DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Note
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs/columns and line numbers or figures in the references as applied to the claims below for convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations with the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to the Applicant’s definition which is not specifically set forth in the claims.
Information Disclosure Statements
The Information Disclosure Statement(s) (IDS) filed on 12/04/2025 has/have been acknowledged.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Application
The list of claims 1-23 as included in the Applicant’s “Amendment Submitted/Entered with Filing of Continued Prosecution Application (CPA)/Request for Continued Examination(RCE)” is pending in this application. In the claim set filed 12/23/2025:
Claim(s) 1, 7, 18 and 23 has/have been amended.
Claim(s) 12, 15, 19-22 was/were indicated as previously presented.
Claim(s) 2-5, 9-11, 13, 14, 16, 17 was/were indicated as originally presented.
Claim(s) 6 and 8 remain(s) withdrawn.
Claim(s) 1, 18 and 23 is/are the independent claim(s) identified.
Response to Arguments
With respect to Applicant’s remarks filed on 12/23/2025; Applicant's “Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment” have been fully considered. Applicant’s remarks will be addressed in sequential order as they were presented.
Due to the nature of the applicant’s amendments to claims 1, 18 and 23, the scope of the applicant’s invention has changed and thus requires new analysis and new application of prior art, as mapped below in the Non-Final Office Action, and the previous remarks based on the previous claim set and mapping is now rendered moot. As a result, the original rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. § 103 for claim(s) 1-5, 7, and 9-23 has/have been withdrawn.
Examiner’s Note: The withdrawal of the above rejection(s) for claim(s) 1-5, 7, and 9-23 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 is based exclusively on the Applicant’s amendment to claims 1, 18 and 23 reciting: “including two or more of: moisture content; quality of the product; protein amount; oil content; and product damage.”
The Applicant’s arguments on pages 11 and 12 of the “Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment” are not persuasive, and have already been addressed in the previous Advisory Action filed 12/16/2025, wherein the Examiner cited specific portions of Belser, including but not limited Fig. 1 and ¶: 0031-0033 clearly demonstrating that Belser discloses: “when the product storage level monitoring component activates the alert that indicates a grain transport container is deployed to the harvester, and when the grain transport container reaches the loading (off-loading) position for the harvester, the loading (offloading) procedure is automatically activated between the harvester and transport container.” The Applicant has not provided any argument pertaining to these cited passages, and how the Applicant’s claimed invention overcomes/differentiates from the at least cited passages, and therefore, the Examiner cannot find their argument persuasive.
Office Note: Due to applicant’s amendments, further claim rejections appear on the record as stated in the Non-Final Office Action below.
Non-Final Office Action
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a data collection module, which, during operation of an agricultural vehicle, collects real- time data indicative of: a location of the agricultural vehicle over time” and “a data aggregation component that aggregates the collected attribute of the product” in claim(s) 18.
The claim limitations presented above has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use generic placeholder(s) “module” and/or “component” respectively coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
In Fig. 1 as well as accompanying paragraph(s) 0017 of the Applicant’s specification, the Applicant describes the structure of the “data collection module” as follows: “In this implementation, the system 100 can comprise a data collection module 102, which, during operation of an agricultural vehicle 150 collects real-time data 120. The real-time data 120 can be indicative of a location of the agricultural vehicle 150 over time, and an amount of product disposed in a storage container 152 in the agricultural vehicle 150 over time. That is, for example, the data collection module 102 can comprise a computer processor 104 and of memory 106, where instructions 108 for collecting and processing data are stored in the memory 106, and processed by the processor 104.”
As a result, the examiner has interpreted the structure of the “data collection module” as including, but not necessarily limited to, any generic computing device that may implement software in order to achieve the claimed functionality.
In Fig. 6A, 6B, 7A and 7B as well as accompanying paragraph(s) 0035 of the Applicant’s specification, the Applicant describes the structure of the “data aggregation component” as follows: “As described herein, the Harvester (e.g., or planter, etc.) can communicate with the field cart, and with the trailer, etc., locally through local wireless networking and/or remotely thorough a remote wireless network (e.g., Internet, Cloud). In some implementations, load tracking and data aggregation can occur in the cloud, using databases and data aggregation systems (e.g., programs) to identify where, when, what, etc. for the products comping from the field and going to the field. Additional data can be aggregated including grain dryer status, grain elevator weights, elevator wait times, bin capacities, and more.”
As a result, the examiner has interpreted the structure of the “data aggregation component” as including, but not necessarily limited to, any generic computing device that may implement software in order to achieve the claimed functionality.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5 and 9-18 is/are rejected are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Belser et al. (German Patent Publication DE 10 2011120402) in view of Beck et al. (United States Patent Publication 2006/0190494 A1), referenced as Belser and Beck, respectively, moving forward.
