DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-12, 14-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Examiner’s Note: The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply. "The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain." In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33,216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275,277 (CCPA 1968)). A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including nonpreferred embodiments (see MPEP 2123). Therefore, Applicant, in preparing the response, must fully consider the entire disclosure of the cited references as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, including the context of the cited passages as taught by the prior art disclosed by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 and 14-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abbas et al (20240340766) in view of Ly et al (20240365407).
Regarding claim 1, Abbas et al discloses, an apparatus (relay, fig. 2-9), comprising:
at least one processor (118, fig. 1B); and at least one memory (130, fig. 1B) including computer program code, wherein the at least one memory and computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor (¶ 0041), cause the apparatus to:
broadcast a message announcing a gateway service available to a group of apparatuses sharing a group identifier (¶ 0093-0094, one or more e.g., both discovery modes may be used to perform group discovery, for example, to discover WTRUs that may belong to a specific group. One or more e.g., both discovery modes may be used to perform WTRU-to-Network relay discovery, for example, to discover a WTRU-to-Network relay that may provide connection with a e.g., 5G network and discovery message e.g., an announcement and/or a solicitation request/response, for example, for group discovery, may include a group ID. A discovery message e.g., an announcement and/or a solicitation request/response, for example, for WTRU-to-network relay discovery, may use a relay service code e.g., instead of a ProSe code, for example, to indicate WTRU-to-network relay service), the gateway service comprising at least one of the following:
a transfer of data to a radio access network of a mobile communication system via the apparatus, or a transfer of data from the radio access network of the mobile communication system via the apparatus (¶ 0105, 0114-0116, 0119-0120, 0126-0132, a relay WTRU may be provisioned/configured with U2N relay capabilities and/or with a service enabled e.g., MINT support enabled used as an example. For example, the relay WTRU may receive an indication from the network to act as relay e.g., ProSe U2N relay and broadcast a network condition indication and the relay WTRU may send a message e.g., a U2N relay discovery announcement message that indicates availability of the relay WTRU to serve as a relay for access to an available network, for example PLMN-A as described herein. The discovery announcement message may include one or more of the following: an ID associated with the relay WTRU e.g., a ProSe relay WTRU ID; a relay service code for a service e.g., a service code for MINT; announcer information; or a PLMN-A ID.).
Abbas et al does not specifically disclose, in response to receiving the gateway service request, transmit, to the device included in the group of apparatus sharing the group identifier, a registration request message, the registration request message including a gateway ability indication and a list of identifiers for devices requesting gateway service.
In the same field of endeavor, Ly et al discloses, receive, from a device included in the group of apparatus sharing the group identifier, a gateway service request; and in response to receiving the gateway service request, transmit, to the device included in the group of apparatus sharing the group identifier, a registration request message, the registration request message including a gateway ability indication and a list of identifiers for devices requesting gateway service (¶ 0063-0065, 0074, the registration request may include an indication that the UE is requesting authorization to create and manage the one or more personal networks e.g., an authorize PN indicator. Additionally, the request may comprise a value indicating a number of user identities the user and/or UE requires for provisioning one or more devices of the personal network and the SMF may respond with a PDU session establishment accept response and may include an identifier to associate with the personal network). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Abbas et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to the method enables the core network to be enhanced to support the management of personal networks, including the storage of management data of the personal networks as taught by Ly et al.
Regarding claims 2, 10, 12, Abbas et al discloses in claim 1 further, transmit a registration request message toward an access management function of the mobile communication system, based on one or more gateway service requests from one or more gateway service requesting devices, wherein the registration request message comprises a request to register the apparatus as a gateway service provider between the radio access network and the one or more gateway service requesting devices (¶ 0118, 0122).
Regarding claim 3, Abbas et al discloses in claim 1 further, wherein the registration request message indicates one or more identifiers by which the access management function is configured to at least one of the following: check authorization of the one or more gateway service requesting devices to receive the gateway service, or check authorization of the apparatus to provide the gateway service (¶ 0118, 0122, also see claim 1).
Regarding claims 4, 15, Abbas et al discloses in claim 1 further, wherein the registration request message carries information by which the access management function is configured to check that one or more conditions for the gateway service are met (¶ 0118, 0122).
Regarding claims 5, 14, Abbas et al discloses in claim 1 further, receive a registration accept message from the access management function; and provide the gateway service to one or more of the gateway service requesting devices; wherein the registration accept message indicates at least one of the following:
which of the one or more gateway service requesting devices for which the apparatus is authorized to provide the gateway service, a length of time for which the apparatus is authorized to provide the gateway service, or one or more applications for which the apparatus is authorized to provide the gateway service (¶ 0118, 0122 and 0129).
Regarding claim 6, Abbas et al discloses in claim 1 further, broadcast a gateway service end message indicating an end to the apparatus providing the gateway service (¶ 0137, 0144, 0154).
