DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 11-14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mimura et al. (US 2009/0115933), (hereinafter, Mimura) in view of CLARK et al. (US 2019/0302959), (hereinafter, CLARK).
RE Claim 1, Mimura discloses a display device includes a display region in which an image with uniform display quality is displayed and a curved line can be displayed in the contour. The display panel includes a shielding member 105 and a plurality of pixels arrayed in a display region, wherein the shielding member 105 includes a shielding curved portion having a curved planar shape, and the shielding curved portion shields the plurality of pixels to form a curved contour of the display region. Examiner considers any region that doesn’t contribute to displaying images, hence transmitting light will be considered a non-display area, while any pixel or subpixel that fully contribute to light emission in the display is a display region/area. Mimura discloses a display panel comprising:
a display area 109 having at least a portion shaped into a curved line, referring to FIG. 1,
a non-display area adjacent to the display area;
a first pixel 110 included in the display area 109;
a second pixel 112 disposed at a position corresponding to the curved line of the display area, referring to FIG. 1, the second pixel including a plurality of sub-pixels,
a light shielding member 105 disposed to be overlapped with the second pixel 112, and disposed to correspond to the position of the second pixel 112, referring to FIGS. 1B and 1C; and
Mimura does not disclose a display device includes the first pixel including a plurality of sub-pixels; the second pixel including a plurality of sub-pixels; and a touch wiring surrounding each sub-pixel or wherein a material of the light shielding member is the same as a material of the touch wiring.
However, in the same field of endeavor, CLARK discloses an OLED display device includes a display panel including a plurality of sub-pixels; a shield electrode that is made of a first conductive and opaque material, is located directly on the display panel, overlaps a portion of the display panel in between a portion of the plurality of sub-pixels, and is connected to a touch sensor controller; an insulating layer that covers the shield electrode; a touch sensor electrode that is made of a second conductive and opaque material, is located on the insulating layer, overlaps a portion of the display panel in between some of the plurality of sub-pixels, and overlaps the shield electrode; and a feedline is connected to the touch sensor electrode, overlaps a portion of the display panel in between a portion of the plurality of sub-pixels that is not overlapped by the touch sensor electrode, and routes the touch sensor electrode to the touch sensor controller. Examiner notes that the OLED display comprises plurality of pixels and each pixel comprises a plurality of sub-pixels, referring to FIG. 1, hence meeting the claimed limitations of the display comprises a first pixel including a plurality of sub-pixels; a second pixel including a plurality of sub-pixels; and wherein a touch wiring 740 surrounding each sub-pixel “RGB”, referring to FIG. 7A-7B; noting that the presence of a shield electrode 730 in the touch electrode 740 region [0048 and 0060], wherein the touch electrode and shield electrode are made of the same material conductive and opaque material [0048]. Since one of the materials options of making the touch electrode and shield electrode is a stacked layers of Ti/Al/Ti, Ti, copper, nickel , silver or gold [0048], hence meeting the claimed limitation .
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application includes the first pixel of Mimura including a plurality of sub-pixels of CLARK; the second pixel Mimura including a plurality of sub-pixels CLARK; wherein a touch wiring surrounding each sub-pixel in a similar configuration as CLARK’s disclosure in order to achieve a touch sensor while reducing the size of a bezel area of Mimura’s display as well as minimizing light leaks unto the sub-pixel areas, as taught by CLARK.
RE Claim 2, Mimura discloses a display panel, wherein:
a first portion of the second pixel is included in the display area, referring FIG. 1;
a second portion of the second pixel is included in the non-display area, referring FIG. 1;
an area of the first portion and an area of the second portion depend on the position of the second pixel. The aforementioned limitation is met, since the portions of the pixel 112 in the non-display area varies according its disposition at the curved surface area of the display panel, referring to FIG. 1C; and
a size of the light shielding member 105 is associated with the area of the second portion, referring to FIG. 1C.
RE Claim 3, Mimura discloses a display panel, wherein:
the second pixel 112 comprises a light emission region; and
the light shielding member 105 is disposed on at least a portion of the light emission region, referring to FIG. 1C.
RE Claim 4, Mimura discloses a display panel, wherein a ratio of an area of the light shielding member to an area of the light emission region corresponds to a ratio of the area of the second portion to an area of the second pixel. Examiner notes that the limitation is met, since the light shielding member coverage area of the second emitting pixel 112 depends on its disposition at the curved surface of the display panel, a ratio of an area of the light shielding member to an area of the light emission region corresponds to a ratio of the area of the second portion to an area of the second pixel is met.
RE Claim 6, Mimura discloses a display panel, wherein the display area has a shape corresponding to an oval “elliptical” shape or a circular shape, referring to FIG. 1 [0058, 0059 and 0063].
