Detailed Action
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings Objection
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitation “a second light blocking layer formed over the substrate surface of the substrate” “configured to be electrically conductive to receive the second bias voltage” in Claims 1 and 15 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 112
Claims 1-19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The newly added limitations “a second light blocking layer formed over the substrate surface of the substrate to block light from transmitting therethrough, and configured to be electrically conductive to receive the second bias voltage and transmit the received second bias voltage to the second electrode”, “a voltage level of the first bias voltage is higher than a voltage level of the second bias voltage” in Claims 1 and 15 are not supported by the specification as originally filed. Claims 2-14 and 16-19 depend from Claims 1 and 19.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claims 1 and 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2023/0089511) of record, in view of Lenchenkov (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2016/0381310) of record, in view of Brown (WO 2008096892) of record, in view of Gao (CN 120129313) of record.
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 18 of Chen discloses an image sensing device comprising: a substrate (250) including a substrate surface and a trench extending from the substrate surface; a plurality of photoelectric conversion elements (232) formed in the substrate and operable to convert incident light into photocharge (inherent); a first electrode (246 connecting 246a) formed in the trench and configured to receive a first bias voltage for suppressing a dark current [0010]; a second electrode (246 connecting 246b) formed in the trench and configured to receive a second bias voltage for suppressing the dark current [0028]; a first light blocking layer (246a) formed over the substrate surface of the substrate to block light from transmitting therethrough (to represent “true” black [0029]), and configured to be electrically connected to the first electrode; an active pixel region (232 not covered by 246a) that includes a plurality of active pixels to generate a signal that indicates an intensity of the incident light; and an optical black pixel region (232 covered by 246a) that includes a plurality of optical black pixels to generate a signal independent of the intensity of the incident light, wherein the first light blocking layer and the second light blocking layer are disposed over the optical black pixel region to cover the optical black pixel region, wherein the first light blocking layer and the second light blocking layer block light from entering the photoelectric conversion elements in the optical black pixel region (inherent).
With respect to “a second light blocking layer formed over the substrate surface of the substrate to block light from transmitting therethrough, and configured to be electrically conductive to receive the second bias voltage and transmit the received second bias voltage to the second electrode”, mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). See MPEP 2144.04.
Furthermore, FIG. 6 of Lenchenkov discloses a similar image sensing device, comprising a first light blocking layer (318) formed over the substrate surface of the substrate to block light from transmitting therethrough, and configured to be electrically conductive to receive the first bias voltage; a second light blocking layer (318 connected to 364) formed over the substrate surface of the substrate to block light from transmitting therethrough, and configured to be electrically conductive to receive the second bias voltage [0045].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chen, as taught by Lenchenkov. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Chen in the above manner for purpose of preventing undesired pixel crosstalk and degradation ([0005] of Lenchenkov).
The claim term “for suppressing a dark current” is functional, because it recites a feature "by what it does rather than by what it is" (e.g., as evidenced by its specific structure or specific ingredients). In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 210, 212, 169 USPQ 226, 229 (CCPA 1971). The structure recited in Chen is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Or where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977) and MPEP 2112.01-02.
Chen discloses “a bias voltage may be applied to the hybrid DTI structure to induce carrier accumulation and thus reducing dark current” [0010]; “where the first substrate 202 is a p-type substrate, the bias voltage 260 is a negative voltage” and “where the first substrate 202 is an n-type substrate, the bias voltage 260 is a positive voltage … to induce electron accumulation at the sidewall of the DTI structure 250” [0028], but is silent with respect to the first light blocking layer “configured to be electrically conductive to receive the first bias voltage and transmit the received first bias voltage to the first electrode” and “a voltage level of the first bias voltage is higher than a voltage level of the second bias voltage”. Chen further discloses the first light blocking layer covers the entire photoelectric conversion element underneath, while the second light blocking layer does not, but is silent with respect to the first light blocking layer “configured to be electrically conductive to receive the first bias voltage and transmit the received first bias voltage to the first electrode” and “a voltage level of the first bias voltage is higher than a voltage level of the second bias voltage”.
However, it is known in the art that a light shielding layer has the effect of increasing the photodiode dark current (Brown and Gao provide document evidences). In addition, FIG. 9 of Brown shows the dark current decreases with the bias voltage.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chen, as taught by Brown, such that a voltage level of the first bias voltage is higher than a voltage level of the second bias voltage. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Chen in the above manner for purpose of improving the maximum display image quality (text of Brown).
Regarding Claim 15
FIG. 18 of Chen discloses an image sensing device comprising: a pixel array including an active pixel region (excluding 246a) and an optical black pixel region (including 246a), the active pixel region including a plurality of active pixels that receive incident light and generate a signal that indicates an intensity of the received incident light, the optical black pixel region including a plurality of optical black pixels that include a first light blocking layer (246a) to block light from entering photoelectric conversion elements in the optical black pixel region and generate a signal independent of the intensity of the incident light received by the optical black pixel; a first electrode (246 including light blocking layer 246a, metal stands 246b and 246c, electrically connected each other) structured to include vertically extended portions (246b and 246c) disposed between adjacent pixels of active pixels and optical black pixels, and configured to receive a first bias voltage for suppressing a dark current generated in at least one of the active pixel region or the optical black pixel region [0028-0029]; and a bias generator (260) configured to generate the bias voltage [0028], wherein the first light blocking layer in the optical black pixel region is configured to be electrically conductive to receive the first bias voltage from the bias generator and transmit the received first bias voltage to the electrode [0029], and wherein the first light blocking layer is disposed over the optical black pixel region to entirely cover the optical black pixel region. Light blocking layers that are electrically conductive to receive a bias voltage and transmit the received bias voltage to the electrode have also been described in a number of references, see, e.g., WO 2021/164423 and CN 102024808.
With respect to “a second light blocking layer to block light from entering photoelectric conversion elements in the optical black pixel region and generate a signal independent of the intensity of the incident light received by the optical black pixel” and “the second light blocking layer in the optical black pixel region is configured to be electrically conductive to receive the second bias voltage from the bias generator and transmit the received second bias voltage to the second electrode”, mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). See MPEP 2144.04.
