DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US Patent No 2009/0027302)in view of Soffer et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2011/0145451; hereinafter Soffer).
With reference to claim 1, Li discloses a system for screen sharing (see paragraph 34; Fig. 1) comprising:
at least one video port for connecting with a main screen (wire connection to projector screen; see paragraph 60; Fig. 8);
a first sharing port for connecting with a first sharing device (computer A) (capable of sharing with computer B through a wired connection; see paragraphs 17, 40; Figs. 5-7);
a second sharing port for connecting with a second sharing device (computer B) (capable of sharing with computer A through a wired connection; see paragraphs 17, 36; Figs. 5-7;
wherein the system is configured to control a data transmission between the first sharing port (computer A) and the second sharing port (computer B), so as to allow the first sharing device (computer A) connected to the first sharing port and the second sharing device (computer B) connected to the second sharing port to share their keyboard, mouse, network, mass storage, display, and multimedia capabilities (see paragraph 33, 46-48; Figs. 5-8),
wherein the system is a host-to-host bridging controller that simultaneously allows the first sharing device (computer A) to operate as a first host system and the second sharing device (computer B) to operate as a second host system (see paragraphs (58-59), so as to share their keyboard, mouse, network, mass storage, display, and multimedia capabilities (see paragraphs 33-34, 46-48)
wherein through the data transmission controlled by the system, the main screen (projector) is capable of displaying a first image (ABCD) in a mirroring or extending manner provided by the first sharing device (computer A) (see paragraph 60, 62; Fig. 8) and a second image in a mirroring or extending manner provided by the second sharing device (computer B) (see paragraphs 34, 60; Fig. 8), and the first sharing device (computer A) and the second sharing device (computer B) are capable of performing a synchronous operation on the first and the second images using the system to receive input from the first sharing device (computer A) or the second sharing device (computer B) to perform the synchronous operation on the first and second images (see paragraphs 44, 47, 55, 60-61; Figs. 4-8),
wherein, the synchronous operation on the first and second images performed by any one of the first sharing device and the second sharing device is synchronously displayed on all sharing devices in a mirroring or extending manner (see paragraphs 44, 47, 55, 60; Figs. 4-8), and
wherein, a corresponding input device (see paragraph 59) of any one of the first sharing device (computer A) and the second sharing device (computer B) may be used to perform the synchronous operation (see paragraphs 44, 47, 55, 60; Figs. 4-8), and an operational result of the synchronous operation is displayed on the main screen (projector) (see paragraphs 60-61; Figs. 4-8).
While teaching the system capable of synchronous operation of shared and/or extended screens of the connected host computers as explained above, Li fails to specifically disclose an interface extension device including the port connections and components as recited.
Soffer discloses an interface extension device (50, 110) for screen sharing (cables (34a, b) delivers the video output (84a, b) of host computers (2a, b) to a main display (4); see paragraphs 117, 126; Figs. 4-5) comprising:
at least one multi-function port (64a) (see paragraph 121; Figs. 4-5);
a multi-function control unit (70) connected to the at least one multi-function port (64a) and the first sharing port (35a) (see paragraphs 122-123, 137; Fig. 4-5);
a bridge unit (64b, 55) connected to the multi-function control unit (70) and the second sharing port (35b) (see paragraphs 122-123; Figs. 4-5); and
an image control unit (85) connected to the multi-function control unit (70; via controller (80); see paragraph 128; Fig. 5) and the at least one video port (55) (see paragraph 129; Fig. 5);
wherein the bridge unit (64b) is configured to control a data transmission between the first sharing port (64a) and the second sharing port (35b), so as to allow the first sharing device (2a) connected to the first sharing port (64a) and the second sharing device (2b) connected to the second sharing port (35b) see paragraphs 121-123; Fig. 5) to share their keyboard (6; see paragraph 123), mouse (5; see paragraph 123), network (8a, b; see paragraph 116; Figs. 4-7), mass storage (88; see paragraph 126), display (4; see paragraph 113; Figs. 4-7), and multimedia capabilities (HDMI (55); see paragraph 129);
wherein the bridge unit (64b) is a host-to-host bridging controller that allows the first sharing device (2a) to operate as a first USB host system and the second sharing device (2b) to operate as a second USB host system (see paragraphs 121-123; Figs. 10-14),
wherein through the data transmission controlled by the bridge unit (55), the main screen (4) is capable of displaying a first image provided by the first and second sharing device (2a, b)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to allow the usage of a sharing port similar to that which is taught by Suffer to allow sharing of connected devices in a system similar to that which is taught by Li to thereby simplify the usage of multiple input devices (see Suffer; paragraph 110).
