DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kido et al. [U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0189333] in view of Nishisaka et al. [U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0292141].
Regarding Claim 1, Kido et al. shows a coil component (Figs. 1-2), comprising:
an element body (11);
a coil (12) disposed inside the element body (see Figs. 1-2); and
an outer electrode (13x) disposed in the element body (see Figs. 1-2, Paragraph [0048]),
wherein the outer electrode (13x) includes an electrode portion (13x) which includes a joining surface (inner surface of element 13x) joined to the element body (11, see Figs. 1-2) and a plating surface (outer surface of element 13x) opposite to the joining surface (see Figs. 1-2) and is formed by plating (Paragraph [0099] discloses plating applied to outer electrode 13x), and of which at least a part is embedded in the element body (see Figs. 1-2, element 13x at least embedded in element 11),
the electrode portion includes a baked electrode layer (13a, Paragraph [0055]) that includes the joining surface (see Figs. 1-2) and contains a glass component (Paragraph [0057]),
the electrode portion includes a plated conductor (Paragraph [0099] discloses plating applied to outer electrode 13x which can be a plated conductor) that includes the plating surface (Paragraph [0099]), and
the baked electrode layer (13a) and the plated conductor (Paragraph [0099] discloses plating applied to outer electrode 13x which can be a plated conductor) are made of a same metal (element 13a can be made of Ag or Cu and plating applied to outer electrode 13x which can be a plated conductor can be made of Ag or Cu, Paragraphs [0057], [0099]).
Moreover, Nishisaka et al. clearly shows an inductor (Paragraph [0128], Fig. 5) teaching and suggesting the outer electrode (element 15 with elements 13p, 13q, 13r) includes an electrode portion (element 15 with elements 13p) which includes a joining surface (bottom surface of element 15) joined to the element body (10, see Fig. 5) and a plating surface (top surface of element 13p) opposite to the joining surface (see Fig. 5) and is formed by plating (Paragraph [0072]), the electrode portion includes a baked electrode layer (15) that includes the joining surface (see Fig. 5) and contains a glass component (Paragraphs [0053]-[0055], [0098], [0105]), the electrode portion includes a plated conductor (13p) that includes the plating surface (Paragraph [0072], see Fig. 5), and the baked electrode layer (15) and the plated conductor (13p) are made of a same metal (element 15 can be made of Ag or Cu and element 13p can be made of Ag or Cu, Paragraphs [0054], [0072], [0098], [0105]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the baked electrode layer and the plated conductor are made of a same metal as taught by Nishisaka et al. for the coil component as disclosed by Kido et al. to simplify design to achieve desirable operating characteristics reducing manufacture time and cost. In addition, the motivation is to achieve excellent moisture resistance (Paragraphs [0007], [0111]).
Regarding Claim 2, Nishisaka et al. shows the outer electrode (element 15 with elements 13p, 13q, 13r) includes one (13q) or a plurality of plated layers disposed on the plating surface of the electrode portion (see Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 6, Nishisaka et al. shows the same metal is Ag (element 15 can be made of Ag and element 13p can be made of Ag, Paragraphs [0054], [0072]).
Claim(s) 1-2 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kido et al. [U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0189333] in view of Tozawa et al. [U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0348212].
Regarding Claim 1, Kido et al. shows a coil component (Figs. 1-2), comprising:
an element body (11);
a coil (12) disposed inside the element body (see Figs. 1-2); and
an outer electrode (13x) disposed in the element body (see Figs. 1-2, Paragraph [0048]),
wherein the outer electrode (13x) includes an electrode portion (13x) which includes a joining surface (inner surface of element 13x) joined to the element body (11, see Figs. 1-2) and a plating surface (outer surface of element 13x) opposite to the joining surface (see Figs. 1-2) and is formed by plating (Paragraph [0099] discloses plating applied to outer electrode 13x), and of which at least a part is embedded in the element body (see Figs. 1-2, element 13x at least embedded in element 11),
the electrode portion includes a baked electrode layer (13a, Paragraph [0055]) that includes the joining surface (see Figs. 1-2) and contains a glass component (Paragraph [0057]),
the electrode portion includes a plated conductor (Paragraph [0099] discloses plating applied to outer electrode 13x which can be a plated conductor) that includes the plating surface (Paragraph [0099]), and
the baked electrode layer (13a) and the plated conductor (Paragraph [0099] discloses plating applied to outer electrode 13x which can be a plated conductor) are made of a same metal (element 13a can be made of Ag or Cu and plating applied to outer electrode 13x which can be a plated conductor can be made of Ag or Cu, Paragraphs [0057], [0099]).
