DETAILED ACTION
under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Amendments
Applicant's response of 07/07/2026 has been acknowledged. Claims 1, 20, and 21 have been amended. No new matter has been added.
This office action considers claims 1-5, 7, and 9-21 pending for prosecution and are examined on their merits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 07/07/2026 with respect to the rejection of claims 1-5, 7, and 9-21 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Notes: when present, hyphen separated fields within the hyphens (- -) represent, for example, as (30A - Fig 2B - [0128]) = (element 30A - Figure No. 2B - Paragraph No. [0128]). For brevity, the texts “Element”, “Figure No.” and “Paragraph No.” shall be excluded, though; additional clarification notes may be added within each field. The number of fields may be fewer or more than three indicated above. The same conventions apply to Column and Sentence, for example (19:14-20) = (column19:sentences 14-20). These conventions are used throughout this document.
Claims 1-5, 7, 13, 14, 16, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 20210248932 A1 – hereinafter Li) in view of Kang (US 20180182985 A1 – hereinafter Kang), Ka et al. (US 20190304366 A1 – hereinafter Ka), and Zhang et al. (US 20190164489 A1 – hereinafter Zhang).
Regarding independent claim 1, Li teaches:
(Currently Amended) A display device (100 – Fig. 19 – [0091] – “display
device 100”) comprising:
a display panel (10 – Fig. 17 – [0083] – “folding display panel 10”) having a
first non-folding portion (Fig. 17 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘NFP1’), a first folding portion (Fig. 17 annotated, see below – [0070] – “first horizontal folding pivot shaft 105a” – this is considered a folding portion, hereinafter ‘FP1’), a second non-folding portion (Fig. 17 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘NFP2’), a second folding portion (Fig. 17 annotated, see below – [0070] – “second horizontal folding pivot shaft 105b” – this is considered a folding portion, hereinafter ‘FP2’), and a third non-folding portion (Fig. 17 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘NFP3’) arranged along a first direction (Fig. 17 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘D1’), wherein each of the first to third non-folding portions (NFP1-3) has a display area (11 – Fig. 17 – [0071] – “display screen 11”), a bending area (Fig. 17 annotated, see below – [0068] – “vertical folding pivot shaft 106” – this is considered a bending area, although not drawn at the bottom on the display area and between the pad areas, it is understood that the display bends in the same manner as in the instant application, hereinafter ‘BA’) extending along a second direction (Fig. 17 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘D2’) crossing the first direction (D1), and a pad area connected to the display area (11) with the bending area (BA) interposed therebetween;
a first data driving chip (108a – Fig. 17 – [0054] – “first driver chip 108a”) on a first pad area (Fig. 17 annotated, see below – although not expressly shown, it is obvious that the driving chips must be installed on an area, the pad are, hereinafter ‘PA1’) of the first non-folding portion (NFP1);
a second data driving chip (108b – Fig. 17 – [0054] – “second driver chip 108b”) on a second pad area (Fig. 17 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘PA2’) of the second non-folding portion (NFP2);
a third data driving chip (108c – Fig. 17 – [0070] – “third driver chip 108c”) on a third pad area (Fig. 17 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘PA3’) of the third non-folding portion (NFP3); and
a circuit board (112 – Fig. 17 – [0080] – “mainboard 112” – this corresponds to a circuit board) attached on any one of the first to third pad areas (PA1-3) and electrically connected to the first to third data driving chips ([0080] – “The first circuit board 109a, the second circuit board 109b, and the third circuit board 109c are connected to one another through an adapter flexible circuit board 110. The second circuit board 109b is also connected to a mainboard 112”);
a first notch overlapping a first folding axis aligned with the first folding portion in the second direction and concave inward that is between the first pad area and the second pad area of the display panel,
wherein the display panel (10) includes:
data lines (107) transmitting data signals provided from the first to third data driving chips (108a-c) to pixels ([0051] – “the driver chip 108 can be configured to coordinate and deal with screen splitting of pixels of the display screen 11” – hereinafter ‘PX’); and
a first data connection line including a first end portion in the first pad area and a second end portion in the second pad area, and electrically connecting the first data driving chip (108a) and the circuit board (112), and
wherein the first data connection line extends around the first notch and across the first folding axis overlapping the first notch such that the first data connection line extends in the second direction in the first non-folding portion, extends in the first direction across the first folding portion and the first notch, and extends in the second direction in the second non-folding portion.
Li does not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 1.
