Response to Amendments
The amendment filed January 2nd, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-3, and 15-24 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every objection and 112(b) rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed August 1st, 2025.
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claims 21-23 are directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: Claims 21-23 are directed towards species figure 6- an architecture comprising two thermal engines, whereas species figure 5- an architecture comprising one thermal engine is an originally examined species.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 21-23 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 15, 18 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1 line 31, “…to the respective first and second propulsors…” should read “…to the first and second propulsors…”.
In claim 1 line 35, “…and power outputs from the first…” should read “…and the power outputs from the first…”.
In claim 1 line 36, “…for cruise of the aircraft…” should read “…for cruising of the aircraft…”.
In claim 15 line 31, “…the taxiing, the takeoff and the climb…” should read “…taxiing, takeoff and climb…” so that there is a sufficient antecedent basis for the limitation in the claim.
In claim 15 line 33, “…for taxiing, takeoff and climb…” should read “…for the taxiing, the takeoff and the climb…” to resolve antecedent issues.
In claim 15 line 41, “…for cruise of the aircraft…” should read “…for cruising of the aircraft…”.
In claim 18 line 3, “…thermal engine.” should read “…thermal engine arrangement.” for the purpose of consistency in the use of limitation.
In claim 20 line 38, “…for cruise of the aircraft…” should read “…for cruising of the aircraft…”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 20 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the selecting including: (a) when the first electric motor fails, controlling the first…” which renders the claim indefinite as claim 1 recites “selecting between the output power of the at least one thermal engine and power outputs from the first and second electric motors…” whereas “when the first electric motor fails, controlling the first…” is the process of decoupling failed electric motors/thermal engine, instead of selecting between the output power of the at least one thermal engine and power outputs from the first and second electric motors.
Claim 20 recites “when failure of the first electric motor is detected, controlling the first clutch to decouple the failed first electric motor from the first propulsor, thereby allowing mechanical power input to both the first propulsor and the second propulsor and maintaining aircraft thrust symmetry, and
when failure of the second electric motor is detected, controlling the second clutch to decouple the failed second electric motor from the second propulsor, thereby allowing mechanical power input to both the first propulsor and the second propulsor and maintaining aircraft thrust symmetry” which renders the claim indefinite as it is unclear how and what is causing the mechanical power input to both the first propulsor and the second propulsor when the first electric motor and the second electric motor fails
Claim 24 recites “ wherein when the at least one thermal engine fails, the selecting comprises: (i) decoupling the at least one thermal engine …” which renders the claim indefinite as claim 1 recites “selecting between the output power of the at least one thermal engine and power outputs from the first and second electric motors…” whereas “decoupling the at least one thermal engine …” is the process of decoupling failed thermal engine, instead of selecting between the output power of the at least one thermal engine and power outputs from the first and second electric motors.
Claims not addressed above are rejected due to their dependency on rejected base claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 15-17, 19-20 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brand et al. (US 2006/0011780) in view of Ohashi (WO 2018/193522), Chantriaux et al. (US 2014/0203739), Lawrence (US 2019/0315476) and Lents et al. (US 2018/0002025).
Regarding claims 1 and 24 (as best understood), Brand et al. ‘780 teaches (figures 1-3) an aircraft (12) with an aft-fuselage propulsion system (10) (Para 0014-0015), comprising:
at least one thermal engine/a single gas turbine engine (18) disposed within a fuselage of the aircraft (Para 0015);
a first nacelle (40) of the aircraft, a first propulsor (42), the first nacelle (40) connected by a first pylon (24) to a rear of the fuselage of the aircraft (12) (clearly seen in figure 1) (Para 0017);
a second nacelle (40) of the aircraft, a second propulsor (42), the second nacelle (40) connected by a second pylon (24) to the rear of the fuselage of the aircraft (12) (clearly seen in figure 1) (Para 0017; aircraft comprises two nacelles connected by two pylons to the fuselage);
a first gearbox connected to the first propulsor (clearly shown in the figure below) (Para 0018; bevel gears 36 and 38 forms a gearbox);
a second gearbox connected to the second propulsor (clearly shown in the figure below) (Para 0018; bevel gears 36 and 38 forms a gearbox);
;
but it is silent about the aircraft comprising:
a first electric motor, housed within a first nacelle of the aircraft, connectable or connected to a first propulsor;
a second electric motor, housed within a second nacelle of the aircraft, connectable or connected to a second propulsor;
a mechanical interlink system integrating the at least one thermal engine, the first electric motor, the second electric motor, a battery system and associated power electronics, and associated cabling connecting to the first electric motor, the second electric motor, the battery systems and the associated power electronics,
the mechanical interlink system comprising:
respective additional coupler configured to selectively couple the first and second gearboxes to the at least one thermal engine, and
at least one controller connected to the at least one thermal engine, the first electric motor, the second electric motor and the mechanical interlink system.