With respect to claim 1, Belser discloses:
“A method for automatic load tracking and logistics for agricultural-related products, comprising: during operation of an agricultural vehicle, collecting real-time data indicative of: a location of the agricultural vehicle over time” [Belser; "Reaching of the loading position by the transport machine 102 is detected by a suitable positioning device and indicated by a coupling signal. For example, a current position and speed of the work machine 100 can be compared with a current position and speed of the transport machine 102. For this purpose, the transport machine 100 may have a device for transmitting real position data or position data relating to the trajectory of the approach route 118 to the positioning device. The device 104 is configured to receive the coupling signal. In response to the coupling signal, the device 104 is configured to output a charging signal to charging devices of the work machine 100 and the transport machine 102 in order to start a transfer process between the work machine 100 and the transport machine 102;" Fig.1; ¶: 0033; See also: ¶: 0051];
“and an amount of product disposed in a storage container in the agricultural vehicle over time” [Belser; "The harvester can signal a need to transport crops when an intermediate storage facility for the crops exceeds a predetermined fill level. The construction machine can signal the need for transport when an intermediate storage falls below a predetermined fill level;" ¶: 0008; See also: ¶: 0016, 0052];
“upon automatic determination that the amount of product disposed in the vehicle storage container has reached a first predetermined level: activating an alert that indicates deployment of a mobile product transport container to the agricultural vehicle;” [Belser; "The harvester can signal a need to transport crops when an intermediate storage facility for the crops exceeds a predetermined fill level. The construction machine can signal the need for transport when an intermediate storage falls below a predetermined fill level;" ¶: 0008; See also: ¶: 0016, 0052];
“upon automatic detection of the mobile product transport container reaching a product loading position with regard to the agricultural vehicle, activating a loading signal indicative of initiation of loading procedure between the agricultural vehicle and the mobile product transport container” [Belser; "Reaching of the loading position by the transport machine 102 is detected by a suitable positioning device and indicated by a coupling signal. For example, a current position and speed of the work machine 100 can be compared with a current position and speed of the transport machine 102. For this purpose, the transport machine 100 may have a device for transmitting real position data or position data relating to the trajectory of the approach route 118 to the positioning device. The device 104 is configured to receive the coupling signal. In response to the coupling signal, the device 104 is configured to output a charging signal to charging devices of the work machine 100 and the transport machine 102 in order to start a transfer process between the work machine 100 and the transport machine 102;" Fig.1; ¶: 0033; See also: ¶: 0030-0032, 0051];
“and upon automatic detection of the amount of product disposed in a storage container reaching a second predetermined level, activating a loading deactivation signal indicative of deactivating of the loading procedure between the agricultural vehicle and the mobile product transport container” [Belser; "The control signal can guide a transport machine with existing loading capacity for the transported goods to the work machine, and the loading process can be carried out until a predetermined transport quantity of the transport machine for the transported goods is reached or there is no longer any need for transport. A predetermined loading quantity can, for example, be a loading quantity at which sufficient loading capacity is still available to operate the work machine without interruption until the transport machine is in the loading position. The loading process can be interrupted when the transport machine is full or the work machine is empty;" ¶: 0016; See also: Fig. 1; ¶: 0030-0033].
Belser does not specifically state:
“and a measured product attribute of the product in the storage container of the agricultural vehicle, including two or more of: moisture content; quality of the product; protein amount; oil content; and product damage;”
“and aggregating the collected attribute of the product using the collected data indicative of the measured product attribute.”
Beck, which is in the same field of invention of control systems/methods for collecting harvesting data, teaches:
“and a measured product attribute of the product in the storage container of the agricultural vehicle, including two or more of: moisture content; quality of the product; protein amount; oil content; and product damage” [Beck; "In step S199, before, during or after harvesting of an agricultural product, product characteristics or agricultural production information (e.g., harvesting data) is gathered or otherwise obtained for storage. The harvesting data may comprise one or more of the following: a harvesting time, a harvesting date, crop attribute, product attributes, moisture content, yield, harvested weight, harvester data, and load identifier. A producer has the opportunity to monitor the quality of an agricultural product during the harvesting process or otherwise;" Fig. 3; ¶: 0066;
"In one embodiment, the product characteristics may represent crop attributes, specifications or properties that are sensed by sensors associated with or incorporated into a harvesting machine or combine. The sensors of the harvesting machine may create harvesting data that is associated with a load identifier, a date, a time, and a product identifier. The product characteristics may include the moisture level of the crop, the weight of the crop, the oil content of the crop, the nutritional value of the crop or other information;" ¶: 0067];
“and aggregating the collected attribute of the product using the collected data indicative of the measured product attribute” [Beck; In at least the paragraphs and figures cited, Beck discloses forming a "collective data profile" which comprises the previously disclosed crop attributes including but not limited to one or more of: "the harvesting date, the harvesting location, yield of the harvested particular crop, moisture content of the harvested particular crop, the physical condition of the harvested particular crop, various settings of the harvesting machinery or machine, a measure of a particular trait or characteristic of the crop, and an storage identifier of one or more storage volumes into which the harvested particular crop is or was loaded. If a data profile contains different classifications (e.g., planting information, growing information, and harvesting information, chemical application information, and weather information) of crop data or a combination of production information, processing information, and manufacturing information;" ¶: 0026; wherein the disclosed "collective data profile" has been interpreted as patentably indistinct from the Applicant's broadly recited "aggregating the collected attribute of the product;" See also: ¶: 0027-0032].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system/method for coordinating control of one or more agricultural harvesting machines and one or more transport machines as disclosed by Belser to incorporate the teachings regarding aggregating a plurality of crop attributes to form collective data profiles of harvested crops during the harvesting process as taught by Beck with a reasonable expectation of success. By combining these two inventions, the outcome is a system/method for controlling transfer of materials between harvesting machines and transport machines that is more robust in its ability to “accurately identity crops with specific crop attributes throughout the growing, distribution, and production of crops and any products derived therefrom” and further enables “a purchaser of an agricultural product or a crop” “to trace the identity of the crop with specific crop attributes to verify the presence of the crop attributes as a condition for a commercial transaction” [Beck; ¶: 0003-0006, 0067].