However, in an analogous art, Kang teaches
a pad area (PA – [0049] – “pad area PA”),
a first notch (Fig. 4 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘NT1) overlapping a first folding axis (FL1 – Fig. 4 – [0063] – “folding lines FL1”) aligned with the first folding portion (Fig. 4 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘FP1’) in the second direction (Fig. 4 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘D2’) and concave inward that is between the first pad area (PA1 – Fig. 4 – [0049] – “first pad area PA1”) and the second pad area (PA2 – Fig. 4 – [0049] – “second pad area PA2”) of the display panel (PDP – [0004] – “plasma display panel device (PDP)”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the pad areas as taught by Kang into Li.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Kang in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result of [0017] - "the flexible printed circuit board disposed in a pad area extending from the bending area does not overlap. Therefore, the signal interference is minimized.”
Li and Kang do not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 1.
However, in an analogous art, Ka teaches
a first data connection line (S1 – Fig. 5 – [0148] – “scan line S1” – this is a data connection line) including a first end portion (S1a – Fig. 5 – [0148] – “first portion S1a may be disposed in the first pixel area PXA1”) in the first pad area and a second end portion (S1b – Fig. 5 – [0148] – “second portion S1b may be disposed in the second pixel area PXA2”) in the second pad area, and electrically connecting the first data driving chip and the circuit board.
wherein the first data connection line extends around ([0202] – “scan line S being arranged in various notches NH shapes in the notch peripheral area NPA”) the first notch.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the connection line structure as taught by Ka into Li and Kang.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Ka in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result of [0005] – “a display apparatus that includes areas having different surface areas from each other, and with increased brightness uniformity.”
Li, Kang, and Ka do not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 1.
However, in an analogous art, Zhang teaches
wherein the first data connection line (111 – Fig. 2 – [0028] – “scan lines 111” – this is a data line) extends around the first notch (450 – Fig. 2 – [0035] – “the notch area 100” – Fig. 2 shows this) and across the first folding axis overlapping the first notch such that the first data connection line (111) extends in the second direction (Fig. 2 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘D2’) in the first non-folding portion (450 – Fig. 2 – [0035] – “the notch area 100 further includes a trace area 450” – this corresponds to a non-folding section), extends in the first direction (Fig. 2 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘D1’) across the first folding portion and the first notch (450), and extends in the second direction (D2) in the second non-folding portion (Fig. 2 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘NF2’ – although Zhang does not fold, it describes the connection line structure around a notch).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the connection line structure as taught by Zhang into Li, Kang, and Ka.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Zhang in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result [0004] – “to provide a notch cutting OLED display panel and an OLED display. Which can effectively realize the scanning of the scan lines in the notch cutting OLED display panel.”
To do so would have merely been to apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results, KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), MPEP 2143 I. D.
Regarding claim 2, Li, as modified by Kang, Ka, and Zhang, teaches claim 1 from which claim 2 depends. Li further teaches
(Previously Presented) The display device of claim 1, wherein
the first folding portion (FP1) configured to be folded about the first folding axis (105a – Fig. 17 – [0070] – “first horizontal folding pivot shaft 105a”) extending in the second direction (D2) and
the second folding portion (FP2) configured to be folded about a second folding axis (105b – Fig. 17 – [0070] – “second horizontal folding pivot shaft 105b”) spaced apart from the first folding axis (105a) in the first direction (D1) and extending in the second direction (D2).
Regarding claim 3, Li, as modified by Kang, Ka, and Zhang, teaches claim 2 from which claim 3 depends. Li, Ka, and Zhang do not expressly disclose the limitations of claim 3.
However, in an analogous art, Kang teaches
(Previously Presented) The display device of claim 2, further comprising:
a second notch (Fig. 4 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘NT2) overlapping the second folding axis (FL2 – Fig. 4 – [0063] – “folding lines FL2”) and concave inward that is between the second pad area (PA2) and the third pad area (PA3) of the display panel (DP – Fig. 4 shows this).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the second notch and folding axis as taught by Kang into Li, Ka, and Zhang.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Kang in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result of as stated above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, Li, as modified by Kang, Ka, and Zhang, teaches claim 3 from which claim 4 depends. Li, Ka, and Zhang do not expressly disclose the limitations of claim 4.
However, in an analogous art, Kang teaches
(Original) The display device of claim 3, wherein
in each of the first to third non-folding portions (Fig. 4 annotated, see above
– hereinafter ‘NFP1’, ‘NFP2’, and ‘NFP3’ respectively), the bending area (BA – [0048] – “bending area BA”) is bent about a bending axis (Fig. 4 annotated, see above – although not specified, folding lines (FL) in the second direction are, the bending axis is discussed, this is in the bending area) extending in the first direction (Fig. 4 annotated, see above – hereinafter ‘D1’) such that the pad area is under the display area (Fig. 3 shows this), and
each of the first notch (NT1) and the second notch (NT2) overlaps the bending axis (BA – Fig. 3 shows this).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the non-folding portion structure as taught by Kang into Li, Ka, and Zhang.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Kang in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result of as stated above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, Li, as modified by Kang, Ka, and Zhang, teaches claim 3 from which claim 5 depends. Li further teaches
(Original) The display device of claim 3, wherein the circuit board
(112) is attached on the second pad area (PA2 – Fig. 17 shows this) of the second non-folding portion (NFP2) and spaced apart from the second data driving chip (108b – Fig. 17 shows this).
