Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
Applicant’s arguments and claim amendments submitted on November 28th, 2025 have been entered into the file. Currently claims 11, 10, 16, and 18 are amended, resulting in claims 1-20 pending for examination.
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed November 28th, 2025 have been entered into the file.
Applicant’s amendment to claim 18 has overcome the 35 USC § 112b rejections of claim 18 previously set forth in the Final Rejection mailed October 2nd, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 1, 10, and 16, the claims recites “wherein an area of a projection of an opening formed at the first end of the buffer surface is larger than an area of a projection an opening formed at the second end of the buffer surface.” The instant specification lacks support for this amendment. The instant drawings do not support the scope of the amended claim, as the drawings show only a one dimensional view of the electrode sheets. As area is measurement which accounts for two dimensions, the Examiner cannot determine without literal support from the disclosure if the area of the opening formed at the first end of the buffer surface is larger than an area of an opening formed at the second end of the buffer surface, the drawings do not illustrate the size of the opening in a second dimensions which is required to calculate area.
The Examiner recommends amending the instant claim to recite a difference in size between the projection of an opening formed at the first end of the buffer surface and a projection an opening formed at the second end of the buffer surface in a way in which highlights a length/diameter (a single dimension, which is supported by the disclosure, particularly in Figures 4-11) of the projection.
Regarding claims 2-9, 17-20, they are rejected based on their dependence on a previously rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goto (cited in previous office action, U.S. Patent No. 10367194 A1) in view of Hosoya (U.S. Patent Publication No. 20130143090 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Goto teaches an electrode sheet, comprising a current collector (Figure 1B, Element 101) and a first active material layer (Figure 1B, Element 102) coated on a first surface of the current collector (Paragraph 0014), wherein the first active material layer comprises a first buffer portion (plurality of projections and depressions provided in the negative electrode active material layer) (Paragraph 0014).
Goto teaches that the first active material layer comprises a buffer portion (projections and depressions), therefore the remainder of the active material layer will be equated with the instant main portion.
Goto teaches the main portion comprising a first inner surface and an outer surface opposite to each other, the first inner surface is attached to the current collector, the outer surface is parallel to the first inner surface, and the first active material layer has a height (H1) that is a vertical distance from the outer surface to the first inner surface, as seen in the annotated Figure of Goto below.
Annotated Figure 1B of Goto
Goto teaches the first buffer portion comprises a second inner surface, a buffer surface, and an inner wall surface defining a first groove of the first buffer portion, the second inner surface is connected to the first inner surface, the second inner surface is attached to the current collector, and the outer surface is parallel to the second inner surface, as seen in the annotated Figure of Goto below.
Annotated Figure 1B of Goto
Goto teaches a first end of the buffer surface is connected to the outer surface, a second end of the buffer surface is connected to the inner wall surface, as seen in the annotated Figure below.
Goto teaches a height of the inner wall surface is smaller than the height of the first active material layer, as seen in the annotated Figure of Goto below.
Annotated Figure 1B of Goto
Goto is silent as to an area of a projection of an opening formed at the first end of the buffer surface is larger than an area of a projection of an opening formed at the second end of the buffer surface.
However, Goto teaches a width W1 between adjacent depressions (Figure 1B) which is desirably small to absorbing the expansion of the negative electrode active material. However when the width W1 is too small, Goto teaches the negative electrode capacity and energy density of the battery is decreased (Paragraph 0070).
Goto further teaches a width W2 of the depressions in the negative electrode active material layer (Figure 1B). Goto teaches that a larger width is desired in order to absorb the expansion of the negative electrode active material, however when the width is too large, the negative electrode capacity and energy density of the battery is decreased (Paragraph 0071).
As see in Figure 1B of Goto, the width of the depression W2 corresponds to the width of the opening formed at the first end of the buffer surface, shown below.
Annotated Modification of Suzuki by Goto
The ordinary artisan would recognize that in order to obtain the desired results of absorbing the expansion of the electrode active material as described by Goto, the width W2 of the depressions would be increased while the width W1 between depressions would decrease according to the teachings of Goto. Therefore, absent criticality or unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the width of the depression (opening at the first end of the buffer surface) in the electrode active material layer of Goto since it has been held that where general conditions of a claim are discloses in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05.
In the present invention, one would have been motivated to optimize the width of the depression in the electrode active material layer in order to sufficiently absorb the expansion of the layer during charging and discharging while also maintaining negative electrode capacity and energy density of the battery. By increasing the width of the opening at the first end of the buffer surface as taught by Goto, the area of the opening also increases.
