Detailed Action
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed January 26th, 2026 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2, 6-10 and 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-10, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai (US 2020/0292881) in view of Kim (US 2022/0146882), further in view of Yoshikawa (US 2020/0301207).
Regarding claim 1, Tsai discloses a composite optical film (Figs. 3-4, element 10), comprising;
a first substrate (upper 51 of Fig. 3), wherein a first plurality of multi-faceted recesses are formed on a top surface of the first substrate (upper 52a of Fig. 3, [0059], “recesses 52a in inverted pyramid shapes”), wherein the first plurality of multi-faceted recesses are capable of scattering lights that enter into a bottom surface of the substrate ([0058], “light diffusers 43 having surfaces with pyramid shapes”, examiner interprets light diffusing to be light scattering);
a second substrate (lower 51 of Fig. 3), wherein a second plurality of multi-faceted recesses are formed on a top surface of the second substrate (lower 52a of Fig. 3), wherein the second plurality of multi-faceted recesses are capable of scattering lights that enter into a bottom surface of the second substrate ([0058], “light diffusers 43 having surfaces with pyramid shapes”).
Tsai does not specifically disclose a first adhesive layer, disposed between the first substrate and the second substrate, wherein the first substrate and the second substrate are attached to each other by the first adhesive layer.
However Kim, in the same field of endeavor because both teach an optical film, teaches a first layer (Figs. 2-3 and 9, element 240), disposed between the first substrate (221) and the second substrate (211), wherein the first substrate and the second substrate are attached to each other by the first adhesive layer ([0043], “the first prism sheet 210 and the second prism sheet 220 may be bonded to each other by the adhesive layer 240”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the composite optical film of Tsai with the first adhesive layer, disposed between the first substrate and the second substrate, wherein the first substrate and the second substrate are attached to each other by the first adhesive layer as taught by Kim, for the purpose of improving luminance and slimness of the optical film ([0008-0009]).
Modified Tsai does not specifically disclose a quantum-dot film, comprises a quantum-dot layer, a first barrier layer, and a second barrier layer, wherein the quantum-dot layer is disposed between the first barrier layer and the second barrier layer; and a second adhesive laver, disposed between the second substrate and the first barrier layer, wherein the second substrate and the first barrier are attached to each other by the second adhesive layer.
However Yoshikawa, in the same field of endeavor because both teach an optical film, teaches a quantum-dot film (Fig. 5, element 10, [0034], “the wavelength conversion material may be quantum dots”), comprises a quantum-dot layer ([0037], “wavelength conversion layer 10”), a first barrier layer (22, [0037], “second barrier layer 22”), and a second barrier layer (21, [0037], “first barrier layer 21”), wherein the quantum-dot layer is disposed between the first barrier layer and the second barrier layer (as shown in Fig. 5, film 10 is between layers 21 and 22); and a second adhesive laver ([0040], “constituent elements of the optical member may be laminated via any appropriate adhesion layer”), disposed between the second substrate and the first barrier layer ([0039], “constituent elements of the optical member (e.g., the wavelength conversion layer, the pressure-sensitive adhesive layer, the barrier layer … the first and second prism sheets”), wherein the second substrate and the first barrier are attached to each other by the second adhesive layer (as disclosed in [0040], constituent elements are adhered together and since the second substrate 61 and first barrier layer 22 are adjacent to one another, they are adhered together).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the composite optical film of Tsai in view of Kim with the quantum-dot film, comprises a quantum-dot layer, a first barrier layer, and a second barrier layer, wherein the quantum-dot layer is disposed between the first barrier layer and the second barrier layer; and a second adhesive laver, disposed between the second substrate and the first barrier layer, wherein the second substrate and the first barrier are attached to each other by the second adhesive layer as taught by Yoshikawa, for the purpose of producing a stable optical member ([0017]).
Regarding claim 2, modified Tsai teaches as is set forth in claim 1 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein a first material comprising a photocurable resin is coated on the top surface of the first substrate, wherein the first plurality of multi-faceted recesses are formed in the photocurable resin.