Regarding claim 7, Abbas et al discloses in claim 1 further, send a further registration request message toward the access management function indicating that the apparatus is no longer providing the gateway service (¶ 0144, 0154).
Regarding claim 8, 16, Abbas et al discloses in claim 1 further, transmit, to another device, a request for the another device to provide the apparatus with gateway service for at least one of the following: a transfer of data to the radio access network of the mobile communication system via the another device, or a transfer of data to from the radio access network of the mobile communication system via the another device (¶ 0008, 0093-0094, 0153-0155).
Regarding claim 9, Abbas et al discloses in claim 1 further, an apparatus, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code, wherein the at least one memory and computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to: detect, from a broadcast by a user equipment device, available to a group of apparatuses sharing a group identifier, the gateway service comprising at least one of the following: a transfer of data to a radio access network of the mobile communication system via the user equipment device, or a transfer of data from the radio access network of the mobile communication system via the user equipment device (¶ 0114-0116, 0119-0120, 0126-0132, a relay WTRU may be provisioned/configured with U2N relay capabilities and/or with a service enabled e.g., MINT support enabled used as an example. For example, the relay WTRU may receive an indication from the network to act as relay e.g., ProSe U2N relay and broadcast a network condition indication and the relay WTRU may send a message e.g., a U2N relay discovery announcement message that indicates availability of the relay WTRU to serve as a relay for access to an available network, for example PLMN-A as described herein. The discovery announcement message may include one or more of the following: an ID associated with the relay WTRU e.g., a ProSe relay WTRU ID; a relay service code for a service e.g., a service code for MINT; announcer information; or a PLMN-A ID. broadcast a message announcing a gateway service available to a group of apparatuses sharing a group identifier. ¶ 0093-0094, one or more e.g., both discovery modes may be used to perform group discovery, for example, to discover WTRUs that may belong to a specific group. One or more e.g., both discovery modes may be used to perform WTRU-to-Network relay discovery, for example, to discover a WTRU-to-Network relay that may provide connection with a e.g., 5G network and discovery message e.g., an announcement and/or a solicitation request/response, for example, for group discovery, may include a group ID. A discovery message e.g., an announcement and/or a solicitation request/response, for example, for WTRU-to-network relay discovery, may use a relay service code e.g., instead of a ProSe code, for example, to indicate WTRU-to-network relay service).
Abbas et al does not specifically disclose, transmit, to the user equipment device, a request to receive the gateway service, the request including an identifier of the apparatus.
In the same field of endeavor, Ly et al discloses, transmit, to the user equipment device, a request to receive the gateway service, the request including an identifier of the apparatus (¶ 0063-0065, 0074, the registration request may include an indication that the UE is requesting authorization to create and manage the one or more personal networks e.g., an authorize PN indicator. Additionally, the request may comprise a value indicating a number of user identities the user and/or UE requires for provisioning one or more devices of the personal network and the SMF may respond with a PDU session establishment accept response and may include an identifier to associate with the personal network). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Abbas et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to the method enables the core network to be enhanced to support the management of personal networks, including the storage of management data of the personal networks as taught by Ly et al.
Regarding claim 11, Abbas et al discloses in claim 1 further, an apparatus, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code, wherein the at least one memory and computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to: receive a registration request message from a user equipment device, wherein the registration request message comprises a request to register the user equipment device as a gateway service provider of a gateway service available to a group of devices sharing a group identifier, the gateway service comprising a transfer of data between a radio access network and one or more gateway service requesting devices (¶ 0114-0116, 0119-0120, 0126-0132, a relay WTRU may be provisioned/configured with U2N relay capabilities and/or with a service enabled e.g., MINT support enabled used as an example. For example, the relay WTRU may receive an indication from the network to act as relay e.g., ProSe U2N relay and broadcast a network condition indication and the relay WTRU may send a message e.g., a U2N relay discovery announcement message that indicates availability of the relay WTRU to serve as a relay for access to an available network, for example PLMN-A as described herein. The discovery announcement message may include one or more of the following: an ID associated with the relay WTRU e.g., a ProSe relay WTRU ID; a relay service code for a service e.g., a service code for MINT; announcer information; or a PLMN-A ID. ¶ 0093-0094, one or more e.g., both discovery modes may be used to perform group discovery, for example, to discover WTRUs that may belong to a specific group. One or more e.g., both discovery modes may be used to perform WTRU-to-Network relay discovery, for example, to discover a WTRU-to-Network relay that may provide connection with a e.g., 5G network and discovery message e.g., an announcement and/or a solicitation request/response, for example, for group discovery, may include a group ID. A discovery message e.g., an announcement and/or a solicitation request/response, for example, for WTRU-to-network relay discovery, may use a relay service code e.g., instead of a ProSe code, for example, to indicate WTRU-to-network relay service).