Furthermore, FIG. 6 of Lenchenkov discloses a similar image sensing device, comprising a first light blocking layer (318) formed over the substrate surface of the substrate to block light from transmitting therethrough, and configured to be electrically conductive to receive the first bias voltage; a second light blocking layer (318 connected to 364) formed over the substrate surface of the substrate to block light from transmitting therethrough, and configured to be electrically conductive to receive the second bias voltage [0045].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chen, as taught by Lenchenkov. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Chen in the above manner for purpose of preventing undesired pixel crosstalk and degradation ([0005] of Lenchenkov).
The claim term “for suppressing a dark current” is functional, because it recites a feature "by what it does rather than by what it is" (e.g., as evidenced by its specific structure or specific ingredients). In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 210, 212, 169 USPQ 226, 229 (CCPA 1971). The structure recited in Chen is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Or where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977) and MPEP 2112.01-02.
Chen discloses “a bias voltage may be applied to the hybrid DTI structure to induce carrier accumulation and thus reducing dark current” [0010]; “where the first substrate 202 is a p-type substrate, the bias voltage 260 is a negative voltage” and “where the first substrate 202 is an n-type substrate, the bias voltage 260 is a positive voltage … to induce electron accumulation at the sidewall of the DTI structure 250” [0028], but is silent with respect to the first light blocking layer “configured to be electrically conductive to receive the first bias voltage and transmit the received first bias voltage to the first electrode” and “a voltage level of the first bias voltage is higher than a voltage level of the second bias voltage”. Chen further discloses the first light blocking layer covers the entire photoelectric conversion element underneath, while the second light blocking layer does not, but is silent with respect to the first light blocking layer “configured to be electrically conductive to receive the first bias voltage and transmit the received first bias voltage to the first electrode” and “a voltage level of the first bias voltage is higher than a voltage level of the second bias voltage”.
However, it is known in the art that a light shielding layer has the effect of increasing the photodiode dark current (Brown and Gao provide document evidences). In addition, FIG. 9 of Brown shows the dark current decreases with the bias voltage.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chen, as taught by Brown, such that a voltage level of the first bias voltage is higher than a voltage level of the second bias voltage. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Chen in the above manner for purpose of improving the maximum display image quality (text of Brown).
Claims 1 and 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2023/0089511) of record, in view of Ogita (CN 11073925, machine-translation provided), in view of Brown (WO 2008096892) of record, in view of Gao (CN 120129313) of record.
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 18 of Chen discloses an image sensing device comprising: a substrate (250) including a substrate surface and a trench extending from the substrate surface; a plurality of photoelectric conversion elements (232) formed in the substrate and operable to convert incident light into photocharge (inherent); a first electrode (246 connecting 246a) formed in the trench and configured to receive a first bias voltage for suppressing a dark current [0010]; a second electrode (246 connecting 246b) formed in the trench and configured to receive a second bias voltage for suppressing the dark current [0028]; a first light blocking layer (246a) formed over the substrate surface of the substrate to block light from transmitting therethrough (to represent “true” black [0029]), and configured to be electrically connected to the first electrode; an active pixel region (232 not covered by 246a) that includes a plurality of active pixels to generate a signal that indicates an intensity of the incident light; and an optical black pixel region (232 covered by 246a) that includes a plurality of optical black pixels to generate a signal independent of the intensity of the incident light, wherein the first light blocking layer and the second light blocking layer are disposed over the optical black pixel region to cover the optical black pixel region, wherein the first light blocking layer and the second light blocking layer block light from entering the photoelectric conversion elements in the optical black pixel region (inherent).
With respect to “a second light blocking layer formed over the substrate surface of the substrate to block light from transmitting therethrough, and configured to be electrically conductive to receive the second bias voltage and transmit the received second bias voltage to the second electrode”, mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). See MPEP 2144.04.
Furthermore, FIG. 57 of Ogita discloses a similar image sensing device, comprising a first light blocking layer (63 connecting left 1051) formed over the substrate surface of the substrate to block light from transmitting therethrough, and configured to be electrically conductive to receive the first bias voltage; a second light blocking layer (63 connecting right 1051) formed over the substrate surface of the substrate to block light from transmitting therethrough, and configured to be electrically conductive to receive the second bias voltage (text: “supplying a negative bias voltage (voltage of the negative), by means of the through electrode 1061 and the inter-pixel shading film 63, negative bias is applied to DTI1051”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chen, as taught by Ogita. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Chen in the above manner for purpose of improving the character of the light receiving element (Abstract of Ogita).
The claim term “for suppressing a dark current” is functional, because it recites a feature "by what it does rather than by what it is" (e.g., as evidenced by its specific structure or specific ingredients). In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 210, 212, 169 USPQ 226, 229 (CCPA 1971). The structure recited in Chen is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Or where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977) and MPEP 2112.01-02.
Chen discloses “a bias voltage may be applied to the hybrid DTI structure to induce carrier accumulation and thus reducing dark current” [0010]; “where the first substrate 202 is a p-type substrate, the bias voltage 260 is a negative voltage” and “where the first substrate 202 is an n-type substrate, the bias voltage 260 is a positive voltage … to induce electron accumulation at the sidewall of the DTI structure 250” [0028]. Chen further discloses the first light blocking layer covers the entire photoelectric conversion element underneath, while the second light blocking layer does not, but is silent with respect to the first light blocking layer “configured to be electrically conductive to receive the first bias voltage and transmit the received first bias voltage to the first electrode” and “a voltage level of the first bias voltage is higher than a voltage level of the second bias voltage”.
However, it is known in the art that a light shielding layer has the effect of increasing the photodiode dark current (Brown and Gao provide document evidences). In addition, FIG. 9 of Brown shows the dark current decreases with the bias voltage.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chen, as taught by Brown, such that a voltage level of the first bias voltage is higher than a voltage level of the second bias voltage. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Chen in the above manner for purpose of improving the maximum display image quality (text of Brown).
