DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to amendment filed on February 23, 2026 and wherein claims 1, 12 and 19 being currently amended.
In virtue of this communication, claims 1-20 are currently pending in this Office Action.
The Office appreciates the explanation of the amendment and analyses of the prior arts, and however, although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993) and MPEP 2145.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, Pages , filed on , with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, under 35 USC §103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Olvera.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-7, 9-17, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 20220159605 A1, hereinafter Li) in view of Shan et al. (US 20190342851 A1, hereinafter Shan), and in view of Saso et al. (US 20250168635 A1, hereinafter Saso) and further in view of Olvera (US 20250184881 A1, hereinafter Olvera).
Claim 1: Li teaches a device, comprising (abstract):
a processing system including a processor (Fig.1G, elements 91, 81, Fig.1B, element 118);
and a memory (Fig.1G, elements 82, 93, Fig.1B, elements 130,132) that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the processing system, facilitate performance of operations, the operations comprising ([0557], “may be logical entities that may be implemented in the form of software (i.e., computer-executable instructions) stored in a memory of, and executing on a processor of, an apparatus configured for wireless and/or network communications or a computer system such as those illustrated in FIG. 1B or FIG. 1G. That is, the method(s) illustrated in FIGS. 8-10 may be implemented in the form of software (i.e., computer-executable instructions) stored in a memory of an apparatus”):
storing service information associated with each of the group of providers resulting in stored service information ([301], “The mapping information may be managed and stored at the NCMF. The NCMF may be co-located with a NSSF or NRF, so the above mapping information may be managed and stored in the NSSF or NRF as well”, [0306], “Another alternative is to store this information in the UDR. This may provide an easier way for any NF to obtain this information by accessing data storage, without discovering and communicating with the NCMF, NSSF or NRF”, [0471], “the UE receives and store the NCPP policies”, [0349], “PLMN ID: this indicates the PLMN to which the UE intends to register … the PLMN ID may facilitate network slice and AMF selection”, [0074], “PLMN Public Land Mobile Network”, Fig. 8, element step 11, [0373], “the NCMF may update the mapping information between the selected network slice and network capability(ies)”, [0218-222], disclose the network capability profile including an identifier of a serving PLMN), wherein the stored service information ([0295], “the NCMF may manage and maintain information providing a mapping between network capabilities and NF services”, [0306], “Another alternative is to store this information in the UDR”) includes location information associated with the equipment, Data Network Name (DNN), Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN), Single - Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI) or a combination thereof ([0182], “ Based on the operator's operational or deployment needs, a network slice instance can be associated with one or more S-NSSAIs, and an S-NSSAI can be associated with one or more network slice instances” [0351], “Area information: used to select a network slice to serve the UE. This information may be in the form of TAI, registration area or geographic area”, [0303], disclose network capability profile NCP include S-NSSAI identifier, slice’s coverage area, PLMN ID, location based message delivery, a tracking area, registration area or geographic area, network capability NSI ID, Slice CN, NF service instances, the positioning methods, User Data Access etc.);
wirelessly receiving a service request from a communication device, the service request identifying a particular service (Fig.4, [0170], “A Control Plane NF_B (NF service producer) is requested by another Control Plane NF_A (NF service consumer) to provide a certain NF service, which either performs an action or provides information or both. NF_B provides an NF service based on the request by NF_A. In order to fulfil the request, NF_B may in turn consume NF services from other NFs”. Fig.8, step 1, Fig. 9, step 1, [0384], “the network capability request information delivered in step 1 may be encapsulated in any NAS message, such as NAS-MM signaling between the UE and the AMF, or the NAS-SM between the UE and the SMF. In this sense, the information may be encapsulated in the service request message as well as the session management related request message”) and including location information of the communication device (Fig. 8, [0351], “Area information: used to select a network slice to serve the UE. This information may be in the form of TAI, registration area or geographic area”, [0374], “location information or registration area information may be contained in the response and provided to the RAN node and the UE, so that the information can be mapped or associated with the selected network slice”, [0185], “network capabilities (e.g., event monitoring, location