Abbas et al does not specifically disclose, receive, from a data management entity, group subscription profile information for the group of devices identified by the group identifier; and determine whether to accept or reject the registration request based on the group subscription profile information.
In the same field of endeavor, Ly et al discloses, receive, from a data management entity, group subscription profile information for the group of devices identified by the group identifier; and determine whether to accept or reject the registration request based on the group subscription profile information (¶ 0063-0065, 0074, the registration request may include an indication that the UE is requesting authorization to create and manage the one or more personal networks e.g., an authorize PN indicator. Additionally, the request may comprise a value indicating a number of user identities the user and/or UE requires for provisioning one or more devices of the personal network and the SMF may respond with a PDU session establishment accept response and may include an identifier to associate with the personal network). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Abbas et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to the method enables the core network to be enhanced to support the management of personal networks, including the storage of management data of the personal networks as taught by Ly et al.
Regarding claim 17, Abbas et al discloses in claim 11 further, wherein the at least one memory and computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to: determine, from the registration request message, that a gateway service requesting device of the one or more gateway service requesting devices indicated in the registration request message previously provided a gateway service; and send a message for an access management function about the gateway service requesting device that previously provided the gateway service; wherein the message indicates a change in gateway for the gateway service (¶ 0137-0144).
Regarding claim 18, Abbas et al discloses in claim 1 further, an apparatus, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code, wherein the at least one memory and computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to: send a message toward an access management device of a mobile communication system based on a request from the access management device, the message comprising subscription information about a subscription to the mobile communication system; wherein the subscription information indicates one or more allowed parameters for a gateway service available to a group of devices sharing a group identifier, the gateway service comprising a transfer of data between a radio access network of the mobile communication system and one or more gateway service receiving devices via a user equipment device (¶ 0114-0116, 0119-0120, 0126-0132, a relay WTRU may be provisioned/configured with U2N relay capabilities and/or with a service enabled e.g., MINT support enabled used as an example. For example, the relay WTRU may receive an indication from the network to act as relay e.g., ProSe U2N relay and broadcast a network condition indication and the relay WTRU may send a message e.g., a U2N relay discovery announcement message that indicates availability of the relay WTRU to serve as a relay for access to an available network, for example PLMN-A as described herein. The discovery announcement message may include one or more of the following: an ID associated with the relay WTRU e.g., a ProSe relay WTRU ID; a relay service code for a service e.g., a service code for MINT; announcer information; or a PLMN-A ID. ¶ 0093-0094, one or more e.g., both discovery modes may be used to perform group discovery, for example, to discover WTRUs that may belong to a specific group. One or more e.g., both discovery modes may be used to perform WTRU-to-Network relay discovery, for example, to discover a WTRU-to-Network relay that may provide connection with a e.g., 5G network and discovery message e.g., an announcement and/or a solicitation request/response, for example, for group discovery, may include a group ID. A discovery message e.g., an announcement and/or a solicitation request/response, for example, for WTRU-to-network relay discovery, may use a relay service code e.g., instead of a ProSe code, for example, to indicate WTRU-to-network relay service).
Abbas et al does not specifically disclose, a list of one or more user equipment devices of the group that are allowed to provide the gateway service, and a maximum number of devices of the group allowed to provide the gateway service at a same time.
In the same field of endeavor, Ly et al discloses, a list of one or more user equipment devices of the group that are allowed to provide the gateway service (¶ 0063-0065, , the registration request may include an indication that the UE is requesting authorization to create and manage the one or more personal networks e.g., an authorize PN indicator. Additionally, the request may comprise a value indicating a number of user identities the user and/or UE requires for provisioning one or more devices of the personal network and the SMF may respond with a PDU session establishment accept response and may include an identifier to associate with the personal network), and a maximum number of devices of the group allowed to provide the gateway service at a same time (¶ 0095, 0104, 0148, the UE, after discovering the capabilities of the devices, makes a determination to provision a PN policy to Dev1, which has management capability. The PN policy includes a set of user identities and possibly a maximum number of personal networks Dev1 may create and the configuration information may include network type, WLAN SSID, BSSID, security mechanism, password, IP settings, DNS settings, MAC addresses, pairing codes, refresh interval, data usage limit, maximum number of members, etc.). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Abbas et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to the method enables the core network to be enhanced to support the management of personal networks, including the storage of management data of the personal networks as taught by Ly et al.
Regarding claim 19, Abbas et al discloses in claim 18 further, wherein the subscription information relates to a subscription shared by a group of devices including one or more user equipment devices configured to provide the gateway service (¶ 0079, 0093-0094, 0144).
Regarding claim 20, Abbas et al discloses in claim 18 further, a maximum number of devices of the group allowed to receive the gateway service from a user equipment device of the group, one or more user equipment devices of the group that are allowed to provide the gateway service, or a maximum number of devices of the group allowed to provide the gateway service at the same time (¶ 0006, 0079, 0093-0094, 0105, 0144).
