DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the components of the driver being mounted onto the flexible PCB must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The claim 1 recitation “…the plurality of fourth contact pad of the circuit board…” contains an apparent typographic error, and should read:
“…the plurality of fourth contact pads of the circuit board…”.
The claim 19 recitation “…an array of light-emitting diode (LED) emitter…” contains an apparent typographic error, and should read:
“…an array of light-emitting diode (LED) emitters…”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5, 7-8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation " the plurality of fourth contacts pads of the flexible PCB" in line 25. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites a flexible PCB with second and third contact pads in lines 14-18, and a circuit board with a plurality of fourth contact pads in lines 4-6. Therefore, the recitation of fourth contacts pads of the flexible PCB lacks proper antecedent basis, rendering the scope of claim 1 indefinite.
For the purposes of compact prosecution, the Examiner has interpreted claim 1 to mean:
“…each of the plurality of fourth contact pads of the circuit board being bonded to a
corresponding one of the plurality of second or third contact pads of the flexible PCB.”
Claims 2-5, 7-8 and 11 depend on claim 1, and are rejected under 35 USC § 112(b) for implicitly including the indefinite subject matter above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-8, 11 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Applicant Admitted Prior Art (¶¶ 0011, 0047 & fig. 6 of the instant specification, hereinafter referenced as ‘AAPA’) in view of Tada (PG Pub. No. US 2015/0303219 A1).
Regarding claim 1, AAPA teaches a device (AAPA, fig. 6) comprising:
a heat spreader (¶ 0047: 61) comprising a top surface and a bottom surface opposite the top surface (fig. 6: 61 comprises opposing top and bottom surfaces);
a circuit board (¶ 0047: 20) defining an opening completely through a thickness thereof (fig. 6: opening through entire thickness of 20), the circuit board having a top surface, a bottom surface opposite the top surface (fig. 6), and a plurality of fourth contacts pads (¶ 0047: 11c) on the top surface (fig. 6: 11c disposed on top surface of 20), the bottom surface of the circuit board being over the top surface of the heat spreader (fig. 6: bottom surface of 20 disposed over top surface of 61); and
a lighting device (¶ 0047: 6) comprising:
a top surface,
a bottom surface opposite the top surface, and
a plurality of first contact pads (11c) on the top surface (fig. 6: 6 includes a plurality of 11c on top surface),
wherein the bottom surface of the lighting device is on the top surface of the heat spreader and within the opening in the circuit board (fig. 6: bottom surface of 6 on top surface of 61 an in opening of 20).
AAPA does not teach the device further comprising at least one flexible printed circuit board (PCB) comprising:
a bottom surface,
a top surface opposite the bottom surface,
a plurality of second contact pads on the bottom surface,
a plurality of third contact pads on the bottom surface, and
a plurality of contact bridges, each of the plurality of contact bridges extending from one of the plurality of second contact pads to one of the plurality of third contact pads,
each of the plurality first contact pads being bonded to a corresponding one of the plurality of second contact pads of the flexible PCB, and
each of the plurality of fourth contact pad of the circuit board being bonded to a corresponding one of the plurality of fourth contacts pads of the flexible PCB (see 35 USC § 112 rejection above, interpreted to mean second or third contact pads of the flexible PCB).
Tada teaches a device (fig. 1: 1) including at least one flexible printed circuit board (PCB) (¶¶ 0057, 0071: 22 and/or 24) comprising:
a bottom surface (figs. 3-4: bottom surface of 22/24),
a top surface opposite the bottom surface (fig. 3: top surface of 22/24),
a plurality of second contact pads (¶ 0059: terminals 34) on the bottom surface (figs. 3-4: 34 disposed on bottom surface of 22),
a plurality of third contact pads (¶ 0059: terminals 35) on the bottom surface (figs. 3-4: 35 disposed on bottom surface of 22), and
a plurality of contact bridges (¶ 0053: wiring lines 25), each of the plurality of contact bridges extending from one of the plurality of second contact pads to one of the plurality of third contact pads (fig. 4: each 25 extends from 34 to corresponding 35),
each of a plurality first contact pads (¶ 0059: 38) on a top surface of a lighting device (¶ 0049: top surface of 1, including a backlight) being bonded to a corresponding one of the plurality of second contact pads of the flexible PCB (fig. 3: 38 bonded to 34), and
each of a plurality of fourth contact pad[s] (¶ 0072: 52) of a circuit board (¶ 0072: wiring substrate 24) being bonded to a corresponding one of the plurality of second or third contact pads of the flexible PCB (figs. 3-7: 52 electrically bonded to 35 through pads 44/45 and wiring lines 26 of wiring substrate 23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the device of AAPA with the flexible wiring substrate of Tada, as a means to prevent an undue increase in the area and facilitating miniaturization of the device (Tada, ¶ 0009).
