DETAILED ACTION
This Final Office Action is in response to the Amendment Request/REMARKS correspondence filed 11/20/2025.
Claims 1, 4, 6-8, 10-14, 16-20 are pending and rejected.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Amendment Request/REMARKS, filed 11/20/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1, 4, 6-8, 10-14, 16-20 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of amendments made to the claims which warranted further search and inquiry.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN111512685) in view of Koskela et al (WO 2021161065) (hereinafter "Koskela"), in further view of Deogun et al (US20200314673) in further view of da Silva et al (US20190281485A1).
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches an apparatus, comprising:
at least one processor (Fig. 16, pg 49 of 61 English translation, lines 43-47, may be a central processor, processing component 802); and
at least one memory comprising computer program code (Fig. 16, pg. 52 of 61 English translation, lines 44-47, memory 804), the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to
forward, to a network element, synchronization signal block measurements of a target cell along with synchronization signal block indices (pg. 41 of 61 lines 9-47, pg. 49 of 61 English Translation, lines 40-46, forwarding the measurement result of the channel statement information, including a SSB index that is forwarded or forwarding parameter—this can be multiple, part of configuration information, cell index);
receive the channel state information reference signal configuration from the network element (Fig 4, Fig 12, pg. 50 of 61 English translation, lines 10-24, receive the CSI-RS);
transmit the channel state information reference signal configuration to a user equipment (pg. 32 lines 1-20 pg. 40-41 English translation lines 41-47 and lines 1-30 CSI-RS sent by the network device to the serving cell of the UE, UE receives channel state information configuration sent by network device); and
But Li fails to teach request the network element to provide a channel state information reference signal configuration for a channel state information reference signal index whose source reference signal corresponds to at least one of the synchronization signal block indices and receive a measurement report on the channel state information reference signal index according to the channel state information reference signal configuration.
However Koskela teaches—
request the network element to provide a channel state information reference signal configuration for a channel state information reference signal index whose source reference signal corresponds to at least one of the synchronization signal block indices (Fig 2, [0057], [0059], [0073] reporting or providing configurations which include CSI-RS configurations for beam index available resources from candidate SSB indexes);
receive a measurement report on the channel state information reference signal index according to the channel state information reference signal configuration ([0059], [0079], receiving measurement results by reporting and resource index/reference signal index based on measured CSI-RS resources, CSI-RS configurations).
Li and Koskela are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of channel state information reference signal measurement, beam management reporting methods and transmission. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teaching of Li and Koskela to create an apparatus and method for configuration and transmission of a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS).
Li provides general method for configuring measurement configuration information, measuring, and transmitting channel state information. Furthermore, Koskela provides methods and apparatuses for beam management reporting. Combining the teachings would allow for a method and system for managing data storage in distributed computing environments. Specifically, combining the teachings would allow for focus on optimization of data retrieval and storage efficiency by dynamically allocating resources based on real-time usage patterns. The motivation to combine both references is to achieve enhanced system performance and reduction of operational costs in large scale data centers or frameworks.
But Koskela fails to teach wherein the synchronization signal block measurements are an average or weighted average of synchronization signal block measurements over past measurements.
However, Deogun teaches wherein the synchronization signal block measurements are an average or weighted average of synchronization signal block measurements over past measurements ([0087]-[0088], [0090]-[0091], [0096]-[0097], discloses that synchronization signal block (SSB) measurements may be averaged or exponentially averaged (weighted) across current and previous measurement windows (past SSB measurements)).
Li, Koskela, and Deogun are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of channel state information reference signal measurement, beam management reporting methods and transmission. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the combination of teachings of Li, Koskela, and Deogun to create an apparatus and method for configuration and transmission of a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS).
Li provides general method for configuring measurement configuration information, measuring, and transmitting channel state information. Koskela provides methods and apparatuses for beam management reporting. Furthermore, Deogun teaches that SSB measurements may be averaged or weighted across current and previous measurement windows (past SSB measurements). Combining the combination of teachings would allow for a method and system for managing data storage in distributed computing environments. Specifically, combining the teachings would allow for focus on optimization of data retrieval and storage efficiency by dynamically allocating resources based on real-time usage patterns. The motivation to combine both references is to achieve enhanced system performance and reduction of operational costs in large scale data centers or frameworks.
