DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
As to the specification 11/03/2022, paragraphs [0087] and [0089] disclose formulae that are not clearly written for supporting claim 9 as of 11/03/2022, rendering the objection. The applicant may amend the specification by using the specification of Korean Patent Application No. 10-2022-0107050, which is incorporated by reference.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-9 are objected to because they include reference characters which are not enclosed within parentheses.
Reference characters corresponding to elements recited in the detailed description of the drawings and used in conjunction with the recitation of the same element or group of elements in the claims should be enclosed within parentheses so as to avoid confusion with other numbers or characters which may appear in the claims. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim(s) 6 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
As to claim 6, the term “where “O3” represents ozone, “O2” represents oxygen, “O” represents oxygen radical” should read “where “O3” represents a concentration of ozone, “O2” represents a concentration of oxygen, “O” represents a concentration of oxygen radical”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 4-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 4, the term “normally” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “normally” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For examination purposes, the “normally” is interpreted as “when the safety value U is U>0” according to specification 11/03/2022, paragraphs [00114]
Paragraph [00106] shows an example of what is considered as “normal” in regards to the sensing value concerning ozone O.
Paragraph [00114] shows an example of what is “normal” in regards to the safety value U, safety value concerning ozone UL, and the safety value concerning hydrogen peroxide UH.
Claims 5-9 are rejected for being dependent on claim 4.
As to claim 6, the claim recites to a formula, P = [06667O3 – 4O2 + 6.3333O]. The terms “O3, O2, and O” are being interpreted as concentrations of ozone, oxygen, and oxygen radical based on paragraph [0069] of the specification 11/03/2022. However, no unit in regards to the concentrations is being taught associated the formula, thereby failing to enable one of ordinary skill in the art to practice the invention (the unit used for concentrations of ozone, oxygen, and oxygen radicals affect the coefficients for each variable).
As to claim 9, the instant claim recites formulae which are not clearly written for examination, rendering the instant claim to be indefinite.
The Applicant is required to amend the claim. For examination purposes, however, the formulae are interpreted to be read as follows, based on the specification of Korean Patent Application No. 10-2022-0107050: The system of claim 4, wherein the intelligent control part 210 calculates a sensing value concerning ozone O and a sensing value concerning carbon dioxide C by the following formulae:
O=3[
C
O
3
C
O
3
S
], where “
C
O
3
” represents a concentration of ozone measured, and “
C
O
3
S
” represents a concentration of indoor air quality concerning ozone, and
C=3[
C
C
O
2
C
C
O
2
S
], where “
C
C
O
2
” represents a concentration of carbon dioxide measured, and “
C
C
O
2
S
” represents a reference concentration of indoor air quality concerning carbon dioxide.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kyu-Hyun Kim of KR 102304032 B1 (hereinafter, Kim) in view of Lee Hong-sik of KR 101186596 B1 (hereinafter, Lee) and Horáková, Marta, et al. "The synergistic effect of advanced oxidation processes to eliminate resistant chemical compounds." Surface and Coatings Technology 241 (2014): 154-158 (hereinafter, Horáková).
As to claim 1, Kim teaches to a smart air disinfection ventilation system (Kim, paragraph [0001], teaches to a ventilation device having a virus capture and filter sterilization function and a control method thereof), comprising:
a disinfection ventilation unit 100 configured to remove a droplet and aerosol from outdoor air passing through an outside opening 400 and indoor air passing through a ventilating opening 600 using one or more filter (Kim, paragraphs [0011], [0027], [0047], Fig. 1 teaches to a disinfection ventilation unit configured to remove a droplet and aerosol from outdoor air passing through an outside opening 400 and indoor air passing through a ventilating opening 600 using one or more filter, as Kim teaches to the ventilation device 100 configured to remove a droplet and aerosol from outdoor air passing through an outdoor opening 122 and an indoor air passing through a ventilation opening 132 using one or more filters 134, 124), to perform a collection and sterilization of a floating virus and floating bacteria (Kim, paragraph [0001], Fig. 1 teaches to the disinfection ventilation unit configured to perform a collection and sterilization of a floating virus and floating bacteria, as Kim teaches to a ventilation device having a virus capture and filter sterilization function), to perform a heat exchange between the outdoor air and the indoor air (Kim, paragraph [0038], Fig. 1 teaches to the disinfection ventilation unit configured to perform a heat exchange between the outdoor air and the indoor air, as Kim teaches that the heat exchange element 160 can exchange heat between the outside air and the ventilated indoor air), to perform the control of air volume intended for supplying the outdoor air and exhausting the indoor air (Kim, paragraphs [0048]-[0056], Fig. 1 teaches to the disinfection ventilation unit configured to perform the control of air volume intended for supplying the outdoor air and exhausting the indoor air, as Kim teaches to the ventilation device comprising a plurality of dampers 171, 173, 178, 177, 175), and to measure one or more concentrations of ozone and carbon dioxide included in the outdoor air and the indoor air (Kim, paragraphs [0092]-[0093], Fig. 1 teaches to the disinfection ventilation unit configured to measure one or more concentrations of ozone and carbon dioxide included in the outdoor air and the indoor air, as Kim teaches to the ventilation device 100 comprising the control unit comparing the carbon dioxide concentration with the reference concentration S210);
a control unit 200 configured to monitor an operation state of the disinfection ventilation unit 100, and to control an operation of the disinfection ventilation unit 100 based on a result of monitoring through algorithm learned (Kim, paragraph [0064], Fig. 3, teaches to a control unit 200 configured to monitor an operation state of the disinfection ventilation unit 100, and to control an operation of the disinfection ventilation unit 100 based on a result of monitoring through algorithm learned, as Kim teaches to a control unit configured to control the ventilation device 100 to operate in sterilization mode; Kim, paragraph [0081], teaches that the control unit compares the external fine dust concentration with the reference concentration to determine whether the external fine dust concentration exceeds the reference concentration).