Regarding claim 7, Li, as modified by Kang, Ka, and Zhang, teaches claim 1 from which claim 7 depends. Li further teaches
the first non-folding portion (NFP1), the first folding portion (FP1),
and the second non-folding portion (NFP2).
Li, Kang, and Zhang do not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 7.
However, in an analogous art, Ka teaches
(Previously Presented) The display device of claim 1, wherein the first
data connection line (S1 – S1 runs through a notch in the display panel similar to Li although the device of Ka does not fold) overlaps the first non-folding portion, the first folding portion, and the second non-folding portion.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the connection line structure as taught by Ka into Li, Kang, and Zhang.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Ka in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result as stated above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, Li, as modified by Kang, Ka, and Zhang, teaches claim 3 from which claim 13 depends. Li further teaches
(Previously Presented) The display device of claim 3, wherein the
display panel (10) further includes a second data connection line including a first end portion positioned in the third pad area (PA3) and a second end portion positioned in the second pad area (PA2), and electrically connecting the third data driving chip (108c) and the circuit board (112).
Li, Kang, and Zhang do not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 13.
However, in an analogous art, Ka teaches
a second data connection line (S2 – Fig. 5 – [0150] – “scan line S2” – this corresponds to the data connection line) including a first end portion (S2a – Fig. 5 – [0150] – “first portion S2a may be disposed in the first pixel area PXA1”) positioned in the third pad area and a second end portion (S2b – Fig. 5 – [0150] – “first portion S2a may be disposed in the first pixel area PXA2”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the connection line structure as taught by Ka into Li, Kang, and Zhang.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Ka in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result as stated above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 14, Li, as modified by Kang, Ka, and Zhang, teaches claim 13 from which claim 14 depends. Li, Kang, and Zhang do not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 14.
However, in an analogous art, Ka teaches
(Original) The display device of claim 13, wherein the second data
connection line (S2) extends to surround the second notch (NH – Fig. 5 shows this).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the connection line structure as taught by Ka into Li, Kang, and Zhang.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Ka in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result as stated above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, Li, as modified by Kang, Ka, and Zhang, teaches claim 1 from which claim 16 depends. Li further teaches
the display panel (10),
the first non-folding portion (NFP1 ),
the first pad area (PA 1 ),
the second pad area (PA2),
the circuit board (112).
Li, Kang, and Zhang do not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 16.
However, in an analogous art, Ka teaches
(Previously Presented) The display device of claim 1, further comprising
a gate driver (SDV1 – Fig. 5 – [0126] – “first scan driver SDV1” – this corresponds to a gate driver) on the first non-folding portion, and
wherein the display panel further includes a gate connection line (S2 – Fig. 5 – [0150] – “scan line S2” – Fig. 5 shows S2 and S2a interpreted as separate lines, this corresponds to a gate connection line) including a first end portion (Fig. 5 annotated, see below – portions of separate line S2, hereinafter S2-a2) in the first pad area and a second end portion (Fig. 5 annotated, see below – portions of separate line S2, hereinafter S2-b2) in the second pad area, and electrically connecting the gate driver (SDV1) and the circuit board.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the gate driver and connection line structure as taught by Ka into Li, Kang, and Zhang.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Ka in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result as stated above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 17, Li, as modified by Kang, Ka, and Zhang, teaches claim 16 from which claim 17 depends. Li, Kang, and Zhang do not expressly disclose the limitations of claim 17.
However, in an analogous art, Ka teaches
(Original) The display device of claim 16, wherein the gate connection line
(S2 – Fig. 6 shows S2 on layer 120) is on a same layer ([0191] – “second scan line S2 may have substantially the same configuration as the first scan line S1”) as the first data connection line (S1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the gate and data connection lines structure as taught by Ka into Li, Kang, and Zhang.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Ka in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result as stated above in claim 1.