But Deogun fails to teach wherein the synchronization signal block indices correspond to strongest synchronization signal block indices among a plurality of synchronization signal block indices;
transmit, to the target cell, an updated list of the strongest synchronization signal block indices and synchronization signal block measurements.
However, da Silva teaches wherein the synchronization signal block indices correspond to strongest synchronization signal block indices among a plurality of synchronization signal block indices ([0007], [0010], [0029]-[0030], the UE reports “the best SS block” and up to X-1 next highest measured SS blocks above a threshold, explicitly defining strongest SSBs among a plurality; the UE includes within resultsSSBIndexes the index associated to the best beam for that SS/PDCH block quantity, and remaining beams above a threshold, ordered by decreasing quantity; further explains that beam indices are sorted in order of decreasing measurement quantity, which directly corresponds to “strongest” SSB indices);
transmit, to the target cell, an updated list of the strongest synchronization signal block indices and synchronization signal block measurements ([0029]-[0030], [0051], [0101]-[0102], [0131]-[0134], the UE sorts a plurality of beam-level measurements and reports measurement information selected from the sorted measurements to the network node; the measurement report includes SS/PBCH block indexes and measurement results per SS/PDCH block (SSB indices plus SSB measurements); UE sets resultsSSBIndexes and, when configured, includes the SS/PBCH-based measurement results associated to each beam index, forming an updated list of strongest SSB indices and their measurements; reporting procedure explicitly states that the UE transfers measurement results from the UE to the network via a MeasurementReport message, which is updated based on triggering or periodic conditions).
Li, Koskela, Deogun, and da Silva are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of channel state information reference signal measurement, beam management reporting methods and transmission. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the combination of teachings of Li, Koskela, Deogun, da Silva to create an apparatus and method for configuration and transmission of a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS).
Li provides general method for configuring measurement configuration information, measuring, and transmitting channel state information. Koskela provides methods and apparatuses for beam management reporting. Furthermore, Deogun teaches that SSB measurements may be averaged or weighted across current and previous measurement windows (past SSB measurements). Lastly, da Silva teaches that a UE measures a plurality of synchronization signal blocks, identifies and orders the strongest SSB indices based on measurement quantities, and transmits to the network an updated measurement report including the strongest SSB indices together with their associated SS/PBCH block measurements. Combining the combination of teachings would allow for a method and system for managing data storage in distributed computing environments. Specifically, combining the teachings would allow for focus on optimization of data retrieval and storage efficiency by dynamically allocating resources based on real-time usage patterns. The motivation to combine both references is to achieve enhanced system performance and reduction of operational costs in large scale data centers or frameworks.
Regarding claim 4, Li fails to disclose wherein the synchronization signal block measurements comprise a Layer 1 reference signal received power or a Layer 1 signal to interference and noise ratio.
However, Koskela teaches wherein the synchronization signal block measurements comprise a Layer 1 reference signal received power or a Layer 1 signal to interference and noise ratio ([0034]-[0035], [0041], synchronization signal block measurements L1 reference signal, reporting configuration associated with reference signals, comprise a L1 reference signal received power (RSRP) or a L1 signal-to-interference-and-noise ratio (SINR) details of conditions and configurations under which these measurements are reported and utilized for beam management and mobility decisions).
Li, Koskela, Deogun, and da Silva are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of channel state information reference signal measurement, beam management reporting methods and transmission. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the combination of teachings of Li, Koskela, Deogun, da Silva to create an apparatus and method for configuration and transmission of a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS).
Li provides general method for configuring measurement configuration information, measuring, and transmitting channel state information. Koskela provides methods and apparatuses for beam management reporting. Furthermore, Deogun teaches that SSB measurements may be averaged or weighted across current and previous measurement windows (past SSB measurements). Lastly, da Silva teaches that a UE measures a plurality of synchronization signal blocks, identifies and orders the strongest SSB indices based on measurement quantities, and transmits to the network an updated measurement report including the strongest SSB indices together with their associated SS/PBCH block measurements. Combining the combination of teachings would allow for a method and system for managing data storage in distributed computing environments. Specifically, combining the teachings would allow for focus on optimization of data retrieval and storage efficiency by dynamically allocating resources based on real-time usage patterns. The motivation to combine both references is to achieve enhanced system performance and reduction of operational costs in large scale data centers or frameworks.
