Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 21 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The examiner respectfully disagrees for at least the following reasons:
Applicant argues Klein does not teach the claimed temporary pad, conductive pad, conductive via passing through the passivation layer, or removal of the temporary pad without removing the conductive pad. Klein nevertheless teaches temporary micro bumps 200 used during testing, conductive UBM 712, bond pad 710, and passivation layer 606 having an opening through which UBM 712 electrically contacts bond pad 710.
The examiner acknowledges that Klein does not teach a “conductive” via passing completely through passivation layer 606 or retaining UBM 712 after removal of micro-bump 200. Liu is relied upon to remedy these deficiencies. Liu teaches a conductive-filled connection extending completely through passivation layer 130, and further teaches sacrificial test pad 136 formed over conductive pad 132, followed by testing and selectively removal of sacrificial test pad 136 with no etching of conductive pad 132, such that conductive pad 132 remains. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Klein’s structure according to Liu by providing a conductive-filled connection through passivation layer 606 and by selectively removing temporary micro-bump 200 after testing while retaining underlying UBM 712, in order to preserve the underlying conductive pad for subsequent processing and electrical connection.
Applicant’s argument regarding Cheng are acknowledged; however, the present rejection relies upon Liu rather than Cheng to remedy the identifies deficiencies of Klein, Accordingly, those arguments do not overcome the rejection of amended claims 1 and 21.
Hence the rejection for claims 1 and 21 and their corresponding dependent claims are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 11, 21 and 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klein (US 10204841 B1) in view of Liu (US 20220028748 A1).
Re: Independent Claim 1 (Currently Amended), Klein discloses a method comprising:
applying a temporary pad (Klein, Fig 7, Column 6, lines 36-38, micro-bumps 200 and traces 210/212) to a conductive pad of a semiconductor die (UBM 712 that serves as conductive landing of IC die 100),
wherein the conductive pad with the applied temporary pad is coupled to an active pad of the semiconductor die (Klein, Fig 7, active pad as the die bond pad 710) by a via passing through a passivation layer covering the active pad (Klein, Fig 7, a portion of the top surface of bond pad 710 is covered by passivation layer 606, and the conductive pad 712 is coupled to active pad 710 via the opening on the passivation layer 606);
after testing the semiconductor die, removing the temporary pad (Klein, Fig 11, step 1124; Column 9, lines 22-29; after completion of wafer testing, the micro-bumps 200 and traces 210/212 are removed. While Klein does not explicitly refer to the micro-bump 200 and traces 210/212 as “temporary pad”, micro-bump 200 and traces 210/212 are temporary conductive contact structure used during wafer testing and subsequently removed, and therefore reasonably corresponds to the claimed temporary pad).
Klein is silent regarding the “via” being a conductive via and passing completely through the passivation layer. Klein is also silent regarding removing the temporary pad from the conductive pad without removing the conductive pad.
However, Liu teaches forming conductive via passing completely through a passivation layer (Liu, in Figs. 4B-4D, opening 129 through passivation layer 130, conductive seed layer 131 within opening 129, and conductive pad 132 filling the opening to electrically connect to underlying metal 122).
Liu further teaches removing the temporary pad from the conductive pad without removing the conductive pad (Liu teaches, in Figs. 4F - 4I, a sacrificial test pad 136 formed over conductive pad 132, testing through sacrificial test pad 136, and thereafter selectively removing sacrificial test pad 136 with no etching of conductive pad 132, such that conductive pad 132 remains after testing
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Klein’s structure according to Liu by providing a conductive-filled connection through passivation layer 606 and by selectively removing temporary micro-bump 200 after testing while retaining underlying UBM 712, in order to preserve the underlying conductive pad for subsequent processing and electrical connection.
Re: Claim 2 (Original), Klein and Liu disclose all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends.
Klein further discloses,
wherein testing the semiconductor die comprises: coupling a probe to the temporary pad (Klein Column 6, lines 3-10, probe is coupled to micro-bumps 200 for testing); and
executing one or more tests of the semiconductor die using the probe (Klein Column 2, lines 59-63 and column 5, lines 17-22, tests like measuring performance metrics of on-die circuitry are done prior to dicing).
Re: Claim 3 (Original), Klein and Liu disclose all the limitations of claim 2 on which this claim depends.
Klein further discloses,
wherein removing the temporary pad comprises: removing the temporary pad from the conductive pad after executing the one or more tests (Klein, Column 9, lines 21-25, after completion of wafer testing, metalized connections, i.e., the micro-bumps, temporary connection traces are removed at operation 1124).
