DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after 16 March 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Applicant
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s reply filed on 13 January 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 8, 9, 12 and 13 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Okada et al. (U.S. Pub. 2006/0186400).
Claim 1: Okada et al. discloses a detection device, in Fig. 16 and in paragraphs 126-132, comprising:
a substrate (10);
a plurality of first electrodes (11a) arranged on the substrate (10);
an insulating film (11d) provided between the first electrodes (11a) adjacent to each other;
a plurality of photodiodes (11f, 11c and 11g) provided so as to correspond to the first electrodes (11a); and
a second electrode (11e) provided across the photodiodes (11f, 11c and 11g), wherein
the photodiodes (11f, 11c and 11g) each comprise a first carrier transport layer (11f), an active layer (11c), and a second carrier transport layer (11g) stacked on the substrate (10), and
the first carrier transport layer (11f), the active layer (11c), and the second carrier transport layer (11g) are provided so as to cover the first electrodes (11a) and the insulating film (11d) between the adjacent first electrodes (11a),
wherein a width (width of 11d) of the insulating film (11d) is less than a width (width of 11f, 11c and 11g) of each of the photodiodes (11f, 11c and 11g).
Claim 8: Okada et al. discloses the insulating film (11d) can be a cyclo-olefin polymer (paragraphs 130 and 131), and cyclo-olefin polymer is an organic polymer. Therefore, Okada et al. discloses the detection device according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the insulating film (11d) is an organic insulating film.
Claim 9: Okada et al. discloses the plurality of first electrodes (11a) made from ITO (paragraph 130), which is a transparent conductive material. Therefore, Okada et al. discloses the detection device according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein each first electrode (11a) is made of a light-transmitting conductive material.
Claim 12: Okada et al. discloses the detection device according to claim 1, and, in paragraph 128, further discloses wherein
the second electrode (11e) is a cathode electrode, and
each first electrode (11a) is an anode electrode.
Claim 13: O’Rourke et al. discloses the detection device according to claim 1, and in paragraph 128, further discloses wherein
the first carrier transport layer (11f) is a hole transport layer, and
the second carrier transport layer (11g) is an electron transport layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okada et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of O’Rourke et al. (U.S. Pub. 2017/0054097).
Claim 10: Okada et al. discloses the detection device according to claim 1, and in Fig. 16, further discloses wherein
the insulating film (11d) covers peripheries of the first electrodes (11a) and is provided with openings (openings in 11d in which 11c is located) in areas overlapping the first electrodes (11a), and
the first carrier transport layer (11f) is in contact with the first electrodes (11a).
Okada et al. appears not to explicitly disclose the first carrier transport layer is in contact with the first electrodes through the openings.
O’Rourke et al., however, in Figs. 10 and 11 and in paragraphs 20, 23 and 25, discloses the first carrier transport layer (136) is in contact with the first electrodes (120, 122, 124 and 126) through the openings (134).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the disclosure of O’Rourke et al. that is in the same field of endeavor with Okada et al., before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in order to substitute the first carrier transport layer is in contact with the first electrodes through the openings as disclosed by O’Rourke et al. for the configuration of the first carrier transport layer and the first electrodes disclosed by Okada et al. The substituted components were known in the art, one of ordinary skill could have substituted the elements, and the simple substitution of the first carrier transport layer is in contact with the first electrodes through the openings disclosed by O’Rourke et al. for the configuration of the first carrier transport layer and the first electrodes disclosed by Okada et al. would have yielded predictable results, namely providing a photodiode in a detection device. (KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 417 (2007)).
Claim 11: Okada et al. discloses the detection device according to claim 1, and in Fig. 16, further discloses wherein
the first electrodes (11a), the first carrier transport layer (11f), the active layer (11c), the second carrier transport layer (11g), and the second electrode (11e) are stacked in the order as listed, in areas overlapping the first electrodes (11a),
the insulating film (11d), the first carrier transport layer (11f), the active layer (11c), the second carrier transport layer (11g), and the second electrode (11e) are stacked in the order as listed, and
a height (height of 11d) of the insulating film (11d) is greater than a height (height of 11a) of the first electrodes (11a).
Okada et al. appears not to explicitly disclose the insulating film, the first carrier transport layer, the active layer, the second carrier transport layer, and the second electrode are stacked in the order as listed, in areas not overlapping the first electrodes.
O’Rourke et al. discloses the detection device according to claim 1, and, in Fig. 14 and in paragraphs 20 and 25-28, further discloses wherein the insulating film (128), the first carrier transport layer (136), the active layer (138), the second carrier transport layer (140), and the second electrode (142) are stacked in the order as listed, in areas not overlapping the first electrodes (120, 122, 124 and 126).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the disclosure of O’Rourke et al. that is in the same field of endeavor with Okada et al., before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in order to substitute the insulating film, the first carrier transport layer, the active layer, the second carrier transport layer, and the second electrode are stacked in the order as listed, in areas not overlapping the first electrodes as disclosed by O’Rourke et al. for the configuration of the insulating film, the first carrier transport layer, the active layer, the second carrier transport layer, and the second electrode disclosed by Okada et al. The substituted components were known in the art, one of ordinary skill could have substituted the elements, and the simple substitution of the insulating film, the first carrier transport layer, the active layer, the second carrier transport layer, and the second electrode are stacked in the order as listed, in areas not overlapping the first electrodes disclosed by O’Rourke et al. for the configuration of the insulating film, the first carrier transport layer, the active layer, the second carrier transport layer, and the second electrode disclosed by Okada et al. would have yielded predictable results, namely providing a photodiode in a detection device. (KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 417 (2007)).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 8-13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.L/ Examiner, Art Unit 2815
/JOSHUA BENITEZ ROSARIO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2815