Regarding Claim 15
FIG. 18 of Chen discloses an image sensing device comprising: a pixel array including an active pixel region (excluding 246a) and an optical black pixel region (including 246a), the active pixel region including a plurality of active pixels that receive incident light and generate a signal that indicates an intensity of the received incident light, the optical black pixel region including a plurality of optical black pixels that include a first light blocking layer (246a) to block light from entering photoelectric conversion elements in the optical black pixel region and generate a signal independent of the intensity of the incident light received by the optical black pixel; a first electrode (246 including light blocking layer 246a, metal stands 246b and 246c, electrically connected each other) structured to include vertically extended portions (246b and 246c) disposed between adjacent pixels of active pixels and optical black pixels, and configured to receive a first bias voltage for suppressing a dark current generated in at least one of the active pixel region or the optical black pixel region [0028-0029]; and a bias generator (260) configured to generate the bias voltage [0028], wherein the first light blocking layer in the optical black pixel region is configured to be electrically conductive to receive the first bias voltage from the bias generator and transmit the received first bias voltage to the electrode [0029], and wherein the first light blocking layer is disposed over the optical black pixel region to entirely cover the optical black pixel region. Light blocking layers that are electrically conductive to receive a bias voltage and transmit the received bias voltage to the electrode have also been described in a number of references, see, e.g., WO 2021/164423 and CN 102024808.
With respect to “a second light blocking layer to block light from entering photoelectric conversion elements in the optical black pixel region and generate a signal independent of the intensity of the incident light received by the optical black pixel” and “the second light blocking layer in the optical black pixel region is configured to be electrically conductive to receive the second bias voltage from the bias generator and transmit the received second bias voltage to the second electrode”, mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). See MPEP 2144.04.
Furthermore, FIG. 57 of Ogita discloses a similar image sensing device, comprising a first light blocking layer (63 connecting left 1051) formed over the substrate surface of the substrate to block light from transmitting therethrough, and configured to be electrically conductive to receive the first bias voltage; a second light blocking layer (63 connecting right 1051) formed over the substrate surface of the substrate to block light from transmitting therethrough, and configured to be electrically conductive to receive the second bias voltage (text: “supplying a negative bias voltage (voltage of the negative), by means of the through electrode 1061 and the inter-pixel shading film 63, negative bias is applied to DTI1051”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chen, as taught by Ogita. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Chen in the above manner for purpose of improving the character of the light receiving element (Abstract of Ogita).
The claim term “for suppressing a dark current” is functional, because it recites a feature "by what it does rather than by what it is" (e.g., as evidenced by its specific structure or specific ingredients). In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 210, 212, 169 USPQ 226, 229 (CCPA 1971). The structure recited in Chen is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Or where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977) and MPEP 2112.01-02.
Chen discloses “a bias voltage may be applied to the hybrid DTI structure to induce carrier accumulation and thus reducing dark current” [0010]; “where the first substrate 202 is a p-type substrate, the bias voltage 260 is a negative voltage” and “where the first substrate 202 is an n-type substrate, the bias voltage 260 is a positive voltage … to induce electron accumulation at the sidewall of the DTI structure 250” [0028]. Chen further discloses the first light blocking layer covers the entire photoelectric conversion element underneath, while the second light blocking layer does not, but is silent with respect to the first light blocking layer “configured to be electrically conductive to receive the first bias voltage and transmit the received first bias voltage to the first electrode” and “a voltage level of the first bias voltage is higher than a voltage level of the second bias voltage”.
However, it is known in the art that a light shielding layer has the effect of increasing the photodiode dark current (Brown and Gao provide document evidences). In addition, FIG. 9 of Brown shows the dark current decreases with the bias voltage.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chen, as taught by Brown, such that a voltage level of the first bias voltage is higher than a voltage level of the second bias voltage. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Chen in the above manner for purpose of improving the maximum display image quality (text of Brown).
Claims 1 and 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, in view of Lee (U.S. Patent No. 7,615,396) of record, in view of Brown, in view of Gao.
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 18 of Chen discloses an image sensing device comprising: a substrate (250) including a substrate surface and a trench extending from the substrate surface; a plurality of photoelectric conversion elements (232) formed in the substrate and operable to convert incident light into photocharge (inherent); a first electrode (246 connecting 246a) formed in the trench and configured to receive a first bias voltage for suppressing a dark current [0010]; a second electrode (246 connecting 246b) formed in the trench and configured to receive a second bias voltage for suppressing the dark current [0028]; a first light blocking layer (246a) formed over the substrate surface of the substrate to block light from transmitting therethrough (to represent “true” black [0029]), and configured to be electrically connected to the first electrode; an active pixel region (232 not covered by 246a) that includes a plurality of active pixels to generate a signal that indicates an intensity of the incident light; and an optical black pixel region (232 covered by 246a) that includes a plurality of optical black pixels to generate a signal independent of the intensity of the incident light, wherein the first light blocking layer and the second light blocking layer are disposed over the optical black pixel region to cover the optical black pixel region, wherein the first light blocking layer and the second light blocking layer block light from entering the photoelectric conversion elements in the optical black pixel region (inherent).
With respect to “a second light blocking layer formed over the substrate surface of the substrate to block light from transmitting therethrough, and configured to be electrically conductive to receive the second bias voltage and transmit the received second bias voltage to the second electrode”, mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). See MPEP 2144.04.
Furthermore, FIG. 4 of Lee discloses a similar image sensing device, comprising a first light blocking layer (left 112) formed over the substrate surface of the substrate to block light from transmitting therethrough, and configured to be electrically conductive to receive the first bias voltage; a second light blocking layer (right 112) formed over the substrate surface of the substrate to block light from transmitting therethrough, and configured to be electrically conductive to receive the second bias voltage (text: “supplying a negative bias voltage (voltage of the negative), by means of the through electrode 1061 and the inter-pixel shading film 63, negative bias is applied to DTI1051”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chen, as taught by Lee. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Chen in the above manner for purpose of preventing unwanted photo current generation (Col. 2, Lines 38-51 of Lee).