Moreover, Tozawa et al. clearly shows an inductor (Paragraph [0103], Figs. 1-6) teaching and suggesting the outer electrode (11) includes an electrode portion (E1, E2) which includes a joining surface (joining surface of element E1 to element 1) joined to the element body (1, see Figs. 1-6) and a plating surface (plating surface of element E2 to element E3) opposite to the joining surface (see Figs. 1-6) and is formed by plating (Paragraph [0070]), the electrode portion includes a baked electrode layer (E1) that includes the joining surface (see Figs. 1-6) and contains a glass component (Paragraph [0064]), the electrode portion includes a plated conductor (E2) that includes the plating surface (see Figs. 1-6), and the baked electrode layer (E1) and the plated conductor (E2) are made of a same metal (element E1 can be made of Ag and element E2 can be made of Ag, Paragraphs [0064], [0067]).
Furthermore, in accordance to MPEP 2113, the method of forming the device is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself. Therefore, this limitation has not been given patentable weight. Please note that even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product, i.e. baked electrode, does not depend on its method of production, i.e. formed by baking. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Federal Circuit 1985).
In addition, in accordance to MPEP 2113, the method of forming the device is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself. Therefore, this limitation has not been given patentable weight. Please note that even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product, i.e. an electrode portion having a plating surface and plated conductor, does not depend on its method of production, i.e. formed by plating. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Federal Circuit 1985).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the baked electrode layer and the plated conductor are made of a same metal as taught by Tozawa et al. for the coil component as disclosed by Kido et al. to simplify design to achieve desirable operating characteristics reducing manufacture time and cost. In addition, the motivation is to suppress occurrence of interfacial delamination between conductive layers (Paragraphs [0004]).
Regarding Claim 2, Tozawa et al. shows the outer electrode (11) includes one (E3) or a plurality of plated layers disposed on the plating surface of the electrode portion (see Figs. 1-6, Paragraph [0070]).
Regarding Claim 6, Tozawa et al. shows the same metal is Ag (element E1 can be made of Ag and element E2 can be made of Ag, Paragraphs [0064], [0067]).
Claim(s) 1-2 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tajima et al. [U.S. Patent No. 10,847,307] in view of Nishisaka et al. [U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0292141].
Regarding Claim 1, Tajima et al. shows a coil component (Figs. 1-3), comprising:
an element body (10);
a coil (20) disposed inside the element body (see Figs. 1-3); and
an outer electrode (element 31) disposed in the element body (see Figs. 1-3, element 31 is disposed in element 10),
wherein the outer electrode (element 31) includes an electrode portion (31) which includes a joining surface (top surface of element 31 is a joining surface) joined to the element body (10, see Figs. 1-3) and a plating surface (bottom surface of element 31 is a plating surface) opposite to the joining surface (see Figs. 1-3) and is formed by plating (Col. 4, Lines 65-66), and of which at least a part is embedded in the element body (see Figs. 1-3, element 31 is embedded in element 10),
the electrode portion includes a baked electrode layer (31, Col. 4, Lines 49-52) that includes the joining surface (top surface of element 31) and contains a glass component (Col. 4, Lines 49-52).
Furthermore, in accordance to MPEP 2113, the method of forming the device is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself. Therefore, this limitation has not been given patentable weight. Please note that even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product, i.e. an electrode portion having a plating surface, does not depend on its method of production, i.e. formed by plating. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Federal Circuit 1985).
Tajima et al. does not explicitly show the electrode portion includes a plated conductor that includes the plating surface, and the baked electrode layer and the plated conductor are made of a same metal.
Nishiaka et al. clearly shows an inductor (Paragraph [0128], Fig. 5) teaching and suggesting the outer electrode (element 15 with elements 13p, 13q, 13r) includes an electrode portion (element 15 with elements 13p) which includes a joining surface (bottom surface of element 15) joined to the element body (10, see Fig. 5) and a plating surface (top surface of element 13p) opposite to the joining surface (see Fig. 5) and is formed by plating (Paragraph [0072]), the electrode portion includes a baked electrode layer (15) that includes the joining surface (see Fig. 5) and contains a glass component (Paragraphs [0053]-[0055], [0098], [0105]), the electrode portion includes a plated conductor (13p) that includes the plating surface (Paragraph [0072], see Fig. 5), and the baked electrode layer (15) and the plated conductor (13p) are made of a same metal (element 15 can be made of Ag or Cu and element 13p can be made of Ag or Cu, Paragraphs [0054], [0072], [0098], [0105]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the baked electrode layer and the plated conductor are made of a same metal as taught by Nishisaka et al. for the coil component as disclosed by Kido et al. to simplify design to achieve desirable operating characteristics reducing manufacture time and cost. In addition, the motivation is to achieve excellent moisture resistance (Paragraphs [0007], [0111]).