However Kim, in the same field of endeavor because both teach an optical film, teaches wherein a first material comprising a photocurable resin ([0058], “the second prism pattern layer 222 may be made of ultraviolet (UV) resin”) is coated on the top surface of the first substrate (as shown in Fig. 2, 222 is coated on top of 221), wherein the first plurality of multi-faceted recesses are formed in the photocurable resin ([0058], “the second prism pattern layer 222 may be made of ultraviolet (UV) resin”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the composite optical film of Tsai in view of Kim further in view of Yoshikawa with the wherein a first material comprising a photocurable resin is coated on the top surface of the first substrate, wherein the first plurality of multi-faceted recesses are formed in the photocurable resin as taught by Kim, for the purpose of improving luminance and slimness of the optical film ([0008-0009]).
Regarding claim 6, modified Tsai teaches as is set forth in claim 1 rejection above and Tsai further discloses wherein each of the first plurality of multi-faceted recesses (upper 52a) has a shape of a reversed pyramid ([0059], “recesses 52a in inverted pyramid shapes”), wherein each of the second plurality of multi-faceted recesses (lower 52a) has a shape of a reversed pyramid ([0059], “recesses 52a in inverted pyramid shapes”).
Regarding claim 7, modified Tsai teaches as is set forth in claim 1 rejection above and Tsai further discloses wherein multiple multi-faceted recesses of the first plurality of multi-faceted recesses (52a) are distributed side by side along the length of the first substrate (as shown in Fig. 4, each of 52a are side by side), wherein there is no gap between two adjacent multi- faceted recesses along the length of the first substrate (as shown in Fig. 4, there is no gap between adjacent recesses).
Regarding claim 8, modified Tsai teaches as is set forth in claim 1 rejection above and Tsai further discloses wherein multiple multi-faceted recesses of the first plurality of multi-faceted recesses (52a) are distributed side by side along the width of the first substrate ([0059], “inverted pyramid shapes, for example, are arranged two-dimensionally”), wherein there is no gap between two adjacent multi- faceted recesses along the width of the first substrate (as shown in Fig. 4 and [0059], since the recesses are arranged two-dimensionally, there would be no gaps along the width direction).
Regarding claim 9, modified Tsai teaches as is set forth in claim 1 rejection above and Tsai further discloses wherein multiple multi-faceted recesses of the first plurality of multi-faceted recesses (52a) are distributed side by side along the entire length of the first substrate (as shown in Fig. 4, each of 52a are side by side), wherein there is no gap between two adjacent multi- faceted recesses along the length of the first substrate (as shown in Fig. 4, there is no gap between adjacent recesses).
Regarding claim 10, modified Tsai teaches as is set forth in claim 1 rejection above and Tsai further discloses wherein multiple multi-faceted recesses of the first plurality of multi-faceted recesses (52a) are distributed side by side along the entire width of the first substrate ([0059], “inverted pyramid shapes, for example, are arranged two-dimensionally”), wherein there is no gap between two adjacent multi- faceted recesses along the width of the first substrate (as shown in Fig. 4 and [0059], since the recesses are arranged two-dimensionally, there would be no gaps along the width direction).
Regarding claim 14, Tsai discloses a method to form a composite optical film (Figs. 3-4, element 10), said method comprising:
forming a first optical film (upper 52), wherein the first optical film comprises a first substrate (upper 51), wherein a first plurality of multi-faceted recesses are formed on a top surface of the first substrate (52a in upper 52, [0059], “recesses 52a in inverted pyramid shapes”);
forming a second optical film (lower 52), wherein the second optical film comprises a second substrate (lower 51), wherein a second plurality of multi-faceted recesses are formed on a top surface of the second substrate (52a in lower 52).
Tsai does not specifically disclose disposing a first adhesive layer between the first substrate and the second substrate, wherein the first substrate and the second substrate are attached to each other by the first adhesive layer.
