Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 08/12/2026, with respect to claim 1, with regards to the physical incompatibility of the first buried layer and second buried layer having the same conductivity type, on pages 3-4 is found persuasive. Upon further search and consideration a new rejection is formulated below. Because this is a new grounds of rejection, prosecution is reopened and this rejection is non-final. In particular, Lee et al (US 20220190158) discloses two buried layers of N-type semiconductor. However, Wada discloses the buried layer to be a P-type buried layer, with an established “first semiconductor type” being a p-type semiconductor. However, upon further review of Lee et al, it is noted that Lee et al does not denote semiconductor device limited to N-type buried layer with N-type drift layer, as all transistor devices can be created with an opposite dopant type – specifically an NPN and PNP transistor structurally are the same with different dopants in specific regions. Similarly, Wada discloses an N-type drift layer with a P-type buried region. It would have been obvious to have read Lee et al (US20220190158) to also be a P-type region as the buried layer if the semiconductor device was the opposite dopant type. It differs from the previous rejection as the previous rejection cited the buried region and the drift region to be disclosed by Lee et al, but in the current rejection the buried and drift region are disclosed by Wada, and only the combination of multiple buried regions formed as one is disclosed by Lee et al, with an obvious statement that one could reasonable try it with either an N-type buried region or a P-type buried region per normal usage of semiconductor devices and dopants. With regards to the applicants arguments pertaining to relative lengths of LF3<LB2, the arguments are found not persuasive. It would be obvious to anyone in the art to try the three different options with LF3 = LB2, LF3< LB2 and LF3 >LB2. It is recommended that applicant designate specific lengths, such as 50 micrometers, rather than relation to other lengths. Relations to other lengths are relative in nature and generally there are only three options with relative lengths, greater than, less than or equal – which leads to an obvious argument for anyone to try when creating a device.
Note, as the applicants arguments pertain to non-amended material after the non-final issues on 02/05/2026, prosecution has been re-opened and a second non-final rejection is issued below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wada (PCT WO2020129375 A1 using US 12230710 B2 as the translation because this WO document is the PCT of US 12230710) in view of Lee et al (US 20220190158).
[claim 1] A semiconductor device, comprising: a body region of a first conductivity type formed on a main surface of a semiconductor substrate (figure 5, col 8 lines 29-53, where element 5 is the body of first conductivity type [p-type]);
a source region of a second conductivity type formed on a surface of the body region (figure 5, col 8 lines 29-53, where element 9 is the source region of second conductivity type [n-type] and is formed above the body region [element 5]);
a drift region of the second conductivity type formed to be in contact with the body region (figure 5, col 8 lines 29-53, where element 6 is the drift region of second conductivity type [n-type]);
a drain region of the second conductivity type formed on the drift region (figure 5, col 8 lines 29-53, where element 8 is the drain region formed on the drift region [element 6] and is of the second conductivity type [n-type]);
a gate electrode formed on the body region between the source region and the drift region and the drift region on the side of the source region via a gate insulating film; a first field plate extending from the gate electrode in a direction of the drain region and formed on the drift region via a first insulating film; (figure 5, col 8 lines 29-53, where element 11 is the gate insulating film and element 12 is the gate electrode [also called a first field plate], the gate electrode [element 12] is on the body region [element 5] and is situated between the source [element 9] and the drain [element 8], element 51 is the first field plate [called the second field plate in the present disclosure] and extends towards the drain region [element 8] and is on the drift region [element 6] through the insulating layer [element 11]);
a second field plate composed of a plurality of wiring layers, and being in contact with the source region or the gate electrode and formed on the first field plate via a second insulating film (figure 5, col 8 lines 29-53, element 55 is the second field plate [called first field plate in the present disclosure] and contains wiring layers and is in contact with the source region, gate electrode and first field plate);
a first buried region being in contact with the body region and formed under the drift region (figure 5, col 8 lines 29-53, element 4 is the buried region and formed under the drift region [element 6]);
wherein in the plurality of wiring layers constituting the second field plate, a distance between an upper wiring layer and the drain region is shorter than a distance between a lower wiring layer and the drain region, and a distance between a lowermost wiring layer and the drain region is shorter than a distance between the first field plate and the drain region (figure 5, col 8 lines 29-53, element 55 constitutes the plurality of wiring layers, per claim 2 [col 11 lines 21-35], the upper wiring layer is closer to the drain region than the lower wiring layer, and the distance between the lowermost wiring layer and the drain region is shorter than the first field plate to the drain region. Element 55 is made of two wiring layers, both of which are closer to the drain region [element 8] than the first field plate [element 51]. Additionally, the upper wiring layer is closer to the drain region than the lower wiring layer),
and the distance between the first field plate and the drain region is longer than a distance between the first buried region and the drain region (figure 5, col 8 lines 29-53, element L3b is greater than element L3a).