Regarding claim 2, AAPA in view of Tada teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the lighting device comprises an array of LEDs on a driver integrated circuit (IC) (AAPA, ¶ 0047 & fig. 6: LED array 10 disposed on driver IC 11), and the first contact pads are on a top surface of the driver IC (AAPA, fig. 6: 11c disposed on top surface of 11).
Regarding claim 3, AAPA in view of Tada teaches the device of claim 2, wherein part of the circuitry for driving the array of LEDs is on the driver IC (AAPA, fig. 6: portion of 11 overlapping 6/10) and another part of the circuitry for driving the array of LEDs is on the top surface of the flexible PCB (Tada, figs. 1-3 among others: wiring portions of T disposed on top surface of flexible PCB 22/24).
Regarding claim 4, AAPA in view of Tada teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the flexible PCB is single layer carrier (Tada, 22 comprises a single layer), and the plurality of contact bridges are on the bottom surface of the flexible PCB (Tada, figs. 3-4: 25 disposed on a bottom surface of 22).
Regarding claim 5, AAPA in view of Tada teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the flexible PCB is a multi-layer carrier (Tada, 22/24 comprise multiple layers), and the plurality of contact bridges are embedded in the flexible PCB on an internal layer (figs. 3: 25 embedded between 22 and 24).
Regarding claim 7, AAPA in view of Tada teaches the device of claim 1claim 6, wherein the heat spreader further comprises a raised seat (AAPA, fig. 6: 61 comprises a raised seat), and the bottom surface of the lighting device is mechanically coupled to a top surface of the raised seat (AAPA, fig. 6: bottom surface of 6 mechanically coupled to raised seat of 61).
Regarding claim 8, AAPA in view of Tada teaches the device of claim 7, further comprising a thermal bond between the bottom surface of the lighting device and the top surface of the raised seat (AAPA, ¶ 0047 & fig. 6: bottom of 6 bonded to 61, and 61 comprises a heat sink. Therefore, the broadest reasonable interpretation of “a thermal bond” is met).
Regarding claim 11, AAPA in view of Tada teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the at least one flexible PCB comprises two or more flexible PCBs (Tada, flexible PCB’s 22 and 24).
Regarding claim 19, AAPA teaches an automotive lighting system comprising:
a lighting device (¶ 0047: 6) comprising aa array of light-emitting diode (LED) emitter (10) and having:
a top surface (fig. 6: top surface of 6 and/or 10),
a bottom surface opposite the top surface (fig. 6: bottom surface of 6 and/or 10), and
a plurality of first contact pads on the top surface (fig. 6: 11c disposed on top surface of 6/10); and
a driver configured to independently drive groups of the emitters (¶ 0047: driver IC 11), at least some components of the driver being on the lighting device (fig. 6: at least a portion of 11 disposed on 6/10).
AAPA does not teach the device further comprising at least one flexible printed circuit board (PCB) comprising:
a bottom surface,
a top surface opposite the bottom surface,
a plurality of second contact pads on the bottom surface,
a plurality of third contact pads on the bottom surface, and
a plurality of contact bridges, each of the plurality of contact bridges extending from one of the plurality of second contact pads to one of the plurality of third contact pads,
each of the plurality first contact pads being bonded to a corresponding one of the plurality of second contact pads of the flexible PCB, and
at least some components of the driver being mounted onto the flexible PCB.
Tada teaches a device (fig. 1: 1) including at least one flexible printed circuit board (PCB) (¶¶ 0057, 0071: 22 and/or 24) comprising:
a bottom surface (figs. 3-4: bottom surface of 22/24),
a top surface opposite the bottom surface (fig. 3: top surface of 22/24),
a plurality of second contact pads (¶ 0059: terminals 34) on the bottom surface (figs. 3-4: 34 disposed on bottom surface of 22),
a plurality of third contact pads (¶ 0059: terminals 35) on the bottom surface (figs. 3-4: 35 disposed on bottom surface of 22), and
a plurality of contact bridges (¶ 0053: wiring lines 25), each of the plurality of contact bridges extending from one of the plurality of second contact pads to one of the plurality of third contact pads (fig. 4: each 25 extends from 34 to corresponding 35),
each of a plurality first contact pads (¶ 0059: 38) on a top surface of a lighting device (¶ 0049: top surface of 1, including a backlight) being bonded to a corresponding one of the plurality of second contact pads of the flexible PCB (fig. 3: 38 bonded to 34), and
a driver (¶ 0039: T) configured to independently drive groups of the emitters (¶ 0053 & fig. 1: T connected to wiring lines for at least indirect control of lighting elements), at least some components of the driver being on the lighting device (fig. 1: driver wirings at least indirectly on 6) at least some components of the driver being mounted onto the flexible PCB (fig. 1: T mounted on flexible PCB 24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the device of AAPA with the flexible wiring substrate of Tada, as a means to prevent an undue increase in the area and facilitating miniaturization of the device (Tada, ¶ 0009).
