DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Election
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II (claims 14-20) in the reply filed on 1/16/2026 is acknowledged. Backfill claims 21-33 have also been examined.
Drawings
Figure 21 is objected to because its graph title has "RMAN" instead of "RAMAN" (note [0111] of the description).
No objection is made on this point, but applicant should confirm whether both instances of "1.00 m OR 1.55 m" in figure 28A should be "1.00 µm OR 1.55 µm".
Specification Objection
The specification is objected to because line 2 of [0043] reads "EFM" instead of "EBF".
Claim Objections
Claims 25-33 are objected to because their preambles are missing "system" after "DAS" (see claim 24).
Claim 25 is further objected to because the first instance of "or" should be "of".
Claim 31 is further objected to because it recites "Grattings" instead of "Gratings".
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. New claim 30 recites a "wavelength division multiplexer (WDM) pump", but no such element was described in the original disclosure. To the extent that claim 30 was intended to refer to embodiments such as shown in figs. 14-15 or 20, it is noted that the pump 1100 (or 1500) is distinct from the WDMs 1000 and 1300.
Claims 23 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 23 is indefinite because there is insufficient antecedent basis for "the signal strength". No signal strength is mentioned by ancestor claims 21 or 14 (claim 21 mentions a signal strength monitoring module, not a signal strength per se).
Claim 30 is indefinite because there is insufficient antecedent basis for "the proximal circulator". No circulator was designated as a "proximal" circulator in ancestor claim 24.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 24-28 and 31-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2016/0259083 A1 in view of US 2023/0033128 A1.
Claim 24: '083 discloses a distributed acoustic sensing (DAS) system comprising (see mainly figs. 1 and 4):
an interrogator 100 (320 in fig. 4);
a fiber optic cable (the section S1 of 104) attached to the interrogator at a first end;
one or more circulators 106b attached to a second end opposite the first end of the enhanced fiber optic cable; and
a downhole sensing fiber (any section S2 through S5) attached to the circulator 106b. Downhole arrangement is depicted in fig. 4.
'083 states in the last two sentences of [0012] that the sensing fiber (i.e. 104) "can be optimized to generate more optical backscatter to increase the signal-to-noise ratio of the backscatter signal received by the interrogator" and "can have a higher backscatter coefficient than the optical fiber that carriers [sic] the optical signal transmitted by the interrogator", but does not appear to specifically disclose that the fiber optic cable is an enhanced fiber optic cable formed at least in part by a fiber profile.
'128 discloses an enhanced fiber optic cable 106 formed at least in part by a fiber profile. The profile includes for example a density N(z) of scatterers which varies according to distance along the fiber (see e.g. figs. 2-4). '128 discusses how to design such a profile for example at [0023]-[0026].
A person of ordinary skill in the art could have employed an enhanced fiber optic cable having a fiber profile as exemplified by '128 as the sensing fiber in the '083 DAS system with predictable results and a reasonable expectation of success, at least since both references recognize that increasing backscattering can be beneficial and that an enhanced backscattering fiber is applicable to a downhole environment (see e.g. fig. 4 of '083 and fig. 1 of '128). Accordingly it would have been obvious to such a person before the effective filing date of claim 24 to do so, motivated for example by a desire to improve the performance of the system such as by increasing the signal-to-noise ratio for backscattered signals as mentioned in '083 [0012].
Claim 25: The interrogator further comprises one or more Raman Pumps ([0021]).
Claim 26: The interrogator comprises one or more lasers ([0019]; note also [0031] and the tunable laser 516 of the fig. 5 variant).
Claim 27: The interrogator comprises one or more receivers 114.
Claim 28: The interrogator is configured to receive backscattered light from one or more sensing regions (such as S1 ... S5 as labeled in fig. 1).
Claim 31: The DAS system further comprises one or more Fiber Bragg Gratings 110a ... 110d.
Claim 32: A transmitter 112 is connected to the enhanced fiber optic cable.
Claim 33: The transmitter is disposed in a Brillouin Distributed Temperature Sensing (B-DTS) system ([0021], [0030]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-22 are allowed. Claim 29 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of base claim 24. As to claim 14, the prior art of record does not disclose or suggest a method which includes all the detailed steps set forth in the context of forming an enhanced fiber optic cable. As to claim 29, the applied references are silent as to amplifiers and thus do not disclose or suggest an optical amplifier assembly disposed within the enhanced fiber optic cable.
Contact Information
Examiner: 571-272-2360
Examiner's direct supervisor: 571-272-2397
Official correspondence by fax: 571-273-8300
/Michael Stahl/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874