DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Claims 1-20 are pending, independent claims 1 and 7 and dependent claims 18 are amended.
Applicant’s arguments on page 11, filed 3/18/2026, with respect to the Claim Objections of claim 18 has been fully considered and are persuasive. The Claim Objections of claim 18 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments on pages 11-14, filed 3/18/2026 with respect to U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims 1-20 have been fully considered but they are not considered persuasive.
Applicant argues that Urdaneta‘736, Urdaneta‘569, and Roberts do not teach the newly
amended limitations of the independent claims 1 and 7.
Examiner respectfully disagrees and directs the applicant to the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1- 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urdaneta (US 2018/0258736 A1) hereinafter Urdaneta‘736 in view of Urdaneta et al. (US 2017/0211569 A1) hereinafter Urdaneta‘569, and further in view of Roberts et al (US 2018/0363422 A1) hereinafter Roberts.
Regarding Claim 1, Urdaneta‘736 teaches transporting a pump unit to a wellsite ([0032], “such as may permit their transportation to the wellsite 102.”; Fig. 1) wherein the pump unit comprises a unit controller (“a controller 410”, [0044]; Fig. 5) configured to perform a diagnostic test ([0097], “The pressure calibration (i.e., diagnostic test) may include the controller 410 executing the coded instructions 432 or an algorithm” Fig. 5; [0004], “To ensure that the wellsite equipment operates as intended, human operators at the wellsite may perform pressure and flow rate calibrations, diagnostics, and other tests before commencing actual downhole pumping operations”.), wherein the unit controller comprises a processor ([0095], “processor 412” Fig. 5), a non-transitory memory ([0091], “The non-volatile memory 420 may be, comprise, or be implemented by read-only memory, flash memory, and/or other types of memory devices.”; Fig. 5), and an input output device ([0092], “The interface circuit 424 may be, comprise, or be implemented by various types of standard interfaces, such as an Ethernet interface, a universal serial bus (USB), a third generation input/output (3GIO) interface, a wireless interface, and/or a cellular interface, among others” Fig. 5); initiating, by the unit controller, a start-up procedure comprising an automatic diagnostic process comprising at least one diagnostic test selected from the group consisting of a readiness diagnostic test, a liquid supply diagnostic test, and a mix water diagnostic test ([0095], “The controller 410 may also assess operational health (i.e., diagnostic process) of the cementing unit 200, including the pump units 241, 242, the fluid valves ( e.g., fluid valves 205, 217, 221, 252), and the discharge manifold 270.” Fig. 2, and [0097] “The initialization of the cementing unit 200 may be performed before the fluid pumping operation to confirm that the cementing unit 200 may pump the cement slurry at the intended pressure and measure the fluid pressure accurately (i.e., measuring the pressure of the slurry could be considered liquid supply diagnostic or a mix water diagnostic depending on the slurry content).,” where [0028] “The tanks 112 may contain that which is known in the art as a base fluid, which may be or comprise fresh water, brine, and/or mud. The container 114 may contain liquid or solid chemicals or additives operable to treat the base fluid. The additives may be or comprise accelerators, retarders, fluid-loss additives, dispersants, extenders, weighting agents, lost circulation additives, among other examples.”); performing the diagnostic test in a flow loop leading out of a mix tank, and into the mixing tank (the flow loop as annotated in fig. 2 below follows: “comprise a pump unit (i.e., mix pump) 263 selectively operable to pump or otherwise move the fluid from the first portion (i.e., first portion of the mix tank) 255 and into the mixer 202 via the discharge fluid conduit 215 and a recirculation fluid conduit 226” [0047], “combined fluid may then be communicated to the fluid tank (i.e., mix tank as a whole)222 via the fluid conduit 203.” [0047], “The fluid valve 228 may also include a corresponding position sensor 230 operable to generate a signal or information indicative of an actual position of the fluid valve 228.” [0048], where the testing system will “perform pressure and flow rate calibrations, diagnostics, and other tests before commencing actual downhole pumping operations” [0004]. And performing a mixing test where [0184] “The mixing test (1015) may further comprise, before performing (1020) the mixing operations, pumping (1075) the fluid with the pump 300 while monitoring the pumping speed, fluid pressure (i.e., monitoring fluid pressure is done with a pressure sensor. If the fluid pressure is being monitored/measured before the mixing operation while pumping fluid into the mix tank 222 (i.e., a diagnosis test)”);
measuring pressure by the first sensor valve while the first sensor valve is partially open and flow is circulating through the flow loop([0065] “The cementing unit 200 may further comprise one or more pressure sensors (i.e., first and second, and possibly more) disposed in association with the pump units 241, 242, the discharge manifold 270, and/or the cement line 240 in a manner permitting the sensing of fluid pressure within the pump units 241, 242, the discharge manifold 270, and/or the cement line 240. Each pressure sensor may be operable to generate an electrical signal and/or information indicative of the fluid pressure within the pump units 241, 242, the discharge manifold 270, and/or cement line 240. For example, a pressure sensor 276 may be disposed in association with the cement line 240, between the wellhead 108 and the fluid valve 248.” Where the sensors between the wellhead and the fluid valve would measure the pressure of the fluid entering the valve; where [0177] “For example, the valve position set-point may comprise 25%, 50%, or 75% of a fully-open flow position of the fluid flow rate control valve 217, 219.”, Fig. 2, the valve is at least partially open, i.e., fluid is circulating through the loop to measure); measuring pressure by the second sensor valve while the second sensor valve is partially open and flow is circulating through the flow loop([0065] “The cementing unit 200 may further comprise one or more pressure sensors (i.e., first and second, and possibly more) disposed in association with the pump units 241, 242, the discharge manifold 270, and/or the cement line 240 in a manner permitting the sensing of fluid pressure within the pump units 241, 242, the discharge manifold 270, and/or the cement line 240. Each pressure sensor may be operable to generate an electrical signal and/or information indicative of the fluid pressure within the pump units 241, 242, the discharge manifold 270, and/or cement line 240. For example, a pressure sensor 276 may be disposed in association with the cement line 240, between the wellhead 108 and the fluid valve 248.” Where the sensors between the wellhead and the fluid valve would measure the pressure of the fluid entering the valve; where [0177] “For example, the valve position set-point may comprise 25%, 50%, or 75% of a fully-open flow position of the fluid flow rate control valve 217, 219.”, Fig. 2, the valve is at least partially open, i.e., fluid is circulating through the loop to measure); determining maximum pressure output of the mix pump by closing the second sensor valve while operating the mix pump at maximum capacity ([0117] “The pressure test (615) may comprise automatically varying (620) a pumping speed (i.e., the fastest speed used would be the mix pump operating at its maximum capacity for the set of data points)of a pump unit 300 (i.e., mix pump) of the cementing unit 200 to increase a fluid pressure generated by the pump unit 300 to the pressure set-point while recording the varying pumping speeds and corresponding first fluid pressures, wherein the recorded first fluid pressures are detected within a fluid conduit 234, 235, 236 of the cementing unit 200 downstream of the pump unit 300. The pressure test (615) may further comprise recording (625) second fluid pressures within the fluid conduit 234, 235, 236 until the test duration set-point is met while confirming that the recorded second fluid pressures are within a predetermined range of the pressure set-point.” And [0118] “In an example implementation, the pressure set-point may range between about 500 PSI and about 5,000 PSI for a low pressure test, and between about 5,000 PSI and about 15,000 PSI for a high pressure test (i.e., the measured high pressure value would be the maximum pressure).” [0133] “comprise progressively closing (725) the choke valve 252 while recording positions of the choke valve 252 and corresponding second fluid pressures.”); comparing the measured pressure to an operational capacity threshold (Fig. 7 step 615 “operate controller to automatically perform pressure test utilizing step 670 “pump fluid while monitoring parameters, confirm that parameters are within ranges (i.e., while operational)” of which in step 625 “record fluid pressure while confirming pressures are in range (i.e., where the range has an upper capacity threshold and a lower capacity threshold)” where this pressure can be in reference to a first or second measured pressure obtained from a sensor; where any one of the pressure values measured from the system, pressure from first sensor, pressure from second sensor, and maximum pressure of the mix pump can be compared to the operational capacity thresholds); pumping a wellbore treatment into the wellbore in response to a passing status of the health status ([0097], “The initialization of the cementing unit 200 may be performed before the fluid pumping operation (i.e., pumping a wellbore treatment into the wellbore) to confirm that the cementing unit 200 may pump the cement slurry at the intended pressure and measure the fluid pressure accurately (i.e., passing status of health status).” Fig. 2).