With respect to claim 2, Belser discloses: “wherein the first predetermined level is a high level of product filled into the storage container of the agricultural vehicle during product collection that is indicative of an initiation of an offloading procedure, wherein the initiation of the offloading procedure provides sufficient time for the product to be offloaded to the mobile product transport container while product collection continues” [Belser; In at least the paragraphs and figures cited, Belser discloses performing a real-time transfer between a work machine, 100 (patentably indistinct from the Applicant's "agricultural vehicle") and a transport machine, 102 (patentably indistinct from the Applicant's "mobile transport container"). Belser further discloses that a loading position is used to generate a trajectory for the transport machine to reach the work machine and perform the transfer of goods. Belser further discloses, that the work machine continues to operate along its planned trajectory (see, for example, 112 in Fig. 1) during the transfer process, with the exception being, temporary interruptions in the transfer process when navigating a bend/turn as follows: "As a result, the loading process can be interrupted and the transport machine 102 can, for example, maintain an increased distance from the work machine 100 during the change of direction. After the work machine 100 has changed direction, the transport machine 102 can move into a loading position again and the loading process can continue;" ¶: 0034; See also: ¶: 0030-0033].
With respect to claim 5, Belser discloses: “wherein the second predetermined level is a low level of product in the storage container of the agricultural vehicle indicative of a substantially empty container” [Belser; "The control signal can guide a transport machine with existing loading capacity for the transported goods to the work machine, and the loading process can be carried out until a predetermined transport quantity of the transport machine for the transported goods is reached or there is no longer any need for transport. A predetermined loading quantity can, for example, be a loading quantity at which sufficient loading capacity is still available to operate the work machine without interruption until the transport machine is in the loading position. The loading process can be interrupted when the transport machine is full or the work machine is empty;" ¶: 0016; See also: Fig. 1; ¶: 0030-0033].
With respect to claim 9, Belser discloses: “the collecting of real-time data occurring on a remote-based computing system coupled with the agricultural vehicle by a wireless network” [Belser; Belser discloses coordinating "transport logistics" using a coordination device, denoted as 104 in Fig. 1. While 104, is depicted as on-board in Fig. 1, Belser further discloses: "Alternatively, the coordination device 104 may be arranged in the transport machine 102 or separately from the work machine 100 and the transport machine 102;" ¶: 0028. Besler further discloses in Fig. 3 and accompanying ¶: 0044 that: "The transmission interface 304 is configured to transmit the control signal 310 and the charging signal 312. The control signal 310 is, for example, sent wirelessly to the transport machine in order to guide the transport machine. The charging signal 312 is sent, for example, wirelessly or wired to a charging device to initiate the charging process;" See also: ¶: 0041-0043].
With respect to claim 10, Belser discloses: “the activating of the alert performed by the remote-based computing system, and transmitted to an operator of the mobile product transport container using the wireless network” [Belser; "A control device for guiding the transport machine may be a self-propelled device that steers the transport machine using the control signal. Likewise, the control unit can be a human machine interface that provides driving instructions to a driver of the transport machine;" ¶: 0020].
With respect to claim 11, Belser discloses: “comprising automatically detecting that the mobile product transport container has reached the product loading position using one or more of: a proximity beacon disposed on the mobile product transport container; a camera disposed on the agricultural vehicle; a scanner disposed on the agricultural vehicle; and vehicle position data provided for the mobile product transport container” [Belser; "Reaching of the loading position by the transport machine 102 is detected by a suitable positioning device and indicated by a coupling signal. For example, a current position and speed of the work machine 100 can be compared with a current position and speed of the transport machine 102. For this purpose, the transport machine 100 may have a device for transmitting real position data or position data relating to the trajectory of the approach route 118 to the positioning device. The device 104 is configured to receive the coupling signal. In response to the coupling signal, the device 104 is configured to output a charging signal to charging devices of the work machine 100 and the transport machine 102 in order to start a transfer process between the work machine 100 and the transport machine 102;" Fig. 1; ¶: 0033].
With respect to claim 12, Belser discloses: “comprising, during the operation of the agricultural vehicle, collecting real-time data indicative of a condition of the product in the storage container of the agricultural vehicle, including one or more of: a product type; a ratio of product to other-than-product; and a location of collection” [Belser; In at least the Figures and paragraphs cited, Belser discloses monitoring the position of the work vehicle as it collects product, denoted 100 in Figure 1 for example, using GPS; Fig. 1; ¶: 0033, 0051].
With respect to claim 13, Belser discloses: “comprising collecting of real-time data indicative of a condition of the product using the remote-based computing system coupled with the agricultural vehicle by the wireless network” [Belser; In at least the Figures and paragraphs cited, Belser discloses monitoring the position of the work vehicle as it collects product, denoted 100 in Figure 1 for example, using GPS; Fig. 1; ¶: 0033, 0051].
With respect to claim 14, Belser does not specifically state: “comprising aggregating the collected product using the collected data indicative of the condition of the product.”
Beck teaches: “comprising aggregating the collected product using the collected data indicative of the condition of the product” [Beck; In at least the paragraphs and figures cited, Beck discloses forming a "collective data profile" which comprises the previously disclosed crop attributes including but not limited to: "the physical condition of the harvested particular crop;" ¶: 0026; See also: ¶: 0027-0032].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system/method for coordinating control of one or more agricultural harvesting machines and one or more transport machines as disclosed by Belser to incorporate the teachings regarding aggregating a plurality of crop attributes to form collective data profiles of harvested crops during the harvesting process as taught by Beck with a reasonable expectation of success. By combining these two inventions, the outcome is a system/method for controlling transfer of materials between harvesting machines and transport machines that is more robust in its ability to “accurately identity crops with specific crop attributes throughout the growing, distribution, and production of crops and any products derived therefrom” and further enables “a purchaser of an agricultural product or a crop” “to trace the identity of the crop with specific crop attributes to verify the presence of the crop attributes as a condition for a commercial transaction” [Beck; ¶: 0003-0006, 0067].
