Detailed Action
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-11 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Cho (US 20220208918 A1) in view of Bang (US 20200091252 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Cho (e.g., Figs. 3, 6C, and 7-10) discloses a display device comprising:
a first light-emitting diode at a first display area (display area D/A including a pixel E1 and a corresponding light emitting diode E/A-1);
a second light-emitting diode at a second display area outside of the first display area (display area GIP including a pixel E2 and a corresponding light emitting diode E/A-2), the second light-emitting diode comprising a first electrode (anode 709), a second electrode (cathode 711) on the first electrode, and an emission layer (emission layer EL) between the first electrode (anode 709) and the second electrode (cathode 711);
a plurality of sub-pixel circuits at the first display area (display area D/A including sub-pixel driving circuits TFT-A and TFT-B);
a driving circuit (gate driving circuit GIP) at the second display area (display area GIP), and configured to provide a scan signal to each of the plurality of sub-pixel circuits (gate driving circuit GIP provide a scan signal to sub-pixel driving circuits TFT-A and TFT-B);
a common voltage supply line (common voltage (VSS) supply line 720) at a non-display area (non-display area N/A) outside of the second display area (display area GIP); and
a common voltage electrode layer (common voltage electrode layer 730) on the common voltage supply line (common voltage (VSS) supply line 720), and electrically connected to the common voltage supply line (common voltage (VSS) supply line 720),
wherein at least a portion of an emission area of the second light-emitting diode (light emitting diode E/A-2), at least a portion of the first electrode (anode 709) of the second light-emitting diode, a portion of the second electrode (cathode 711) of the second light-emitting diode, and at least a portion of the driving circuit (gate driving circuit GIP) overlap with each other at the second display area (display area GIP).
Cho does not disclose a portion of the common voltage electrode layer overlapped with the emission area, the first electrode, and the second electrode of the second light-emitting diode and overlapped with at least a portion of the driving circuit. However, Bang (e.g., Figs. 4, 12, and 14) discloses a display device similar to that disclosed by Cho, comprising: a driving circuit (gate driving circuit GDC; [0074]) configured to provide a scan signal to a plurality of sub-pixel circuits, a common voltage supply line (common voltage supply line E-VSS) at a non-display area (non-display area N/A), and a common voltage electrode layer (shielding electrode layer SHL; e.g., Fig. 4 and [0086]) on the common voltage supply line (common voltage supply line E-VSS), and electrically connected to the common voltage supply line (common voltage supply line E-VSS). Bang (e.g., Figs. 4, 12, and 14) also discloses the common voltage electrode layer (shielding electrode layer SHL) overlapped with an entire area of the driving circuit (gate driving circuit GDC). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the shield electrode as taught by Bang to the gate driving circuit of the display device of Cho. Since Cho discloses the gate driving circuit is overlapped with the second light-emitting diode, the combination of Cho and Bang would result in the common voltage electrode layer is overlapped with both the gate driving circuit and the second light-emitting diode including the emission area, the first electrode, and the second electrode. The combination/motivation would be to provide a shield electrode to reduce electrical noise and interference between the gate driving circuit and the display elements of the display device.
Regarding claim 2, Cho in view of Bang discloses the display device of claim 1, Bang (e.g., Figs. 4, 12, and 14) discloses wherein the common voltage electrode layer (shield electrode layer SHL; [0086]) covers at least a portion of the common voltage supply line (common voltage supply line E-VSS), and at least a portion of the driving circuit (gate driving circuit GDC).
Regarding claim 3, Cho in view of Bang discloses the display device of claim 1, Cho (e.g., Figs. 10-6) discloses wherein the second light-emitting diode (light emitting diode E/A-2) is electrically connected to one of the plurality of sub-pixel circuits (sub-pixel driving circuit TFT-B) through a connection line (connection line 710 or 709) extending from the second display area (display area GIP) toward the first display area (display area D/A).