Regarding claim 6, Li fails to teach wherein the synchronization signal block measurements are the average of synchronization signal block measurement results over a predetermined number of time periods.
However, Koskela discloses wherein the synchronization signal block measurements are the average of synchronization signal block measurement results over a predetermined number of time periods ([0031], [0034]-[0035], [0041], [0049]-[0050], [0059], [0079] SSBs measurement results reports threshold, further selected or restricted based on best quality for reported measurements of many resources, this may include averages over specific period of time in order to choose the best quality resources).
Li, Koskela, Deogun, and da Silva are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of channel state information reference signal measurement, beam management reporting methods and transmission. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the combination of teachings of Li, Koskela, Deogun, da Silva to create an apparatus and method for configuration and transmission of a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS).
Li provides general method for configuring measurement configuration information, measuring, and transmitting channel state information. Koskela provides methods and apparatuses for beam management reporting. Furthermore, Deogun teaches that SSB measurements may be averaged or weighted across current and previous measurement windows (past SSB measurements). Lastly, da Silva teaches that a UE measures a plurality of synchronization signal blocks, identifies and orders the strongest SSB indices based on measurement quantities, and transmits to the network an updated measurement report including the strongest SSB indices together with their associated SS/PBCH block measurements. Combining the combination of teachings would allow for a method and system for managing data storage in distributed computing environments. Specifically, combining the teachings would allow for focus on optimization of data retrieval and storage efficiency by dynamically allocating resources based on real-time usage patterns. The motivation to combine both references is to achieve enhanced system performance and reduction of operational costs in large scale data centers or frameworks.
Regarding claim 7, Li fails to teach wherein at least one of the synchronization signal measurements is received in a predetermined number of times during a specified time period.
However, Koskela discloses wherein at least one of the synchronization signal measurements is received in a predetermined number of times during a specified time period (Fig 2, [0031], [0034]-[0035], [0041], [0049]-[0050], measurement reporting received in a predetermined or set time period, reports received).
Li, Koskela, Deogun, and da Silva are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of channel state information reference signal measurement, beam management reporting methods and transmission. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the combination of teachings of Li, Koskela, Deogun, da Silva to create an apparatus and method for configuration and transmission of a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS).
Li provides general method for configuring measurement configuration information, measuring, and transmitting channel state information. Koskela provides methods and apparatuses for beam management reporting. Furthermore, Deogun teaches that SSB measurements may be averaged or weighted across current and previous measurement windows (past SSB measurements). Lastly, da Silva teaches that a UE measures a plurality of synchronization signal blocks, identifies and orders the strongest SSB indices based on measurement quantities, and transmits to the network an updated measurement report including the strongest SSB indices together with their associated SS/PBCH block measurements. Combining the combination of teachings would allow for a method and system for managing data storage in distributed computing environments. Specifically, combining the teachings would allow for focus on optimization of data retrieval and storage efficiency by dynamically allocating resources based on real-time usage patterns. The motivation to combine both references is to achieve enhanced system performance and reduction of operational costs in large scale data centers or frameworks.
Claims 8, 10-14, 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN111512685) in view of Koskela et al (WO 2021161065) (hereinafter "Koskela"), in further view of da Silva et al (US20190281485A1).
Regarding claim 8, Li teaches an apparatus, comprising:
at least one processor (Fig. 16, pg 49 of 61 English translation, lines 43-47, may be a central processor, processing component 802); and
at least one memory comprising computer program code (Fig. 16, pg. 52 of 61 English translation, lines 44-47, memory 804), the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to
configure a user equipment with a list of channel state information reference signal indices for a target cell (Fig 4, Fig 12, pg. 50 of 61 English translation, lines 10-24, configure UE to receive the CSI-RS for target cell);
But Li fails to teach and receive a measurement report of a subset of the channel state information reference signal indices in the list; wherein the report is received based on an activation command from the apparatus, or based on satisfaction of a condition for the user equipment, and wherein the subset of the channel state information reference signal indices have source synchronization signal block reference signals with a highest reported synchronization signal block measurement out of a plurality of synchronization signal block measurements.