Regarding claim 21, Abbas et al discloses in claim 18 further, Ly et al discloses, receive a registration accept message from the access management function, wherein the registration accept message indicates a sub-group (i.e., individual member) identifier dynamically assigned to a sub-group comprising the apparatus and the one or more gateway service requesting devices, a maximum duration for which the sub-group may be active, an indication of applications allowed for the sub-group, and a list of device identifiers allowed for the sub-group. (¶ 0063-0065, 0073, the registration request may include an indication that the UE is requesting authorization to create and manage the one or more personal networks e.g., an authorize PN indicator. Additionally, the request may comprise a value indicating a number of user identities the user and/or UE requires for provisioning one or more devices of the personal network and the SMF may respond with a PDU session establishment accept response and may include an identifier to associate with the personal network, and ¶ 0095, 0104, 0148, the UE, after discovering the capabilities of the devices, makes a determination to provision a PN policy to Dev1, which has management capability. The PN policy includes a set of user identities and possibly a maximum number of personal networks Dev1 may create and the configuration information may include network type, WLAN SSID, BSSID, security mechanism, password, IP settings, DNS settings, MAC addresses, pairing codes, refresh interval, data usage limit, maximum number of members, etc.). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Abbas et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to the method enables the core network to be enhanced to support the management of personal networks, including the storage of management data of the personal networks as taught by Ly et al.
Claim(s) 1-12 and 14-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi et al (20230023639) in view of Ly et al (20240365407).
Regarding claim 1, Shi et al discloses, an apparatus (relay, fig. 2-9), comprising:
at least one processor (118, fig. 1B); and at least one memory (130, fig. 1B) including computer program code, wherein the at least one memory and computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor (¶ 0041, 0045), cause the apparatus to:
broadcast a message announcing a gateway service available to a group of apparatuses sharing a group identifier (¶ 0008, a remote WTRU may perform discovery and selection of a WTRU-to-network relay based on relay broadcast of service type associated with control access group (CAG) IDs, for example during provisioning e.g., implicit CAG based selection or based on relay broadcast of CAG information including one or more of the following: current CAG cell supported CAG IDs, relay allowed CAG IDs, or CAG only indication. ¶ 0134-0140, Shi et al also discloses, WTRU-to-network relay discovery and selection may be performed e.g. CAG ID based. A remote WTRU may perform discovery and selection of a WTRU-to-network relay based on: a relay broadcasted service type associated with one or more CAG IDs e.g. allowed CAG IDs provided during provisioning; and/or, broadcasted CAG information from the relay and/or the CAG cell that the relay is connected to. A relay access WTRU may detect a broadcast message over PC5 from the relay. The broadcast message may include a WTRU-to-network relay capability indication, one or more service type(s) supported by the relay, the WTRU-to-network relay allowed CAG IDs, the supported CAG IDs e.g. from the cell the relay is currently connected to or camping on, the WTRU-to-network relay CAG only indication e.g. specifying whether the relay is allowed to access the network via CAG cells, and/or a CAG/non-CAG cell indication for the cell the relay is currently connected to e.g. indicating whether it is a CAG or non-CAG cell.), the gateway service comprising at least one of the following:
a transfer of data to a radio access network of a mobile communication system via the apparatus, or a transfer of data from the radio access network of the mobile communication system via the apparatus (fig. 8-9, ¶ 0150-0153, 0174, the WTRU-to-network relay may broadcast a relay service type e.g., that is identified from the one or more authorized relay service types received at 902. The WTRU-to-network relay may identify the relay service type for broadcasting, e.g., based on the communication parameters associated with the one or more authorized relay service types and a granted network resource associated with the WTRU-to-network relay. For example, the relay service type may be identified for broadcasting on a condition that at least one communication parameter associated with the relay service type is supported by the granted network resource. For example, the granted network associated with the WTRU-to-network relay may be or may include an allowed network slice selection assistance information (NSSAI). The allowed NSSAI may be received from the core network e.g., the AMF of the core network, e.g., in a registration accept message. The relay service type may be identified for broadcasting on a condition that the allowed NSSAI received from the core network includes an S-NSSAI associated with the relay service type.).
Shi et al does not specifically disclose, in response to receiving the gateway service request, transmit, to the device included in the group of apparatus sharing the group identifier, a registration request message, the registration request message including a gateway ability indication and a list of identifiers for devices requesting gateway service.