Regarding claim 4, Cho in view of Bang discloses the display device of claim 3, Cho (e.g., Figs. 10-6) discloses wherein the common voltage electrode layer comprises a first layer (electrode layer 730) at a same layer as that of the connection line (connection line 710 or 709), the first layer including a same material as that of the connection line ([0139] and [0128]).
Regarding claim 5, Cho in view of Bang discloses the display device of claim 1, Bang (e.g., Figs. 4, 12, and 14) discloses wherein the common voltage electrode layer comprises a plurality of layers at different layers from one another (e.g., Fig. 12; shield electrode layer SHL comprising multiple layers).
Regarding claim 6, Cho in view of Bang discloses the display device of claim 1, Cho (e.g., Figs. 10-6) discloses wherein the common voltage electrode layer (common voltage electrode layer 730) comprises a metal layer or a transparent conductive material layer ([0114], [0121], and [0139]; metal layer or transparent conductive layer).
Regarding claim 7, Cho in view of Bang discloses the display device of claim 1, Bang (e.g., Figs. 4, 12, and 14) discloses the display device further comprising a connection electrode layer (connection electrode layer E-CNT) on the common voltage electrode layer (shield electrode layer SHL), and electrically connected to the common voltage electrode layer (shield electrode layer SHL), wherein the connection electrode layer (connection electrode E-CNT) is at a same layer as that of a first electrode (anode AE or 709) of each of the first light-emitting diode (light emitting diode E/A-1) and the second light-emitting diode (light emitting diode E/A-2).
Regarding claim 8, Cho in view of Bang discloses the display device of claim 7, wherein a second electrode (cathode CE or 711) of the first light-emitting diode (light emitting diode E/A-1) and the second light- emitting diode (light emitting diode E/A-2) extends onto the connection electrode layer (connection electrode layer E-CNT), and directly contacts an upper surface of the connection electrode layer (connection electrode layer E-CNT) to be electrically connected to the connection electrode layer (connection electrode layer E-CNT).
Regarding claim 9, Cho in view of Bang discloses the display device of claim 1, Cho (e.g., Figs. 10-6) discloses the display device further comprising an encapsulation member (encapsulation layer Encap) covering the first light-emitting diode (light emitting diode E/A-1) and the second light-emitting diode (light emitting diode E/A-2).
Regarding claim 10, Cho in view of Bang discloses the display device of claim 9, Cho (e.g., Figs. 10-6) discloses wherein the encapsulation member (Figs. 10 and 7; encapsulation layer Encap; [0134]) comprises a thin-film encapsulation layer comprising at least one inorganic encapsulation layer (inorganic encapsulation layer PAS1 or PAS2) and at least one organic encapsulation layer (organic encapsulation layer PCL), and wherein the driving circuit (gate driving circuit GIP) overlaps with the at least one inorganic encapsulation layer (inorganic encapsulation layer PAS1 or PAS2) and the at least one organic encapsulation layer (organic encapsulation layer PCL).
Regarding claim 11, Cho (e.g., Figs. 3, 6C, and 7-10) discloses a display device comprising:
a first light-emitting diode at a first display area (display area D/A including a pixel E1 and a corresponding light emitting diode E/A-1);
a plurality of sub-pixel circuits at the first display area (display area D/A including sub-pixel driving circuits TFT-A and TFT-B);
a driving circuit (gate driving circuit GIP) at a second display area (display area GIP including a display pixel E and a corresponding light emitting diode E/A), and configured to provide a scan signal to each of the plurality of sub-pixel circuits, the second display area being outside of the first display area (gate driving circuit GIP provide a scan signal to sub-pixel driving circuits TFT-A and TFT-B);
a second light-emitting diode at the second display area (display area GIP including a pixel E2 and a corresponding light emitting diode E/A-2);
a common voltage supply line (common voltage (VSS) supply line 720) at a non-display area (non-display area N/A) outside of the second display area (display area GIP); and
a common voltage electrode layer (common voltage electrode layer 730; e.g., [0120] and [0139]) on the common voltage supply line (common voltage supply line 720), and electrically connected to the common voltage supply line (common voltage supply line 720),
wherein a portion of the common voltage electrode layer (common electrode layer 730) extends from the non- display area (non-display area N/A) toward the second display area (display area GIP).