service) can be implemented through a set of network function service”);
selecting a provider from among the group of providers according to the service request (Fig. 8, [0366], “based on the UE ID and PLMN ID, the NSSF may verify the NSSAI in the request, and may select a network slice instance to serve the UE for all the requested network capabilities”, [0295], “the NCMF may manage and maintain information providing a mapping between network capabilities and NF services. That is, the mapping information may indicate a set of NFs and corresponding NF services
required to support a network capability”, [0218-222], disclose the network capability profile including an identifier of a serving PLMN
) and the stored service information ([301], “The mapping information may be managed and stored at the NCMF. The NCMF may be co-located with a NSSF or NRF, so the above mapping information may be managed and stored in the NSSF or NRF as well”, [0306], “Another alternative is to store this information in the UDR. This may provide an easier way for any NF to obtain this information by accessing data storage, without discovering and communicating with the NCMF, NSSF or NRF”), wherein the selecting is further based on key performance indicators (KPIs) ([0333], “Support for Prediction Frequency that describes how often KQI and KPI prediction values are provided to the UE. UE may send request and receive prediction information in advance about quality drop (and hence switch of slice if needed.)”, [0309-0341], disclose specific capability that is supported by the slice including KPI) and historical performance data associated with the provider, including historical performance data for a same type of service or device ([0335], “Support Periodic traffic (deterministic communication) that can help optimize scheduling/performance for UE”, [0339] “Support for user data access, which defines how the network slice (or mobile network) should handle the user data…Support for slice quality of service parameters which defines all the QoS relevant parameters supported by the network slice”, [0309-0341], disclose specific capability that is supported by the slice including periodic traffic, performance monitoring , service area and etc.).
and responsive to the service request, wirelessly providing provider information for the provider to the communication device (Fig.8, element 12a, [0365-0370], disclose the response information include NSSAI, selected NSI ID corresponding to the NSSAI in the request, NRF address, selected AMF set and/or AMF address, [0374], “if the current AMF is able the serve the UE, the AMF may send the registration response to the RAN node, which forwards the response to the UE. The N2 message from the AMF to the RAN node may contain a network capability profile of the selected network slice, i.e., the selected network slice information as well as all the information concerning the network capability(ies) supported by the network slice”, [0375], “The Registration Accept message may include a network capability profile for each S-NSSAI in the allowed NSSAI”, [0349], “PLMN ID: this indicates the PLMN to which the UE intends to register, if the UE has this information. Since different PLMNs may configure different network slices to provide the same network capability, the PLMN ID may facilitate network slice and AMF selection”, [0365], “In step 8, the AMF requests the NSSF to select a network slice instance by providing requested network capability information, PLMN ID as well as UE information if available”), the provider information including the DNN and the S-NSSAI of the selected provider, wherein the wirelessly providing of the provider information ([0557], “including those performing the steps illustrated in FIGS. 8-10, such as the UE, (R)AN, AMF, NCMF, NSSF, UDR/UDSF, UDM/UDR, NRF, NEF, PCF, NFs, SCS/AS, (R)AN, SMF”, [0375], “The Registration Accept message may include a network capability profile for each S-NSSAI in the allowed NSSAI. The network capability profile is an indication or description about the capabilities of a network slice. Table 4 lists the contents of a network capability profile of a network slice”, [0303], TABLE 4 disclose network capability profile including PLMN ID.) enables the communication device to attach to equipment of the selected provider and to obtain the particular service (Fig.8, [0379-0381], disclose UEs’ different response after receiving network capability profile, [0404], “the NSSF may select one or more network slice instances, potentially a new AMF set, and an NRF. The NSSF may return any selection results, including the NSI ID, NSSAI, NRF address, and the AMF set. If a new AMF is selected, a AMF re-location process may be triggered at step 12b. If a new network slice is selected without change of AMF, the UE may connect to both network slices simultaneously”).
