Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Applicant’s amendment and arguments filed 12/23/2025 have been fully considered. Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 16 is/are amended; claim(s) 9 and 16-20 remain withdrawn. Claims 1-7 and 9-20 are pending, of which, claims 1-7 and 10-15 are rejected. Examiner affirms that the original disclosure provides adequate support for the amendment.
Upon considering said amendment and arguments, the previous rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 103 set forth in the Office action mailed 10/02/2025 has/have been withdrawn. New grounds of rejection are presented hereinbelow.
Claim Objections
Claim 7, ending in “relieved via the pressure relief mechanism,” is objected to because of a minor typographical error where the claim ends in a comma instead of a period.
Claim 10, reciting “two straight portions and two are-shaped portions”), is objected to because of a minor typographical error appearing intended to recite “arc-shaped portions” as described in at least paragraph [0085] (“two straight portions 1011 and two arc-shaped portions 1012”) of the instant specification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goggin et al. (US-20160146363-A1).
Regarding claims 1, 3-6, Goggin discloses a pressure relief mechanism (200, rupture disc) ([0081], FIGs. 2A-2C) provided on a housing plate of a battery cell (“battery cell top cover”, [0131]), an embodiment (see FIGs. 2A-2C, [0081]) comprising:
a connecting portion (210, “flange portion”), wherein the connecting portion (210) is located at an outer peripheral region of the pressure relief mechanism (200) ([0081], FIGs. 2A-2C).
The connecting portion is bonded with an inlet of a pressurized system (e.g., an inlet on a battery housing plate) as demonstrated in another embodiment with connecting portion (410) and inlet (440) ([0099]; FIGs. 4F-4H); thus, the connecting portion (210) is configured to (i.e., capable to) connect directly to the housing plate as claimed.
Goggin further discloses a first part (230, “angled frustum portion”), wherein one end of the first part (230) is connected directly to the connecting portion (210) ([0081]) and the other end protrudes obliquely towards a source of pressure (i.e., the battery cell interior) (0084], FIG. 2B);
a weak portion (235), wherein the weak portion is provided at the protruding end of the first part (230) ([0081], FIGs. 2B, 2C);
and a second part (220, “central truncated portion”), wherein an outer edge region of the second part (220) is connected to the weak portion (235) ([0081], FIGs. 2B, 2C).
The embodiment of FIGs. 2A-2C comprises the second part (220, “central truncated portion”) having an outer edge region which extends parallel in a direction along the interior of the battery cell ([0081], FIG. 2A) and thus fails to extend obliquely (i.e., neither parallel or perpendicular) in a direction leaving the interior of the battery cell.
However, Goggin considers forming the second part (“central portion”) of the pressure relief mechanism into various possible shapes to enhance performance ([0096], FIGS. 8A-11B), such as an inverted dome-shaped second part (920) which improves resistance to pressure applied to the concave surface (922) ([0110], FIGs. 9A, 9B) which would be generated in the interior of the battery cell.
As such, in seeking to improve the pressure resistance of Goggin’s pressure relief mechanism, it would be obvious before the effective filing date of the instant application for one having ordinary skill in the art to substitute Goggin’s second part (220) in the referenced embodiment (see FIGs. 2A-2C) with an inverted dome-shaped second part (920) within Goggin’s disclosure. Such a substitution would be made with a reasonable expectation of success because Goggin indicates the respective second parts (“central portions”) of different embodiments as substitutable equivalents for improving the pressure relief mechanism performance ([0096]) (MPEP 2144.06 II).
In providing modified Goggin’s second part with an inverse dome shape (920), a skilled artisan would further provide a second part (920) comprising an outer edge region (see annotations) extending obliquely in a direction leaving the interior of the battery cell (Annotated Goggin FIG. 9A, below), thus reading on limitations of claim 1, the second part (920) having a shape of protruding away (see dashed line) from the interior of the battery cell, reading on claim 3 (Annotated Goggin FIG. 9A), and in the second part comprising an outer edge region and a middle region (the uppermost point of the curve), the middle region is basically parallel to a portion of the housing plate on which the pressure relief mechanism is provided (see dotted line), reading on claim 4. A protruding height of the second part (920) in a direction leaving the interior of the battery cell (922) does not exceed a height of the connecting portion (see dotted line) (Annotated Goggin 9A), reading on claim 5.