Regarding independent claim 20, Li teaches:
(Currently Amended) A display device (100 – Fig. 19 – [0091] – “display
device 100”) comprising:
a display panel (10 – Fig. 17 – [0083] – “folding display panel 10”) having a
first non-folding portion (Fig. 17 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘NFP1’), a first folding portion (Fig. 17 annotated, see below – [0070] – “first horizontal folding pivot shaft 105a” – this is considered a folding portion, hereinafter ‘FP1’), a second non-folding portion (Fig. 17 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘NFP2’), a second folding portion (Fig. 17 annotated, see below – [0070] – “second horizontal folding pivot shaft 105b” – this is considered a folding portion, hereinafter ‘FP2’), and a third non-folding portion (Fig. 17 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘NFP3’) arranged along a first direction (Fig. 17 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘D1’), wherein each of the first to third non-folding portions (NFP1-3) has a display area (11 – Fig. 17 – [0071] – “display screen 11”), a bending area (Fig. 17 annotated, see below – [0068] – “vertical folding pivot shaft 106” – this is considered a bending area, hereinafter ‘BA’) extending along a second direction (Fig. 17 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘D2’) crossing the first direction (D1) from the display area (11), and a pad area connected to the display area (11) with the bending area (BA) interposed therebetween;
a first data driving chip (108a – Fig. 17 – [0054] – “first driver chip 108a”) on a first pad area (Fig. 17 annotated, see below – although not expressly shown, it is obvious that the driving chips must be installed on an area, the pad are, hereinafter ‘PA1’) of the first non-folding portion (NFP1);
a second data driving chip (108b – Fig. 17 – [0054] – “second driver chip 108b”) on a second pad area (Fig. 17 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘PA2’) of the second non-folding portion (NFP2);
a third data driving chip (108c – Fig. 17 – [0070] – “third driver chip 108c”) on a third pad area (Fig. 17 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘PA3’) of the third non-folding portion (NFP3); and
a circuit board (112 – Fig. 17 – [0080] – “mainboard 112” – this corresponds to a circuit board) attached on any one of the first to third pad areas (PA2) of the second non-folding portion (NFP2) to be spaced apart from the second data driving chip (108b – Fig. 14 shows this) and electrically connected to the first to third data driving chips ([0080] – “The first circuit board 109a, the second circuit board 109b, and the third circuit board 109c are connected to one another through an adapter flexible circuit board 110. The second circuit board 109b is also connected to a mainboard 112”), and
wherein the display panel (10) includes:
data line (107) transmitting data signals provided from the first to third data driving chips (108a-c) to pixels ([0051] – “the driver chip 108 can be configured to coordinate and deal with screen splitting of pixels of the display screen 11” – hereinafter ‘PX’);
a first data connection line including a first end portion in the first pad area
(PA1) and a second end portion in the second pad area (PA2), and electrically connecting the first data driving chip and the circuit board;
second data connection line including a first end portion positioned in the third pad area (PA3) and a second end portion in the second pad area (PA2), and electrically connecting the third data driving chip (108c) and the circuit board (112); and
a notch overlapping a first folding axis aligned with the first folding in the second direction and concave inward that is between the first pad area and the second pad area of the display panel, and
wherein the first data connection line extends around the first notch and across the first folding axis overlapping the first notch.
Li does not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 20.
However, in an analogous art, Kang teaches
a pad area (PA – [0049] – “pad area PA”),
a notch (Fig. 4 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘NT1) overlapping a first folding axis aligned (FL1 – Fig. 4 – [0063] – “folding lines FL1”) with the first folding portion (Fig. 4 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘FP1’) in the second direction (Fig. 4 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘D2’) and concave inward that is between the first pad area (PA1) and the second pad area (PA2) of the display panel (PDP – [0004] – “plasma display panel device (PDP)”), and.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the pad and notch areas as taught by Kang into Li.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Kang in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result of [0017] - "the flexible printed circuit board disposed in a pad area extending from the bending area does not overlap. Therefore, the signal interference is minimized.”
Li and Kang do not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 20.
However, in an analogous art, Ka teaches
a first data connection line (S1 – Fig. 5 – [0148] – “scan line S1” – this is a data
connection line) including a first end portion (S1a – Fig. 5 – [0148] – “first portion S1a may be disposed in the first pixel area PXA1”) in the first pad area and a second end portion (S1b – Fig. 5 – [0148] – “second portion S1b may be disposed in the second pixel area PXA2”) in the second pad area, and electrically connecting the first data driving chip (SDV1 – Fig. 5 – [0126] – first scan driver SDV1– this is a driving chip) and the circuit board ([0087] – “the print circuit board, and may be connected to the first to third scan drivers SDV1, SDV2 and SDV3, the first to third light emission drivers EDV1, EDV2 and EDV3, and the data driver DDV through a flexible printed circuit board, and the print circuit board may be arranged in various positions” – hereinafter ‘PCB’);
second data connection line (S2 – Fig. 5 – [0150] – “scan line S2” – this corresponds to the data connection line) including a first end portion (S2a – Fig. 5 – [0150] – “first portion S2a may be disposed in the first pixel area PXA1”) positioned in the third pad area and a second end portion (S2b – Fig. 5 – [0150] – “first portion S2a may be disposed in the first pixel area PXA2”) in the second pad area, and electrically connecting the third data driving chip and the circuit board; and
wherein the first data connection line extends around ([0202] – “scan line S being arranged in various notches NH shapes in the notch peripheral area NPA”) the first notch.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the connection line structure as taught by Ka into Li and Kang.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Ka in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result of [0005] – “a display apparatus that includes areas having different surface areas from each other, and with increased brightness uniformity.”
