Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Doi does not describe thermally annealing the capped film at a temperature under conditions forming the Mg-B composite into a MgB2 film having an increased grain size.
However, the claim amendments do not describe a grain size value such that any grain size described or inferred by Doi meets this limitation.
Applicant argues that Doi does not describe controlling a hold time at the temperature for a time long enough to promote growth of grains fo the MgB2 as recited in claim 15.
However, as described below: Doi teaches that the thickness of 1-100 nm (para. 0072). Additionally, it appears that the thickness of the cap layer and any hold time contemplated by Doi meets the limitation of promoting growth of grains (columnar grains; abstract). Additionally, it appears that the thickness of the cap layer in Doi meets the limitation of avoiding escape of Mg through the capping layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8, 9, 12, 15-17, 19, 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1/a2 as being anticipated by Doi (US 2017/0301444).
Regarding claims 8 and 16; Doi teaches a method of making a film comprising MgB2 (abstract) comprising depositing Mg and B on a substrate to form an Mg-B composite (para. 0059), depositing a capping layer to form a capped film (para. 0072-0073) wherein the capping layer has a first melting temperature higher than a second melting temperature of Mg (Ta meets this limitation; para. 0072-0073), thermally annealing the capped film (para. 0075-0077), and cooling the capped film so that a MgB2 film is made (Doi teaches that the film heating has a specific duration such that the film would necessarily be cooled from the heat treatment; para. 0105).
Regarding claim 9, Doi teaches that the ratio of Mg to B is 1 to 2 (para. 0064). Additionally, applicant’s specification states that the ratio is 1 to 2. See specification at page 10, lines 15-30. As the ratio of Mg to B in Doi is substantially similar to that of the claimed invention, it appears that the resistivity of Doi would substantially overlap with the claimed resistivity. Doi teaches that the critical temperature is 33.5 K (para. 0086).
Regarding claim 12, Doi teaches that the depositing comprises electron beam VD (para. 0061).
Regarding claim 15, 17, Doi teaches that the thickness of 1-100 nm (para. 0072). Additionally, it appears that the thickness of the cap layer and any hold time contemplated by Doi meets the limitation of promoting growth of grains (columnar grains; abstract). Additionally, it appears that the thickness of the cap layer in Doi meets the limitation of avoiding escape of Mg through the capping layer.
Regarding claim 19, Doi teaches that the Mg and B are co-deposited (para. 0059).
Regarding claims 21-22, Doi teaches that the depositing the Mg and B is sputtering (para. 0059-0061).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doi (US 2017/0301444) in view of EP 1310584 and WO 2014/135893.
Doi teaches a method as described above in claim 8, but fails to teach depositing alternating layers of the B and Mg under magnesium rich conditions.
893, however, teaches a method of making MgB2 wires (abstract, page 4, lines 5-20) wherein MgB2 is formed in excessive Mg for the purpose of creating greater connectivity (page 18, lines 1-15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide MgB2 is formed in excessive Mg in Doi in order to create greater connectivity as taught by 893.
Additionally, 584 teaches a method of making MgB2 wires (abstract) wherein Mg and B are alternately deposited on top of each other for the purpose of forming pronounced anisotropy (page 2, column 2, lines 33-50).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide Mg and B are alternately deposited on top of each other in Doi in order to form pronounced anisotropy as taught by 584.
Additionally, Doi teaches that the critical temperature is 33.5 K (para. 0086). Therefore, it appears that the limitation of the thickness of the MgB2 film selected to increase a critical temperature above 15 K is met.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10, 11, 13, 18, 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAUL A WARTALOWICZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735