DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim1 be found allowable, claim 19 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 17, 19, 21-24, and 26-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li et al. (US 2022/0231080; herein “Li”).
Regarding claim 1, claims 17 and 19, Li discloses in Fig. 9E and related text a display device comprising:
a first assembly electrode (e.g. a lower layer of ET1, see [0108] and [0203]) disposed on a substrate (BSL);
a second assembly electrode (ALE, see [0236]) disposed on the first assembly electrode;
an insulating layer (e.g. a first layer of INS1, see [0175] and [0208]) disposed between the first assembly electrode and the second assembly electrode;
an assembly barrier wall (e.g. a second layer of INS1) including an assembly hole and disposed on the second assembly electrode; and
a semiconductor light emitting device (LD, see [0059]) disposed in the assembly hole and electrically connected to the second assembly electrode (ALE directly connected to end of LD, see Fig. 9E),
wherein the second assembly electrode comprises an electrode hole (holes in ALE, see Fig. 9E) in a region overlapping the semiconductor light emitting device, and the electrode hole exposes a portion of the insulating layer (see Fig. 9E), and
wherein the semiconductor light emitting device is entirely spaced apart from the first assembly electrode (LD is spaced apart from lower layer of ET1 by upper layer of ET1).
Regarding claim 2, Li further discloses wherein a size of the electrode hole is less than a size of the semiconductor light emitting device (e.g. width, see Fig. 9E).
Regarding claims 21 and 23, Li further discloses at least one portion of the first assembly electrode (ET1) is configured to overlap at least one portion of the second assembly electrode (ALE) in a vertical direction.
Regarding claims 22 and 24, Li further discloses a bottom surface of the second assembly electrode (ALE) is disposed higher than a top surface of the first assembly electrode (ET1).
Regarding claims 26 and 27, Li further discloses wherein a bottom surface of the semiconductor light emitting device (LD) is disposed on a top surface of the second assembly electrode (ALE) (see Fig. 9E).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/27/2026 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection presented above. In particular, it is noted that the claimed “first assembly electrode” is newly interpreted as a bottom layer of ET1 of Li.
Conclusion
/LAUREN R BELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896 2/26/2026