However, Ohashi ‘522 teaches (figure 7) the propeller-type aircraft/aircraft (7) (English Translation Pg. 12 Para 8) comprising:
an internal combustion engine/thermal engine (20) of the propeller-type aircraft (English Translation Pg. 12 Para 11);
a first electric motor (40a) connected to a first propulsor (10a) via. a first gearbox gearbox/differential mechanism (72a) (English Translation Pg. 12 Para 9, 11; Pg. 13 Para 1);
a second electric motor (40b) connected to a second propulsor (10b) via. a second gearbox gearbox/differential mechanism (72b) (English Translation Pg. 12 Para 9, 11; Pg. 13 Para 1);
a mechanical interlink system/ rotational force transmission mechanism (71) integrating the thermal engine/internal combustion engine (20), the first electric motor (40a), the second electric motor (40b), battery system and associated power electronics, and associated cabling connecting to the first electric motor, the second electric motor, the battery system and the associated power electronics (English Translation Pg. 12 Para 9-11, Pg. 13 Para 1-2; battery system powers motors and are connected to each other via cables and power electronics), the mechanical interlink system/ rotational force transmission mechanism (71) comprising:
a respective coupler/clutch (78a, 78b) configured to selectively couple the first (72a) and second (72b) gearboxes/differential mechanisms to the thermal engine/internal combustion engine (20) (English Translation Pg. 12 Para 9)
at least one controller/control device connected to the thermal engine, the first electric motor, the second electric motor and the mechanical interlink system (English Translation Pg. 2 Para 11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Brand et al. ‘780 to incorporate the teachings of Ohashi ‘’522 to configure the aircraft comprising:
a first electric motor, housed within a first nacelle of the aircraft, connectable or connected to a first propulsor (first electric motor is behind the first propulsor, thus is housed within a first nacelle with the first electric motor);
a second electric motor, housed within a second nacelle of the aircraft, connectable or connected to a second propulsor (second electric motor is behind the second propulsor, thus is housed within a second nacelle with the second electric motor);
a mechanical interlink system integrating the at least one thermal engine, the first electric motor, the second electric motor, a battery system and associated power electronics, and associated cabling connecting to the first electric motor, the second electric motor, the battery systems and the associated power electronics, the mechanical interlink system comprising:
respective additional coupler configured to selectively couple the first and second gearboxes to the thermal engine, and
at least one controller connected to the at least one thermal engine, the first electric motor, the second electric motor and the mechanical interlink system.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would enhance fuel efficiency, lower emissions and provide control of the propulsion system.
Modified Brand et al. ‘780 is silent about the aircraft comprising:
plural battery systems;
the mechanical interlink system comprising:
a first clutch that selectively couples the first electric motor to the first propulsor,
a second clutch that selectively couples the second electric motor to the second propulsor, and
in a case of failure of either the first electric motor or the second electric motor, decoupling the failed electric motor from the mechanical interlink system via the first or second clutch respectively,
when the first electric motor fails, controlling the first clutch to decouple the first electric motor from the first propulsor via the first gearbox,
when the second electric motor fails, controlling the second clutch to decouple the second electric motor from the second propulsor via the second gearbox, and
when the at least one thermal engine fails, controlling the at least one thermal engine to decouple from the first propulsor and/or the second propulsor, and controlling the first clutch to couple the first electric motor to the first propulsor via the first gearbox, and/or controlling the second clutch to couple the second electric motor to the second propulsor via the second gearbox,
wherein when the at least one thermal engine fails:
decoupling the at least one thermal engine from the first propulsor and controlling the first clutch to couple the first electric motor to the first propulsor via the first gearbox, and
decoupling the at least one thermal engine from the second propulsor and controlling the second clutch to couple the second electric motor to the second propulsor via the second gearbox.