Re: Claim 11 (Original), Klein and Liu disclose all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends.
Klein further discloses,
wherein applying the temporary pad on the conductive pad comprises: applying a layer of metal to a top surface of the conductive pad (Klein, Fig. 7, column 7, lines 19-22, temporary pad e.g., temporary connection trace 210/212 is formed from an electrically conductive material, such as metal and deposited onto the conductive pad UBM 712).
Re: Independent Claim 21 (Currently Amended), Klein discloses a method comprising:
applying a temporary pad (Klein, Fig 7, Column 6, lines 36-38, temporary micro-bumps 200 and/or trace 210/212) to a conductive pad of a semiconductor die (UBM 712 that serves as conductive landing of IC die 100),
wherein the conductive pad with the applied temporary pad is coupled to an active pad of the semiconductor die (Klein, Fig 7, active pad as the die bond pad 710) by a via passing through a passivation layer covering the active pad (Klein, Fig 7, a portion of the top surface of bond pad 710 is covered by passivation layer 606, and the conductive pad 712 is coupled to active pad 710 via the opening on the passivation layer 606);
coupling a probe to the temporary pad (Klein, Column 6, lines 3-10, probe is coupled to micro-bumps 200 for testing. While Klein does not explicitly refer to the micro-bump 200 and traces 210/212 as “temporary pad”, micro-bump 200 and traces 210/212 are temporary conductive contact structure used during wafer testing and subsequently removed, and therefore reasonably corresponds to the claimed temporary pad);
executing one or more tests of the semiconductor die using the probe (Klein, Column 2, lines 59-63 and column 5, lines 17-22, tests like measuring performance metrics of on-die circuitry are done prior to dicing); and
after executing the one or more tests, removing the temporary pad from the conductive pad (Klein, Column 9, lines 21-25, after completion of wafer testing, metalized connections, i.e., the micro-bumps, temporary connection traces are removed at operation 1124).
Klein is silent regarding the “via” being a conductive via and passing completely through the passivation layer. Klein is also silent regarding removing the temporary pad from the conductive pad without removing the conductive pad.
However, Liu teaches forming conductive via passing completely through a passivation layer (Liu, in Figs. 4B-4D, opening 129 through passivation layer 130, conductive seed layer 131 within opening 129, and conductive pad 132 filling the opening to electrically connect to underlying metal 122).
Liu further teaches removing the temporary pad from the conductive pad without removing the conductive pad (Liu teaches, in Figs. 4F - 4I, a sacrificial test pad 136 formed over conductive pad 132, testing through sacrificial test pad 136, and thereafter selectively removing sacrificial test pad 136 with no etching of conductive pad 132, such that conductive pad 132 remains after testing
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Klein’s structure according to Liu by providing a conductive-filled connection through passivation layer 606 and by selectively removing temporary micro-bump 200 after testing while retaining underlying UBM 712, in order to preserve the underlying conductive pad for subsequent processing and electrical connection.
Re: Claim 28 (Currently amended), Klein and Liu disclose all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends.
Liu further teaches
wherein the conductive pad has a substantially planar top surface extending between opposing ends of the conductive pad (Liu teaches, in Figs. 4F-4H, conductive pad 132 has a planar top extending between opposing ends of the conductive pad), and wherein the temporary pad completely covers the substantially planar top surface (sacrificial test pad 136 completely covers the planar top surface of 132).
Re: Claim 29 (Currently amended), Klein and Liu disclose all the limitations of claim 21 on which this claim depends.
Liu further teaches
wherein the conductive pad has a substantially planar top surface extending between opposing ends of the conductive pad (Liu teaches, in Figs. 4F-4H, conductive pad 132 has a planar top extending between opposing ends of the conductive pad), and wherein the temporary pad completely covers the substantially planar top surface (sacrificial test pad 136 completely covers the planar top surface of 132).
Claims 4 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klein (US 10204841 B1) in view of Liu (US 20220028748 A1) further in view of Chen (US 20210343667 A1).
Re: Claim 4 (Original), Klein and Liu disclose all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends.
Klein and Liu are silent regarding,
wherein removing the temporary pad comprises: grinding away the temporary pad to expose the conductive pad.
