Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I in the reply filed on 10/02/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 4-7, 9-10, 13-14, 16 and 19-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/02/2025.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/27/2022, 04/10/2023 and 12/03/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8, 11-12, 15 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102/(a)(1)(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2021/0384461 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim et al. teaches a display device (DD; Fig. 1, [0031]) comprising: a first substrate (SUB1; Fig. 5, [0046]) including a display area (DA; Fig. 1, [0034]) and a non-display area (NDA; Fig. 1, [0034]) surrounding the display area (DA; Fig. 1); a plurality of sub-pixels (PA1, PA2, PA3; Fig. 6, [0098]) including a plurality of light emitting elements (OLEDs; Fig. 5, [0079]) disposed on the first substrate (SUB1) in the display area (DA; Fig. 5); a first bank (sections of BNK not overlapping the NDA; Fig. 6, [0102]) surrounding the sub-pixels (PA1, PA2, PA3; Fig. 6) in the display area (DA; Fig. 6); a plurality of color control members (QDL1, QDL2, LTL; Fig. 6, [0102]) surrounded by the first bank (sections of BNK not overlapping the NDA) on the light emitting elements (OLEDs; see Figs. 5 and 6) of the plurality of sub-pixels (PA1, PA2, PA3; Fig. 6); a plurality of color filter layers (CF1, CF2, CF3; Fig. 6, [0103]) disposed on the color control members (QDL1, QDL2, LTL; Fig. 6); a second bank (DM1; Fig. 7, [0126]) spaced apart from the first bank (sections of BNK not overlapping the NDA; Fig. 7) and surrounding the display area (DA; [0126]) in the non-display area (NDA; Fig. 7); and a plurality of color dams (DCF1 and DCF2, a part of LSL; Fig. 3, [0133]) disposed on the second bank (DM1), wherein the color dams (DCF1 and DCF2) include: a first color dam (the sections of DCF1 and DCF2 as a part of LSL at the left side of DA of Fig. 3, [0133, 0053]) disposed on a first portion of the second bank (the portion of the DM1 at the left side of DA of Fig. 3 as shown in Fig. 7; [0017]) disposed on a first side of the display area (the left side of DA in Fig. 3), and a second color dam (the sections of DCF1 and DCF2 as a part of LSL at the right side of DA of Fig. 3, [0133]) disposed on a second portion of the second bank (the portion of the DM1 at the right side of DA of Fig. 3 similar to Fig. 7, which is indicated in [0126] that “DM1 and DM2 each surrounding the display part DA” like the SAL surrounding display part DA in [0057] where SAL surrounding all four sides of DA in Fig. 4, which indicates DM1 is present also on the right side of DA) disposed on a second side of the display area (the right side of DA in Fig. 3) opposite to the first side of the display area (the left side of DA in Fig. 3), and the first color dam (the sections of DCF1 and DCF2 as a part of LSL at the left side of DA of Fig. 3) and the second color dam (the sections of DCF1 and DCF2 as a part of LSL at the right side of DA of Fig. 3) include different materials (DCF1 and DCF2 have materials of color filters of different colors; [0135]).
Regarding claim 2, Kim et al. teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of sub-pixels (PA1, PA2, PA3) include a first sub-pixel (PA1) and a second sub-pixel (PA3) spaced apart from the first sub-pixel (PA1) in a direction (the horizontal direction in Fig. 6, i.e. DR2, [0096]), the plurality of color control members (QDL1, QDL2, LTL) include a first wavelength conversion layer (QDL1; Fig. 6, [0102]) disposed in the first sub-pixel (PA1) and a light transmitting layer (LTL; Fig. 6, [0102]) disposed in the second sub-pixel (PA3; Fig. 6), and the plurality of color filter layers (CFL1, CFL2, CFL3) include a first color filter layer (CFL1; Fig. 6, [0103]) disposed on the first wavelength conversion layer (QDL1; Fig. 6) and a second color filter layer (CFL3; Fig. 6, [0103]) disposed on the light transmitting layer (LTL; Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 3, Kim et al. teaches the display device of claim 2, wherein the first color dam (the sections of DCF1 and DCF2 as a part of LSL at the left side of DA of Fig. 3) and the second color dam (the sections of DCF1 and DCF2 as a part of LSL at the right side of DA of Fig. 3) are spaced apart from each other in the direction (DR2, i.e. the horizontal direction in Fig. 3, [0096]), the display area (DA) is disposed between the first color dam (the sections of DCF1 and DCF2 as a part of LSL at the left side of DA of Fig. 3) and the second color dam (the sections of DCF1 and DCF2 as a part of LSL at the right side of DA of Fig. 3), the first color dam (the sections of DCF1 and DCF2 as a part of LSL at the left side of DA of Fig. 3) and the first color filter layer (CFL1) include a same material (DCF2 can have the material CF1; [0135]), and the second color dam (the sections of DCF1 and DCF2 as a part of LSL at the right side of DA of Fig. 3) and the second color filter layer (CFL3) include a same material (DCF1 can have the material CF3; [0135]).