With reference to claim 2, Li and Soffer disclose the interface extension device according to claim 1, wherein Soffer further discloses a power unit connected to the multi-function control unit and the image control unit, and connected to a power connection port (in teaching power input jack and power switch; see paragraphs 169-170).
With reference to claim 3, Li and Soffer disclose the interface extension device according to claim 1, wherein Soffer further discloses a USB base station (400, 230, 250, 260) which connects a host (2a, b) with an external device (4-6) including various ports for transferring data (see paragraphs 140, 158, 171, 177, 180; Figs. 1-4), wherein the first and second sharing ports are a USB Type-C port (in teaching Type-B ports, wherein port types are well-known; see paragraph 172; Figs. 10-14).
With reference to claim 4, Li and Soffer disclose the interface extension device according to claim 1, wherein Soffer further discloses a USB base station which connects a host (2a, b) with an external device (4-6) including various ports for transferring data see paragraphs 140, 158, 171, 177, 180; Figs. 1-4), wherein the at least one video port is an HDMI port (see paragraph 129; Figs. 10-14).
With reference to claim 6, Li and Soffer disclose the interface extension device according to claim 1, wherein Lin further discloses that the synchronous operation includes drag operation (see paragraphs 44, 46), click operation (see paragraph 54), zoom-in operation, and zoom-out operation (in teaching changing resolution; see paragraph 67; Fig 10).
With reference to claim 7, Li and Soffer disclose the interface extension device according to claim 1, wherein Soffer further discloses wherein the bridge unit is USB 3.0 host-to-host bridge controller (see paragraphs 161-163, 168, 172; Figs. 7, 10-14).
Claims 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li and Soffer as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shen (US Patent Publication No. 2022/0039550).
With reference to claim 5, Lin, Chang, Fujino, and Li disclose the interface extension device according to claim 1, however fails to disclose the recited ports.
Shen discloses a USB base station (200) which connects a host (106) with an external device including various ports for transferring data (see paragraphs 34-35, 37; Figs. 1-4), while wherein the at least one multi-function port includes a network port, a card reader port, and a USB 3.0 port (see paragraphs 37, 44, 46; Figs. 4-5).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1-7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
a. HUNDAL (US2019/0018811) discloses a system for enhancing power and connectivity functionality comprising an interface device comprising at least one video port, a multi-function port, a first and second sharing port, a multi-function control unit, a brig unit, and an image control unit, wherein the bridge unit allows data transmission between the first and second sharing device (see abstract; paragraphs 16-43; Figs. 1-5).
b. KILE, JR. et al. (US2023/0135704) discloses systems method and devices for enabling real-time gestures on shared canvases wherein a plurality of user devices may be granted access to a shared object such that if cursor movements or input device operations are transformed and rendered on canvases of each connected user device (see abstract, paragraphs 16-31; Figs. 1-5).
c. Bian (US2012/0030584) discloses a system for screen sharing wherein the screen is capable of displaying the image in the extending manner for one of the first sharing device and the second sharing device, and displaying the image in the mirroring manner for the remaining one of the first sharing device and the second sharing device (see paragraph 18).
d. HUNG et al. (US2011/0113166) discloses a USB intermediate device, such as a switch, selectively interconnects computers and console peripherals, wherein the USB switch allows selective sharing of one or more computer desktops among one or more displays, and allows selective sharing of storage or other peripherals among USB connected computers, whether the shared peripheral is internal to connected computer or connected to the switch (see abstract; paragraphs 26-78; Figs. 1-3).
Conclusion
/Alecia D English/ Examiner, Art Unit 2625 571-270-1595