DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The new claims 17-20 filed on 03/02/2026 have been fully considered for examination based on their merits. The original claim(s) 1-16 have been considered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, pages 10-16, filed 03/02/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-16 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of KOMURA.
Regarding Independent Claim 1. The Applicant argues (see Remarks, pages 11-12) that the applied references does not disclose or suggest all of the amended limitations to claim 1, now recites, “the plurality of first modified portions…sapphire substrate; the plurality of second modified portions being formed…in the thickness direction, the second distance being less than the first distance; a length in the thickness directions of the second modified portions is greater than a length…first modified portions.” The Examiner agrees to these arguments and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made as mentioned above. For instance, KOMURA teaches a method for manufacturing a light-emitting element (Figs. 16A-16C, dicing method for a semiconductor substrate, [0006]), the method comprising:
the plurality (Figs. 30B, K, plurality of reforming layers, [0029], [0245], [0282]) of first modified portions (Figs. 31, (K4-K8; for example K4) being formed at positions that are a first distance (annotated Figure 31, D1) from the second surface (Fig. 31, 21b, rear face) in the thickness direction (annotated Figure 31); and
the plurality (Figs. 30B, K, plurality of reforming layers, [0029], [0245], [0282]) of second modified portions (Figs. 31, (K1-K3; for example K1) being formed at positions that are a second distance (annotated Figure 31, D2) from the second surface (Fig. 31, 21b, rear face) in a thickness direction (annotated Figure 31), the second distance (annotated Figure 31, D2) from the second surface (Fig. 31, 21b, rear face) in the thickness direction (annotated Figure 31) being less than (annotated Figure 31; D2 < D1) the first distance (annotated Figure 31, D1), from the second surface (Fig. 31, 21b, rear face) in the thickness direction (annotated Figure 12), the plurality (Figs. 30B, K, plurality of reforming layers, [0029], [0245], [0282]) of second modified portions (Figs. 31, (K1-K3; for example K1) arranged in the thickness direction (annotated Figure 31) with the plurality (Figs. 30B, K, plurality of reforming layers, [0029], [0245], [0282]) of first modified portions (Figs. 31, (K4-K8; for example K4).
Regarding New Independent Claim(s) 17, and Dependent Claim(s) 2-16 and 18-20. The independent Claim(s) 17, and dependent claim(s) 2-16, and 18-20 follow similar arguments as Claim 1, upon further consideration, a new-grounds of rejection is made based on the prior-art mentioned
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshinori Abe, (hereinafter ABE), US 20110312193 A1 (prior art used in the previous Office Action filed on 12/04/2025), in view of Atsushi Komura et al, (hereinafter KOMURA), US 20070111478 A1.
Regarding Claim 1, ABE teaches a method for manufacturing (method for laser processing, [0007]) a light-emitting element (Fig. 1, 21, [0033]), the method comprising:
preparing a wafer (Fig. 2, S100, element-group formation step, 20, wafer-like substrate, 11, [0046]), the wafer (Fig. 3B, 11, wafer-like substrate, [0046]) including
a sapphire substrate (Fig. 8A, 11, substrate, a sapphire single crystal, [0034]) including a first surface (Figs. 3B/8A, 11a, substrate front surface) on a first surface side (Figs. 3B/8A, 11a, substrate front surface) and a second surface (Figs. 3B/8A, 11b, back surface) on a second surface side (Figs. 3B/8A, 11b, back surface) opposite (annotated Figure 3B) to the first surface side (Figs. 3B/8A, 11a, substrate front surface), and
a semiconductor layer (Fig. 8A, 12) located at the first surface (Figs. 3B/8A, 11a, substrate front surface);
a laser beam (Fig. 5, 64, [0060]) irradiation process (Fig. 6, S204/S206/S208/S210, first-fourth scan, [0068]) of irradiating (Fig. 6, S204/S206/S208/S210, first-fourth scan, [0068]) a laser beam (Fig. 5, 64, [0060]) into the sapphire substrate (Fig. 8A, 11, substrate, a sapphire single crystal, [0034]) from the second surface side (Figs. 3B/8A, 11b, back surface); and
a separation process (Fig. 11, cutting step, S300/S308, carry substrate unit from stage, [0027], [0126]), of separating the wafer (Figs. 12A-12D, substrate unit, 30 is cut, [0133]), into a plurality of light-emitting elements (Figs. 12A-12D, plural element chips, [0133]) after the laser beam (Fig. 5, 64, [0060]) irradiation process (Fig. 6, S204/S206/S208/S210, first-fourth scan, [0068]), wherein
the laser beam (Fig. 5, 64, [0060]) irradiation process (Fig. 6, S204/S206/S208/S210, first-fourth scan, [0068]) includes:
a first irradiation process (Fig. 6, S208, perform third scan) of forming a plurality of first modified portions (Fig. 8C, L3, third modified region, [0040]) along the first direction (Figs. 8A/8C, Z- direction) by irradiating (Fig. 6, S208, perform third scan) the laser beam (Fig. 8A, 64, [0068]) along the first direction (Figs. 8A/8C, Z- direction); and
a second irradiation process (Fig 6. S204, perform first scan) of forming a plurality of second modified portions (Figs. 8A/8C, L1, first modified region, [0040]) along a first direction (Figs. 8A/8C, Z- direction) parallel to the second surface (Fig. 8A, 11b, surface) by irradiating (Fig 6. S204, perform first scan) the laser beam (Fig. 8A, 64, [0068]) along the first direction (Figs. 8A/8C, Z- direction), and
the second modified portions (Figs. 8A/8C, L1, first modified region, [0040]) are formed in the second irradiation process (Fig 6. S204, perform first scan) so that a length (Figs. 8A/8C, H1) in the thickness direction (Figs. 8A/8C, Z- direction) of the second modified portions (Figs. 8A/8C, L1, first modified region, [0040]) is greater than (Figs. 8A/8C, H1 > H3) a length (Fig 8C, H3) in the thickness direction (Figs. 8A/8C, Z- direction) of the first modified portions (Fig. 8C, L3, third modified region, [0040]).
