DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection relies on a reference on the IDS filed 12/9/25 for teaching matters specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0271273 (Asai) in view of WO Publication No. 2011-052672 (Miki), cited by Applicant.
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
Asai discloses (Figs. 1, 7)
1. (Currently Amended) A semiconductor device, comprising:
a substrate 4 having a mounting area 3 on a front surface (top) thereof;
a semiconductor chip 1 disposed in the mounting area 3;
an exterior member 6 having a bottom surface bonded to the front surface (top) of the substrate 4, the exterior member 6 continuously surrounding the mounting area 3 in a loop shape in a plan view (Fig. 1) to thereby enclose a housing space (interior), the mounting area 3 being in the housing space (interior); and
a sealing material 5 sealing the housing space (interior),
wherein the exterior member 6 has an inner surface (unlabeled) that surrounds the housing space (interior).
Asai fails to disclose
the inner surface of the exterior member being inclined at an obtuse angle with respect to the front surface of the substrate.
Miki teaches (Fig. 2C)
A semiconductor device comprising:
wherein the exterior member 201 has an inner surface 201a that surrounds the housing space S, the inner surface 201a of the exterior member 201 being inclined at an obtuse angle with respect to the front surface of the substrate 102.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an inclined exterior member in Asai. The motivation would be to prevent light from leaking out from the bottom side to improve light extracting efficiency in its upper side as taught by Tsai (Effect).
Asai discloses
4. (Currently Amended) The semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the top surface of the exterior member 6 is sealed by the sealing material 5 sealing the housing space (interior).
Asai discloses
6. (Currently Amended) The semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the exterior member 6 has a top surface opposite to the bottom surface, the top surface being higher, in a depth direction, than a front surface of the sealing material 5 sealing the housing space (interior).
Asai discloses
7. The semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the bottom surface of the exterior member 6 is bonded to the front surface of the substrate 4 at an outer periphery thereof, so that the exterior member 6 projects outward from the outer periphery (Fig. 7).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0138997 (Tasaki), 2011/0108871 (Chen), 2007/ 0194341 (Chang) teach a semiconductor device mounted on a metal substrate sealed in a package having inclined sidewalls.
Applicant's submission of an information disclosure statement under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) on 12/9/25 prompted the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609.04(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TERESA M. ARROYO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893