The claim term “for suppressing a dark current” is functional, because it recites a feature "by what it does rather than by what it is" (e.g., as evidenced by its specific structure or specific ingredients). In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 210, 212, 169 USPQ 226, 229 (CCPA 1971). The structure recited in Chen is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Or where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977) and MPEP 2112.01-02.
Chen discloses “a bias voltage may be applied to the hybrid DTI structure to induce carrier accumulation and thus reducing dark current” [0010]; “where the first substrate 202 is a p-type substrate, the bias voltage 260 is a negative voltage” and “where the first substrate 202 is an n-type substrate, the bias voltage 260 is a positive voltage … to induce electron accumulation at the sidewall of the DTI structure 250” [0028]. Chen further discloses the first light blocking layer covers the entire photoelectric conversion element underneath, while the second light blocking layer does not, but is silent with respect to the first light blocking layer “configured to be electrically conductive to receive the first bias voltage and transmit the received first bias voltage to the first electrode” and “a voltage level of the first bias voltage is higher than a voltage level of the second bias voltage”.
However, it is known in the art that a light shielding layer has the effect of increasing the photodiode dark current (Brown and Gao provide document evidences). In addition, FIG. 9 of Brown shows the dark current decreases with the bias voltage.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chen, as taught by Brown, such that a voltage level of the first bias voltage is higher than a voltage level of the second bias voltage. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Chen in the above manner for purpose of improving the maximum display image quality (text of Brown).
Regarding Claim 15
FIG. 18 of Chen discloses an image sensing device comprising: a pixel array including an active pixel region (excluding 246a) and an optical black pixel region (including 246a), the active pixel region including a plurality of active pixels that receive incident light and generate a signal that indicates an intensity of the received incident light, the optical black pixel region including a plurality of optical black pixels that include a first light blocking layer (246a) to block light from entering photoelectric conversion elements in the optical black pixel region and generate a signal independent of the intensity of the incident light received by the optical black pixel; a first electrode (246 including light blocking layer 246a, metal stands 246b and 246c, electrically connected each other) structured to include vertically extended portions (246b and 246c) disposed between adjacent pixels of active pixels and optical black pixels, and configured to receive a first bias voltage for suppressing a dark current generated in at least one of the active pixel region or the optical black pixel region [0028-0029]; and a bias generator (260) configured to generate the bias voltage [0028], wherein the first light blocking layer in the optical black pixel region is configured to be electrically conductive to receive the first bias voltage from the bias generator and transmit the received first bias voltage to the electrode [0029], and wherein the first light blocking layer is disposed over the optical black pixel region to entirely cover the optical black pixel region. Light blocking layers that are electrically conductive to receive a bias voltage and transmit the received bias voltage to the electrode have also been described in a number of references, see, e.g., WO 2021/164423 and CN 102024808.
With respect to “a second light blocking layer to block light from entering photoelectric conversion elements in the optical black pixel region and generate a signal independent of the intensity of the incident light received by the optical black pixel” and “the second light blocking layer in the optical black pixel region is configured to be electrically conductive to receive the second bias voltage from the bias generator and transmit the received second bias voltage to the second electrode”, mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). See MPEP 2144.04.
Furthermore, FIG. 4 of Lee discloses a similar image sensing device, comprising a first light blocking layer (left 112) formed over the substrate surface of the substrate to block light from transmitting therethrough, and configured to be electrically conductive to receive the first bias voltage; a second light blocking layer (right 112) formed over the substrate surface of the substrate to block light from transmitting therethrough, and configured to be electrically conductive to receive the second bias voltage (text: “supplying a negative bias voltage (voltage of the negative), by means of the through electrode 1061 and the inter-pixel shading film 63, negative bias is applied to DTI1051”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chen, as taught by Lee. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Chen in the above manner for purpose of preventing unwanted photo current generation (Col. 2, Lines 38-51 of Lee).
The claim term “for suppressing a dark current” is functional, because it recites a feature "by what it does rather than by what it is" (e.g., as evidenced by its specific structure or specific ingredients). In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 210, 212, 169 USPQ 226, 229 (CCPA 1971). The structure recited in Chen is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Or where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977) and MPEP 2112.01-02.
Chen discloses “a bias voltage may be applied to the hybrid DTI structure to induce carrier accumulation and thus reducing dark current” [0010]; “where the first substrate 202 is a p-type substrate, the bias voltage 260 is a negative voltage” and “where the first substrate 202 is an n-type substrate, the bias voltage 260 is a positive voltage … to induce electron accumulation at the sidewall of the DTI structure 250” [0028]. Chen further discloses the first light blocking layer covers the entire photoelectric conversion element underneath, while the second light blocking layer does not, but is silent with respect to the first light blocking layer “configured to be electrically conductive to receive the first bias voltage and transmit the received first bias voltage to the first electrode” and “a voltage level of the first bias voltage is higher than a voltage level of the second bias voltage”.
However, it is known in the art that a light shielding layer has the effect of increasing the photodiode dark current (Brown and Gao provide document evidences). In addition, FIG. 9 of Brown shows the dark current decreases with the bias voltage.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chen, as taught by Brown, such that a voltage level of the first bias voltage is higher than a voltage level of the second bias voltage. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Chen in the above manner for purpose of improving the maximum display image quality (text of Brown).
Claims 1-3, 10, 11 and 13-15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koo (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2014/0246707) of record, in view of Ogita.
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 11 of Koo discloses an image sensing device comprising: a substrate (2) including a substrate surface and a trench extending from the substrate surface; a plurality of photoelectric conversion elements (PD) formed in the substrate and operable to convert incident light into photocharge (inherent); a first electrode (13) formed in the trench and configured to receive a first bias voltage for suppressing a dark current [0053]; a second electrode (13a) formed in the trench and configured to receive a second bias voltage for suppressing the dark current [0053]; a first light blocking layer (50) formed over the substrate surface of the substrate to block light from transmitting therethrough [0069]; a second light blocking layer (132) formed over the substrate surface of the substrate to block light from transmitting therethrough, and configured to be electrically conductive to receive the second bias voltage and transmit the received second bias voltage to the second electrode; an active pixel (PD under 42) region that includes a plurality of active pixels to generate a signal that indicates an intensity of the incident light: and an optical black pixel (under 50) region that includes a plurality of optical black pixels to generate a signal independent of the intensity of the incident light, wherein the first light blocking layer and the second light blocking layer are disposed over the optical black pixel region to cover the optical black pixel region, wherein the first light blocking layer and the second light blocking layer block light from entering the photoelectric conversion elements in the optical black pixel region.