ABE does not exclusively disclose a method for manufacturing a light-emitting element, the method comprising: the plurality of first modified portions being formed at positions that are a first distance from the second surface in the thickness direction; and the plurality of second modified portions being formed at positions that are a second distance from the second surface in a thickness direction, the second distance from the second surface in the thickness direction being less than the first distance, from the second surface in the thickness direction, the plurality of second modified portions being arranged in the thickness direction with the plurality of first modified portions.
KOMURA teaches a method for manufacturing a light-emitting element (Figs. 16A-16C, dicing method for a semiconductor substrate, [0006]), the method comprising:
the plurality (Figs. 30B, K, plurality of reforming layers, [0029], [0245], [0282]) of first modified portions (Figs. 31, (K4-K8; for example K4) being formed at positions that are a first distance (annotated Figure 31, D1) from the second surface (Fig. 31, 21b, rear face) in the thickness direction (annotated Figure 31); and
the plurality (Figs. 30B, K, plurality of reforming layers, [0029], [0245], [0282]) of second modified portions (Figs. 31, (K1-K3; for example K1) being formed at positions that are a second distance (annotated Figure 31, D2) from the second surface (Fig. 31, 21b, rear face) in a thickness direction (annotated Figure 31), the second distance (annotated Figure 31, D2) from the second surface (Fig. 31, 21b, rear face) in the thickness direction (annotated Figure 31) being less than (annotated Figure 31; D2 < D1) the first distance (annotated Figure 31, D1), from the second surface (Fig. 31, 21b, rear face) in the thickness direction (annotated Figure 12), the plurality (Figs. 30B, K, plurality of reforming layers, [0029], [0245], [0282]) of second modified portions (Figs. 31, (K1-K3; for example K1) arranged in the thickness direction (annotated Figure 31) with the plurality (Figs. 30B, K, plurality of reforming layers, [0029], [0245], [0282]) of first modified portions (Figs. 31, (K4-K8; for example K4).
Therefore, it would have been a prima facie obvious of one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have modified ABE to incorporate the teachings of KOMURA such that a method for manufacturing a light-emitting element, the method comprising: the plurality of first modified portions being formed at positions that are a first distance from the second surface in the thickness direction; and the plurality of second modified portions being formed at positions that are a second distance from the second surface in a thickness direction, the second distance from the second surface in the thickness direction being less than the first distance, from the second surface in the thickness direction, the plurality of second modified portions being arranged in the thickness direction with the plurality of first modified portions. The aforementioned arrangement enables to prevent the overlapping portion of the adjacent reforming areas, K is strongly connected by re-crystallization, re-melting etc., and no semiconductor substrate, 21 is easily divided (KOMURA, [0248]).
Regarding Claim 4, ABE as modified by KOMURA the method according to claim 1.
ABE further teaches the method (method for laser processing, [0007]), wherein
the plurality of first modified portions (Fig. 8C, L3, third modified region, [0040]) is formed in the first irradiation process (Fig. 6, S208, perform third scan) by irradiating (Fig. 6, S204/S206/S208/S210, first-fourth scan, [0068]) the laser beam (Fig. 5, 64, [0060]) at a first pulse energy (P3, third output, [0094]),
the plurality of second modified portions (Figs. 8A/8C, L1, first modified region, [0040]) is formed in the second irradiation process (Fig 6. S204, perform first scan) by irradiating (Fig. 6, S204/S206/S208/S210, first-fourth scan, [0068]) the laser beam (Fig. 5, 64, [0060]) at a second pulse energy (P1, first output, [0085]), and
the second pulse energy (P1, first output, [0085]) is greater than (Figs. 14A/14B, P1>P3) ) the first pulse energy (P3, third output, [0094]).
Regarding Claim 5, ABE as modified by KOMURA teaches the method according to claim 1.
ABE further teaches the method (method for laser processing, [0007]), wherein
the plurality of first modified portions (Fig. 8C, L3, third modified region, [0040]) is formed in the first irradiation process (Fig. 6, S208, perform third scan) by irradiating (Fig. 6, S204/S206/S208/S210, first-fourth scan, [0068]) the laser beam (Fig. 5, 64, [0060]) at a first spacing (Fig. 8A, I3),
the plurality of second modified portions (Figs. 8A/8C, L1, first modified region, [0040]) is formed in the second irradiation process (Fig 6. S204, perform first scan) by irradiating (Fig. 6, S204/S206/S208/S210, first-fourth scan, [0068]) the laser beam (Fig. 5, 64, [0060]) at a second spacing (Fig. 8A, I1), and
the second spacing (Fig. 8A, I1) is greater than (Figs. 8A/8C, I1 > I3) the first spacing (Fig. 8C, I3).