Urdaneta ‘736 does not teach; determining a health status of one or more components of the pump unit based upon a result of the comparison, initiating a repair and scheduling maintenance of the one or more components of the pump unit in response to a failing status of the health status; wherein the first sensor valve is disposed upstream of the mix pump, wherein the second sensor valve is disposed downstream of the mix pump, wherein additive lines lead from additive pumps directly into the mix tank, and wherein additive valves are disposed on the additive lines.
Urdaneta ‘569 teaches, determining a health status of one or more components of the pump unit based upon a result of the comparison (Fig. 5 [0089], “The controller 310 may also generate warnings based on comparisons (i.e., the generation of warnings based on comparisons requires there to be a result of the comparison) between the health profile of the selected component of the logged pump assembly and the normalized cepstrum amplitude ratio(s) of the selected component of the subsequent pump assembly, such as when the normalized cepstrum amplitude ratio of the selected component of the subsequent pump assembly reaches and/or surpasses warning levels (such as the above described Very Low, Low, Medium, High, and Very High Warnings) that were predetermined based on the health profile of the selected component of the logged pump assembly.”), initiating a repair and scheduling maintenance of the one or more components of the pump unit in response to a fail status within the health status ([0083], “Therefore, the controller 310 may cause the display (e.g., via one or more output devices 328 described above and shown in FIG. 5) of the normalized cepstrum amplitude ratios, whether for inspection by a human operator or otherwise, for determining whether the component should be replaced and/or repaired.”; Fig. 5)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the diagnostic test described in Urdaneta ‘569 to the wellbore servicing method described Urdaneta ‘736 for the purpose of detecting the possible erosion or wear that can come from high pressures and abrasive properties of certain fluids on the sealing components or other portions of the pumps. This is advantageous because such defects are often detected late, resulting in pump failures during pumping operations and/or severe damage to the pumps and other equipment. Interruptions during pumping operations may reduce the efficiency of the pumping operations, and lead to reduced production, (e.g., [0003], Urdaneta ‘569).
Urdaneta ‘736 and Urdaneta ‘569 do not teach through wherein the first sensor valve is disposed upstream of the mix pump, wherein the second sensor valve is disposed downstream of the mix pump, wherein additive lines lead from additive pumps directly into the mix tank, and wherein additive valves are disposed on the additive lines.
Roberts teaches through wherein the first sensor valve is disposed upstream of the mix pump, wherein the second sensor valve is disposed downstream of the mix pump (Fig. 1 shows upstream sensor platform 124 and downstream sensor platform 130 bracket mix pump “blender” 126, and where the sensor platform may [0021] “comprise suites of integrated analytical sensors (which can include, but are not limited to pH, density, viscosity, temperature, conductivity, oxidation reduction potential (ORP), CO2, dissolved O2 and corrosion index sensors), pressure transducers, temperature transducers, accelerometers, power meters, and flow meters.”), wherein additive lines lead from additive pumps directly into the mix tank, and wherein additive valves are disposed on the additive lines ([0053] “With more particular reference to FIG. 1, the drawing shows a process system 100, a frack water system 102, a sand feed system 104, an additive feed system 106, a produced water system 108, an oil collection system 110, an oil well 112, a Christmas tree 114, a reservoir 116, a frack water reservoir 118, a frack water pump 120, a frack pump VFD (variable frequency drive) 122, an upstream sensor platform 124, a blender (i.e., mix tank) 126, a blender VFD 128, a downstream sensor platform 130, a sand source 132, a sand feeder 134, a sand feeder VFD 136, an additive source 138, an additive flow control valve 140, another sensor platform 142, a post treatment system 144, yet more sensor platforms 146 and 148, a platform controller 150, and a process controller 152. For the sake of convenience further aspects of a typical petrochemical production system are not shown. However, those skilled in the art understand that additional upstream, midstream, and downstream processes, systems, equipment, etc. are often involved.”, [0072] “The additives involved come in a large variety. For instance, oil well “mud” can be a large constituent of the additives, particularly during well drilling and finalization. pH buffers, biocides, anti-scalants, etc. can all be included in the fluid (and/or solids) passed to the blender (i.e., mix tank) 126 from the additive feed system 106. The flow of the additives is controlled by the additive flow control valve (FCV) 140 so that these additives can be metered into the frack water via the blender 126. See FIG. 1. Note that the additive feed system 106 can also supply various additives to the produced water and/or oil as illustrated by the post treatment system 144 and associated FCV 145.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the use of a first pressure sensor before the mix tank and a second pressure sensor behind the mix tank, as well as additives monitored in the mix tank as discussed in Roberts to the wellbore servicing method described Urdaneta ‘736 for the purpose of obtaining more accurate fluid properties. This is advantageous because it allows for better control of the hydrocarbon fluid as well as the application of additives to such a fluid, (e.g., [0018], Roberts).