Further, Hosoya discloses a plurality of openings formed in the electrode active material layer which assist in reducing the stress applied as the battery is wound, preventing deterioration of the electrode sheet (Paragraph 0019). As seen in Figures 5A-D, Hosoya teaches a variety of suitable shapes and configurations of the cross section of the buffer portion (openings) in the active material layer. Hosoya teaches the buffer portions having a taper shape in which the sidewalls of the buffer portions are inclined, which helps with adhesion between the electrode layer and the current collector as well as reduces stress upon winding (Paragraph 0066). Further, Hosoya exemplifies in Figure 5B, an embodiment which is suitable in which the width of the buffer at the outer surface is larger than the width of the buffer at the inner surface, as shown below.
Figure 5B of Hosoya
Therefore, it would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the buffer portion of Goto to incorporate the teachings of Hosoya in which the buffer surfaces are inclined. Doing so would advantageously result in improved adhesion of the electrode material layer to the current collector and reduced stress of the electrode upon battery winding, as recognized by Hosoya.
Taking into account the teachings of Goto in which:
the width of the buffer portion, W2, is increased and the distance between buffer portions, W1, is decreased
and the teachings of Hosoya in which:
the buffer portion is tapered and comprises an inclined surface
the width of the buffer at the outer surface is larger than the width of the buffer at the inner surface,
the ordinary artisan would recognize that by increasing the width W2 of the buffer portion of Goto, the distance between buffer portions, W1, decreases which is taught as advantageous by Goto and the buffer portion comprises an inclined surface, which is taught by advantageous as Hosoya. Thus, Goto in view of Hosoya motivates the modification shown below in which the buffer surfaces are inclined to increase W2, meeting the instant claimed limitations of an area of a projection of an opening formed at the first end of the buffer surface is larger than an area of a projection of an opening formed at the second end of the buffer surface.
Annotated Modification of Goto by Hosoya
Regarding claim 2, modified Goto teaches the electrode sheet as discussed above with respect to claim 1, wherein the buffer surface comprises an inclined surface according to the teachings of Hosoya which modified Goto, as illustrated in the Figure below.
Enlarged Modification of Goto by Hosoya
Regarding claim 3, modified Goto teaches the electrode sheet as discussed above with respect to claim 2, wherein a vertical distance from a point on the buffer surface to the second inner surface is less than the height of the first active material layer, as illustrated in the annotated figure below.
Enlarged Modification of Goto by Hosoya
Regarding claim 4, modified Goto teaches the electrode sheet as discussed above with respect to claim 1, including an inner wall surface of the first buffer portion. As seen in the illustrated figure below representing the buffer portion of Goto after modification according to the teachings of Hosoya, the inner wall surface of the first buffer portion comprises a first wall surface, a second wall surface, and a third wall surface. Modified Goto teaches the first wall surface is opposite to the second wall surface, the third wall surface connects the first wall surface and the second wall surface. As shown in the figure below, the buffer surface is connected to the first and the second wall surfaces, meeting the instant claimed limitations.
Goto Modified by Hosoya
Regarding claim 6, modified Goto teaches the electrode sheet as discussed above with respect to claim 1.
Goto teaches the electrode active material layer may be formed on both surfaces of the negative electrode current collector as illustrated in Figures 2C-D in order to increase the capacity of the secondary battery (Paragraph 0073).
Therefore, as seen in the annotated Figure 2C of Goto below, Goto teaches a second active material layer provided on a second surface of the current collector opposite to the first surface of the current collector, wherein the second active material layer comprises a second buffer portion, and the second buffer portion comprises a second groove, meeting the instant claimed limitations.
Annotated Figure 2C of Goto
Regarding claim 7, modified Goto teaches the electrode sheet as discussed above with respect to claim 6.
Goto teaches that when the electrode active material layer is formed on both surfaces of the current collector, it is preferable that the positions of the depressions in one surface of the negative electrode active material layer do not align with those of the depressions in the other surface of the negative electrode active material layer as illustrated in FIGS. 2C and 2D in order to preserve strength of the electrode (Paragraph 0074). Thus, Goto teaches the first buffer portion and the second buffer portion are arranged in having an offset with each other.
Regarding claim 8, modified Goto teaches the electrode sheet as discussed above with respect to claim 6, wherein the first groove extends upward from the first surface of the current collector, and the second groove extends downward from the second surface of the current collector. An upward or downward extension is a matter of perspective, therefore because the first groove extends in a direction from the first surface of the current collector and the second groove extends in a direction from the second surface of the current collector, Goto teaches the claimed limitations, as shown in the annotated figure below.
Annotated Figure 2C of Goto
Regarding claim 9, modified Goto teaches the electrode sheet as discussed above with respect to claim 6.