However, Koskela teaches and receive a measurement report of a subset of the channel state information reference signal indices in the list; wherein the report is received based on satisfaction of a condition for the user equipment ([0059], [0079], receiving measurement results by reporting and resource index/reference signal index based on measured CSI-RS resources, CSI-RS configurations); and
wherein the subset of the channel state information reference signal indices have source synchronization signal block reference signals with a highest reported synchronization signal block measurement out of a plurality of synchronization signal block measurements (Fig 2, [0031], [0034]-[0035], [0041], [0049]-[0050], CSI-RS subset may include SSBs, index of signal block measurements with favorable reported measurement reports, SSB contains varying reference signals which may include highest reported SSB measurements, reporting instances received for a network).
Li and Koskela are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of channel state information reference signal measurement, beam management reporting methods and transmission. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teaching of Li and Koskela to create an apparatus and method for configuration and transmission of a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS).
Li provides general method for configuring measurement configuration information, measuring, and transmitting channel state information. Furthermore, Koskela provides methods and apparatuses for beam management reporting. Combining the teachings would allow for a method and system for managing data storage in distributed computing environments. Specifically, combining the teachings would allow for focus on optimization of data retrieval and storage efficiency by dynamically allocating resources based on real-time usage patterns. The motivation to combine both references is to achieve enhanced system performance and reduction of operational costs in large scale data centers or frameworks.
But Koskela fails to teach wherein the condition comprises when a measurement of the serving cell falls below a threshold, and a measurement of the target cell exceeds a threshold.
However, da Silva teaches wherein the condition comprises when a measurement of the serving cell falls below a threshold, and a measurement of the target cell exceeds a threshold ([0007], [0009], [0015]-[0016], [0029]-[0030], [0107]-[0110], teaches event-triggered measurement reporting in which a UE evaluates serving-cell and neighbor (target)-cell measurements against configured thresholds, such that reporting is triggered when serving-cell measurements fall below a threshold and measurements of a target cell exceed a threshold, consistent with NR mobility and handover conditions).
Li, Koskela, and da Silva are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of channel state information reference signal measurement, beam management reporting methods and transmission. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the combination of teachings of Li, Koskela, da Silva to create an apparatus and method for configuration and transmission of a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS).
Li provides general method for configuring measurement configuration information, measuring, and transmitting channel state information. Furthermore, Koskela provides methods and apparatuses for beam management reporting. Lastly, da Silva teaches that a UE measures a plurality of synchronization signal blocks, identifies and orders the strongest SSB indices based on measurement quantities, and transmits to the network an updated measurement report including the strongest SSB indices together with their associated SS/PBCH block measurements. Combining the teachings would allow for a method and system for managing data storage in distributed computing environments. Specifically, combining the teachings would allow for focus on optimization of data retrieval and storage efficiency by dynamically allocating resources based on real-time usage patterns. The motivation to combine both references is to achieve enhanced system performance and reduction of operational costs in large scale data centers or frameworks.
Regarding claim 10, Li fails to teach wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to:
receive synchronization signal block measurements of a target cell; and
activate, based on the synchronization signal block measurements, the user equipment to perform measurement and reporting on the subset of channel state information reference signal indices.
However, Koskela teaches wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to:
receive synchronization signal block measurements of a target cell (Fig 2, [0031], [0034]-[0035], [0041], [0049]-[0050], CSI-RS, reporting instances received for a network from second cell or target cell); and
activate, based on the synchronization signal block measurements, the user equipment to perform measurement and reporting on the subset of channel state information reference signal indices ([0034]-[0035], [0041], [0049]-[0050] Fig 4., CSI-RS subset, reporting instances received for a network from second cell or target cell, UE perform reporting measurement results).
Li, Koskela, and da Silva are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of channel state information reference signal measurement, beam management reporting methods and transmission. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the combination of teachings of Li, Koskela, da Silva to create an apparatus and method for configuration and transmission of a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS).