However Kim, in the same field of endeavor because both teach an optical film, teaches disposing a first adhesive layer (Figs. 2-3 and 9, element 240) between the first substrate (221) and the second substrate (211), wherein the first substrate and the second substrate are attached to each other by the adhesive layer ([0043], “the first prism sheet 210 and the second prism sheet 220 may be bonded to each other by the first adhesive layer 240”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the composite optical film of Tsai with the disposing a first adhesive layer between the first substrate and the second substrate, wherein the first substrate and the second substrate are attached to each other by the first adhesive layer as taught by Kim, for the purpose of improving luminance and slimness of the optical film ([0008-0009]).
Modified Tsai does not specifically disclose forming a quantum-dot film, wherein the quantum-dot film comprises a quantum-dot layer, a first barrier layer, and a second barrier layer, wherein the quantum-dot layer is disposed between the first barrier layer and the second barrier layer; and disposing a second adhesive layer between the second substrate and the first barrier layer, wherein the second substrate and the first barrier are attached to each other by the second adhesive layer.
However Yoshikawa, in the same field of endeavor because both teach an optical film, teaches forming a quantum-dot film (Fig. 5, element 10, [0034], “the wavelength conversion material may be quantum dots”), wherein the quantum-dot film comprises a quantum-dot layer ([0037], “wavelength conversion layer 10”), a first barrier layer (22, [0037], “second barrier layer 22”), and a second barrier layer (21, [0037], “first barrier layer 21”), wherein the quantum-dot layer is disposed between the first barrier layer and the second barrier layer (as shown in Fig. 5, film 10 is between layers 21 and 22); and disposing a second adhesive layer ([0040], “constituent elements of the optical member may be laminated via any appropriate adhesion layer”) between the second substrate and the first barrier layer ([0039], “constituent elements of the optical member (e.g., the wavelength conversion layer, the pressure-sensitive adhesive layer, the barrier layer … the first and second prism sheets”), wherein the second substrate and the first barrier are attached to each other by the second adhesive layer (as disclosed in [0040], constituent elements are adhered together and since the second substrate 61 and first barrier layer 22 are adjacent to one another, they are adhered together).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the composite optical film of Tsai in view of Kim with the forming a quantum-dot film, wherein the quantum-dot film comprises a quantum-dot layer, a first barrier layer, and a second barrier layer, wherein the quantum-dot layer is disposed between the first barrier layer and the second barrier layer; and disposing a second adhesive layer between the second substrate and the first barrier layer, wherein the second substrate and the first barrier are attached to each other by the second adhesive layer as taught by Yoshikawa, for the purpose of producing a stable optical member ([0017]).
Regarding claim 15, modified Tsai teaches as is set forth in claim 14 rejection above and Tsai further discloses wherein each of the first plurality of multi-faceted recesses (upper 52a) has a shape of a reversed pyramid ([0059], “recesses 52a in inverted pyramid shapes”), wherein each of the second plurality of multi-faceted recesses (lower 52a) has a shape of a reversed pyramid ([0059], “recesses 52a in inverted pyramid shapes”).
Regarding claim 16, Tsai discloses a method to form an optical film (Figs. 3-4, element 10), said method comprising:
providing a first substrate (upper 51 of Fig. 3);
coating a material on a top surface of the first substrate ([0059], “The uneven layer 52 is made of, for example, clear polycarbonate”);
forming a first plurality of multi-faceted recesses (52a), wherein the first plurality of multi-faceted recesses are capable of scattering lights that enter into a bottom surface of the first substrate ([0058], “light diffusers 43 having surfaces with pyramid shapes”, examiner interprets light diffusing to be light scattering);
providing a second substrate (lower 51 of Fig. 3);
coating a material comprising resin on a top surface of the second substrate ([0059], “The uneven layer 52 is made of, for example, clear polycarbonate”);
forming a second plurality of multi-faceted recesses (52a), wherein the second plurality of multi-faceted recesses are capable of scattering lights that enter into a bottom surface of the second substrate ([0058], “light diffusers 43 having surfaces with pyramid shapes”, examiner interprets light diffusing to be light scattering).