However, Li does not explicitly teach receiving registration requests originating from network equipment of a group of providers that are network operators, each network operator of the group of providers having distinct network equipment;
wirelessly receiving a service request via a Hypertext Transfer Protocol version 2 (HTTP/2) GET request from a communication device.
providing provider information for the provider to the communication device, via an HTTP/2 response to the HTTP/2 GET request, the provider information including the DNN and the S-NSSAI of the selected provider.
wherein the provider information further includes an identification of an operator network of the selected provider, and wherein the wirelessly providing triggers the communication device to select an embedded Subscriber Identity Module (eSIM) operator profile specified in the provider information, or initiate an Over-the-Air (OTA) download of a new eSIM operator profile according to a GSMA remote SIM provisioning (RSP) architecture.
Shan, from the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches the provider information including the DNN and the S-NSSAI of the selected provider (Fig. 4, element 421, [0135-0136], “The AMF 321 sends a Registration Accept message to the UE 301 indicating that the Registration Request has been accepted … The Mapping Of Allowed NSSAI is the mapping of each S-NSSAI of the Allowed NSSAI to the HPLMN S-NSSAIs. The Mapping Of Configured NSSAI is the mapping of each S-NSSAI of the Configured NSSAI for the Serving PLMN to the HPLMN S-NSSAIs … The LADN Information (e.g., a list of LADN DNN(s) and the corresponding LADN service area(s)) is included in the Registration Accept message”).
Li and Shan are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Li and the features of the provider information including the DNN and the S-NSSAI of the selected provider as taught by Shan, for the benefit of allowing UE to request service specifically associated with data network name.
Saso, from the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches receiving registration requests originating from network equipment of a group of providers that are network operators, each network operator of the group of providers having distinct network equipment (Fig. 6, element step 2, [0016], “A localized service provider (LSP) (e.g., LSP 150 in FIG. 1) is an application provider or network operator who makes their services localized and that are offered to an end user (e.g., UE 802) via a hosting network”, [0057], “the LSP 150 issues time-restricted credentials for access to a hosting network 130 and to a localized service 155 … the time-restricted credentials include … SNPN ID and geographical coordinates of the hosting network … data network name (DNN)/single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI)”. Fig. 7, elements H1, H2, [0062], “The hosting network 130 is configured based on the service agreement, e.g., DNN/S-NSSAI configuration for access to localized service, QoS, number of end-users, time, location, whether home network services can be accessed via the hosting network 130”, [0075], “Both the home network 120 and the hosting network 130 can be a PLMN ”, [0078], “the 5GS provides suitable means to allow the service provider to request and provision various localized service requirements, including QoS … network slicing … and routing policies for the application of the localized services 155 via the hosting network”).
wherein the provider information further includes an identification of an operator network of the selected provider, and wherein the wirelessly providing triggers the communication device to select an embedded Subscriber Identity Module (eSIM) operator profile specified in the provider information (Fig. 4, [0043- 0048] “The LSP 150 sends to the UE's 802 SIM applet certificate and Security Profile corresponding to the LSP 150. The Security Profile associated with the SIM contains all necessary data to establish a TLS tunnel between the LSP 150 and UE 802. … The LSP 150 sends a Security Profile corresponding to the UE 802 and LSP certificate to the LSP Security Service. The Security Profile associated with the SIM contains all necessary data to establish a TLS tunnel between the LSP 150 and UE 802 … When the UE 802 arrives at the venue where the localized service is provided (e.g., stadium), the user performs a manual selection of the hosting network 130 … UE 802 connects to the hosting network 130 and is authenticated by the LSP 150 in the role of Credential Holder”), or initiate an Over-the-Air (OTA) download of a new eSIM operator profile according to a GSMA remote SIM provisioning (RSP) architecture (alternative).