Regarding Claim 2, Tajima et al. shows the outer electrode (element 31) includes one (321) or a plurality of plated layers disposed on the plating surface of the electrode portion (see Figs. 1-3, Col. 4, Lines 65-67 to Col. 5, Lines 1-6).
Regarding Claim 6, Nishisaka et al. shows the same metal is Ag (element 15 can be made of Ag and element 13p can be made of Ag, Paragraphs [0054], [0072]).
Claim(s) 1-2 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tajima et al. [U.S. Patent No. 10,847,307] in view of Tozawa et al. [U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0348212].
Regarding Claim 1, Tajima et al. shows a coil component (Figs. 1-3), comprising:
an element body (10);
a coil (20) disposed inside the element body (see Figs. 1-3); and
an outer electrode (element 31) disposed in the element body (see Figs. 1-3, element 31 is disposed in element 10),
wherein the outer electrode (element 31) includes an electrode portion (31) which includes a joining surface (top surface of element 31 is a joining surface) joined to the element body (10, see Figs. 1-3) and a plating surface (bottom surface of element 31 is a plating surface) opposite to the joining surface (see Figs. 1-3) and is formed by plating (Col. 4, Lines 65-66), and of which at least a part is embedded in the element body (see Figs. 1-3, element 31 is embedded in element 10),
the electrode portion includes a baked electrode layer (31, Col. 4, Lines 49-52) that includes the joining surface (top surface of element 31) and contains a glass component (Col. 4, Lines 49-52).
Furthermore, in accordance to MPEP 2113, the method of forming the device is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself. Therefore, this limitation has not been given patentable weight. Please note that even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product, i.e. an electrode portion having a plating surface, does not depend on its method of production, i.e. formed by plating. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Federal Circuit 1985).
Tajima et al. does not explicitly show the electrode portion includes a plated conductor that includes the plating surface, and the baked electrode layer and the plated conductor are made of a same metal.
Tozawa et al. clearly shows an inductor (Paragraph [0103], Figs. 1-6) teaching and suggesting the outer electrode (11) includes an electrode portion (E1, E2) which includes a joining surface (joining surface of element E1 to element 1) joined to the element body (1, see Figs. 1-6) and a plating surface (plating surface of element E2 to element E3) opposite to the joining surface (see Figs. 1-6) and is formed by plating (Paragraph [0070]), the electrode portion includes a baked electrode layer (E1) that includes the joining surface (see Figs. 1-6) and contains a glass component (Paragraph [0064]), the electrode portion includes a plated conductor (E2) that includes the plating surface (see Figs. 1-6), and the baked electrode layer (E1) and the plated conductor (E2) are made of a same metal (element E1 can be made of Ag and element E2 can be made of Ag, Paragraphs [0064], [0067]).
Furthermore, in accordance to MPEP 2113, the method of forming the device is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself. Therefore, this limitation has not been given patentable weight. Please note that even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product, i.e. baked electrode, does not depend on its method of production, i.e. formed by baking. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Federal Circuit 1985).
In addition, in accordance to MPEP 2113, the method of forming the device is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself. Therefore, this limitation has not been given patentable weight. Please note that even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product, i.e. an electrode portion having a plating surface and plated conductor, does not depend on its method of production, i.e. formed by plating. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Federal Circuit 1985).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the baked electrode layer and the plated conductor are made of a same metal as taught by Tozawa et al. for the coil component as disclosed by Tajima et al. to simplify design to achieve desirable operating characteristics reducing manufacture time and cost. In addition, the motivation is to suppress occurrence of interfacial delamination between conductive layers (Paragraphs [0004]).
Regarding Claim 2, Tajima et al. shows the outer electrode (element 31) includes one (321) or a plurality of plated layers disposed on the plating surface of the electrode portion (see Figs. 1-3, Col. 4, Lines 65-67 to Col. 5, Lines 1-6).
