DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 17, 21-24 and 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 17, the limitation “the semiconductor light emitting device is electrically separated from the first assembly electrode,” does not appear to have support in the originally filed disclosure. Specifically, as best understood, “electrically separated” requires electrically isolation or a lack of electrical connection. While it is noted that while there is a cross-section showing the insulating layer 210 between the first assembly electrode 210 and the light emitting device, it cannot be ascertained if any electrical connections are or are not made between 210 and the light emitting device, e.g. an electrical connection which is into or out of the page from the cross-sectional view. Accordingly, electrical isolation or a lack of electrical connection is not supported.
Regarding claims 26 and 27, the limitation “a bottom most surface of the semiconductor light emitting device is disposed on a top most surface of the second assembly electrode,” does not appear to have support in the originally filed disclosure. Specifically, while a single cross section shows the relationship, it cannot be ascertained if any further bottom surfaces or top surfaces of the elements exist which are not shown in the cross section disclosed.
Note the dependent claims do not cure the deficiencies of the claims on which they depend.
Claims 1-2, 17, 21-24 and 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 17, the limitation “the semiconductor light emitting device is electrically separated from the first assembly electrode,” is unclear as to what is required by the claim. Specifically, it is noted that there is no disclosure of “electrically separated,” and the phrase is not a term of art. As best understood, it is interpreted as requiring electrically isolation or a lack of electrical connection.
Regarding claims 26 and 27, the limitations “a bottom most surface,” and a top most surface,” are unclear as to if applicant intends to claim a “bottommost” and a “topmost” or as to what is intended by “bottom most” and “top most.”
Note the dependent claims necessarily inherit the indefiniteness of the claims on which they depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 17, 21-24, and 26-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li et al. (US 2022/0231080; herein “Li”).
Regarding claims 1 and 17, Li discloses in Fig. 9E and related text a display device comprising:
a first assembly electrode (e.g. UE, see [0197]) disposed on a substrate (BSL);
a second assembly electrode (ALE, see [0236]) disposed on the first assembly electrode;
an insulating layer (e.g. a first layer of INS1, see [0175] and [0208]) disposed between the first assembly electrode and the second assembly electrode;
an assembly barrier wall (e.g. a second layer of INS1) including an assembly hole and disposed on the second assembly electrode; and
a semiconductor light emitting device (LD, see [0059]) disposed in the assembly hole and electrically connected to the second assembly electrode (ALE directly connected to end of LD, see Fig. 9E),
wherein the second assembly electrode comprises an electrode hole (holes in ALE, see Fig. 9E) in a region overlapping the semiconductor light emitting device, and the electrode hole exposes a portion of the insulating layer (see Fig. 9E), and
wherein the semiconductor light emitting device is entirely spaced apart from the first assembly electrode (LD is spaced apart from UE) and the semiconductor light emitting device is electrically separated from the first assembly electrode (e.g. by PSV).
Regarding claim 2, Li further discloses wherein a size of the electrode hole is less than a size of the semiconductor light emitting device (e.g. width, see Fig. 9E).
Regarding claims 21 and 23, Li further discloses at least one portion of the first assembly electrode (UE) is configured to overlap at least one portion of the second assembly electrode (ALE) in a vertical direction.
Regarding claims 22 and 24, Li further discloses a bottom surface of the second assembly electrode (ALE) is disposed higher than a top surface of the first assembly electrode (UE).
Regarding claims 26 and 27, Li further discloses wherein a bottom most surface of the semiconductor light emitting device (LD) is disposed on a top most surface of the second assembly electrode (ALE) (see Fig. 9E).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/2/2026 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection presented above. In particular, it is noted that the claimed “first assembly electrode” is newly interpreted.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAUREN R BELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896