In the same field of endeavor, Ly et al discloses, receive, from a device included in the group of apparatus sharing the group identifier, a gateway service request; and in response to receiving the gateway service request, transmit, to the device included in the group of apparatus sharing the group identifier, a registration request message, the registration request message including a gateway ability indication and a list of identifiers for devices requesting gateway service (¶ 0063-0065, 0074, the registration request may include an indication that the UE is requesting authorization to create and manage the one or more personal networks e.g., an authorize PN indicator. Additionally, the request may comprise a value indicating a number of user identities the user and/or UE requires for provisioning one or more devices of the personal network and the SMF may respond with a PDU session establishment accept response and may include an identifier to associate with the personal network). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Shi et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to the method enables the core network to be enhanced to support the management of personal networks, including the storage of management data of the personal networks as taught by Ly et al.
Regarding claims 2, 10, 12, Shi et al discloses in claim 1 further, transmit a registration request message toward an access management function of the mobile communication system, based on one or more gateway service requests from one or more gateway service requesting devices, wherein the registration request message comprises a request to register the apparatus as a gateway service provider between the radio access network and the one or more gateway service requesting devices (fig. 8-9, ¶ 0150-0153, 0174, 0174, the WTRU-to-network relay may broadcast a relay service type (e.g., that is identified from the one or more authorized relay service types received at 902). The WTRU-to-network relay may identify the relay service type for broadcasting, e.g., based on the communication parameters associated with the one or more authorized relay service types and a granted network resource associated with the WTRU-to-network relay. For example, the relay service type may be identified for broadcasting on a condition that at least one communication parameter associated with the relay service type is supported by the granted network resource. For example, the granted network associated with the WTRU-to-network relay may be or may include an allowed network slice selection assistance information (NSSAI). The allowed NSSAI may be received from the core network (e.g., the AMF of the core network), e.g., in a registration accept message. The relay service type may be identified for broadcasting on a condition that the allowed NSSAI received from the core network includes an S-NSSAI associated with the relay service type.).
Regarding claims 3, Shi et al discloses in claim 1 further, wherein the registration request message indicates one or more identifiers by which the access management function is configured to at least one of the following: check authorization of the one or more gateway service requesting devices to receive the gateway service, or check authorization of the apparatus to provide the gateway service (fig. 8-9, ¶ 0150-0153, 0174, 0174, the WTRU-to-network relay may broadcast a relay service type (e.g., that is identified from the one or more authorized relay service types received at 902). The WTRU-to-network relay may identify the relay service type for broadcasting, e.g., based on the communication parameters associated with the one or more authorized relay service types and a granted network resource associated with the WTRU-to-network relay. For example, the relay service type may be identified for broadcasting on a condition that at least one communication parameter associated with the relay service type is supported by the granted network resource. For example, the granted network associated with the WTRU-to-network relay may be or may include an allowed network slice selection assistance information (NSSAI). The allowed NSSAI may be received from the core network (e.g., the AMF of the core network), e.g., in a registration accept message. The relay service type may be identified for broadcasting on a condition that the allowed NSSAI received from the core network includes an S-NSSAI associated with the relay service type.).
Regarding claims 4, 15, Shi et al discloses in claim 1 further, wherein the registration request message carries information by which the access management function is configured to check that one or more conditions for the gateway service are met (fig. 8-9, ¶ 0150-0153, 0174, 0174, the WTRU-to-network relay may broadcast a relay service type (e.g., that is identified from the one or more authorized relay service types received at 902). The WTRU-to-network relay may identify the relay service type for broadcasting, e.g., based on the communication parameters associated with the one or more authorized relay service types and a granted network resource associated with the WTRU-to-network relay. For example, the relay service type may be identified for broadcasting on a condition that at least one communication parameter associated with the relay service type is supported by the granted network resource. For example, the granted network associated with the WTRU-to-network relay may be or may include an allowed network slice selection assistance information (NSSAI). The allowed NSSAI may be received from the core network (e.g., the AMF of the core network), e.g., in a registration accept message. The relay service type may be identified for broadcasting on a condition that the allowed NSSAI received from the core network includes an S-NSSAI associated with the relay service type.).
Regarding claims 5, 14, Shi et al discloses in claim 1 further, receive a registration accept message from the access management function; and provide the gateway service to one or more of the gateway service requesting devices; wherein the registration accept message indicates at least one of the following: which of the one or more gateway service requesting devices for which the apparatus is authorized to provide the gateway service, a length of time for which the apparatus is authorized to provide the gateway service, or one or more applications for which the apparatus is authorized to provide the gateway service (fig. 8-9, ¶ 0150-0153, 0174, 0174, the WTRU-to-network relay may broadcast a relay service type (e.g., that is identified from the one or more authorized relay service types received at 902). The WTRU-to-network relay may identify the relay service type for broadcasting, e.g., based on the communication parameters associated with the one or more authorized relay service types and a granted network resource associated with the WTRU-to-network relay. For example, the relay service type may be identified for broadcasting on a condition that at least one communication parameter associated with the relay service type is supported by the granted network resource. For example, the granted network associated with the WTRU-to-network relay may be or may include an allowed network slice selection assistance information (NSSAI). The allowed NSSAI may be received from the core network (e.g., the AMF of the core network), e.g., in a registration accept message. The relay service type may be identified for broadcasting on a condition that the allowed NSSAI received from the core network includes an S-NSSAI associated with the relay service type.).
