DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species III-Figure 11 in the reply filed on December 5, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 14 and 21-30 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Note. The claims under restriction are claims 11-30. In the elected Species III-Figure 11, the plasma power supply 72 is applied to the upper electrode 50 which is the plasma electrode. Thus, claims 21-30 are withdrawn since it directed to Species I-Figure 1 wherein the plasma power supply 62 is applied to the lower electrode 40.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “ 70” has been used to designate both shower head body (pars.[0043], [0110]-[0111], [0123]) and second power supply (pars. [0107]-[0108], [0119]-[0120]). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "70" and "72" have both been used to designate shower head body (pars.[0043]-[0044]). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 11 recites the limitation of “an edge electrode disposed adjacent to the plasma electrode” which is not shown in Figure 11. As seen in the elected Species III-Figure 11, an edge electrode 110 is adjacent the lower electrode 40 which is grounded and not adjacent to the plasma electrode 50. Hence, for purposes of examination, the edge electrode 110 is adjacent the lower electrode.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-13, 15-16, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gu et al. (U.S. 2020/0411292).
Referring to Figures 1, 3, 6 and paragraphs [0033]-[0034], [0058]-[0060], [0072]-[0072], and [0079], Gu et al. disclose a plasma processing system comprising: a plasma chamber 620 comprising a plasma electrode 600 (pars. [0033]-[0034]); a plasma power supply 610 configured to apply radio frequency (RF) power having a fundamental frequency to the plasma electrode (i.e. upper electrode for CCP type plasma source) to generate plasma (pars.[0058]-[0060]); an edge electrode 243 disposed adjacent to the plasma electrode and corresponding to a plasma edge boundary region (pars.[0072]-[0074]); a plasma control circuit 710, 720 electrically connected to the edge electrode, the plasma control circuit being configured to change an electrical boundary condition in the plasma edge boundary region based on an inputted control signal (pars.[0077]-[0079]); a sensor 740 configured to obtain electrical signal data of the edge electrode (par.[0079]); and a processor 730 (i.e. controller & storage) configured to obtain the electrical boundary condition in the plasma edge boundary region based on the electrical signal data obtained by the sensor 740 and output the control signal to the plasma control circuit 720, 721 to obtain a desired electrical boundary condition (pars.[0079], [0082]).
With respect to claim 12, the plasma processing system of Gu et al. further includes wherein the edge electrode 243 has an annular shape (par.[0072]).
With respect to claim 13, the plasma processing system of Gu et al. further includes wherein the plasma electrode 600 comprises at least one of an upper electrode 50 and a lower electrode (par.[0060]).
With respect to claim 15, the plasma processing system of Gu et al. further comprising: a focus ring 241 extending along a periphery of a substrate on the edge electrode 243 (Fig. 2 and par.[0068]).
With respect to claim 16, the plasma processing system of Gu et al. further includes wherein the edge electrode 243 is electrically connected to the focus ring 241 (pars.[0070],[0077]).
With respect to claim 18, the plasma processing system of Gu et al. further includes wherein the plasma control circuit comprises an impedance control circuit 720 or a filter control circuit (par.[0077]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gu et al. (U.S. 2020/0411292) in view of Kim (U.S. 2022/0028664) or Rasheed et al. (U.S. 2011/0209995).
The teachings of Gu et al. have been disclosed above.
Gu et al. fail to teach wherein the plasma control circuit comprises: a fundamental frequency control circuit configured to change a boundary condition of the fundamental frequency; a first intermodulation frequency control circuit configured to change a boundary condition of intermodulation distortion frequency components generated by a frequency component in the plasma chamber and the fundamental frequency; a harmonic frequency control circuit configured to change a boundary condition of a harmonic wave component; and a second intermodulation frequency control circuit configured to change a boundary condition of the intermodulation distortion frequency components generated by a frequency component in the plasma chamber and the harmonic wave component.
Referring to Figures 3-5 and paragraphs [0074]-[0085], Kim teach a plasma processing system wherein the plasma control circuit 600 comprises: a fundamental frequency control circuit 622 configured to change a boundary condition of the fundamental frequency; a first intermodulation frequency control circuit 621a configured to change a boundary condition of intermodulation distortion frequency components generated by a frequency component in the plasma chamber and the fundamental frequency; a harmonic frequency control circuit 610 configured to change a boundary condition of a harmonic wave component; and a second intermodulation frequency control circuit 621b configured to change a boundary condition of the intermodulation distortion frequency components generated by a frequency component in the plasma chamber and the harmonic wave component is used in order to improve process uniformity.
Referring to Figure 4 and paragraphs [0059], [0061]-[0063], Rasheed et al. teach a plasma processing system wherein the plasma control circuit 600 comprises: a fundamental frequency control circuit 176-1 configured to change a boundary condition of the fundamental frequency; a first intermodulation frequency control circuit 176-2 configured to change a boundary condition of intermodulation distortion frequency components generated by a frequency component in the plasma chamber and the fundamental frequency; a harmonic frequency control circuit 176-3 configured to change a boundary condition of a harmonic wave component; and a second intermodulation frequency control circuit 176-4 configured to change a boundary condition of the intermodulation distortion frequency components generated by a frequency component in the plasma chamber and the harmonic wave component is used in order to improve process uniformity.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Gu et al. with wherein the plasma control circuit comprises: a fundamental frequency control circuit configured to change a boundary condition of the fundamental frequency; a first intermodulation frequency control circuit configured to change a boundary condition of intermodulation distortion frequency components generated by a frequency component in the plasma chamber and the fundamental frequency; a harmonic frequency control circuit configured to change a boundary condition of a harmonic wave component; and a second intermodulation frequency control circuit configured to change a boundary condition of the intermodulation distortion frequency components generated by a frequency component in the plasma chamber and the harmonic wave component as taught by Kim or Rasheed et al. since it is a conventionally known means to improve process uniformity.
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gu et al. (U.S. 2020/0411292) in view of Cui et al. (U.S. 2019/0013184).
The teachings of Gu et al. have been disclosed above.
The plasma processing system of Gu et al. discloses a sensor for measuring voltage; however, is silent on wherein the electrical signal data obtain by the sensor comprises voltage, current, and phase.
Referring to paragraphs [0071]-[0074], Cui et al. teach a plasma processing system wherein the electrical signal data obtain by the sensor (i.e. measuring) comprises voltage, current, and phase as a sensor means in order to monitor the plasma parameters and adjust the plasma parameters accordingly to achieve desired plasma distribution above the edge electrode. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Gu et al. such that wherein the electrical signal data obtain by the sensor (i.e. measuring) comprises voltage, current, and phase as a sensor means as taught by Cui et al. in order to monitor the plasma parameters and adjust the plasma parameters accordingly to achieve desired plasma distribution above the edge electrode. The resulting apparatus of Gu et al. in view of Cui et al. would yield wherein the electrical signal data obtain by the sensor (i.e. measuring) comprises voltage, current, and phase.
With respect to claim 20, the plasma processing system of Gu et al. in view of Cui et al. further includes wherein the sensor comprises a voltage current sensor (par.[0072]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Arakelyan et al.’525, Kim et al.’209, Gu et al.’287, Na et al.’126, Arakelyan et al.’796, Gu et al.’238, Johnson’069, and Tamura’370 teach a plasma control circuit connected to the edge electrode.
/Michelle CROWELL/ Examiner, Art Unit 1716
/SYLVIA MACARTHUR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716