DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 9, 12-16, 18-19 and 21-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. Claims are enabled for treatment but not prevention of tremors and seizures. However, claims are not enabled for treatment or prevention of any other condition. Since there is a large number of diseases and conditions that fall within the scope of disease or condition relating to aberrant function or activity of T-type calcium channel, this rejection will focus on treatment and prevention of autism.
There are many factors to be considered when determining whether there is sufficient evidence to support a determination that a disclosure does not satisfy the enablement requirement and whether any necessary experimentation is "undue." These factors include, but are not limited to: (a) the nature of the invention; (b) the breadth of the claims; (c) the state of the prior art; (d) the amount of direction provided by the inventor; (e) the existence of working examples; (f) the relative skill of those in the art; (g) whether the quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure is "undue"; and (h) the level of predictability in the art (MPEP 2164.01 (a)).
Nature of the invention and Breadth of the claims:
Claims are directed to a method of treating a disease or condition relating to aberrant function or activity of T-type calcium channel in a subject in need. The breadth of diseases includes treatment of diseases for which no known treatment currently exists. For example, autism is linked to malfunction of T-type calcium channel.
Claims also encompass prophylactic administration, which is prevention of diseases or conditions. Paragraph [00061] of the specification defines treatment to include prophylactic administration before subject begins to suffer from a disease.
State of the prior art and level of predictability in the art:
Art does not recognize therapeutic intervention that results in treatment or prevention of autism. Current treatment options for subjects with autism involve applied behavior analysis, speech and language therapy, occupational and physical therapy.
Amount of direction provided by the inventor and existence of working examples: The Examples set forth in the instant demonstrate activity of the claimed compound in adults with generalized epileptic syndromes with absence seizures (Example 9) and essential tremor (Example 9). There are no prophylactic examples or any examples directed to treatment of subjects with autism.
Although, the specification need not contain an example if the invention is otherwise disclosed in such manner that one skilled in the art will be able to practice it without an undue amount of experimentation. In re Borkowski, 422 F.2d 904, 908, 164 USPQ 642, 645 (CCPA 1970), lack of a working example is a factor to be considered, especially in a case involving an unpredictable and undeveloped art.
Relative skill of those in the art and quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention:
Although the relative level of skill in the art is high, one of ordinary skill would not be able to treat or prevent autism according to the claimed method without engaging in undue experimentation.
Thus, given these considerations, one of ordinary skill in the art clearly would not be able to practice the claimed method such that it can be used as contemplated in the specification without first engaging in substantial and undue experimentation. Therefore, the claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §112, first paragraph, as lacking and enabling disclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 9, 12-16, 18-19, 21-25 and 30-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reddy et al (WO 2018/118101; published 6/28/18).
Scope of prior art
Reddy teaches T-type calcium channel modulator Z944, which is the currently claimed compound of formula I (page 3, par 2). The teaching also includes pharmaceutically acceptable salts including HCl salt (page 16, line 1). Reddy teaches treatment of diseases and disorders via modulation of T-type calcium channel (page 6, last paragraph). The list of disorders includes epilepsy and tremors (page 32, line 7).
Reddy teaches dose increase based on EEG recording and/or blood analysis (page 4, lines 1-6) and provides an example where the agent is administered daily for a week at 20mg/day, then daily for a week at a higher amount (25–50mg), then daily for a week at yet a higher dose (45-70mg) (page 4, lines 7-12).
Regarding formulations Reddy teaches quick sustained or delayed formulations (p44, last paragraph).
Ascertaining the difference
Reddy teaches repeated dose escalations in the range of 20-70mg/day. However, Reddy does not teach the pharmacokinetic parameters such as AUC and Cmax associated with each dose. Nor does Reddy teach maximum titrated dose.
Reddy broadly teaches dose escalation and specifically teaches 3 different daily doses administered 1 week apart. However, Reddy does not recite up to 5 dose escalations or escalation after administration of a specific dose for 3 days.
Obviousness
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the earliest effective filing date of the current application would have found it obvious to determine through routine experimentation the optimal administration schedule of Z944 to a subject in need of treatment for epilepsy or tremors. Determining pharmacokinetic parameters such AUC and Cmax is routine and necessary in the art of pharmacology in order to obtain a safe and effective treatment regimen. It would have been obvious for a skilled artisan to determine the duration for administration of each successive dose and to determine the optimal number of dose escalations required to achieve the desired treatment outcome. While art teaches a week of administration for each dose, the broader teaching is not limited to a specific time period and experimenting with shorter and longer periods with the goal of optimizing treatment safety and efficacy would have been obvious to a skilled artisan.
Regarding maximum titrated dose. Maximum titrated dose represents the maximum safe dose administered to a subject. It would have been obvious to escalate dose amounts until the maximum safe dose is reached.
Claim(s) 26-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reddy as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Majumder et al (Journal of Pharmacy and pharmacology, 2016, 4, 381-385).
Reddy does not teach HPMC as a polymer in extended-release formulation
Majumder teaches benefits of using HPMC in controlled release dosage form. (page 382, section 3).
Obviousness
Reddy teaches that various drug release systems can be utilized including extended, or controlled release (p44, last paragraph) and those systems are known to those skilled in the art. Majumder teaches benefits of using HPMC for controlled release formulations. It would have been obvious for a skilled artisan to use HPMC as a carrier polymer for an extended-release formulation comprising Z944. Majumder lists consumer acceptance and versatility as benefits of using HPMC thereby providing motivation to include it in a controlled release formulation.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 9, 12-16, 18-19, 21-31 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 47-57 (amended claim set 9/23/25) of copending Application No. 18/864,098 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims of the ‘098 application are directed to a method of treating essential tremor comprising the currently claimed administration schedule including dose escalation following a predefined period.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 9, 12-16, 18-19, 21-31 are pending
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 9, 12-16, 18-19, 21-31 are rejected
/YEVGENY VALENROD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1628