Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-8 and 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takao (WO 2020162459 A1) in view of Ganapathi et al. (Anodic Aluminum Oxide Template Assisted Synthesis of Copper Nanowires using a Galvanic Displacement Process for Electrochemical Denitrification).
Regarding claim 1, Takao discloses a nanostructure array (Fig. 9), comprising: a material layer (32) comprising a well: the well having a sidewall, a well floor, and a well mouth
facing said well floor (see attached figure); and a level-sustaining hard mask (45) overlying a peripheral region of said array and extending outwards to cover the remainder of the well mouth (See figs. 5 and 9), said level-sustaining hard mask preventing formation of topological relief features in said peripheral region (Fig. 9 shows mask 45 preventing the formation of topological relief features in the peripheral region in accordance with Applicant’s Fig. 8); wherein an aperture (the opening in 45) in said level-sustaining hard mask exposes the nanostructures disposed inwardly of said peripheral region (shown best in Fig. 5). However, Takao does not explicitly disclose the array of nanostructures being an array of nanopillars extending in the direction from the well floor towards the well mouth, and wherein the nanopillars comprise a material that is distinct from a material of the well.
On the other hand, Ganapathi et al. discloses forming copper nanopillars (Pg. 2, Fig. 1(c)) within an AAO template (labeled in Fig. 1(a)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the invention to modify Takao according to the teachings of Ganapathi et al. such that the AAO structure of Takao would be used as a template to form the copper nanopillars of Ganapathi , in order to improve conductivity by using copper nanopillars rather than aluminum as taught by Takao, and to increase conductivity by using a using a male pattern which has a greater surface area than a female pattern.[RefA][RefA]
Regarding claim 2, Takao discloses further comprising a porous anodic oxide material (see attached figure; "the base layer 32 is etched by anodic oxidation to form the pore structure part 16 in the base layer 32) at the periphery of the array of nanostructures, and the level-sustaining hard mask (45) overlies said peripheral nanostructures (Shown in Fig. 9). However, Takao does not explicitly disclose conductive nanowires disposed in the pores of the porous anodic oxide material.
On the other hand, Ganapathi et al. discloses forming copper nanopillars (Pg. 2, Fig. 1(c)) within an AAO template (labeled in Fig. 1(a)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the invention to modify Takao according to the teachings of Ganapathi et al. such that conductive nanowires would be formed in the pores of the porous anodic oxide material. The combination of Takao and Ganapathi et al. would therefore further comprise a porous anodic oxide material at the periphery of the array of nanopillars, wherein the nanopillars would be conductive nanowires, said peripheral region would comprise peripheral nanowires disposed in pores of the porous anodic oxide material; and the level-sustaining hard mask would overlie said peripheral nanowires disposed in the pores of the porous anodic oxide material. One would be motivated to combine these references in order to improve conductivity by using copper nanopillars rather than aluminum as taught by Takao, and to increase conductivity by using a using a male pattern which has a greater surface area than a female pattern.
Regarding claim 4, Takao discloses wherein the material layer (comprises 18 and 33) overlies a conductive layer (Fig. 4, sealing part 18; “the sealing part 18… has conductivity”; “33 corresponds to the metal layer 33 include Ru, Re, Sn, Ti, V, Fe…”, all of which are conductive), a surface (upper surface) of the conductive layer defines the well floor (shown in Fig. 4), at least some of said nanostructures disposed inwardly of said peripheral region (5) are in electrical contact with said conductive layer at the well floor (shown in fig. 4). However, Takao does not explicitly disclose the nanostructures being nanopillars.
On the other hand, Ganapathi et al. discloses forming copper nanopillars (Pg. 2, Fig. 1(c)) within an AAO template (labeled in Fig. 1(a)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the invention to modify Takao according to the teachings of Ganapathi et al. such that conductive nanowires would be formed in the pores of the porous anodic oxide material, and therefore at least some of the nanopillars disposed inwardly of the peripheral region would be in electrical contact with the conductive layer at the well floor. One would be motivated to combine these references in order to improve conductivity by using copper nanopillars rather than aluminum as taught by Takao, and to increase conductivity by using a using a male pattern which has a greater surface area than a female pattern.
Regarding claim 5, Takao discloses an electronic component comprising one or more layers embedded in the array of nanopillars (Fig. 9 shows capacitor comprising layers 6, 7 and 8 embedded in the layer of nanopillars).
Regarding claim 6, Takao discloses wherein said electronic component is a capacitive component comprising a metal-insulator-metal stack embedded in said nanostructure array (Fig. 9 shows capacitor comprising layers 6, 7 and 8 embedded in the layer of nanopillars; "The lower electrode layer 6-dielectric layer 7-upper electrode layer 8 constitute an MIM capacitor structure").