Wada does not specifically disclose
[claim 1] and a second buried region being in contact with the first buried region in a direction parallel to a main surface of the semiconductor substrate to form a continuous impurity region,
and having an impurity concentration smaller than an impurity concentration of the first buried region formed under the drift region and extending in the direction of the drain region,
wherein the first buried region and the second buried region are configured to cooperatively provide a uniform electric potential distribution in the drift region,
a distance between the second buried region and the drain region is shorter than a distance between the first buried region and the drain region.
Lee et al. discloses
[claim 1] and a second buried region being in contact with the first buried region in a direction parallel to a main surface of the semiconductor substrate to form a continuous impurity region (figure 12M, paragraph 0050, where element 1212 is the first buried region, element 1216 is the second buried region, and can form a continuous buried region in a direction parallel to the main surface [in figure 12M that is horizontal plane from left to right]),
and having an impurity concentration smaller than an impurity concentration of the first buried region formed under the drift region and extending in the direction of the drain region (figure 12M, paragraphs 0050 and 0060, where the concentration of the buried regions decreases from source to drain, where the source is element 1226 and the drain is 1228, thus as one progresses from left to right [i.e. extending in the direction parallel to the main surface] the concentration drops, thus the first buried region [element 1226] has a greater impurity concentration than the second buried region [element 1216]),
wherein the first buried region and the second buried region are configured to cooperatively provide a uniform electric potential distribution in the drift region (figure 12M, paragraphs 0038-0039, where the electric field provided across the drift region is uniform to guard against excessive electric fields providing breakdown voltage),
a distance between the second buried region and the drain region is shorter than a distance between the first buried region and the drain region (figure 12M, paragraph 0050, where element 1212 is the first buried region, element 1216 is the second buried region, where the source is element 1226 and the drain is 1228, thus as one progresses from left to right [i.e. extending in the direction parallel to the main surface] the distance between the first buried region [1212] and the drain [element 1228] is greater than the distance between the second buried region [1216] and the drain [1228]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified the teachings of Wada et al to incorporate the teachings of Lee et al in order to buffer the channel such that a higher breakdown voltage is required due to the added electric field form the continuous, subsequent buried layers in a specific direction.
Wada as modified does not specifically disclose
[claim 1] [a first buried region] of the first conductivity type, [and a second buried region] of the first conductivity type
However, according to MPEP 2144.04 VI. REVERSAL, DUPLICATION, OR REARRANGEMENT OF PARTS
A. Reversal of Parts
In re Gazda, 219 F.2d 449, 104 USPQ 400 (CCPA 1955) (Prior art disclosed a clock fixed to the stationary steering wheel column of an automobile while the gear for winding the clock moves with steering wheel; mere reversal of such movement, so the clock moves with wheel, was held to be an obvious modification.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to have modified the teachings of Wada as modified to structure the first conductivity type of Lee et al to be P-type instead of N-type, as every transistor and semiconductor device is known to operate in its charge opposite. NPN operates the same as PNP transistors, the only difference is the reversal of the doping of the semiconductor material. Similarly with Lee et al, though Lee et al discloses a second conductivity type as the buried layers on a first conductivity type substrate, and drift region, it would be obvious to switch the doping of each to their opposite (hence reversal), and the device would function and read onto Wada. Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified the Lee et al to incorporate P-type doping instead of N-type doping as those are the only two doping options for semiconductors.
Regarding claims 7, Wada as modified discloses all of the limitations of the parent claim, claim 1, but does not specifically disclose
[claims 7] wherein the semiconductor substrate comprises an SOI substrate having a buried insulating layer in a semiconductor layer.