Li and Saso are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Li and the features of receiving registration requests from equipment of a group of providers that are network operators as taught by Saso, for the benefit of allowing service provider to request and provide various localized service requirements via the hosting network (paragraph [0077- 0078]), and allowing UE accessing local services as needed, which creating new opportunities for users and service providers (paragraph [0073]).
Olvera, from the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches wirelessly receiving a service request via a Hypertext Transfer Protocol version 2 (HTTP/2) GET request from a communication device ([0096], “service-based interface (SBI) architecture may be associated with service-based architecture (SBA). The evolved packet core network functions (NFs) may be split into smaller NFs regarding their functionality, scope, and/or the definition of SBIs for their communication among each other. The communication pattern may utilize hypertext transfer protocol/2 (HTTP/2) as the application layer protocol paving the way for core (e.g., 5GC) NF”, [0149], “the WTRU may obtain the NF FQDN (e.g., by communicating with NRF) and may establish an HTTP session with NF (e.g., using HTTP/2 or HTTP/3)”, Fig. 24, [0219], “a client (e.g., service producer or consumer such as NF, WTRU, or SCP) may initiate an HTTP/3 or HTTP/2 connection with an SSCP … the client may send request or indication messages to the server over the proxied end-to-end connection and the server may send replies to the client.”).
providing provider information for the provider to the communication device, via an HTTP/2 response to the HTTP/2 GET request (Fig.26, [0247], “The procedure as described with respect to FIG. 24 may be adapted to use HTTP/2 … the client may connect to the SSCP using HTTP/2 and may use CONNECT instead of extended CONNECT. Following the CONNECT request, end-to-end HTTP messages may be forwarded through a CONNECT-based HTTPS proxy”).
Li and Olvera are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Li and the features of establishing HTTP/2 over UDP connection with security service communication proxies as taught by Olvera, for the benefit of enhancing communication security ([0211]).
Claim 12 is analyzed and rejected according to Claim1 and Li further teaches a non-transitory machine-readable medium, comprising executable instructions that, when executed by a processing system including a processor (Fig.1G, elements 91, 81, Fig.1B, element 118), facilitate performance of operations, the operations comprising ([0557], “may be logical entities that may be implemented in the form of software (i.e., computer-executable instructions) stored in a memory of, and executing on a processor of, an apparatus configured for wireless and/or network communications or a computer system such as those illustrated in FIG. 1B or FIG. 1G. That is, the method(s) illustrated in FIGS. 8-10 may be implemented in the form of software (i.e., computer-executable instructions) stored in a memory of an apparatus”).
Claim 19 is analyzed and rejected according to claim 1 and Li further teaches providing, by the processing system, a slicing request to the corresponding equipment of the provider ([0004], “ a UE can configure and access the network by indicating the requested NSSAI, which identifies network slice(s)”, [0476], “The UE may send a Registration Update
request to the network in order to register with a different slice that may allow for more favorable NCP policies”, [0349], “PLMN ID: this indicates the PLMN to which the UE intends to register … the PLMN ID may facilitate network slice and AMF selection”, [0074], “PLMN Public Land Mobile Network”);
receiving, by the processing system, an S-NSSAI from the equipment of the provider according to the slicing request ([0205], “UE can receive a set of Allowed NSSAIs with their corresponding NCPs during a general UE registration procedure”), wherein the S-NSSAI is different from another S-NSSAI that is in the stored service information for the provider (Fig. 8, element 1, [0346], “The information may be associated with the Request NSSAI and one Network Capability Profile may be provided per S-NSSAI in the NSSAI. When the UE initiates the registration for the first time, it may not have the network capability mapping information”, [0476], “the UE may send a Mobility Registration Update request and the request may include an updated requested NSSAI and the updated requested
NSSAI might not include an S-NSSAI that the UE just received policies for”).
