DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment and Arguments
Applicant’s amendment filed on January 2, 2026 has been entered and made of record. Claims 1-4, 7-13, and 16-20 are pending and are being examined in this application.
In light of Applicant’s remarks and amendments to the claims, the 101 rejection is withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to 102 and 103 rejections have been considered, but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection provided below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7, 9, 10-13, 16, 18, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE et al. (NPL “A Simple Unified Framework for Detecting Out-of-Distribution Samples and Adversarial Attacks”).
Regarding claim 1, LEE teaches “A computer-implemented method for model training, comprising receiving, by a hardware processor, sets of images, each set corresponding to a respective task”:
([Page 2, Contribution, Paragraphs 1-2] “…Our high-level idea is to measure the probability density of test sample on feature spaces of DNNs (Deep Neural networks being the models to be trained) utilizing the concept of a “generative” (distance-based) classifier…
We demonstrate the effectiveness of the proposed method using deep convolutional neural networks, such as DenseNet [14] and ResNet [12] trained for image classification tasks (a neural network classifier trained by receiving sets of images that are each based on various tasks such as CIFAR which contains object recognition tasks such as birds (https://www.cs.toronto.edu/~kriz/cifar.html) or SVHN, which contains number recognition tasks on street-view homes (https://www.kaggle.com/datasets/stanfordu/street-view-house-numbers)”)
Additionally, neural networks are by definition, “computer program products” which by nature, computer-implemented.
Further, LEE teaches “training, by the hardware processor, a task-based neural network classifier having a center and a covariance matrix for each of a plurality of classes in a last layer of the task-based neural network classifier and a plurality of convolutional layers preceding the last layer, by using a similarity between an image feature of a last convolutional layer from among the plurality of convolutional layers and the center and the covariance matrix for a given one of the plurality of classes, the similarity minimizing an impact of a data model forgetting problem”:
([Page 2, Contribution, Paragraphs 1-2] “…Our high-level idea is to measure the probability density of test sample on feature spaces of DNNs utilizing the concept of a “generative” (distance-based) classifier… Under this assumption, we define the confidence score using the Mahalanobis distance with respect to the closest class-conditional distribution (a well-known mathematical calculation that calculates similarity using the mean (center) and the covariance matrix), where its parameters are chosen as empirical class means and tied empirical covariance of training samples…
We demonstrate the effectiveness of the proposed method using deep convolutional neural networks (neural networks with a plurality of convolutional layers), such as DenseNet [14] and ResNet [12] trained for image classification tasks (a neural network classifier trained using image features) on various datasets including CIFAR [15], SVHN [28], ImageNet [5] and LSUN [32]…”)
And further:
([Pages 2-3, Why Mahalanobis distance-based score?] “Let
be an input and
be its label. Suppose that a pre-trained softmax neural classifier is given (a pre-trained classifier based on Mahalanobis distance would then have a center and a covariance matrix for its known classes):
where wc and bc are the weight and the bias of the softmax classifier for class c, and
denotes the output of the penultimate layer of DNNs (the last layer preceded by a plurality of convolutional layers) … To estimate the parameters of the generative classifier from the pre-trained softmax neural classifier, we compute the empirical class mean and covariance of training samples
where Nc is the number of training samples with label c. This is equivalent to fitting the class-conditional Gaussian distributions with a tied covariance to training samples under the maximum likelihood estimator.
Mahalanobis distance-based confidence score. Using the above induced class-conditional Gaussian distributions, we define the confidence score M(x) using the Mahalanobis distance between test sample x and the closest class-conditional Gaussian distribution, i.e.,
(Here, we see the Mahalanobis distance being used, which compares the similarities of a test sample (image feature) using the center and covariance to the known plurality of classes’ center and covariance matrices. Here, f(x) is a sample representation of the image feature.
is the class mean/center. Σ is the tied covariance estimated from the entire training set, which is explicitly multiplied with the squared difference vector via its inverse Σ-1 which is algebraically equivalent to computing a squared norm in a whitened space (i.e., multiplication by a decomposed covariance factor such as Σ-1/2) and thus the result, is an estimated curvature between the mean and the image feature.)”)
And further:
([Page 4, Algorithm 1] “
”)
This algorithm illustrates the process of computing the confidence score using Mahalanobis distance, covariance and mean (center)
And further:
([Page 5, Algorithm 2]
”)
This algorithm illustrates the process when used with class-incremental learning, to minimize data forgetting, by comparing the similarity of each training sample of the preceding layer with the known classes.
Further, LEE teaches “wherein training the neural network classifier minimizes a cross-entropy loss between a prediction and a class label”:
([Page 7, Comparison of robustness, sentence 8] “…we remark that our method using softmax neural classifier trained by standard cross entropy loss (cross-entropy is the method used, which is the standard method for neural networks, aiming to minimize the loss between predictions and class labels) typically outperforms the ODIN using softmax neural classifier trained by confidence loss…”)
Further, LEE teaches “wherein training further comprises: receiving a new task to classify into at least one of a plurality of new classes; adding a … new center and covariance for the at least one of the plurality of new classes; and training the model using the new task to recognize the new task in the future”:
([Page 5, Algorithm 2] “
”) This shows the use of the methods within class-incremental learning where new tasks are classified into new classes. You can also see the new class mean (center) and the covariance for the new class explicitly being calculated here. Finally, updates the shared covariance and returns the mean and covariance of all classes, thereby training the model using the new task to recognize the new task in the future.