Li, Kang, and Ka do not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 20.
However, in an analogous art, Zhang teaches
wherein the first data connection line (111 – Fig. 2 – [0028] – “scan lines 111” – this is a data line) extends around the first notch (450 – Fig. 2 – [0035] – “the notch area 100” – Fig. 2 shows this) and across the first folding axis overlapping the first notch such that the first data connection line (111) extends in the second direction (Fig. 2 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘D2’) in the first non-folding portion (450 – Fig. 2 – [0035] – “the notch area 100 further includes a trace area 450” – this corresponds to a non-folding section), extends in the first direction (Fig. 2 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘D1’) across the first folding portion and the first notch (450), and extends in the second direction (D2) in the second non-folding portion (Fig. 2 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘NF2’ – although Zhang does not fold, it describes the connection line structure around a notch).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the connection line structure as taught by Zhang into Li, Kang, and Ka.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Zhang in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result as stated above in claim 1.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Kang, Ka, Zhang, and Jeong et al. (US 20190319050 A1 – hereinafter Jeong-050).
Regarding claim 9, Li, as modified by Kang, Ka, and Zhang, teaches claim 1 from which claim 9 depends. Li, Kang, Ka, and Zhang do not expressly disclose the limitations of claim 9.
However, in an analogous art, Jeong-050 teaches
(Currently Amended) The display device of claim [[6,]] 1, wherein the
display panel ([0005] – “display apparatus” – this is a display panel) further includes:
a first resin layer (101 – Fig. 1 – [0045] – “resin layer 101”);
a first barrier layer (103 – Fig. 1 – [0045] – “barrier layer 103”) on the first
resin layer (101);
a second resin layer (102 – Fig. 1 – [0045] – “resin layer 102”) on the first
barrier layer (103);
a second barrier layer (130 – Fig. 1 – [0050] – “barrier layer 130”) on the
second resin layer (102);
a buffer layer (140 – Fig. 1 – [0050] – “buffer layer 140”) on the second barrier
layer (130);
a thin film transistor (210 – Fig. 1 – [0051] – “thin film transistor 210”) on the
buffer layer (140); and
a light emitting element (300 – Fig. 1 – [0051] – “light-emitting device 300”)
electrically connected to the thin film transistor (210).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the layer structure as taught by Jeong-050 into Li, Kang, Ka, and Zhang.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Jeong-050 in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result of [0044] -
"The substrate 100 may have flexible or bendable characteristics. For example, the substrate 100 may be a bendable or foldable substrate that is in a curved or bent state at some times and is in a substantially flat state at other times. Alternatively, the
substrate 100 may be in a permanently folded, curved or bent state".
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Kang, Ka, Zhang, Jeong-050, and Park et al. (US 20140295626 A1 – hereinafter Park-626).
Regarding claim 10, Li, as modified by Kang, Ka, Zhang, and Jeong-050, teaches claim 9 from which claim 10 depends. Li, Kang, Ka, and Zhang do not expressly disclose the limitations of claim 10.
However, in an analogous art, Jeong-050 teaches
the first barrier layer (103),
the first resin layer (101),
the second resin layer (102).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the layer structure as taught by Jeong-050 into Li, Kang, Ka, and Zhang.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Jeong-050 in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result as stated above in claim 9.
Li, Kang, Ka, Zhang, and Jeong-050 do not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 10.
However, in an analogous art, Park-626 teaches
(Original) The display device of claim 9, wherein
the first barrier layer includes a first lower barrier layer (276 – Fig. 1 [0081] – “lower barrier layer 276”) on the first resin layer and a first upper barrier layer (272 – Fig. 1 [0081] – “upper barrier layer 272”) between the first lower barrier layer (276) and the second resin layer, and
the first data connection line (274 – Fig. 1 [0081] – “copper layer 274” – this is considered a data connection line) is between the first lower barrier layer (276) and the first upper barrier layer (272 – Fig. 1 shows this).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the barrier layer and data line structure as taught by Park-626 into Li, Kang, Ka, Zhang, and Jeong-050.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Park-626 in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result of [0027] - "a
low resistance wire may be provided for a display substrate".