Chantriaux et al. ‘739 teaches a rotary or fixed aircraft comprising a pack of batteries and/or supercapacitors, rotors rotated by a shaft wherein electric motor elements are connected directly to rotate the shaft wherein each electric motor element comprises at least one fixed stator, at least one moving rotor and at least one mechanical or electromagnetic freewheeling unit/clutch directly connected to said rotating shaft, said moving rotor cooperating with said freewheeling unit in such way as to couple to said rotating shaft during normal operation of the electric motor element and to decouple from said shaft when said electric motor element fails (Para 0015-0018, 0034; failed source of power is decoupled).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Brand et al. ‘780 to incorporate the teachings of Chantriaux et al. ‘739 to configure the aircraft comprising:
plural battery systems;
the mechanical interlink system comprising:
a first clutch that selectively couples the first electric motor to the first propulsor,
a second clutch that selectively couples the second electric motor to the second propulsor, and
in a case of failure of either the first electric motor or the second electric motor, decoupling the failed electric motor from the mechanical interlink system via the first or second clutch respectively,
when the first electric motor fails, controlling the first clutch to decouple the first electric motor from the first propulsor via the first gearbox,
when the second electric motor fails, controlling the second clutch to decouple the second electric motor from the second propulsor via the second gearbox, and
when the at least one thermal engine fails, controlling the at least one thermal engine to decouple from the first propulsor and/or the second propulsor, and controlling the first clutch to couple the first electric motor to the first propulsor via the first gearbox, and/or controlling the second clutch to couple the second electric motor to the second propulsor via the second gearbox,
wherein when the at least one thermal engine fails:
decoupling the at least one thermal engine from the first propulsor and controlling the first clutch to couple the first electric motor to the first propulsor via the first gearbox, and
decoupling the at least one thermal engine from the second propulsor and controlling the second clutch to couple the second electric motor to the second propulsor via the second gearbox (both thermal engine and electric motors are source of powers; during takeoff and climb both electric motors and thermal engine arrangement apply power to propulsors, thus additional couplers and clutches are controlled).
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would ensure continues power is supplied to propulsors.
Modified Brand et al. ‘780 is silent about the aircraft comprising:
arrangements housed within the first and second nacelles, the arrangements comprising heat exchangers and/or cooling fin configured for thermal management of the first electric motor and the second electric motor by taking advantage of dynamic pressure from slipstreams produced by the first propulsor and the second propulsor.
Lawrence ‘476 teaches electrically powered aircraft comprising the electric motors with heat exchangers wherein ram air from forward movement of the aircraft flows through the electric motor i.e., air-cooled or through a liquid-to-air heat exchanger (Para 0004).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Brand et al. ‘780 to incorporate teaching of Lawrence ‘476 to configure the aircraft comprising:
arrangements housed within the first and second nacelles, the arrangements comprising heat exchangers and/or cooling fin configured for thermal management of the first electric motor and the second electric motor by taking advantage of dynamic pressure from slipstreams produced by the first propulsor and the second propulsor.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would cool the electric motors.
Modified Brand et al. ‘780 is silent about the aircraft comprising:
the at least one controller performing operations comprising:
controlling the first electric motor and the second electric motor to respectively apply power to the first propulsor and the second propulsor for taxiing of the aircraft,
controlling application of output power of the at least one thermal engine to the first and second propulsors to supplement the power the first electric motor and the second electric motor apply to the first propulsor and second propulsor, respectively, for takeoff and climb of the aircraft, and
selecting between the output power of the at least one thermal engine and the power outputs from the first and second electric motors to apply to the respective first and second propulsors for cruising of the aircraft.
Lents et al. ‘025 teaches a method of operating a gas turbine engine includes providing power to a taxiing system using an electric motor during a taxi mode of operation, providing thrust from fan rotation during at least one of a take-off and climb mode operations, wherein the fan is rotated by a turbine and the electric motor simultaneously and providing thrust from fan rotating during cruise mode of operation, wherein the fan is rotated exclusively by the turbine (Para 0021).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Brand et al. ‘780 to incorporate teaching of Lents et al. ‘025 to configure the aircraft comprising:
the at least one controller performing operations comprising:
controlling the first electric motor and the second electric motor to respectively apply power to the first propulsor and the second propulsor for taxiing of the aircraft,
controlling application of output power of the at least one thermal engine to the first and second propulsors to supplement the power the first electric motor and the second electric motor apply to the first propulsor and second propulsor, respectively, for takeoff and climb of the aircraft (both engine and electric motors supply propulsors during takeoff and climb), and
selecting the output power of the at least one thermal engine to apply to the respective first and second propulsors for cruising of the aircraft.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would enhance fuel efficiency.
Regarding claim 2, modified Brand et al. ‘780 teaches (figures 1-3) the aircraft of claim 1 but it is silent about the aircraft wherein the thermal engine comprises a Diesel cycle engine or a compression-ignition engine.
Ohashi ‘522 teaches an internal combustion engine (20) comprising a diesel engine (English Translation Pg. 3 Para 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Brand et al.’ 780 to incorporate the teachings of Ohashi ‘522 to configure the aircraft wherein the thermal engine comprises a Diesel cycle engine or a compression-ignition engine.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would enhance torque for better take offs.
Regarding claim 3, modified Brand et al. ‘780 teaches (figures 1-3) the aircraft wherein the mechanical interlink system comprises driveshafts connected to the first clutch and the second clutch (as modified by Chantriaux et al. ‘739; electric motor output shaft carries a clutch).