LEE fails to explicitly teach that the new center is “randomly initialized.”
However, YANG teaches that the new center is “randomly initialized”:
([Page 5, top half] “in step S2. The transformer state quantity setting clustering centre number, using non-supervised clustering method for clustering category classification of sample data after standardized processing specifically comprises: …the distance measurement function can also use the Mahalanobis distance … randomly selecting 6 sample data as the initial clustering centre vectors μ = (μ1, ..., μ6) by a distance function metric for each sample data with all the clustering centre vector μ i of the similarity according to the calculation result, the nearest center vector is determined as the type of the sample, until finishing all the sample classification; calculating the sample mean in each class, and as the new clustering centre vector μ * = (μ1 *, ..., μ6*), re-performing similarity calculation to all sample and category classification; repeating the calculating, when μ * = (μ1 *, ..., μ6 *) does not change, indicating that clustering is completed and stopping calculating, obtaining each sample category.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the classification taught by LEE so that updating the Mahalanobis distance-based classifier to include new classes includes randomly selecting initial clustering centre vectors when calculating the new class mean as taught by YANG, with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would have been to ensure the objectivity and rationality of the classification results (YANG [last paragraph of pg. 2]).
Regarding claim 2, LEE teaches the limitations of claim 1. Further, LEE teaches “wherein the similarity is measured based on a distance calculation made using a Mahalanobis distance that induces a Riemmanian geometry”:
([Page 2, Contribution, Paragraph 1] “…Our high-level idea is to measure the probability density of test sample on feature spaces of DNNs utilizing the concept of a “generative” (distance-based) classifier… Under this assumption, we define the confidence score using the Mahalanobis distance with respect to the closest class-conditional distribution (a well-known mathematical calculation used in the last layer that calculates similarity using the mean (center) and the covariance matrix), where its parameters are chosen as empirical class means and tied empirical covariance of training samples…”) This shows that the similarity measure/confidence score is based on a distance calculation made using a Mahalanobis distance.
And further:
([Page 5, Algorithm 2]
”)
The above equations show a covariance matrix Σ that varies smoothly, thus inducing a non-flat Riemannian metric / a Riemannian geometry.
Regarding claim 3, LEE teaches the limitations of claim 2. Further, LEE teaches “wherein the distance calculation for a given one of the plurality of classes is a squared distance of a difference between a sample representation of the image feature and a class-center of the given one of the plurality of classes multiplied by a decomposed covariance”:
([Page 3, Equation 2] “
”) Here, f(x) is a sample representation of the image feature.
is the class center. The subtraction and squaring via quadratic form matches the claimed “squared distance of a difference between a sample representation of the image feature and a class-center of the given one of the plurality of classes”, where Σ is the tied covariance estimated from the entire training set, which is explicitly multiplied with the squared difference vector via its inverse Σ-1 which is algebraically equivalent to computing a squared norm in a whitened space (i.e., multiplication by a decomposed covariance factor such as Σ-1/2)
Regarding claim 4, LEE teaches the limitations of claim 3. Further LEE teaches “wherein the distance calculation is a prediction”:
([Page 4, Paragraph 1] “We remark that this corresponds to predicting a class label using the posterior distribution from generative classifier with the uniform class prior. Interestingly, we found that the softmax accuracy (red bar) is also achieved by the Mahalanobis distance-based classifier (blue bar), while conventional knowledge is that a generative classifier trained from scratch typically performs much worse than a discriminative classifier such as softmax.”) This citation simply shows that a classifying data with a neural network classifier inherently corresponds with making a prediction, and thus, using a Mahalanobis distance to train the classifier is a prediction.
Regarding claim 7, LEE teaches the limitations of claim 1. Further LEE teaches “wherein the neural network is trained using training data comprising respective pluralities of images pertaining to respective given tasks with distinct classes and domains”:
([Page 2, Contribution, paragraph 2] “We demonstrate the effectiveness of the proposed method using deep convolutional neural networks, such as DenseNet [14] and ResNet [12] trained for image classification tasks on various datasets including CIFAR [15], SVHN [28], ImageNet [5] and LSUN [32]…”) Here, we see the datasets used as training data, including CIFAR, which comprises 10 classes of a specific domain (natural images) (https://www.cs.toronto.edu/~kriz/cifar.html), the SVHN dataset, which comprises 10 classes of a different domain (street numbers of houses) (https://www.kaggle.com/datasets/stanfordu/street-view-house-numbers) in addition to ImageNet and LSUN, thus providing evidence of training data comprising pluralities of images pertaining to respective given tasks (number recognition, object recognition such as birds or boats) with distinct classes and domains.