Tsai does not specifically disclose coating a material comprising resin, disposing a first adhesive layer between the first substrate and the second substrate, wherein the first substrate and the second substrate are attached to each other by the first adhesive layer.
However Kim, in the same field of endeavor because both teach an optical film, teaches disclose coating a material comprising resin ([0058], “the second prism pattern layer 222 may be made of ultraviolet (UV) resin”), disposing a first adhesive layer (Figs. 2-3 and 9, element 240) between the first substrate (221) and the second substrate (211), wherein the first substrate and the second substrate are attached to each other by the first adhesive layer ([0043], “the first prism sheet 210 and the second prism sheet 220 may be bonded to each other by the adhesive layer 240”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the composite optical film of Tsai with the coating a material comprising resin, disposing a first adhesive layer between the first substrate and the second substrate, wherein the first substrate and the second substrate are attached to each other by the first adhesive layer as taught by Kim, for the purpose of improving luminance and slimness of the optical film ([0008-0009]).
Modified Tsai does not specifically disclose forming a quantum-dot film, wherein the quantum-dot film comprises a quantum-dot layer, a first barrier layer, and a second barrier layer, wherein the quantum-dot layer is disposed between the first barrier layer and the second barrier layer; and disposing a second adhesive layer between the second substrate and the first barrier layer, wherein the second substrate and the first barrier are attached to each other by the second adhesive layer.
However Yoshikawa, in the same field of endeavor because both teach an optical film, teaches forming a quantum-dot film (Fig. 5, element 10, [0034], “the wavelength conversion material may be quantum dots”), wherein the quantum-dot film comprises a quantum-dot layer ([0037], “wavelength conversion layer 10”), a first barrier layer (22, [0037], “second barrier layer 22”), and a second barrier layer (21, [0037], “first barrier layer 21”), wherein the quantum-dot layer is disposed between the first barrier layer and the second barrier layer (as shown in Fig. 5, film 10 is between layers 21 and 22); and disposing a second adhesive layer ([0040], “constituent elements of the optical member may be laminated via any appropriate adhesion layer”) between the second substrate and the first barrier layer ([0039], “constituent elements of the optical member (e.g., the wavelength conversion layer, the pressure-sensitive adhesive layer, the barrier layer … the first and second prism sheets”), wherein the second substrate and the first barrier are attached to each other by the second adhesive layer (as disclosed in [0040], constituent elements are adhered together and since the second substrate 61 and first barrier layer 22 are adjacent to one another, they are adhered together).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the composite optical film of Tsai in view of Kim with the forming a quantum-dot film, wherein the quantum-dot film comprises a quantum-dot layer, a first barrier layer, and a second barrier layer, wherein the quantum-dot layer is disposed between the first barrier layer and the second barrier layer; and disposing a second adhesive layer between the second substrate and the first barrier layer, wherein the second substrate and the first barrier are attached to each other by the second adhesive layer as taught by Yoshikawa, for the purpose of producing a stable optical member ([0017]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai (US 2020/0292881) in view of Kim (US 2022/0146882), further in view of Yoshikawa (US 2020/0301207) and Inoue (US 2012/0080710).
Regarding claim 3, modified Tsai teaches as is set forth in claim 2 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein the photocurable resin of the first material comprises at least one of the following materials: Epoxy, Acrylate, Polyamide, Polyimide, and Polyisoprene.
However Inoue, in the same field of endeavor because both teach an optical film, teaches wherein the photocurable resin of the first material comprises at least one of the following materials: Epoxy, Acrylate, Polyamide, Polyimide, and Polyisoprene ([0102], “More specifically, a ultraviolet curable resin such as acrylate may be used as the transparent resin constituting the material for the concave-convex structure layer”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the optical film of Tsai in view of Kim further in view of Yoshikawa with the wherein the photocurable resin of the first material comprises at least one of the following materials: Epoxy, Acrylate, Polyamide, Polyimide, and Polyisoprene as taught by Inoue, for the purpose of increasing durability and performance ([0102]).