Regarding claim 15, Brand et al. ‘780 teaches (figures 1-3) a propulsion system (10) for an aircraft (12) comprising a first nacelle (40) connected by a first pylon (24) to a rear of a fuselage of the aircraft, the first nacelle (40) supporting a first propulsor (42) connected to a first gearbox (clearly shown in the figure below), and a second nacelle (40) connected by a second pylon (24) to the rear of the fuselage of the aircraft, the second nacelle (40) supporting a second propulsor (42) connected to a second gearbox (clearly shown in the figure below) (Para 0014-0015, 0017-0018; aircraft comprises two nacelles connected by two pylons to the fuselage; bevel gears 36 and 38 forms a gearbox), the propulsion system comprising:
a thermal engine/a single gas turbine engine (18) arrangement configured to be disposed within the fuselage (Para 0015),
but it is silent about the propulsion system comprising:
a first electric motor configured to be housed within the first nacelle;
a second electric motor configured to be housed within the second nacelle;
a mechanical interlink system integrating the thermal engine arrangement, the first electric motor, the second electric motor, a battery system, associated power electronics, and associated cabling connecting to the first electric motor, the second electric motor, the battery system and the associated power electronics, the mechanical interlink system comprising:
a first additional coupler configured to selectively couple the thermal engine arrangement to the first gearbox; and
a second additional coupler configured to selectively couple the thermal engine arrangement to the second gearbox; and
at least one controller connected to the thermal engine arrangement, the first electric motor, the second electric motor and the mechanical interlink system.
However, Ohashi ‘522 teaches (figure 7) the propeller-type aircraft/aircraft (7) (English Translation Pg. 12 Para 8) comprising:
an internal combustion engine/thermal engine (20) of the propeller-type aircraft (English Translation Pg. 12 Para 11);
a first electric motor (40a) connected to a first propulsor (10a) via. a first gearbox gearbox/differential mechanism (72a) (English Translation Pg. 12 Para 9, 11; Pg. 13 Para 1);
a second electric motor (40b) connected to a second propulsor (10b) via. a second gearbox gearbox/differential mechanism (72b) (English Translation Pg. 12 Para 9, 11; Pg. 13 Para 1);
a mechanical interlink system/ rotational force transmission mechanism (71) integrating the thermal engine/internal combustion engine (20), the first electric motor (40a), the second electric motor (40b), battery system and associated power electronics, and associated cabling connecting to the first electric motor, the second electric motor, the battery system and the associated power electronics (English Translation Pg. 12 Para 9-11, Pg. 13 Para 1-2; battery system powers motors and are connected to each other via cables and power electronics), the mechanical interlink system/ rotational force transmission mechanism (71) comprising:
a respective coupler/clutch (78a, 78b) configured to selectively couple the first (72a) and second (72b) gearboxes/differential mechanisms to the thermal engine/internal combustion engine (20) (English Translation Pg. 12 Para 9)
at least one controller/control device connected to the thermal engine, the first electric motor, the second electric motor and the mechanical interlink system (English Translation Pg. 2 Para 11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Brand et al. ‘780 to incorporate the teachings of Ohashi ‘’522 to configure the propulsion system comprising:
a first electric motor configured to be housed within the first nacelle;
a second electric motor configured to be housed within the second nacelle;
a mechanical interlink system integrating the thermal engine arrangement, the first electric motor, the second electric motor, a battery system, associated power electronics, and associated cabling connecting to the first electric motor, the second electric motor, the battery system and the associated power electronics, the mechanical interlink system comprising:
a first additional coupler configured to selectively couple the thermal engine arrangement to the first gearbox; and
a second additional coupler configured to selectively couple the thermal engine arrangement to the second gearbox; and
at least one controller connected to the thermal engine arrangement, the first electric motor, the second electric motor and the mechanical interlink system.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would enhance fuel efficiency, lower emissions and provide control of the propulsion system.
Modified Brand et al. ‘780 is silent about the propulsion system comprising:
a first cooling arrangement configured to be housed within the first nacelle for thermal management of the first electric motor by taking advantage of dynamic pressure from slipstreams the first propulsor produces, and
a second cooling arrangement configured to be housed within the second nacelle for thermal management of the second electric motor by taking advantage of dynamic pressure from slipstreams the second propulsor produces.
Lawrence ‘476 teaches electrically powered aircraft comprising the electric motors with heat exchangers/cooling arrangements wherein ram air from forward movement of the aircraft flows through the electric motor i.e., air-cooled or through a liquid-to-air heat exchanger (Para 0004; heat ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Brand et al. ‘780 to incorporate teaching of Lawrence ‘476 to configure the propulsion system comprising:
a first cooling arrangement configured to be housed within the first nacelle for thermal management of the first electric motor by taking advantage of dynamic pressure from slipstreams the first propulsor produces, and
a second cooling arrangement configured to be housed within the second nacelle for thermal management of the second electric motor by taking advantage of dynamic pressure from slipstreams the second propulsor produces.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would cool the electric motors.