Regarding claim 11, Li, as modified by Kang, Ka, Zhang, and Jeong-050, teaches claim 9 from which claim 11 depends. Li, Kang, Ka, and Zhang do not expressly disclose the limitations of claim 1.
However, in an analogous art, Jeong-050 teaches
the second barrier layer (130),
the buffer layer (140),
the second resin layer (102).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the layer structure as taught by Jeong-050 into Li, Kang, Ka, and Zhang.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Jeong-050 in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result as stated above in claim 9.
Li, Kang, Ka, Zhang, and Jeong-050 do not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 11.
However, in an analogous art, Park-626 teaches
(Original) The display device of claim 9, wherein
the second barrier layer includes a second lower barrier layer (276) on the
second resin layer and a second upper barrier layer (272) between the second lower barrier layer (276) and the buffer layer, and
the first data connection line (274 – Fig. 1 [0081] – “copper layer 274” – this is considered a data connection line) is between the second lower barrier layer (276) and the second upper barrier layer (272).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the barrier layer and data line structure as taught by Park-626 into Li, Kang, Ka, Zhang, and Jeong-050.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Park-626 in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result as stated above in claim 9.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Kang, Ka, Zhang, Jeong-050, and Kim et al. (US 20200313102 A1 – hereinafter Kim-102).
Regarding claim 12, Li, as modified by Kang, Ka, Zhang, and Jeong-050, teaches claim 9 from which claim 12 depends. Li, Kang, Ka, Zhang, and Jeong-050 do not expressly disclose the limitations of claim 12.
However, in an analogous art, Kim-102 teaches
(Original) The display device of claim 9, wherein the first data connection
line (DL – Fig. 3 – [0050] – “data wires DL” – this is considered to contain a data connection line) is between the second barrier layer (160 – Fig. 3 – [0101] – “planarization layer 160 made of the organic material” – this is considered to also perform as a buffer layer since it is made of organic material) and the buffer layer (120 – Fig. 3 – [0053] – “buffer layer 120”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the barrier layer and data line structure as taught by Kim-102 into Li, Kang, Ka, Zhang, and Jeong-050.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Kim-102 in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result of [0042] - "data wires DL for transmitting signals to the pixel" that are protected from outside moisture.
To do so would have merely been to apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results, KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), MPEP 2143 I. D.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Kang, Ka, Zhang, and Chung et al . (US 20090167976 A1 – hereinafter Chung).
Regarding claim 15, Li, as modified by Kang, Ka, and Zhang, teaches claim 1 from which claim 15 depends. Li further teaches
(Previously Presented) The display device of claim 1, wherein
the display panel (10) further includes a data transmission line (107 – Fig. 14 – [0081] – “data lines 107”) in the second pad area (PA2) and electrically connecting the second data driving chip (108b) and the circuit board (112 – Fig. 14 shows this).
Li, Kang, and Ka do not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 15.
However, in an analogous art, Chung teaches
the data transmission line (422a – Fig. 3A – [0019] – “data line portion 422a” – this corresponds to a transmission line) is on a different layer ([0035] – “the data connection line 520 and the front data line portion 422a are positioned in different layers in the direction perpendicular to the surface of the array substrate 410 and are separated by an insulating layer therebetween”) from the first data connection line (520 – Fig. 3A – [0035] – “data connection line 520”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the data transmission line location as taught by Chung into Li, Kang, Ka, and Zhang.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Chung in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result of [0035] - "data
connection line 520 and the front data line portion 422a are not in an electrical connection when repair is not carried out with the repair line".
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Kang, Ka, Zhang, and Lee et al. (US 20170162126 A1 – hereinafter Lee-126)
Regarding claim 18, Li, as modified by Kang, Ka, and Zhang, teaches claim 1 from which claim 18 depends. Li further teaches
the first pad area (PA1),
the second pad area (PA2),
the circuit board (112).
Li, Kang, Ka, and Zhang do not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 18.
However, in an analogous art, Lee-126 teaches
(Previously Presented) The display device of claim 1, wherein the
display panel further includes:
a driving voltage line (153 – Fig. 1 – {[0112] – “power wires 150 transmit the
first power-supply voltage ELVDD”}, {[0053] – “power wires 150 include a first path wire 151, second path wires 152 and 152′, a third path wire 153”} – 153 is a driving voltage line) extending in the first direction (x – Fig. 1 – [0048] – “direction x” – this corresponds to the first direction) and partially overlapping the first non-folding portion (Fig. 1 annotated, see below – this is considered a non-folding portion, hereinafter ‘NFP’); and
a power connection line (161 – Fig. 1 – [0063] – “power wires 160 include sixth path wires 161 and 161′”) including a first end portion positioned in the first pad area and a second end portion positioned in the second pad area, and electrically connecting the driving voltage line (153) and the circuit board (Lee-126 does not teach a notch and separate pad areas however the configuration on line 161 would be obvious to use with a notch and separate pad areas as shown below in Fig. 1 annotated).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the voltage and power line structure as taught by Lee-126 into Li, Kang, Ka, and Zhang.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Lee-126 in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result of [0026] - "the
first power wire transmits a first power-supply voltage for driving the pixels".
