DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (WO 2022/039890 A1).
Re claim 1, Lee et al. disclose (Fig. 4G) a substrate (102); a plurality of adjacent pixel-defining layer structures (126) disposed over the substrate, the PDL structure having a top surface coupled to adjacent sidewalls of the PDL structure; a plurality of sub-pixels (106) defined by the PDL structures (Figs. 1A-1D), each sub-pixel (106) comprising: an anode (104), wherein an anode (104) of a sub-pixel (106) of the plurality of sub-pixels is separated from an adjacent anode of an adjacent sub-pixel (Fig. 1B); an organic light emitting diode (OLED) material (112) disposed over the anode (104), the OLED material having a first OLED end and a second OLED end that extend over the top surface of the PDL structure (126) past the adjacent sidewalls (Fig. 4G); a cathode (114) disposed over the OLED material (112), the cathode (114) having a first cathode end and a second cathode end that extend over the top surface of the PDL structure (126) past the adjacent sidewalls; and an encapsulation layer (116) disposed over the cathode (114), wherein the encapsulation layer (116) has a first sidewall and a second sidewall, wherein the first sidewall and the second sidewall extend past the first OLED end (112), the second OLED end (112), the first cathode end (114), and the second cathode end (114) (Fig. 4G), and wherein the encapsulation layer (116) contacts a top surface of the PDL (126) (Fig. 4G).
Re claim 2, Lee et al. disclose wherein the anode includes one or more layers comprising chromium, titanium, gold, silver, copper, aluminum, ITO ([0019]).
Re claim 3, Lee et al. disclose wherein: the first OLED end and the second OLED end (112) extend over the top surface of the PDL structure (126) past an endpoint of the anode (104); and the first cathode end and the second cathode end (114) extend over the top surface of the PDL structure (126) past an endpoint of the anode (104) (Fig. 4G).
Re claim 4, Lee et al. disclose wherein the plurality of sub-pixels (106) includes a first sub-pixel (114) and a second sub-pixel (114) (as shown in Fig. 1A)([0021]), wherein a gap (gap on 115) separates the first sidewall of the encapsulation layer (116) of the second sub-pixel from the second sidewall of the encapsulation layer (116) of the first sub-pixel (Fig. 1A).
Re claim 5, Lee et al. disclose further comprising a global passivation layer (118) disposed over the encapsulation layer (116), wherein the global passivation layer is disposed over the first sidewall and second sidewall of the encapsulation layer and a portion of the top surface of the PDL structures in the gap (Fig. 1A).
Re claim 6, Lee et al. disclose wherein the global passivation layer (118) contacts the first sidewall and second sidewall of the encapsulation layer (116) and the portion of the top surface of the PDL structures in the gap (gap over 115).
Re claim 31, Lee et al. disclose wherein the PDL structure (116) is disposed on the substrate (102) between the anode (104) and the adjacent anode (104) of the adjacent sub-pixel (sub-pixels 108a and 108b) (Fig. 1A).
Conclusion
/MICHELLE MANDALA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893 September 24, 2026