As seen in Figures 2C and 2D of Goto, Goto teaches the instant claimed limitation of the second buffer portion and the first buffer portion having a same structure.
Regarding claim 10, Goto teaches a winding battery core (battery element), comprising a separator (Figure 11B, Element 605) and two electrode sheets (Figure 11B, Elements 604 and 606), wherein the separator is arranged between the two electrode sheets (Paragraph 0147).
Goto teaches because the electrodes of the cylindrical battery are wound, active materials are formed on both sides of the current collectors (Paragraph 0148), meeting the instant claimed limitations of each of the two electrode sheets comprise a current collector and a first active material layer coated on a first surface of the current collector.
As discussed above in the rejection of claim 1, Goto in view of Hosoya teaches a negative electrode sheet comprising a first active material layer coated on a first surface of the current collector, wherein
the first active material layer comprises a main portion and a first buffer portion connected to each other,
the main portion comprises a first inner surface and an outer surface opposite to each other, the first inner surface is attached to the current collector, the outer surface is parallel to the first inner surface, and the first active material layer has a height that is a vertical distance from the outer surface to the first inner surface, and
the first buffer portion comprises a second inner surface, a buffer surface, and an inner wall surface defining a first groove of the first buffer portion, the second inner surface is connected to the first inner surface, the second inner surface is attached to the current collector, the outer surface is parallel to the second inner surface, a first end of the buffer surface is connected to the outer surface, a second end of the buffer surface is connected to the inner wall surface, a height of the inner wall surface is smaller than the height of the first active material layer, wherein an area of a projection of an opening formed at the first end of the buffer surface is larger than an area of a projection of an opening formed at the second end of the buffer surface.
Goto is silent as to the first active material layer coated on a first surface of the current collector of the second electrode sheet (positive electrode) comprises the features as discussed above with respect to the first electrode sheet (negative electrode).
However, as discussed above, Hosoya discloses a plurality of openings formed in the electrode active material layer which assist in reducing the stress applied as the battery is wound, preventing deterioration of the electrode sheet (Paragraph 0019). Hosoya teaches that the cross sectional structure of the electrodes shown in Figures 5A-D (discussed above) can be applied to both the positive and negative electrode sheet. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify Goto to incorporate the teachings of Hosoya in which the second electrode sheet (positive electrode) comprises the structural features as discussed above with respect to the first electrode sheet (negative electrode), particularly relating the components of the main and first buffer portions in order to minimize stress as the battery is wound, meeting the instant claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 11, modified Goto teaches the winding battery core as discussed above with respect to claim 10, wherein the buffer surface comprises an inclined surface, as discussed above in the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 12, modified Goto teaches the winding battery core as discussed above with respect to claim 11, wherein a vertical distance from a point on the buffer surface to the second inner surface is less than the height of the first active material layer, as discussed above in the rejection of claim 3.
Regarding claim 13, modified Goto teaches the winding battery core as discussed above with respect to claim 1. As discussed above in the rejection of claim 4, Goto teaches the inner wall surface of the first buffer portion comprises a first wall surface, a second wall surface, and a third wall surface, the first wall surface is opposite to the second wall surface, the third wall surface connects the first wall surface and the second wall surface, and the buffer surface is connected to at least one of the first wall surface, the second wall surface, and the third wall surface.
Regarding claim 14, modified Goto teaches the winding battery core as discussed above with respect to claim 10.
As discussed above in the rejection of claim 6, Goto teaches a second active material layer provided on a second surface of the current collector opposite to the first surface of the current collector, wherein the second active material layer comprises a second buffer portion, and the second buffer portion comprises a second groove.
Regarding claim 15, modified Goto teaches the winding battery core as discussed above with respect to claim 10.
As discussed above in the rejection of claim 8, Goto teaches the first groove extends upward from the first surface of the current collector and the second groove extends downward from the second surface of the current collector.
Regarding claim 16, Goto teaches a battery (Paragraph 00146), comprising a winding battery core (battery element) comprising a separator (Figure 11B, Element 605) and two electrode sheets (Figure 11B, Elements 604 and 606), wherein the separator is arranged between the two electrode sheets (Paragraph 0147).
Goto teaches because the electrodes of the cylindrical battery are wound, active materials are formed on both sides of the current collectors (Paragraph 0148), meeting the instant claimed limitations of each of the two electrode sheets comprise a current collector and a first active material layer coated on a first surface of the current collector.