However, Chen teaches wherein removing the temporary pad comprises: grinding away the temporary pad to expose the conductive pad (Chen, ¶ [0017], the solder bump may be removed by top die grinding after the chip probe is complete i.e., grinding away the temporary/probe bump to re-expose the underlying pad stack).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select a Chen's well known removal technique such as top-die grinding as a removal method in the process of Klein as modified by Liu in order to expose the conductive/bond pad after testing (Chen, ¶ [0017]).
Re: Claim 22 (Previously Presented), Klein and Liu disclose all the limitations of claim 21 on which this claim depends.
Klein and Liu are silent regarding,
wherein removing the temporary pad comprises: grinding away the temporary pad to expose the conductive pad.
However, Chen teaches wherein removing the temporary pad comprises: grinding away the temporary pad to expose the conductive pad (Chen, ¶ [0017], the solder bump may be removed by top die grinding after the chip probe is complete i.e., grinding away the temporary/probe bump to re-expose the underlying pad stack).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select a Chen's well known removal technique such as top-die grinding as a removal method in the process of Klein as modified by Liu in order to expose the conductive/bond pad after testing (Chen, ¶ [0017]).
Claims 5 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klein (US 10204841 B1) in view of Liu (US 20220028748 A1) further in view of Zhang (US 20130072011 A1).
Re: Claim 5 (Original), Klein and Liu disclose all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends.
Klein and Liu are silent regarding,
wherein removing the temporary pad comprises: chemical-mechanical polishing away the temporary pad to expose the conductive pad.
However, Zhang teaches wherein removing the temporary pad comprises: chemical-mechanical polishing away the temporary pad to expose the conductive pad (Zhang ¶ [0029], teaches chemical mechanical polishing (CMP) that removes top portion of the passivation layer. CMP is a process that applies chemical and mechanical forces to a surface to prepare a smooth surface and re-expose the pad surface).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select a Zhang's well known removal technique such as chemical-mechanical polishing as a removal method in the process of Klein in order to planarize and thus expose the conductive/bond pad after testing (Zhang, ¶ [0006]).
Re: Claim 23 (Previously Presented), Klein and Liu disclose all the limitations of claim 21 on which this claim depends.
Klein and Liu are silent regarding,
wherein removing the temporary pad comprises: chemical-mechanical polishing away the temporary pad to expose the conductive pad.
However, Zhang teaches wherein removing the temporary pad comprises: chemical-mechanical polishing away the temporary pad to expose the conductive pad (Zhang ¶ [0029], teaches chemical mechanical polishing (CMP) that removes top portion of the passivation layer. CMP is a process that applies chemical and mechanical forces to a surface to prepare a smooth surface and re-expose the pad surface).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select a Zhang's well known removal technique such as chemical-mechanical polishing as a removal method in the process of Klein in view of Liu in order to planarize and thus expose the conductive/bond pad after testing (Zhang, ¶ [0006]).
Claims 7, 12 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klein (US 10204841 B1) in view of Liu (US 20220028748 A1) further in view of Chang (US 20080157362 A1).
Re: Claim 7 (Previously presented), Klein and Liu disclose all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends. Klein further teaches that, after removal of the temporary testing structures, the wafer is cleaned and a final UBM layer is subsequently deposited on the wafer (Klein, Fig. 11 operations 1124-1128).
Klein and Liu are silent regarding,
further comprising: applying a bonding layer to a top surface of the passivation layer after removing the temporary pad, the bonding layer covering the conductive pad.
However, Chang teaches further comprising: applying a bonding layer to a top surface of the passivation layer after removing the temporary pad, the bonding layer covering the conductive pad (Chang discloses in figure 2D, forming additional UMB/cap layer 8A deposited over existing UBM that spans the passivation opening i.e., applying a bonding layer on the passivation top surface that overlies/covers the underlying conductive landing).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Chang (adding a bonding cap/finish over UBM) to the method of Klein in view of Liu (post-test removal of temporary bumps and traces 200/210/212) with UBM 712 on 606, coupled to 710) to apply a bonding layer on the passivation top that covers the conductive pad 712, in order to allow for better bonding and wetting of the solder material to the uppermost UBM layer i.e., bonding layer adjacent to the solder material, and for protection of the bonding pad by the lowermost UBM layer i.e. conductive pad (Chang, ¶ [0023]).
Re: Claim 12 (Original), Klein and Liu disclose all the limitations of claim 11 on which this claim depends.
Klein and Liu are silent regarding,
wherein applying the layer of metal to the top surface of the conductive pad comprises: electroplating the layer of metal to the top surface of the conductive pad.