Regarding claim 8, Kim et al. teaches the display device of claim 1, further comprising: a first capping layer (IL1; Fig. 6, [0100]) disposed on the plurality of color control members (QDL1, QDL2, LTL), the first bank (sections of BNK not overlapping the NDA), and the second bank (DM1; Fig. 7); a low refraction layer (LRL; Fig. 7, [0100]) disposed on the first capping layer (IL1); and a second capping layer (SUB2; Fig. 7, [0046]) disposed on the low refraction layer (LRL), wherein the first color dam (the sections of DCF1 and DCF2 as a part of LSL at the left side of DA of Fig. 3) and the second color dam (the sections of DCF1 and DCF2 as a part of LSL at the right side of DA of Fig. 3) are disposed on the second capping layer (on the bottom surface of SUB2; see Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 11, Kim et al. teaches the display device of claim 8, further comprising: a via layer (INS6, the bottommost layers of DM1 and DM2, and SUP, i.e. the layer above INS5 having vias; Fig. 7, [0087, 0126, 0150]) disposed in the display area (DA) and the non-display area (NDA) on the first substrate (SUB1; see Fig. 7); a third bank (the topmost layer of DM2; Fig. 7, [0087]) disposed on the via layer (INS6, the bottommost layers of DM1 and DM2, and SUP; see Fig. 7), spaced apart from the second bank (DM1) in the non-display area (NDA), and surrounding the second bank (DM1; [0126]); and a first valley part (a valley between INS6 and the bottommost layer of DM1; Fig. 7) disposed between the first bank (sections of BNK not overlapping the NDA) and the second bank (DM1) in the non-display area (NDA) and penetrating through the via layer (INS6, the bottommost layers of DM1 and DM2, and SUP; Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 12, Kim et al. teaches the display device of claim 11, wherein a plurality of first color dams (the sections of DCF1 and DCF2 as a part of LSL at the left side of DA of Fig. 3, [0133, 0053]) are disposed on the second bank (DM1) and the third bank (the topmost layer of DM2; Fig. 7, [0087]) disposed on the first side of the display area (the left side of DA in Fig. 3), and a plurality of second color dams (the sections of DCF1 and DCF2 as a part of LSL at the right side of DA of Fig. 3, [0133, 0053]) are disposed on the second bank (DM1) and the third bank (the topmost layer of DM2; similar to Fig. 7, which is indicated in [0126] that “DM1 and DM2 each surrounding the display part DA” like the SAL surrounding display part DA in [0057] where SAL surrounding all four sides of DA in Fig. 4, which indicates DM2 is present also on the right side of DA) disposed on the second side of the display area (the right side of DA in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 15, Kim et al. teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the sub-pixels (PA1, PA2, PA3) include a plurality of electrodes (AE, CE; Fig. 5, [0079]) extending in a direction (the horizonal direction in Fig. 5) and spaced apart from each other (see Fig. 5), and the plurality of light emitting elements (OLEDs, which can be HCL/EML/ECL in Fig. 5; [0079]) are disposed on the plurality of electrodes (AE, CE; see Fig. 5) spaced apart from each other (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 17, Kim et al. teaches a display device (DD; Fig. 1, [0031]) comprising: a display area (DA; Fig. 1, [0034]) and a non-display area (NDA; Fig. 1, [0034]) surrounding the display area (DA; Fig. 1); a plurality of sub-pixels (PXs; Fig. 4, [0063]) disposed in the display area (DA; Fig. 6) and arranged in a first direction (DR1; Fig. 4) and a second direction (DR2; Fig. 4) intersecting the first direction (DR1; see Fig. 4), each of the plurality of sub-pixels (PXs) including: a first electrode (AE; Fig. 5, [0079]); a second electrode (CE; Fig. 5, [0079]) spaced apart from the first electrode (AE); and a plurality of light emitting elements (HCL/EML/ECL in Fig. 5; [0079]) including first and second ends (the top end and the bottom end of