DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 19 as currently amended recites
“a driver, comprising a driver integrated circuit (IC), and configured to independently drive groups of emitters” in lines 3-4, and
“…contact pads of the flexible PCB
The phrase
This appears to be a typographic error, and the Examiner suggests amending claim 19 as follows to remove the redundant phrasing.
“…contact pads of the flexible PCB
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-8, 11 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Applicant Admitted Prior Art (¶¶ 0011, 0047 & fig. 6 of the instant specification, hereinafter referenced as ‘AAPA’) in view of Tada (PG Pub. No. US 2015/0303219 A1).
Regarding claim 1, AAPA teaches a device (AAPA, fig. 6) comprising:
a heat spreader (¶ 0047: 61) comprising a top surface and a bottom surface opposite the top surface (fig. 6: 61 comprises opposing top and bottom surfaces);
a circuit board (¶ 0047: 20) defining an opening completely through a thickness thereof (fig. 6: opening through entire thickness of 20), the circuit board having a top surface, a bottom surface opposite the top surface (fig. 6), and a plurality of fourth contacts pads (¶ 0047: 11c) on the top surface (fig. 6: 11c disposed on top surface of 20), the bottom surface of the circuit board being over the top surface of the heat spreader (fig. 6: bottom surface of 20 disposed over top surface of 61); and
a lighting device (¶ 0047: 6) comprising:
a top surface,
a bottom surface opposite the top surface,
a driver integrated circuit (IC) (¶ 0028: 11),
an array of LEDs (¶ 0028: 10) on the driver IC (fig. 6: 10 disposed on 11), and
a plurality of first contact pads (¶ 0037: 11c) on the top surface of the driver IC (fig. 6: plurality of 11c disposed on top surface of 11),
wherein the bottom surface of the lighting device is on the top surface of the heat spreader and within the opening in the circuit board (fig. 6: bottom surface of 6 on top surface of 61 an in opening of 20),
at least one interconnect structure (¶ 0047: 60, 60’) mounted to the lighting device along at least two lateral sides of the driver IC (fig. 6: 60, 60’ mounted to 6 along at least two sides of 11).
AAPA does not teach the interconnect structure comprising at least one flexible printed circuit board (PCB) comprising:
a bottom surface,
a top surface opposite the bottom surface,
a plurality of second contact pads on the bottom surface,
a plurality of third contact pads on the bottom surface, and
a plurality of contact bridges, each of the plurality of contact bridges extending from one of the plurality of second contact pads to one of the plurality of third contact pads,
each of the plurality first contact pads being bonded to a corresponding one of the plurality of second contact pads of the flexible PCB, and
each of the plurality of fourth contact pad of the circuit board being bonded to a corresponding one of the plurality of fourth contacts pads of the flexible PCB (see 35 USC § 112 rejection above, interpreted to mean second or third contact pads of the flexible PCB).
Tada teaches a device (fig. 1: 1) including at least one flexible printed circuit board (PCB) (¶¶ 0057, 0071: 22 and/or 24) comprising:
a bottom surface (figs. 3-4: bottom surface of 22/24),
a top surface opposite the bottom surface (fig. 3: top surface of 22/24),
a plurality of second contact pads (¶ 0059: terminals 34) on the bottom surface (figs. 3-4: 34 disposed on bottom surface of 22),
a plurality of third contact pads (¶ 0059: terminals 35) on the bottom surface (figs. 3-4: 35 disposed on bottom surface of 22), and
a plurality of contact bridges (¶ 0053: wiring lines 25), each of the plurality of contact bridges extending from one of the plurality of second contact pads to one of the plurality of third contact pads (fig. 4: each 25 extends from 34 to corresponding 35),
each of a plurality first contact pads (¶ 0059: 38) on a top surface of a lighting device (¶ 0049: top surface of 1, including a backlight) being bonded to a corresponding one of the plurality of second contact pads of the flexible PCB (fig. 3: 38 bonded to 34), and
each of a plurality of fourth contact pad[s] (¶ 0072: 52) of a circuit board (¶ 0072: wiring substrate 24) being bonded to a corresponding one of the plurality of second or third contact pads of the flexible PCB (figs. 3-7: 52 electrically bonded to 35 through pads 44/45 and wiring lines 26 of wiring substrate 23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the device of AAPA with the flexible wiring substrate of Tada, as a means to prevent an undue increase in the area and facilitating miniaturization of the device (Tada, ¶ 0009).