Regarding Claim 6, ABE as modified by KOMURA the method according to claim 1.
ABE further teaches the method (method for laser processing, [0007]), wherein
the first direction (Figs. 8A/8C, Z- direction) is along an a-axis direction (Figs. 8A/8C, Z- direction) of the sapphire substrate (Fig. 8A, 11, substrate, a sapphire single crystal, [0034]),
the laser beam (Fig. 5, 64, [0060]) irradiation process (Fig. 6, S204/S206/S208/S210, first-fourth scan, [0068]) further includes:
a third irradiation process (Fig. 6, S210, perform fourth scan) of forming a plurality of third modified portions (Fig. 8D, L4, fourth modified region, [0040]) along a second direction (Figs. 8A/8D, X- direction) by irradiating (Fig. 8D, L4, fourth modified region, [0040]) the laser beam (Fig. 5, 64, [0060]) along the second direction (Figs. 8A/8D, X- direction), the second direction (Figs. 8A/8D, X- direction) being along an m-axis direction (Figs. 8A/8D, X- direction) of the sapphire substrate (Fig. 8A, 11, substrate, a sapphire single crystal, [0034]); and
a fourth irradiation process (Fig 6. S206, perform second scan) of forming a plurality of fourth modified portions (Figs. 8B/8D, L2, second modified region, [0040]) along the second direction (Figs. 8B/8D, X- direction) by irradiating (Fig 6. S206, perform second scan) the laser beam (Fig. 5, 64, [0060]) along the second direction (Figs. 8B/8D, X- direction), and
the fourth modified portions (Figs. 8B/8D, L2, second modified region, [0040]) are formed so that a length (Figs. 8B/8D, H2) in the thickness direction (Figs. 8A/8C, Z- direction) of the fourth modified portions (Figs. 8B/8D, L2, second modified region, [0040]) in the fourth irradiation process (Fig 6. S206, perform second scan) is greater than (Figs. 8B/8D, H2 > H4) a length (Fig. 8D, H4) in the thickness direction (Figs. 8A/8C, Z- direction) of the third modified portions (Fig. 8D, L4, fourth modified region, [0040]).
KOMURA teaches a method for manufacturing a light-emitting element (Figs. 16A-16C, dicing method for a semiconductor substrate, [0006]), the method comprising:
the plurality (Figs. 30B, K, plurality of reforming layers, [0029], [0245], [0282]) of third modified portions (Figs. 31, (K4-K8; for example K5) being formed at positions that are a third distance (annotated Figure 31, D3) from the second surface (Fig. 31, 21b, rear face) in the thickness direction (annotated Figure 31), and
the plurality (Figs. 30B, K, plurality of reforming layers, [0029], [0245], [0282]) of fourth modified portions (Figs. 31, (K1-K3; for example K2) being formed at positions that are a fourth distance (annotated Figure 31, D4) from the second surface (Fig. 31, 21b, rear face) in a thickness direction (annotated Figure 31); the fourth distance (annotated Figure 31, D4) from the second surface (Fig. 31, 21b, rear face) in the thickness direction (annotated Figure 31) being less than (annotated Figure 31; (D4(@L2) < D3(@L1)) the third distance (annotated Figure 31, D3), from the second surface (Fig. 31, 21b, rear face) in the thickness direction (annotated Figure 31), and
the fourth modified portions (Figs. 31, (K1-K3; for example K2) are formed so that a length (annotated Figure 31, L2) in the thickness direction (annotated Figure 31) of the fourth modified portions (Figs. 31, (K1-K3; for example K2) in the fourth irradiation process ([0257]) is greater (annotated Figure 31, L2 > L1) than a length (annotated Figure 31, L1) in the thickness direction (annotated Figure 31) of the third modified portions (Figs. 31, (K4-K8; for example K5).
Regarding Claim 7, ABE as modified by KOMURA the method according to claim 5.