Regarding claim 7, Takao discloses pores (Fig. 9, 5) in a region of anodic oxide material (32), said region being located in a well (shown in attached figures) in which an electric component (capacitor comprising layers 6, 7 and 8) is embedded, and the region being configured to provide electrical connection with a conductive layer (comprising 18 and 33; “the sealing part 18… has conductivity”; “33 corresponds to the metal layer 33 include Ru, Re, Sn, Ti, V, Fe…”, all of which are conductive) underlying the material layer (32). However, Takao does not explicitly disclose a separate interconnect structure comprising a plurality of nanowires located in respective pores of a region of anodic oxide material, and the interconnect structure being a second separate from the first well referenced in claim 1.
On the other hand, Ganapathi et al. discloses forming copper nanopillars (Pg. 2, Fig. 1(c)) within an AAO template (labeled in Fig. 1(a)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the invention to modify Takao according to the teachings of Ganapathi et al. such that conductive nanowires would be formed in the pores of the porous anodic oxide material. The combination of Takao and Ganapathi et al. would therefore further comprise a plurality of nanowires located in respective pores of a region of the porous anodic oxide material, said region being located in a well in which an electric component is embedded, the structure being configured to provide electronic connection with a conductive layer underlying the material layer. One would be motivated to combine these references in order to improve conductivity by using copper nanopillars rather than aluminum as taught by Takao, and to increase conductivity by using a using a male pattern which has a greater surface area than a female pattern.
Takao in view of Ganapathi et al. still does not disclose a second interconnect structure being separate from the first well referenced in claim 1. Nonetheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing of the invention to simply duplicate the nanostructure comprising a capacitor embedded in nanowires according to the claim limitations above in order to allow the device to include any plurality of capacitors or any other electronic components, as is extremely common in circuit design. See MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(B) regarding duplication of parts.[RefA][RefA]
Regarding claim 8, Takao discloses a method of fabricating a nanostructure (Figs. 2-9) comprising forming a well (fig. 4) comprised in a material layer (32), the well having a sidewall, a well floor and a well mouth facing said well floor (see attached figure); and forming a level-sustaining hard mask (Fig. 5, 45) overlying a peripheral region of an array of nanostructures (pores 5) and extending outwards to cover the remainder of the well mouth (shown in Fig. 5), said level-sustaining hard mask preventing formation of topological relief features in said peripheral region (Fig. 9 shows mask 45 preventing the formation of topological relief features in the peripheral region in accordance with Applicant’s Fig. 8), wherein an aperture (the opening in 45) in said level-sustaining hard mask exposes the nanostructures disposed inwardly of said peripheral region (shown best in Fig. 5). However, Takao does not explicitly disclose the array of nanostructures being an array of nanopillars extending in the direction from the well floor towards the well mouth, and wherein the nanopillars comprise a material that is distinct from a material of the well.
On the other hand, Ganapathi et al. discloses a method of forming copper nanopillars (Pg. 2, Fig. 1(c)) within an AAO template (labeled in Fig. 1(a)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the invention to modify Takao according to the teachings of Ganapathi et al. such that the AAO structure of Takao would be first used as a template to form the copper nanopillars of Ganapathi et al, in order to improve .[RefA][RefA]
Regarding claim 11, Takao discloses embedding in the array of nanopillars one or more layers to form an electronic component (Fig. 9 shows capacitor comprising layers 6, 7 and 8 embedded in the layer of nanopillars).
Regarding claim 12, Takao discloses wherein the embedding of one or more layers in the array of nanopillars comprises forming a metal-insulator-metal stack over the array of nanopillars to form a capacitive component (Fig. 9 shows capacitor comprising layers 6, 7 and 8 embedded in the layer of nanopillars; "The lower electrode layer 6-dielectric layer 7-upper electrode layer 8 constitute an MIM capacitor structure").
Regarding claim 13, Takao discloses pores (Fig. 9, 5) in a region of anodic oxide material (32), said region being located in a well (shown in attached figures), and the region being configured to provide electrical connection with a conductive layer (comprising 18 and 33; “the sealing part 18… has conductivity”; “33 corresponds to the metal layer 33 include Ru, Re, Sn, Ti, V, Fe…”, all of which are conductive) underlying the material layer (32). However, Takao does not explicitly disclose a separate interconnect structure comprising a plurality of nanowires located in respective pores of a region of anodic oxide material, and the interconnect structure being a second separate from the first well referenced in claim 1.