Regarding Claim 7, Urdaneta ‘736 teaches, initiating, by a unit controller ([0095], “the controller 410”; Fig. 5), a diagnostic process comprising at least one diagnostic test ([0097], “The pressure calibration (i.e., diagnostic test) may include the controller 410 executing the coded instructions 432 or an algorithm” Fig. 5; [0004], “To ensure that the wellsite equipment operates as intended, human operators at the wellsite may perform pressure and flow rate calibrations, diagnostics, and other tests before commencing actual downhole pumping operations”.), wherein the unit controller comprises a processor ([0095], “processor 412”; Fig. 5), a non- transitory memory” ([0091], “The non-volatile memory 420 may be, comprise, or be implemented by read-only memory, flash memory, and/or other types of memory devices.”; Fig. 5), and an input output device ([0092], “The interface circuit 424 may be, comprise, or be implemented by various types of standard interfaces, such as an Ethernet interface, a universal serial bus (USB), a third generation input/output (3GIO) interface, a wireless interface, and/or a cellular interface, among others”; Fig 5); performing, by the unit controller, the at least one diagnostic test in a flow loop leading out of a mix tank, and into the mixing tank (the flow loop as annotated in fig. 2 below follows: “comprise a pump unit (i.e., mix pump) 263 selectively operable to pump or otherwise move the fluid from the first portion (i.e., first portion of the mix tank) 255 and into the mixer 202 via the discharge fluid conduit 215 and a recirculation fluid conduit 226” [0047], “combined fluid may then be communicated to the fluid tank (i.e., mix tank as a whole)222 via the fluid conduit 203.” [0047], “The fluid valve 228 may also include a corresponding position sensor 230 operable to generate a signal or information indicative of an actual position of the fluid valve 228.” [0048], where the testing system will “perform pressure and flow rate calibrations, diagnostics, and other tests before commencing actual downhole pumping operations” [0004]. And performing a mixing test where [0184] “The mixing test (1015) may further comprise, before performing (1020) the mixing operations, pumping (1075) the fluid with the pump 300 while monitoring the pumping speed, fluid pressure (i.e., monitoring fluid pressure is done with a pressure sensor. If the fluid pressure is being monitored/measured before the mixing operation while pumping fluid into the mix tank 222 (i.e., a diagnosis test)”);
measuring pressure by the first sensor valve while the first sensor valve is partially open and flow is circulating through the flow loop([0065] “The cementing unit 200 may further comprise one or more pressure sensors (i.e., first and second, and possibly more) disposed in association with the pump units 241, 242, the discharge manifold 270, and/or the cement line 240 in a manner permitting the sensing of fluid pressure within the pump units 241, 242, the discharge manifold 270, and/or the cement line 240. Each pressure sensor may be operable to generate an electrical signal and/or information indicative of the fluid pressure within the pump units 241, 242, the discharge manifold 270, and/or cement line 240. For example, a pressure sensor 276 may be disposed in association with the cement line 240, between the wellhead 108 and the fluid valve 248.” Where the sensors between the wellhead and the fluid valve would measure the pressure of the fluid entering the valve; where [0177] “For example, the valve position set-point may comprise 25%, 50%, or 75% of a fully-open flow position of the fluid flow rate control valve 217, 219.”, Fig. 2, the valve is at least partially open, i.e., fluid is circulating through the loop to measure); measuring pressure by the second sensor valve while the second sensor valve is partially open and flow is circulating through the flow loop([0065] “The cementing unit 200 may further comprise one or more pressure sensors (i.e., first and second, and possibly more) disposed in association with the pump units 241, 242, the discharge manifold 270, and/or the cement line 240 in a manner permitting the sensing of fluid pressure within the pump units 241, 242, the discharge manifold 270, and/or the cement line 240. Each pressure sensor may be operable to generate an electrical signal and/or information indicative of the fluid pressure within the pump units 241, 242, the discharge manifold 270, and/or cement line 240. For example, a pressure sensor 276 may be disposed in association with the cement line 240, between the wellhead 108 and the fluid valve 248.” Where the sensors between the wellhead and the fluid valve would measure the pressure of the fluid entering the valve; where [0177] “For example, the valve position set-point may comprise 25%, 50%, or 75% of a fully-open flow position of the fluid flow rate control valve 217, 219.”, Fig. 2, the valve is at least partially open, i.e., fluid is circulating through the loop to measure); determining maximum pressure output of the mix pump by closing the second sensor valve while operating the mix pump at maximum capacity ([0117] “The pressure test (615) may comprise automatically varying (620) a pumping speed (i.e., the fastest speed used would be the mix pump operating at its maximum capacity for the set of data points)of a pump unit 300 (i.e., mix pump) of the cementing unit 200 to increase a fluid pressure generated by the pump unit 300 to the pressure set-point while recording the varying pumping speeds and corresponding first fluid pressures, wherein the recorded first fluid pressures are detected within a fluid conduit 234, 235, 236 of the cementing unit 200 downstream of the pump unit 300. The pressure test (615) may further comprise recording (625) second fluid pressures within the fluid conduit 234, 235, 236 until the test duration set-point is met while confirming that the recorded second fluid pressures are within a predetermined range of the pressure set-point.” And [0118] “In an example implementation, the pressure set-point may range between about 500 PSI and about 5,000 PSI for a low pressure test, and between about 5,000 PSI and about 15,000 PSI for a high pressure test (i.e., the measured high pressure value would be the maximum pressure).” [0133] “comprise progressively closing (725) the choke valve 252 while recording positions of the choke valve 252 and corresponding second fluid pressures.”); comparing the measured pressure to an operational capacity threshold (Fig. 7 step 615 “operate controller to automatically perform pressure test utilizing step 670 “pump fluid while monitoring parameters, confirm that parameters are within ranges (i.e., while operational)” of which in step 625 “record fluid pressure while confirming pressures are in range (i.e., where the range has an upper capacity threshold and a lower capacity threshold)” where this pressure can be in reference to a first or second measured pressure obtained from a sensor; where any one of the pressure values measured from the system, pressure from first sensor, pressure from second sensor, and maximum pressure of the mix pump can be compared to the operational capacity thresholds).
Urdaneta ‘736 does not teach determining the health status of the pumping equipment system based upon a result of the comparison; and outputting, by the unit controller, indicia of the health status of the pumping equipment via the input output device, wherein the indicia of the health status of the pumping equipment comprises a visual cue, and audible cue, or both; wherein the first sensor valve is disposed upstream of the mix pump, wherein the second sensor valve is disposed downstream of the mix pump, wherein additive lines lead from additive pumps directly into the mix tank, and wherein additive valves are disposed on the additive lines.
Urdaneta ‘569 teaches, determining the health status of the pumping equipment system based upon a result of the comparison (Fig. 5; [0089], “The controller 310 may also generate warnings based on comparisons (i.e., the generation of warnings based on comparisons requires there to be a result of the comparison) between the health profile of the selected component of the logged pump assembly and the normalized cepstrum amplitude ratio(s) of the selected component of the subsequent pump assembly, such as when the normalized cepstrum amplitude ratio of the selected component of the subsequent pump assembly reaches and/or surpasses warning levels (such as the above described Very Low, Low, Medium, High, and Very High Warnings); and outputting, by the unit controller, indicia of the health status of the pumping equipment via the input output device, wherein the indicia of the health status of the pumping equipment comprises a visual cue, and audible cue, or both (Fig. 5; [0089], “The controller 310 may also generate warnings based on comparisons between the health profile of the selected component of the logged pump assembly and the normalized cepstrum amplitude ratio(s) of the selected component of the subsequent pump assembly, such as when the normalized cepstrum amplitude ratio of the selected component of the subsequent pump assembly reaches and/or surpasses warning levels (such as the above described Very Low, Low, Medium, High, and Very High Warnings).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the diagnostic test described in Urdaneta ‘569 to the wellbore servicing method described Urdaneta ‘736 for the purpose of detecting the possible erosion or wear that can come from high pressures and abrasive properties of certain fluids on the sealing components or other portions of the pumps. This is advantageous because such defects are often detected late, resulting in pump failures during pumping operations and/or severe damage to the pumps and other equipment. Interruptions during pumping operations may reduce the efficiency of the pumping operations, and lead to reduced production, (e.g., [0003], Urdaneta ‘569).
