Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendments and Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and arguments filed on 03/27/2026 have been fully considered and are not found to place the application in a condition for allowance.
The applicant assert that the cited references do not teach the amended limitations. The applicant points only to the teachings of Kim regarding the first and second initialization voltages and the reference voltage. However, the Office maintains that the combination of Jeong in view of Kim teaches the limitations as amended.
As an initial matter, the specifications do not support the amendment “wherein the second initialization voltage is different from the first initialization voltage and the reference voltage”. The applicant asserts that “fig. 2 and corresponding paragraphs” provide support for such an amendment. However, the specification does not specify that “the second initialization voltage is different from the first initialization voltage and the reference voltage” Accordingly, the amendment is considered new matter.
Further, Jeong clearly teaches that Vinit is provided via a dedicated terminal and a data line. Jeong further teaches that Vinit “may have a voltage level equal to or lower than a threshold voltage of the light emission element OLED” (par. 90). Accordingly, it is clear that as long as the voltage provided to the data line is below the threshold of the OLED, any voltage is acceptable and the voltage for each of the data line or the initialization line may be set to any amount as long as it is below the threshold of the OLED. It would have been obvious, therefore, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to simply modify the teachings of Jeong and provide an initialization voltage during T1 and T2 of fig. 3B, through the data line, that is below the threshold of the OLED and above 0V which is different than the Vinit provided to the initialization line connected to M1 (see fig. 3A), expecting the same result of driving the pixel circuit.
Further, Kim clearly teaches the connection of a reference voltage to a sixth transistor as claimed (fig. 4A, connection of T3 to Vref). Kim clearly teaches that reference voltage Vref and initialization voltage Vinital are different (see ¶ 42 wherein Vref may be -5V to 5V and see ¶ 44 wherein Vinitial is -10V to 0). Accordingly, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Jeon in view of Kim to simply set the voltages of first and second initial voltages and the reference voltage to be different from each other.
Accordingly, the amendments are not found to place the application in a condition for allowance and the arguments are not found persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8, 10 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites “wherein the second initialization voltage is different from the first initialization voltage and the reference voltage”. The specification does not include a written description of such a relationship.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 10 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong, US 2017/0301289 A1, hereinafter “Jeong”, in view of Kim et al., US 2013/0088417, hereinafter “Kim”.
Regarding claim 1, Jeong teaches a pixel of a display apparatus (fig. 3A, ¶ 86) comprising: a light emitting element (fig. 3A, OLED, ¶ 87); a first transistor that applies a driving current to the light emitting element (fig. 3A, M0, ¶ 89); a second transistor (fig. 3A, M4, ¶ 94) that receives a writing gate signal (fig. 3B, Scan[n] signal during T3, ¶ 98-99) and transmits a data voltage using a data line (fig. 3A, Dm, ¶ 89); a first capacitor (CST1) including: a first end electrically connected to a control electrode of the first transistor; and a second end electrically connected to an output electrode of the second transistor (fig. 3A, CST1); and a second capacitor (CST2) including: a first end electrically connected to the output electrode of the second transistor; and a second end electrically connected to an output electrode of the first transistor (fig. 3A, CST2); a fourth transistor (fig. 3A, M1) that applies a first initialization voltage (Vinit) to the second end of the second capacitor (see the “s” node) in response to a second initialization gate signal (EM2), wherein the fourth transistor includes: an input electrode receiving a first initialization voltage from a first initialization voltage line connected to a first terminal (¶ 90, see connection to Vinit), and an output electrode directly connected to a first electrode of the light emitting element (see fig. 3A, M1).
Jeong does not specifically teach a fifth transistor that applies a second initialization voltage to the second end of the first capacitor and the first end of the second capacitor in response to a first initialization gate signal different from the writing gate signal, wherein the fifth transistor is different from the second transistor, and wherein the fifth transistor includes: an input electrode receiving the second initialization voltage from a second initialization voltage line connected to a second terminal different from the first terminal, wherein the second initialization voltage line is different from the first initialization voltage line and the data line, wherein the second initialization voltage is different from the first initialization voltage and the reference voltage; and an output electrode directly connected to both of the second end of the first capacitor and the first end of the second capacitor.
