DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references/or references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Specifically, the Applicant has amended the claims to add a liner, such that the scope of the claims has changed, thus requiring further search and consideration. The resulting rejection, based on United States Patent Application No. 2019/0237344 to Lee et al is presented below, which presented now also makes Claim 19 is not allowable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 8, 9, 13-15, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1/a2) as being anticipated by United States Patent Application No. 2019/0237344 to Lee et al.
In regard to Claim 1, Lee teaches a disk and ring assembly for substrate processing Fig. 1-4, comprising: a quartz disk 30 [0033-0034] having an outer diameter (outer diameter of 30 as shown in Fig. 3); a plurality of holes or slots formed in the quartz disk (holes for lifting pins as shown in Fig. 1, 2); a liner 60; and a quartz ring 62 [0047] coupled to and extending radially inward from the liner (as shown in Fig. 1-4), the quartz ring having an inner diameter less than the outer diameter of the quartz disk (as shown in Fig. 3-4; [0023-0086].
In regard to Claim 8, Lee teaches an assembly Fig. 1-4 for a process chamber 1 Fig. 1, 2, comprising: a susceptor (top half of 30, in green) having a substrate-receiving surface 31; a plurality of arms coupled to and extending from the susceptor (see lift pins in Fig. 1); a liner 60 disposed radially outward of and surrounding the susceptor and arms (as it has a larger overall diameter); a disk (bottom half of 30, in red) coupled to the arms and disposed opposite the susceptor (as it is on the opposite half), the disk having a diameter; a ring 62 (in blue) coupled to the liner, the ring having an inner diameter, wherein the inner diameter of the ring is less than the diameter of the disk (as shown in Fig. 3, 4), and wherein the ring is disposed at an elevation between an elevation of the susceptor and an elevation of the disk (as 62 is at the halfway portion of 30, or where 32 meets the 62, as shown in the annotated copy of Fig. 3 below) [0023-0086].
In regard to Claim 9, Lee teaches the disk and the ring are arranged in an overlapping orientation (as shown in Fig. 3-4, where 62 overlaps the lip near 321).
In regard to Claim 13, Lee teaches the liner comprises a recess (lip of 60) and the ring is coupled to the liner within the recess, as shown in Fig. 1-4.
In regard to Claim 14, Lee teaches the liner comprises a rim (lip of 60) and the ring is coupled to the liner on the rim, as shown in Fig. 1-4.
In regard to Claim 15, Lee teaches a process chamber Fig. 1-4, comprising a chamber body 1 having a susceptor (top of 30) disposed therein, the chamber body comprising: an upper chamber volume 10 defined by an upper window above a plane of the susceptor (as shown in Fig. 2); and a lower chamber volume 20 defined by a lower window (bottom of 1, where elevator 70 is in Fig. 1, 2) and below the plane of the susceptor; a plurality of arms (lift pins as shown in Fig. 1, 2) coupled to and extending from the susceptor; a liner 60 disposed radially outward of and surrounding the susceptor and arms; a disk (bottom of 30) coupled to the arms and disposed opposite the susceptor, the disk having a diameter (as shown in Fig. 1-4) a ring 62 coupled to the liner, the ring having an inner diameter, wherein the inner diameter of the ring is less than the diameter of the disk (as shown in Fig. 1-4) and wherein the ring is disposed at an elevation between an elevation of the susceptor and an elevation of the disk (as shown in the annotated copy of Fig. 3 above) [0023-0086].
In regard to Claim 18, Lee teaches a top surface of the disk and a bottom surface of the ring define a gap therebetween (as shown in Fig. 1).
In regard to Claim 19, Lee teaches the gap has a magnitude of less than about 1 mm, as Lee teaches that the disk abuts the ring in Fig. 2 and is spaced apart in Fig. 1, such that the movement to meet the ring and the disk would create a gap during this movement, that is less than about 1 mm, the gap not being predetermined or fixed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3, 10, 11, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application No. 2019/0237344 to Lee et al in view of United States Patent No. 6666924 to van Bilsen.
The teachings of Lee are relied upon as set forth in the above 102 rejection of Claim 1.
In regard to Claims 2 and 10 and 16, Lee does not expressly teach the quartz disk and the quartz ring are fabricated from a quartz material having an OH content of less than about 30 ppm.
Van Bilsen teaches a quartz material for a reaction chamber, wherein the quartz material has an OH content of 10 ppm (as shown in Fig. 2, and Fig. 3; Col. 4 line 19-Col. 6 line 54).
It has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2144.07. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). Therefore, because it is known to make the quartz material analogous to that of Lee out of quartz that has an OH content of 10 ppm, as taught by van Bilsen, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to do so. The resulting apparatus would fulfill the limitations of Claim 2.
In regard to Claims 3 and 11 and 17, Lee does not expressly teach the quartz material has a transmission rate greater than about 90%.