Urdaneta ‘736 and Urdaneta ‘569 do not teach through wherein the first sensor valve is disposed upstream of the mix pump, wherein the second sensor valve is disposed downstream of the mix pump, wherein additive lines lead from additive pumps directly into the mix tank, andwherein additive valves are disposed on the additive lines.
Roberts teaches through wherein the first sensor valve is disposed upstream of the mix pump, wherein the second sensor valve is disposed downstream of the mix pump (Fig. 1 shows upstream sensor platform 124 and downstream sensor platform 130 bracket mix pump “blender” 126, and where the sensor platform may [0021] “comprise suites of integrated analytical sensors (which can include, but are not limited to pH, density, viscosity, temperature, conductivity, oxidation reduction potential (ORP), CO2, dissolved O2 and corrosion index sensors), pressure transducers, temperature transducers, accelerometers, power meters, and flow meters.”), wherein additive lines lead from additive pumps directly into the mix tank, and wherein additive valves are disposed on the additive lines ([0053] “With more particular reference to FIG. 1, the drawing shows a process system 100, a frack water system 102, a sand feed system 104, an additive feed system 106, a produced water system 108, an oil collection system 110, an oil well 112, a Christmas tree 114, a reservoir 116, a frack water reservoir 118, a frack water pump 120, a frack pump VFD (variable frequency drive) 122, an upstream sensor platform 124, a blender (i.e., mix tank) 126, a blender VFD 128, a downstream sensor platform 130, a sand source 132, a sand feeder 134, a sand feeder VFD 136, an additive source 138, an additive flow control valve 140, another sensor platform 142, a post treatment system 144, yet more sensor platforms 146 and 148, a platform controller 150, and a process controller 152. For the sake of convenience further aspects of a typical petrochemical production system are not shown. However, those skilled in the art understand that additional upstream, midstream, and downstream processes, systems, equipment, etc. are often involved.”, [0072] “The additives involved come in a large variety. For instance, oil well “mud” can be a large constituent of the additives, particularly during well drilling and finalization. pH buffers, biocides, anti-scalants, etc. can all be included in the fluid (and/or solids) passed to the blender (i.e., mix tank) 126 from the additive feed system 106. The flow of the additives is controlled by the additive flow control valve (FCV) 140 so that these additives can be metered into the frack water via the blender 126. See FIG. 1. Note that the additive feed system 106 can also supply various additives to the produced water and/or oil as illustrated by the post treatment system 144 and associated FCV 145.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the use of a first pressure sensor before the mix tank and a second pressure sensor behind the mix tank, as well as additives monitored in the mix tank as discussed in Roberts to the wellbore servicing method described Urdaneta ‘736 for the purpose of obtaining more accurate fluid properties. This is advantageous because it allows for better control of the hydrocarbon fluid as well as the application of additives to such a fluid, (e.g., [0018], Roberts).
Regarding Claim 2, Urdaneta’736, Urdaneta ‘569 and Roberts teach the limitations of Claim 1.
Urdaneta‘736 further teaches, wherein the readiness diagnostic test comprises a communication check, an operation check, a calibration check, or combinations thereof ([0010], “The controller includes a processor and a memory including computer program code, and the cementing unit includes sensors operable to generate information indicative of operational parameters of the cementing unit. The method also includes inputting operational set-points of the cementing unit, and operating the controller to automatically perform a mixing test of the cementing unit. The mixing test includes automatically performing a mixing operation while confirming that the sensed operational parameters are substantially equal to corresponding: actual values corresponding to the operational parameters; and operational set-points (i.e., where confirming that the sensed operational parameters are substantially equal to corresponding: actual values corresponding to the operational parameters; and operational set-points uses a communication check, an operation check, a calibration check, or combinations thereof.”), wherein the communication check comprises communicating with various components of the pump unit ([0095], “The controller 410 may also assess operational health of the cementing unit 200, including the pump units 241, 242, the fluid valves ( e.g., fluid valves 205, 217, 221, 252), and the discharge manifold 270 (i.e., controller is communicating with various pump units to run the communication check).”, Fig. 2), wherein the operation check comprises actuating the various components, and wherein the calibration check comprises accessing a calibration file of the various components ([0096], “The flow rate test may validate that the cementing unit 200, including the pump units 241, 242 (i.e., various components), is functioning well enough (i.e., actuating) to reach intended high flow rates that may be utilized during the fluid pumping operation (i.e., checking measured values against known/required values, a calibration).” Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 3, Urdaneta’736, Urdaneta ‘569 and Roberts teach the limitations of Claim 1.
Urdaneta‘736 further teaches, positioning another sensor valve in a first, a second, and a third position ([0177] “For example, the valve position set-point may comprise 25%, 50%, or 75% of a fully-open flow position of the fluid flow rate control valve 217, 219.”, Fig. 2); operating a supply pump to communicate a fluid via a flow path at full speed ([0066], “The controller 410 may also be in communication with one or more portions of the pump units 220, 241, 242, 263, 265, such as may permit the controller 410 to activate, deactivate, and control pumping (i.e., communication a fluid via the flow loop) or operating speed (i.e., full speed being an operating speed) of the pump units 220, 241, 242, 263, 265, as well as the flow rate and pressure generated by the pump units 220, 241, 242, 263, 265”, where comprise a pump unit (i.e., mix pump) 263 selectively operable to pump or otherwise move the fluid from the first portion (i.e., first portion of the mix tank) 255 and into the mixer 202 via the discharge fluid conduit 215 and a recirculation fluid conduit 226” [0047], ([0177] “For example, the valve position set-point may comprise 25%, 50%, or 75% of a fully-open flow position of the fluid flow rate control valve 217, 219. (i.e., 4 different positions to select)”, Fig. 2); measuring, by the other sensor valve, a first periodic dataset while the fluid is communicated via the flow path with the other sensor valve in the first position which is a full open position (Fig. 2; [0178] “to the second valve position set-point while recording a position of the second fluid flow rate control valve 217, until the second tank fluid volume is substantially equal to the fluid volume set-point, and then recording the current position of the second fluid flow rate control valve 217” where , “the valve position set-point may comprise 25%, 50%, or 75% of the fully-open flow position of the second fluid flow rate control valve 217, 219 (i.e., where fully-open is an option for the valves to be in)” [0179], where [0118] “The test duration set-point may be a predetermined amount of time (i.e., data over specific period of time, periodic dataset) during which at least a portion of a test or operation of the cementing unit 200, such as the pressure test, may be performed.” ); measuring, by the other sensor valve, a second periodic dataset while the fluid is communicated via the flow path with the other sensor valve in the second position which is a closed position ([0178], “and then closing the second fluid flow rate control valve 217, (or 219) (i.e., sensor valve moves to second position).”, where [0118] “The test duration set-point may be a predetermined amount of time (i.e., data over specific period of time, periodic dataset) during which at least a portion of a test or operation of the cementing unit 200, such as the pressure test, may be performed.” ); and measuring, by the other sensor valve, a third periodic dataset while the fluid is communicated via the flow loop with the sensor valve in a third position which is a test valve position ([0159], “after stopping further closure of the choke valve 252, recording (930) third fluid pressures and third fluid flow rates until the test duration set-point (i.e., where data collecting for a period of time creates a periodic data set) is met while confirming that the recorded third fluid pressures and third fluid flow rates do not decrease more than corresponding predetermined amounts from the pressure set-point and flow rate set-point,” where closing the choke value would be the second position, closed position, of the system. Where the possible positions for the third flow rate valve positions are, “25%, 50%, or 75% of the fully-open flow position” [0179]; Fig. 2, Fig. 10).