However, Wada further discloses
[claim 7] The semiconductor device according to claim [1, 2] wherein the semiconductor substrate comprises an SOI substrate having a buried insulating layer in a semiconductor layer (col 5 lines 9-19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have further modified Wada as modified with the additional teachings of Wada in order to increase prevention of ESD (electrostatic discharge) while maintaining a low ON resistance throughout the substrate by adding an additional buried insulating layer to protect further against voltage breakdown and ESD.
Claims 2 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wada (PCT WO2020129375 A1 using US 12230710 B2 as the translation because this WO document is the PCT of US 12230710), and Lee et al (US 20220190158) in further view of Nagao (JP 7281807).
Wada teaches
[claim 2] The semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein an impurity concentration of the drift region is greater than 1e1016/cm3 (col 3 lines 8-18),
and an impurity concentration of the first buried region is greater than 1e1016/cm3 (col 7 lines 1-10, where the first buried region is equal to the concentration of the drift region which can be greater than 1e16/cm3).
Additionally, Wada et al as modified above does not specifically disclose
[claim 2] and the impurity concentration of the second buried region is set to a value of 1/3 to 2/3 of the impurity concentration of the first buried region.
However, Nagao et al does teach
[claim 2] and the impurity concentration of the second buried region is set to a value of 1/3 to 2/3 of the impurity concentration of the first buried region (paragraph 0009, where the range is broader than 1/3 to 2/3 but a starting point is given by reference Wada which discloses a buried layer being 1/3 the concentration of the drift layer [col 11 lines 35-43 of Wada]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified the teachings of Wada as modified to include the teachings of Nagao et al in order to more effectively protect IC elements from Electro-Static Discharge (ESD) by finetuning the buried layer (paragraph 0004).
Regarding claims 8, Wada as modified discloses all of the limitations of the parent claim, claim 2, but does not specifically disclose
[claims 8] wherein the semiconductor substrate comprises an SOI substrate having a buried insulating layer in a semiconductor layer.
However, Wada further discloses in a different embodiment
[claim 8] The semiconductor device according to claim [1, 2] wherein the semiconductor substrate comprises an SOI substrate having a buried insulating layer in a semiconductor layer (col 5 lines 9-19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have further modified Wada as modified with the additional teachings of Wada in order to increase prevention of ESD (electrostatic discharge) while maintaining a low ON resistance throughout the substrate by adding an additional buried insulating layer to protect further against voltage breakdown and ESD.
Claims 3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wada (PCT WO2020129375 A1 using US 12230710 B2 as the translation), and Lee et al (US 20220190158) in further view of Kim et al (KR 2018136932 A).
Wada as modified teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim, claim 1, but does not specifically disclose
[claim 3] The semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein in the plurality of wiring layers constituting the second field plate, the distance between the lowermost wiring layer and the drain region is smaller than the distance between the first buried region and the drain region, and greater than the distance between the second buried region and the drain region.
However, Kim et al does teach
[claim 3] The semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein in the plurality of wiring layers constituting the second field plate, the distance between the lowermost wiring layer and the drain region is smaller than the distance between the first buried region and the drain region, and greater than the distance between the second buried region and the drain region (figure 3, element 195 is the plurality of wiring layers constituting a field plate, and the distance between element 195 and drain is smaller than the distance between the first buried region and the drain [element 122 is the first buried region, and 164 is the drain] but is greater than the distance between the second buried region [element 124] and the drain [element 164]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified the teachings of Wada as modified above to incorporate the teachings of Kim et al in order to minimize on-state resistance while maintaining high breakdown voltage by creating adequate distance between buried layer and drain layer with the metal layers at said specific distances.
Regarding claim 9, Wada as modified above discloses all of the limitations of the parent claim, claim 3.
However, Wada as modified above does not specifically disclose
[claim 9] The semiconductor device according to claim 3, wherein the semiconductor substrate comprises an SOI substrate having a buried insulating layer in a semiconductor layer.
However, Wada further discloses
[claim 9] The semiconductor device according to claim 3, wherein the semiconductor substrate comprises an SOI substrate having a buried insulating layer in a semiconductor layer (col 5 lines 9-19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have further modified Wada as modified with the additional teachings of Wada in order to increase prevention of ESD (electrostatic discharge) while maintaining a low ON resistance throughout the substrate by adding an additional buried insulating layer to protect further against voltage breakdown and ESD.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wada (PCT WO2020129375 A1 using US 12230710 B2 as the translation), and Lee et al (US 20220190158) in further view of Kim et al (KR 2018136932 A).