On the other hand, Ganapathi et al. discloses forming copper nanopillars (Pg. 2, Fig. 1(c)) within an AAO template (labeled in Fig. 1(a)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the invention to modify Takao according to the teachings of Ganapathi et al. such that conductive nanowires would be formed in the pores of the porous anodic oxide material. The combination of Takao and Ganapathi et al. would therefore further comprise a plurality of nanowires located in respective pores of a region of the porous anodic oxide material, the structure being configured to provide electronic connection with a conductive layer underlying the material layer and therefore operate as an interconnect. One would be motivated to combine these references in order to improve conductivity by using copper nanopillars rather than aluminum as taught by Takao, and to increase conductivity by using a using a male pattern which has a greater surface area than a female pattern.
Takao in view of Ganapathi et al. still does not disclose a second interconnect structure being separate from the first well referenced in claim 1. Nonetheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing of the invention to simply duplicate the nanostructure comprising a capacitor embedded in nanowires according to the claim limitations above in order to allow the device to include any plurality of capacitors or any other electronic components, as is extremely common in circuit design. See MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(B) regarding duplication of parts.
Regarding claim 14, Takao in view of Ganapathi et al. discloses wherein said array of nanopillars is an array of nanowires. However, Takao in view of Ganapathi et al. does not disclose common process steps forming the nanowires of said array of nanopillars and the nanowires of said interconnect structure. Nonetheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing of the invention to form both interconnects by the same process steps, in order to simplify manufacturing by forming duplicate parts by duplicate processes.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 9, and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 3, none of the relevant prior art discloses the porous anodic oxide material at the periphery of the array of nanopillars comprising a first region where said peripheral nanowires are disposed in pores of the porous anodic oxide material and a second region where nanowires are not provided in the pores of the porous anodic oxide material, said second region being closer than the first region to the well sidewall, and the level-sustaining hard mask overlies said first and second regions of the porous anodic oxide material.
Regarding claim 9, none of the relevant prior art discloses leaving under the level-sustaining hard mask nanowires located in pores of the porous anodic oxide material.
Regarding claim 10, none of the relevant prior art discloses removing the level-sustaining hard mask after the release of said exposed nanowires.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argued that Takao fails to disclose or suggest at least a nanopillar array structure, comprising an array of nanopillars, wherein the nanopillars are made of a material distinct from the material of the well, said nanopillars located in said well and extending in a direction from the well floor towards the well mouth; and a level-sustaining hard mask overlying a peripheral region of said array and extending outwards to cover a remainder of the well mouth, said level-sustaining hard mask preventing formation of topological relief features in said peripheral region. Applicant also alleges that Takao does not teach a level-sustaining hard mask because Takao’s hard mask serves to cover defective peripheral pores in the AAO material before the capacitor is formed, which differs from the claim level-sustaining hard mask which functions to stabilize the peripheral region during the removal of the AAO material. Applicant further argued that Ganapathi teaches entirely dissolving the AAO template to provide freestanding nanowires, but does not address the stabilization of peripheral regions of the AAO material during nanopillar release.
Examiner does not find Applicant’s arguments persuasive. Examiner maintains that the combination of Takao and Ganapathi teaches a structure well within the broadest reasonable interpretation of claim 1 and a method well within the broadest reasonable interpretation of claim 8. No part of the claimed structure disqualifies Takao’s mask 45 from meeting the language “level-sustaining mask” and Takao’s mask 45 appears to “[prevent] formation of topological relief features in said peripheral region” in the same manner as shown in Applicant’s figure 8, for example. Furthermore, the claims are not limited by the function of their elements; specifically, the level-sustaining hard mask of claim 1 is not limited by its function. Therefore, Examiner asserts that Takao reasonably teaches a level-sustaining hard mask preventing formation of topological relief features in said peripheral region. Examiner maintains that the combination of Takao and Ganapathi is proper and teaches the limitations of at least claims 1 and 8 because Takao teaches a nanostructure comprising a material comprising a well: the well having a sidewall, a well floor and a well mouthing facing said well floor, an array of nanopillars located in said well and extending in a direction from the well floor towards the well mouth; and a level-sustaining hard mask overlying a peripheral region of said array and extending outwards to cover a remained of the well mouth, said level-sustaining hard mask preventing formation of topological relief features in said peripheral region; wherein an aperture in said level-sustaining hard mask exposes the nanopillars disposed inwardly of said peripheral region; and Ganapathi teaches using porous anodic aluminum oxide as a template in which to form copper nanowires, which could be performed on the AAO material in the well of Takao to meet the claim limitations of at least claims 1 and 8.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.J.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/MARLON T FLETCHER/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817