ABE further teaches the method (method for laser processing, [0007]), wherein
the first direction (Figs. 8A/8C, Z- direction) is along an a-axis direction (Figs. 8A/8C, Z- direction) of the sapphire substrate (Fig. 8A, 11, substrate, a sapphire single crystal, [0034]), the laser beam (Fig. 5, 64, [0060]) irradiation process (Fig. 6, S204/S206/S208/S210, first-fourth scan, [0068]) further includes:
a third irradiation process (Fig. 6, S210, perform fourth scan) of forming a plurality of third modified portions (Fig. 8D, L4, fourth modified region, [0040]) along a second direction (Figs. 8A/8D, X- direction) by irradiating (Fig. 8D, L4, fourth modified region, [0040]) the laser beam (Fig. 5, 64, [0060]) along the second direction (Figs. 8A/8D, X- direction), the second direction (Figs. 8A/8D, X- direction) being along an m-axis direction (Figs. 8A/8D, X- direction) of the sapphire substrate (Fig. 8A, 11, substrate, a sapphire single crystal, [0034]); and
a fourth irradiation process (Fig 6. S206, perform second scan) of forming a plurality of fourth modified portions (Figs. 8B/8D, L2, second modified region, [0040]) along the second direction (Figs. 8B/8D, X- direction) by irradiating (Fig 6. S206, perform second scan) the laser beam (Fig. 5, 64, [0060]) along the second direction (Figs. 8B/8D, X- direction), and
the fourth modified portions (Figs. 8B/8D, L2, second modified region, [0040]) are formed so that a length (Figs. 8B/8D, H2) in the thickness direction (Figs. 8A/8C, Z- direction) of the fourth modified portions (Figs. 8B/8D, L2, second modified region, [0040]) in the fourth irradiation process (Fig 6. S206, perform second scan) is greater than (Figs. 8B/8D, H2 > H4) a length (Fig. 8D, H4) in the thickness direction (Figs. 8A/8C, Z- direction) of the third modified portions (Fig. 8D, L4, fourth modified region, [0040]).
KOMURA further teaches a method for manufacturing a light-emitting element (Figs. 16A-16C, dicing method for a semiconductor substrate, [0006]), the method comprising:
the plurality (Figs. 30B, K, plurality of reforming layers, [0029], [0245], [0282]) of third modified portions (Figs. 31, (K4-K8; for example K5) being formed at positions that are a third distance (annotated Figure 31, D3) from the second surface (Fig. 31, 21b, rear face) in the thickness direction (annotated Figure 31), and
the plurality (Figs. 30B, K, plurality of reforming layers, [0029], [0245], [0282]) of fourth modified portions (Figs. 31, (K1-K3; for example K2) being formed at positions that are a fourth distance (annotated Figure 31, D4) from the second surface (Fig. 31, 21b, rear face) in a thickness direction (annotated Figure 31); the fourth distance (annotated Figure 31, D4) from the second surface (Fig. 31, 21b, rear face) in the thickness direction (annotated Figure 31) being less than (annotated Figure 31; (D4(@L2) < D3(@L1)) the third distance (annotated Figure 31, D3), from the second surface (Fig. 31, 21b, rear face) in the thickness direction (annotated Figure 31), and
the fourth modified portions (Figs. 31, (K1-K3; for example K2) are formed so that a length (annotated Figure 31, L2) in the thickness direction (annotated Figure 31) of the fourth modified portions (Figs. 31, (K1-K3; for example K2) in the fourth irradiation process ([0257]) is greater (annotated Figure 31, L2 > L1) than a length (annotated Figure 31, L1) in the thickness direction (annotated Figure 31) of the third modified portions (Figs. 31, (K4-K8; for example K5).
Regarding Claim 8, ABE as modified by KOMURA the method according to claim 6.
ABE further teaches the method (method for laser processing, [0007]), wherein
the plurality of third modified portions (Fig. 8D, L4, fourth modified region, [0040]) is formed in the third irradiation process (Fig. 6, S210, perform fourth scan) by irradiating (Fig. 6, S204/S206/S208/S210, first-fourth scan, [0068]) the laser beam (Fig. 5, 64, [0060]) at a third spacing (Fig. 8D, I3),
the plurality of fourth modified portions (Figs. 8B/8D, L2, second modified region, [0040]) is formed in the fourth irradiation process (Fig 6. S206, perform second scan) by irradiating (Fig. 6, S204/S206/S208/S210, first-fourth scan, [0068]) the laser beam (Fig. 5, 64, [0060]) at a fourth spacing (Figs. 8B/8D, I2), and
the fourth spacing (Figs. 8B/8D, I2) is greater than (Figs. 8B/8D, I2 > I4) the third spacing (Fig. 8D, I4).
Regarding Claim 9, ABE as modified by KOMURA the method according to claim 7.
ABE further teaches the method (method for laser processing, [0007]), wherein
the plurality of third modified portions (Fig. 8D, L4, fourth modified region, [0040]) is formed in the third irradiation process (Fig. 6, S210, perform fourth scan) by irradiating (Fig. 6, S204/S206/S208/S210, first-fourth scan, [0068]) the laser beam (Fig. 5, 64, [0060]) at a third spacing (Fig. 8D, I3),
the plurality of fourth modified portions (Figs. 8B/8D, L2, second modified region, [0040]) is formed in the fourth irradiation process (Fig 6. S206, perform second scan) by irradiating (Fig. 6, S204/S206/S208/S210, first-fourth scan, [0068]) the laser beam (Fig. 5, 64, [0060]) at a fourth spacing (Figs. 8B/8D, I2).
Regarding Claim 10, ABE as modified by KOMURA the method according to claim 8.
ABE further teaches the method (method for laser processing, [0007]), wherein
the plurality of second modified portions (Figs. 8A/8C, L1, first modified region, [0040]) is formed in the second irradiation process (Fig 6. S204, perform first scan) by irradiating (Fig. 6, S204/S206/S208/S210, first-fourth scan, [0068]) the laser beam (Fig. 5, 64, [0060]) at a second spacing (Fig. 8A, I1), and
the second spacing (Fig. 8A, I1) is greater than the fourth spacing (Figs. 8B/8D, I2).