With respect to claim 15, Belser discloses: “comprising detecting a state of a product transfer device, and generating transfer state data indicative of the state of the product transfer device” [Belser; "For example, the transport machine can travel sideways next to the work machine at a specified distance and/or angle to the work machine. A loading device, such as a conveyor belt, a fuel supply device or a screw conveyor, can bridge the distance between the transport machine and the work machine. When the transport machine is in the loading position, the transport machine or the work machine can send the coupling signal;" ¶: 0008].
With respect to claim 16, Belser discloses: “the collected real-time data indicative of the condition of the product automatically associated with the mobile product transport container upon initiation of the loading procedure” [Belser; "Reaching of the loading position by the transport machine 102 is detected by a suitable positioning device and indicated by a coupling signal. For example, a current position and speed of the work machine 100 can be compared with a current position and speed of the transport machine 102. For this purpose, the transport machine 100 may have a device for transmitting real position data or position data relating to the trajectory of the approach route 118 to the positioning device. The device 104 is configured to receive the coupling signal. In response to the coupling signal, the device 104 is configured to output a charging signal to charging devices of the work machine 100 and the transport machine 102 in order to start a transfer process between the work machine 100 and the transport machine 102;" Fig.1; ¶: 0033; See also: ¶: 0030-0032, 0051].
With respect to claim 17, Belser discloses: “the loading procedure between the agricultural vehicle and the mobile product transport container comprising one of: an offloading of the product from the agricultural vehicle to the mobile product transport container; or a loading of the product from the mobile product transport container to the agricultural vehicle” [Belser; "The control signal can guide a transport machine with existing loading capacity for the transported goods to the work machine, and the loading process can be carried out until a predetermined transport quantity of the transport machine for the transported goods is reached or there is no longer any need for transport. A predetermined loading quantity can, for example, be a loading quantity at which sufficient loading capacity is still available to operate the work machine without interruption until the transport machine is in the loading position. The loading process can be interrupted when the transport machine is full or the work machine is empty;" ¶: 0016; See also: Fig. 1; ¶: 0030-0033].
With respect to claim 18, Belser discloses:
“A system for automatic load tracking and logistics, comprising: a data collection module, which, during operation of an agricultural vehicle, collects real- time data indicative of: a location of the agricultural vehicle over time” [Belser; "Reaching of the loading position by the transport machine 102 is detected by a suitable positioning device and indicated by a coupling signal. For example, a current position and speed of the work machine 100 can be compared with a current position and speed of the transport machine 102. For this purpose, the transport machine 100 may have a device for transmitting real position data or position data relating to the trajectory of the approach route 118 to the positioning device. The device 104 is configured to receive the coupling signal. In response to the coupling signal, the device 104 is configured to output a charging signal to charging devices of the work machine 100 and the transport machine 102 in order to start a transfer process between the work machine 100 and the transport machine 102;" Fig.1; ¶: 0033; See also: ¶: 0051];
“and an amount of product disposed in a storage container in the agricultural vehicle over time” [Belser; "The harvester can signal a need to transport crops when an intermediate storage facility for the crops exceeds a predetermined fill level. The construction machine can signal the need for transport when an intermediate storage falls below a predetermined fill level;" ¶: 0008; See also: ¶: 0016, 0052];
“a product storage level monitoring component, comprising a sensor that detects a level of product disposed in the storage container of the agricultural vehicle, wherein, upon the sensor detecting that the amount of product disposed in the storage container has reached a first predetermined level, the product storage level monitoring component: activates an alert that indicates deployment of a mobile product transport container to the agricultural vehicle” [Belser; "The harvester can signal a need to transport crops when an intermediate storage facility for the crops exceeds a predetermined fill level. The construction machine can signal the need for transport when an intermediate storage falls below a predetermined fill level;" ¶: 0008.
Belser further discloses: "The work machine100 may have a sensor configured to detect the fill level of the buffer and provide a corresponding signal to the control unit 114;" ¶: 0030; See also: ¶: 0016, 0052];
“upon automatic detection of the mobile product transport container reaching a product loading position with regard to the agricultural vehicle, automatically activates a loading procedure between the agricultural vehicle and the mobile product transport container” [Belser; "Reaching of the loading position by the transport machine 102 is detected by a suitable positioning device and indicated by a coupling signal. For example, a current position and speed of the work machine 100 can be compared with a current position and speed of the transport machine 102. For this purpose, the transport machine 100 may have a device for transmitting real position data or position data relating to the trajectory of the approach route 118 to the positioning device. The device 104 is configured to receive the coupling signal. In response to the coupling signal, the device 104 is configured to output a charging signal to charging devices of the work machine 100 and the transport machine 102 in order to start a transfer process between the work machine 100 and the transport machine 102;" Fig.1; ¶: 0033; See also: ¶: 0051];
“and upon automatic detection of the amount of product disposed in a storage container reaching a second predetermined level, automatically deactivates the loading procedure between the agricultural vehicle and the mobile product transport container” [Belser; "The control signal can guide a transport machine with existing loading capacity for the transported goods to the work machine, and the loading process can be carried out until a predetermined transport quantity of the transport machine for the transported goods is reached or there is no longer any need for transport. A predetermined loading quantity can, for example, be a loading quantity at which sufficient loading capacity is still available to operate the work machine without interruption until the transport machine is in the loading position. The loading process can be interrupted when the transport machine is full or the work machine is empty;" ¶: 0016; See also: Fig. 1; ¶: 0033].