Regarding claim 2, AAPA in view of Tada teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of first contact pads on the top surface of the driver IC are disposed along at least two edges (AAPA, fig. 6: 11c disposed along two edges of 11).
Regarding claim 3, AAPA in view of Tada teaches the device of claim 2, wherein part of the circuitry for driving the array of LEDs is on the driver IC (AAPA, fig. 6: portion of 11 overlapping 6/10) and another part of the circuitry for driving the array of LEDs is on the top surface of the flexible PCB (Tada, figs. 1-3 among others: wiring portions of T disposed on top surface of flexible PCB 22/24).
Regarding claim 4, AAPA in view of Tada teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the flexible PCB is single layer carrier (Tada, 22 comprises a single layer), and the plurality of contact bridges are on the bottom surface of the flexible PCB (Tada, figs. 3-4: 25 disposed on a bottom surface of 22).
Regarding claim 5, AAPA in view of Tada teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the flexible PCB is a multi-layer carrier (Tada, 22/24 comprise multiple layers), and the plurality of contact bridges are embedded in the flexible PCB on an internal layer (figs. 3: 25 embedded between 22 and 24).
Regarding claim 7, AAPA in view of Tada teaches the device of claim 1claim 6, wherein the heat spreader further comprises a raised seat (AAPA, fig. 6: 61 comprises a raised seat), and the bottom surface of the lighting device is mechanically coupled to a top surface of the raised seat (AAPA, fig. 6: bottom surface of 6 mechanically coupled to raised seat of 61).
Regarding claim 8, AAPA in view of Tada teaches the device of claim 7, further comprising a thermal bond between the bottom surface of the lighting device and the top surface of the raised seat (AAPA, ¶ 0047 & fig. 6: bottom of 6 bonded to 61, and 61 comprises a heat sink. Therefore, the broadest reasonable interpretation of “a thermal bond” is met).
Regarding claim 11, AAPA in view of Tada teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the at least one flexible PCB comprises two or more flexible PCBs (Tada, flexible PCB’s 22 and 24).
Regarding claim 19, AAPA teaches an automotive lighting system comprising:
a lighting device (¶ 0047: 6) comprising:
a driver (¶ 0028: 11), comprising a driver integrated circuit (IC), and configured to independently drive groups of emitters (¶¶ 0024, 0028),
an array of light-emitting diode (LED) emitters (¶ 0028: 10) and having:
a top surface (fig. 6: top surface of 6 and/or 10),
a bottom surface opposite the top surface (fig. 6: bottom surface of 6 and/or 10), and
a plurality of first contact pads on the top surface of the driver IC (fig. 6: 11c disposed on top surface of 6/10); and
an interconnection structure (¶ 0047: 60, 60’) mounted to the lighting device along at least two lateral sides of the driver IC (fig. 6: 60, 60’ mounted to 6 along two sides of 11), and
drive groups of the emitters (¶¶ 0024, 0028, 0047: driver IC 11), at least some components of the driver being on the lighting device (fig. 6: at least a portion of 11 disposed on 6/10).
AAPA does not teach the interconnection structure comprising at least one flexible printed circuit board (PCB) comprising:
a bottom surface,
a top surface opposite the bottom surface,
a plurality of second contact pads on the bottom surface,
a plurality of third contact pads on the bottom surface, and
a plurality of contact bridges, each of the plurality of contact bridges extending from one of the plurality of second contact pads to one of the plurality of third contact pads,
each of the plurality of first contact pads being bonded to a corresponding one of the plurality of second contact pads of the flexible PCB, and
at least some components of the driver being mounted onto the flexible PCB.