Jeong, however, teaches that the second transistor (fig. 3A, M4) applies a second initialization voltage (fig. 3B, Vinit, ¶ 99) to the second end of the first capacitor and the first end of the second capacitor (see fig. 3A, application of Vinit to node C) in response to a first initialization gate signal different from the writing gate signal (see fig. 3B, wherein two different pulses, or signals, provided on the SCAN[n] line have different amplitudes and timings), and wherein the second transistor includes: an input electrode receiving the second initialization voltage from a second initialization voltage line connected to a second terminal (Vinit is received from the DATA line which functions as a second terminal) different from the first terminal, wherein the second initialization voltage line is different from the first initialization voltage line (M4 receives the second initialization voltage from the DATA line which is a different terminal than the Vinit line to which the M1 transistor is connected, see ¶ 99-101); and an output electrode directly connected to both of the second end of the first capacitor and the first end of the second capacitor (fig. 3A, see connection of M4 to node C). Jeong further teaches that Vinit “may have a voltage level equal to or lower than a threshold voltage of the light emission element OLED” (¶ 90).
Jeong does not specifically teach that the fifth transistor is different from the second transistor. However, as noted above, the second transistor is configured to perform the same function as the fifth transistor as claimed. Jeong also does not teach that the second initialization voltage line is different from the data line.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Jeong in order to split the tasks performed by M4 between two separate transistors and configure the fifth transistor as claimed. Accordingly, the new transistor would receive the initialization voltage directly from a separate voltage line at an input and provide the initialization voltage directly to the C node during the first period as taught by Jeong. One would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to reduce the number of switching operations for M4 thus reducing strain on this transistor, while simplifying the signal provided on the DATA line by providing the initialization signal through the new transistor, thus simplifying the driving of the circuit.
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to simply modify the teachings of Jeong and provide an initialization voltage during T1 and T2 of fig. 3B, through the data line, that is below the threshold of the OLED and above 0V, thus setting the first and second initialization voltage differently (one at 0V and the other at a level between 0V and the threshold voltage of the OLED). One would have been motivated to make such a combination because Jeong teaches that “Vinit “may have a voltage level equal to or lower than a threshold voltage of the light emission element OLED” (¶ 90), therefore expecting the same result of properly driving the pixel circuit.
Note that Kim also teaches a fifth transistor (fig. 2, T2) that applies a second initialization voltage (fig. 4A, Vinitial) to the second end of the first capacitor and the first end of the second capacitor (fig. 4A, N1 node) in response to a first initialization gate signal (fig. 4A, control signal) different from the writing gate signal (fig. 3, “Control” and “Scan” signals are different), and wherein the fifth transistor includes: an input electrode receiving the second initialization voltage (when T4 is turned on a direct connection is provided between Vinitial and T2) from a second terminal (fig. 4A, Vinitial) different from the first terminal (fig. 4A, Vref); and an output electrode directly connected to both of the second end of the first capacitor and the first end of the second capacitor (see T2 connection to N1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Jeong in view of Kim in order to split the tasks performed by M4 between two separate transistors and configure the fifth transistor as claimed as taught by Kim. Note that M4 of Jeong is directly connected to its corresponding initialization line and the combination of Jeong in view of Kim would have resulted in such a direct connection in order to simply split the tasks of M4 between two separate transistors. One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to reduce the number of switching operations for M4 thus reducing strain on this transistor while simplifying the signal provided on the DATA line by providing the initialization signal through the new transistor, thus simplifying the driving of the circuit. Furthermore, one would have been motivated to combine the teachings in order to split the tasks performed by M4 of Jeong and use a separate transistor to apply the initialization voltage per teachings of Kim since such a configuration is clearly taught by Kim and one would have made such a combination expecting the same result of properly initializing corresponding components of the pixel circuit.
Jeong does not specifically teach a sixth transistor comprising: a control electrode that receives a reference gate signal; an input electrode that receives a reference voltage different from the first initialization voltage; and an output electrode electrically connected to the control electrode of the first transistor.