Tozawa et al. shows the outer electrode (11) includes one (E3) or a plurality of plated layers disposed on the plating surface of the electrode portion (see Figs. 1-6, Paragraph [0070]).
Regarding Claim 6, Tozawa et al. shows the same metal is Ag (element E1 can be made of Ag and element E2 can be made of Ag, Paragraphs [0064], [0067]).
Claim(s) 1-2 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishisaka et al. [U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0292141] in view of Tajima et al. [U.S. Patent No. 10,847,307].
Regarding Claim 1, Nishisaka et al. shows a coil component (Figs. 1-5, Paragraph [0128]), comprising:
an element body (10);
a coil (Paragraph [0128]) disposed inside the element body (see Figs. 1-5); and
an outer electrode (element 15 with elements 13p, 13q, 13r),
wherein the outer electrode (element 15 with elements 13p, 13q, 13r) includes an electrode portion (element 15 with elements 13p) which includes a joining surface (bottom surface of element 15) joined to the element body (10, see Fig. 5) and a plating surface (top surface of element 13p) opposite to the joining surface (see Fig. 5) and is formed by plating (Paragraph [0072]),
the electrode portion includes a baked electrode layer (15) that includes the joining surface (see Fig. 5) and contains a glass component (Paragraphs [0053]-[0055], [0098], [0105]),
the electrode portion includes a plated conductor (13p) that includes the plating surface (Paragraph [0072], see Fig. 5), and
the baked electrode layer (15) and the plated conductor (13p) are made of a same metal (element 15 can be made of Ag or Cu and element 13p can be made of Ag or Cu, Paragraphs [0054], [0072], [0098], [0105]).
Nishisaka et al. does not show an outer electrode disposed in the element body and the outer electrode includes an electrode portion which includes a joining surface joined to the element body and a plating surface opposite to the joining surface and is formed by plating, and of which at least a part is embedded in the element body.
Tajima et al. shows a coil component (Figs. 1-3) teaching and suggesting an element body (10); a coil (20) disposed inside the element body (see Figs. 1-3); and an outer electrode (element 31) disposed in the element body (see Figs. 1-3, element 31 is disposed in element 10), wherein the outer electrode (element 31) includes an electrode portion (31) which includes a joining surface (top surface of element 31 is a joining surface) joined to the element body (10, see Figs. 1-3) and a plating surface (bottom surface of element 31 is a plating surface) opposite to the joining surface (see Figs. 1-3) and is formed by plating (Col. 4, Lines 65-66), and of which at least a part is embedded in the element body (see Figs. 1-3, element 31 is embedded in element 10).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have an outer electrode disposed in the element body and the outer electrode includes an electrode portion which includes a joining surface joined to the element body and a plating surface opposite to the joining surface and is formed by plating, and of which at least a part is embedded in the element body as taught by Tajima et al. for the coil component as disclosed by Nishisaka et al. to have a compact design to reduce manufacture size, weight and cost. In addition, the motivation is to lower the position of the center of gravity of the inductor component to stabilize mounting posture (Col. 5, Lines 24-37).
Regarding Claim 2, Nishisaka et al. shows the outer electrode (element 15 with elements 13p, 13q, 13r) includes one (13q) or a plurality of plated layers disposed on the plating surface of the electrode portion (see Fig. 5).
Tajima et al. shows the outer electrode (element 31) includes one (321) or a plurality of plated layers disposed on the plating surface of the electrode portion (see Figs. 1-3, Col. 4, Lines 65-67 to Col. 5, Lines 1-6).
Regarding Claim 6, Nishisaka et al. shows the same metal is Ag (element 15 can be made of Ag and element 13p can be made of Ag, Paragraphs [0054], [0072]).
Claim(s) 1-2 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tozawa et al. [U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0348212] in view of Tajima et al. [U.S. Patent No. 10,847,307].
Regarding Claim 1, Tozawa et al. shows a coil component (Figs. 1-6, Paragraph [0103]), comprising:
an element body (1);
a coil (C1) disposed inside the element body (see Figs. 1-6); and
an outer electrode (11),
wherein the outer electrode (11) includes an electrode portion (E1, E2) which includes a joining surface (joining surface of element E1 to element 1) joined to the element body (1, see Figs. 1-6) and a plating surface (plating surface of element E2 to element E3) opposite to the joining surface (see Figs. 1-6) and is formed by plating (Paragraph [0070]),
the electrode portion includes a baked electrode layer (E1) that includes the joining surface (see Figs. 1-6) and contains a glass component (Paragraph [0064]),
the electrode portion includes a plated conductor (E2) that includes the plating surface (see Figs. 1-6), and
the baked electrode layer (E1) and the plated conductor (E2) are made of a same metal (element E1 can be made of Ag and element E2 can be made of Ag, Paragraphs [0064], [0067]).