Kim does not explicitly teach an apparatus configured to perform the decomposition of ozone based on ultraviolet rays and hydrogen peroxide.
In an analogous art, Lee teaches to perform the decomposition of ozone based on ultraviolet rays and hydrogen peroxide (Lee, paragraphs [0032], Fig. 2, teaches to performing the decomposition of ozone based on ultraviolet rays and hydrogen peroxide, as Lee teaches to purification of an air supply system using an UV lamp based on a synergistic effect of ultraviolet light and ozone, hydrogen peroxide; the ultraviolet lamp of Lee is configured to perform advanced oxidation, in which ozone decomposes and produces more hydroxyl radicals for sterilization; Lee teaches that the technique is widely known in the field of ultraviolet sterilization of air).
Both Kim and Lee relate to ultraviolet lamp (Lee, paragraph [0032]). Kim does not explicitly teach decomposition of ozone. Kim does teach to a light source that includes a UV LED lamp. Lee teaches to a UV lamp configured to utilize advanced oxidation method. He teaches that decomposition of ozone is well known in the art of ultraviolet sterilization for the purpose of inducing advanced oxidation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Kim with the UV lamp of He for performing the decomposition of ozone in sterilizing air.
Kim in view of Lee teaches to a display unit 300 configured to display the operation state of the disinfection ventilation unit 100 according to control of the control unit 200 (Lee, paragraph [0037], Fig. 2, teaches to a display unit 300 configured to display the operation state of the disinfection ventilation unit 100 according to control of the control unit 200, as Lee teaches to a display unit 161 provided on the integrated control unit 160 so that the user can operate the integrated control unit 160).
Kim in view of Lee does not explicitly teach the decomposition of ozone, which occurs during the inducement of plasma for sterilization of the floating virus and the bacteria.
In an analogous art, Horáková teaches to the decomposition of ozone, which occurs during the inducement of plasma for sterilization of the floating virus and the bacteria (Horáková, pg. 155, teaches to the decomposition of ozone, which occurs during the inducement of plasma for sterilization of the floating virus and the bacteria, as Horáková teaches that the primary benefit of using non-thermal plasma is the ability to generate UV light, ozone and hydroxyl radicals, increasing the efficiency of advanced oxidation processes that involve decomposition of ozone).
Both Kim in view of Lee and Horáková relate to using hydroxyl radicals for oxidation of organic contaminants (Horáková, pg. 155). Kim in view of Lee does not explicitly teach inducement of plasma. Kim in view of Lee does teach to performing decomposition of ozone based on ultraviolet rays and hydrogen peroxide. Horáková, pg. 157, teaches to synergistic effect of wide-range ultraviolet and oxidative radicals generated in plasma discharge.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Kim in view of Lee with the plasma inducement of Horáková for increasing the efficiency of advanced oxidation processes that involve decomposition of ozone.
As to claim 2, Kim in view of Lee and Horáková teaches to the system of claim 1, wherein the disinfection ventilation unit 100 comprises:
an air disinfection part 110 configured to remove a droplet and aerosol from outdoor air passing through the outside opening 400 and indoor air passing through the ventilation opening 600 using one or more filters (Kim, paragraphs [0057]-[0058], Fig. 1, teaches to an air disinfection part 110 configured to remove a droplet and aerosol from outdoor air passing through the outside opening 400 and indoor air passing through the ventilation opening 600, as Kim teaches to using a sterilization module 158 configured to remove a droplet and aerosol from outdoor air passing through the outdoor outlet 122 and indoor air passing through the ventilation port 132 using one or more filters, including 124, 134), to perform a collection and sterilization of a floating virus and floating bacteria (Kim, paragraph [0001], [0005], Fig. 1, teaches to performing a collection and sterilization of a floating virus and floating bacteria, as Km teaches to virus, bacteria capturing and filter sterilization function), and to cause ozone occurring during the inducement of plasma for sterilization of the floating virus and the floating bacteria to convert into radical by a reaction to the radiation of ultraviolet rays, and evaporated hydrogen peroxide (Lee, paragraph [0032], Fig. 2, teaches to causing ozone occurring during the inducement of plasma for sterilization of the floating virus and the floating bacteria to convert into radical by a reaction to the radiation of ultraviolet rays, and evaporated hydrogen peroxide, as Lee teaches to generation of hydroxyl radicals via photooxidation, an advanced oxidation method that uses ultraviolet rays and ozone and hydrogen peroxide in parallel; Lee, paragraph [0032], teaches that the photooxidation achieves a synergistic effect that is far greater than when ozone is used alone);
a heat exchange part 120 configured to perform a heat exchange between the outdoor air and the indoor air (Kim, paragraph [0038], teaches to a heat exchanger part 120 configured to perform a heat exchange between the outdoor air and the indoor air, as Kim teaches to the heat exchange element 160 configured to exchange heat between the outside air and the ventilated indoor air), an air blower part 130 configured to perform a ventilating operation so that outdoor air is supplied into the inside (Kim, paragraph [0042], Fig. 1, teaches to an air blower part 130 configured to perform a ventilating operation so that outdoor air is supplied into the inside, as Kim teaches that the ventilation device 100 comprises an exhaust blower 144 and an air supply blower 154), and indoor air is exhausted to the outside (Kim, paragraph [0043], Fig. 1, teaches that indoor air is exhausted to the outside, as Kim teaches to indoor air passing through the heat exchanger element 160 can be discharged through the exhaust port 142), and to perform the control of air volume according to ventilation (Kim, paragraph [0035], Fig. 1, teaches to performing the control of air volume according to ventilation, as Kim teaches that the intake of air or the discharge of air can be controlled).