Li provides general method for configuring measurement configuration information, measuring, and transmitting channel state information. Furthermore, Koskela provides methods and apparatuses for beam management reporting. Lastly, da Silva teaches that a UE measures a plurality of synchronization signal blocks, identifies and orders the strongest SSB indices based on measurement quantities, and transmits to the network an updated measurement report including the strongest SSB indices together with their associated SS/PBCH block measurements. Combining the teachings would allow for a method and system for managing data storage in distributed computing environments. Specifically, combining the teachings would allow for focus on optimization of data retrieval and storage efficiency by dynamically allocating resources based on real-time usage patterns. The motivation to combine both references is to achieve enhanced system performance and reduction of operational costs in large scale data centers or frameworks.
Regarding claim 11, Li fails to teach wherein the performing and reporting on the subset of channel state information reference signal indices are for a prepared target cell as part of Layer 1 or Layer 2 inter-cell mobility.
However, Koskela discloses wherein the performing and reporting on the subset of channel state information reference signal indices are for a prepared target cell as part of Layer 1 or Layer 2 inter-cell mobility (([0034]-[0035], [0041], subset includes SSB or CSI-RS within Layer 1/Layer 2 different cell mobility).
Li, Koskela, and da Silva are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of channel state information reference signal measurement, beam management reporting methods and transmission. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the combination of teachings of Li, Koskela, da Silva to create an apparatus and method for configuration and transmission of a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS).
Li provides general method for configuring measurement configuration information, measuring, and transmitting channel state information. Furthermore, Koskela provides methods and apparatuses for beam management reporting. Lastly, da Silva teaches that a UE measures a plurality of synchronization signal blocks, identifies and orders the strongest SSB indices based on measurement quantities, and transmits to the network an updated measurement report including the strongest SSB indices together with their associated SS/PBCH block measurements. Combining the teachings would allow for a method and system for managing data storage in distributed computing environments. Specifically, combining the teachings would allow for focus on optimization of data retrieval and storage efficiency by dynamically allocating resources based on real-time usage patterns. The motivation to combine both references is to achieve enhanced system performance and reduction of operational costs in large scale data centers or frameworks.
Regarding claim 12, Li fails to teach wherein the activation of the user equipment is performed using a medium access control control element or a downlink control information.
However, Koskela teaches wherein the activation of the user equipment is performed using a medium access control control element or a downlink control information ([0033, [0040]), UE performance and activity usage of MAC CE and DCI).
Li, Koskela, and da Silva are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of channel state information reference signal measurement, beam management reporting methods and transmission. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the combination of teachings of Li, Koskela, da Silva to create an apparatus and method for configuration and transmission of a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS).
Li provides general method for configuring measurement configuration information, measuring, and transmitting channel state information. Furthermore, Koskela provides methods and apparatuses for beam management reporting. Lastly, da Silva teaches that a UE measures a plurality of synchronization signal blocks, identifies and orders the strongest SSB indices based on measurement quantities, and transmits to the network an updated measurement report including the strongest SSB indices together with their associated SS/PBCH block measurements. Combining the teachings would allow for a method and system for managing data storage in distributed computing environments. Specifically, combining the teachings would allow for focus on optimization of data retrieval and storage efficiency by dynamically allocating resources based on real-time usage patterns. The motivation to combine both references is to achieve enhanced system performance and reduction of operational costs in large scale data centers or frameworks.
Regarding claim 13, Li fails to teach wherein the condition comprises at least one of the following: when a Layer 1 synchronization signal block measurement of a target cell is better than that of a serving cell, when the Layer 1 synchronization signal block measurement of the target cell is smaller than the Layer 1 synchronization signal block measurement of the serving cell by a predetermined decibel amount.
However, Koskela teaches wherein the condition comprises at least one of the following: when a Layer 1 synchronization signal block measurement of a target cell is better than that of a serving cell, when the Layer 1 synchronization signal block measurement of the target cell is smaller than the Layer 1 synchronization signal block measurement of the serving cell by a predetermined decibel amount ([0034]-[0035], L1/L2 SSB measurement in specific serving cells, measurement reports contain the specific SSB data for serving cells or neighbor secondary cell).
Li, Koskela, and da Silva are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of channel state information reference signal measurement, beam management reporting methods and transmission. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the combination of teachings of Li, Koskela, da Silva to create an apparatus and method for configuration and transmission of a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS).