Cho does not disclose a portion of the common voltage electrode layer overlaps with an emission area of the second light-emitting diode at the second display area, and wherein the portion of the common voltage electrode layer is located between the driving circuit and the second light-emitting diode in across-sectional view. However, Bang (e.g., Figs. 4, 12, and 14) discloses a display device similar to that disclosed by Cho, comprising: a driving circuit (gate driving circuit GDC; [0074]) configured to provide a scan signal to a plurality of sub-pixel circuits, a common voltage supply line (common voltage supply line E-VSS) at a non-display area (non-display area N/A), and a common voltage electrode layer (shielding electrode layer SHL; e.g., Fig. 4 and [0086]) on the common voltage supply line (common voltage supply line E-VSS), and electrically connected to the common voltage supply line (common voltage supply line E-VSS). Bang (e.g., Figs. 4, 12, and 14) discloses the common voltage electrode layer (shielding electrode layer SHL) overlapped with an entire area of the driving circuit (gate driving circuit GDC). Bang (e.g., Fig. 12) also discloses wherein the common voltage electrode layer (shielding electrode layer SHL) is located between the driving circuit (gate driving circuit GDC) and the light-emitting element layer (OLED layer) in across-sectional view (e.g., Fig. 12). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the shield electrode as taught by Bang to the gate driving circuit of the display device of Cho. Since Cho discloses the gate driving circuit is overlapped with the second light-emitting diode, the combination of Cho and Bang would result in a portion of the common voltage electrode layer overlaps with an emission area of the second light-emitting diode at the second display area, and wherein the portion of the common voltage electrode layer is located between the driving circuit and the second light-emitting diode in across-sectional view. The combination/motivation would be to provide a shield electrode to reduce electrical noise and interference between the gate driving circuit and the display elements of the display device.
Regarding claim 13, Cho in view of Bang discloses the display device of claim 11, Cho (e.g., Figs. 10-6) discloses wherein the second light-emitting diode (light emitting diode E/A-2) is electrically connected to one of the plurality of sub-pixel circuits (sub-pixel driving circuit TFT-B) through a connection line (connection line 710) extending from the second display area (display area GIP) toward the first display area (display area D/A).
Regarding claim 14, Cho in view of Bang discloses the display device of claim 11, Bang (e.g., Figs. 4, 12, and 14) discloses wherein the common voltage electrode layer comprises a plurality of layers at different layers from one another (e.g., Fig. 12; shield electrode layer SHL comprising multiple layers).
Regarding claim 15, Cho in view of Bang discloses the display device of claim 11, Cho (e.g., Figs. 10-6) discloses wherein the common voltage electrode layer (common voltage electrode layer 730) comprises a metal layer or a transparent conductive material layer ([0114], [0121], and [0139]; metal layer or transparent conductive layer).
Regarding claim 16, Cho in view of Bang discloses the display device of claim 11, further comprising a connection electrode layer (connection electrode layer E-CNT) on the common voltage electrode layer (shield electrode layer SHL), and electrically connected to the common voltage electrode layer (shield electrode layer SHL), wherein the connection electrode layer (connection electrode layer E-CNT) is at a same layer as that of a first electrode (anode AE or 709) of each of the first light-emitting diode (light emitting diode E/A-1) and the second light-emitting diode (light emitting diode E/A-2), and wherein a second electrode (cathode CE or 711) of the first light-emitting diode (light emitting diode E/A-1) and the second light- emitting diode (light emitting diode E/A-2) extends onto the connection electrode layer (connection electrode layer E-CNT), and directly contacts an upper surface of the connection electrode layer (connection electrode layer E-CNT) to be electrically connected to the connection electrode layer (connection electrode layer E-CNT).