Annotated Goggin FIG. 9A
Goggin further discloses that multiple lines of weakness (not shown in FIGs) may be suitably formed on the pressure relief mechanism in addition to the line of weakness (235) of FIGs. 2A-2C interpreted as the claimed weak portion (235) ([0083], FIGs. 2A-2C).
Preferably, if not provided between the first (230) and second part (220) as the weak portion (235) of FIGs. 2A-2C, Goggin’s lines of weakness are formed on the first part (“angled frustum portion”) because this area offers better protection than the connecting portion (“flange portion”) and second part (“central portion”) ([0097]), as shown in embodiment of FIGs. 4A-4B.
Thus, it would be obvious under Goggin’s disclosure to provide additional line(s) of weakness on the first part (230) in addition to the first line of weakness (i.e., weak portion 235; FIGs. 2A-2C).
Furthermore, each line of weakness is formed with a thin cross-sectional area ([0082]); therefore, these additional line(s) of weakness are broadly and reasonably interpreted as the thin-walled region provided in the first part and rendering obvious this limitation of claim 1. Furthermore, these thin-walled regions represent thicknesses of the first part less than a thickness of any portion of the second part, which does not comprise any thin-walled portions ([0082]; [0097], FIGs. 2A-2C), thus reading on claim 6.
During operation of modified Goggin’s pressure relief mechanism, an internal air pressure of the battery cell increases enough to collapse (i.e., severely deform) the first part (230) ([0090]). In comparison, the only deformation of the second part (“central portion”) is through being shaped into a domed shape through manufacture or use ([0096]). As such, the first part (230), undergoing severe deformation through collapse at the deformation pressure, necessarily deforms faster than the second part (“central portion”) as according to claim 1.
Additionally, the connecting portion (“flange”) remains welded to the inlet (440) and thus does not deform ([0099]; FIG. 4G).
When the air pressure inside modified Goggin’s battery cell is less than a first preset value (i.e., the activation pressure where pressure relief mechanism 200 reverses; [0090]), the weak portion is pressed by the first part (“angled frustum portion”) ([0098]; FIGs. 4D; 2C), thus reading in this limitation of claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, modified Goggin discloses the pressure relief mechanism according to claim 1, wherein when the air pressure inside the battery cell is greater than or equal to the first preset value (“activation pressure”), the first part changes from a state of protruding toward the interior of the battery cell to a state of protruding away (“[pressure relief mechanism] 200 reverses”), and the weak portion is imparted with tensile force (i.e., is stretched by) the first part and/or the second part ([0090]) as claimed.
The connection portion, being in a welded connection, similarly would not deform ([0099]; FIG. 4G).
Regarding claim 7, modified Goggin discloses the pressure-relief mechanism according to claim 1, wherein when a temperature or an air pressure inside the battery cell is greater than or equal to a second preset value (“overpressure condition”), the weak portion (235) actuates (by tearing) so that the pressure inside the battery cell is relieved via the pressure relief mechanism ([0082]; FIGs. 2A-2C).
Regarding claim 11, modified Goggin discloses the pressure relief mechanism according to claim 1. Goggin’s weak portion (235) is formed with a cross-sectional area having a thickness less than the surrounding first and second parts ([0082]; FIGs. 2A-2C); thus, at least a partial region of the weak portion has a thickness less than thicknesses of the first part and second part as claimed.
Annotated Goggin FIG. 2C
Regarding claim 12, modified Goggin discloses the pressure relief mechanism according to claim 12. A common English definition of a “groove” is a “long narrow channel or depression” (Merriam-Webster Dictionary); Goggin’s weak portion (235), ([0082]), which is shown depressed relative to the first part (230) and is long and narrow as having a structure of a line (“line of weakness 235”) (see Annotated Goggin FIG. 2C above; [0084]), is thus broadly and reasonably interpreted as a groove as claimed.