Regarding Claim 4, Urdaneta’736, Urdaneta ‘569 and Roberts teach the limitations of Claim 1.
Urdaneta‘736 further teaches, positioning the first sensor valve or the second sensor valve in a first, second, and third position ([0177] “For example, the valve position set-point may comprise 25%, 50%, or 75% of a fully-open flow position of the fluid flow rate control valve 217, 219.”; Fig. 2); operating the mix pump to communicate a fluid via the flow loop at full speed ([0066], “The controller 410 may also be in communication with one or more portions of the pump units 220, 241, 242, 263, 265, such as may permit the controller 410 to activate, deactivate, and control pumping (i.e., communication a fluid via the flow loop) or operating speed (i.e., full speed being an operating speed) of the pump units 220, 241, 242, 263, 265, as well as the flow rate and pressure generated by the pump units 220, 241, 242, 263, 265”, where comprise a pump unit (i.e., mix pump) 263 selectively operable to pump or otherwise move the fluid from the first portion (i.e., first portion of the mix tank) 255 and into the mixer 202 via the discharge fluid conduit 215 and a recirculation fluid conduit 226” [0047], ([0177] “For example, the valve position set-point may comprise 25%, 50%, or 75% of a fully-open flow position of the fluid flow rate control valve 217, 219. (i.e., 4 different positions to select)”, Fig. 2); measuring, by the first sensor valve or the second sensor valve, a first periodic dataset while the fluid is communicated via the flow loop with the first sensor valve or the second sensor valve in a first position which is a full open position (Fig. 2; [0178] “to the second valve position set-point while recording a position of the second fluid flow rate control valve 217, until the second tank fluid volume is substantially equal to the fluid volume set-point, and then recording the current position of the second fluid flow rate control valve 217, (or 219)” where , “the valve position set-point may comprise 25%, 50%, or 75% of the fully-open flow position of the second fluid flow rate control valve 217, (or 219) (i.e., where fully-open is an option for the valves to be in)” [0179], [0118] “The test duration set-point may be a predetermined amount of time (i.e., data over specific period of time, periodic dataset); measuring, by the first sensor valve or the second sensor valve, a second periodic dataset while the fluid is communicated via the flow loop with the first sensor valve or the second sensor valve in a second position which is a closed position ([0178], “and then closing the second fluid flow rate control valve 217 (or 219) (i.e., sensor valve moves to second position).”, [0118] “The test duration set-point may be a predetermined amount of time (i.e., data over specific period of time, periodic dataset); and measuring, by the first sensor valve or the second sensor valve, a third periodic dataset while the fluid is communicated via the flow loop with the first sensor valve or the second sensor valve in a third position which is a test valve position ([0159], “after stopping further closure of the choke valve 252, recording (930) third fluid pressures and third fluid flow rates until the test duration set-point (i.e., where data collecting for a period of time creates a periodic data set) is met while confirming that the recorded third fluid pressures and third fluid flow rates do not decrease more than corresponding predetermined amounts from the pressure set-point and flow rate set-point,” where closing the choke value would be the second position, closed position, of the system. Where the possible positions for the third flow rate valve positions are, “25%, 50%, or 75% of the fully-open flow position” [0179]; Fig. 2, Fig. 10).
Regarding Claim 5, Urdaneta’736, Urdaneta ‘569 and Roberts teach the limitations of Claim 1.
Urdaneta‘736 does not teach determining, by the unit controller, a probability of a future maintenance event in response to a set of results of the diagnostic test, a pump usage log, a pump maintenance log, or combinations thereof, and wherein the probability of a future maintenance event is determined by a predictive maintenance model.
Urdaneta‘569 teaches determining, by the unit controller ([0095], “controller 310”; Fig. 5), a probability of a future maintenance event in response to a set of results of the diagnostic test , a pump usage log, a pump maintenance log, or combinations thereof (Fig. 5; [0089], “The controller 310 may also generate warnings based on comparisons between the health profile of the selected component of the logged pump assembly and the normalized cepstrum amplitude ratio(s) (i.e., a set of results) of the selected component of the subsequent pump assembly, such as when the normalized cepstrum amplitude ratio of the selected component of the subsequent pump assembly reaches and/or surpasses warning levels (such as the above described Very Low, Low, Medium, High, and Very High Warnings) (i.e., probability of future maintenance is based on how bad the warning is) that were predetermined based on the health profile of the selected component of the logged pump assembly.”), and wherein the probability of a future maintenance event is determined by a predictive maintenance model ([0088], “After the health profiles are generated, they may be utilized as a basis for comparison to determine the health status, such as remaining functional life (i.e., the less functional life the higher the probability of needing future maintenance), of selected components of the subsequent pump assembly.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the diagnostic test described in Urdaneta ‘569 to the wellbore servicing method described Urdaneta ‘736 for the purpose of detecting the possible erosion or wear that can come from high pressures and abrasive properties of certain fluids on the sealing components or other portions of the pumps. This is advantageous because such defects are often detected late, resulting in pump failures during pumping operations and/or severe damage to the pumps and other equipment. Interruptions during pumping operations may reduce the efficiency of the pumping operations, and lead to reduced production, (e.g., [0003], Urdaneta ‘569).
Regarding Claim 6, Urdaneta’736, Urdaneta ‘569 and Roberts teach the limitations of Claim 5.
Urdaneta‘736 does not teach assigning, by the unit controller, the pump unit to a maintenance schedule at a service center in response to the probability of a future maintenance event.
Urdaneta‘569 teaches assigning, by the unit controller ([0095], “controller 310”; Fig. 5), the pump unit to a maintenance schedule at a service center in response to the probability of a future maintenance event (Fig. 5; [0089], “The controller 310 may also generate warnings based on comparisons between the health profile of the selected component of the logged pump assembly and the normalized cepstrum amplitude ratio(s) of the selected component of the subsequent pump assembly, such as when the normalized cepstrum amplitude ratio of the selected component of the subsequent pump assembly reaches and/or surpasses warning levels (such as the above described Very Low, Low, Medium, High, and Very High Warnings) that were predetermined based on the health profile (i.e., where the higher the warning levels the higher the probability of needing future maintenance) of the selected component of the logged pump assembly.” Where ([0083], “Therefore, the controller 310 may cause the display (e.g., via one or more output devices 328 described above and shown in FIG. 5) of the normalized cepstrum amplitude ratios, whether for inspection by a human operator or otherwise, for determining whether the component should be replaced and/or repaired (i.e., the maintenance schedule is assigned based on the warning provided by the health schedule).”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the diagnostic test described in Urdaneta ‘569 to the wellbore servicing method described Urdaneta ‘736 for the purpose of detecting the possible erosion or wear that can come from high pressures and abrasive properties of certain fluids on the sealing components or other portions of the pumps. This is advantageous because such defects are often detected late, resulting in pump failures during pumping operations and/or severe damage to the pumps and other equipment. Interruptions during pumping operations may reduce the efficiency of the pumping operations, and lead to reduced production, (e.g., [0003], Urdaneta ‘569).