Regarding Claim 11, ABE as modified by KOMURA the method according to claim 9.
ABE further teaches the method (method for laser processing, [0007]), wherein
the second spacing (Fig. 8A, I1) is greater than the fourth spacing (Figs. 8B/8D, I2).
Regarding Claim 12, ABE as modified by KOMURA the method according to claim 6.
ABE further teaches the method (method for laser processing, [0007]), wherein
the laser beam (Fig. 5, 64, [0060]) is irradiated (Fig. 6, S204/S206/S208/S210, first-fourth scan, [0068]) at a position more proximate to the second surface (Figs. 3B/8A, 11b, back surface) than the first surface (Figs. 3B/8A, 11a, substrate front surface) in the third irradiation process (Fig. 6, S210, perform fourth scan).
Regarding Claim 13, ABE as modified by KOMURA the method according to claim 1.
ABE further teaches the method (method for laser processing, [0007]), wherein
the laser beam (Fig. 5, 64, [0060]) is irradiated (Fig. 6, S204/S206/S208/S210, first-fourth scan, [0068]) at a position more proximate to the second surface (Figs. 3B/8A, 11b, back surface) than the first surface (Figs. 3B/8A, 11a, substrate front surface) in the first irradiation process (Fig. 6, S208, perform third scan).
Regarding Claim 14, ABE as modified by KOMURA the method according to claim 1.
ABE further teaches the method (method for laser processing, [0007]) according to claim 1, wherein
the laser beam (Fig. 5, 64, [0060]) irradiation process (Fig. 6, S204/S206/S208/S210, first-fourth scan, [0068]) further includes a fifth irradiation process performed after the first irradiation process and before the second irradiation process,
the fifth irradiation process (Fig. 6, S204/206/208/210, perform third scan; similarity with first-fourth irradiation processes) includes forming a plurality of fifth modified portions (Figs. 8A-8D, L1-L4, first/second/third/fourth modified regions; similarity with first/second/third/fourth modified portions, [0040]) along the first direction (Figs. 8A/8C, Z- direction) by irradiating (Fig. 6, S204/S206/S208/S210, first-fourth scan, [0068]) the laser beam (Fig. 5, 64, [0060]) along the first direction (Figs. 8A/8C, Z- direction), and
the second modified portions (Figs. 8A/8C, L1, first modified region, [0040]) are formed in the second irradiation process (Fig 6. S204, perform first scan) so that the length (Figs. 8A/8C, H1) in the thickness direction (Figs. 8A/8C, Z- direction) of the second modified portions (Figs. 8A/8C, L1, first modified region, [0040]) is greater than a length (Figs. 8A-8D, H1/H2/H3/H4) in the thickness direction (Figs. 8A/8C, Z- direction) of the fifth modified portions (Figs. 8A-8D, L1-L4, first/second/third/fourth modified regions; similarity with first/second/third/fourth modified portions, [0040]).
KOMURA further teaches a method for manufacturing a light-emitting element (Figs. 16A-16C, dicing method for a semiconductor substrate, [0006]), the method comprising:
the plurality (Figs. 30B, K, plurality of reforming layers, [0029], [0245], [0282]) of fifth modified portions (Figs. 31, (K4-K8; for example K4) being formed at a distance (annotated Figure 31, D5) from the second surface (Fig. 31, 21b, rear face) in the thickness direction (annotated Figure 31) that is less than (annotated Figure 31, D5 < D1) the first distance (annotated Figure 31, D1) from the second surface (Fig. 31, 21b, rear face) in the thickness direction (annotated Figure 31) and greater than (annotated Figure 31, D5 > D2) the second distance (annotated Figure 31, D2), from the second surface (Fig. 31, 21b, rear face) in the thickness direction (annotated Figure 31), the plurality (Figs. 30B, K, plurality of reforming layers, [0029], [0245], [0282]) of fifth modified portions (Figs. 31, (K4-K8; for example K4) being arranged in the thickness direction (annotated Figure 31) with the plurality (Figs. 30B, K, plurality of reforming layers, [0029], [0245], [0282]) of first modified portions (Figs. 31, (K4-K8; for example K6).
Regarding Claim 15, ABE as modified by KOMURA teaches the method according to claim 1.
ABE further teaches the method (method for laser processing, [0007]) wherein
the length (Fig. 8C, H1) in the thickness direction (Figs. 8A/8C, Z- direction) of the second modified portions (Figs. 8A/8C, L1, first modified region, [0040]) is not less than 1.3 times and not more than 3 times (Figs. 8A/8C, by looking at the modified portions size as appeared in Figures 8A/8C, not to scale, but in general, the range between one unit and three units for comparison between L1 and L3) the length (Fig. 8C, H1) in the thickness direction (Figs. 8A/8C, Z- direction) of the first modified portions (Fig. 8C, L3, third modified region, [0040]).
Regarding Claim 16, ABE as modified by KOMURA teaches the method according to claim 1.