Regarding claim 19, Li, as modified by Kang, Ka, Zhang, and Lee-126, teaches claim 1 from which claim 18 depends. Li, Kang, Ka, and Zhang do not expressly disclose the limitations of claim 18.
However, in an analogous art, Lee-126 teaches
(Original) The display device of claim 18, wherein the power connection
line (161) is on a same layer as the first data connection line (Fig. 3 – [0016] – “The IC body includes a data line region and a power line region in the second direction, the input bumpers and the output bumpers are disposed in the data line region, and the power line region corresponds to a region in which the first path wire and the sixth path wire are disposed”}, {[0074] – “The output wires 172 may connect a plurality of data lines” – these are considered data lines}, {[0079] – “space S formed in the power line region PL”} – this shows the power line and data line regions with space S as the only region for lines to occupy therefore power and data lines are in the same layer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the power and data line structure as taught by Lee-126 into Li, Kang, Ka, and Zhang.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Lee-126 in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result of [0026] - "a
display device includes a plurality of pixels. A driving integrated circuit (IC) is configured
to generate a data voltage for driving the pixels. A display substrate includes a display
region and a driving IC region, wherein the pixels are disposed in the display region and
the driving IC is disposed in the driving IC region". Placing the power and data connection lines in the same layer would also ease manufacturing and lower costs.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho er al. (US 20180068612 A1 – hereinafter Cho) in view of Kang, Li, Ka, and Zhang.
Regarding independent claim 21, Cho teaches:
(Currently amended) An electronic device (500 – Fig. 11 – [0090] –
“electronic device 500”) comprising:
a display device (560 – Fig. 11 – [0090] – “display device 560”) displaying an
image; and
a processor (510 – Fig. 11 – [0090] – “processor 510”) performing computing
functions ([0091] – “The processor 510 may perform various computing functions. The processor 510 may control a displaying operation of the rollable display device 560”) for the display device (560),
wherein the display device includes:
a display panel having a first non-folding portion, a first folding portion, a second
non-folding portion, a second folding portion, and a third non-folding portion arranged along a first direction, wherein each of the first to third non-folding portions has a display area, a bending area extending along a second direction crossing the first direction, and a pad area connected to the display area with the bending area interposed therebetween;
a first data driving chip on a first pad area of the first non-folding portion;
a second data driving chip on a second pad area of the second non-folding portion;
a third data driving chip on a third pad area of the third non-folding portion;
a circuit board attached on any one of the first to third pad areas and electrically connected to the first to third data driving chips; and
a first notch overlapping a first folding axis aligned with the first folding portion in the second direction and concave inward that is between the first pad area and the second pad area of the display panel,
wherein the display panel includes:
data lines transmitting data signals provided from the first to third data driving chips to pixels; and
a first data connection line including a first end portion in the first pad area and a second end portion in the second pad area, and electrically connecting the first data driving chip and the circuit board, and
wherein the first data connection line extends around the first notch and across the first folding axis overlapping the first notch such that the first data connection line extends in the second direction in the first non-folding portion, extends in the first direction across the first folding portion and the first notch, and extends in the second direction in the second non-folding portion.
Cho does not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 21.