Regarding Claim 8, Urdaneta’736, Urdaneta ‘569 and Roberts teach the limitations of Claim 7.
Urdaneta‘736 further teaches, configuring a plurality of sensor valves to configure a piping network ([0166], “The cementing unit 200 may comprise the plurality of sensors 307, 309, 306, 319 operable to generate information indicative of operational parameters of the cementing unit 200.” Fig 2 and 3); filling the piping network with a volume of water ([0167] “The hydraulic horsepower test (915) may further comprise, before operating the pump unit (920), pumping (965) the fluid with the pump unit 300”, fluid not limited to just water, but encompasses water; Fig. 3, 10); operating a plurality of pumps to establish 1) a flowrate of water, 2) a target pressure value, or 3) both ([0167], “monitoring the pumping speed, fluid pressure, and fluid flow rate generated by the pump unit 300,”; Fig. 3 in which “FIG. 3 is a perspective view of a portion of an example implementation of the pump unit 241, 242 shown in FIG. 2 according to one or more aspects of the present disclosure, and designated in FIG. 3 by reference numeral 300.” [0068] ) ; measuring, by at least one sensor, a periodic dataset ([0114], “comprising monitoring safety parameters based on the information generated by the sensors (i.e., data collected from sensor at a specific time is a periodic dataset) 307, 309, 311, 317”, Fig 3, where [0118] “The test duration set-point may be a predetermined amount of time (i.e., data over specific period of time, periodic dataset) during which at least a portion of a test or operation of the cementing unit 200, such as the pressure test, may be performed.” ); and storing the periodic dataset ([0091] “the operational setpoints, and/or other data may be stored in the mass storage device 430, the main memory 417, the local memory 414, and/or the removable storage medium 434.” where [0118] “The test duration set-point may be a predetermined amount of time (i.e., data over specific period of time, periodic dataset) during which at least a portion of a test or operation of the cementing unit 200, such as the pressure test, may be performed.”), wherein the periodic dataset is associated with the operation of at least one of the plurality of pumps and the configuration of the piping network ([0114], “the controller 410 to automatically perform a safety parameter check of the cementing unit 200 (i.e., which contains multiple pumps, and a piping network configuration), comprising monitoring safety parameters based on the information generated by the sensors 307, 309, 311, 317 and confirming that the safety parameters are within corresponding predetermined ranges.”, Fig. 3-5, where [0118] “The test duration set-point may be a predetermined amount of time (i.e., data over specific period of time, periodic dataset) during which at least a portion of a test or operation of the cementing unit 200, such as the pressure test, may be performed.”) .
Regarding Claim 9, Urdaneta’736, Urdaneta ‘569 and Roberts teach the limitations of Claim 7.
Urdaneta‘736 further teaches, wherein the at least one diagnostic test is a liquid supply diagnostic test ([0095], “The controller 410 may also assess operational health (i.e., diagnostic process) of the cementing unit 200, including the pump units 241, 242, the fluid valves ( e.g., fluid valves 205, 217, 221, 252), and the discharge manifold 270.” Fig. 2, and [0097] “The initialization of the cementing unit 200 may be performed before the fluid pumping operation to confirm that the cementing unit 200 may pump the cement slurry at the intended pressure and measure the fluid pressure accurately (i.e., measuring the pressure of the slurry could be considered liquid supply diagnostic or a mix water diagnostic depending on the slurry content)”), wherein the liquid supply diagnostic test comprises: operating a supply pump at full speed to communicate a fluid via the flow path ([0066], “The controller 410 may also be in communication with one or more portions of the pump units 220, 241, 242, 263, 265, such as may permit the controller 410 to activate, deactivate, and control pumping (i.e., communication a fluid via the flow loop) or operating speed (i.e., full speed being an operating speed) of the pump units 220, 241, 242, 263, 265, as well as the flow rate and pressure generated by the pump units 220, 241, 242, 263, 265”, where comprise a pump unit (i.e., mix pump) 263 selectively operable to pump or otherwise move the fluid from the first portion (i.e., first portion of the mix tank) 255 and into the mixer 202 via the discharge fluid conduit 215 and a recirculation fluid conduit 226” [0047], ([0177] “For example, the valve position set-point may comprise 25%, 50%, or 75% of a fully-open flow position of the fluid flow rate control valve 217, 219. (i.e., where a full speed is an option)”, Fig. 2); measuring, by at least one sensor, a first periodic dataset of pressure and flowrate while the fluid is communicated via the flow path with another sensor valve in a first position that is fully open (Fig. 2; [0178] “to the second valve position set-point while recording a position of the second fluid flow rate control valve 217, until the second tank fluid volume is substantially equal to the fluid volume set-point, and then recording the current position of the second fluid flow rate control valve 217” where , “the valve position set-point may comprise 25%, 50%, or 75% of the fully-open flow position of the second fluid flow rate control valve 217, (i.e., where fully-open is an option for the valves to be in)” [0179], [0118] “The test duration set-point may be a predetermined amount of time (i.e., data over specific period of time, periodic dataset”); and measuring, by the at least one sensor, a second periodic dataset of pressure and flowrate with the other sensor valve in a second position that is fully closed ([0178], “and then closing the second fluid flow rate control valve 217 (i.e., sensor valve moves to second position).”, [0118] “The test duration set-point may be a predetermined amount of time (i.e., data over specific period of time, periodic dataset”).
Regarding Claim 10, Urdaneta’736, Urdaneta ‘569 and Roberts teach the limitations of Claim 9.
Urdaneta‘736 further teaches, wherein the liquid supply diagnostic test further comprises: measuring, by at least one sensor, a third periodic dataset of pressure and flowrate while the fluid is communicated via the flow path with the sensor valve in a third position ([0159], “after stopping further closure of the choke valve 252, recording (930) third fluid pressures and third fluid flow rates (i.e., where the recording of the pressure and fluid flow rates is a measurement from a sensor as discussed in [0153]) until the test duration set-point (i.e., collecting data over a set period of time is creating a periodic data set) is met while confirming that the recorded third fluid pressures and third fluid flow rates do not decrease more than corresponding predetermined amounts from the pressure set-point and flow rate set-point,” where closing the choke value would be the second position, closed position, of the system. Where the possible positions for the third flow rate valve positions are, “25%, 50%, or 75% of the fully-open flow position” [0179]; Fig. 2, Fig. 10).
Regarding Claim 11, Urdaneta’736, Urdaneta ‘569 and Roberts teach the limitations of Claim 8.