Furthermore, in accordance to MPEP 2113, the method of forming the device is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself. Therefore, this limitation has not been given patentable weight. Please note that even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product, i.e. baked electrode, does not depend on its method of production, i.e. formed by baking. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Federal Circuit 1985).
In addition, in accordance to MPEP 2113, the method of forming the device is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself. Therefore, this limitation has not been given patentable weight. Please note that even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product, i.e. an electrode portion having a plating surface and plated conductor, does not depend on its method of production, i.e. formed by plating. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Federal Circuit 1985).
Tozawa et al. does not show an outer electrode disposed in the element body and the outer electrode includes an electrode portion which includes a joining surface joined to the element body and a plating surface opposite to the joining surface and is formed by plating, and of which at least a part is embedded in the element body.
Tajima et al. shows a coil component (Figs. 1-3) teaching and suggesting an element body (10); a coil (20) disposed inside the element body (see Figs. 1-3); and an outer electrode (element 31) disposed in the element body (see Figs. 1-3, element 31 is disposed in element 10), wherein the outer electrode (element 31) includes an electrode portion (31) which includes a joining surface (top surface of element 31 is a joining surface) joined to the element body (10, see Figs. 1-3) and a plating surface (bottom surface of element 31 is a plating surface) opposite to the joining surface (see Figs. 1-3) and is formed by plating (Col. 4, Lines 65-66), and of which at least a part is embedded in the element body (see Figs. 1-3, element 31 is embedded in element 10).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have an outer electrode disposed in the element body and the outer electrode includes an electrode portion which includes a joining surface joined to the element body and a plating surface opposite to the joining surface and is formed by plating, and of which at least a part is embedded in the element body as taught by Tajima et al. for the coil component as disclosed by Tozawa et al. to have a compact design to reduce manufacture size, weight and cost. In addition, the motivation is to lower the position of the center of gravity of the inductor component to stabilize mounting posture (Col. 5, Lines 24-37).
Regarding Claim 2, Tozawa et al. shows the outer electrode (11) includes one (E3) or a plurality of plated layers disposed on the plating surface of the electrode portion (see Figs. 1-6, Paragraph [0070]).
Tajima et al. shows the outer electrode (element 31) includes one (321) or a plurality of plated layers disposed on the plating surface of the electrode portion (see Figs. 1-3, Col. 4, Lines 65-67 to Col. 5, Lines 1-6).
Regarding Claim 6, Tozawa et al. shows the same metal is Ag (element E1 can be made of Ag and element E2 can be made of Ag, Paragraphs [0064], [0067]).
Claim(s) 1-2 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishida [U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0304955] in view of Tajima et al. [U.S. Patent No. 10,847,307].
Regarding Claim 1, Ishida shows a coil component (Figs. 1-3), comprising:
an element body (12);
a coil (30) disposed inside the element body (see Figs. 1-3); and
an outer electrode (40a),
wherein the outer electrode (40a) includes an electrode portion (element 42a with element 46a) which includes a joining surface (joining surface of element 42a to element 12) joined to the element body (12, see Fig. 3) and a plating surface (plating surface of element 44a) opposite to the joining surface (see Fig. 3) and is formed by plating (Paragraph [0089]),
the electrode portion includes a baked electrode layer (42a) that includes the joining surface (see Fig. 3) and contains a glass component (Paragraph [0095]),
the electrode portion includes a plated conductor (44a) that includes the plating surface (see Fig. 3), and
the baked electrode layer (42a) and the plated conductor (44a) are made of a same metal (element 42a can be made of Ag and element 44a can be made of at least one substance selected from Ag, Paragraphs [0095], [0089]).
Ishida does not show an outer electrode disposed in the element body and the outer electrode includes an electrode portion which includes a joining surface joined to the element body and a plating surface opposite to the joining surface and is formed by plating, and of which at least a part is embedded in the element body.