Li provides general method for configuring measurement configuration information, measuring, and transmitting channel state information. Furthermore, Koskela provides methods and apparatuses for beam management reporting. Lastly, da Silva teaches that a UE measures a plurality of synchronization signal blocks, identifies and orders the strongest SSB indices based on measurement quantities, and transmits to the network an updated measurement report including the strongest SSB indices together with their associated SS/PBCH block measurements. Combining the teachings would allow for a method and system for managing data storage in distributed computing environments. Specifically, combining the teachings would allow for focus on optimization of data retrieval and storage efficiency by dynamically allocating resources based on real-time usage patterns. The motivation to combine both references is to achieve enhanced system performance and reduction of operational costs in large scale data centers or frameworks.
Regarding claim 14, Li teaches an apparatus, comprising:
at least one processor (Fig. 16, pg 49 of 61 English translation, lines 43-47, may be a central processor, processing component 802); and
at least one memory comprising computer program code (Fig. 16, pg. 52 of 61 English translation, lines 44-47, memory 804), the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to
receive, from a network element, a configuration comprising a list of channel state information reference signal indices for a target cell (Fig 4, Fig 12, pg. 50 of 61 English translation, lines 10-24, configure UE to receive the CSI-RS for target cell);
perform channel state information reference signal measurements for a subset of channel state information reference signal indices in the list of channel state information reference signal indices (Fig 4, Fig 12, pg. 50 of 61 English translation, lines 10-24, perform CSI-RS measurements based on beam transmission between adjacent cell and subset of CSI-RS index);
But Li fails to disclose and report the channel state information reference signal measurements for the subset of channel state information reference signal indices to the network element, wherein the performance and report of the channel state information reference signal measurements are initiated based on satisfaction of a condition, and wherein the channel state information reference signal indices of the subset are associated with a source synchronization signal block reference signal with a highest reported synchronization signal block measurement out of a plurality of synchronization signal block measurements.
However Koskela teaches and report the channel state information reference signal measurements for the subset of channel state information reference signal indices to the network element, wherein the performance and report of the channel state information reference signal measurements are initiated based on satisfaction of a condition (([0059], [0079], receiving measurement results by reporting and resource index/reference signal index based on measured CSI-RS resources, CSI-RS configurations, reporting measurement and resource index based on all or subset measurement including the CSI-RS indices, this is initiated based on reception connected mode which may include activation command), and
wherein the channel state information reference signal indices of the subset are associated with a source synchronization signal block reference signal with a highest reported synchronization signal block measurement out of a plurality of synchronization signal block measurements (Fig 2, [0031], [0034]-[0035], [0041], [0049]-[0050], CSI-RS subset may include SSBs, index of signal block measurements with favorable reported measurement reports, SSB contains varying reference signals which may include highest reported SSB measurements, reporting instances received for a network).
Li and Koskela are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of channel state information reference signal measurement, beam management reporting methods and transmission. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teaching of Li and Koskela to create an apparatus and method for configuration and transmission of a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS).
Li provides general method for configuring measurement configuration information, measuring, and transmitting channel state information. Furthermore, Koskela provides methods and apparatuses for beam management reporting. Combining the teachings would allow for a method and system for managing data storage in distributed computing environments. Specifically, combining the teachings would allow for focus on optimization of data retrieval and storage efficiency by dynamically allocating resources based on real-time usage patterns. The motivation to combine both references is to achieve enhanced system performance and reduction of operational costs in large scale data centers or frameworks.
But Koskela fails to teach wherein the condition comprises when a measurement of the serving cell falls below a threshold, and a measurement of the target cell exceeds a threshold.
However, da Silva teaches wherein the condition comprises when a measurement of the serving cell falls below a threshold, and a measurement of the target cell exceeds a threshold ([0007], [0009], [0015]-[0016], [0029]-[0030], [0107]-[0110], teaches event-triggered measurement reporting in which a UE evaluates serving-cell and neighbor (target)-cell measurements against configured thresholds, such that reporting is triggered when serving-cell measurements fall below a threshold and measurements of a target cell exceed a threshold, consistent with NR mobility and handover conditions).
Li, Koskela, and da Silva are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of channel state information reference signal measurement, beam management reporting methods and transmission. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the combination of teachings of Li, Koskela, da Silva to create an apparatus and method for configuration and transmission of a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS).