Belser does not specifically state:
“and a measured product attribute of the product in the storage container of the agricultural vehicle, including one or more of: moisture content; quality of the product; protein amount; oil content; and product damage;”
“and a data aggregation component that aggregates the collected attribute of the product using the collected data indicative of the measured product attribute.”
Beck teaches:
“and a measured product attribute of the product in the storage container of the agricultural vehicle, including two or more of: moisture content; quality of the product; protein amount; oil content; and product damage” [Beck; "In step S199, before, during or after harvesting of an agricultural product, product characteristics or agricultural production information (e.g., harvesting data) is gathered or otherwise obtained for storage. The harvesting data may comprise one or more of the following: a harvesting time, a harvesting date, crop attribute, product attributes, moisture content, yield, harvested weight, harvester data, and load identifier. A producer has the opportunity to monitor the quality of an agricultural product during the harvesting process or otherwise;" Fig. 3; ¶: 0066;
"In one embodiment, the product characteristics may represent crop attributes, specifications or properties that are sensed by sensors associated with or incorporated into a harvesting machine or combine. The sensors of the harvesting machine may create harvesting data that is associated with a load identifier, a date, a time, and a product identifier. The product characteristics may include the moisture level of the crop, the weight of the crop, the oil content of the crop, the nutritional value of the crop or other information;" ¶: 0067];
“and a data aggregation component that aggregates the collected attribute of the product using the collected data indicative of the measured product attribute” [Beck; In at least the paragraphs and figures cited, Beck discloses forming a "collective data profile" which comprises the previously disclosed crop attributes including but not limited to one or more of: "the harvesting date, the harvesting location, yield of the harvested particular crop, moisture content of the harvested particular crop, the physical condition of the harvested particular crop, various settings of the harvesting machinery or machine, a measure of a particular trait or characteristic of the crop, and an storage identifier of one or more storage volumes into which the harvested particular crop is or was loaded. If a data profile contains different classifications (e.g., planting information, growing information, and harvesting information, chemical application information, and weather information) of crop data or a combination of production information, processing information, and manufacturing information;" ¶: 0026; wherein the disclosed "collective data profile" has been interpreted as patentably indistinct from the Applicant's broadly recited "aggregating the collected attribute of the product"].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system/method for coordinating control of one or more agricultural harvesting machines and one or more transport machines as disclosed by Belser to incorporate the teachings regarding aggregating a plurality of crop attributes to form collective data profiles of harvested crops during the harvesting process as taught by Beck with a reasonable expectation of success. By combining these two inventions, the outcome is a system/method for controlling transfer of materials between harvesting machines and transport machines that is more robust in its ability to “accurately identity crops with specific crop attributes throughout the growing, distribution, and production of crops and any products derived therefrom” and further enables “a purchaser of an agricultural product or a crop” “to trace the identity of the crop with specific crop attributes to verify the presence of the crop attributes as a condition for a commercial transaction” [Beck; ¶: 0003-0006, 0067].
Claim(s) 3, 4, 7 and 19-23 is/are rejected are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Belser in view of Beck and Koch et al. (United States Patent Publication 2020/0196526 A1), referenced as Koch moving forward.
With respect to claim 3, Belser does not specifically state: “wherein the first predetermined level is indicated by a determined product collection rate that is based at least on the amount of product disposed in the storage container over time.”
Koch, which is in the same field of invention of control systems/methods for agricultural vehicles, teaches: “wherein the first predetermined level is indicated by a determined product collection rate that is based at least on the amount of product disposed in the storage container over time” [Koch; "Accordingly, the apparatus receives, among other information/parameters, information/parameters corresponding to unloaded grain amounts at each harvesting machine, flow characteristics (e.g., unload rate, bin filling rate, etc.), lead time (e.g., time it takes grain to reach an unloading auger of an unloader tube), unload full volume delay (e.g., time it takes for the unloader tube to reach full volume), and lag time (e.g., time it takes for an unloader tube to empty or stop grain conveyance);" ¶: 0020; See also: ¶: 0025, 0028, 0031, 0039].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system/method for coordinating control of one or more agricultural harvesting machines and one or more transport machines as disclosed by Belser to incorporate the teachings regarding determining a particular amount of material to transfer as well as an order to transfer material from a plurality of harvesting machines to one or more collections vehicles as taught by Koch with a reasonable expectation of success. By combining these two inventions, the outcome is a system/method for controlling transfer of materials between harvesting machines and transport machines that is more robust in its ability to improve the efficiency of material collection and unloading by implementing strategic customization of batch quantities to unload according to a selective order [Koch; ¶: 0005].
With respect to claim 4, Belser does not specifically state: “wherein the first predetermined level is determined by an operator of the agricultural vehicle during harvesting of the product.”
Koch teaches: “wherein the first predetermined level is determined by an operator of the agricultural vehicle during harvesting of the product” [Koch; "Step (30) includes the apparatus determining an order by which the collection vehicle 16 is to collect batch unloads from the harvesting machines 14 and the amount of each batch unload based on the first and second plural parameters. Step (30) may be prompted by an operator of the collection vehicle (or other, non-harvesting machine personnel) requesting (manually) batch unloads or as determined (automatically) by logic (e.g., software) in the apparatus;" Fig. 4; ¶: 0031].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system/method for coordinating control of one or more agricultural harvesting machines and one or more transport machines as disclosed by Belser to incorporate the teachings regarding determining a particular amount of material to transfer as well as an order to transfer material from a plurality of harvesting machines to one or more collections vehicles as taught by Koch with a reasonable expectation of success. By combining these two inventions, the outcome is a system/method for controlling transfer of materials between harvesting machines and transport machines that is more robust in its ability to improve the efficiency of material collection and unloading by implementing strategic customization of batch quantities to unload according to a selective order [Koch; ¶: 0005].