Claim 2: The combination of Li and Saso teaches the device of claim 1, Saso additionally teaches wherein the registration requests include the service information (Fig. 6, element step 2, [0016], “A localized service provider (LSP) (e.g., LSP 150 in FIG. 1) is an application provider or network operator who makes their services localized and that are offered to an end user (e.g., UE 802) via a hosting network”, [0057], “the LSP 150 issues time-restricted credentials for access to a hosting network 130 and to a localized service 155 … the time-restricted credentials include … SNPN ID and geographical coordinates of the hosting network … data network name (DNN)/single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI)”. Fig. 7, elements H1, H2, [0062], “The hosting network 130 is configured based on the service agreement, e.g., DNN/S-NSSAI configuration for access to localized service, QoS, number of end-users, time, location, whether home network services can be accessed via the hosting network 130”, [0075], “Both the home network 120 and the hosting network 130 can be a PLMN ”, [0078], “the 5GS provides suitable means to allow the service provider to request and provision various localized service requirements, including QoS … network slicing … and routing policies for the application of the localized services 155 via the hosting network” ).
The motivation for combining Li and Saso regarding to the claim 1 is also applied to claim 2.
Claim 3: Li teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the stored service information includes KPIs for one or more services provided by each of the group of providers ([0333], “Support for Prediction Frequency that describes how often KQI and KPI prediction values are provided to the UE. UE may send request and receive prediction information in advance about quality drop”).
Claim 6: Li teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise: providing a slicing request to the equipment of the provider ([0004], “ a UE can configure and access the network by indicating the requested NSSAI, which identifies network slice(s)”, [0476], “The UE may send a Registration Update request to the network in order to register with a different slice that may allow for more favorable NCP policies”); and receiving the S-NSSAI from the equipment of the provider according to the slicing request ([0205], “UE can receive a set of Allowed NSSAIs with their corresponding NCPs during a general UE registration procedure”), wherein the S-NSSAI is different from another S-NSSAI that is stored in the service information for the provider (Fig. 8, elements 8,9, [0346], “The information may be associated with the Request NSSAI and one Network Capability Profile may be provided per S-NSSAI in the NSSAI. When the UE initiates the registration for the first time, it may not have the network capability mapping information”, [0476], “the UE may send a Mobility Registration Update request and the request may include an updated requested NSSAI and the updated requested
NSSAI might not include an S-NSSAI that the UE just received policies for”).
Claim 16 is analyzed and rejected according to claim 12 and claim 6.
Claim 7: The combination of Li and Shan teaches the device of claim 6, Shan additionally teaches wherein the operations further comprise: determining that none of the S-NSSAIs in the stored service information satisfy the service request, wherein the providing the slicing request to the equipment of the provider is in response to the determining that none of the S-NSSAIs in the stored service information satisfy the service request ([0072], “The subscription information for each S-NSSAI may contain a Subscribed DNN list and one default DNN … If the DNN provided by the UE 301 is not supported by the network and AMF 321 cannot select an SMF 324 by querying the NRF 325, the AMF 321 rejects the NAS Message containing PDU Session Establishment Request from the UE”, Fig, 4, element 421, [0135], “the new AMF 321 sends, to the UE 301, a Registration Accept message including … rejected S-NSSAIs”, [0136], “If the AMF 321 invokes the Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext procedure for UP activation of PDU Session(s) in operation 418 and receives rejection from the SMF 324, then the AMF 321 indicates to the UE 301 the PDU Session ID and the cause why the User Plane resources were not activated.” ).
The motivation for combining Li and Shan regarding to the claim 1 is also applied to claim 7.
Claim 17 is analyzed and rejected according to claim 12 and claim 7.
