURA teaches the method according to claim 1.
ABE further teaches the method (method for laser processing, [0007]), wherein
the second modified portions (Figs. 8A/8C, L1, first modified region, [0040]) are formed so that a length (Figs. 8A/8C, H1) in the thickness direction (Figs. 8A/8C, Z- direction) of a concentration region (Figs. 8A/8C, L1, first modified region, [0040]) of the laser beam (Fig. 8A, 64, [0068]) in the second irradiation process (Fig. 6, S204, perform first scan).
ABE as modified by TAMURA does not explicitly disclose the method, wherein the second modified portions are formed so that a length in the thickness direction of a concentration region of the laser beam in the second irradiation process is greater than a length in the thickness direction of a concentration region of the laser beam without aberration correction.
SAKAMOTO teaches the method (Fig. 7, object cutting method, [0023]), wherein the second modified portions (Fig. 11, standard processing surface: HC means a state where one row of modified regions on one surface side, [0073]) are formed so that a length in the thickness direction of a concentration region of the laser beam in the second irradiation process is greater than a length in the thickness direction of a concentration region of the laser beam without aberration correction (Fig. 11, a fracture reaches the one surface from the one row of modified regions, in a case where laser light is converged by natural spherical aberration, and a state where fractures respectively, extending from the modified region in the thickness direction [0073]).
Therefore, it would have been a prima facie obvious of one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have modified ABE as modified by TAMURA to incorporate the teachings of SAKAMOTO such that the method, wherein the second modified portions are formed so that a length in the thickness direction of a concentration region of the laser beam in the second irradiation process is greater than a length in the thickness direction of a concentration region of the laser beam without aberration correction, so that the aberration which occurs naturally (without aberration correction) at a converging position in accordance with Snell’s law or the like due to converging of the laser light on the object (SAKAMOTO, [0073]).
Regarding Claim 3, ABE as modified by TAMURA teaches the method according to claim 1.
ABE further teaches the method (method for laser processing, [0007]), wherein
the first modified portions (Fig. 8C, L3, third modified region, [0040]) are formed so that a length (Fig. 8C, H3) in the thickness direction (Figs. 8A/8C, Z- direction) of a concentration region (Fig. 8C, L3, third modified region, [0040]) of the laser beam (Fig. 8A, 64, [0068]) in the first irradiation process (Fig 6. S208, perform third scan).
ABE as modified by TAMURA does not explicitly disclose the method, wherein the first modified portions are formed so that a length in the thickness direction of a concentration region of the laser beam in the first irradiation process is less than a length in the thickness direction of a concentration region of the laser beam without aberration correction.
SAKAMOTO teaches the method (Fig. 7, object cutting method, [0023]) according to claim 1, wherein the first modified portions (Fig. 11, Tact-up processing surface: HC means a state where one row of modified regions, [0073]) are formed so that a length in the thickness direction of a concentration region of the laser beam in the first irradiation process is less than a length in the thickness direction of a concentration region of the laser beam without aberration correction (Fig. 11, a fracture reaches the one surface from the one row of modified regions, in a case where laser light is converged such that the length of a converging point in an optical axis direction becomes shorter than natural spherical aberration, [0073]).
Therefore, it would have been a prima facie obvious of one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have ABE as modified by TAMURA to incorporate the teachings of SAKAMOTO such that the method, wherein the first modified portions are formed so that a length in the thickness direction of a concentration region of the laser beam in the first irradiation process is less than a length in the thickness direction of a concentration region of the laser beam without aberration correction, so that the aberration which occurs naturally (without aberration correction) at a converging position in accordance with Snell’s law or the like due to converging of the laser light on the object (SAKAMOTO, [0073]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20040002199 A1 – Figure 92
STATEMENT OF RELEVANCE – The perspective view of the object to be processed with which the crack region is formed by using the laser processing method.
US 20110303646 A1 – Figure 22
STATEMENT OF RELEVANCE – The modified region as obtained by the laser processing method.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SESHA SAIRAMAN SRINIVASAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/CHRISTINE S. KIM/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812