Tajima et al. shows a coil component (Figs. 1-3) teaching and suggesting an element body (10); a coil (20) disposed inside the element body (see Figs. 1-3); and an outer electrode (element 31) disposed in the element body (see Figs. 1-3, element 31 is disposed in element 10), wherein the outer electrode (element 31) includes an electrode portion (31) which includes a joining surface (top surface of element 31 is a joining surface) joined to the element body (10, see Figs. 1-3) and a plating surface (bottom surface of element 31 is a plating surface) opposite to the joining surface (see Figs. 1-3) and is formed by plating (Col. 4, Lines 65-66), and of which at least a part is embedded in the element body (see Figs. 1-3, element 31 is embedded in element 10).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have an outer electrode disposed in the element body and the outer electrode includes an electrode portion which includes a joining surface joined to the element body and a plating surface opposite to the joining surface and is formed by plating, and of which at least a part is embedded in the element body as taught by Tajima et al. for the coil component as disclosed by Ishida to have a compact design to reduce manufacture size, weight and cost. In addition, the motivation is to lower the position of the center of gravity of the inductor component to stabilize mounting posture (Col. 5, Lines 24-37).
Regarding Claim 2, Ishida shows the outer electrode (40a) includes one (48a) or a plurality of plated layers disposed on the plating surface of the electrode portion (see Fig. 3).
Tajima et al. shows the outer electrode (element 31) includes one (321) or a plurality of plated layers disposed on the plating surface of the electrode portion (see Figs. 1-3, Col. 4, Lines 65-67 to Col. 5, Lines 1-6).
Regarding Claim 6, Ishida shows the same metal is Ag (element 42a can be made of Ag and element 44a can be made of at least one substance selected from Ag, Paragraphs [0095], [0089]).
Claim(s) 1-2 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. [U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0122801] in view of Tajima et al. [U.S. Patent No. 10,847,307].
Regarding Claim 1, Kim et al. shows a coil component (Figs. 1-2), comprising:
an element body (10);
a coil (310) disposed inside the element body (see Figs. 1-2); and
an outer electrode (4100),
wherein the outer electrode (4100) includes an electrode portion (metal layer of Ag, Paragraph [0074]) which includes a joining surface (joining surface of metal layer of Ag to element 10) joined to the element body (10, see Fig. 2) and a plating surface (plating surface of Sn/Ag plated layer, Paragraph [0074]) opposite to the joining surface (Paragraph [0074]) and is formed by plating (Paragraph [0074]),
the electrode portion includes a baked electrode layer (metal layer of Ag, Paragraph [0074]) that includes the joining surface (see Fig. 2, Paragraph [0074]) and contains a glass component (Paragraph [0074]),
the electrode portion includes a plated conductor (Sn/Ag plated layer, Paragraph [0074]) that includes the plating surface (Paragraph [0074]), and
the baked electrode layer (metal layer of Ag) and the plated conductor (Sn/Ag plated layer) are made of a same metal (Paragraph [0074]).
Kim et al. does not show an outer electrode disposed in the element body and the outer electrode includes an electrode portion which includes a joining surface joined to the element body and a plating surface opposite to the joining surface and is formed by plating, and of which at least a part is embedded in the element body.
Tajima et al. shows a coil component (Figs. 1-3) teaching and suggesting an element body (10); a coil (20) disposed inside the element body (see Figs. 1-3); and an outer electrode (element 31) disposed in the element body (see Figs. 1-3, element 31 is disposed in element 10), wherein the outer electrode (element 31) includes an electrode portion (31) which includes a joining surface (top surface of element 31 is a joining surface) joined to the element body (10, see Figs. 1-3) and a plating surface (bottom surface of element 31 is a plating surface) opposite to the joining surface (see Figs. 1-3) and is formed by plating (Col. 4, Lines 65-66), and of which at least a part is embedded in the element body (see Figs. 1-3, element 31 is embedded in element 10).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have an outer electrode disposed in the element body and the outer electrode includes an electrode portion which includes a joining surface joined to the element body and a plating surface opposite to the joining surface and is formed by plating, and of which at least a part is embedded in the element body as taught by Tajima et al. for the coil component as disclosed by Kim et al. to have a compact design to reduce manufacture size, weight and cost. In addition, the motivation is to lower the position of the center of gravity of the inductor component to stabilize mounting posture (Col. 5, Lines 24-37).
Regarding Claim 2, Tajima et al. shows the outer electrode (element 31) includes one (321) or a plurality of plated layers disposed on the plating surface of the electrode portion (see Figs. 1-3, Col. 4, Lines 65-67 to Col. 5, Lines 1-6).