Kim teaches a sixth transistor (fig. 2, T3) comprising: a control electrode that receives a reference gate signal (control); an input electrode that receives a reference voltage different from the first initialization voltage (Vref, which is different from Vinitial; see ¶ 42 and ¶ 44); and an output electrode electrically connected to the control electrode of the first transistor (T3 connection to N3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Jeong and Kim in order to provide such a sixth transistor. According to such a modification, during the initialization period of Jeong, the gate of the driving transistor is provided the Vref voltage instead of the ELVDD. One would have been motivated to make such a combination since according to Kim in ¶ 60-68, incorporation of such a Vref voltage prevents the OLED from inadvertently emitting light during the initialization period, thus achieving a higher quality display device.
Regarding claim 2, Jeong teaches a third transistor including: a control electrode that receives a compensation gate signal; an input electrode electrically connected to an input electrode of the first transistor; and an output electrode electrically connected to the control electrode of the first transistor (fig. 3A, M3, ¶ 92).
Regarding claim 3, Jeong teaches the fourth transistor (fig. 3A, M1) including: a control electrode that receives the second initialization gate signal (EM2).
Jeong does not specifically teach the fifth transistor including: a control electrode that receives the first initialization gate signal; and an output electrode electrically connected to the output electrode of the second transistor.
Jeong, however, teaches a transistor including: a control electrode that receives a first initialization gate signal; an input electrode that receives a second initialization voltage (fig. 3A, M4, per ¶ 99 performs the task of such a fifth transistor wherein the scan[n] signal line provides the first initialization gate signal and the input electrode receives an initialization voltage Vinit). In other words, Jeong teaches in ¶ 99 that M4 transistor performs the task of providing an initialization voltage to the node between the two capacitors in addition to providing the data voltage.
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Jeong in order to split the tasks performed by M4 between two separate transistors and configure the fifth transistor as claimed. Accordingly, the new transistor would receive the initialization voltage at an input and provide the initialization voltage to the C node during the first period as taught by Jeong. One would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to reduce the number of switching for M4 thus reducing strain on this transistor while simplifying the signal provided on the DATA line by providing the initialization signal through the new transistor, thus simplifying the driving of the circuit.
Further, Kim, teaches a fifth transistor (fig. 2, T2) including: a control electrode that receives a first initialization gate signal (Control); and an output electrode electrically connected to the output electrode of the second transistor (fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Jeong in view of Kim in order to split the tasks performed by M4 between two separate transistors and configure the fifth transistor as claimed as taught by Kim. One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to reduce the number of switching for M4 thus reducing strain on this transistor while simplifying the signal provided on the DATA line by providing the initialization signal through the new transistor, thus simplifying the driving of the circuit.
Regarding claim 4, Jeong teaches a seventh transistor (fig. 3A, M2) including: a control electrode that receives an emission signal (EM1); an input electrode that receives a first power voltage (ELVDD); and an output electrode electrically connected to the input electrode of the first transistor (see fig. 3A).
Regarding claim 5, Jeong teaches that the first to fourth and seventh transistors are N-type transistors (¶ 95).
Jeong does not specifically teach the fifth and sixth transistors as stated above.
Kim teaches that all the transistors including the sixth transistor (T3) and the fifth transistor (T2) are N-type transistors (¶ 36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Jeong and Kim in order to set all the transistors to be the same type. Both references teach that all transistors of the pixel circuit are of the same type, which would lead to simpler and cheaper manufacturing of such a pixel circuit, motivating one of ordinary skill to make such a combination.
Regarding claim 10, Jeong teaches the fourth transistor (fig. 3A, M1) including: a control electrode that receives the second initialization gate signal (EM2).
Jeong does not specifically teach the fifth transistor including: a control electrode that receives the first initialization gate signal; and the output electrode electrically connected to the output electrode of the second transistor.
Jeong, however, teaches in ¶ 99 that M4 transistor performs the task of providing an initialization voltage to the node between the two capacitors in addition to providing the data voltage (fig. 3A, M4, per ¶ 99 performs the task of such a fifth transistor wherein the scan[n] signal line provides the first initialization gate signal and the input electrode receives an initialization voltage Vinit).
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Jeong in order to split the tasks performed by M4 between two separate transistors and configure the fifth transistor as claimed. Accordingly, the new transistor would receive the initialization voltage at an input and provide the initialization voltage to the C node during the first period as taught by Jeong. One would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to reduce the number of switching for M4 thus reducing strain on this transistor while simplifying the signal provided on the DATA line by providing a dedicated initialization signal to the new transistor, thus simplifying the driving of the circuit.