Wada as modified teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim, claim 2, but does not specifically disclose
[claim 4] The semiconductor device according to claim 2, wherein in the plurality of wiring layers constituting the second field plate, the distance between the lowermost wiring layer and the drain region is smaller than the distance between the first buried region and the drain region, and greater than the distance between the second buried region and the drain region.
However, Kim et al does teach
[claim 4] The semiconductor device according to claim 2, wherein in the plurality of wiring layers constituting the second field plate, the distance between the lowermost wiring layer and the drain region is smaller than the distance between the first buried region and the drain region, and greater than the distance between the second buried region and the drain region (figure 3, element 195 is the plurality of wiring layers constituting a field plate, and the distance between element 195 and drain is smaller than the distance between the first buried region and the drain [element 122 is the first buried region, and 164 is the drain] but is greater than the distance between the second buried region [element 124] and the drain [element 164]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified the teachings of Wada as modified above to incorporate the teachings of Kim et al in order to minimize on-state resistance while maintaining high breakdown voltage by creating adequate distance between buried layer and drain layer with the metal layers at said specific distances.
Claims 5, 6, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wada (PCT WO2020129375 A1 using US 12230710 B2 as the translation), Lee et al (US 20220190158) and Kim et al (KR 2018136932 A) in further view of Iwabuchi et al (US 5811854).
Wada as modified teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim, claim 3,
However, Wada as modified does not specifically disclose
[claim 5] The semiconductor device according to claim 3, comprising: a third buried region of the first conductivity type being adjacent to the second buried region and having an impurity concentration smaller than the impurity concentration of the second buried region formed under the drift region and extending in the direction of the drain region, wherein a distance between the third buried region and the drain region is greater than the distance between the uppermost wiring layer and the drain region in the wiring layers constituting the second field plate.
[claim 6] The semiconductor device according to claim 5, wherein the impurity concentration of the third buried region is set to a value of 1/3 to 2/3 of the impurity concentration of the second buried region.
However, Iwabuchi et al does teach
[claims 6] and the impurity concentration of the second buried region is set to a value of 1/3 to 2/3 of the impurity concentration of the first buried region (col 4 lines 47-56, where the second buried layer is 2/3 the value of the first buried layer).
[claim 5] The semiconductor device according to claim 3, comprising: a third buried region of the first conductivity type being adjacent to the second buried region and having an impurity concentration smaller than the impurity concentration of the second buried region formed under the drift region and extending in the direction of the drain region (figure 4, element 32 is the third buried layer and is adjacent to the second buried layer [element 31], and extend towards the drain [element 9], and the third buried layer has a lower concentration than the second buried layer [col 4 lines 47-56]),
wherein a distance between the third buried region and the drain region is greater than the distance between the uppermost wiring layer and the drain region in the wiring layers constituting the second field plate (figure 4, element 32 is a greater distance from the drain [element 9] than the top wiring layer [element 17] which extends all the way to the edge of element 11 directly situated over element 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified the teachings of Wada as modified to incorporate the teachings of Iwabuchi et al in order to provide more streamlined depletion layers so the device and withstand higher voltages (col 1 lines 61-66).
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Wada as modified disclose the limitation of parent claims 5 and 6.
However, Wada as modified above does not specifically disclose
[claim 10 & 11] The semiconductor device according to claim [5, 6], wherein the semiconductor substrate comprises an SOI substrate having a buried insulating layer in a semiconductor layer.
However, Wada further discloses in a different embodiment
[claim 10 & 11] The semiconductor device according to claim [5,6], wherein the semiconductor substrate comprises an SOI substrate having a buried insulating layer in a semiconductor layer (col 5 lines 9-19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have further modified Wada as modified with the additional teachings of Wada in order to increase prevention of ESD (electrostatic discharge) while maintaining a low ON resistance throughout the substrate by adding an additional buried insulating layer to protect further against voltage breakdown and ESD.
Conclusion
/ANDREW JOHN ZABEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/JEFF W NATALINI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2818