With respect to claim 7, Belser does not specifically state: “wherein the activating the loading signal indicative of initiation of loading procedure automatically comprises activating an alert for an operator to initiate loading procedure between the agricultural vehicle and the mobile product transport container.”
Koch teaches: “wherein the activating the loading signal indicative of initiation of loading procedure automatically comprises activating an alert for an operator to initiate loading procedure between the agricultural vehicle and the mobile product transport container” [Koch; "Step (30) includes the apparatus determining an order by which the collection vehicle 16 is to collect batch unloads from the harvesting machines 14 and the amount of each batch unload based on the first and second plural parameters. Step (30) may be prompted by an operator of the collection vehicle (or other, non-harvesting machine personnel) requesting (manually) batch unloads or as determined (automatically) by logic (e.g., software) in the apparatus;" Fig. 4; ¶: 0031; See also: ¶: 0032, 0033].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system/method for coordinating control of one or more agricultural harvesting machines and one or more transport machines as disclosed by Belser to incorporate the teachings regarding determining a particular amount of material to transfer as well as an order to transfer material from a plurality of harvesting machines to one or more collections vehicles as taught by Koch with a reasonable expectation of success. By combining these two inventions, the outcome is a system/method for controlling transfer of materials between harvesting machines and transport machines that is more robust in its ability to improve the efficiency of material collection and unloading by implementing strategic customization of batch quantities to unload according to a selective order [Koch; ¶: 0005].
With respect to claim 19, Belser discloses: “the data collection module comprising a remote-based computing device, communicatively coupled with the agricultural vehicle by a wireless network, and the data collection module: receiving vehicle position data from the agricultural vehicle and determining a vehicle speed and vehicle heading based on the received vehicle position data over time” [Belser; "Reaching of the loading position by the transport machine 102 is detected by a suitable positioning device and indicated by a coupling signal. For example, a current position and speed of the work machine 100 can be compared with a current position and speed of the transport machine 102. For this purpose, the transport machine 100 may have a device for transmitting real position data or position data relating to the trajectory of the approach route 118 to the positioning device. The device 104 is configured to receive the coupling signal. In response to the coupling signal, the device 104 is configured to output a charging signal to charging devices of the work machine 100 and the transport machine 102 in order to start a transfer process between the work machine 100 and the transport machine 102;" Fig.1; ¶: 0033;
Furthermore, Belser discloses that the heading of the work machine is determined based on the trajectory of the vehicle such that the system may facilitate the interruption of the transfer process just prior to the work machine performing a turn in at least ¶: 0034; See also: ¶: 0051].
And while Belser discloses: “and receiving sensor data indicative of an amount of product being deposited into or removed from the storage container” [Belser; "The work machine 100 may have a sensor configured to detect the fill level of the buffer and provide a corresponding signal to the control unit 114;" ¶: 0030], Belser does not specifically state “determining a rate of collection or rate of deposition based on the received sensor data over time.”
Koch teaches: “receiving sensor data indicative of an amount of product being deposited into or removed from the storage container and determining a rate of collection or rate of deposition based on the received sensor data over time” [Koch; As shown in FIG. 2, the unloader tube 18B of the harvesting machine 14B is in an operational position, and the collection vehicle 16 is positioned with its storage bin 22 underneath the outlet of the unloader tube 18B, the storage bin 22 receiving (while in motion) a batch unload from the storage bin 20B of the harvesting machine 14B according to the predetermined quantity determined by the apparatus to enable an efficient harvesting operation for the system 10 overall. The amount of the batch unload may be less for the harvesting machine 14B than for the harvesting machine 14A, the same, or more, depending on the plural parameters and distances and times to and from each of the machines 14 and/or the semi-truck trailer, as well as based on fill and unloading rates. After receiving the batch unload from the harvesting machine 14B, the collection vehicle 16 may travel to the semi-truck to unload the storage bin 22 or directly advance from the harvesting machine 14B to the harvesting machine 14C, depending on the strategy determined by the apparatus; Fig. 2; ¶: 0025].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system/method for coordinating control of one or more agricultural harvesting machines and one or more transport machines as disclosed by Belser to incorporate the teachings regarding determining a particular amount of material to transfer as well as an order to transfer material from a plurality of harvesting machines to one or more collections vehicles as taught by Koch with a reasonable expectation of success. By combining these two inventions, the outcome is a system/method for controlling transfer of materials between harvesting machines and transport machines that is more robust in its ability to improve the efficiency of material collection and unloading by implementing strategic customization of batch quantities to unload according to a selective order [Koch; ¶: 0005].
With respect to claim 20, Belser does not specifically state: “the data collection module further determining the first predetermined level based at least on the rate of collection or rate of deposition, the vehicle speed, and the vehicle heading.”