Regarding Claim 6, Kim et al. shows the same metal is Ag (metal layer of Ag and Sn/Ag plated layer, Paragraph [0074]).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kido et al. in view of Nishisaka et al. OR Kido et al. in view of Tozawa et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tajima et al. [U.S. Patent No. 10,847,307].
Regarding Claim 2, Kido et al. in view of Nishisaka et al. OR Kido et al. in view of Tozawa et al. shows the claimed invention as applied above.
In addition, Tajima et al. shows the outer electrode (element 31) includes one (321) or a plurality of plated layers disposed on the plating surface of the electrode portion (see Figs. 1-3, Col. 4, Lines 65-67 to Col. 5, Lines 1-6).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the outer electrode includes one or a plurality of plated layers disposed on the plating surface of the electrode portion as taught by Tajima et al. for the coil component as disclosed by Kido et al. in view of Nishisaka et al. OR Kido et al. in view of Tozawa et al. to prevent dissolution of metallization of the underlying layers (Col. 5, Lines 48-55).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kido et al. in view of Nishisaka et al. OR Kido et al. in view of Tozawa et al. OR Tajima et al. in view of Nishisaka et al. OR Tajima et al. in view of Tozawa et al. OR Nishisaka et al. in view of Tajima et al. OR Tozawa et al. in view of Tajima et al. OR Ishida in view of Tajima et al. OR Kim et al. in view of Tajima et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sato et al. [U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0303117] (hereinafter as “Sato ‘117”).
Regarding Claim 3, Kido et al. in view of Nishisaka et al. OR Kido et al. in view of Tozawa et al. OR Tajima et al. in view of Nishisaka et al. OR Tajima et al. in view of Tozawa et al. OR Nishisaka et al. in view of Tajima et al. OR Tozawa et al. in view of Tajima et al. OR Ishida in view of Tajima et al. OR Kim et al. in view of Tajima et al. shows the claimed invention as applied above but does not show the element body is constituted by stacking element body layers containing a plurality of metal magnetic particles of a soft magnetic material.
Sato ‘117 shows a coil component (Figs. 1-4) teaching and suggesting the element body (2) is constituted by stacking element body layers (7) containing a plurality of metal magnetic particles of a soft magnetic material (Paragraph [0031]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the element body is constituted by stacking element body layers containing a plurality of metal magnetic particles of a soft magnetic material as taught by Sato ‘117 for the coil component as disclosed by Kido et al. in view of Nishisaka et al. OR Kido et al. in view of Tozawa et al. OR Tajima et al. in view of Nishisaka et al. OR Tajima et al. in view of Tozawa et al. OR Nishisaka et al. in view of Tajima et al. OR Tozawa et al. in view of Tajima et al. OR Ishida in view of Tajima et al. OR Kim et al. in view of Tajima et al. to achieve desirable magnetic characteristics, Q characteristics, and inductance values (Paragraph [0003]).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kido et al. in view of Nishisaka et al. OR Kido et al. in view of Tozawa et al. OR Tajima et al. in view of Nishisaka et al. OR Tajima et al. in view of Tozawa et al. OR Nishisaka et al. in view of Tajima et al. OR Tozawa et al. in view of Tajima et al. OR Ishida in view of Tajima et al. OR Kim et al. in view of Tajima et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hachiya et al. [U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0166199].
Regarding Claim 3, Kido et al. in view of Nishisaka et al. OR Kido et al. in view of Tozawa et al. OR Tajima et al. in view of Nishisaka et al. OR Tajima et al. in view of Tozawa et al. OR Nishisaka et al. in view of Tajima et al. OR Tozawa et al. in view of Tajima et al. OR Ishida in view of Tajima et al. OR Kim et al. in view of Tajima et al. shows the claimed invention as applied above but does not show the element body is constituted by stacking element body layers containing a plurality of metal magnetic particles of a soft magnetic material.
