DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang et al. (US 2021/0109340).
Regarding claim 1, Liang (figs. 1-3 and 5, [0069], [0071], whole document) discloses a scanning apparatus OCT comprising a scanner 315, 506, 512 configured to move a scanning spot along a movement path to capture three- dimensional information of a target object ([0066]), the movement path including a plurality of b-scan paths (each one of the circular loops in fig. 2B) performed along a c-scan path (horizontal direction in fig. 2B), and a processing circuit 308/314 configured as a controller 312 to control the movement path of the scanning spot ([0069]), wherein an area of the target object covered by the movement path is independent of a length of the b-scan path. Liang discloses all the claimed limitations except to control an inter-scan time by varying a length of each of the b-scan paths and maintaining a sampling step less than a spot size. However, it is well within the knowledge of one skilled in the art to control the scanning’s speed, time interval, sampling rate, path, direction, number of times, etc. depending on the specific application. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to control the scanning time for application-specific purpose.
Regarding claim 2, Liang (figs. 1-3 and 5, [0069], [0071], whole document) further discloses wherein each of the plurality of b-scan paths has a same shape and size (figs 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 3, Liang (figs. 1-3 and 5, [0069], [0071], whole document) further discloses wherein each of the plurality of b-scan paths is a closed loop that returns to a starting point (figs 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 4, Liang (figs. 1-3 and 5, [0069], [0071], whole document) further discloses wherein each of the plurality of b-scan paths is a circular path (figs 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 5, Liang (figs. 1-3 and 5, [0069], [0071], whole document) further discloses wherein the c-scan path is a spiral (figs 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 6, Liang (figs. 1-3 and 5, [0069], [0071], whole document) further discloses wherein the area of the target object covered by the movement path is increased in each of two dimensions by increasing a length of the c-scan path (figs 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 8, Liang (figs. 1-3 and 5, [0069], [0071], whole document) further discloses wherein the controller is further configured to control the b-scan path to move continuously and with a constant speed in each of x and y directions ([0076]).
Regarding claim 9, Liang (figs. 1-3 and 5, [0069], [0071], whole document) further discloses wherein the controller is further configured to control the scanner to perform multiple b-scan paths in a same location before moving the scanning path to a next position along the c-scan path ([0020-[0023]).
Regarding claim 10, Liang (figs. 2B, 3 and 5, [0069], [0071], whole document) further discloses wherein the c-scan path is a closed shape (figs 1 and 2; [0022]).
Regarding claim 11, Liang (figs. 2B, 3 and 5, [0069], [0071], whole document) further discloses wherein the b-scan path and the c-scan path are each moved through two or three dimensions (figs 1 and 2; [0023]).
Regarding claim 12, Liang (figs. 2B, 3 and 5, [0069], [0071], whole document) further discloses wherein a start of a previous b-scan is at a first angular position with respect to a center of the previous b-scan, a start of a next b-scan is at a second angular position with respect to a center of the next b-scan, and the first angular position is different than the second angular position (figs 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 13, Liang (figs. 1-3 and 5, [0069], [0071], whole document) discloses a scanning method comprising moving a scanning spot along a movement path to capture three-dimensional information of a target object ([0066]), the movement path including a plurality of b-scan paths (each one of the circular loops in fig. 2B) performed along a c- scan path (horizontal direction in fig. 2B), and controlling the movement path of the scanning spot ([0069]), wherein an area of the target object covered by the movement path is independent of a length of the b-scan path. Liang discloses all the claimed limitations except to control an inter-scan time by varying a length of each of the b-scan paths and maintaining a sampling step less than a spot size. However, it is well within the knowledge of one skilled in the art to control the scanning’s speed, time interval, sampling rate, path, direction, number of times, etc. depending on the specific application. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to control the scanning time for application-specific purpose.
Regarding claim 14, Liang (figs. 1-3 and 5, [0069], [0071]) discloses a computer readable medium storing computer instructions that when executed by a computer perform steps comprising controlling movement of a scanning spot along a movement path to capture three- dimensional information of a target object ([0066]), the movement path including a plurality of b-scan paths (each one of the circular loops in fig. 2B) performed along a c-scan path (horizontal direction in fig. 2B), wherein an area of the target object covered by the movement path is independent of a length of the b-scan path. Liang discloses all the claimed limitations except to control an inter-scan time by varying a length of each of the b-scan paths and maintaining a sampling step less than a spot size. However, it is well within the knowledge of one skilled in the art to control the scanning’s speed, time interval, sampling rate, path, direction, number of times, etc. depending on the specific application. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to control the scanning time for application-specific purpose.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACK DINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 7/29/26