ABE further teaches the method (method for laser processing, [0007]) wherein the length (Figs. 8A/8C, H1) in the first direction (Figs. 8A/8C, Z- direction) of the second modified portions (Figs. 8A/8C, L1, first modified region, [0040]) is greater than (Figs. 8A/8C, H1 > H3) the length (Fig 8C, H3) in the first direction (Figs. 8A/8C, Z- direction) of the first modified portions (Fig. 8C, L3, third modified region, [0040]).
Regarding Claim 17, ABE teaches a method for manufacturing (method for laser processing, [0007]) a light-emitting element (Fig. 1, 21, [0033]), the method comprising:
preparing a wafer (Fig. 2, S100, element-group formation step, 20, wafer-like substrate, 11, [0046]), the wafer (Fig. 3B, 11, wafer-like substrate, [0046]) including
a sapphire substrate (Fig. 8A, 11, substrate, a sapphire single crystal, [0034]) including a first surface (Figs. 3B/8A, 11a, substrate front surface) on a first surface side (Figs. 3B/8A, 11a, substrate front surface) and a second surface (Figs. 3B/8A, 11b, back surface) on a second surface side (Figs. 3B/8A, 11b, back surface) opposite (annotated Figure 3B) to the first surface side (Figs. 3B/8A, 11a, substrate front surface), and
a semiconductor layer (Fig. 8A, 12) located at the first surface (Figs. 3B/8A, 11a, substrate front surface);
a laser beam (Fig. 5, 64, [0060]) irradiation process (Fig. 6, S204/S206/S208/S210, first-fourth scan, [0068]) of irradiating (Fig. 6, S204/S206/S208/S210, first-fourth scan, [0068]) a laser beam (Fig. 5, 64, [0060]) into the sapphire substrate (Fig. 8A, 11, substrate, a sapphire single crystal, [0034]) from the second surface side (Figs. 3B/8A, 11b, back surface); and
a separation process (Fig. 11, cutting step, S300/S308, carry substrate unit from stage, [0027], [0126]), of separating the wafer (Figs. 12A-12D, substrate unit, 30 is cut, [0133]), into a plurality of light-emitting elements (Figs. 12A-12D, plural element chips, [0133]) after the laser beam (Fig. 5, 64, [0060]) irradiation process (Fig. 6, S204/S206/S208/S210, first-fourth scan, [0068]), wherein
the laser beam (Fig. 5, 64, [0060]) irradiation process (Fig. 6, S204/S206/S208/S210, first-fourth scan, [0068]) includes:
a first irradiation process (Fig. 6, S208, perform third scan) of forming a plurality of first modified portions (Fig. 8C, L3, third modified region, [0040]) along the first direction (Figs. 8A/8C, Z- direction) by irradiating (Fig. 6, S208, perform third scan) the laser beam (Fig. 8A, 64, [0068]) along the first direction (Figs. 8A/8C, Z- direction); and
a second irradiation process (Fig 6. S204, perform first scan) of forming a plurality of second modified portions (Figs. 8A/8C, L1, first modified region, [0040]) along a first direction (Figs. 8A/8C, Z- direction) parallel to the second surface (Fig. 8A, 11b, surface) by irradiating (Fig 6. S204, perform first scan) the laser beam (Fig. 8A, 64, [0068]) along the first direction (Figs. 8A/8C, Z- direction), and
the second modified portions (Figs. 8A/8C, L1, first modified region, [0040]) are formed in the second irradiation process (Fig 6. S204, perform first scan) so that a length (Figs. 8A/8C, H1) in the thickness direction (Figs. 8A/8C, Z- direction) of the second modified portions (Figs. 8A/8C, L1, first modified region, [0040]) is greater than (Figs. 8A/8C, H1 > H3) a length (Fig 8C, H3) in the thickness direction (Figs. 8A/8C, Z- direction) of the first modified portions (Fig. 8C, L3, third modified region, [0040]).
ABE does not exclusively disclose a method for manufacturing a light-emitting element, the method comprising: the first modified portions are in the first irradiation process as lesser-length modified portions having a first length in a thickness direction of the sapphire substrate; and the second modified portions are formed in the second irradiation process as greater-length modified portions having a second length in the thickness direction that is greater than the first length in the thickness direction of the lesser-length modified portions, the lesser-length modified portions being formed at positions that are a first distance from the second surface in the thickness direction, and the greater-length modified portions being formed at positions that are a second distance from the second surface in the thickness direction where the second distance of the greater-length modified portions is less than the first distance of the lesser-length modified portions.
KOMURA teaches a method for manufacturing a light-emitting element (Figs. 16A-16C, dicing method for a semiconductor substrate, [0006]), the method comprising:
the first modified portions (Figs. 31, (K4-K8; for example K4) are in the first irradiation process ([0267]) as lesser-length modified portions (Figs. 31, (K4-K8; for example K4) having a first length (annotated Figure 31, L1) in a thickness direction (annotated Figure 31) of the sapphire substrate (Fig. 31, 21, semiconductor wafer); and
the second modified portions (Figs. 31, (K1-K3; for example K1) are formed in the second irradiation process ([0267]) as greater-length modified portions (Figs. 31, (K1-K3; for example K1) having a second length (annotated Figure 31, L2) in the thickness direction (annotated Figure 31) that is greater (annotated Figure 31, L2 > L1) than the first length (annotated Figure 31, L1) in the thickness direction (annotated Figure 31) of the lesser-length modified portions (Figs. 31, (K4-K8; for example K4),
the lesser-length modified portions (Figs. 31, (K4-K8; for example K4) being formed at positions that are a first distance (annotated Figure 31, D1) from the second surface (Fig. 31, 21b, rear face) in the thickness direction (annotated Figure 31), and
the greater-length modified portions (Figs. 31, (K1-K3; for example K1) being formed at positions that are a second distance (annotated Figure 31, D2) from the second surface (Fig. 31, 21b, rear face) in a thickness direction (annotated Figure 31) where the second distance (annotated Figure 31, D2) of the greater-length modified portions (Figs. 31, (K1-K3; for example K1) is less than (annotated Figure 31, D2 < D1) the first distance (annotated Figure 31, D1) of the lesser-length modified portions (Figs. 31, (K4-K8; for example K4).