Kim in view of Lee and Horáková does not explicitly teach an air quality perception part 140 configured to measure one or more concentrations of ozone and carbon dioxide included in the outdoor air and the indoor air.
However, Kim in view of Lee and Horáková nonetheless teaches to an air quality perception part 140 configured to measure one or more concentrations of ozone and carbon dioxide included in the outdoor air and the indoor air (Kim, paragraphs [0073], [0092], Fig. 1, teaches to an air quality perception part 140 configured to measure one or more concentrations of ozone and carbon dioxide included in the outdoor air and the indoor air, as Kim teaches to an air supply port 152, and as Kim teaches to a control unit comparing the concentrations of measured concentrations of carbon dioxide with the reference concentration S210, wherein the reference concentration is a preset value).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kyu-Hyun Kim of KR 102304032 B1 (hereinafter, Kim) in view of Lee Hong-sik of KR 101186596 B1 (hereinafter, Lee) and Horáková, Marta, et al. "The synergistic effect of advanced oxidation processes to eliminate resistant chemical compounds." Surface and Coatings Technology 241 (2014): 154-158 (hereinafter, Horáková), as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and in further view of Jintao Cui of CN 114484635 A (hereinafter, Cui).
As to claim 3, Kim in view of Lee and Horáková teaches to the system of claim 2, wherein the air disinfection part 110 comprises:
a first decrease part 111 having one or more filters (Kim, paragraphs [0057]-[0058], Fig. 1, teaches to a first decrease part 111 having one or more filters, as Kim teaches to using a sterilization module 158 configured to remove a droplet and aerosol from outdoor air passing through the outdoor outlet 122 and indoor air passing through the ventilation port 132 using one or more filters, including 124, 134) intended for removing a droplet included in the air, and aerosol (the term “intended for removing a droplet included in the air, and aerosol” amounts to an intended use, but the instant claim is directed to an apparatus or an article of manufacture; unless the intended use results in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art, the intended use in the instant claim is interpreted under the broadest reasonable interpretation; in this instance, the prior art reads into the claim limitation under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim because the intended use does not result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art);
a second decrease part 112 having a plasma induction part 112A (Horáková, pg. 155, Fig. 1, teaches to a second decrease part 112 having a plasma induction pat 112A, as Horáková teaches to a type of atmosphere plasma discharge using a gliding arc as shown in Fig. 1 of Horáková) intended for sterilizing a floating virus and floating bacteria in the air passing through the first decrease part 111 using plasma (the term “intended for removing a droplet included in the air, and aerosol” amounts to an intended use, but the instant claim is directed to an apparatus or an article of manufacture; unless the intended use results in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art, the intended use in the instant claim is interpreted under the broadest reasonable interpretation; in this instance, the prior art reads into the claim limitation under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim because the intended use does not result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art), and a high efficient particulate air (HEPA) filter 112B (Kim, paragraph [0045], Fig. 1, teaches to a high efficient particulate air HEPA filter 112B, as Kim teaches to a filter including various filters such as a non-woven filter and a HEPA filter 156) intended for collecting the floating virus and the floating bacteria (the term “intended for removing a droplet included in the air, and aerosol” amounts to an intended use, but the instant claim is directed to an apparatus or an article of manufacture; unless the intended use results in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art, the intended use in the instant claim is interpreted under the broadest reasonable interpretation; in this instance, the prior art reads into the claim limitation under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim because the intended use does not result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art); and
a third decrease part 113 having a luminous source outputting ultraviolet-C (UV-C) light (Lee, paragraph [0032], Fig. 2, teaches to a third decrease part 113 having a luminous source outputting ultraviolet-C (UV-C) light, as Lee teaches to an ultraviolet lamp configured to be mixed with an ozone lamp 120; Kim, paragraph [0058], teaches to using a UV-C toward the HEPA filter), configured to cause the floating virus and floating bacteria collected in the second decrease part 112 to be sterilized by radiation of ultraviolet-C (UV-C) light to the second decrease part 112 (Lee, paragraph [0032], Fig. 2, teaches to configured to cause the floating virus and floating bacteria collected in the second decrease part 112 to be sterilized by radiation of ultraviolet-C (UV-C) light to the second decrease part 112, as Lee teaches to an ultraviolet lamp configured to be mixed with an ozone lamp 120; Kim, paragraph [0058], teaches to using a UV-C toward the HEPA filter), and evaporated hydrogen peroxide, and to cause ozone occurring during the inducement of plasma through the plasma induction part 112A to convert into radical by a reaction to the ultraviolet-C (UV-C) light and the evaporated hydrogen peroxide (Horáková, pg. 155, teaches to evaporated hydrogen peroxide, and to cause ozone occurring during the inducement of plasma through the plasma induction part 112A to convert into radical by a reaction to the ultraviolet-C UV-C light and the evaporated hydrogen peroxide, as Horáková teaches that the primary benefit of using non-thermal plasma is the ability to generate UV light, ozone and hydroxyl radicals, increasing the efficiency of advanced oxidation processes that involve decomposition of ozone).