HCL/EML/ECL in Fig. 5) disposed on the first electrode (AE) and the second electrode (CE; see Fig. 5), respectively; a first bank (sections of BNK not overlapping the NDA) extending in the first direction (DR1) and the second direction (DR2) in the display area (DA; implied in Fig. 4 and Fig. 6 that the BNK surrounding the pixels and the pixels extend both in DR1 and DR2) and surrounding the plurality of sub-pixels (PXs; see Figs. 4 and 6); a plurality of color control members (QDL1, QDL2, LTL; Fig. 6, [0102]) surrounded by the first bank (sections of BNK not overlapping the NDA; Fig. 6); a plurality of color filter layers (CF1, CF2, CF3; Fig. 6, [0103]) disposed on the plurality of color control members (QDL1, QDL2, LTL); a first valley part (a valley between INS6 and the bottommost layer of DM1; Fig. 7) spaced apart from the first bank (sections of BNK not overlapping the NDA) and surrounding the first bank (sections of BNK not overlapping the NDA; DM1 surrounds DA disclosed in [0126] and the sections of BNK not overlapping the NDA is a part of DA as shown in Fig. 7) in the non-display area (NDA; see Fig. 7); a second bank (DM2; [0126]) spaced apart from the first valley part (a valley between INS6 and DM1) and surrounding the first valley part (a valley between INS6 and DM1) in the non-display area (NDA); a third bank (SUP; Fig. 7, [0126]) spaced apart from the second bank (DM2) and surrounding the second bank (DM2) in the non-display area (NDA); a plurality of first color dams (the sections of DCF1 and DCF2 as a part of LSL at the left side of DA of Fig. 3, [0133, 0053]) extending in the first direction (DR1; DCF1 and DCF2 extending in DR1 is implied in Fig. 3 where FIG. 3 illustrates a cross-section of the display panel DP viewed from the first direction DR1 as disclosed in [0045] that the same cross-section extends along the DR1, including LSL which includes DCF1 and DCF2; [0133]) and disposed adjacent to a first side of the display area (the left side of DPA) in the second direction (DR2) in the non-display area (NDA); and a plurality of second color dams (the sections of DCF1 and DCF2 as a part of LSL at the right side of DA of Fig. 3, [0133, 0053]) extending in the first direction (DR1; DCF1 and DCF2 extending in DR1 is implied in Fig. 3 where FIG. 3 illustrates a cross-section of the display panel DP viewed from the first direction DR1 as disclosed in [0045] that the same cross-section extends along the DR1, including LSL which includes DCF1 and DCF2; [0133]) and disposed adjacent to a second side of the display area (the right side of DPA) in the second direction (DR2) in the non-display area (NDA), wherein the plurality of first color dams (the sections of DCF1 and DCF2 as a part of LSL at the left side of DA of Fig. 3) and the plurality of second color dams (the sections of DCF1 and DCF2 as a part of LSL at the right side of DA of Fig. 3) include different materials (DCF1 and DCF2 have materials of color filters of different colors; [0135]).
Regarding claim 18, Kim et al. teaches the display device of claim 17, wherein the plurality of first color dams (the sections of DCF1 and DCF2 as a part of LSL at the left side of DA of Fig. 3) overlap the second bank (DM2; see Fig. 7) and the third bank (SUP) disposed in a first dam area (a portion of NDA at the at the left side of DA of Fig. 3) adjacent to the first side of the display area (the left side of DPA), and the plurality of second color dams (the sections of DCF1 and DCF2 as a part of LSL at the right side of DA of Fig. 3) overlap the second bank (DM2, similar to Fig. 7) and the third bank (SUP, similar to Fig. 7) disposed in a second dam area (a portion of NDA at the at the right side of DA of Fig. 3) adjacent to the second side of the display area (the right side of DPA).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lee (US 2021/0242423) teach the color filters deposited in the non-display area.
/HSIN YI HSIEH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899 1/5/2026