Further, Kim teaches a fifth transistor (fig. 2, T2) including: a control electrode that receives a first initialization gate signal (control); and an output electrode electrically connected to the output electrode of the second transistor (fig. 2, T2 connection to N1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Jeong in view of Kim in order to split the tasks performed by M4 between two separate transistors and configure the fifth transistor as claimed as taught by Kim. One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to reduce the number of switching for M4 thus reducing strain on this transistor while simplifying the signal provided on the DATA line by providing the initialization signal through the new transistor, thus simplifying the driving of the circuit.
Regarding claim 24, Jeong teaches the fourth transistor including the output electrode directly connected to the second end of the second capacitor (see fig. 3A, M1).
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong and Kim, as applied above, further in view of Kang et al., US 2022/0139318 A1, hereinafter “Kang”.
Regarding claim 6, Jeong and Kim do not teach that the first transistor includes the control electrode, an input electrode, the output electrode, and a second control electrode, and the second control electrode of the first transistor is electrically connected to the output electrode of the first transistor.
Kang, however, clearly teaches that the first transistor includes the control electrode (N1), an input electrode (N3), the output electrode (N2), and a second control electrode (N4), and the second control electrode of the first transistor is electrically connected to the output electrode of the first transistor (fig. 2, ¶ 96).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Jeong, Kim and Kang. Jeong teaches the first transistor and Kang further teaches in ¶ 96 the connection of the backgate of such a transistor to its output electrode. One would have been motivated to make such a combination since Kang clearly teaches in ¶ 96 that such a connection improves “the device performance of the driving transistor DRT of each subpixel SP (for example, a sub-threshold swing value SS, etc.)”.
Regarding claim 7, Jeong and Kim do not teach that the first transistor includes the control electrode, an input electrode, the output electrode, and a second control electrode, and a bias voltage is applied to the second control electrode of the first transistor.
Kang, however, clearly teaches that the first transistor includes the control electrode (N1), an input electrode (N3), the output electrode (N2), and a second control electrode (N4), and a bias voltage is applied to the second control electrode of the first transistor (fig. 2, ¶ 96; note that N2 carries a voltage during the light emission period which is considered to be the bias voltage).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Jeong, Kim and Kang. Jeong teaches the first transistor and Kang further teaches in ¶ 96 the connection of the backgate of such a transistor to its output electrode. One would have been motivated to make such a combination since Kang clearly teaches in ¶ 96 that such a connection improves “the device performance of the driving transistor DRT of each subpixel SP (for example, a sub-threshold swing value SS, etc.)”.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong and Kim, as applied above, further in view of Jeon et al., US 2017/0337875 A1, hereinafter “Jeon”.
Regarding claim 8, Jeong and Kim do not teach that the first transistor includes the control electrode, an input electrode, the output electrode, and a second control electrode, and the pixel further comprises: an eighth transistor including: a control electrode that receives a compensation gate signal; an input electrode that receives a bias voltage; and an output electrode electrically connected to the second control electrode of the first transistor; and a third capacitor including: a first end electrically connected to the second control electrode of the first transistor; and a second end electrically connected to the output electrode of the first transistor.
Jeon, however, teaches that the first transistor includes the control electrode (fig. 2, N1 of DT), an input electrode (fig. 2, DT electrode connected to VDD), the output electrode (N3), and a second control electrode (N2), and the pixel further comprises: an eighth transistor (ST3) including: a control electrode that receives a compensation gate signal (scan2); an input electrode that receives a bias voltage (connection to ground which is the bias voltage); and an output electrode electrically connected to the second control electrode of the first transistor (ST3 connection to N2); and a third capacitor (C2) including: a first end electrically connected to the second control electrode of the first transistor; and a second end electrically connected to the output electrode of the first transistor (fig. 2, see connection of C2 to N2 and N3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Jeong, Kim and Jeong. The references teach pixel circuits including driving transistors. Jeon further teaches the claimed configuration. One would have been motivated to make such a combination since Jeon teaches that such a configuration allows the threshold voltage of the driving transistor to be held constant at all times (see ¶ 70), thus forming an improved pixel circuit and providing a display device exhibiting better uniformity.
Conclusion
/SEPEHR AZARI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621