Claims 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai (US 2020/0292881) in view of Kim (US 2022/0146882), further in view of Yoshikawa (US 2020/0301207) and Hsu (US 2008/0123194).
Regarding claim 4, modified Tsai teaches as is set forth in claim 1 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein a first material comprising PMMA (polymethyl methacrylate) is coated on the top surface of the substrate, wherein the first plurality of multi-faceted recesses are formed in the PMMA.
However Hsu, in the same field of endeavor because both teach an optical film, teaches wherein a first material comprising PMMA (polymethyl methacrylate) is coated on the top surface of the substrate ([0024], “layer 21 can be made of one or more transparent matrix resins selected from the group including polyacrylic acid (PAA), polycarbonate (PC), polystyrene (PS), polymethyl methacrylate (PMMA)”), wherein the first plurality of multi-faceted recesses are formed in the PMMA (as shown in Fig. 3, recesses 213 are formed in layer 21).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the optical film of Tsai in view of Kim further in view of Yoshikawa with the wherein a first material comprising PMMA (polymethyl methacrylate) is coated on the top surface of the substrate, wherein the first plurality of multi-faceted recesses are formed in the PMMA as taught by Hsu, for the purpose of increasing a brightness of light passing through ([0026]).
Regarding claim 13, modified Tsai teaches as is set forth in claim 1 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein the bottom surface of the first substrate comprises a microstructure having an uneven appearance to enhance the optical haze.
However Hsu, in the same field of endeavor because both teach an optical film, teaches wherein the bottom surface of the first substrate comprises a microstructure (Fig. 3, 222) having an uneven appearance to enhance the optical haze ([0024], “diffusion particles 222”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the optical film of Tsai in view of Kim further in view of Yoshikawa with the wherein the second surface of the substrate comprises a microstructure having an uneven appearance to enhance the optical haze as taught by Hsu, for the purpose of increasing the light distribution of the optical article ([0025]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai (US 2020/0292881) in view of Kim (US 2022/0146882), further in view of Yoshikawa (US 2020/0301207) and Maeda (US 6,199,989).
Regarding claim 5, modified Tsai teaches as is set forth in claim 1 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein each of the first plurality of multi-faceted recesses is a conical recess, wherein each of the second plurality of multi-faceted recesses is a conical recess.
However Maeda, in the same field of endeavor because both teach an optical film, teaches wherein each of the first plurality of multi-faceted recesses is a conical recess, wherein each of the second plurality of multi-faceted recesses is a conical recess (Figs. 1-5, Col. 3, lines 28-29, “FIGS. 2 and 3 showing a transflective plate and a light guide having conical reflecting layers on the surface thereof”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the optical film of Tsai in view of Kim further in view of Yoshikawa with the wherein each of the first plurality of multi-faceted recesses is a conical recess, wherein each of the second plurality of multi-faceted recesses is a conical recess as taught by Maeda, for the purpose of improving brightness and viewability (Col. 2, lines 9-16).
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai (US 2020/0292881) in view of Kim (US 2022/0146882), further in view of Yoshikawa (US 2020/0301207) and Fukuda (US 2024/0094446).
Regarding claim 11, modified Tsai teaches as is set forth in claim 2 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein a bottom surface of the first substrate is coated with a second material comprising photocurable resin, wherein a second plurality of multi-faceted recesses are formed in the photocurable resin of the second material.
However Fukuda, in the same field of endeavor because both teach an optical film, teaches wherein a bottom surface (Fig. 3, 103) of the first substrate (101) is coated with a second material comprising photocurable resin ([0056], “A matrix resin constituting the light diffusion sheets 43”), wherein a second plurality of multi-faceted recesses are formed in the photocurable resin of the second material (43b).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the optical film of Tsai in view of Kim further in view of Yoshikawa with the wherein a bottom surface of the first substrate is coated with a second material comprising photocurable resin, wherein a second plurality of multi-faceted recesses are formed in the photocurable resin of the second material as taught by Fukuda, for the purpose of increasing luminance uniformity ([0007]).