Kim in view of Lee and Horáková does not explicitly teach an evaporator for hydrogen peroxide.
In an analogous art, Cui teaches to an evaporator for hydrogen peroxide (Cui, paragraph [n0033], teaches to an evaporator for hydrogen peroxide, as Cui teaches to a VHP (vaporized hydrogen peroxide) sterilization device 127; the VHP vaporizes liquid hydrogen peroxide for disinfection).
Both Kim in view of Lee and Horáková and Cui relate to sterilization (Cui, paragraph [n0033]). Kim in view of Lee and Horáková does not explicitly teach an evaporator. Kim in view of Lee and Horáková does teach using hydrogen peroxide for sterilization and disinfection. Cui teaches to an evaporator for hydrogen peroxide.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Kim in view of Lee and Horáková with the evaporator of Cui for effectively preventing air pollution.
Claim(s) 4-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kyu-Hyun Kim of KR 102304032 B1 (hereinafter, Kim) in view of Lee Hong-sik of KR 101186596 B1 (hereinafter, Lee) and Horáková, Marta, et al. "The synergistic effect of advanced oxidation processes to eliminate resistant chemical compounds." Surface and Coatings Technology 241 (2014): 154-158 (hereinafter, Horáková), as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Yiwen Jian of US 2020/0096217 A1 (hereinafter, Jian), Maolong Li of CN 114857733 A (hereinafter, Li), Yoshitaka Inui of JP 2002320665 A (hereinafter, Inui), Andrew Elde of US 2019/0216970 A1 (hereinafter, Elde), and Young Sin Beak of KR 20110115193 A (hereinafter, Beak).
As to claim 4, Kim in view of Lee and Horáková teaches to the system of claim 1, wherein the control unit 200 comprises:
an intelligent control part 210 configured to monitor an operation state of the disinfection ventilation unit 100, and to output operation control signals of a collection part 220, a disinfection part 230, a safety part 240, and a ventilation part 250 (Kim, paragraph [0092], Fig. 1, teaches to an intelligent control part 210 configured to monitor an operation state of the disinfection ventilation unit 100, and to output operation control signals of a collection part 220, a disinfection part 230, a safety part 240, and a ventilation part 250, as Kim teaches to the control unit configured to compare the carbon dioxide concentration in the ventilated space through the ventilation device 100, the indoor space, with the reference concentration; hence, Kim necessarily teaches to a microcontroller that integrates a microprocessor with RAM, ROM, and I/O peripherals onto a single integrated circuit; the microcontroller of Kim is configured to monitor an operation state and output signals; the use of control unit of the structure disclosed in Kim amounts merely to a matter of obvious engineering choice, as the use of the control unit would have been operable to one of ordinary skill in the art for comparing measured concentrations to the reference or standard concentrations in the art of air sterilization; as such, the integration of the claimed invention is not contrary to the understandings and expectations of the art. See MPEP 2144.04.V.B.) according to a signal for replacement of a filter intended for removing a droplet and aerosol (the term “intended for removing a droplet included in the air, and aerosol” amounts to an intended use, but the instant claim is directed to an apparatus or an article of manufacture; unless the intended use results in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art, the intended use in the instant claim is interpreted under the broadest reasonable interpretation; in this instance, the prior art reads into the claim limitation under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim because the intended use does not result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art);
the collection part 220 installed at the filters intended for removing the droplet and the aerosol (the term “intended for removing a droplet included in the air, and aerosol” amounts to an intended use, but the instant claim is directed to an apparatus or an article of manufacture; unless the intended use results in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art, the intended use in the instant claim is interpreted under the broadest reasonable interpretation; in this instance, the prior art reads into the claim limitation under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim because the intended use does not result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art), and algorithm learned from concentrations of ozone and carbon dioxide included in the outdoor air and the indoor air (Kim, paragraphs [0073], [0092], Fig. 1, teaches to algorithm learned from concentrations of ozone and carbon dioxide included in the outdoor air and the indoor air, as Kim teaches to a control unit comparing the concentrations of measured concentrations of carbon dioxide with the reference concentration S210, wherein the reference concentration is a preset value).