Koo is silent with respect to a first light blocking layer “configured to be electrically conductive to receive the bias voltage and transmit the received bias voltage to the electrode” and “a voltage level of the first bias voltage is higher than a voltage level of the second bias voltage”.
FIG. 57 of Ogita discloses a similar image sensing device, comprising a first light blocking layer (63 within optical black OPB pixel region 1043) formed over the substrate surface of the substrate to block light from transmitting therethrough, and configured to be electrically conductive to receive the first bias voltage; a second light blocking layer (63 within effective pixel region 1042) formed over the substrate surface of the substrate to block light from transmitting therethrough, and configured to be electrically conductive to receive the second bias voltage (text: “supplying a negative bias voltage (voltage of the negative), by means of the through electrode 1061 and the inter-pixel shading film 63, negative bias is applied to DTI1051”).
With respect to, “a voltage level of the first bias voltage is higher than a voltage level of the second bias voltage”, it is known in the art that a light shielding layer has the effect of increasing the photodiode dark current (Brown and Gao provide document evidences). In addition, FIG. 9 of Brown shows the dark current decreases with the bias voltage.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Koo, as taught by Ogita, such that a voltage level of the first bias voltage is higher than a voltage level of the second bias voltage. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Koo in the above manner for purpose of improving the character of the light receiving element (Abstract of Ogita).
Regarding Claim 2
FIG. 11 of Koo discloses an anti-reflection layer (38) disposed between the substrate (2) and the first light blocking layer (50); wherein the anti-reflection layer includes: an electrode extension portion extending from the first electrode toward the light blocking layer. FIG. 57 of Ogita discloses a light blocking layer extension portion extending from the first light blocking layer toward the electrode extension portion. The extension portions can be interpreted as a portion of the first light blocking layer and the electrode, in particular, the portions in contact with each other.
Regarding Claim 3
Modified Koo discloses the electrode extension portion and the light blocking layer extension portion are in contact with each other in the anti-reflection layer.
Regarding Claim 10
FIG. 10 of Koo discloses each of the active pixels and the optical black pixels includes one of the photoelectric conversion elements.
Regarding Claim 11
Koo as modified by Ogita first discloses Claim 10, wherein the optical black pixel region is disposed to surround the active pixel region, and the first light blocking layer and the second light blocking layer are disposed in the optical black pixel region.
Regarding Claim 13
FIG. 2 of Koo discloses the optical black pixel region includes: a third contact region (13) disposed in a lateral side of the active pixel region; and a fourth contact region disposed in an upper side or a lower side of the active pixel region, wherein each of the third contact region and the fourth contact region includes a region where the first light blocking layer and the first electrode are electrically connected to each other, wherein the third contact region has a longer length than the lateral side of the active pixel region, and the fourth contact region has a longer length than the upper side or the lower side of the active pixel region.
Regarding Claim 14
FIG. 10 of Koo discloses each of the first electrode and the second electrode is disposed to surround each of the active pixels and each of the optical black pixels, wherein the first electrode surrounding each of the active pixels and the first electrode surrounding each of the optical black pixels are arranged in a mesh structure.
Regarding Claim 15
FIG. 11 of Koo discloses an image sensing device comprising: a pixel array including an active pixel region (PR, FIG. 10) and an optical black pixel region (OB), the active pixel region including a plurality of active pixels that receive incident light and generate a signal that indicates an intensity of the received incident light (inherent for photodiodes), the optical black pixel region including a plurality of optical black pixels that include a first light blocking layer (50) to block light from entering photoelectric conversion elements in the optical black pixel region and generate a signal independent of the intensity of the incident light received by the optical black pixel [0069]; a first electrode (13) structured to include vertically extended portions disposed between adjacent pixels of active pixels and optical black pixels, and configured to receive a first bias voltage for suppressing a dark current generated in at least one of the active pixel region or the optical black pixel region [0053]; a second electrode (13a) formed in the trench and configured to receive a second bias voltage for suppressing the dark current [0053]; a second light blocking layer (132) formed over the substrate surface of the substrate to block light from transmitting therethrough, and configured to be electrically conductive to receive the second bias voltage and transmit the received second bias voltage to the second electrode; and a bias generator configured to generate the first bias voltage and the second bias voltage [0013], wherein the first light blocking layer in the optical black pixel region is configured to be electrically conductive to receive the first bias voltage from the bias generator and transmit the received first bias voltage to the first electrode, wherein the second light blocking layer in the optical black pixel region is configured to be electrically conductive to receive the second bias voltage from the bias generator and transmit the received second bias voltage to the second electrode.
Koo is silent with respect to a first light blocking layer “configured to be electrically conductive to receive the bias voltage and transmit the received bias voltage to the electrode” and “a voltage level of the first bias voltage is higher than a voltage level of the second bias voltage”.
FIG. 57 of Ogita discloses a similar image sensing device, comprising a first light blocking layer (63 within optical black OPB pixel region 1043) formed over the substrate surface of the substrate to block light from transmitting therethrough, and configured to be electrically conductive to receive the first bias voltage; a second light blocking layer (63 within effective pixel region 1042) formed over the substrate surface of the substrate to block light from transmitting therethrough, and configured to be electrically conductive to receive the second bias voltage (text: “supplying a negative bias voltage (voltage of the negative), by means of the through electrode 1061 and the inter-pixel shading film 63, negative bias is applied to DTI1051”).
