DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Applicant’s amendments to claims 1, and 11-14 in the reply dated 15 July 2026 are acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morrow et al (US 20190006296 A1, hereinafter “Morrow”), in view of Sturcken et al (US 20170250134 A1, hereinafter “Sturcken”).
Regarding Claim 1 - Morrow discloses an integrated circuit (IC) device comprising: an interconnect region of a die (120 [0019] and Fig. 1), the interconnect region comprising a plurality of metal layers (metal lines in 120 [0019] and Fig. 1); a device layer of the die (115 [0019] and Fig. 1), the device layer comprising a plurality of transistors (transistors in 115 [0019] and Fig. 1), the device layer over the interconnect region (toward 190, Fig. 1); and an inductor in the die and over a front side of the device layer (135 on side of 115 toward 190 [0019] and Fig. 1).
Morrow describes magnetic inductors containing magnetic materials (Several ferroelectric material examples containing Fe and Co listed in [0042]), but fails to expressly disclose a metal coil and a ferroelectric material inside the metal coil.
However, Sturcken discloses the inductor comprising a metal coil (Combination of 210, 220, 230, and 240, Sturcken [0028] and Fig. 2) and a ferroelectric material inside the metal coil (250, Sturcken [0028] and Fig. 2).
Sturcken discloses a semiconductor die with integrated inductor analogous to Morrow. Sturcken teaches placing ferroelectric material (magnetic film) inside an inductor coil for the benefit of enabling efficient switched inductor power conversion (Sturcken [0042]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sturcken and Morrow to include ferroelectric material (magnetic film) inside an inductor coil for the benefit of enabling efficient switched inductor power conversion.
Regarding Claim 2 – Morrow modified by Sturcken discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
The combination of Morrow and Sturcken further discloses the interconnect region comprises a voltage input on a back side of the interconnect region (Electrical connections such as VDD on backside, Morrow [0021]), the back side on an opposite side of the interconnect region from the device layer (VDD input through 150 on opposite side of 115 from 120 as in Morrow Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 4 - Morrow modified by Sturcken discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
The combination of Morrow and Sturcken further discloses a support structure over the inductor (e.g. 355D, Morrow [0043] and Fig. 11A).
Regarding Claim 5 - Morrow modified by Sturcken discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
The combination of Morrow and Sturcken further discloses the inductor is formed in a plurality of metallization layers over the device layer (130, Morrow [0019] and Fig. 1).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morrow et al (US 20190006296 A1, hereinafter “Morrow”), in view of Sturcken et al (US 20170250134 A1, hereinafter “Sturcken”), and further in view of Cho et al (US 20170338171 A1, hereinafter “Cho”).
Regarding Claim 3 - Morrow modified by Sturcken discloses all the limitations of claim 2.
The combination of Morrow and Sturcken further discloses the voltage input is to receive a first voltage (VDD, Morrow [0020]).
The combination of Morrow and Sturcken fails to expressly disclose the inductor is to step down the first voltage to a second voltage having a lower amplitude than the first voltage.
However, Morrow teaches “On-die voltage regulation can be used to locally change the voltage, e.g., within core voltage changes, for active power management.” (Morrow [0018])
Furthermore, Cho teaches a buck converter may be used to power integrated circuits, producing a lower output voltage than the input (Cho [0019] and Fig. 1). Integrated circuits with multiple processing cores (the stated application of the instant application, [0001]) utilize switching voltage regulation circuits, each incorporating an inductor to step down and control the voltage as described above by Morrow. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the second voltage (output) would have a lower amplitude than the first voltage (input).
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morrow et al (US 20190006296 A1, hereinafter “Morrow”), in view of Cho et al (US 20170338171 A1, hereinafter “Cho”).
Regarding Claim 11 - Morrow discloses an integrated circuit (IC) die comprising: an interconnect region comprising a pad to receive a first voltage from a power source (130 [0019] and Fig. 1); a device region comprising a plurality of semiconductor devices (115 [0019] and Fig. 1); and an inductor (135 [0019] and Fig. 1), the inductor is electrically coupled to the pad to receive the first voltage (135 connected to 150 through 130 for VDD input [0019] and Fig. 1).
Morrow fails to disclose the device region is between the inductor and the interconnect region, and the inductor is to step down the first voltage to a second voltage.
However, Cho discloses the device region is between the inductor and the interconnect region (Cho Fig. 4), and the inductor is to step down the first voltage to a second voltage (Cho [0019] and Fig. 1).
Cho discloses an analogous power conversion device to Morrow. Cho teaches transistor connection between the interconnection region containing the input voltage and the inductor leading to the output voltage for the benefit of the most direct connection in sequence with circuit function (As seen in Fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Morrow and Cho to achieve the most direct connection in sequence with circuit function.
Regarding Claim 12 – Morrow modified by Cho discloses all the limitations of claim 11.
The combination of Morrow and Cho further discloses the IC device further comprising an internal power rail at the second voltage (“Connected to devices of die 110 … are interconnects 130 and one or more inductors 135”, Morrow [0019]. The second voltage power rail is the output of Morrow’s inductor 135, as demonstrated by node 106 (VOUT) in Cho Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 13 - Morrow modified by Cho discloses all the limitations of claim 11.
The combination of Morrow and Cho further discloses the inductor is formed in a plurality of metallization layers over the device region (130, Morrow [0019] and Fig. 1).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morrow et al (US 20190006296 A1, hereinafter “Morrow”), in view of Cho et al (US 20170338171 A1, hereinafter “Cho”), and further in view of Sturcken et al (US 20170250134 A1, hereinafter “Sturcken”).
Regarding Claim 14 - Morrow modified by Cho discloses all the limitations of claim 11.
The combination of Morrow and Cho describes magnetic inductors containing magnetic materials, but fails to expressly disclose a ferroelectric material in a region surrounded by the conductive coil.
However, Sturcken discloses the inductor comprising a metal coil (Combination of 210, 220, 230, and 240, Sturcken [0028] and Fig. 2) and a ferroelectric material inside the metal coil (250, Sturcken [0028] and Fig. 2).
Sturcken discloses a semiconductor die with integrated inductor analogous to Morrow. Sturcken teaches placing ferroelectric material (magnetic film) inside an inductor coil for the benefit of enabling efficient switched inductor power conversion (Sturcken [0042]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sturcken and Morrow to include ferroelectric material (magnetic film) inside an inductor coil for the benefit of enabling efficient switched inductor power conversion.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by amendment.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON MCDONALD/Examiner, Art Unit 2898 /JULIO J MALDONADO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898