Claim 9: Li teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise: selecting a second provider from among the group of providers according to the service request (Fig.8, [0366], “based on the UE ID and PLMN ID, the NSSF may verify the NSSAI in the request, and may select a network slice instance to serve the UE for all the requested network capabilities. If a new AMF set is selected to serve the network slice, the NSSF may also select a NRF so that the new AMF can select an NF instance and an NF service instance within the selected network slice. The NSSF may return the one or all of the following information in the response”) and the stored service information ([0364], “the AMF may compare the received NSSAI and locally stored network
slice information to decide if the AMF can serve all the NSSAI required for all the requested network capabilities”);
detecting a triggering event associated with the particular service being provided by the provider to the communication device ([0384], “a UE may start a new application that needs to use network capabilities X, Y and Z. …. The UE may issue a PDU session establishment request with an indication to start a new PDU session on the same network slice that supports network capabilities X, Y and Z. The AMF or SMF may trigger the exchange with the NCMF to see if slice 1 is sufficient or if there needs to be a new slice for this PDU session”, [0333], “Support for Prediction Frequency that describes how often KQI and KPI prediction values are provided to the UE. UE may send request and receive prediction information in advance about quality drop (and hence switch of slice if needed.)”);
and responsive to the triggering event, wirelessly providing second provider information for the second provider to the communication device), the second provider information including the corresponding DNN and the S-NSSAI of the second provider (Fig. 8, element 12a, [0366-0370], disclose the response information include NSSAI, selected NSI ID corresponding to the NSSAI in the request, NRF address, selected AMF set and/or AMF address, [0375], “The Registration Accept message may include a network capability profile for each S-NSSAI in the allowed NSSAI”, [0303], TABLE 4 disclose network capability profile including PLMN ID. ), wherein the providing of the second provider information enables the communication device to attach to the corresponding equipment of the second provider and to continue obtain the particular service ([0379-0381], disclose UEs’ different response after receiving network capability profile, [0376], “In case that a UE is served by multiple network slices, the UE may maintain information identifying which application is served by which network slice instance with what network capabilities”, [0414], “the serving AMF may reply to the UE with a registration update response to indicate the serving network slice information if the serving AMF is not changed. If a new AMF is selected by the NSSF, the target AMF may contact to confirm the registration update with the new network capability enabled”).
Claim 10: Li teaches the device of claim 9, wherein the triggering event is one of a monitored performance parameter or a predicted future performance parameter ([0417], “The network wants to switch to a new network slice to serve the UE due to some reasons, such as a load balance issue or scale down of network function/network slice instance in the serving network slice”, [0333], “Support for Prediction Frequency that describes how often KQI and KPI prediction values are provided to the UE. UE may send request and receive prediction information in advance about quality drop (and hence switch of slice if needed.)”).
Claim 11: Li teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise: selecting a second provider from among the group of providers according to the service request and the stored service information; and responsive to the service request, wirelessly providing second provider information for the second provider to the communication device, the second provider information including the corresponding DNN and the S-NSSAI of the second provider (Fig.9, [0366-0370], disclose the response information include NSSAI, selected NSI ID corresponding to the NSSAI in the request, NRF address, selected AMF set and/or AMF address, [0375], “The Registration Accept message may include a network capability profile for each S-NSSAI in the allowed NSSAI”, [0404], “the NSSF may select one or more network slice instances, potentially a new AMF set, and an NRF. The NSSF may return any selection results, including the NSI ID, NSSAI, NRF address, and the AMF set. If a new AMF is selected, a AMF re-location process may be triggered at step 12b. If a new network slice is selected without change of AMF, the UE may connect to both network slices simultaneously. In case that the existing network slices cannot serve the UE, the NSSF may contact an Operation and Management (O&M) system to initiate a new network slice and corresponding network slice instance to serve the UE”),
wherein the providing of the second provider information enables the communication device to selectively attach to the corresponding equipment of the second provider to obtain the particular service ( [0379-0381], disclose UEs’ different response after receiving network capability profile, [0376], “ In case that a UE is served by multiple network slices, the UE may maintain information identifying which application is served by which network slice
instance with what network capabilities”, [0404], “If a new network slice is selected without change of AMF, the UE may connect to both network slices simultaneously”).