Tada teaches a device (fig. 1: 1) including at least one flexible printed circuit board (PCB) (¶¶ 0057, 0071: 22 and/or 24) comprising:
a bottom surface (figs. 3-4: bottom surface of 22/24),
a top surface opposite the bottom surface (fig. 3: top surface of 22/24),
a plurality of second contact pads (¶ 0059: terminals 34) on the bottom surface (figs. 3-4: 34 disposed on bottom surface of 22),
a plurality of third contact pads (¶ 0059: terminals 35) on the bottom surface (figs. 3-4: 35 disposed on bottom surface of 22), and
a plurality of contact bridges (¶ 0053: wiring lines 25), each of the plurality of contact bridges extending from one of the plurality of second contact pads to one of the plurality of third contact pads (fig. 4: each 25 extends from 34 to corresponding 35),
each of a plurality first contact pads (¶ 0059: 38) on a top surface of a lighting device (¶ 0049: top surface of 1, including a backlight) being bonded to a corresponding one of the plurality of second contact pads of the flexible PCB (fig. 3: 38 bonded to 34), and
a driver (¶ 0039: T) configured to independently drive groups of the emitters (¶ 0053 & fig. 1: T connected to wiring lines for at least indirect control of lighting elements), at least some components of the driver being on the lighting device (fig. 1: driver wirings at least indirectly on 6) at least some components of the driver being mounted onto the flexible PCB (fig. 1: T mounted on flexible PCB 24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the device of AAPA with the flexible wiring substrate of Tada, as a means to prevent an undue increase in the area and facilitating miniaturization of the device (Tada, ¶ 0009).
Claims 22 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AAPA in view of Tada as applied to claims 1 and 19 above, and further in view of Momiuchi et al. (PG Pub. No. US 2018/0204870 A1).
Regarding claims 22 and 25, AAPA in view of Tada teaches the devices of claims 1 and 19, wherein the at least one flexible PCB is mounted to the lighting device (AAPA, fig. 6: 60/60’, as modified to include 22/24 of Tada, mounted to 6).
AAPA in view of Tada does not teach the at least one flexible PCB is mounted along four lateral sides of the driver IC.
Momiuchi teaches a device (¶¶ 0073-0084 and figs. 5A-5C among others: 10) including at least one flexible PCB (¶ 0073: 103-1/103-2) mounted along four lateral sides of a device (¶ 0074 & figs. 5A-5C: 103-1/103-2 mounted on four side surfaces of a lighting device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the flexible PCB of AAPA in view of Tada with the arrangement of Momiuchi, as a means to seal the driver IC, preventing defects or contaminants such as dust (Momiuchi, ¶ 0074).
Claims 24 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AAPA in view of Tada as applied to claims 1 and 19 above, and further in view of Yasukawa et al. (PG Pub. No. US 2019/0013372 A1).
Regarding claims 24 and 27, AAPA in view of Tada teaches the devices of claims 1 and 19, including at least one flexible PCB (Tada, 22/240 and an LED array (AAPA, 10).
AAPA in view of Tada does not teach wherein an upper face of the at least one flexible PCB is no higher than an emission face of the LED array.
Yasukawa teaches a display device (¶ 0049 & figs. 2-6 among others: 40/50) wherein an upper face of a flexible PCB (50) is no higher than an emission face of an LED array (figs. 3-6: upper face of 50 is no higher than emission face of pixel array in area 42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the flexible PCB with the relative height of Yasukawa, as a means to minimize height of the display device, providing a compact device with low profile.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AAPA in view of Tada and Nakagawa (PG Pub. No. US 2018/0368662 A1).
Regarding claim 21, AAPA teaches an augmented device (fig. 6) comprising:
a lighting device (¶ 0047: 6) comprising:
a light-emitting diode (LED) array (10) mounted directly on top of a complementary metal-oxide semiconductor (CMOS) integrated circuit (IC) driver (¶ 0047 & fig. 6: 10 mounted directly on top of driver IC 11), and
at least one interconnection structure (¶ 0047: 60, 60’) mounted to the lighting device along at least two lateral sides of the CMOS IC driver (fig. 6: 60, 60’ mounted to 6 along two sides of 11), the at least one flexible PCB and comprising a plurality of gold bumps (¶ 0034: 11c) on a top surface of the CMOS IC driver (fig. 6: 11c disposed on top surface of 11).