With respect to, “a voltage level of the first bias voltage is higher than a voltage level of the second bias voltage”, it is known in the art that a light shielding layer has the effect of increasing the photodiode dark current (Brown and Gao provide document evidences). In addition, FIG. 9 of Brown shows the dark current decreases with the bias voltage.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Koo, as taught by Ogita, such that a voltage level of the first bias voltage is higher than a voltage level of the second bias voltage. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Koo in the above manner for purpose of improving the character of the light receiving element (Abstract of Ogita).
Claims 1 and 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koo, in view of Tanaka (WO 2018101033) of record.
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 11 of Koo discloses an image sensing device comprising: a substrate (2) including a substrate surface and a trench extending from the substrate surface; a plurality of photoelectric conversion elements (PD) formed in the substrate and operable to convert incident light into photocharge (inherent); a first electrode (13) formed in the trench and configured to receive a first bias voltage for suppressing a dark current [0053]; a second electrode (13a) formed in the trench and configured to receive a second bias voltage for suppressing the dark current [0053]; a first light blocking layer (50) formed over the substrate surface of the substrate to block light from transmitting therethrough [0069]; a second light blocking layer (132) formed over the substrate surface of the substrate to block light from transmitting therethrough, and configured to be electrically conductive to receive the second bias voltage and transmit the received second bias voltage to the second electrode; an active pixel (PD under 42) region that includes a plurality of active pixels to generate a signal that indicates an intensity of the incident light: and an optical black pixel (under 50) region that includes a plurality of optical black pixels to generate a signal independent of the intensity of the incident light, wherein the first light blocking layer and the second light blocking layer are disposed over the optical black pixel region to cover the optical black pixel region, wherein the first light blocking layer and the second light blocking layer block light from entering the photoelectric conversion elements in the optical black pixel region.
Koo is silent with respect to a first light blocking layer “configured to be electrically conductive to receive the bias voltage and transmit the received bias voltage to the electrode” and “a voltage level of the first bias voltage is higher than a voltage level of the second bias voltage”.
FIG. 6 of Tanaka discloses a similar image sensing device, comprising a first light blocking layer (long 121) formed over the substrate surface of the substrate (41) to block light from transmitting therethrough, and configured to be electrically conductive to receive the first bias voltage to the first electrode; a second light blocking layer (short 121) formed over the substrate surface of the substrate to block light from transmitting therethrough, and configured to be electrically conductive to receive the second bias voltage to the second electrode (61B, text: A bias voltage is applied to the metal film 61B via the light shielding film 121).
With respect to, “a voltage level of the first bias voltage is higher than a voltage level of the second bias voltage”, it is known in the art that a light shielding layer has the effect of increasing the photodiode dark current (Brown and Gao provide document evidences). In addition, FIG. 9 of Brown shows the dark current decreases with the bias voltage.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Koo, as taught by Tanaka. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Koo in the above manner for purpose of improving the pixel sensitivity (text of Tanaka).
Regarding Claim 15
FIG. 11 of Koo discloses an image sensing device comprising: a pixel array including an active pixel region (PR, FIG. 10) and an optical black pixel region (OB), the active pixel region including a plurality of active pixels that receive incident light and generate a signal that indicates an intensity of the received incident light (inherent for photodiodes), the optical black pixel region including a plurality of optical black pixels that include a first light blocking layer (50) to block light from entering photoelectric conversion elements in the optical black pixel region and generate a signal independent of the intensity of the incident light received by the optical black pixel [0069]; a first electrode (13) structured to include vertically extended portions disposed between adjacent pixels of active pixels and optical black pixels, and configured to receive a first bias voltage for suppressing a dark current generated in at least one of the active pixel region or the optical black pixel region [0053]; a second electrode (13a) formed in the trench and configured to receive a second bias voltage for suppressing the dark current [0053]; a second light blocking layer (132) formed over the substrate surface of the substrate to block light from transmitting therethrough, and configured to be electrically conductive to receive the second bias voltage and transmit the received second bias voltage to the second electrode; and a bias generator configured to generate the first bias voltage and the second bias voltage [0013], wherein the first light blocking layer in the optical black pixel region is configured to be electrically conductive to receive the first bias voltage from the bias generator and transmit the received first bias voltage to the first electrode, wherein the second light blocking layer in the optical black pixel region is configured to be electrically conductive to receive the second bias voltage from the bias generator and transmit the received second bias voltage to the second electrode.
Koo is silent with respect to a first light blocking layer “configured to be electrically conductive to receive the bias voltage and transmit the received bias voltage to the electrode” and “a voltage level of the first bias voltage is higher than a voltage level of the second bias voltage”.
FIG. 6 of Tanaka discloses a similar image sensing device, comprising a first light blocking layer (long 121) formed over the substrate surface of the substrate (41) to block light from transmitting therethrough, and configured to be electrically conductive to receive the first bias voltage to the first electrode; a second light blocking layer (short 121) formed over the substrate surface of the substrate to block light from transmitting therethrough, and configured to be electrically conductive to receive the second bias voltage to the second electrode (61B, text: A bias voltage is applied to the metal film 61B via the light shielding film 121).
With respect to, “a voltage level of the first bias voltage is higher than a voltage level of the second bias voltage”, it is known in the art that a light shielding layer has the effect of increasing the photodiode dark current (Brown and Gao provide document evidences). In addition, FIG. 9 of Brown shows the dark current decreases with the bias voltage.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Koo, as taught by Tanaka. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Koo in the above manner for purpose of improving the pixel sensitivity (text of Tanaka).
Claims 1, 7 and 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koo, in view of Lenchenkov (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2016/0381310) of record.