Regarding claim 6, Shi et al discloses in claim 1 further, broadcast a gateway service end message indicating an end to the apparatus providing the gateway service (fig. 8-9, ¶ 0150-0153, 0174, 0174, the WTRU-to-network relay may broadcast a relay service type (e.g., that is identified from the one or more authorized relay service types received at 902). The WTRU-to-network relay may identify the relay service type for broadcasting, e.g., based on the communication parameters associated with the one or more authorized relay service types and a granted network resource associated with the WTRU-to-network relay. For example, the relay service type may be identified for broadcasting on a condition that at least one communication parameter associated with the relay service type is supported by the granted network resource. For example, the granted network associated with the WTRU-to-network relay may be or may include an allowed network slice selection assistance information (NSSAI). The allowed NSSAI may be received from the core network (e.g., the AMF of the core network), e.g., in a registration accept message. The relay service type may be identified for broadcasting on a condition that the allowed NSSAI received from the core network includes an S-NSSAI associated with the relay service type.).
Regarding claim 7, Shi et al discloses in claim 1 further, send a further registration request message toward the access management function indicating that the apparatus is no longer providing the gateway service (¶ 0144-0145, 0168-0170).
Regarding claim 8, 16, Shi et al discloses in claim 1 further, transmit, to another device, a request for the another device to provide the apparatus with gateway service for at least one of the following: a transfer of data to the radio access network of the mobile communication system via the another device, or a transfer of data to from the radio access network of the mobile communication system via the another device (¶ 0008, a remote WTRU may perform discovery and selection of a WTRU-to-network relay based on relay broadcast of service type associated with control access group (CAG) IDs, for example during provisioning e.g., implicit CAG based selection or based on relay broadcast of CAG information including one or more of the following: current CAG cell supported CAG IDs, relay allowed CAG IDs, or CAG only indication. ¶ 0134-0140, Shi et al also discloses, WTRU-to-network relay discovery and selection may be performed e.g. CAG ID based. A remote WTRU may perform discovery and selection of a WTRU-to-network relay based on: a relay broadcasted service type associated with one or more CAG IDs e.g. allowed CAG IDs provided during provisioning; and/or, broadcasted CAG information from the relay and/or the CAG cell that the relay is connected to. A relay access WTRU may detect a broadcast message over PC5 from the relay. The broadcast message may include a WTRU-to-network relay capability indication, one or more service type(s) supported by the relay, the WTRU-to-network relay allowed CAG IDs, the supported CAG IDs e.g. from the cell the relay is currently connected to or camping on, the WTRU-to-network relay CAG only indication e.g. specifying whether the relay is allowed to access the network via CAG cells, and/or a CAG/non-CAG cell indication for the cell the relay is currently connected to e.g. indicating whether it is a CAG or non-CAG cell and ¶ 0144-0145, 0168-0170).
Regarding claim 9, Shi et al discloses in claim 1 further, an apparatus, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code, wherein the at least one memory and computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to: detect, from a broadcast by a user equipment device having user equipment functionality in a mobile communication system, an announcement of a gateway service by the user equipment device for at least one of the following: a transfer of data to a radio access network of the mobile communication system via the user equipment device, or a transfer of data from the radio access network of the mobile communication system via the user equipment device (fig. 8-9, ¶ 0150-0153, 0174, the WTRU-to-network relay may broadcast a relay service type (e.g., that is identified from the one or more authorized relay service types received at 902). The WTRU-to-network relay may identify the relay service type for broadcasting, e.g., based on the communication parameters associated with the one or more authorized relay service types and a granted network resource associated with the WTRU-to-network relay. For example, the relay service type may be identified for broadcasting on a condition that at least one communication parameter associated with the relay service type is supported by the granted network resource. For example, the granted network associated with the WTRU-to-network relay may be or may include an allowed network slice selection assistance information (NSSAI). The allowed NSSAI may be received from the core network (e.g., the AMF of the core network), e.g., in a registration accept message. The relay service type may be identified for broadcasting on a condition that the allowed NSSAI received from the core network includes an S-NSSAI associated with the relay service type.).
Shi et al does not specifically disclose, transmit, to the user equipment device, a request to receive the gateway service, the request including an identifier of the apparatus.
In the same field of endeavor, Ly et al discloses, transmit, to the user equipment device, a request to receive the gateway service, the request including an identifier of the apparatus (¶ 0063-0065, 0074, the registration request may include an indication that the UE is requesting authorization to create and manage the one or more personal networks e.g., an authorize PN indicator. Additionally, the request may comprise a value indicating a number of user identities the user and/or UE requires for provisioning one or more devices of the personal network and the SMF may respond with a PDU session establishment accept response and may include an identifier to associate with the personal network). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Shi et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to the method enables the core network to be enhanced to support the management of personal networks, including the storage of management data of the personal networks as taught by Ly et al.
