DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawing objections will be held in abeyance until a Notice of Allowance has been entered, see Examiner Interview Summary of February 24 2026 and Applicant’s Remarks, filed February 23 2026, page 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (“Chen” US Patent No. 6,472,741).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses an apparatus (Figure 7), comprising:
a circuit board (300);
a first component (310) mounted to the circuit board (300, see Figure 7);
a shielding structure (330), comprising:
a first platform (332 portion of shielding structure 330 between openings in Figure 7) elevated over the circuit board (300);
a first leg (331, left and right sides in Figure 7) extending from the first platform (332) in a first direction (downward direction in Figure 7) toward the circuit board (300) and mounted to the circuit board (300, see Figure 7);
a first finger (371, left portion in Figure 7) extending from the first leg (331, left and right sides in Figure 7) in a second direction (upwards direction in Figure 7) opposite the first direction (see Figure 7, the first finger 371, left portion extends vertically upwards) and having a first tip (top tip of the finger 371) not contacting the first platform (332, see Figure 7) and not contacting the first leg (331, left side, see Figure 7); and
a second finger (371/375 right portion in Figure 7) extending from the first leg (331, left and right portions) in the second direction (upwards direction, see Figure 7) and having a length greater than a length of the first finger (the second finger 371/375 right portion has a greater length when measured in the vertical direction than that of the first finger, 371 left portion, since the first finger does not include the length of 375) and a second tip (upper tip of the second finger 371/375 right portion) not contacting the first platform (332) and not contacting the first leg (331, left and right, see Figure 7); and
a semiconductor die (320) mounted to the first platform (332, see Figure 7),
wherein:
the shielding structure (330) is between the first component (310) and the semiconductor die (320, see Figure 7).
Regarding claim 2, Chen discloses wherein the shielding structure comprises a second leg (331, side not shown in Figure 7, but shown in the plan view of Figure 4, where the second leg is considered as the leg on the top side of the shielding structure plan view shown in Figure 7, see annotated Figures below) extending from the first platform (332) in the first direction (downward direction in Figure 7, into the page in Figure 4) and mounted to the circuit board (300, see Figure 7 which shows all legs 331 mounted to the circuit board 300, thus the second leg would be mounted as well).
Regarding claim 3, Chen discloses wherein a first window (333, see Figure 3C) is defined in the first platform (332, see Figure 4, which shows the window 333 being defined in the first platform 332); and
the apparatus comprises a wire bond (340) connected to the circuit board (300) and the semiconductor die (320), and the wire bond passes (340) through the first window (333, see Figure 4 and 7).
Regarding claim 4, Chen discloses a mold compound (350) over the circuit board (300), the shielding structure (330/370), and the semiconductor die (320, see Figure 7).
Regarding claim 5, Chen discloses a shielding cover (372) over the mold compound (350) and connected to the first finger (371/375, left portion in Figure 7).
Regarding claim 7, Chen discloses a conductive structure in the mold compound (350) connecting the first finger (371/375 left side) and the shielding cover (372, Figure 7 shows the two elements are connected together as parts of the same conductive structure, thus are connected through conductive material).
Regarding claim 8, Chen discloses the shielding structure (330/371) is coupled to a ground plane contact (305) of the circuit board (300, see Figure 7, col. 4, lines 61-67).
Claims 10-11 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Camacho et al. (US 2009/0166845).
Regarding claim 10, Camacho discloses a shielding structure (Figure 3), comprising:
a first platform (302);
a first leg (310) coplanar with the first platform (302, see Figure 3) and connected to the first platform (302) to support the first platform (302);
a second leg (310, opposite side to the side with 310 labeled) spaced apart from the first leg (see Figure 3) and connected to the first platform (302) to support the first platform (302);
a first finger (one of 318) extending from the first leg (310) and having a first tip (see tip of finger 318 extending inwards to the platform 302); and
a second finger (326/308 together) extending from the first leg (310) and having a second tip (outermost edge top of the second finger 326/308, where the second finger 326/308 is adjoined to 320, see Figure 3), wherein:
a first window (window in which the leads 318 extend) is defined in the first platform (302);
the first finger (318) extends into the first window (see Figure 3, first finger 318 extends into the first window);
the first finger (one of 318) has a first length (see Figure 3);
the first tip (end tip of 318 nearest to the platform 302) is spaced apart from the first platform (302) and spaced apart from the first leg (310, see Figure 3);
the second finger (326/308) has a second length (see Figure 3) greater than the first length (Figure 3 shows the length of the second finger 326/308 is greater than that of the first finger 318); and
the second tip (outermost tip of 326/308 where it is connected to 320) is spaced apart from the first platform (302, see Figure 3) and spaced apart from the first leg (310, see Figure 3).
Although the structure of Figure 3 of Camacho is disclosed as a lead frame, the metallic structure would still serve as a shielding structure as lead frames provide structural integrity and have shielding characteristics in a semiconductor package.
Regarding claim 11, Camacho discloses a second platform (320) connected to the first leg (310, through 328), wherein:
a second window is defined in the second platform (320, the second window here is the space defined by the 320 portions of the second platform and the outer portions of the first leg 310), and
the second finger (320/326) extends into the second window (see Figure 3, which shows the 326 portion of the second finger extending into the second window).
Regarding claim 21, Camacho discloses a third finger (one of 318, other than the first finger 318) extending from the first leg (310) and having a third tip (outer tip closest to the first platform 302) spaced apart from the first platform (302) and spaced apart from the first leg (310, see Figure 3).
Regarding claim 22, Camacho discloses the third finger (another one of 318) extends into the first window (see Figure 3).
Regarding claim 23, Camacho discloses a third finger (328) extending from the first leg (310) and into the second window (see Figure 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lonka (US Patent No. 5,365,410) and Chen et al. (“Chen” US Patent No. 6,472,741).