Koch teaches: “the data collection module further determining the first predetermined level based at least on the rate of collection or rate of deposition, the vehicle speed, and the vehicle heading” [Koch; “In general, the first and second plural parameters received by the apparatus from the harvesting machines 14 and the collection vehicle 16 include any one or a combination of a current total load amount residing in each of the harvesting machines 14, load capacity remaining in each of the harvesting machines 14, a time component corresponding to a time for the load to reach the load capacity of each of the harvesting machines 14, a heading of a collection vehicle and each of the harvesting machines 14, a current load (and capacity, and remaining capacity) in the collection vehicle 16, a length of a field run for each of the harvesting machines 14, protein content of the harvested material, or water content of the harvested material. The apparatus receives updates to the first and second plural parameters on a repeated basis;” Fig. 4; ¶: 0030; See also: ¶: 0025-0028, 0031-0035].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system/method for coordinating control of one or more agricultural harvesting machines and one or more transport machines as disclosed by Belser to incorporate the teachings regarding determining a particular amount of material to transfer as well as an order to transfer material from a plurality of harvesting machines to one or more collections vehicles as taught by Koch with a reasonable expectation of success. By combining these two inventions, the outcome is a system/method for controlling transfer of materials between harvesting machines and transport machines that is more robust in its ability to improve the efficiency of material collection and unloading by implementing strategic customization of batch quantities to unload according to a selective order [Koch; ¶: 0005].
With respect to claim 21, Belser discloses: “the data collection module further collecting real-time data indicative of a condition of the product in the storage container of the agricultural vehicle, including one or more of: a product type; a ratio of product to other-than-product; and a location of collection” [Belser; "Reaching of the loading position by the transport machine 102 is detected by a suitable positioning device and indicated by a coupling signal. For example, a current position and speed of the work machine 100 can be compared with a current position and speed of the transport machine 102. For this purpose, the transport machine 100 may have a device for transmitting real position data or position data relating to the trajectory of the approach route 118 to the positioning device. The device 104 is configured to receive the coupling signal. In response to the coupling signal, the device 104 is configured to output a charging signal to charging devices of the work machine 100 and the transport machine 102 in order to start a transfer process between the work machine 100 and the transport machine 102;" Fig.1; ¶: 0033; See also: ¶: 0051].
With respect to claim 22, while Belser discloses: “and upon receipt of data from the indicative of the product reaching the first predetermined level, transmitting a level reached signal to the remote-based computing device resulting in the activation of the alert that indicates deployment of the mobile product transport container” [Belser; "When the buffer has reached a certain filling level, for example, is more than three-quarters full, a control unit 114 of the work machine 100 signals a transport requirement to the device 104 by means of a request signal. The device 104 is configured to transmit a control signal to a receiver 116 of the transport machine 102 in response to the request signal in order to guide the transport machine 102 to the work machine 100 before the buffer is full. The work machine 100 may have a sensor configured to detect the fill level of the buffer and provide a corresponding signal to the control unit 114;" ¶: 0030], Belser does not specifically state: “the product storage level monitoring component: receiving the first predetermined level from a remote-based computing device using a wireless network.”
Koch teaches: “the product storage level monitoring component comprising a local computing device comprising memory storing programming and a processor to execute the programming, the product storage level monitoring component: receiving the first predetermined level from a remote-based computing device using a wireless network” [Koch; Koch discloses using a central control apparatus (denoted as 60 in Figure 6A, for example) that is communicatively coupled to a plurality of control systems of the respective collection vehicle and harvesting machine(s). Koch further discloses determining the order and amount of crop to unload from each harvesting machine based on a plurality of first and second parameters; Fig. 4 & 6A; ¶: 0030, 0031].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system/method for coordinating control of one or more agricultural harvesting machines and one or more transport machines as disclosed by Belser to incorporate the teachings regarding determining a particular amount of material to transfer as well as an order to transfer material from a plurality of harvesting machines to one or more collections vehicles as taught by Koch with a reasonable expectation of success. By combining these two inventions, the outcome is a system/method for controlling transfer of materials between harvesting machines and transport machines that is more robust in its ability to improve the efficiency of material collection and unloading by implementing strategic customization of batch quantities to unload according to a selective order [Koch; ¶: 0005].
With respect to claim 23, Belser discloses:
“A system for automatic load tracking and logistics, comprising: a vehicle locator comprising a location sensor that is communicatively coupled with a computing device having memory that stores instructions and a processor to process instructions and received data, the vehicle locator identifying a vehicle's location, speed, and heading, based at least on location data received over time from the location sensor” [Belser; "Reaching of the loading position by the transport machine 102 is detected by a suitable positioning device and indicated by a coupling signal. For example, a current position and speed of the work machine 100 can be compared with a current position and speed of the transport machine 102. For this purpose, the transport machine 100 may have a device for transmitting real position data or position data relating to the trajectory of the approach route 118 to the positioning device. The device 104 is configured to receive the coupling signal. In response to the coupling signal, the device 104 is configured to output a charging signal to charging devices of the work machine 100 and the transport machine 102 in order to start a transfer process between the work machine 100 and the transport machine 102;" Fig.1; ¶: 0033.