Therefore, it would have been a prima facie obvious of one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have modified ABE to incorporate the teachings of KOMURA such that a method for manufacturing a light-emitting element, the method comprising: the plurality of first modified portions being formed at positions that are a first distance from the second surface in the thickness direction; and the plurality of second modified portions being formed at positions that are a second distance from the second surface in a thickness direction, the second distance from the second surface in the thickness direction being less than the first distance, from the second surface in the thickness direction, the plurality of second modified portions being arranged in the thickness direction with the plurality of first modified portions. The aforementioned arrangement enables to prevent the overlapping portion of the adjacent reforming areas, K is strongly connected by re-crystallization, re-melting etc., and no semiconductor substrate, 21 is easily divided (KOMURA, [0248]).
Regarding Claim 20, ABE as modified by KOMURA the method according to claim 17.
ABE further teaches the method (method for laser processing, [0007]), wherein
the plurality of first modified portions (Fig. 8C, L3, third modified region, [0040]) is formed in the first irradiation process (Fig. 6, S208, perform third scan) by irradiating (Fig. 6, S204/S206/S208/S210, first-fourth scan, [0068]) the laser beam (Fig. 5, 64, [0060]) at a first pulse energy (P3, third output, [0094]),
the plurality of second modified portions (Figs. 8A/8C, L1, first modified region, [0040]) is formed in the second irradiation process (Fig 6. S204, perform first scan) by irradiating (Fig. 6, S204/S206/S208/S210, first-fourth scan, [0068]) the laser beam (Fig. 5, 64, [0060]) at a second pulse energy (P1, first output, [0085]), and
the second pulse energy (P1, first output, [0085]) is greater than (Figs. 14A/14B, P1>P3) ) the first pulse energy (P3, third output, [0094]).
Claim(s) 2-3, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ABE and KOMURA as applied to claim(s) 1, 4-16, and further in view of Takeshi Sakamoto et al, (hereinafter SAKAMOTO), US 20210053158 A1 (prior art used in the previous Office Action filed on 12/04/2025).
Regarding Claim 2, ABE as modified by KOMURA teaches the method according to claim 1.
ABE further teaches the method (method for laser processing, [0007]), wherein
the second modified portions (Figs. 8A/8C, L1, first modified region, [0040]) are formed so that a length (Figs. 8A/8C, H1) in the thickness direction (Figs. 8A/8C, Z- direction) of a concentration region (Figs. 8A/8C, L1, first modified region, [0040]) of the laser beam (Fig. 8A, 64, [0068]) in the second irradiation process (Fig. 6, S204, perform first scan).
ABE as modified by KOMURA does not explicitly disclose the method, wherein the second modified portions are formed so that a length in the thickness direction of a concentration region of the laser beam in the second irradiation process is greater than a length in the thickness direction of a concentration region of the laser beam without aberration correction.
SAKAMOTO teaches the method (Fig. 7, object cutting method, [0023]), wherein the second modified portions (Fig. 11, standard processing surface: HC means a state where one row of modified regions on one surface side, [0073]) are formed so that a length in the thickness direction of a concentration region of the laser beam in the second irradiation process is greater than a length in the thickness direction of a concentration region of the laser beam without aberration correction (Fig. 11, a fracture reaches the one surface from the one row of modified regions, in a case where laser light is converged by natural spherical aberration, and a state where fractures respectively, extending from the modified region in the thickness direction [0073]).
Therefore, it would have been a prima facie obvious of one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have modified ABE as modified by KOMURA to incorporate the teachings of SAKAMOTO such that the method, wherein the second modified portions are formed so that a length in the thickness direction of a concentration region of the laser beam in the second irradiation process is greater than a length in the thickness direction of a concentration region of the laser beam without aberration correction, so that the aberration which occurs naturally (without aberration correction) at a converging position in accordance with Snell’s law or the like due to converging of the laser light on the object (SAKAMOTO, [0073]).
Regarding Claim 3, ABE as modified by KOMURA teaches the method according to claim 1.
ABE further teaches the method (method for laser processing, [0007]), wherein
the first modified portions (Fig. 8C, L3, third modified region, [0040]) are formed so that a length (Fig. 8C, H3) in the thickness direction (Figs. 8A/8C, Z- direction) of a concentration region (Fig. 8C, L3, third modified region, [0040]) of the laser beam (Fig. 8A, 64, [0068]) in the first irradiation process (Fig 6. S208, perform third scan).