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 11 of Koo discloses an image sensing device comprising: a substrate (2) including a substrate surface and a trench extending from the substrate surface; a plurality of photoelectric conversion elements (PD) formed in the substrate and operable to convert incident light into photocharge (inherent); a first electrode (13) formed in the trench and configured to receive a first bias voltage for suppressing a dark current [0053]; a second electrode (13a) formed in the trench and configured to receive a second bias voltage for suppressing the dark current [0053]; a first light blocking layer (50) formed over the substrate surface of the substrate to block light from transmitting therethrough [0069]; a second light blocking layer (132) formed over the substrate surface of the substrate to block light from transmitting therethrough, and configured to be electrically conductive to receive the second bias voltage and transmit the received second bias voltage to the second electrode; an active pixel (PD under 42) region that includes a plurality of active pixels to generate a signal that indicates an intensity of the incident light: and an optical black pixel (under 50) region that includes a plurality of optical black pixels to generate a signal independent of the intensity of the incident light, wherein the first light blocking layer and the second light blocking layer are disposed over the optical black pixel region to cover the optical black pixel region, wherein the first light blocking layer and the second light blocking layer block light from entering the photoelectric conversion elements in the optical black pixel region.
Koo is silent with respect to a first light blocking layer “configured to be electrically conductive to receive the bias voltage and transmit the received bias voltage to the electrode” and “a voltage level of the first bias voltage is higher than a voltage level of the second bias voltage”
FIG. 6 of Lenchenkov discloses a similar image sensing device, comprising a first light blocking layer (318) formed over the substrate surface of the substrate to block light from transmitting therethrough, and configured to be electrically conductive to receive the first bias voltage; a second light blocking layer (318 connected to 364) formed over the substrate surface of the substrate to block light from transmitting therethrough, and configured to be electrically conductive to receive the second bias voltage [0045].
With respect to, “a voltage level of the first bias voltage is higher than a voltage level of the second bias voltage”, it is known in the art that a light shielding layer has the effect of increasing the photodiode dark current (Brown and Gao provide document evidences). In addition, FIG. 9 of Brown shows the dark current decreases with the bias voltage.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Koo, as taught by Lenchenkov. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Koo in the above manner for purpose of preventing any stray charge at the fringe/edge of photodiode ([0037] of Lenchenkov).
Regarding Claim 7
FIG. 4 of Lenchenkov discloses the electrode extension portion (356) is a branch extending from the electrode (352).
Regarding Claim 15
FIG. 11 of Koo discloses an image sensing device comprising: a pixel array including an active pixel region (PR, FIG. 10) and an optical black pixel region (OB), the active pixel region including a plurality of active pixels that receive incident light and generate a signal that indicates an intensity of the received incident light (inherent for photodiodes), the optical black pixel region including a plurality of optical black pixels that include a first light blocking layer (50) to block light from entering photoelectric conversion elements in the optical black pixel region and generate a signal independent of the intensity of the incident light received by the optical black pixel [0069]; a first electrode (13) structured to include vertically extended portions disposed between adjacent pixels of active pixels and optical black pixels, and configured to receive a first bias voltage for suppressing a dark current generated in at least one of the active pixel region or the optical black pixel region [0053]; a second electrode (13a) formed in the trench and configured to receive a second bias voltage for suppressing the dark current [0053]; a second light blocking layer (132) formed over the substrate surface of the substrate to block light from transmitting therethrough, and configured to be electrically conductive to receive the second bias voltage and transmit the received second bias voltage to the second electrode; and a bias generator configured to generate the first bias voltage and the second bias voltage [0013], wherein the first light blocking layer in the optical black pixel region is configured to be electrically conductive to receive the first bias voltage from the bias generator and transmit the received first bias voltage to the first electrode, wherein the second light blocking layer in the optical black pixel region is configured to be electrically conductive to receive the second bias voltage from the bias generator and transmit the received second bias voltage to the second electrode.
Koo is silent with respect to a first light blocking layer “configured to be electrically conductive to receive the bias voltage and transmit the received bias voltage to the electrode” and “a voltage level of the first bias voltage is higher than a voltage level of the second bias voltage”.
FIG. 6 of Lenchenkov discloses a similar image sensing device, comprising a first light blocking layer (318) formed over the substrate surface of the substrate to block light from transmitting therethrough, and configured to be electrically conductive to receive the first bias voltage; a second light blocking layer (318 connected to 364) formed over the substrate surface of the substrate to block light from transmitting therethrough, and configured to be electrically conductive to receive the second bias voltage [0045].
With respect to, “a voltage level of the first bias voltage is higher than a voltage level of the second bias voltage”, it is known in the art that a light shielding layer has the effect of increasing the photodiode dark current (Brown and Gao provide document evidences). In addition, FIG. 9 of Brown shows the dark current decreases with the bias voltage.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Koo, as taught by Lenchenkov. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Koo in the above manner for purpose of preventing any stray charge at the fringe/edge of photodiode ([0037] of Lenchenkov).
Claim 8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koo and Tanaka, in view of Han (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0075643) of record.
Regarding Claim 8
Koo as modified by Tanaka discloses Claim 1.
Koo as modified by Tanaka is silent with respect to “ each of the first light blocking layer and the second light blocking layer includes tungsten”.
Han discloses a similar image sensing device, wherein each of the first light blocking layer and the second light blocking layer includes tungsten [0043].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Koo, as taught by Han. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Koo in the above manner, because such material substitution or replacement would have been considered a mere substitution of art-recognized equivalent values ([0043] of Han), MPEP 2144.06.
Claims 4-6, 9 and 12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koo and Tanaka, in view of Sato (WO 2018008614) of record.
Regarding Claim 4
Koo as modified by Tanaka discloses Claim 2.
Koo as modified by Tanaka is silent with respect to “the electrode extension portion has a larger width than each pixel disposed in the substrate”.
FIG. 17 of Sato discloses a similar image sensing device, wherein the electrode extension portion has a larger width than each pixel disposed in the substrate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Koo, as taught by Sato. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Koo in the above manner for purpose of suppressing dark current and improving pixel characteristics (“by applying a negative bias to the penetrating light shielding portion 107C, pinning is enhanced and generation of dark current is suppressed”: text of Sato).
Regarding Claim 5
FIG. 17 of Sato discloses the light blocking layer extension portion (107B) has a smaller width than the electrode extension portion (107C). Furthermore, the claimed configuration was a matter of choice, which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration was significant. In re Dailey 149 USPQ 47, 50 (CCPA 1966). See also Glue Co. v. Upton 97 US 3,24 (USSC 1878). MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding Claim 6
FIG. 17 of Sato discloses the first light blocking layer extension portion (107B) is a branch extending from the light blocking layer (107A).