Kim in view of Lee and Horáková does not explicitly teach and configured to output a replacement alarm signal according to light transmissivity of the filters.
In an analogous art, Jian teaches to and configured to output a replacement alarm signal according to light transmissivity of the filters (Jian, paragraph [0016], Fig. 1, teaches to being configured to output a replacement alarm signal according to light transmissivity of the filters, as Jian teaches to a microcontroller in an alarm module configured to output a replacement alarm signal based on photoelectric signal conversion realized by a photoresistor).
Both Kim in view of Lee and Horáková and Jian relate to an air purifier (Jian, paragraph [0002]). Kim in view of Lee and Horáková does not explicitly teach a microcontroller configured to output a replacement alarm signal according to light transmissivity of the filters. Kim in view of Lee and Horáková does teach to a system comprising one or more of filters and a microcontroller configured to compare measured concentrations to a reference concentration. Jian teaches to an alarm module for household air purifier filter replacement based on photoresistor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Kim in view of Lee and Horáková with the alarm module of Jian for outputting the filter replacement alarm signal in reminding users, thereby gaining strong operability of a ventilation device.
Kim in view of Lee, Horáková and Jian does not explicitly teach the disinfection part 230 configured to adjust the intensity of plasma generated according to an operation of the plasma induction part 112A for sterilization of the floating virus and the floating bacteria.
In an analogous art, Li teaches to the disinfection part 230 configured to adjust the intensity of plasma generated according to an operation of the plasma induction part 112A for sterilization of the floating virus and the floating bacteria (Li, paragraph [n0004] – [n0007] , teaches to the disinfection part 230 configured to adjust the intensity of plasma generated according to an operation of the plasma induction part 112A for sterilization of the floating virus and the floating bacteria, as Li teaches to controlling plasma concentration in the air purifier; Li teaches to plasma driving circuit for determining plasma, detecting concentration of the plasma through a sensor to determine the concentration upon exceeding a desired concentration threshold by changing duty ratio).
Both Kim in view of Lee, Horáková and Jian and Li relate to controlling plasma concentration (Li, paragraph [n0004]). Kim in view of Lee, Horáková and Jian does not explicitly teach to a controller drive circuit. Kim in view of Lee, Horáková and Jian does teach to the decomposition of ozone, which occurs during the inducement of plasma for sterilization of the floating virus and the bacteria and a synergistic effect of wide-range ultraviolet and oxidative radicals generated in plasma discharge. Li teaches to a controller plasma driving circuit configured to be driven according to the detected signals of checking whether the detected concentration of plasma exceeds the standard concentration threshold.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Kim in view of Lee, Horáková and Jian with the plasma driving circuit of Li for controlling plasma concentration, resulting in an effective disinfection ventilation system.
the safety part 240 configured to sense (Jian, paragraph [0015], teaches to the safety part 240, as Jian teaches to a microcontroller configured to sense voltage signal converted from illuminance signal) on the basis of information sensed from an illumination sensor (Jian, paragraphs [0009]-[0010], teaches to on the basis of information sensed from an illumination sensor, as Jian teaches that light receiver adopts photosensitive resistor module sensor which is sensitive to visible light and converts illuminance signal inside the filter into voltage value electrical signal and sends it to microcontroller), and a humidity sensor (Kimura, paragraph [0181], teaches to a humidity sensor, as Kimura teaches to the display unit 201d information, wherein the information may display the humidity in addition to the remaining battery level, the level of purified air within the disclosure 201, and the temperature within the enclosure 201);
Kim in view of Lee, Horáková, Jian and Li does not explicitly teach whether a luminous source radiating the ultraviolet rays operates normally or not.
In an analogous art, Inui teaches to whether a luminous source radiating the ultraviolet rays operates normally or not (Inui, paragraph [0021], teaches to whether a luminous source radiating the ultraviolet rays operates normally or not, as Inui teaches to a photo sensor 25 for monitoring a lighting state of the ultraviolet lamp 9).
Both Kim in view of Lee, Horáková, Jian and Li and Inui relate to ultraviolet radiation (Inui, paragraph [0021]). Kim in view of Lee, Horáková, Jian and Li does not explicitly teach a photosensor. Kim in view of Lee, Horáková, Jian and Li does teach using an ultraviolet lamp (Lee, paragraphs [0032], Fig. 2, teaches to using an UV lamp based on a synergistic effect of ultraviolet light and ozone, hydrogen peroxide). Inui teaches a photosensor configured to monitor a lighting state of the ultraviolet lamp for maintaining efficiency in regulating ultraviolet lamp.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Kim in view of Lee, Horáková, Jian and Li with the photosensor of Inui for monitoring an ultraviolet lamp, thereby providing an efficient disinfection system.
Kim in view of Lee, Horáková, Jian, Li, and Inui does not explicitly teach and the hydrogen peroxide lacks or not.