Regarding claim 17, Cho in view of Bang discloses the display device of claim 11, Bang (e.g., Figs. 4, 12, and 14) discloses wherein the common voltage electrode layer (e.g., Fig. 12; shield electrode layer SHL) covers at least a portion of the common voltage supply line (common voltage supply line E-VSS) and at least a portion of the driving circuit (gate driving circuit GDC).
Regarding claim 18, Cho in view of Bang discloses the display device of claim 11, Cho (e.g., Figs. 10-6) discloses wherein the second light-emitting diode (light emitting diode E/A-2) overlaps with the driving circuit at the second display area (gate driving circuit GIP).
Regarding claim 19, Cho in view of Bang discloses the display device of claim 11, Cho (e.g., Figs. 10-6) discloses the display device further comprising an encapsulation member (encapsulation layer Encap) covering the first light-emitting diode (light emitting diode E/A-1) and the second light-emitting diode (light emitting diode E/A-2).
Regarding claim 20, Cho in view of Bang discloses the display device of claim 19, Cho (e.g., Figs. 10-6) discloses wherein the encapsulation member (Figs. 10 and 7; encapsulation layer Encap; [0134]) comprises a thin-film encapsulation layer comprising at least one inorganic encapsulation layer (inorganic encapsulation layer PAS1 or PAS2) and at least one organic encapsulation layer (organic encapsulation layer PCL), and wherein the driving circuit (gate driving circuit GIP) overlaps with the at least one inorganic encapsulation layer (inorganic encapsulation layer PAS1 or PAS2) and the at least one organic encapsulation layer (organic encapsulation layer PCL).
Response to Arguments
5. Regarding claims 1 and 11, in view of amendments and after a further search and reconsideration, the reference of Bang (US 20200091252 A1) has been used for new ground rejection.
Specifically, Cho (Fig. 10 is reproduced for reference) discloses wherein at least a portion of an emission area of the second light-emitting diode (light emitting diode E/A-2), at least a portion of the first electrode (anode 709) of the second light-emitting diode, a portion of the second electrode (cathode 711) of the second light-emitting diode, and at least a portion of the driving circuit (gate driving circuit GIP) overlap with each other at the second display area (display area GIP). Cho does not disclose a portion of the common voltage electrode layer overlapped with the emission area, the first electrode, and the second electrode of the second light-emitting diode and overlapped with at least a portion of the driving circuit.
However, Bang (e.g., Figs. 4, 12, and 14; Figs. 4 and 12 are reproduced for references) discloses a display device, comprising: a driving circuit (gate driving circuit GDC; [0074]) configured to provide a scan signal, a common voltage supply line (common voltage supply line E-VSS) at a non-display area, and a common voltage electrode layer (shielding electrode layer SHL; e.g., Fig. 4 and [0086]) on the common voltage supply line (common voltage supply line E-VSS), and electrically connected to the common voltage supply line (common voltage supply line E-VSS). Bang (e.g., Figs. 4, 12, and 14) discloses the common voltage electrode layer (shielding electrode layer SHL) covers an entire area of the driving circuit (gate driving circuit GDC). Bang (e.g., Fig. 12) also discloses wherein the common voltage electrode layer (shielding electrode layer SHL) is located between the driving circuit (gate driving circuit GDC) and the light-emitting element layer (OLED layer) in across-sectional view (e.g., Fig. 12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to incorporate the shield electrode as taught by Bang to the gate driving circuit of the display device of Cho. Since Cho discloses the gate driving circuit is overlapped with the second light-emitting diode, the combination of Cho and Bang would result in the common voltage electrode layer (shield electrode layer) is overlapped with both the gate driving circuit and the second light-emitting diode including the emission area, the first electrode, and the second electrode. The combination/motivation would be to provide a shield electrode to reduce electrical noise and interference between the gate driving circuit and the display elements of the display device.
Inquiry
/YUZHEN SHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623