DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s Amendment filed January 29, 2026 has been fully considered and entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ripumaree et al. (US 2021/0096317 A1) in view of Lu et al. (US 2006/0285807 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Ripumaree discloses an optical cable assembly comprising a body (20 in Fig. 5) defining a passageway therein, the body comprising a cable insertion portion (left end portion into which cable 90 is inserted), wherein the cable insertion portion is round and defines a cable insertion face having a first area; a cable securing portion (central portion of body 20 beyond cable jacket 90) adjacent to the cable insertion portion; and a port insertion portion (right end portion having locking feature 20L and keying portion 20KP in Figs. 5-6) adjacent to the cable securing portion, the port insertion portion comprising a distal end, wherein the distal end defines a port insertion face having a second area that is less than the first area (distal end of housing with locking feature 20L and keying portion 20KP has smaller area than at the cable insertion portion as seen in Fig. 5); an optical cable comprising a round cable jacket (see Figs. 4-6, jacket is disclosed as being a tube in paragraph 0039); one or more strength members (elements 92 on top and bottom of tubing 30 in Figs. 5-6; appear to be mislabeled since they do not appear to be optical fibers and are more likely the tubing heat shrink 99 “disposed about a portion of the tubing” described in paragraph 0043, which must provide some degree of strength); a plurality of optical fibers (paragraph 0039); wherein the optical cable is disposed within the body such that: the round cable jacket terminates within the cable insertion portion; the one or more strength members terminates within the cable securing portion; the plurality of fibers is disposed within the port insertion portion (Fig. 5); and an adhesive disposed within the body for securing the one or more strength members within the body (paragraph 0042 discloses strength members as a portion of the jacket, and an adhesive placed into the housing for securing the jacket to the housing).
Still regarding claim 8, Ripumaree teaches the claimed invention except for a plurality of tubes. Lu discloses a plurality of tubes (paragraph 0097 describes fiber management guide 710 incorporating overtubes to guide output fibers 708 through output boot 208) with at least one optical fiber in each tube of the plurality of tubes, the plurality of tubes disposed within the output portion (208) having a tapered interior wall reducing a height of the passageway and forcing the plurality of tubes closer to each other in Figs. 1 and 7. Lu further discloses an adhesive within the body for securing the plurality of tubes (paragraph 0058 describes how output boot 208 can operate with adhesives to retain optical fibers in determined positions; paragraph 0097 discloses overtubes affixed to fiber management guide 710 via an adhesive). Since both inventions relate to optical cables, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have found it obvious to use a plurality of tubes as disclosed by Lu in the optical cable assembly of Ripumaree for the purpose of providing additional protection to the optical fibers.
Regarding claim 9, the proposed combination of Ripumaree and Lu teaches the claimed invention except for specifically stating adhesive disposed within the cable securing portion. However, Ripumaree discloses the use of adhesives within the housing for securing the jacket or tubing in paragraphs 0042-0043 and as such, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have found it obvious to dispose an adhesive within the cable securing portion in order to facilitate securing of any components within the cable securing portion of the housing.
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Ripumaree further discloses a proximal end of the port insertion portion is round in cross-section in Fig. 4. The proposed combination of Ripumaree and Lu teaches the claimed invention except for specifically stating the distal end of the port insertion portion is substantially discorectangular in cross-section. However, Ripumaree discloses bores or openings may have any suitable shape or geometry for cooperating with its respective external connector in paragraph 0061 and as such, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have found it obvious to form the distal end of the port insertion portion to have any shape, including substantially discorectangular in cross-section, as a matter of obvious design choice depending on the shape of the ports.
Regarding claim 12, Ripumaree discloses a surface of the port insertion portion comprises a port engagement groove (20KP) in Fig. 5.
Regarding claim 13, Ripumaree discloses the port engagement groove is longitudinally disposed on the port insertion portion in Fig. 5.
Regarding claim 14, Ripumaree discloses a transition between the cable insertion portion and the cable securing portion defines a jacket stop within the passageway such that an end of the round cable jacket abuts the jacket stop in Fig. 5.
Regarding claim 15, Ripumaree discloses a heat shrink (99) disposed around at least a portion of the cable securing portion and the cable insertion portion in Fig. 5.
Regarding claim 16, Ripumaree discloses an o-ring (65) on at least one of the port insertion portion and the cable securing portion in Fig. 5.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed January 29, 2026, with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Specifically, the feature “an adhesive disposed within the body for securing the plurality of tubes and the one or more strength members within the body” is disclosed by the combination of Ripumaree and Lu. Ripumaree at paragraph 0042 discloses strength members as a portion of the jacket, and an adhesive placed into the housing for securing the jacket to the housing. Since the housing corresponds to the claimed body, an adhesive that secures the jacket to the housing would naturally provide some degree of securing for all the components of the optical cable. Further, Lu at paragraph 0058 describes how output boot 208 can operate with adhesives to retain optical fibers in determined positions, and at paragraph 0097 discloses overtubes affixed to fiber management guide 710 via an adhesive. In other words, Lu teaches the use of adhesives inside the optical cable for securing the elements together. As such, one having ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to incorporate an adhesive disposed within the body for securing the plurality of tubes and the one or more strength members within the body for the purpose of forming a rugged and robust device.
Conclusion
Any inquiry of a general or clerical nature should be directed to the Technology Center 2800 receptionist at telephone number (571) 272-1562.
Chris H. Chu
/CHRIS H CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874 February 17, 2026