Regarding Claim 9
FIG. 17 of Sato discloses each of the first bias voltage and the second bias voltage is a negative voltage.
Regarding Claim 12
FIG. 4 of Sato discloses the optical black pixel region includes: a first contact (151) region disposed in a lateral side of the active pixel region; and a second contact region disposed in an upper side or a lower side of the active pixel region, wherein each of the first contact region and the second contact region includes a region where the first light blocking layer and the first electrode are electrically connected to each other, wherein the first contact region has a shorter length than the lateral side of the active pixel region, and the second contact region has a shorter length than the upper side or the lower side of the active pixel region.
Claims 16-19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koo and Tanaka, in view of Borthakur (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2016/0111463) of record.
Regarding Claim 16
Koo as modified by Tanaka discloses Claim 15.
Koo as modified by Tanaka is silent with respect to “the first electrode includes a horizontally extended portion disposed between at least one of the optical black pixels and the first light blocking layer disposed over the at least one of the optical black pixels”.
FIG. 3 of Borthakur discloses a similar image sensing device, wherein the first electrode includes a horizontally extended portion (wide 128) disposed between at least one of the optical black pixels and the first light blocking layer (126) disposed over the at least one of the optical black pixels.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Koo, as taught by Borthakur. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Koo in the above manner for purpose of making electrical connection between the electrode and the light shield.
Regarding Claim 17
FIG. 3 of Borthakur discloses a light blocking layer extension portion (126 within 128) disposed between the first light blocking layer (126) and the horizontally extended portion of the first electrode.
Regarding Claim 18
FIG. 3 of Borthakur discloses an anti-reflection layer (127) disposed over the active pixel region and the optical black pixel region and below the first light blocking layer (126).
Regarding Claim 19
FIG. 3 of Borthakur discloses the light blocking layer extension portion and the horizontally extended portion of the first electrode are disposed in the anti-reflection layer.
Claims 16-18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koo and Tanaka, in view of Lee (U.S. Patent No. 7,615,396) of record.
Regarding Claim 16
Koo as modified by Tanaka discloses Claim 15.
Koo as modified by Tanaka is silent with respect to “the first electrode includes a horizontally extended portion disposed between at least one of the optical black pixels and the first light blocking layer disposed over the at least one of the optical black pixels”.
FIG. 4 of Lee discloses a similar image sensing device, wherein the first electrode includes a horizontally extended portion (108) disposed between at least one of the optical black pixels and the first light blocking layer (112) disposed over the at least one of the optical black pixels.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Koo, as taught by Lee. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Koo in the above manner for purpose of producing a large photovoltaic voltage (Abstract of Lee).
Regarding Claim 17
FIG. 4 of Lee discloses a light blocking layer extension portion (109) disposed between the light blocking layer (112) and the horizontally extended portion of the first electrode.
Regarding Claim 18
FIG. 11 of Koo discloses an anti-reflection layer (38) disposed over the active pixel region and the optical black pixel region and below the first light blocking layer (50).
Pertinent Art
WO 2021/164423 and CN 102024808 each discloses light blocking layers that are electrically conductive to receive a bias voltage and transmit the received bias voltage to the electrode. FIG. 6 of Nagaya (JP H0529600) discloses a similar image sensing device, comprising a light blocking layer (2) configured to be electrically conductive to receive the first bias voltage and transmit the received first bias voltage to the first electrode, wherein the bias voltage is selected to control the maximum accumulated charge amount of the photodiode [0014]. Pertinent art also includes U.S. Patent Pub. No. 20210400225, 20200408690, JP 2013175494, CN 109587416, GB 2514576 and JP 275839.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Sato have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection. Applicant’s arguments with respect to Chen have been considered but they are not persuasive. The electrode of Chen 246 includes light blocking layer 246a, metal stands 246b and 246c [0029]. These components are electrically connected each other, and are configured to receive a bias voltage for suppressing a dark current [0029]. Light blocking layers that are electrically conductive to receive a bias voltage and transmit the received bias voltage to the electrode have also been described in a number of references, see, e.g., WO 2021/164423 and CN 102024808. Applicant’s arguments with respect to Tanaka have been considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). The Examiner respectfully submits that FIG. 11 of Koo discloses a light blocking layer (50) formed over the substrate surface of the substrate to block light from transmitting therethrough [0069], wherein the light blocking layer is disposed over the optical black pixel region to entirely cover the optical black pixel region, and wherein the light blocking layer blocks light from entering the photoelectric conversion elements in the optical black pixel region. Tanaka is used to modify Koo such that the light blocking layer is electrically connected to an electrode that is configured to be electrically conductive to receive the bias voltage and transmit the received bias voltage to the electrode. Applicant’s arguments with respect to Lenchenkov have been considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). The Examiner respectfully submits that FIG. 11 of Koo discloses a light blocking layer (50) formed over the substrate surface of the substrate to block light from transmitting therethrough [0069], wherein the light blocking layer is disposed over the optical black pixel region to entirely cover the optical black pixel region, and wherein the light blocking layer blocks light from entering the photoelectric conversion elements in the optical black pixel region. Lenchenkov is used to modify Koo such that the light blocking layer is electrically connected to an electrode that is configured to be electrically conductive to receive the bias voltage and transmit the received bias voltage to the electrode. Applicant’s arguments with respect to Lenchenkov have been considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). The Examiner respectfully submits that FIG. 11 of Koo discloses a light blocking layer (50) formed over the substrate surface of the substrate to block light from transmitting therethrough [0069], wherein the light blocking layer is disposed over the optical black pixel region to entirely cover the optical black pixel region, and wherein the light blocking layer blocks light from entering the photoelectric conversion elements in the optical black pixel region. Lenchenkov is used to modify Koo such that the light blocking layer is electrically connected to an electrode that is configured to be electrically conductive to receive the bias voltage and transmit the received bias voltage to the electrode.
Conclusion
/SHENG-BAI ZHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897