However, Chang teaches wherein applying the layer of metal to the top surface of the conductive pad comprises: electroplating the layer of metal to the top surface of the conductive pad (as explained above in claim 1, Klein (Fig 7) teaches forming temporary metal traces 210/212 used with micro bump 200 on the top surface of conductive pad UBM 712. Furthermore, Chang (Fig 2C, ¶ [0025]) teaches that UBM layers are deposited by conventional process such as electroplating).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Klein's flow of method to choose electroplating - a conventional wafer-level bump/UBM deposition method- as the specific plating technique taught by Chang in order to apply the temporary metal layer onto UBM 712 (Chang, ¶ [0025]).
Re: Claim 25 (Previously presented), Klein and Liu disclose all the limitations of claim 21 on which this claim depends.
Klein and Liu are silent regarding,
further comprising: applying a bonding layer to a top surface of the passivation layer after removing the temporary pad, the bonding layer covering the conductive pad.
However, Chang teaches further comprising: applying a bonding layer to a top surface of the passivation layer after removing the temporary pad, the bonding layer covering the conductive pad (Chang discloses in figure 2D, forming additional UMB/cap layer 8A deposited over existing UBM that spans the passivation opening i.e., applying a bonding layer on the passivation top surface that overlies/covers the underlying conductive landing).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Chang (adding a bonding cap/finish over UBM) to the method of Klein in view of Liu (post-test removal of temporary bumps and traces 200/210/212) with UBM 712 on 606, coupled to 710) to apply a bonding layer on the passivation top that covers the conductive pad 712, in order to allow for better bonding and wetting of the solder material to the uppermost UBM layer i.e., bonding layer adjacent to the solder material, and for protection of the bonding pad by the lowermost UBM layer i.e. conductive pad (Chang, ¶ [0023]).
Claims 8-9 and 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klein (US 10204841 B1) in view of Liu (US 20220028748 A1) further in view of Chang (US 20080157362 A1) and further in view of Tu (US 8569886 B2).
Re: Claim 8 (Original), Klein, Liu and Chang disclose all the limitations of claim 7 on which this claim depends.
Klein, Liu and Chang are silent regarding,
further comprising: applying a second passivation layer to a top surface of the bonding layer; and forming a second via in the second passivation layer, the second via traversing through the second passivation layer and having an end coupled to the conductive pad and an opposite end coupled to an external conductive pad.
However, Tu teaches applying a second passivation layer to a top surface of the bonding layer; and forming a second via in the second passivation layer, the second via traversing through the second passivation layer and having an end coupled to the conductive pad and an opposite end coupled to an external conductive pad (Fig 3(b), Tu teaches forming a second passivation layer 54 over underlying conductive/RDL layer 46, forming an opening 65 through second passivation layer 54 to expose the underlying conductive layer 46, and depositing conductive UBM layer 73 over second passivation layer 54 and within in opening 65 so as to electrically contact underlying conductive layer 46. the underlying metal layer. Thus, the conductive portion of UBM 73 extending through opening 65 forms a second conductive via transversing second passivation layer 54, having a lower end electrically coupled through underlying conductive layer 46 to conductive pad 32 and an upper end coupled to the external conductive UBM pad portion 73).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Tu with the method of Klein in view of Liu and Chang by applying a second passivation layer 54 on the top surface of the bonding layer, then form a second via 65 so its lower end couples to conductive pad 712 (via the bonding layer) and its upper end couples to an external conductive pad 73, in order to reduce cracks by shifting solder-ball loading onto passivation layer (Tu, Column 4, lines 15-19).
Re: Claim 9 (Original), Klein, Liu , Chang and Tu disclose all the limitations of claim 8 on which this claim depends.
Tu further teaches,
further comprising: applying a solder bump to the external conductive pad (Tu, Fig. 3(b), solder bump 82 applied to the external conductive pad 73).
Re: Claim 26 (Previously Presented), Klein, Liu and Chang disclose all the limitations of claim 25 on which this claim depends.
Klein, Liu and Chang are silent regarding,
further comprising: applying a second passivation layer to a top surface of the bonding layer; and forming a second via in the second passivation layer, the second via traversing through the second passivation layer and having an end coupled to the conductive pad and an opposite end coupled to an external conductive pad.