ABE as modified by KOMURA does not explicitly disclose the method, wherein the first modified portions are formed so that a length in the thickness direction of a concentration region of the laser beam in the first irradiation process is less than a length in the thickness direction of a concentration region of the laser beam without aberration correction.
SAKAMOTO teaches the method (Fig. 7, object cutting method, [0023]) according to claim 1, wherein the first modified portions (Fig. 11, Tact-up processing surface: HC means a state where one row of modified regions, [0073]) are formed so that a length in the thickness direction of a concentration region of the laser beam in the first irradiation process is less than a length in the thickness direction of a concentration region of the laser beam without aberration correction (Fig. 11, a fracture reaches the one surface from the one row of modified regions, in a case where laser light is converged such that the length of a converging point in an optical axis direction becomes shorter than natural spherical aberration, [0073]).
Therefore, it would have been a prima facie obvious of one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have ABE as modified by KOMURA to incorporate the teachings of SAKAMOTO such that the method, wherein the first modified portions are formed so that a length in the thickness direction of a concentration region of the laser beam in the first irradiation process is less than a length in the thickness direction of a concentration region of the laser beam without aberration correction, so that the aberration which occurs naturally (without aberration correction) at a converging position in accordance with Snell’s law or the like due to converging of the laser light on the object (SAKAMOTO, [0073]).
Regarding Claim 18, ABE as modified by KOMURA teaches the method according to claim 17.
ABE further teaches the method (method for laser processing, [0007]), wherein
the second modified portions (Figs. 8A/8C, L1, first modified region, [0040]) are formed so that a length (Figs. 8A/8C, H1) in the thickness direction (Figs. 8A/8C, Z- direction) of a concentration region (Figs. 8A/8C, L1, first modified region, [0040]) of the laser beam (Fig. 8A, 64, [0068]) in the second irradiation process (Fig. 6, S204, perform first scan).
ABE as modified by KOMURA does not explicitly disclose the method, wherein the second modified portions are formed so that a length in the thickness direction of a concentration region of the laser beam in the second irradiation process is greater than a length in the thickness direction of a concentration region of the laser beam without aberration correction.
SAKAMOTO teaches the method (Fig. 7, object cutting method, [0023]), wherein the second modified portions (Fig. 11, standard processing surface: HC means a state where one row of modified regions on one surface side, [0073]) are formed so that a length in the thickness direction of a concentration region of the laser beam in the second irradiation process is greater than a length in the thickness direction of a concentration region of the laser beam without aberration correction (Fig. 11, a fracture reaches the one surface from the one row of modified regions, in a case where laser light is converged by natural spherical aberration, and a state where fractures respectively, extending from the modified region in the thickness direction [0073]).
Therefore, it would have been a prima facie obvious of one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have modified ABE as modified by KOMURA to incorporate the teachings of SAKAMOTO such that the method, wherein the second modified portions are formed so that a length in the thickness direction of a concentration region of the laser beam in the second irradiation process is greater than a length in the thickness direction of a concentration region of the laser beam without aberration correction, so that the aberration which occurs naturally (without aberration correction) at a converging position in accordance with Snell’s law or the like due to converging of the laser light on the object (SAKAMOTO, [0073]).
Regarding Claim 19, ABE as modified by KOMURA teaches the method according to claim 17.
ABE further teaches the method (method for laser processing, [0007]), wherein
the first modified portions (Fig. 8C, L3, third modified region, [0040]) are formed so that a length (Fig. 8C, H3) in the thickness direction (Figs. 8A/8C, Z- direction) of a concentration region (Fig. 8C, L3, third modified region, [0040]) of the laser beam (Fig. 8A, 64, [0068]) in the first irradiation process (Fig 6. S208, perform third scan).
ABE as modified by KOMURA does not explicitly disclose the method, wherein the first modified portions are formed so that a length in the thickness direction of a concentration region of the laser beam in the first irradiation process is less than a length in the thickness direction of a concentration region of the laser beam without aberration correction.
SAKAMOTO teaches the method (Fig. 7, object cutting method, [0023]) according to claim 1, wherein the first modified portions (Fig. 11, Tact-up processing surface: HC means a state where one row of modified regions, [0073]) are formed so that a length in the thickness direction of a concentration region of the laser beam in the first irradiation process is less than a length in the thickness direction of a concentration region of the laser beam without aberration correction (Fig. 11, a fracture reaches the one surface from the one row of modified regions, in a case where laser light is converged such that the length of a converging point in an optical axis direction becomes shorter than natural spherical aberration, [0073]).
Therefore, it would have been a prima facie obvious of one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have ABE as modified by KOMURA to incorporate the teachings of SAKAMOTO such that the method, wherein the first modified portions are formed so that a length in the thickness direction of a concentration region of the laser beam in the first irradiation process is less than a length in the thickness direction of a concentration region of the laser beam without aberration correction, so that the aberration which occurs naturally (without aberration correction) at a converging position in accordance with Snell’s law or the like due to converging of the laser light on the object (SAKAMOTO, [0073]).
Conclusion
/SESHA SAIRAMAN SRINIVASAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/MARLON T FLETCHER/ Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817