Modified Brand et al. ‘780 is silent about the propulsion system comprising:
the mechanical interlink system comprising:
a first clutch configured to selectively coupled the first electric motor to the first propulsor via the first gearbox,
a second clutch configured to selectively coupled the second electric motor to the second propulsor via the second gearbox,
when failure of the first electric motor is detected, controlling the first clutch to decouple the failed first electric motor from the first propulsor via the first gearbox while still allowing mechanical power input to both the first propulsor and the second propulsor, and
when failure of the second electric motor is detected, controlling the second clutch to decouple the failed second electric motor from the second propulsor via the second gearbox, while still allowing mechanical power input to both the first propulsor and the second propulsor, and
when failure of the thermal engine arrangement is detected, (a) controlling the first additional coupler to decouple the thermal engine arrangement from the first propulsor and/or controlling the second additional coupler to decouple the thermal engine arrangement from the second propulsor; and (b) controlling the first clutch to couple the first electric motor to the first propulsor and/or controlling the second clutch to couple the second electric motor to the second propulsor, thereby still allowing mechanical power input to both the first propulsor and the second propulsor.
Chantriaux et al. ‘739 teaches a rotary or fixed aircraft comprising rotors rotated by a shaft wherein electric motor elements are connected directly to rotate the shaft wherein each electric motor element comprises at least one fixed stator, at least one moving rotor and at least one mechanical or electromagnetic freewheeling unit/clutch directly connected to said rotating shaft, said moving rotor cooperating with said freewheeling unit in such way as to couple to said rotating shaft during normal operation of the electric motor element and to decouple from said shaft when said electric motor element fails (Para 0015-0018, 0034; failed source of power is decoupled).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Brand et al. ‘780 to incorporate the teachings of Chantriaux et al. ‘739 to configure the propulsion system comprising:
the mechanical interlink system comprising:
a first clutch configured to selectively coupled the first electric motor to the first propulsor via the first gearbox,
a second clutch configured to selectively coupled the second electric motor to the second propulsor via the second gearbox,
when failure of the first electric motor is detected, controlling the first clutch to decouple the failed first electric motor from the first propulsor via the first gearbox while still allowing mechanical power input to both the first propulsor and the second propulsor (during takeoff and climb both electric motors and thermal engine arrangement apply power to propulsors), and
when failure of the second electric motor is detected, controlling the second clutch to decouple the failed second electric motor from the second propulsor via the second gearbox, while still allowing mechanical power input to both the first propulsor and the second propulsor (during takeoff and climb both electric motors and thermal engine arrangement apply power to propulsors), and
when failure of the thermal engine arrangement is detected, (a) controlling the first additional coupler to decouple the thermal engine arrangement from the first propulsor and/or controlling the second additional coupler to decouple the thermal engine arrangement from the second propulsor; and (b) controlling the first clutch to couple the first electric motor to the first propulsor and/or controlling the second clutch to couple the second electric motor to the second propulsor, thereby still allowing mechanical power input to both the first propulsor and the second propulsor (both thermal engine and electric motors are source of powers; during takeoff and climb both electric motors and thermal engine arrangement apply power to propulsors, thus additional couplers and clutches are controlled).
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would preserve battery power.
Modified Brand et al. ‘780 is silent about the propulsion system comprising:
the at least one controller configured to perform operations comprising:
controlling the first electric motor to apply power via the first clutch to the first propulsor for taxiing, takeoff and climb of the aircraft,
controlling the second electric motor to apply power via the second clutch to the second propulsor for the taxiing, the takeoff and the climb of the aircraft,
controlling the thermal engine arrangement to apply output power to the first propulsor via the first additional coupler to supplement power the first electric motor applies to the first propulsor for the takeoff and the climb of the aircraft;
controlling the thermal engine arrangement to apply output power to the second propulsor via the second additional coupler to supplement power the second electric motor applies to the second propulsor for the takeoff and the climb of the aircraft; and
selecting between the thermal engine arrangement, and the first and the second electric motors to apply power to the first and second propulsors, respectively, for cruising of the aircraft.