Regarding claim 20, AAPA in view of Tada teaches the automotive lighting system of claim 19, wherein:
the lighting device comprises a driver integrated circuit (IC) (AAPA, 11) mechanically and electrically coupled to the bottom surface of the lighting device (fig. 6: 11 electrically coupled to bottom surface of 6/10), and
the at least some components of the driver that are on the lighting device are on the driver IC (AAPA, fig. 6: portion of 11 overlaps 6/10),
the at least some of the components of the driver that are on the flexible PCB are on the top surface of the flexible PCB (Tada, figs. 1-3 among others: wiring portions of T disposed on top surface of flexible PCB 22/24).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AAPA in view of Tada and Nakagawa (PG Pub. No. US 2018/0368662 A1).
Regarding claim 21, AAPA teaches an augmented device (fig. 6) comprising:
a lighting device (¶ 0047: 6) comprising:
a light-emitting diode (LED) array (10) mounted directly on top of a complementary metal-oxide semiconductor (CMOS) integrated circuit (IC) driver (¶ 0047 & fig. 6: 10 mounted directly on top of driver IC 11), and
a plurality of gold bumps (11c) on a top surface of the CMOS IC driver (fig. 6: 11c disposed on top surface of 11).
AAPA does not teach at least one flexible printed circuit board (PCB) comprising:
a bottom surface,
a top surface opposite the bottom surface,
a plurality of first contact pads on the bottom surface,
a plurality of second contact pads on the bottom surface, and
a plurality of contact bridges, each of the plurality of contact bridges extending from one of the plurality of first contact pads to one of the plurality of second contact pads,
each of the plurality of gold bumps being bonded to a corresponding one of the plurality of second contact pads of the flexible PCB and surrounded by an underfill material, establishing permanent bonds between the CMOS IC driver and the flexible PCB.
Tada teaches a device (fig. 1: 1) including at least one flexible printed circuit board (PCB) (¶¶ 0057, 0071: 22 and/or 24) comprising:
a bottom surface (figs. 3-4: bottom surface of 22/24),
a top surface opposite the bottom surface (fig. 3: top surface of 22/24),
a plurality of first contact pads (¶ 0059: terminals 34) on the bottom surface (figs. 3-4: 34 disposed on bottom surface of 22),
a plurality of second contact pads (¶ 0059: terminals 35) on the bottom surface (figs. 3-4: 35 disposed on bottom surface of 22), and
a plurality of contact bridges (¶ 0053: wiring lines 25), each of the plurality of contact bridges extending from one of the plurality of first contact pads to one of the plurality of second contact pads (fig. 4: each 25 extends from 34 to corresponding 35),
each of a plurality contact pads (¶ 0059: 38) on a top surface of a lighting device (¶ 0049: top surface of 1, including a backlight) being bonded to a corresponding one of the plurality of second contact pads of the flexible PCB (fig. 3: 38 bonded to 34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the device of AAPA with the flexible wiring substrate of Tada, as a means to prevent an undue increase in the area and facilitating miniaturization of the device (Tada, ¶ 0009).
AAPA in view of Tada does not teach each of the plurality of gold bumps being surrounded by an underfill material, establishing permanent bonds between the CMOS IC driver and the flexible PCB.
Nakagawa teaches gold bumps of a flexible PCB being surrounded by an underfill material (¶ 0028).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the device of AAPA in view of Tada with the underfill of Nakagawa, as a means to provide a bonding agent for securing connection of the flexible PCB.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5, 7-8, 11 and 19-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Liu et al. (US 2021/0398955 A1) teaches a device (fig. 1 among others) including a lighting device (04), a circuit board (052), and a flexible printed circuit board (051).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN TURNER/ Examiner, Art Unit 2818