Urdaneta‘736 further teaches, wherein the at least one diagnostic test is a mix water diagnostic test ([0095], “The controller 410 may also assess operational health (i.e., diagnostic process) of the cementing unit 200, including the pump units 241, 242, the fluid valves ( e.g., fluid valves 205, 217, 221, 252), and the discharge manifold 270.” Fig. 2, and [0097] “The initialization of the cementing unit 200 may be performed before the fluid pumping operation to confirm that the cementing unit 200 may pump the cement slurry at the intended pressure and measure the fluid pressure accurately (i.e., measuring the pressure of the slurry could be considered liquid supply diagnostic or a mix water diagnostic depending on the slurry content).,” where [0028] “The tanks 112 may contain that which is known in the art as a base fluid, which may be or comprise fresh water, brine, and/or mud. The container 114 may contain liquid or solid chemicals or additives operable to treat the base fluid. The additives may be or comprise accelerators, retarders, fluid-loss additives, dispersants, extenders, weighting agents, lost circulation additives, among other examples.”), wherein the mix water diagnostic test comprises: operating the mix pump at full speed to communicate a fluid via the flow loop path ([0066], “The controller 410 may also be in communication with one or more portions of the pump units 220, 241, 242, 263, 265, such as may permit the controller 410 to activate, deactivate, and control pumping (i.e., communication a fluid via the flow loop) or operating speed (i.e., full speed being an operating speed) of the pump units 220, 241, 242, 263, 265, as well as the flow rate and pressure generated by the pump units 220, 241, 242, 263, 265”, where comprise a pump unit (i.e., mix pump) 263 selectively operable to pump or otherwise move the fluid from the first portion (i.e., first portion of the mix tank) 255 and into the mixer 202 via the discharge fluid conduit 215 and a recirculation fluid conduit 226” [0047], ([0177] “For example, the valve position set-point may comprise 25%, 50%, or 75% of a fully-open flow position of the fluid flow rate control valve 217, 219. (i.e., where a full speed is an option)”, Fig. 2); measuring, by at least one sensor, a first periodic dataset of pressure and flowrate while the fluid is communicated via the flow loop with the first sensor valve or the second sensor valve in a first position that is fully open (Fig. 2; [0178] “to the second valve position set-point while recording a position of the second fluid flow rate control valve 217, until the second tank fluid volume is substantially equal to the fluid volume set-point, and then recording the current position of the second fluid flow rate control valve 217” where , “the valve position set-point may comprise 25%, 50%, or 75% of the fully-open flow position of the second fluid flow rate control valve 217, (i.e., where fully-open is an option for the valves to be in)” [0179], and [0118] “The test duration set-point may be a predetermined amount of time (i.e., data over specific period of time, periodic dataset) during which at least a portion of a test or operation of the cementing unit 200, such as the pressure test, may be performed.” ); and measuring, by the at least one sensor, a second periodic dataset of pressure and flowrate with the first sensor valve or the second sensor valve in a second position that is fully closed ([0178], “and then closing the second fluid flow rate control valve 217 (i.e., sensor valve moves to second position).”, and [0118] “The test duration set-point may be a predetermined amount of time (i.e., data over specific period of time, periodic dataset) during which at least a portion of a test or operation of the cementing unit 200, such as the pressure test, may be performed.” ).
Regarding Claim 12, Urdaneta’736, Urdaneta ‘569 and Roberts teach the limitations of Claim 11.
Urdaneta‘736 further teaches, wherein the mix water diagnostic test further comprises: operating the mix pump to communicate the fluid via the flow loop at full speed ([0066], “The controller 410 may also be in communication with one or more portions of the pump units 220, 241, 242, 263, 265, such as may permit the controller 410 to activate, deactivate, and control pumping (i.e., communication a fluid via the flow loop) or operating speed (i.e., full speed being an operating speed) of the pump units 220, 241, 242, 263, 265, as well as the flow rate and pressure generated by the pump units 220, 241, 242, 263, 265”, where comprise a pump unit (i.e., mix pump) 263 selectively operable to pump or otherwise move the fluid from the first portion (i.e., first portion of the mix tank) 255 and into the mixer 202 via the discharge fluid conduit 215 and a recirculation fluid conduit 226” [0047], ([0177] “For example, the valve position set-point may comprise 25%, 50%, or 75% of a fully-open flow position of the fluid flow rate control valve 217, 219. (i.e., where a full speed is an option)”, Fig. 2); and measuring, by at least one sensor, a third periodic dataset of pressure and flowrate while the fluid is communicated via the flow loop with the sensor valve in a third position ([0159], “after stopping further closure of the choke valve 252, recording (930) third fluid pressures and third fluid flow rates until the test duration set-point (i.e., collecting data over a period of time is a periodic dataset) is met while confirming that the recorded third fluid pressures and third fluid flow rates do not decrease more than corresponding predetermined amounts from the pressure set-point and flow rate set-point,” where closing the choke value would be the second position, closed position, of the system. Implying that the measurements of the third flow rates would come from a test valve position not equal to closed, but one of the other possible positions, “25%, 50%, or 75% of the fully-open flow position” [0179]; Fig. 2, 10).
Regarding Claim 13, Urdaneta’736, Urdaneta ‘569 and Roberts teach the limitations of Claim 8.
Urdaneta’736 further teaches, wherein the operational capacity threshold is part of an operational indicator set comprising a configuration check, a nominal operational capacity, ([0114] “The method (500) may further comprise operating (575) the controller 410 to automatically perform a safety parameter check of the cementing unit 200, comprising monitoring safety parameters based on the information generated by the sensors 307, 309, 311, 317 and confirming that the safety parameters are within corresponding predetermined ranges (i.e., configuration check). The safety parameters may include pressure and temperature readings, which if exceeding the predetermined ranges (i.e., exceeding operational capacity threshold), may cause the controller 410 to shut down the pressure calibration (515). For example, a predetermined threshold of safety related to the prime mover 304 may be a temperature exceeding 170° C (i.e., operational capacity threshold). A predetermined threshold (i.e., capacity threshold) of safety related to the pump unit 300 may be a pressure exceeding 20,000 PSI or another pressure exceeding pump unit specifications (i.e., nominal operational capacity is at or below 20,000 PSI or another pressure pump unit specifications). A sudden pressure drop detected, for example, within the pump unit 300 and/or the manifold 270 may be indicative of a leak or structural failure and may also cause the controller 410 to shut down the pressure calibration (515). The safety parameter check (575) may be performed before, during, and/or after the pressure calibration (515), the confirmation (560) operation, the parameter condition check (565), the pumping (570) operation, and/or other operations of the cementing unit 200.” Symbol numbers are mapped to Fig. 2, 3, and 6).
Urdaneta’736 does not teach and a series of failure mode.
Urdaneta’569 teaches and a series of failure modes (Fig. 5, [0089], “The controller 310 may also generate warnings based on comparisons between the health profile of the selected component of the logged pump assembly and the normalized cepstrum amplitude ratio(s) of the selected component of the subsequent pump assembly, such as when the normalized cepstrum amplitude ratio of the selected component of the subsequent pump assembly reaches and/or surpasses warning levels (such as the above described Very Low, Low, Medium, High, and Very High Warnings) (i.e., series of failure modes of different significance) that were predetermined based on the health profile of the selected component of the logged pump assembly.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the diagnostic test described in Urdaneta ‘569 to the wellbore servicing method described Urdaneta ‘736 for the purpose of detecting the possible erosion or wear that can come from high pressures and abrasive properties of certain fluids on the sealing components or other portions of the pumps. This is advantageous because such defects are often detected late, resulting in pump failures during pumping operations and/or severe damage to the pumps and other equipment. Interruptions during pumping operations may reduce the efficiency of the pumping operations, and lead to reduced production, (e.g., [0003], Urdaneta ‘569).