Claim 13: Li teaches the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 12, wherein the operations further comprise receiving registration requests from equipment of a group of providers that are network operators, content providers, or a combination thereof (Fig.5, Fig. 7, Fig.13, elements 1,2,3, [0171], “A Control Plane NF_A (NF service consumer) subscribes to NF service offered by another Control Plane NF_B (NF service producer). Multiple Control Plane NFs may subscribe to the same Control Plane NF Service. NF_B notifies the results of this NF service to the interested NF(s) that subscribed to this NF service”, [0173], “Network slicing is a mechanism that could be used by mobile network operators to support multiple ‘virtual’ networks behind the air interface across the fixed part of the mobile operator's network, both backhaul and core network”),
wherein the service request includes location information of the communication device (Fig.8, [0351], “Area information: used to select a network slice to serve the UE. This information may be in the form of TAI, registration area or geographic area”, [0374], “location information or registration area information may be contained in the response and provided to the RAN node and the UE, so that the information can be mapped or associated with the selected network slice”, Table-US-0001,“SMSF Response Namf_Location ProvideLocation Request”), wherein the stored service information ([301], “The mapping information may be managed and stored at the NCMF. The NCMF may be co-located with a NSSF or NRF, so the above mapping information may be managed and stored in the NSSF or NRF as well”, [0306], “Another alternative is to store this information in the UDR”) includes location information associated with the equipment of the providers ([0351], “Area information: used to select a network slice to serve the UE. This information may be in the form of TAI, registration area or geographic area”, [0295], “the NCMF may manage and maintain information providing a mapping between network capabilities and NF services”, [0303], disclose network capability profile NCP include S-NSSAI identifier, slice’s coverage area, PLMN ID, location based message delivery, a tracking area, registration area or geographic area, network capability NSI ID, Slice CN,
NF service instances, the positioning methods, User Data Access, etc.).
Claim 14: Li teaches the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 12, wherein the operations further comprise wirelessly providing switching information to the communication device to indicate a triggering event for the communication device for switching between the corresponding equipment of the first and second provider to obtain the particular service (Fig. 10, [0437], “the AMF communicates with the UE to trigger the UE configuration update”, [0426], “Information related to the network capability usage requirements for communication between the UE and the AS such as a required network capability availability schedule, a required network capability QoS level (e.g. service response time, etc.) and a required level of multitenancy (e.g. how many applications on the UE or AS will require use of the requested network capability(ies))”, [0333], “Support for Prediction Frequency that describes how often KQI and KPI prediction values are provided to the UE. UE may send request and receive prediction information in advance about quality drop (and hence switch of slice if needed)”).
Claim 15: Li teaches the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 14, wherein the triggering event is a time period, a performance parameter threshold, a coverage area or a combination thereof ([0171], “the subscription request may include a notification request
for periodic updates or notification triggered through certain events (e.g., the information requested gets changed, reaches a certain threshold, etc.)”, [0445], “the same enhancements can be applied to the Mobility Registration Update and Periodic
Registration Update procedures”, [0417], “The network wants to switch to a new network slice to serve the UE due to some reasons, such as a load balance issue or scale down of network function/network slice instance in the serving network slice”, [0333], “Support for Prediction Frequency that describes how often KQI and KPI prediction values are provided to the UE. UE may send request and receive prediction information in advance about quality drop (and hence switch of slice if needed)”).
Claim 20: Li teaches the method of claim 19, determining, by the processing system, that none of the S-NSSAIs in the stored service information satisfy the service request, wherein the providing the slicing request to the equipment of the provider is in response to the determining that none of the S- NSSAIs in the stored service information satisfy the service request (Fig.8, [0364], “If the AMF is able to do so, the AMF will update the UE context and perform step 10. Otherwise, the AMF may request the NSSF to perform network slice selection and proceed to steps 8 and 9 for any of the following cases: (1) the AMF is not able the serve all the NSSAI; (2) the AMF cannot decide whether it can serve the NSSAI; or (3) the NCMF indicates no existing network slice can support all the requested network capabilities”).