Van Bilsen teaches a quartz material for a reaction chamber, wherein the quartz material has an OH content of 10 ppm (as shown in Fig. 2, and Fig. 3; Col. 4 line 19-Col. 6 line 54). Van Bilsen further teaches that the OH content is directly related to the absorption of the energy, such that the transmission of energy increases as the OH concentration decreases, as shown in Fig. 3, where the energy absorbed is less than 10% (or transmission is greater than about 90%, as shown in Fig. 3, Col. 5 line 30-Col. 6 line 33).
It has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2144.07. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). Therefore, because it is known to make the quartz material analogous to that of Lee out of quartz that has an OH content of 10 ppm, as taught by van Bilsen, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to do so.
Furthermore, as van Bilsen teaches the OH ppm levels is directed related to the transmission of light (the opposite of the energy absorbed), it is considered that the transmission rate is a result effective variable dependent on the OH concentration at the ppm level and both the ppm and transmission rate can be modified to tailor the quartz to absorb or transmit certain wavelengths or energies (Col. 6 lines 27-33).
It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. As the teachings of van Bilsen expressly teach the ranges as taught are result effective variables for controlling the amount of energy/wavelengths absorbed or transmitted, such that the optimization is known within prior art conditions or through routine experimentation, with an articulated rationale supporting the rejection, changing the ranges is considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date.
See MPEP 2144.05 II. A, B. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969); Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Lab. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997); Smith v. Nichols, 88 U.S. 112, 118-19 (1874); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929); KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application No. 2019/0237344 to Lee et al in view of United States Patent Application No. 2017/0275777 to Collins et al and United States Patent Application No. 2015/0368829 to Ngo et al.
The teachings of Lee are relied upon as set forth in the above 102 rejection of Claim 1.
In regard to Claim 4, Lee does not expressly teach the quartz disk is fabricated from a quartz material transmissive to light and the quartz ring is fabricated from an opaque quartz material.
Collins teaches a disk and ring assembly Fig. 1, 3A, comprising: a quartz disk 172 having an outer diameter; a plurality of holes or slots 201 formed in the quartz disk; and a quartz ring 302 having an inner diameter 304 less than the outer diameter 306 of the quartz disk (quartz material disclosed in [0024; 0039]) [0023-0045].
Collins teaches the quartz disk is fabricated from a quartz material transmissive to light [0024].
It has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2144.07. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). Therefore, because it is known to make a quartz disk analogous to that of Lee out of transparent quartz, as taught by Collins, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to do so.
Lee in view of Collins does not expressly teach the quartz ring is fabricated from an opaque quartz material.
Ngo teaches a preheat ring 167 Fig. 1 on a liner 163, wherein the liner and the preheat ring/shield 16 is made out of opaque quartz [0032].
It has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2144.07. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). Therefore, because it is known to make a quartz ring analogous to that of Lee out of opaque quartz, as taught by Ngo, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to do so.
The resulting apparatus fulfills the limitations of the claim.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application No. 2019/0237344 to Lee et al in view of United States Patent Application No. 2022/0205134 to Hu et al.
The teachings of Lee are relied upon as set forth in the above 102 rejection of Claim 1.
In regard to Claim 7, Lee teaches the quart disk is formed of a plurality of pieces (as 30 is formed of quartz and 32 is also formed of quartz [0047]) but does not expressly teach the quartz ring is also formed of a plurality of pieces.
Hu teaches a preheat ring 118 Fig. 5, 6 which has a plurality of pieces (body of 146 and portions 148 that are used to alleviate non-uniformities in the substrate 114 during processing [0035; 0020-0044].
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified the apparatus of Lee by making the quart ring formed of a plurality of pieces, as per the teachings of Hu. One would be motivated to do so for the predictable result of alleviating non-uniformities in the substrate during processing. See MPEP 2143 Motivation A. The resulting apparatus fulfills the limitations of the claim.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application No. 2019/0237344 to Lee et al in view of United States Patent Application No. 2015/0050819 to Behdjat et al.
The teachings of Lee are relied upon as set forth in the above 102 rejection of Claim 8.
In regard to Claim 12, Lee teaches the disk is fabricated from a quartz material but does not expressly teach and the ring is fabricated from an opaque quartz material.
Behdjat teaches a ring 200 in a semiconductor processing apparatus Fig. 1, 2A-C, is made out of opaque quartz to block out radiation from external sources and has a high thermal resistivity and scatter light [0032; 0020-0042].
It has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2144.07. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). Therefore, because it is known to make the ring of Lee, which blocks radiation, out of opaque quartz as taught by Behdjat, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to do so. The resulting apparatus would fulfill the limitations of Claim 12.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TIFFANY Z NUCKOLS/Examiner, Art Unit 1716
/Jeffrie R Lund/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716