Regarding claim 11, Shi et al discloses in claim 1 further, an apparatus, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code, wherein the at least one memory and computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to: receive a registration request message from a user equipment device, wherein the registration request message comprises a request to register the user equipment device as a gateway service provider of a gateway service comprising a transfer of data between a radio access network and one or more gateway service requesting devices ((¶ 0008, a remote WTRU may perform discovery and selection of a WTRU-to-network relay based on relay broadcast of service type associated with control access group (CAG) IDs, for example during provisioning e.g., implicit CAG based selection or based on relay broadcast of CAG information including one or more of the following: current CAG cell supported CAG IDs, relay allowed CAG IDs, or CAG only indication. ¶ 0134-0140, Shi et al also discloses, WTRU-to-network relay discovery and selection may be performed e.g. CAG ID based. A remote WTRU may perform discovery and selection of a WTRU-to-network relay based on: a relay broadcasted service type associated with one or more CAG IDs e.g. allowed CAG IDs provided during provisioning; and/or, broadcasted CAG information from the relay and/or the CAG cell that the relay is connected to. A relay access WTRU may detect a broadcast message over PC5 from the relay. The broadcast message may include a WTRU-to-network relay capability indication, one or more service type(s) supported by the relay, the WTRU-to-network relay allowed CAG IDs, the supported CAG IDs e.g. from the cell the relay is currently connected to or camping on, the WTRU-to-network relay CAG only indication e.g. specifying whether the relay is allowed to access the network via CAG cells, and/or a CAG/non-CAG cell indication for the cell the relay is currently connected to e.g. indicating whether it is a CAG or non-CAG cell. Fig. 8-9, ¶ 0150-0153, 0174, the WTRU-to-network relay may broadcast a relay service type (e.g., that is identified from the one or more authorized relay service types received at 902). The WTRU-to-network relay may identify the relay service type for broadcasting, e.g., based on the communication parameters associated with the one or more authorized relay service types and a granted network resource associated with the WTRU-to-network relay. For example, the relay service type may be identified for broadcasting on a condition that at least one communication parameter associated with the relay service type is supported by the granted network resource. For example, the granted network associated with the WTRU-to-network relay may be or may include an allowed network slice selection assistance information (NSSAI). The allowed NSSAI may be received from the core network (e.g., the AMF of the core network), e.g., in a registration accept message. The relay service type may be identified for broadcasting on a condition that the allowed NSSAI received from the core network includes an S-NSSAI associated with the relay service type.).
Shi et al does not specifically disclose, receive, from a data management entity, group subscription profile information for the group of devices identified by the group identifier; and determine whether to accept or reject the registration request based on the group subscription profile information.
In the same field of endeavor, Ly et al discloses, receive, from a data management entity, group subscription profile information for the group of devices identified by the group identifier; and determine whether to accept or reject the registration request based on the group subscription profile information (¶ 0063-0065, 0074, the registration request may include an indication that the UE is requesting authorization to create and manage the one or more personal networks e.g., an authorize PN indicator. Additionally, the request may comprise a value indicating a number of user identities the user and/or UE requires for provisioning one or more devices of the personal network and the SMF may respond with a PDU session establishment accept response and may include an identifier to associate with the personal network). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Shi et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to the method enables the core network to be enhanced to support the management of personal networks, including the storage of management data of the personal networks as taught by Ly et al.
Regarding claim 17, Shi et al discloses in claim 11 further, wherein the at least one memory and computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to: determine, from the registration request message, that a gateway service requesting device of the one or more gateway service requesting devices indicated in the registration request message previously provided a gateway service; and send a message for an access management function about the gateway service requesting device that previously provided the gateway service; wherein the message indicates a change in gateway for the gateway service (¶ 0144-0145, 0168-0170).