Lents et al. ‘025 teaches a method of operating a gas turbine engine includes providing power to a taxiing system using an electric motor during a taxi mode of operation, providing thrust from fan rotation during at least one of a take-off and climb mode operations, wherein the fan is rotated by a turbine and the electric motor simultaneously and providing thrust from fan rotating during cruise mode of operation, wherein the fan is rotated exclusively by the turbine (Para 0021).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Brand et al. ‘780 to incorporate teaching of Lents et al. ‘025 to configure the propulsion system comprising:
the at least one controller configured to perform operations comprising:
controlling the first electric motor to apply power via the first clutch to the first propulsor for taxiing, takeoff and climb of the aircraft,
controlling the second electric motor to apply power via the second clutch to the second propulsor for the taxiing, the takeoff and the climb of the aircraft,
controlling the thermal engine arrangement to apply output power to the first propulsor via the first additional coupler to supplement power the first electric motor applies to the first propulsor for the takeoff and the climb of the aircraft;
controlling the thermal engine arrangement to apply output power to the second propulsor via the second additional coupler to supplement power the second electric motor applies to the second propulsor for the takeoff and the climb of the aircraft; and
selecting the thermal engine arrangement, to apply power to the first and second propulsors, respectively, for cruising of the aircraft.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would enhance fuel efficiency.
Regarding claim 16, modified Brand et al. ‘780 teaches (figures 1-3) the propulsion system wherein the first electric motor is liquid-cooled and the first cooling arrangement comprises a heat exchanger (as modified by Lawrence ‘476).
Regarding claim 17, modified Brand et al. ‘780 teaches (figures 1-3) the propulsion system wherein the second electric motor is air-cooled (as modified by Lawrence ‘476) but it is silent about the propulsion system wherein the second cooling arrangement comprises a cooling fins.
Lawrence ‘476 further teaches conventional internal combustion engine aircraft having large air inlets to force air through engine’s cooling fins (Para 0003).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Brand et al. ‘780 to incorporate teaching of Lawrence ‘476 to configure the propulsion system wherein the second cooling arrangement comprises a cooling fins.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would increase the surface area for heat dissipation leading to more effective cooling.
Regarding claim 19, modified Brand et al. ‘780 teaches (figures 1-3) the propulsion system of claim 15 but it is silent about the propulsion system wherein the first propulsor and the second propulsor are variable pitched.
Lawrence ‘476 teaches (figures 1-4) an electric aircraft propulsion system (8) comprising propeller (24) wherein the propulsion system (8) changes the pitch of the propeller (24) as requested by the motor controller (12) via signals from the aircraft (22) control connections (44) (Para 0052-0053).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Brand et al. ‘780 to incorporate teaching of Lawrence ‘476 to configure the propulsion system wherein the first propulsor and the second propulsor are variable pitched.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would optimize performance across a range of flight conditions.
Regarding claim 20, Brand et al. ‘780 teaches (figures 1-3) in an aircraft (12) comprising a first nacelle (40) connected by a first pylon (24) to a rear of a fuselage of the aircraft, the first nacelle (40) supporting a first propulsor (42) connected to a first gearbox (clearly shown in the figure below), and a second nacelle (40) connected by a second pylon (24) to the rear of the fuselage of the aircraft, the second nacelle (40) supporting a second propulsor (42) connected to a second gearbox (clearly shown in the figure below), a thermal engine/a single gas turbine engine (18) arrangement configured to be disposed within an aft portion of the fuselage (Para 0014-0015, 0017-0018; aircraft comprises two nacelles connected by two pylons to the fuselage; bevel gears 36 and 38 forms a gearbox),
but it is silent about the aircraft comprising:
a first electric motor configured to be housed within the first nacelle;
a second electric motor configured to be housed within the second nacelle;
a mechanical interlink system integrating the thermal engine arrangement, the first electric motor, the second electric motor, a battery system, associated power electronics, and associated cabling connecting to the first electric motor, the second electric motor, the battery system and the associated power electronics, the mechanical interlink system comprising:
a first additional coupler configured to selectively couple the thermal engine arrangement to the first gearbox; and
a second additional coupler configured to selectively couple the thermal engine arrangement to the second gearbox;
at least one processor connected to the thermal engine arrangement, the first electric motor, the second electric motor and the mechanical interlink system, and
a non-transitory memory connected to the at least one processor.