In an analogous art, Elde teaches to and the hydrogen peroxide lacks or not (Elde, paragraph [0077], teaches to and the hydrogen peroxide lacks or not, as Elde teaches to a humidity sensor 34, wherein the humidity sensor 34 can be any type of hygrometer that provides a feedback humidity signal to the controller 16 indicative of the percent humidity in the air/vapor mixture).
Both Kim in view of Lee, Horáková, Jian, Li, and Inui and Elde relate to air purification (Elde, paragraph [0026]). Kim in view of Lee, Horáková, Jian, Li, and Inui does not explicitly teach a humidity sensor. Kim in view of Lee, Horáková, Jian, Li, and Inui does teach to using hydrogen peroxide. Elde teaches to using a humidity sensor that is configured to provide a feedback signal for reaching a desired humidity.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Kim in view of Lee, Horáková, Jian, Li, and Inui with the humidity sensor of Elde for controlling relative humidity, for allowing optimal conditions for air purification.
Kim in view of Lee, Horáková, Jian, Li, Inui, and Elde does not explicitly teach the ventilation part 250 configured to perform the control of air volume intended for supplying the outdoor air and exhausting the indoor air.
In an analogous art, Beak teaches to the ventilation part 250 configured to perform the control of air volume (Beak, paragraph [0036], teaches to the ventilation part 250 configured to perform the control of air volume intended for supplying the outdoor air and exhausting the indoor air, as Beak teaches to the CO2 sensor 173 that is electrically connected to the control device 170 and installed indoors to detect the CO2 concentration value, thereby controlling the air volume flowing inside the ventilation device 100 and implementing an energy-saving ventilation system based on the pollution concentration) intended for supplying the outdoor air and exhausting the indoor air (the term “intended for supplying the outdoor air and exhausting the indoor air” amounts to an intended use, but the instant claim is directed to an apparatus or an article of manufacture; unless the intended use results in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art, the intended use in the instant claim is interpreted under the broadest reasonable interpretation; in this instance, the prior art reads into the claim limitation under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim because the intended use does not result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art).
Both Kim in view of Kim in view of Lee, Horáková, Jian, Li, Inui, and Elde and Beak relate to a ventilation device (Beak, paragraph [0001]). Kim in view of Lee, Horáková, Jian, Li, Inui, and Elde does not explicitly teach the control device 170. Kim in view of Lee, Horáková, Jian, Li, Inui, and Elde does teach to an exhaust blower 144 and an air supply blower 154 (Kim, paragraph [0042]). Beak teaches to multiple supply fans 121 and exhaust fans 131 that suck and discharge air between the intake port 122 and the exhaust port 132. Beak teaches to the control device 170 configured to control air volume.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of K Kim in view of Lee, Horáková, Jian, Li, Inui, and Elde with the control device of Beak for blowing action, thereby providing an efficient ventilation device.
Kim in view of Lee, Horáková, Jian, Li, Inui, Elde, and Beak teaches to a sensing part 260 configured to sense concentrations of carbon dioxide included in the outdoor air and the indoor air through a plurality of sensors, and to thereby measure whether or not the concentrations exceed prefixed reference concentrations (Beak, paragraph [0036], teaches to a sensing part 230 configured to sense concentrations of carbon dioxide included in the outdoor air and the indoor air through a plurality of sensors, and to thereby measure whether or not the concentrations exceed prefixed reference concentrations, as Beak teaches to the CO2 sensor 173 that is electrically connected to the control device 170 and installed indoors to detect the CO2 concentration value, thereby controlling the air volume flowing inside the ventilation device 100 and implementing an energy-saving ventilation system based on the pollution concentration).
Kim in view of Lee, Horáková, Jian, Li, Inui, Elde, and Beak does not explicitly teach of ozone.
In an analogous art, Kimura teaches to of ozone (Kimura, paragraph [0135], teaches to of ozone, as Kimura teaches to the control unit 70 which operates the supplied power in order to control the ozone concentration, wherein the control may be a feedback control; Kimura, paragraph [0046], teaches to detector 42).
Both Kim in view of Lee, Horáková, Jian, and Beak and Kimura relate to air purification system (Kimura, paragraph [0001]). Kim in view of Lee, Horáková, Jian, and Beak does not explicitly teach a sensor capable of sensing ozone concentration and of comparing ozone concentration values. Kim in view of Lee, Horáková, Jian, and Beak does teach to a CO2 sensor capable of comparing measured concentrations for controlling flowrates. Kimura teaches to an ozone sensor integrated in a feedback control.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Kim in view of Lee, Horáková, Jian, and Beak with the detector of Kimura for controlling ozone concentration and improving the quality of the purified air for breathing organisms, thereby resulting in a more effective air purification system.