Regarding claim 18, Shi et al discloses in claim 1 further, an apparatus, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code, wherein the at least one memory and computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to: send a message toward an access management device of a mobile communication system based on a request from the access management device, the message comprising subscription information about a subscription to the mobile communication system; wherein the subscription information indicates one or more allowed parameters for a gateway service comprising a transfer of data between a radio access network of the mobile communication system and one or more gateway service receiving devices via a user equipment device (¶ 0008, a remote WTRU may perform discovery and selection of a WTRU-to-network relay based on relay broadcast of service type associated with control access group (CAG) IDs, for example during provisioning e.g., implicit CAG based selection or based on relay broadcast of CAG information including one or more of the following: current CAG cell supported CAG IDs, relay allowed CAG IDs, or CAG only indication. ¶ 0134-0140, Shi et al also discloses, WTRU-to-network relay discovery and selection may be performed e.g. CAG ID based. A remote WTRU may perform discovery and selection of a WTRU-to-network relay based on: a relay broadcasted service type associated with one or more CAG IDs e.g. allowed CAG IDs provided during provisioning; and/or, broadcasted CAG information from the relay and/or the CAG cell that the relay is connected to. A relay access WTRU may detect a broadcast message over PC5 from the relay. The broadcast message may include a WTRU-to-network relay capability indication, one or more service type(s) supported by the relay, the WTRU-to-network relay allowed CAG IDs, the supported CAG IDs e.g. from the cell the relay is currently connected to or camping on, the WTRU-to-network relay CAG only indication e.g. specifying whether the relay is allowed to access the network via CAG cells, and/or a CAG/non-CAG cell indication for the cell the relay is currently connected to e.g. indicating whether it is a CAG or non-CAG cell. Fig. 8-9, ¶ 0150-0153, 0174, the WTRU-to-network relay may broadcast a relay service type (e.g., that is identified from the one or more authorized relay service types received at 902). The WTRU-to-network relay may identify the relay service type for broadcasting, e.g., based on the communication parameters associated with the one or more authorized relay service types and a granted network resource associated with the WTRU-to-network relay. For example, the relay service type may be identified for broadcasting on a condition that at least one communication parameter associated with the relay service type is supported by the granted network resource. For example, the granted network associated with the WTRU-to-network relay may be or may include an allowed network slice selection assistance information (NSSAI). The allowed NSSAI may be received from the core network (e.g., the AMF of the core network), e.g., in a registration accept message. The relay service type may be identified for broadcasting on a condition that the allowed NSSAI received from the core network includes an S-NSSAI associated with the relay service type.).
Shi et al does not specifically disclose, a list of one or more user equipment devices of the group that are allowed to provide the gateway service, and a maximum number of devices of the group allowed to provide the gateway service at a same time.
In the same field of endeavor, Ly et al discloses, a list of one or more user equipment devices of the group that are allowed to provide the gateway service (¶ 0063-0065, , the registration request may include an indication that the UE is requesting authorization to create and manage the one or more personal networks e.g., an authorize PN indicator. Additionally, the request may comprise a value indicating a number of user identities the user and/or UE requires for provisioning one or more devices of the personal network and the SMF may respond with a PDU session establishment accept response and may include an identifier to associate with the personal network), and a maximum number of devices of the group allowed to provide the gateway service at a same time (¶ 0095, 0104, 0148, the UE, after discovering the capabilities of the devices, makes a determination to provision a PN policy to Dev1, which has management capability. The PN policy includes a set of user identities and possibly a maximum number of personal networks Dev1 may create and the configuration information may include network type, WLAN SSID, BSSID, security mechanism, password, IP settings, DNS settings, MAC addresses, pairing codes, refresh interval, data usage limit, maximum number of members, etc.). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Shi et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to the method enables the core network to be enhanced to support the management of personal networks, including the storage of management data of the personal networks as taught by Ly et al.
Regarding claim 19, Shi et al discloses in claim 18 further, wherein the subscription information relates to a subscription shared by a group of devices including one or more user equipment devices configured to provide the gateway service (¶ 0144-0145, 0168-0170).
Regarding claim 20, Shi et al discloses in claim 18 further, a maximum number of devices of the group allowed to receive the gateway service from a user equipment device of the group, one or more user equipment devices of the group that are allowed to provide the gateway service, or a maximum number of devices of the group allowed to provide the gateway service at the same time (¶ 0144-0145, 0168-0170).
Regarding claim 21, Shi et al discloses in claim 18 further, Ly et al discloses, receive a registration accept message from the access management function, wherein the registration accept message indicates a sub-group identifier dynamically assigned to a sub-group comprising the apparatus and the one or more gateway service requesting devices, a maximum duration for which the sub-group may be active, an indication of applications allowed for the sub-group, and a list of device identifiers allowed for the sub-group. (¶ 0063-0065, 0073, the registration request may include an indication that the UE is requesting authorization to create and manage the one or more personal networks e.g., an authorize PN indicator. Additionally, the request may comprise a value indicating a number of user identities the user and/or UE requires for provisioning one or more devices of the personal network and the SMF may respond with a PDU session establishment accept response and may include an identifier to associate with the personal network, and ¶ 0095, 0104, 0148, the UE, after discovering the capabilities of the devices, makes a determination to provision a PN policy to Dev1, which has management capability. The PN policy includes a set of user identities and possibly a maximum number of personal networks Dev1 may create and the configuration information may include network type, WLAN SSID, BSSID, security mechanism, password, IP settings, DNS settings, MAC addresses, pairing codes, refresh interval, data usage limit, maximum number of members, etc.).
Conclusion
/KHAWAR IQBAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643