Regarding claim 13, modified Goggin discloses a battery cell comprising the pressure relief mechanism according to claim 1 ([0131]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goggin (US-20160146363-A1) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Marubayashi et al. (JP-2001256944-A; cited with machine translation, 05/29/2025 Office action).
Regarding claim 10, modified Goggin discloses the pressure relief mechanism according to claim 1. In addition to the circular-shaped pressure relief mechanism (“rupture disk”) of Goggin FIG. 2A-2C, Goggin contemplates other shapes of pressure relief mechanism ([0128]; FIGs. 18-21), including embodiments comprising an annular (i.e., ring-shape) connecting portion comprising at least two straight portions on the sides and at least two arc-shaped portions on the corners (see FIGs. 18, 19), but fails to further specify a pressure relief mechanism comprising two straight portions and two arc-shaped portions connected to ends of the two straight portions respectively as claimed.
Marubayashi, directed to an analogous pressure relief mechanism comprising a second part 9 (“safety valve”) and a weak part 4 (“crush groove”) (Marubayashi [0026-0027], FIGs. 5, 6), teaches forming a pressure relief mechanism into an ellipse shape with a connecting portion (6) comprising two straight portions (see annotations) and two arc-shaped portions connected to ends of the two straight portions respectively ([0013]; see Annotated Marubayashi FIG. 5 below). Advantageously, this structure allows concentrating stress on the straight portion (“long side”), reducing variability in the activation pressure of the safety valve ([0013]).
Annotated Marubayashi FIG. 5
As such, in seeking to reduce the activation pressure variability in modified Goggin’s pressure relief mechanism, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the pressure relief mechanism with an ellipsoid shape where the connection portion comprises two straight portions and two arc-shaped portions connected to ends of the two straight portions respectively as taught by Marubayashi. Such a modification would be done with a reasonable expectation of success, as Goggin contemplates a suitability of using a variety of possible pressure relief mechanism shapes and would therefore be amenable to changing the shape of the pressure relief mechanism, which includes the annular connecting portion.
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goggin (US-20160146363-A1) as applied to claim 13, further in view of Danae (What is the Modular Battery; copy provided with this Office action).
Regarding claims 14 and 15, modified Goggin discloses the battery cell according to claim 13, but fails to further disclose the structure of a battery further comprising this battery cell as claimed in claim 14 or an electric apparatus comprising this battery as according to claim 15.
However, it is known in the art that one or more individual battery cells may be connected into a battery pack to provide additional control, cooling, or protection systems (Danae pp. 1 ¶3), a battery pack also being known as a battery (pp. 1 ¶1). Electric apparatuses such as electric vehicles require large batteries (“battery packs”) to fulfill the power requirement as a supply of electrical energy (pp. 2 ¶1).
As such, in seeking to provide control, cooling, or protection systems to modified Goggin’s battery cell according to Danae’s teaching, it would be obvious before the effective filing date of the instant application for one having ordinary skill in the art to form a battery comprising the battery cell according to claim 13, thus reading on claim 14.
Additionally, in seeking to supply sufficient power to an electric apparatus (e.g., an electric vehicle) as according to Danae’s teaching, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to provide an electric apparatus with the battery according to claim 14 wherein the battery is configured to supply electrical energy, thus reading on claim 15.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment to claim 6 to correct a minor typographical error has overcome the objection to this claim in the previous Office action.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to rejection of amended claim 1 and dependent claims 2-4, 6, 7, and 11-14 over Kanamori (US20160028057A1) and Danno (JP-2014234857-A) as applied in the previous Office action (Remarks pp. 7-15) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Similarly, Applicant’s arguments with respect to rejections of claims 3, 5, 10, and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 further in view of Jiang (CN205069727-U), Marubayashi (JP-2001256944-A), and Kim (US-20200303701) (Remarks pp. 15-17) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/E.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1751
/JONATHAN G LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1751 5/2/2026