As to claim 5, Kim in view of Lee, Horáková, Jian, Li, Inui, Elde, Beak, and Kimura teaches to the system of claim 4, wherein the intelligent control part 210 outputs a replacement alarm signal classified into any one of “abnormality power”, “normal”, “replacement” according to light transmissivity sensed from the collection part 220 (Jian, paragraph [0008], teaches to wherein the intelligent control part 210 outputs a replacement alarm signal classified into any one of “abnormality power”, “normal”, “replacement” according to light transmissivity sensed from the collection part 220, and a power supply state, as Jian teaches to a microcontroller configured to receive electrical signal and output the alarm signal of filter replacement, to a display module configured to display filter purification force, and to an alarm module configured to remind user to replace filter according to the alarm signal; Jian, paragraphs [0009]-[0010], teaches that light receiver adopts photosensitive resistor module sensor which is sensitive to visible light and converts illuminance signal inside the filter into voltage value electrical signal and sends it to microcontroller) and a power supply state (Kimura, paragraph [0181], teaches to and a power supply state, as Kimura teaches to the display unit 201d information, wherein the information may display the remaining battery level in addition to the level of purified air within the disclosure 201, the temperature within the enclosure 201, and the humidity).
As to claim 6, Kim in view of Lee, Horáková, Jian, Li, Inui, Elde, Beak, and Kimura teaches to the system of claim 4, wherein the intelligent control part 210 controls an operation of the plasma induction part 112A so that intensity of plasma increases or decreases (Li, paragraph [n0004] – [n0007] , teaches to wherein the intelligent control part 210 controls an operation of the plasma induction part 112A so that intensity of plasma increases or decreases, as Li teaches to controlling plasma concentration in the air purifier).
Kim in view of Lee, Horáková, Jian, Li, Inui, Elde, Beak, and Kimura does not explicitly teach in prefixed steps according to disinfection value P calculated by the following formula:
P = [0.6667O3 – 4O2 + 6.3333O], where “O3” represents ozone, “O2” represents oxygen, “O” represents oxygen radical.
However, Li, paragraph [n0004] – [n0007], teaches to controlling plasma concentration in the air purifier; Li teaches to plasma driving circuit for determining plasma, detecting concentration of the plasma through a sensor to determine the concentration upon exceeding a desired concentration threshold by changing duty ratio. Elde, paragraph [0032], teaches that it is well known to use an environment comprising residual amounts of hydrogen peroxide, hydroxyl radicals, and oxygen (Elde, paragraph [0154], ozone is formed from interacting oxygen molecules with UV energized photocatalytic coatings, for instance) for air purification. It is well established that the sterilization efficacy depends on the total oxidative environment. Assigning different weighting coefficients to reactive species would have been obvious because their sterilization effectiveness differs, and adjusting control parameters according to their relative contribution is a predictable optimization of a result-effective variable.
As such, reciting a desired concentration, or plasma intensity amounts to a feedback control with weighted species contribution, merely an engineering choice for optimization of a known structure. A particular parameter can be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, and the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation (please refer to MPEP § 2144.05(II)(B)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have discovered the optimum or workable ranges, including values within the claimed range, through routine experimentation.
As to claim 7, Kim in view of Lee, Horáková, Jian, Li, Inui, Elde, Beak, and Kimura teaches to the system of claim 4, wherein the intelligent control part 210 judges whether a luminous source radiating ultraviolet rays operates normally or not (Inui, paragraph [0021], teaches to whether a luminous source radiating the ultraviolet rays operates normally or not, as Inui teaches to a photo sensor 25 for monitoring a lighting state of the ultraviolet lamp 9), and whether the hydrogen peroxide lacks or not (Elde, paragraph [0077], teaches to and the hydrogen peroxide lacks or not, as Elde teaches to a humidity sensor 34, wherein the humidity sensor 34 can be any type of hygrometer that provides a feedback humidity signal to the controller 16 indicative of the percent humidity in the air/vapor mixture).
Kim in view of Lee, Horáková, Jian, Li, Inui, Elde, Beak, and Kimura does not explicitly teach according to a safety value concerning ozone UL and a safety value concerning hydrogen peroxide UH calculated by the following formulae:
UL=[
L
L
s
], where “L” represents illuminance concerning the luminous source radiating ultraviolet rays, and “Ls” represents reference illuminance, and
UH=[
H
H
s
], where “H” represents humidity concerning an evaporation of hydrogen peroxide, and “Hs” represents reference humidity.
However, Inui, paragraph [0021], teaches to whether a luminous source radiating the ultraviolet rays operates normally or not, as Inui teaches to a photo sensor 25 for monitoring a lighting state of the ultraviolet lamp 9, and Elde, paragraph [0077], teaches to and the hydrogen peroxide lacks or not, as Elde teaches to a humidity sensor 34, wherein the humidity sensor 34 can be any type of hygrometer that provides a feedback humidity signal to the controller 16 indicative of the percent humidity in the air/vapor mixture. Further, Beak, pg. 25, teaches to controlling humidity to supply deionization and sterilization effect by supplying to the plasma discharge tube 160. Beak teaches to a control device 170, driven by a microprocessor. Comparing measured UV intensity to a stored reference value to determine lamp degradation is a routine diagnostic technique, for instance. Monitoring humidity to infer vaporized hydrogen peroxide is a predictable proxy measurement where direct measurement is impractical. Normalization facilitates threshold comparison and compensates for baseline variations, which is a well-known control technique.
As such, reciting a desired illuminance, or humidity amounts to a feedback control with the operation of a lighting source or hydrogen peroxide supply, merely an engineering choice for optimization of a known structure. A particular parameter can be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, and the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation (please refer to MPEP § 2144.05(II)(B)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have discovered the optimum or workable ranges, including values within the claimed range, through routine experimentation.