Regarding claim 9, LEE teaches the limitations of claim 1. Further LEE teaches “wherein the task-based neural network classifier uses covariance to estimate a curvature between a mean in the task-based neural network classifier and an image feature from a new task”:
([Page 2, Contribution, Sentence 3] “Given deep neural networks (DNNs) with the softmax classifier, we propose a simple yet effective method for detecting abnormal samples such as out of-distribution (OOD) and adversarial ones. We first present the proposed confidence score based on an induced generative classifier under Gaussian discriminant analysis (GDA) (it can be understood by one skilled in the art that Gaussian discriminant analysis is a known technique that uses a covariance matrix to explicitly model the curvature of the feature distribution around the mean (center)), and then introduce additional techniques to improve its performance. We also discuss how the confidence score is applicable to incremental learning.”)
And further:
([Page 3, Equation 2] “
”) Here, f(x) is a sample representation of the image feature.
is the class mean/center. Σ is the tied covariance estimated from the entire training set, which is explicitly multiplied with the squared difference vector via its inverse Σ-1 which is algebraically equivalent to computing a squared norm in a whitened space (i.e., multiplication by a decomposed covariance factor such as Σ-1/2) and thus the result, is an estimated curvature between the mean and the image feature.
Regarding claim 10, see at least the rejection for claim 1. LEE further teaches A computer program product for model training, the computer program product comprising a non-transitory computer readable storage medium having program instructions embodied therewith, the program instructions executable by a computer to cause the computer to perform the claimed method:
([Page 1, Abstract]) Neural networks are, by definition, “computer program products,” which are computer-executed.
Regarding claim 11, see the rejection for claim 2.
Regarding claim 12, see the rejection for claim 3.
Regarding claim 13, see the rejection for claim 4.
Regarding claim 16, see the rejection for claim 7.
Regarding claim 17, see the rejection for claim 8.
Regarding claim 18, see the rejection for claim 9.
Regarding claim 19, see at least the rejection for claim 1. LEE further teaches A computer processing system for model training, comprising: a memory device for storing program code; and a hardware processor operatively coupled to the memory device for running the program code to perform the claimed steps:
([Page 1, Abstract]) Neural networks are, by definition, “computer program products,” which are executed by a computer comprising at least a hardware processor and a memory device.
Regarding claim 20, see the rejection for claim 2.
Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE and YANG, as applied to claims above, and further in view of TARVAINEN et al. (NPL “Mean teachers are better role models: Weight-averaged consistency targets improve semi-supervised deep learning results”).
Regarding claim 8, LEE and YANG teach the limitations of claim 1. LEE and YANG fail to explicitly teach “calculating a knowledge distillation loss by calculating a smooth transition coefficient between a current task-based neural network classifier and a prior task-based neural network classifier for a given task and further calculating an exponential moving average.”
However, analogous art, TARVAINEN, does teach this:
([Pages 2-3, Section 2. Mean Teacher] “To overcome the limitations of Temporal Ensembling, we propose averaging model weights instead of predictions. Since the teacher model (a prior task-based neural network classifier) is an average of consecutive student models, we call this the Mean Teacher method (Figure 2). Averaging model weights over training steps tends to produce a more accurate model than using the final weights directly [19]. We can take advantage of this during training to construct better targets. Instead of sharing the weights with the student model (a current task-based neural network classifier), the teacher model uses the EMA weights of the student model (explicit calculation of an exponential moving average). Now it can aggregate information after every step instead of every epoch. In addition, since the weight averages improve all layer outputs, not just the top output, the target model has better intermediate representations. These aspects lead to two practical advantages over Temporal Ensembling: First, the more accurate target labels lead to a faster feedback loop between the student and the teacher models, resulting in better test accuracy. Second, the approach scales to large datasets and on-line learning.
More formally, we define the consistency cost J (the knowledge distillation loss) as the expected distance between the prediction of the student model (with weights
and noise
) and the prediction of the teacher model (with weights
and noise
).
The difference between the II model, Temporal Ensembling, and Mean teacher is how the teacher predictions are generated. Whereas the II model uses
=
, and Temporal Ensembling approximates
with a weighted average of successive predictions, we define
at training step t as the EMA (explicit calculation of expected moving average) of successive
weights:
where
is a smoothing coefficient hyperparameter ( a smooth transition coefficient). An additional difference between the three algorithms is that the II model applies training to
whereas Temporal Ensembling and Mean Teacher treat it as a constant with regards to optimization.”) Here, the “consistency cost”, which is calculated as the mean squared error between teacher and student predictions, is equivalent to the claimed “knowledge distillation loss” calculated from “a smooth transition coefficient” (
) between a current task-based neural network classifier (student model
) and a prior task-based neural network classifier (teacher model
)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the classification taught by the combination of LEE and YANG to include the calculation of a consistency cost taught by TARVAINEN, with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would have been because, as TARVAINEN points out, ([Section 2. Mean Teacher] “These aspects lead to two practical advantages over Temporal Ensembling: First, the more accurate target labels lead to a faster feedback loop between the student and the teacher models, resulting in better test accuracy. Second, the approach scales to large datasets and on-line learning”.)
Regarding claim 17, see the rejection for claim 8.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/Grace Park/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2144