As discussed above in the rejection of claim 1, Goto in view of Hosoya teaches a negative electrode sheet comprising a first active material layer coated on a first surface of the current collector, wherein
the first active material layer comprises a main portion and a first buffer portion connected to each other,
the main portion comprises a first inner surface and an outer surface opposite to each other, the first inner surface is attached to the current collector, the outer surface is parallel to the first inner surface, and the first active material layer has a height that is a vertical distance from the outer surface to the first inner surface, and
the first buffer portion comprises a second inner surface, a buffer surface, and an inner wall surface defining a first groove of the first buffer portion, the second inner surface is connected to the first inner surface, the second inner surface is attached to the current collector, the outer surface is parallel to the second inner surface, a first end of the buffer surface is connected to the outer surface, a second end of the buffer surface is connected to the inner wall surface, a height of the inner wall surface is smaller than the height of the first active material layer, wherein an area of a projection of an opening formed at the first end of the buffer surface is larger than an area of a projection of an opening formed at the second end of the buffer surface.
As discussed above in the rejection of claim 10, Goto in view of Hosoya teaches each of the two electrode sheets comprises a first active material layer coated on a first surface of the current collector comprising the features as discussed above.
Regarding claim 17, modified Goto teaches the battery as discussed above with respect to claim 16.
As discussed above in the rejection of claim 2, Goto teaches the buffer surface comprises an inclined surface.
Regarding claim 18, modified Goto teaches the battery as discussed above with respect to claim 16.
As discussed above in the rejection of claim 4, Goto teaches the inner wall surface of the first buffer portion comprises a first wall surface, a second wall surface, and a third wall surface, the first wall surface is opposite to the second wall surface, the third wall surface connects the first wall surface and the second wall surface, and the buffer surface is connected to at least one of the first wall surface, the second wall surface, and the third wall surface.
Regarding claim 19, modified Goto teaches the battery as discussed above with respect to claim 16.
As discussed above in the rejection of claim 6, Goto teaches a second active material layer provided on a second surface of the current collector opposite to the first surface of the current collector, wherein the second active material layer comprises a second buffer portion, and the second buffer portion comprises a second groove.
Regarding claim 20, modified Goto teaches the battery as discussed above with respect to claim 19.
As discussed above in the rejection of claim 8, Goto teaches the first groove extends upward from the first surface of the current collector and the second groove extends downward from the second surface of the current collector.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goto and Hosoya as applied to claims 1-4, 6-20 above, and as evidenced by the Merriam Webster Definition of “integrate” and “integral”.
Regarding claim 5, Goto teaches the electrode sheet as discussed above with respect to claim 1.
The Merriam Webster definition of integrate is “to incorporate into a larger unit” and the definition of integral is “composed of constituent parts.” As discussed previously, Goto teaches the electrode sheet comprising projections and depressions (buffer portion) with the remainder of the active material layer considered the instant claims “main portion”. As both the buffer portion and the main portion together form the electrode active material layer of the electrode sheet of Goto, they are considered to integrated in order to form an integral structure, meeting the instant claimed limitations.
Response to Arguments
For clarity of the record, the arguments submitted with the amended claims entered in this Office Action, submitted in the Response after Final Action received November 13th, 2025 are included below.
Response – Claim Rejections 35 USC § 103
In the response filed November 13th, 2025 applicant alleges that, regarding claim 1, the tip or point of the V-shaped grove of the primary reference of Suzuki is not a surface, and therefore cannot be reasonable interpreted as the claimed second surface.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Suzuki have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In the response filed November 13th, 2025 applicant alleges that, regarding claim 1, the portion of the inner wall surface attached to the current collector of Goto is not a surface, and therefore the buffer portion of Goto includes only two surfaces (lacking the second inner surface).
These arguments have been fully considered but are not found persuasive.
In response to applicant's arguments, the examiner presents the projections and depressions of Goto as illustrated in Figure 1B include three surfaces. The buffer surface and inner wall surface form part of the projection/depression of Goto as illustrated in annotated Figure 1B of Goto presented in the Final Office Action mailed October 2nd, 2025 (and further included in the present Office Action above). Also seen in this figure is the horizontal portion of the projection/depression which joins each inner wall surface of the groove. This portion has some dimension, and is therefore considered a surface and equated with the second inner surface.
The response filed November 13thth, 2025 alleges that, regarding claim 1, prior art of record Suzuki and Goto, either alone or in combination failed to teach the newly amended limitation of "the second inner surface is attached to the current collector, the outer surface is parallel to the second inner surface."
In response to applicant’s arguments, the Examiner presents the rejection of amended claim 1 presented above in view of Goto and Hosoya in which the feature recited in the amended limitation is taught by the prior art.
Conclusion
/O.A.J./Examiner, Art Unit 1789
/MARLA D MCCONNELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1789