As to claim 8, Kim in view of Lee, Horáková, Jian, Li, Inui, Elde, Beak, and Kimura teaches to the system of claim 4, wherein the intelligent control part 210 controls an operation of the air blower part 130 so that air volume increases or decrease (Beak, paragraph [0036], teaches to wherein the intelligent control part 210 controls an operation of the air blower part 130 so that air volume increases or decreases, as Beak teaches to the CO2 sensor 173 that is electrically connected to the control device 170 and installed indoors to detect the CO2 concentration value, thereby controlling the air volume flowing inside the ventilation device 100 and implementing an energy-saving ventilation system based on the pollution concentration; Kim, paragraph [0042], Fig. 1, teaches to an air blower part 130 configured to perform a ventilating operation so that outdoor air is supplied into the inside, as Kim teaches that the ventilation device 100 comprises an exhaust blower 144 and an air supply blower 154).
Kim in view of Lee, Horáková, Jian, Li, Inui, Elde, Beak, and Kimura does not explicitly teach in prefixed steps according to a ventilation value V calculated by the following formula:
V = C + 1, where “C” represents a sensing value based on a concentration of carbon dioxide measured with respect to a reference concentration of indoor air quality concerning carbon dioxide.
However, Beak teaches to Beak, paragraph [0036], teaches to wherein the intelligent control part 210 controls an operation of the air blower part 130 so that air volume increases or decreases, as Beak teaches to the CO2 sensor 173 that is electrically connected to the control device 170 and installed indoors to detect the CO2 concentration value, thereby controlling the air volume flowing inside the ventilation device 100 and implementing an energy-saving ventilation system based on the pollution concentration; Kim, paragraph [0042], Fig. 1, teaches to an air blower part 130 configured to perform a ventilating operation so that outdoor air is supplied into the inside, as Kim teaches that the ventilation device 100 comprises an exhaust blower 144 and an air supply blower 154. It would have been obvious to control blower speed based on carbon dioxide concentration because CO2 concentration is a known proxy for occupancy and ventilation demand, wherein adding a constant offset constitutes routine scaling to adjust baseline fan speed.
As such, reciting a carbon dioxide concentration to a reference concentration for controlling an operation of an air blower amounts to a CO2-based fan control with routine scaling, merely an engineering choice for optimization of a known structure. A particular parameter can be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, and the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation (please refer to MPEP § 2144.05(II)(B)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have discovered the optimum or workable ranges, including values within the claimed range, through routine experimentation.
As to claim 9, Kim in view of Lee, Horáková, Jian, Li, Inui, Elde, Beak, and Kimura teaches to the system of claim 4, wherein the intelligent control part 210 calculates a sensing value concerning ozone O (Kimura, paragraph [0135], teaches to wherein the intelligent control part 210 calculates a sensing value concerning ozone O, as Kimura teaches to the control unit 70 which operates the supplied power in order to control the ozone concentration, wherein the control may be a feedback control; Kimura, paragraph [0046], teaches to detector 42) and a sensing value concerning carbon dioxide C (Kim teaches to and a sensing value concerning carbon dioxide C, as Kim teaches to the ventilation device 100 comprising the control unit comparing the carbon dioxide concentration with the reference concentration S210).
Kim in view of Lee, Horáková, Jian, Li, Inui, Elde, Beak, and Kimura does not explicitly teach by the following formulae: O=3[
C
O
3
C
O
3
S
], where “
C
O
3
” represents a concentration of ozone measured, and “
C
O
3
S
” represents a concentration of indoor air quality concerning ozone, and
C=3[
C
C
O
2
C
C
O
2
S
], where “
C
C
O
2
” represents a concentration of carbon dioxide measured, and “
C
C
O
2
S
” represents a reference concentration of indoor air quality concerning carbon dioxide.
However, Kimura, paragraph [0135], teaches to wherein the intelligent control part 210 calculates a sensing value concerning ozone O, as Kimura teaches to the control unit 70 which operates the supplied power in order to control the ozone concentration, wherein the control may be a feedback control; Kimura, paragraph [0046], teaches to detector 42. Kim teaches to and a sensing value concerning carbon dioxide C, as Kim teaches to the ventilation device 100 comprising the control unit comparing the carbon dioxide concentration with the reference concentration S210. It would have been obvious to normalize measured pollutant concentration to reference indoor air quality standard to determine safety compliance, as multiplying a normalized value by a constant scaling factor represents routine mathematical scaling to achieve desired control sensitivity.
As such, reciting concentrations of ozone and carbon dioxide for targeting desired air quality amounts to an arbitrary tuning for air quality indexing of the air purification system, merely an engineering choice for optimization of a known structure. A particular parameter can be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, and the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation (please refer to MPEP § 2144.05(II)(B)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have discovered the optimum or workable ranges, including values within the claimed range, through routine experimentation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chul Won Yoo of US 2013/0004380 A1 (hereinafter, Yoo) teaches to purpose of supplying liquid hydrogen peroxide to the evaporator and using UV for a decomposition of ozone.
/JOHN LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 1794
/JAMES LIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1794