Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
The following is in response to the applicant’s remarks filed 1/9/26.
The applicant submits that the amendments overcome the previous rejection.
The examiner agrees, and the previous rejection is withdrawn. A new basis for rejection appears below as necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 3 and 6 – 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueda, US20160197334A1, and Zhao, US20230138917A1.
Regarding claim 1, Ueda teaches an aluminum battery [0001], comprising:
a shell (case (14)) having an internal space [fig. 2];
an electric core (electrode group (12))[0093] disposed in the internal space [fig. 2],
wherein the electric core comprises a pole sheet group (connection portions (26)(28))[fig. 2], and the pole sheet group has a pole lug (conductive spacer (30))[fig. 3];
a pole tab (connection member (70) comprising lead (62) and rivet (52))[0109][fig. 6A][fig. 3A] partially exposed from the shell [fig. 6A] and extended from the internal space to an outside of the shell (river comprising internal (52a) and external (52c) portions)[fig. 6A]; and
a joint (fastening members (34)(38)) penetrating the pole lug (30)[fig. 3] and the pole tab in the internal space (portions of connecting member (62)(52a) withing case (14))[fig. 3A][fig. 6A] to join and electrically connect the pole lug and the pole tab [fig. 3A][0103].
Ueda does not teach wherein a thickness of the electric core is between 1 – 3 cm.
Zhao teaches an aluminum battery [0002][0029] comprising an electric core [0069] wherein a thickness of the electric core is between 1 – 3 cm (0.1 – 1 cm)[0088]. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05). Further, Zhao teaches the aluminum battery comprising an electric core within the claimed thickness can reduce poor production and improve yield [0004][0005]. Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to combine the core thickness of Zhao into the battery of Ueda to improve yield when winding the core.
Regarding claim 2, combined Ueda teaches the aluminum battery according to claim 1.
Further, Ueda teaches wherein the joint comprises a rivet, a screw, or a combination thereof [0079].
Regarding claim 3, combined Ueda teaches the aluminum battery according to claim 1.
Further Ueda teaches wherein the pole lug (30) and the pole tab (62) respectively have holes, and joining performed by the joint comprises riveting, fixing, or a combination thereof [0079][fig. 3A].
Regarding claim 6, combined Ueda teaches the aluminum battery according to claim 1.
Further Ueda teaches wherein a material of the joint comprises metal, and an electrical conductivity of the metal is at least greater than 3.78∗107 S/m (inherent property of aluminum)[0073].
Regarding claim 7, combined Ueda teaches the aluminum battery according to claim 6.
Further Ueda teaches wherein the metal comprises gold, copper, silver, aluminum, or a combination thereof (aluminum)[0073].
Regarding claim 8, combined Ueda teaches the aluminum battery according to claim 1.
Further Ueda teaches wherein the pole sheet group comprises a plurality of positive pole sheets and a plurality of negative pole sheets, the negative pole sheets are aluminum pole sheets, and the positive pole sheets are nickel pole sheets (first and second collectors)[0096].
Regarding claim 9, combined Ueda teaches the aluminum battery according to claim 1.
Further Ueda teaches wherein the number of the joints penetrating the pole lug and the pole tab is greater than or equal to one (34)(38)[fig. 3].
Regarding claim 10, combined Ueda teaches the aluminum battery according to claim 1.
Further Ueda teaches wherein the joint (34)(38) is not in direct contact with the shell (14)[fig. 2].
Conclusion
/PATRICK MARSHALL GREENE/Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/MIRIAM STAGG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1724