RE Claim 11, Mimura discloses a display device includes a display region in which an image with uniform display quality is displayed and a curved line can be displayed in the contour. The display panel includes a shielding member 105 and a plurality of pixels arrayed in a display region, wherein the shielding member 105 includes a shielding curved portion having a curved planar shape, and the shielding curved portion shields the plurality of pixels to form a curved contour of the display region. Examiner considers any region that doesn’t contribute to displaying images, hence transmitting light will be considered a non-display area, while any pixel or subpixel that fully contribute to light emission in the display is a display region/area. Mimura discloses a display panel comprising:
a display area 109 having at least a portion shaped into a curved line, referring to FIG. 1,
a non-display area adjacent to the display area;
a first pixel 110 included in the display area 109;
a second pixel 112 disposed at a position corresponding to the curved line of the display area, referring to FIG. 1, the second pixel including a plurality of sub-pixels,
a light shielding member 105 disposed to be overlapped with the second pixel 112, and disposed to correspond to the position of the second pixel 112, referring to FIGS. 1B and 1C; and
Mimura does not disclose a display device includes the first pixel including a plurality of sub-pixels; the second pixel including a plurality of sub-pixels; and a touch wiring surrounding each sub-pixel or wherein a material of the light shielding member is the same as a material of the touch wiring.
However, in the same field of endeavor, CLARK discloses an OLED display device includes a display panel including a plurality of sub-pixels; a shield electrode that is made of a first conductive and opaque material, is located directly on the display panel, overlaps a portion of the display panel in between a portion of the plurality of sub-pixels, and is connected to a touch sensor controller; an insulating layer that covers the shield electrode; a touch sensor electrode that is made of a second conductive and opaque material, is located on the insulating layer, overlaps a portion of the display panel in between some of the plurality of sub-pixels, and overlaps the shield electrode; and a feedline is connected to the touch sensor electrode, overlaps a portion of the display panel in between a portion of the plurality of sub-pixels that is not overlapped by the touch sensor electrode, and routes the touch sensor electrode to the touch sensor controller. Examiner notes that the OLED display comprises plurality of pixels and each pixel comprises a plurality of sub-pixels, referring to FIG. 1, hence meeting the claimed limitations of the display comprises a first pixel including a plurality of sub-pixels; a second pixel including a plurality of sub-pixels; and wherein a touch wiring 740 surrounding each sub-pixel “RGB”, referring to FIG. 7A-7B; noting that the presence of a shield electrode 730 in the touch electrode 740 region [0048 and 0060], wherein the touch electrode and shield electrode are made of the same material conductive and opaque material [0048]. Since one of the materials options of making the touch electrode and shield electrode is a stacked layers of Ti/Al/Ti, Ti, copper, nickel , silver or gold [0048], hence meeting the claimed limitation .
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application includes the first pixel of Mimura including a plurality of sub-pixels of CLARK; the second pixel Mimura including a plurality of sub-pixels CLARK; wherein a touch wiring surrounding each sub-pixel in a similar configuration as CLARK’s disclosure in order to achieve a touch sensor while reducing the size of a bezel area of Mimura’s display as well as minimizing light leaks unto the sub-pixel areas, as taught by CLARK.
RE Claim 12, Mimura discloses a display panel, wherein:
a first portion of the second pixel is included in the display area, referring FIG. 1;
a second portion of the second pixel is included in the non-display area, referring FIG. 1;
an area of the first portion and an area of the second portion depend on the position of the second pixel. The aforementioned limitation is met, since the portions of the pixel 112 in the non-display area varies according its disposition at the curved surface area of the display panel, referring to FIG. 1C; and
a size of the light shielding member 105 is associated with the area of the second portion, referring to FIG. 1C.
RE Claim 13, Mimura discloses a display panel, wherein:
the second pixel 112 comprises a light emission region; and
the light shielding member 105 is disposed on at least a portion of the light emission region, referring to FIG. 1C.
RE Claim 14, Mimura discloses a display panel, wherein a ratio of an area of the light shielding member to an area of the light emission region corresponds to a ratio of the area of the second portion to an area of the second pixel. Examiner notes that the limitation is met, since the light shielding member coverage area of the second emitting pixel 112 depends on its disposition at the curved surface of the display panel, a ratio of an area of the light shielding member to an area of the light emission region corresponds to a ratio of the area of the second portion to an area of the second pixel is met.
RE Claim 16, Mimura discloses a display panel, wherein the display area has a shape corresponding to an oval “elliptical” shape or a circular shape, referring to FIG. 1 [0058, 0059 and 0063].
RE Claim 5 and 15, Mimura does not disclose a display panel, wherein the light shielding member has a shape corresponding to a shape of the second pixel, a quadrangular shape, or a shape of a periphery of the second pixel.
However, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the instant application to have the light shielding member has a shape corresponding to a shape of the second pixel, a quadrangular shape, or a shape of a periphery of the second pixel, absent unexpected results, since the court has held the choice of shape of device was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant, In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-10 and 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. In the instant case, Huang et al. (US 2021/0191548) disclose a display panel and a display device. The display panel includes: a base substrate; and a touch function layer on the base substrate, wherein the display panel includes a plurality of light transmitting regions and a plurality of pixel cell regions, a plurality of traces are connected between adjacent pixel cell regions, and there are slits between adjacent traces, and wherein an orthographic projection of the touch function layer on the base substrate covers an orthographic projection of the slits on the base substrate.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YASSER A ABDELAZIEZ, PhD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898