Hachiya et al. shows a coil component (Figs. 1-6B) teaching and suggesting the element body (12) is constituted by stacking element body layers (ML1-ML7) containing a plurality of metal magnetic particles of a soft magnetic material (G1, G2, or G3, Paragraph [0114], claim 12).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the element body is constituted by stacking element body layers containing a plurality of metal magnetic particles of a soft magnetic material as taught by Hachiya et al. for the coil component as disclosed by Kido et al. in view of Nishisaka et al. OR Kido et al. in view of Tozawa et al. OR Tajima et al. in view of Nishisaka et al. OR Tajima et al. in view of Tozawa et al. OR Nishisaka et al. in view of Tajima et al. OR Tozawa et al. in view of Tajima et al. OR Ishida in view of Tajima et al. OR Kim et al. in view of Tajima et al. to obtain higher performance and magnetic permeability with suppressing leakage of magnetic flux with improved magnetic characteristics and inductance values (Paragraph [0007]).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kido et al. in view of Nishisaka et al. OR Kido et al. in view of Tozawa et al. OR Tajima et al. in view of Nishisaka et al. OR Tajima et al. in view of Tozawa et al. OR Nishisaka et al. in view of Tajima et al. OR Tozawa et al. in view of Tajima et al. OR Ishida in view of Tajima et al. OR Kim et al. in view of Tajima et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yosui [WO 2014/115433].
Regarding Claim 4, Kido et al. in view of Nishisaka et al. OR Kido et al. in view of Tozawa et al. OR Tajima et al. in view of Nishisaka et al. OR Tajima et al. in view of Tozawa et al. OR Nishisaka et al. in view of Tajima et al. OR Tozawa et al. in view of Tajima et al. OR Ishida in view of Tajima et al. OR Kim et al. in view of Tajima et al. shows the claimed invention as applied above but does not show surface roughness of the joining surface is larger than surface roughness of the plating surface.
Yosui shows a coil component (Figs. 2(A)-2(D)) teaching and suggesting surface roughness (element 30B of element 31A or 31B) of the joining surface (top surface) is larger than surface roughness (element 30A of element 31A or 31B) of the plating surface (bottom surface, see Figs. 2(A)-2(D), see English translation).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have roughness of the joining surface is larger than surface roughness of the plating surface as taught by Yosui for the coil component as disclosed by Kido et al. in view of Nishisaka et al. OR Kido et al. in view of Tozawa et al. OR Tajima et al. in view of Nishisaka et al. OR Tajima et al. in view of Tozawa et al. OR Nishisaka et al. in view of Tajima et al. OR Tozawa et al. in view of Tajima et al. OR Ishida in view of Tajima et al. OR Kim et al. in view of Tajima et al. to reduce loss of the current flowing and facilitate electrical connection (see English translation).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kido et al. in view of Nishisaka et al. OR Kido et al. in view of Tozawa et al. OR Tajima et al. in view of Nishisaka et al. OR Tajima et al. in view of Tozawa et al. OR Nishisaka et al. in view of Tajima et al. OR Tozawa et al. in view of Tajima et al. OR Ishida in view of Tajima et al. OR Kim et al. in view of Tajima et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kang et al. [U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0362883].
Regarding Claim 4, Kido et al. in view of Nishisaka et al. OR Kido et al. in view of Tozawa et al. OR Tajima et al. in view of Nishisaka et al. OR Tajima et al. in view of Tozawa et al. OR Nishisaka et al. in view of Tajima et al. OR Tozawa et al. in view of Tajima et al. OR Ishida in view of Tajima et al. OR Kim et al. in view of Tajima et al. shows the claimed invention as applied above but does not show surface roughness of the joining surface is larger than surface roughness of the plating surface.
Kang et al. shows a coil component (Figs. 1-4) teaching and suggesting surface roughness of the joining surface (top surface of element 310) is larger than surface roughness of the plating surface (bottom surface of element 310, see Figs. 1-4, Paragraph [0062]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have roughness of the joining surface is larger than surface roughness of the plating surface as taught by Yosui for the coil component as disclosed by Kido et al. in view of Nishisaka et al. OR Kido et al. in view of Tozawa et al. OR Tajima et al. in view of Nishisaka et al. OR Tajima et al. in view of Tozawa et al. OR Nishisaka et al. in view of Tajima et al. OR Tozawa et al. in view of Tajima et al. OR Ishida in view of Tajima et al. OR Kim et al. in view of Tajima et al. to improve breakdown voltage and improve flatness of a mounting surface (Paragraphs [0006], [0008]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4 and 6 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Taniguchi et al. [U.S. Pub. No. 2012/0007709] shows the baked electrode layer (4) and the plated conductor (5) are made of a same metal (element 4 can be made of metal or alloy containing at least one element selected from Ag or Cu and element 5 can be made of metal or alloy containing at least one element selected from Ag or Cu, Paragraphs [0038], [0041]).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TSZFUNG J CHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837