Regarding claim 14, Lonka discloses a method, comprising:
forming a shielding structure (1, Figure 1) comprising:
a first platform (cover portion 16, see Figure 3C, or see portion of the inner rectangular platform with holes 9 therein, before the shielding is bent, edges defined by the holes 8/12/14, see Figure 3A);
a first leg (5/6) separated from the first platform (16) by a first window (windows 9/13) defined in the shielding structure (1, see Figures 1 and 3A, the legs 5/6 are at least separated from the platform by the windows 13); and
a first finger (10) extending from the first leg (5/6) into the first window (9/13, the finger extends through the 13 portion of the first windows, see Figures 1 and 3A);
bending the shielding structure (1, see Figure 2 which shows bending lines, see also col. 2, lines 23-26) to position the first leg (5/6) extending from the first platform (16) in a first direction (downward direction in Figure 2) toward the circuit board (into the page direction in Figure 2, downward in Figure 3A, the legs 5 are bend into the page in Figure 2, and then soldered to the circuit board perpendicularly, see col. 2, lines 28-48) and to position the first finger (10) extending from the first leg (5/6) in a second direction (upwards in Figure 3A) opposite the first direction (downward in Figure 3A);
mounting the shielding structure (1) to the circuit board (see col. 2, lines 28-48), after bending the shielding structure (bending is done before mounting, see col. 2, lines 28-48).
Lonka does not disclose mounting a first component to a circuit board;
mounting a semiconductor die to the first platform, wherein:
the shielding structure is between the first component and the semiconductor die.
Chen discloses in Figure 7, however, mounting a first component (310) to a circuit board (300);
mounting a semiconductor die (320) to the first platform (332), wherein:
the shielding structure (330) is between the first component (310) and the semiconductor die (320, see Figure 7).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Chen into the teachings of Lonka to include the component/semiconductor die as claimed and the configuration of the component/die relative to the shielding structure for the purpose of providing heat dissipation for the component/die, as well as better electrical performance during operation (Chen, col. 5 lines 40-50). Further, it would have been obvious to use the shield of Lonka in this manner, since the shield of Lonka is connected to a circuit board, provides EMI shielding, and finally has space above and below its platform to accommodate components/semiconductor die.
Regarding claim 15, Chen discloses forming a wire bond (340) connecting the semiconductor die (320) and the circuit board (300, see Figure 7).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the wire bond as claimed and taught by Chen into the teachings of Lonka for the purpose of providing electrical connection to the semiconductor die mounted on the platform (Chen, col. 4 lines 44-51).
Regarding claim 16, Chen discloses wherein forming the wire bond (340) comprises forming the wire bond (340) to pass through the first window (opening in the platform 332 of Chen, see Figure 7).
Regarding claim 17, Chen discloses forming a mold compound (350) over the circuit board (300), the shielding structure (330), and the semiconductor die (320, see Figure 7).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the mold compound as claimed and taught by Chen into the teachings of Lonka. The combination would have resulted in the predictable result to a person having ordinary skill in the art of protecting the dies/components from the external environment and to also provide electrical insulation to electrical connections in the package. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 20, Lonka discloses wherein forming the shielding structure (1) comprises:
performing a patterning process on a plate of conductive material (see col. 2 lines 17-20 which disclose the shielding is cut from a thin metal plate, i.e. patterned) to define the first platform (16), the first leg (5/6), and the first finger (10).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (“Kim” US 2013/0056862).
Regarding claim 9, Chen discloses wherein the shielding structure (330/371) comprises a second platform (321).
Chen does not disclose that the apparatus comprises another semiconductor die mounted to the second platform.
Kim discloses a second platform (200, Figure 5a) and another semiconductor die (210, below semiconductor die 222) mounted to the second platform (200, see Figure 5a).
It would have been obvious to incorporate the additional semiconductor die mounted to the second platform as taught by Kim into the teachings of Chen because it predictably results in further increased device density.
Claims 18-19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lonka and Chen as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Yen et al. (“Yen” US 2013/0292808).
Regarding claim 18, Chen discloses forming a shielding cover (372) over the mold compound (350) and contacting the first finger (371, see Figure 7).
Chen does not disclose a process of removing a portion of the mold compound to expose the first finger.
However, Yen discloses a process of removing a portion of the mold compound (140, Figures 27E and 27F) to expose the first finger (131); and forming a shield cover (150) over the mold compound (140) and contacting the first finger (shown in Figure 27H, 150 contacts 131 through conductive structure 155, while structure 150 is an antenna, the antenna material is metallic, para. [0062], thus the antenna could function as a shield cover as Applicant has intended because Applicant has disclosed the material for the shielding cover is metallic).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate the teachings of Yen into the teachings of Lonka and Chen to include the shielding cover method of claim 18 for the purpose of providing EMI shielding (Yen, para. [0005]).
Regarding claim 19, Lonka and Chen do not disclose:
forming a trench in the mold compound exposing the first finger;
forming a conductive structure in the trench connected to the first finger; and
forming a shielding cover over the mold compound and contacting the conductive structure.
However, Yen discloses forming a trench (Figure 27F) in the mold compound (140) exposing the first finger (131);
forming a conductive structure (155, Figure 27H) in the trench connected to the first finger (131); and
forming a shield cover (150) over the mold compound (140) and contacting the conductive structure (155, Figure 27H).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate the teachings of Yen into the teachings of Lonka and Chen to include the method of claim 19 above for the purpose of implementing a method for providing EMI shielding (Yen, para. [0005)).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any interpretation of references and/or references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/Genevieve G Bullard-Connor/Examiner, Art Unit 2899 /DALE E PAGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899