Furthermore, Belser discloses that the heading of the work machine is determined based on the trajectory of the vehicle such that the system may facilitate the interruption of the transfer process just prior to the work machine performing a turn in at least ¶: 0034; See also: ¶: 0051];
“a product detector comprising a first sensor array that operably detects an amount of a target product in a storage container on the vehicle” [Belser; "The harvester can signal a need to transport crops when an intermediate storage facility for the crops exceeds a predetermined fill level. The construction machine can signal the need for transport when an intermediate storage falls below a predetermined fill level;" ¶: 0008; See also: ¶: 0016, 0052];
“a product loading detector comprising a second sensor array that operably performs one or more of: identifies a vehicle product loading location for a secondary product storage implement to load to or offload from the vehicle; and detects an amount of product loaded to or offloaded from the vehicle to determine when to end loading” [Belser; "The control signal can guide a transport machine with existing loading capacity for the transported goods to the work machine, and the loading process can be carried out until a predetermined transport quantity of the transport machine for the transported goods is reached or there is no longer any need for transport. A predetermined loading quantity can, for example, be a loading quantity at which sufficient loading capacity is still available to operate the work machine without interruption until the transport machine is in the loading position. The loading process can be interrupted when the transport machine is full or the work machine is empty;" ¶: 0016; See also: Fig. 1; ¶: 0033];
“and a remote-based logistics component comprising a computing device that includes memory and a processor, the logistics component operably transmitting an alert to an operator of the secondary product storage implement that is indicative of an initiation of a product loading or offloading procedure, and the logistics component collecting and aggregating data indicative of the characteristics of the product, and the loading time and location” [Belser; "Reaching of the loading position by the transport machine 102 is detected by a suitable positioning device and indicated by a coupling signal. For example, a current position and speed of the work machine 100 can be compared with a current position and speed of the transport machine 102. For this purpose, the transport machine 100 may have a device for transmitting real position data or position data relating to the trajectory of the approach route 118 to the positioning device. The device 104 is configured to receive the coupling signal. In response to the coupling signal, the device 104 is configured to output a charging signal to charging devices of the work machine 100 and the transport machine 102 in order to start a transfer process between the work machine 100 and the transport machine 102;" Fig.1; ¶: 0033; See also: ¶: 0051].
Belser does not specifically state:
“and detects characteristics of the target product comprising two or more of: moisture content; quality of the product; protein amount; oil content; and product damage”
“the first sensor array communicatively coupled with the computing device to determine a rate of change of the target product in the vehicle storage container, and product characteristics of the product.”
Beck teaches: “and detects characteristics of the target product comprising two or more of: moisture content; quality of the product; protein amount; oil content; and product damage” [Beck; "In step S199, before, during or after harvesting of an agricultural product, product characteristics or agricultural production information (e.g., harvesting data) is gathered or otherwise obtained for storage. The harvesting data may comprise one or more of the following: a harvesting time, a harvesting date, crop attribute, product attributes, moisture content, yield, harvested weight, harvester data, and load identifier. A producer has the opportunity to monitor the quality of an agricultural product during the harvesting process or otherwise;" Fig. 3; ¶: 0066;
"In one embodiment, the product characteristics may represent crop attributes, specifications or properties that are sensed by sensors associated with or incorporated into a harvesting machine or combine. The sensors of the harvesting machine may create harvesting data that is associated with a load identifier, a date, a time, and a product identifier. The product characteristics may include the moisture level of the crop, the weight of the crop, the oil content of the crop, the nutritional value of the crop or other information;" ¶: 0067].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system/method for coordinating control of one or more agricultural harvesting machines and one or more transport machines as disclosed by Belser to incorporate the teachings regarding aggregating a plurality of crop attributes to form collective data profiles of harvested crops during the harvesting process as taught by Beck with a reasonable expectation of success. By combining these two inventions, the outcome is a system/method for controlling transfer of materials between harvesting machines and transport machines that is more robust in its ability to “accurately identity crops with specific crop attributes throughout the growing, distribution, and production of crops and any products derived therefrom” and further enables “a purchaser of an agricultural product or a crop” “to trace the identity of the crop with specific crop attributes to verify the presence of the crop attributes as a condition for a commercial transaction” [Beck; ¶: 0003-0006, 0067].
Koch teaches: “the first sensor array communicatively coupled with the computing device to determine a rate of change of the target product in the vehicle storage container, and product characteristics of the product” [Koch; "Accordingly, the apparatus receives, among other information/parameters, information/parameters corresponding to unloaded grain amounts at each harvesting machine, flow characteristics (e.g., unload rate, bin filling rate, etc.), lead time (e.g., time it takes grain to reach an unloading auger of an unloader tube), unload full volume delay (e.g., time it takes for the unloader tube to reach full volume), and lag time (e.g., time it takes for an unloader tube to empty or stop grain conveyance);" ¶: 0020; See also: ¶: 0025, 0028, 0031, 0039].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system/method for coordinating control of one or more agricultural harvesting machines and one or more transport machines as disclosed by Belser to incorporate the teachings regarding determining a particular amount of material to transfer as well as an order to transfer material from a plurality of harvesting machines to one or more collections vehicles as taught by Koch with a reasonable expectation of success. By combining these two inventions, the outcome is a system/method for controlling transfer of materials between harvesting machines and transport machines that is more robust in its ability to improve the efficiency of material collection and unloading by implementing strategic customization of batch quantities to unload according to a selective order [Koch; ¶: 0005].
Prior Art (Not relied upon)
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the attached form 892.
BLANK et al. (United States Patent Publication 2014/0277961 A1) discloses: A system for detecting an operating state of a work machine comprises at least two sensors for sensing parameters affecting an operation state of the machine and an operating state evaluation circuit having an output for an operating state signal value. The operating state evaluation circuit determines the operating state signal value based upon fused signals from the sensors and a sensor reliability signal from a weighing function evaluator.
TAKEDA et al. (United States Patent Publication 2020/0128726 A1) discloses: An agriculture support system that includes a data obtaining device to obtain at least one type of data among a plurality of types of data relating to planting of crops, a mesh setting device to allocate, as divided data, the data obtained by the data obtaining device to each of areas of an agricultural field in which the crops are planted, a first map display to relate, to a location of the agricultural field, the divided data allocated to each of the areas by the mesh setting device and to display the divided data as a first field map, a spreading setting device to set a spreading amount of spread substance in each of the areas based on the divided data of each of the areas, and a second map display to relate, to the location of the agricultural field, the spreading amount and to display the spreading amount.
Conclusion
/R.N.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3666C
/SCOTT A BROWNE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666