DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to applicant’s response to the election of species requirement received on December 30, 2025. The election of species requirement is withdrawn. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (US 2023/0102974 A1).
Regarding a device of claim 1, Kang et al. teaches light emitting devices with first and second emission layers where each of the emission layers contains a mixture of a hole transporting host, an electron transporting host, and a phosphorescent dopant (see abstract). Materials for the hole transporting hosts (HH) are according to formulas 311-1 to 311-6 and electron transporting hosts (EH) are according to formulas 312-1 to 312-4 and 313 (see par. 68-93), which are the same compound formulas recited in instant dependent claim 6 for hole transporting hosts and electron transporting hosts, respectively. As taught materials are the same as claimed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have selected hole transport host and electron transport host for each host of the first and second layers wherein resulting layers comprised of materials expressly taught by Kang et al. are composed the same as claimed layers. While Kang et al. does not explicitly state the electron mobility and hole mobility property values of the host materials (per instant claims 1, 2, 4, and 5 property limitations), these properties are considered inherent to the materials themselves and are expected to meet the claim limitations as they meet all structural requirements of the claims. Recitation of a newly disclosed property does not distinguish over a reference disclosure of the article or composition claims. General Electric v. Jewe Incandescent Lamp Co., 67 USPQ 155. Titanium Metal Corp. v. Banner, 227 USPQ 772. Per MPEP 2112.01, “ ‘Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.’ In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present.”
Regarding claim 3, the two hole transporting hosts may be selected among formulas 311-1 to 311-6 as different compounds and the two electron transporting host may be selected among formulas 312-1 to 312-4 and 313 as different compounds (see par. 68-93).
Regarding claim 7, as stated above, materials for the hole transporting hosts (HH) are formulas 311-1 to 311-6 (see par. 68-93), which are the same compound formulas recited in instant dependent claim 6 for hole transporting hosts. Specific compounds of at least formula 311-2 encompass instant compounds HH-1 (selecting phenyl as R301and X301 as N-R304 with R304 as phenyl; par. 68, 72, 86) and HH-19 of claim 7:
Instant HH-1: Instant HH-19:
.
Regarding claim 8, example electron transporting hosts include at least below compound 2-1, which is identical to instant compound EH-1 of instant claim 8, and below compound 2-6, which is identical to instant compound EH-4 of instant claim 8, below compound 2-11 is identical to instant compound EH-12 of claim 8, below compound 2-13 is identical to compound EH-10 of instant claim 8, below compound 2-4 is identical to compound EH-13 of claim 8, below 2-3 is identical to instant compound EH-3 (see par. 97):
.
Regarding claim 9, Kang et al. refers to phosphorescent dopants of the two emission layers as G1 and G2 (see par. 12-13). Par. 98 teaches the dopants G1 and G2 may be identical or different from one another.
Regarding claim 10, Kang et al. teaches the dopants may have a maximum wavelength in a range of 490 nm to about 560 nm (see par. 99). Regarding claims 11 and 12, the properties for phosphorescent dopants are taught (see par. 101-103). Regarding claim 13, Formulas 411 and 412 are taught, which encompass identical compound formulas of claim 13 (see par. 104-123). Regarding claim 14, identical compounds to instant compounds are disclosed (see par. 124). Regarding claim 15, green light may be obtained from a device (see par. 273), which is the recited wavelength range (and see also par. 99 about selection of dopants in this emitting range). Regarding claim 16, the functional layers for a device structure are taught (see par. 133-256). Regarding claim 17, a device structure may include a first emission layer may be adjacent a hole transport region (see par. 137-139, 141-167) and the second emission layer is immediately upon the first emission layer (see par. 8-13). Regarding claim 18, the device may have a multiple layered emission layer stacked structure (see par. 189). Regarding claim 19, the device may be part of an apparatus (see par. 2, 125). Regarding claim 20, a device may have a thin-film transistor with connections to a source or drain electrode (see par. 126-128).
Given the teachings of Kang et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected materials for forming layers of an organic light emitting device structure as described above wherein the resultant materials and layers would also meet the limitations of the instant claims. One would expect to achieve a functional device within the disclosure of Kang et al. with a predictable result and a reasonable expectation of success.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-14, 19, and 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5, 6, 12-18, and 20 of co-pending Application No. 17/645,942 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because while ‘942 does not explicitly contain words stating the hole mobility properties and electron mobility properties of host materials, ‘942 also recites in claim 1 a device with a first emission layer and a second emission layer each comprised of a combination of electron transporting host and hole transporting host and recited formulas 311-1 to 311-6 and 312-1 to 312-4 and 313 are identical to host formulas recited in the instant claims. Because the exact same compounds are recited for the layers, ‘942 is considered to inherently encompass layers having properties as instantly claimed. Accordingly, ‘942 recited layers contain materials encompassing properties of instant claims 1, 2, 4 and 5. Regarding claim 3, hosts different from one another are among recited host materials of ‘942. Regarding claim 6, ‘942 current claim 1 recites the same formulas as instant claim 6. Regarding claim 7, compounds are within ‘942 recited hole transport host formulas of current claim 1. Regarding claim 8, compounds are within ‘942 recited electron transport host formulas of current claim 1. Regarding claim 9, the ‘942 claim 12 limitations meet the claim requirement. Regarding claims 10-14, ‘942 claims 13-17 recite the limitations and same formulas 411 and 412 and compounds G-1 to G-12. Regarding claim 19, ‘942 claim 18 recites the limitation. Regarding claim 20, ‘942 claim 20 recites the limitation.
Therefore, given the overlap between the present claims and the co-pending claims, it would have been within the skill level of, as well as obvious to, one of ordinary skill in the art to select compounds for a device which are both disclosed by co-pending application no. 17/645,942 and encompassed by the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the present invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Kondakova, Marina E., et al. "High-efficiency, low-voltage phosphorescent organic light-emitting diode devices with mixed host." Journal of Applied Physics 104.9 (2008).
The reference discusses selecting mixed host materials based upon properties for use with phosphorescent emitters in a light emitting layer of an organic light emitting device. The reference is considered relevant to the state of the art.
US 2014/0042469 A1
The reference discusses light emitting devices with mixed host light emitting layers, but the reference does not appear specifically to discuss selecting the host materials based on the relationships of the hole transport mobility to electron transport mobility among materials of the host mixtures. The reference is considered relevant to the state of the art.
/DAWN L GARRETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786