However, Ohashi ‘522 teaches (figure 7) the propeller-type aircraft/aircraft (7) (English Translation Pg. 12 Para 8) comprising:
an internal combustion engine/thermal engine (20) of the propeller-type aircraft (English Translation Pg. 12 Para 11);
a first electric motor (40a) connected to a first propulsor (10a) via. a first gearbox gearbox/differential mechanism (72a) (English Translation Pg. 12 Para 9, 11; Pg. 13 Para 1);
a second electric motor (40b) connected to a second propulsor (10b) via. a second gearbox gearbox/differential mechanism (72b) (English Translation Pg. 12 Para 9, 11; Pg. 13 Para 1);
a mechanical interlink system/ rotational force transmission mechanism (71) integrating the thermal engine/internal combustion engine (20), the first electric motor (40a), the second electric motor (40b), battery system and associated power electronics, and associated cabling connecting to the first electric motor, the second electric motor, the battery system and the associated power electronics (English Translation Pg. 12 Para 9-11, Pg. 13 Para 1-2; battery system powers motors and are connected to each other via cables and power electronics), the mechanical interlink system/ rotational force transmission mechanism (71) comprising:
a respective coupler/clutch (78a, 78b) configured to selectively couple the first (72a) and second (72b) gearboxes/differential mechanisms to the thermal engine/internal combustion engine (20) (English Translation Pg. 12 Para 9)
a processor/control device connected to the thermal engine, the first electric motor, the second electric motor and the mechanical interlink system, and a non-transitory memory connected to the processor/control device (English Translation Pg. 2 Para 11; control device/processor executes instruction stored in the non-transitory memory).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Brand et al. ‘780 to incorporate the teachings of Ohashi ‘’522 to configure the aircraft comprising:
a first electric motor configured to be housed within the first nacelle;
a second electric motor configured to be housed within the second nacelle;
a mechanical interlink system integrating the thermal engine arrangement, the first electric motor, the second electric motor, a battery system, associated power electronics, and associated cabling connecting to the first electric motor, the second electric motor, the battery system and the associated power electronics, the mechanical interlink system comprising:
a first additional coupler configured to selectively couple the thermal engine arrangement to the first gearbox; and
a second additional coupler configured to selectively couple the thermal engine arrangement to the second gearbox;
at least one processor connected to the thermal engine arrangement, the first electric motor, the second electric motor and the mechanical interlink system, and
a non-transitory memory connected to the at least one processor.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would enhance fuel efficiency, lower emissions and provide control of the propulsion system.
Modified Brand et al. ‘780 is silent about the aircraft comprising:
a first cooling arrangement configured to be housed within the first nacelle for thermal management of the first electric motor by taking advantage of dynamic pressure from slipstreams the first propulsor produces, and
a second cooling arrangement configured to be housed within the second nacelle for thermal management of the second electric motor by taking advantage of dynamic pressure from slipstreams the second propulsor produces.
Lawrence ‘476 teaches electrically powered aircraft comprising the electric motors with heat exchangers/cooling arrangements wherein ram air from forward movement of the aircraft flows through the electric motor i.e., air-cooled or through a liquid-to-air heat exchanger (Para 0004; heat ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Brand et al. ‘780 to incorporate teaching of Lawrence ‘476 to configure the aircraft comprising:
a first cooling arrangement configured to be housed within the first nacelle for thermal management of the first electric motor by taking advantage of dynamic pressure from slipstreams the first propulsor produces, and
a second cooling arrangement configured to be housed within the second nacelle for thermal management of the second electric motor by taking advantage of dynamic pressure from slipstreams the second propulsor produces.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would cool the electric motors.
Modified Brand et al. ‘780 is silent about the aircraft comprising:
the mechanical interlink system comprising:
a first clutch configured to selectively coupled the first electric motor to the first propulsor via the first gearbox,
a second clutch configured to selectively coupled the second electric motor to the second propulsor via the second gearbox,
when failure of the first electric motor is detected, controlling the first clutch to decouple the failed first electric motor from the first propulsor, thereby allowing mechanical power input to both the first propulsor and the second propulsor and maintaining aircraft thrust symmetry,
when failure of the second electric motor is detected, controlling the second clutch to decouple the failed second electric motor from the second propulsor, thereby allowing mechanical power input to both the first propulsor and the second propulsor and maintaining aircraft thrust symmetry and
when failure of the thermal engine arrangement is detected, (a) controlling the first additional coupler to decouple the thermal engine arrangement from the first propulsor and/or controlling the second additional coupler to decouple the thermal engine arrangement from the second propulsor; and (b) controlling the first clutch to couple the first electric motor to the first propulsor and/or controlling the second clutch to couple the second electric motor to the second propulsor, thereby allowing mechanical power input to both the first propulsor and the second propulsor.