Li provides general method for configuring measurement configuration information, measuring, and transmitting channel state information. Furthermore, Koskela provides methods and apparatuses for beam management reporting. Lastly, da Silva teaches that a UE measures a plurality of synchronization signal blocks, identifies and orders the strongest SSB indices based on measurement quantities, and transmits to the network an updated measurement report including the strongest SSB indices together with their associated SS/PBCH block measurements. Combining the teachings would allow for a method and system for managing data storage in distributed computing environments. Specifically, combining the teachings would allow for focus on optimization of data retrieval and storage efficiency by dynamically allocating resources based on real-time usage patterns. The motivation to combine both references is to achieve enhanced system performance and reduction of operational costs in large scale data centers or frameworks.
Regarding claim 16, Li fails to teach wherein the condition comprises at least one of the following: when a Layer 1 synchronization signal block measurement of a target cell is better than that of a serving cell, when the Layer 1 synchronization signal block measurement of the target cell is smaller than the Layer 1 synchronization signal block measurement of the serving cell by a predetermined decibel amount.
However, Koskela discloses wherein the condition comprises at least one of the following: when a Layer 1 synchronization signal block measurement of a target cell is better than that of a serving cell, when the Layer 1 synchronization signal block measurement of the target cell is smaller than the Layer 1 synchronization signal block measurement of the serving cell by a predetermined decibel amount. ([0034]-[0035], L1/L2 SSB measurement in specific serving cells, measurement reports contain the specific SSB data for serving cells or neighbor secondary cell)
Li, Koskela, and da Silva are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of channel state information reference signal measurement, beam management reporting methods and transmission. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the combination of teachings of Li, Koskela, da Silva to create an apparatus and method for configuration and transmission of a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS).
Li provides general method for configuring measurement configuration information, measuring, and transmitting channel state information. Furthermore, Koskela provides methods and apparatuses for beam management reporting. Lastly, da Silva teaches that a UE measures a plurality of synchronization signal blocks, identifies and orders the strongest SSB indices based on measurement quantities, and transmits to the network an updated measurement report including the strongest SSB indices together with their associated SS/PBCH block measurements. Combining the teachings would allow for a method and system for managing data storage in distributed computing environments. Specifically, combining the teachings would allow for focus on optimization of data retrieval and storage efficiency by dynamically allocating resources based on real-time usage patterns. The motivation to combine both references is to achieve enhanced system performance and reduction of operational costs in large scale data centers or frameworks.
Regarding claim 17, Li fails to teach wherein the activation command identifies the subset of channel state information reference signal indices that is to be measured and reported.
However, Koskela discloses wherein the activation command identifies the subset of channel state information reference signal indices that is to be measured and reported ([0034]-[0035] activation of specific reporting configuration based on SSB/CSI-RS resources (indexes) to be measured and reported).
Li, Koskela, and da Silva are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of channel state information reference signal measurement, beam management reporting methods and transmission. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the combination of teachings of Li, Koskela, da Silva to create an apparatus and method for configuration and transmission of a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS).
Li provides general method for configuring measurement configuration information, measuring, and transmitting channel state information. Furthermore, Koskela provides methods and apparatuses for beam management reporting. Lastly, da Silva teaches that a UE measures a plurality of synchronization signal blocks, identifies and orders the strongest SSB indices based on measurement quantities, and transmits to the network an updated measurement report including the strongest SSB indices together with their associated SS/PBCH block measurements. Combining the teachings would allow for a method and system for managing data storage in distributed computing environments. Specifically, combining the teachings would allow for focus on optimization of data retrieval and storage efficiency by dynamically allocating resources based on real-time usage patterns. The motivation to combine both references is to achieve enhanced system performance and reduction of operational costs in large scale data centers or frameworks.
Regarding claim 18, Li fails to teach wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: transmit synchronization signal block measurements of the target cell, wherein the activation command to perform and report the channel state information signal block measurements is based on the synchronization signal block measurements.
However, Koskela discloses wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: transmit synchronization signal block measurements of the target cell, wherein the activation command to perform and report the channel state information signal block measurements is based on the synchronization signal block measurements (Fig 2, Fig 3 [0027]-[0028] transmit synchronization signal block which configured with beam measurements of target cell).