Claims 4,5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 20220159605 A1, hereinafter Li) in view of Shan et al. (US 20190342851 A1, hereinafter Shan), and in view of Saso et al. (US 20250168635 A1, hereinafter Saso) and in view of Olvera (US 20250184881 A1, hereinafter Olvera) and further in view of Issak et al. (US 20210314901 A1, hereinafter Issak).
Claim 4: Li does not explicitly teach the device of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise providing an Over-the-Air (OTA) provisioning associated with the provider to an eSIM of the communication device.
However, Issak, from the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise providing an Over-the-Air (OTA) provisioning associated with the provider to an eSIM of the communication device ([0022], “ An eSIM/iSIM is typically provisioned remotely via an OTA update. Often this is a two-step process. First, an OEM downloads one (or more) network operator profiles onto the eSIM/iSIM. Once an operator profile is on the eSIM/iSIM, the associated network operator then downloads onto the eSIM/iSIM subscriber information and cellular profile, roaming and billing parameters to enable access to their network”).
Li and Issak are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Li and the features of providing an Over-the-Air OTA provisioning associated with the provider to an eSIM of the communication device as taught by Issak, for the benefit for enable network operators to locate and track users, managing cellular profiles, provide value-added services (paragraph [0006]).
Claim 5: Li does not explicitly teach the device of claim 4, wherein the operations further comprise receiving an OTA request from the communication device, wherein the providing of the OTA provisioning is in response to the OTA request, and wherein the OTA request is based on the eSIM activating an operator profile.
However, Issak, from the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches the device of claim 4, wherein the operations further comprise receiving an OTA request from the communication device, wherein the providing of the OTA provisioning is in response to the OTA request, and wherein the OTA request is based on the eSIM activating an operator profile (Fig.1, [0023], “In a typical OTA update, the OTA gateway 120 receives a request from an operator backend system 160 that includes, or provides sufficient information to lookup in a card database, the SIM vendor, ……and secret key of the physical SIM card or eSIM/iSIM 110 to update. The OTA gateway 120 then formats a message that can be understood by the physical SIM card or eSIM/iSIM 110 that includes the positioning applet 118. ….. The OTA gateway
120 sends a formatted message to the Short Message Service Center (SMSC) 130 …… The SMSC 130 delivers the SMS messages over an operator's backhaul network 140 (e.g., a 2G/3G/4G etc. backhaul network) to the physical SIM card or eSIM/iSIM 110 on the UE 105, …… The physical SIM card or eSIM/iSIM 110 may respond back to the SMSC 130 to confirm successful operation with one or more OTA responses in SMS messages”).
The motivation regarding to the obviousness to claim 4 is also applied to claim 5.
Claims 8,18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 20220159605 A1, hereinafter Li) in view of Shan et al. (US 20190342851 A1, hereinafter Shan), in view of Saso et al. (US 20250168635 A1, hereinafter Saso) , in view of Olvera (US 20250184881 A1, hereinafter Olvera) and further in view of Yao et al. (US 20220141751 A1, hereinafter Yao).
Claim 8: Li does not explicitly teach the device of claim 1, wherein the selecting the provider from among the group of providers is based on a machine learning model that is trained on historical performance data of the group of providers.
However, Yao, from the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the selecting the provider from among the group of providers is based on a machine learning model that is trained on historical performance data of the group of providers ([0238], “The service producer may utilize machine learning to identify patterns related to these measurements such as nodes receiving many requests, nodes successfully completing requests, and/or metrics related to handover. The machine learning algorithm may use this information to generate recommendations and/or node selections for load balancing between network nodes and/or to reduce network latency.”).
Li and Yao are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Li and the features of selecting the provider from among the group of providers is based on a machine learning model as taught by Yao, for the benefit for balancing loading between network nodes and/or to reduce network latency. (Paragraph [0238]).
Claim 18 is analyzed and rejected according to claim 12 and claim 8.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Y.Z./Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/ANH VU H LY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472