AAPA does not teach the interconnection structure comprising at least one flexible printed circuit board (PCB) comprising:
a bottom surface,
a top surface opposite the bottom surface,
a plurality of first contact pads on the bottom surface,
a plurality of second contact pads on the bottom surface, and
a plurality of contact bridges, each of the plurality of contact bridges extending from one of the plurality of first contact pads to one of the plurality of second contact pads,
each of the plurality of gold bumps being bonded to a corresponding one of the plurality of second contact pads of the flexible PCB and surrounded by an underfill material, establishing permanent bonds between the CMOS IC driver and the flexible PCB.
Tada teaches a device (fig. 1: 1) including at least one flexible printed circuit board (PCB) (¶¶ 0057, 0071: 22 and/or 24) comprising:
a bottom surface (figs. 3-4: bottom surface of 22/24),
a top surface opposite the bottom surface (fig. 3: top surface of 22/24),
a plurality of first contact pads (¶ 0059: terminals 34) on the bottom surface (figs. 3-4: 34 disposed on bottom surface of 22),
a plurality of second contact pads (¶ 0059: terminals 35) on the bottom surface (figs. 3-4: 35 disposed on bottom surface of 22), and
a plurality of contact bridges (¶ 0053: wiring lines 25), each of the plurality of contact bridges extending from one of the plurality of first contact pads to one of the plurality of second contact pads (fig. 4: each 25 extends from 34 to corresponding 35),
each of a plurality contact pads (¶ 0059: 38) on a top surface of a lighting device (¶ 0049: top surface of 1, including a backlight) being bonded to a corresponding one of the plurality of second contact pads of the flexible PCB (fig. 3: 38 bonded to 34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the device of AAPA with the flexible wiring substrate of Tada, as a means to prevent an undue increase in the area and facilitating miniaturization of the device (Tada, ¶ 0009).
AAPA in view of Tada does not teach each of the plurality of gold bumps being surrounded by an underfill material, establishing permanent bonds between the CMOS IC driver and the flexible PCB.
Nakagawa teaches gold bumps of a flexible PCB being surrounded by an underfill material (¶ 0028).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the device of AAPA in view of Tada with the underfill of Nakagawa, as a means to provide a bonding agent for securing connection of the flexible PCB.
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AAPA in view of Tada and Nakagawa as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Momiuchi.
Regarding claim 28, AAPA in view of Tada and Nakagawa teaches the device of claim 21, wherein the at least one flexible PCB is mounted to the lighting device (AAPA, fig. 6: 60/60’, as modified to include 22/24 of Tada, mounted to 6).
AAPA in view of Tada and Nakagawa does not teach the at least one flexible PCB is mounted along four lateral sides of the driver IC.
Momiuchi teaches a device (¶¶ 0073-0084 and figs. 5A-5C among others: 10) including at least one flexible PCB (¶ 0073: 103-1/103-2) mounted along four lateral sides of a device (¶ 0074 & figs. 5A-5C: 103-1/103-2 mounted on four side surfaces of a lighting device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the flexible PCB of AAPA in view of Tada with the arrangement of Momiuchi, as a means to seal the driver IC, preventing defects or contaminants such as dust (Momiuchi, ¶ 0074).
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AAPA in view of Tada and Nakagawa as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Yasukawa.
Regarding claim 30, AAPA in view of Tada and Nakagawa teaches the device of claim 21, including at least one flexible PCB (Tada, 22/240 and an LED array (AAPA, 10).
AAPA in view of Tada and Nakagawa does not teach wherein an upper face of the at least one flexible PCB is no higher than an emission face of the LED array.
Yasukawa teaches a display device (¶ 0049 & figs. 2-6 among others: 40/50) wherein an upper face of a flexible PCB (50) is no higher than an emission face of an LED array (figs. 3-6: upper face of 50 is no higher than emission face of pixel array in area 42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the flexible PCB with the relative height of Yasukawa, as a means to minimize height of the display device, providing a compact device with low profile.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 23, 26 and 29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art fails to teach or clearly suggest the limitations stating:
“the at least one flexible PCB comprises a collar extending about a periphery of the driver IC, the collar having inner edges adjacent the driver IC and outer edges spaced outward from the driver IC” as recited in claims 23, 26 and 29.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5, 7-8, 11, 19, 21-22, 24-25, 27-28 and 30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/BRIAN TURNER/Examiner, Art Unit 2818