DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I (Claims 1-10 and 15) in the reply filed on 9/8/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2013/0069079) in view of Cheng et al (US 2010/0323506).
With respect to Claim 1, Kim discloses a substrate structure for light emitting diodes (Figure 1E) comprising: a substrate (Figure 1E, 2, sapphire) ; and an AlN template layer (Figure 1E, 3) formed on a surface of the substrate, wherein sealed depressions (Figure 1B, 6) are formed on the surface of the substrate and covered by the AlN template layer (Figure 1E, 3). See Figures 1A – 1E of Kim and corresponding text, especially paragraphs 60-67. Moreover, Kim et al disclose the use of different shaped depressions. See paragraphs 61-62.
However, Kim does not explicitly disclose the sealed depression contain discrete depressions and depression networks.
Cheng et al is also pertains to light emitting diodes comprising sapphire substrates, and is relied upon to disclose that etching sapphire substrates results in isolated holes and connected openings. See paragraph 34.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to arrive at the claimed limitations, as the presence of discrete depressions and depression networks is obvious in view of Kim which discloses etching of sapphire substrates and the disclosure of Cheng et al which teaches a result of etching a sapphire substrate is the presence of discrete depressions and depression networks. The presence of a known physical characteristic which can result from a known process, etching sapphire, is prima facie obvious in view of the cited references.
With respect to Claim 2, the combined references make obvious the lateral size, vertical dimensions and density, as changes in size are prima facie obvious in the absence of unobvious results. See In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Moreover, the density of the depressions, in the absence of unobvious results, would be prima facie obvious as it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See Allen et al v. Coe, 57 USPQ 136.
With respect to Claim 3, the limitations of Claim 3 are obvious as Claim 3 is a product by process claim which is limited by the structure, “forming the AlN template layer and turning the depressions into the sealed depressions”. See MPEP 2113.
With respect to Claim 4, Kim discloses the substrate is a sapphire substrate. See paragraphs 61-62.
With respect to Claim 5, Kim discloses comprising a layer of a first set of voids (Figure 1E, 11) in the AlN template layer (Figure 1E, 3 and 4). See paragraph 65. Moreover, with respect to the limitation “ at a distance of 100-300 nm from the surface of the substrate”, changes in size are prima facie obvious in the absence of unobvious results. See In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Moreover, the distance, in the absence of unobvious results, would be prima facie obvious as it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See Allen et al v. Coe, 57 USPQ 136.
With respect to Claim 6, the combined references make obvious “wherein the first set of voids have a lateral size in the range of 10-100 nm, a vertical size in the range of 10-300 nm, and a density in the range of 10(9) -10(10) cm (-2)”, as the combined references make obvious the lateral size, vertical dimensions and density, as changes in size are prima facie obvious in the absence of unobvious results. See In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Moreover, the density, in the absence of unobvious results, would be prima facie obvious as it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See Allen et al v. Coe, 57 USPQ 136.
With respect to Claim 8, the combined references make obvious the lateral size, vertical dimensions and density, as changes in size are prima facie obvious in the absence of unobvious results. See In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Moreover, the density, in the absence of unobvious results, would be prima facie obvious as it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See Allen et al v. Coe, 57 USPQ 136.
With respect to Claim 15, Kim discloses a substrate structure (Figure 15, 101) a n-type structure (Figure 15, 104) formed on the AlN template layer (Figure 15, 102-103) of the substrate structure; an active region (Figure 15, 105 ) formed on the n-type structure, and a p-type structure (Figure 15, 107) formed on the active region. See Figure 15 and corresponding text, especially paragraph 3.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 8 requires a second set of voids, and is dependent on Claim 1, which does not require a first set of voids. Appropriate correction is required.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 9-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
AGG
November 14, 2025
/ALEXANDER G GHYKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812