However, in an analogous art, Kang teaches
wherein the display device (200 – Fig. 4 – [0061] – “foldable display device
200”) includes:
a display panel (PDP – [0004] – “plasma display panel device (PDP)”) having a
first non-folding portion (Fig. 4 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘NFP1’), a first folding portion (Fig. 4 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘FP1’), a second non-folding portion (Fig. 4 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘NFP2’), a second folding portion (Fig. 4 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘FP2’), and a third non-folding portion (Fig. 4 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘NFP3’) arranged along a first direction (Fig. 4 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘D1’), wherein each of the first to third (NFP1-3) non-folding portions has a display area (Fig. 4 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘DA1’, ‘DA2’, ‘DA3’), a bending area (BA – Fig. 1 – [0048] – “bending area BA”) extending along a second direction (Fig. 4 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘D2’) crossing the first direction (D1), and a pad area (PA – Fig. 1 – Fig. – [0048] – “pad area PA”) connected to the display area (DA – Fig. 1 – [0044] – “display area DA”) with the bending area (BA) interposed therebetween;
a first pad area (PA1 – Fig. 4 – [0049] – “first pad area PA1”) of the first non-folding portion (NFP1);
a second pad area (PA2 – Fig. 4 – [0049] – “second pad area PA2”) of the second non-folding portion (NFP2);
a third pad area (PA3 – Fig. 4 shows this as PA3) of the third non-folding portion (NFP3);
a circuit board (131 – Fig. 2 – [0049] – “circuit board 131” – this is 231 in Fig. 4) attached on any one of the first to third pad areas (PA1-3),
a first notch (Fig. 4 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘NT1’) overlapping a first folding axis (FL1 – Fig. 4 – [0063] – “folding line FL1”) aligned with the first folding portion (FP1) in the second direction (D2) and concave inward that is between the first pad area (PA1) and the second pad area (PA2) of the display panel (PDP).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the pad and notch area structure as taught by Kang into Cho.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Kang in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result of [0017] - "the flexible printed circuit board disposed in a pad area extending from the bending area does not overlap. Therefore, the signal interference is minimized.”
Cho and Kang do not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 21.
However, in an analogous art, Li teaches
a first data driving chip (108a – Fig. 17 – [0054] – “first driver chip 108a”) on a first pad area of the first non-folding portion;
a second data driving chip (108b – Fig. 17 – [0054] – “second driver chip 108b”) on a second pad area of the second non-folding portion;
a third data driving chip ([0080] – “The first circuit board 109a, the second circuit board 109b, and the third circuit board 109c are connected to one another through an adapter flexible circuit board 110. The second circuit board 109b is also connected to a mainboard 112” – hereinafter ‘108c’) on a third pad area of the third non-folding portion;
a circuit board attached on any one of the first to third pad areas and electrically connected to the first to third data driving chips (108a-c); and
data lines (107) transmitting data signals provided from the first to third data driving chips (108a-c) to pixels ([0051] – “the driver chip 108 can be configured to coordinate and deal with screen splitting of pixels of the display screen 11” – hereinafter ‘PX’).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the data driving chips, circuit board, and data lines structure as taught by Li into Cho and Kang.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Li in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result of [0003] – “a folding display panel and a display device to change the single folding configuration of the folding screen.”
Cho, Kang, and Li do not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 21.
However, in an analogous art, Ka teaches
a first data connection line (S1 – Fig. 5 – [0148] – “scan line S1” – this is a data connection line) including a first end portion (S1a – Fig. 5 – [0148] – “first portion S1a may be disposed in the first pixel area PXA1”) in the first pad area and a second end portion (S1b – Fig. 5 – [0148] – “second portion S1b may be disposed in the second pixel area PXA2”) in the second pad area, and electrically connecting the first data driving chip and the circuit board, and
wherein the first data connection line extends around ([0202] – “scan line S being arranged in various notches NH shapes in the notch peripheral area NPA”) the first notch.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the connection line structure as taught by Ka into Cho, Kang, and Li.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Ka in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result of [0005] – “a display apparatus that includes areas having different surface areas from each other, and with increased brightness uniformity.”
Cho, Kang, Li ,and Ka do not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 21.
However, in an analogous art, Zhang teaches
wherein the first data connection line (111 – Fig. 2 – [0028] – “scan lines 111” – this is a data line) extends around the first notch (450 – Fig. 2 – [0035] – “the notch area 100” – Fig. 2 shows this) and across the first folding axis overlapping the first notch such that the first data connection line (111) extends in the second direction (Fig. 2 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘D2’) in the first non-folding portion (450 – Fig. 2 – [0035] – “the notch area 100 further includes a trace area 450” – this corresponds to a non-folding section), extends in the first direction (Fig. 2 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘D1’) across the first folding portion and the first notch (450) , and extends in the second direction (D2) in the second non-folding portion (Fig. 2 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘NF2’ – although Zhang does not fold, it describes the connection line structure around a notch).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the connection line structure as taught by Zhang into Cho, Kang, Li ,and Ka.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Zhang in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result as stated above in claim 1.
Pertinent Art
For the benefits of the Applicant, US 10707280 B2, US 20140117314 A1, US
20200315015 A1, US20190067404 A1, US20190123114 A1, and US20200135833 A1 and are cited on the record as being pertinent to significant disclosure through some but not all claimed features of the defined invention. These references fail to disclose the combination of limitations including "folding area" or “bending area”.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
examiner should be directed to GARY ABEL whose telephone number is (571) 272-0246. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8:00 am - 5:00 pm (Eastern).
/GRA/
Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/CHAD M DICKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897