Regarding claim 12, modified Tsai teaches as is set forth in claim 11 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein the photocurable resin of the second material comprises at least one of the following materials: Epoxy, Acrylate, Polyamide, Polyimide, and Polyisoprene.
However Fukuda, in the same field of endeavor because both teach an optical film, teaches wherein the photocurable resin of the second material comprises at least one of the following materials: Epoxy, Acrylate, Polyamide, Polyimide, and Polyisoprene ([0056], “A matrix resin constituting the light diffusion sheets 43 is not particularly limited, as long as it is a material that transmits light. Examples may include … polyimide”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the optical film of Tsai in view of Kim further in view of Yoshikawa and Fukuda with the wherein the photocurable resin of the second material comprises at least one of the following materials: Epoxy, Acrylate, Polyamide, Polyimide, and Polyisoprene as taught by Fukuda, for the purpose of increasing luminance uniformity ([0007]).
Claims 17-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai (US 2020/0292881) in view of Kim (US 2022/0146882), further in view of Yoshikawa (US 2020/0301207) and Kim2 (US 2008/0278949).
Regarding claim 17, modified Tsai teaches as is set forth in claim 16 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein the step of forming a plurality of multi-faceted recesses in the resin comprises: engraving a plurality of multi-faceted protrusions on a roller; forming a plurality of multi-faceted recesses in the resin by using the plurality of multi-faceted protrusions on the roller.
However Kim2, in the same field of endeavor because both teach an optical film, teaches wherein the step of forming a plurality of multi-faceted recesses in the resin (Figs. 7-8) comprises: engraving a plurality of multi-faceted protrusions on a roller ([0061], “a mold roller 214 including a pattern, which is formed on a surface of the mold roller 214”); forming a plurality of multi-faceted recesses in the resin by using the plurality of multi-faceted protrusions on the roller (as shown in Fig. 7, the recesses are formed in the resin 212).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the method to form an optical film of Tsai in view of Kim further in view of Yoshikawa with the wherein the step of forming a plurality of multi-faceted recesses in the resin comprises: engraving a plurality of multi-faceted protrusions on a roller; forming a plurality of multi-faceted recesses in the resin by using the plurality of multi-faceted protrusions on the roller as taught by Kim2, for the purpose of manufacturing the optical film via roller ([0062-0063]).
Regarding claim 18, modified Tsai teaches as is set forth in claim 17 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein the resin is made of photocurable resin.
However Kim, in the same field of endeavor because both teach an optical film, teaches wherein the resin is made of photocurable resin ([0058], “the second prism pattern layer 222 may be made of ultraviolet (UV) resin”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the composite optical film of Tsai in view of Kim further in view of Yoshikawa and Kim2 with the wherein the resin is made of photocurable resin as taught by Kim, for the purpose of improving luminance and slimness of the optical film ([0008-0009]).
Regarding claim 20, modified Tsai teaches as is set forth in claim 17 rejection above and Tsai further discloses wherein each of the plurality of multi-faceted recesses comprises a shape of a reversed pyramid ([0059], “recesses 52a in inverted pyramid shapes”).
Claims 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai (US 2020/0292881) in view of Kim (US 2022/0146882), further in view of Yoshikawa (US 2020/0301207), Kim2 (US 2008/0278949), and Maeda (US 6,199,989).
Regarding claim 19, modified Tsai teaches as is set forth in claim 17 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein each of the plurality of multi-faceted recesses is a conical recess.
However Maeda, in the same field of endeavor because both teach an optical film, teaches wherein each of the plurality of multi-faceted recesses is a conical recess (Figs. 1-5, Col. 3, lines 28-29, “FIGS. 2 and 3 showing a transflective plate and a light guide having conical reflecting layers on the surface thereof”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the optical film of Tsai in view of Kim further in view of Yoshikawa and Kim2 with the wherein each of the plurality of multi-faceted recesses is a conical recess as taught by Maeda, for the purpose of improving brightness and viewability (Col. 2, lines 9-16).
Conclusion
/MATTHEW Y LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2872 17 February 2026