Li, Koskela, and da Silva are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of channel state information reference signal measurement, beam management reporting methods and transmission. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the combination of teachings of Li, Koskela, da Silva to create an apparatus and method for configuration and transmission of a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS).
Li provides general method for configuring measurement configuration information, measuring, and transmitting channel state information. Furthermore, Koskela provides methods and apparatuses for beam management reporting. Lastly, da Silva teaches that a UE measures a plurality of synchronization signal blocks, identifies and orders the strongest SSB indices based on measurement quantities, and transmits to the network an updated measurement report including the strongest SSB indices together with their associated SS/PBCH block measurements. Combining the teachings would allow for a method and system for managing data storage in distributed computing environments. Specifically, combining the teachings would allow for focus on optimization of data retrieval and storage efficiency by dynamically allocating resources based on real-time usage patterns. The motivation to combine both references is to achieve enhanced system performance and reduction of operational costs in large scale data centers or frameworks.
Regarding claim 19, Li fails to teach wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: receive configuration of radio resources for reporting the channel state information reference signal measurements prior to reporting the channel state information reference signal measurements.
However, Koskela teaches wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to:
receive configuration of radio resources for reporting the channel state information reference signal measurements prior to reporting the channel state information reference signal measurements ([0034]-[0035], [0053], receipt of resource sets for candidate cells, SSBs or CSI-RS; beam measurements, reference signal measurements before reporting the CSI-RS).
Li, Koskela, and da Silva are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of channel state information reference signal measurement, beam management reporting methods and transmission. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the combination of teachings of Li, Koskela, da Silva to create an apparatus and method for configuration and transmission of a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS).
Li provides general method for configuring measurement configuration information, measuring, and transmitting channel state information. Furthermore, Koskela provides methods and apparatuses for beam management reporting. Lastly, da Silva teaches that a UE measures a plurality of synchronization signal blocks, identifies and orders the strongest SSB indices based on measurement quantities, and transmits to the network an updated measurement report including the strongest SSB indices together with their associated SS/PBCH block measurements. Combining the teachings would allow for a method and system for managing data storage in distributed computing environments. Specifically, combining the teachings would allow for focus on optimization of data retrieval and storage efficiency by dynamically allocating resources based on real-time usage patterns. The motivation to combine both references is to achieve enhanced system performance and reduction of operational costs in large scale data centers or frameworks.
Regarding claim 20, Li fails to teach wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: when there is no configured channel state information reference signal whose source reference signal is a strongest synchronization signal block out of a plurality of synchronization signal blocks, perform channel state information reference signal measurements for a next strongest synchronization signal block out of the plurality of synchronization signal blocks.
However, Koskela discloses wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to:
when there is no configured channel state information reference signal whose source reference signal is a strongest synchronization signal block out of a plurality of synchronization signal blocks, perform channel state information reference signal measurements for a next strongest synchronization signal block out of the plurality of synchronization signal blocks ([0034]-[0035], L1/L2 SSB measurement in specific serving cells, measurement reports contain the specific SSB data for serving cells or neighbor secondary cell, which may be the strongest signal blocks of many).
Li, Koskela, and da Silva are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of channel state information reference signal measurement, beam management reporting methods and transmission. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the combination of teachings of Li, Koskela, da Silva to create an apparatus and method for configuration and transmission of a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS).
Li provides general method for configuring measurement configuration information, measuring, and transmitting channel state information. Furthermore, Koskela provides methods and apparatuses for beam management reporting. Lastly, da Silva teaches that a UE measures a plurality of synchronization signal blocks, identifies and orders the strongest SSB indices based on measurement quantities, and transmits to the network an updated measurement report including the strongest SSB indices together with their associated SS/PBCH block measurements. Combining the teachings would allow for a method and system for managing data storage in distributed computing environments. Specifically, combining the teachings would allow for focus on optimization of data retrieval and storage efficiency by dynamically allocating resources based on real-time usage patterns. The motivation to combine both references is to achieve enhanced system performance and reduction of operational costs in large scale data centers or frameworks.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL WILLIAM ABBATINE JR./Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419