However, Tu teaches applying a second passivation layer to a top surface of the bonding layer; and forming a second via in the second passivation layer, the second via traversing through the second passivation layer and having an end coupled to the conductive pad and an opposite end coupled to an external conductive pad (Fig 3(b), Tu teaches forming a second passivation layer 54 over underlying metal, then creating an opening (second via) 65 through 54 to the underlying metal layer, and depositing an overlying metal pad (UBM/external pad) 73 across the top of 54 and the opening, optionally receiving solder ball 82).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Tu with the method of Klein in view of Liu and Chang by applying a second passivation layer 54 on the top surface of the bonding layer, then form a second via 65 so its lower end couples to conductive pad 712 (via the bonding layer) and its upper end couples to an external conductive pad 73, in order to reduce cracks by shifting solder-ball loading onto passivation layer (Tu, Column 4, lines 15-19).
Re: Claim 27 (Previously Presented), Klein, Liu, Chang and Tu disclose all the limitations of claim 26 on which this claim depends.
Tu further teaches,
further comprising: applying a solder bump to the external conductive pad (Tu, Fig. 3(b), solder bump 82 applied to the external conductive pad 73).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klein (US 10204841 B1) in view of Liu (US 20220028748 A1) further in view of Lei (US 20120064712 A1) and further in view of Chen (US 20140077356 A1).
Re: Claim 10 (Previously presented), Klein and Liu disclose all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends.
Klein and Liu are silent regarding,
further comprising: removing one or more portions of the conductive pad to leave a remaining portion of the conductive pad;
applying a second passivation layer to a top surface of the conductive pad;
and forming a second via in the second passivation layer, the second via traversing through the second passivation layer and having an end coupled to the remaining portion of the conductive pad and an opposite end coupled to an external conductive pad.
However, Lei teaches removing one or more portions of the conductive pad to leave a remaining portion of the conductive pad (Lei, Fig 3-6, teaches etch back where, after formation of metal bump 50 through mask 46/opening 45, the uncovered seed layer 42B is etched away, then the exposed barrier layer 40 is removed, leaving UBM portion under the bump intact i.e. removing one or more portions of the conductive pad to leave a remaining portion);
Klein, Liu and Lei are silent regarding,
applying a second passivation layer to a top surface of the conductive pad;
and forming a second via in the second passivation layer, the second via traversing through the second passivation layer and having an end coupled to the remaining portion of the conductive pad and an opposite end coupled to an external conductive pad.
However, Chen teaches applying a second passivation layer to a top surface of the conductive pad; and forming a second via in the second passivation layer, the second via traversing through the second passivation layer and having an end coupled to the remaining portion of the conductive pad and an opposite end coupled to an external conductive pad (Chen, Fig 4A, ¶ [0017], further teaches depositing a second polymer/passivation layer 48 over metal (PPI 44), patterning an opening (via) in 48, forming an overlying UBM 50 (external conductive pad) that extends into the opening to contact the under metal, and then forming a connector 52, which corresponds to applying a second passivation, forming a second via, and creating and external conductive pad).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Lei's UBM trim/etch-back with Chen's polymer-over-metal via/pad build-up in the Klein's flow i.e., etch back portions of UBM 712 to leave a remainder, apply Chen's second passivation 48 over Klein's UBM 712, open a via to the remaining 712, and form Chen's external conductive pad 50 above in order to reduce the delamination between the PPI 44 and polymer layer caused by CTE mismatch during thermal cycling (Chen, ¶ [0028]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klein (US 10204841 B1) in view of Liu (US 20220028748 A1) further in view of Tu (US 8569886 B2).
Re: Claim 13 (Original), Klein and Liu disclose all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends.
Klein and Liu are silent regarding,
wherein applying the temporary pad on the conductive pad comprises: applying a layer of solder to a top surface of the conductive pad.
However, Tu teaches wherein applying the temporary pad on the conductive pad comprises: applying a layer of solder to a top surface of the conductive pad (as explained above in claim 1, Klein (Fig 7) teaches forming temporary metal traces 210/212 used with micro bump 200 on the top surface of conductive pad UBM 712. Furthermore, Tu (Tu, Fig. 2-3) teaches applying solder to an over-passivation pad-e.g., forming UBM 73 over passivation 53 and then applying a solder bump 82 onto that pad).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select solder as the material for the temporary pad as taught in Tu in the Klein's flow to leverage well know solder properties like good wettability/ soft contact for probing.
Conclusion
/BIPANA ADHIKARI DAWADI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2898
/JESSICA S MANNO/SPE, Art Unit 2898