Chantriaux et al. ‘739 teaches a rotary or fixed aircraft comprising rotors rotated by a shaft wherein electric motor elements are connected directly to rotate the shaft wherein each electric motor element comprises at least one fixed stator, at least one moving rotor and at least one mechanical or electromagnetic freewheeling unit/clutch directly connected to said rotating shaft, said moving rotor cooperating with said freewheeling unit in such way as to couple to said rotating shaft during normal operation of the electric motor element and to decouple from said shaft when said electric motor element fails (Para 0015-0018, 0034; failed source of power is decoupled).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Brand et al. ‘780 to incorporate the teachings of Chantriaux et al. ‘739 to configure
the aircraft comprising:
the mechanical interlink system comprising:
a first clutch configured to selectively coupled the first electric motor to the first propulsor via the first gearbox,
a second clutch configured to selectively coupled the second electric motor to the second propulsor via the second gearbox,
when failure of the first electric motor is detected, controlling the first clutch to decouple the failed first electric motor from the first propulsor, thereby allowing mechanical power input to both the first propulsor and the second propulsor and maintaining aircraft thrust symmetry (during takeoff and climb both electric motors and thermal engine arrangement apply power to propulsors, thus thermal engine arrangement powers the first propulsor when the first electric motor fails)
when failure of the second electric motor is detected, controlling the second clutch to decouple the failed second electric motor from the second propulsor, thereby allowing mechanical power input to both the first propulsor and the second propulsor and maintaining aircraft thrust symmetry (during takeoff and climb both electric motors and thermal engine arrangement apply power to propulsors, thus thermal engine arrangement powers the second propulsor when the second electric motor fails), and
when failure of the thermal engine arrangement is detected, (a) controlling the first additional coupler to decouple the thermal engine arrangement from the first propulsor and/or controlling the second additional coupler to decouple the thermal engine arrangement from the second propulsor; and (b) controlling the first clutch to couple the first electric motor to the first propulsor and/or controlling the second clutch to couple the second electric motor to the second propulsor, thereby allowing mechanical power input to both the first propulsor and the second propulsor (both thermal engine arrangement and electric motors are sources of power; during takeoff and climb both electric motors and thermal engine arrangement apply power to propulsors, thus additional couplers and clutches are controlled).
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would preserve battery power
Modified Brand et al. ‘780 is silent about the aircraft comprising:
the non-transitory memory storing instructions that when executed by the at least one processor causes the at least one processor to perform operations comprising:
controlling the first electric motor to apply power via the first clutch to the first propulsor for taxiing, takeoff and climb of the aircraft,
controlling the second electric motor to apply power via the second clutch to the second propulsor for the taxiing, the takeoff and the climb of the aircraft,
controlling the thermal engine arrangement to apply output power to the first propulsor via the first additional coupler to supplement power the first electric motor applies to the first propulsor for the takeoff and the climb of the aircraft;
controlling the thermal engine arrangement to apply output power to the second propulsor via the second additional coupler to supplement power the second electric motor applies to the second propulsor for the takeoff and the climb of the aircraft; and
selecting between the thermal engine arrangement , and the first electric motor and the second electric motor to apply power to the first and second propulsors, respectively, for cruising of the aircraft.
Lents et al. ‘025 teaches a method of operating a gas turbine engine includes providing power to a taxiing system using an electric motor during a taxi mode of operation, providing thrust from fan rotation during at least one of a take-off and climb mode operations, wherein the fan is rotated by a turbine and the electric motor simultaneously and providing thrust from fan rotating during cruise mode of operation, wherein the fan is rotated exclusively by the turbine (Para 0021).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Brand et al. ‘780 to incorporate teaching of Lents et al. ‘025 to configure the aircraft comprising:
the non-transitory memory storing instructions that when executed by the at least one processor causes the at least one processor to perform operations comprising:
controlling the first electric motor to apply power via the first clutch to the first propulsor for taxiing, takeoff and climb of the aircraft,
controlling the second electric motor to apply power via the second clutch to the second propulsor for the taxiing, the takeoff and the climb of the aircraft,
controlling the thermal engine arrangement to apply output power to the first propulsor via the first additional coupler to supplement power the first electric motor applies to the first propulsor for the takeoff and the climb of the aircraft;
controlling the thermal engine arrangement to apply output power to the second propulsor via the second additional coupler to supplement power the second electric motor applies to the second propulsor for the takeoff and the climb of the aircraft; and
selecting the thermal engine arrangement to apply power to the first and second propulsors for cruising of the aircraft.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would enhance fuel efficiency.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brand et al. (US 2006/0011780), Ohashi (WO 2018/193522), Chantriaux et al. (US 2014/0203739), Lawrence (US 2019/0315476) and Lents et al. (US 2018/0002025) as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Imel et al. (US 2022/0135240).
Regarding claim 18, modified Brand et al. ‘780 teaches (figures 1-3) the propulsion system of claim 15 but it is silent about the propulsion system wherein the first electric motor and/or the second electric motor are further configured to apply power to rotate and start the thermal engine.
Imel et al. ‘240 teaches the method includes, after using the electric motor to start the thermal engine, powering the aircraft with the hybrid electric power plant with combined power from the electric motor and thermal engine through take-off (Para 0006).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Brand et al. ‘780 to incorporate the teachings of Imel et al. ‘240 to configure the propulsion system wherein the first electric motor and/or the second electric motor are further configured to apply power to rotate and start the thermal engine.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would utilize the electric motor as starter as well.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 2nd, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments are explained in the rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ASHESH DANGOL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642