Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that there is no articulated or apparent reason to make the specific borazine-to-aryl substitution in compound 12, and simply that a particular substitution could be made is not a reasoning as to as to why the substitution should be made. This argument is not convincing. The claimed compounds are the same as Compound 12 using a substituent not included in the claimed list of substituents. Shin also teaches that the disclosed compounds can have an aryl group in place of the cyclic borazine group. This is the rationale for using the claimed aryl substituents. To say that one would have no specific reason to use the aryl substituted groups is to say that one should ignore the explicit teachings of Shin. Applicant cites MPEP 2144 to say that simply stating art recognized equivalence is not sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. But MPEP 2144(I) begins with the heading that says “Rationale may be in a reference, or reasoned from common knowledge in the art, scientific principles, art-recognized equivalents, or legal precedent” (emphasis added), and states, “[t]he rationale to modify or combine the prior art does not have to be expressly stated in the prior art; the rationale may be expressly or impliedly contained in the prior art or it may be reasoned from knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art, established scientific principles, or legal precedent established by prior case law” (emphasis added). Shin teaches the claimed compounds with a different substituent, and teaches that the claimed substituents may be used. Why one would not have a reasonable expectation of success when using a different substituent when Shin explicitly teaches that that other substituent is suitable?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 10-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al (US 12035617 B2, US 20210359227 A1).
Shin discloses an OLED comprising a first and second electrode and organic layers therebetween and the organic layers comprising an organometallic compound [abstract] having the general structures Formula 1-2a and Formula 1-7b [col 4 lines 5-15, col 6 lines 6-7]:
wherein Ar2 and Ar3 includes aromatic hydrocarbon groups of 6 to 30 forming carbons [col 2 lines 15-27]. A demonstrative specific compound is disclosed:
[compound 12, col 33 lines 50-65] which reads on the claimed Formula 1 wherein M1 is Pt, Ra is phenyl, C2 is phenyl, C1 is phenyl. The difference with the claimed Formula 1, is that compound 12 includes a cyclic borazine group in the place of R1 of claimed formula 1. Shin discloses that the cyclic borazine group may alternatively be a C6 or greater aryl group based on phenyl S1 [col 9]:
, wherein S1 reads on the claimed R1 as a substituted or unsubstituted C6 to C30 aryl group. Furthermore, r1 in Formula 1-7b may be zero [col 24 lines 39-40] and so the substitution is not required, which reads on the general formula 1-1A of claim 3. The disclosed substituents may be further substituted by alkyl and aryl groups [col 2 lines 17-27] which includes t-butyl groups, phenyl group groups, biphenyl, terphenyl and other common substituents in the art [col 16 line 53 – col 17 line 36].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of Applicant’s invention to have prepared the claimed organometallic compound, with all of the claimed substituents, and OLED thereof, because Shin discloses each of the elements of the claimed structures arranged in the same way in the above cited formulae. If Applicant argues that the claimed embodiments are not disclosed with sufficient specificity and that examiner is picking and choosing with improper hindsight, Examiner notes that the rejection is made under 35 USC 103 obviousness. The claims are obvious over the combination of elements disclosed, and the mere fact that a reference suggests a multitude of possible combinations does not in and of itself make any one of those combinations less obvious. Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989).
Shin also discloses a second a third compound [abstract] wherein the second compound includes HT hosts including carbazole structures of the instant claims
[col 44] and the third compound: includes ET hosts similar to the structures of instant claim 13:
[col 48]. Shin also discloses the emitting layer comprising a fluorescent emitter [col 53 line 62 et seq].
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al (US 20200119289 A1) in view of Shin et al (US 12035617 B2, US 20210359227 A1).
Lin discloses OLED devices comprising platinum phosphorescent emitters, similar to those Shin:
[abstract]. Lin also discloses the emitting layer further comprising a thermally activated delayed fluorescence, i.e., TADF emitter [0096-0099, 0129].
Lin does not disclose the specific emitters of the claims.
Shin, discussed above, discloses the claimed phosphorescent emitters. Shin discloses that the disclosed emitters provides improvement to efficiency of an OLED device [col 77 lines 47-51].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of Applicant’s invention to have used the claimed organometallic compound of Formula 1 as the phosphorescent emitters of Lin because Shin teaches that they provides improvement to efficiency of an OLED device.
Double Patenting
There is currently no ODP rejection over US 12035617 B2, because there is no single claim in the patent that discloses the instantly claimed Formula 1 with sufficient specificity to make obvious the instant claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MICHAEL M. DOLLINGER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1766
/MICHAEL M DOLLINGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766