Regarding Claim 14, Urdaneta’736, Urdaneta ‘569 and Roberts teach the limitations of Claim 13.
Urdaneta‘736 does not teach, wherein the set of results of the diagnostic test comprises data processing of a periodic dataset to produce a set of averaged values, and wherein the method comprises one or more of: generating the set of results from the data processed periodic datasets, comparing the set of results of the diagnostic test to the operational indicator set, and determining the health status of the pumping equipment based upon the comparison of the set of results of the diagnostic test and the operational indicator set is performed via the unit controller.
Urdaneta‘569 teaches, wherein the set of results of the diagnostic test comprises data processing of a periodic dataset to produce a set of averaged values ([0096], “may include determining a mean (i.e., averaged) amplitude of the determined (510) cepstrum within a quefrency window ranging between about one degree and about five degrees from zero”, Fig. 5, [0085] “the health levels of the components of the subsequent pump assembly 200 may be continuously or periodically assessed (i.e., periodic datasets generated) during operations of the subsequent pump assembly 200.”), and wherein the method ([0058] “one or more of the methods and/or processes described herein,) comprises one or more of: generating the set of results from the data processed periodic datasets ([0101], “For example, one or more of determining (510) the cepstrum, determining (512) the first amplitude, determining (513) the second amplitude, determining (515) the ratio, assessing (520) the health of the pump assembly component, normalizing (535) the determined (515) ratio, and/or other aspects of the method (500) may be performed via operation (i.e., performing statistics on data is generating results),”, Fig. 5; [0085] “the health levels of the components of the subsequent pump assembly 200 may be continuously or periodically assessed (i.e., periodic datasets generated) during operations of the subsequent pump assembly 200.”), comparing the set of results of the diagnostic test to the operational indicator set ([0089], “The controller 310 may cause the display of the health profile of a selected component of the logged pump assembly ( e.g., via one or more output devices 328 described above and shown in FIG. 5), perhaps superimposed with or otherwise in relation to the normalized cepstrum amplitude ratio(s) of the selected component of the subsequent pump assembly (i.e., comparing results of data against a set of operational indicators)” ,Fig.5), and determining the health status of the pumping equipment based upon the comparison of the set of results of the diagnostic test and the operational indicator set is performed via the unit controller (Fig. 5, [0089], “The controller 310 may also generate warnings based on comparisons between the health profile of the selected component of the logged pump assembly and the normalized cepstrum amplitude ratio(s) of the selected component of the subsequent pump assembly, such as when the normalized cepstrum amplitude ratio of the selected component of the subsequent pump assembly reaches and/or surpasses warning levels (such as the above described Very Low, Low, Medium, High, and Very High Warnings) that were predetermined based on the health profile of the selected component of the logged pump assembly.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the diagnostic test described in Urdaneta ‘569 to the wellbore servicing method described Urdaneta ‘736 for the purpose of detecting the possible erosion or wear that can come from high pressures and abrasive properties of certain fluids on the sealing components or other portions of the pumps. This is advantageous because such defects are often detected late, resulting in pump failures during pumping operations and/or severe damage to the pumps and other equipment. Interruptions during pumping operations may reduce the efficiency of the pumping operations, and lead to reduced production, (e.g., [0003], Urdaneta ‘569).
Regarding Claim 15, Urdaneta’736, Urdaneta ‘569 and Roberts teach the limitations of Claim 14.
Urdaneta‘736 further teaches, a remote computer ([0090], “The controller 410 may be or comprise, for example, one or more processors, special-purpose computing devices, servers, personal computers, personal digital assistant (PDA) devices, smartphones, internet appliances, and/or other types of computing devices,” Where devices like smart phones and personal computers are can be considered remote computers.).
Urdaneta‘736 does not teach, data processing the periodic datasets, generating the set of results from the data processed periodic datasets, comparing the set of results of the diagnostic test to the operational indicator set, and determining the health status of the pumping equipment based upon the comparison of the set of results of the diagnostic test and the operational indicator set.
Urdaneta‘569 teaches, data processing the periodic datasets ([0096], “may include determining a mean amplitude of the determined (510) cepstrum within a quefrency window ranging between about one degree and about five degrees from zero”, Fig. 5; where taking the mean, average, of the data is data processing., and [0085] “the health levels of the components of the subsequent pump assembly 200 may be continuously or periodically assessed (i.e., periodic datasets generated) during operations of the subsequent pump assembly 200.”), generating the set of results from the data processed periodic datasets ([0101], “For example, one or more of determining (510) the cepstrum, determining (512) the first amplitude, determining (513) the second amplitude, determining (515) the ratio, assessing (520) the health of the pump assembly component, normalizing (535) the determined (515) ratio, and/or other aspects of the method (500) may be performed via operation,”, Fig. 5 and [0085] “the health levels of the components of the subsequent pump assembly 200 may be continuously or periodically assessed (i.e., periodic datasets generated) during operations of the subsequent pump assembly 200.”), comparing the set of results of the diagnostic test to the operational indicator set ([0089], “The controller 310 may cause the display of the health profile of a selected component of the logged pump assembly ( e.g., via one or more output devices 328 described above and shown in FIG. 5), perhaps superimposed with or otherwise in relation to the normalized cepstrum amplitude ratio(s) of the selected component of the subsequent pump assembly (i.e., comparing results of data against a set of operational indicators)” ,Fig.5), and determining the health status of the pumping equipment based upon the comparison of the set of results of the diagnostic test and the operational indicator set (Fig.5, [0089], “The controller 310 may also generate warnings based on comparisons between the health profile of the selected component of the logged pump assembly and the normalized cepstrum amplitude ratio(s) of the selected component of the subsequent pump assembly, such as when the normalized cepstrum amplitude ratio of the selected component of the subsequent pump assembly reaches and/or surpasses warning levels (such as the above described Very Low, Low, Medium, High, and Very High Warnings) that were predetermined based on the health profile of the selected component of the logged pump assembly.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the diagnostic test described in Urdaneta ‘569 to the wellbore servicing method described Urdaneta ‘736 for the purpose of detecting the possible erosion or wear that can come from high pressures and abrasive properties of certain fluids on the sealing components or other portions of the pumps. This is advantageous because such defects are often detected late, resulting in pump failures during pumping operations and/or severe damage to the pumps and other equipment. Interruptions during pumping operations may reduce the efficiency of the pumping operations, and lead to reduced production, (e.g., [0003], Urdaneta ‘569).
Regarding Claim 16, Urdaneta’736, Urdaneta ‘569 and Roberts teach the limitations of Claim 15.
Urdaneta‘736 further teaches, wherein the remote computer is disposed in a network location, wherein the network location is one of i) a VNF on a network slice within a 5G core network, ii) a VNF on a network slice within a 5G edge network, iii) a storage computer communicatively coupled to a network via a mobile communication network, or iv) a computer system communicatively coupled to the network via the mobile communication network, ([0067], “Communication between the controller 410 and the various portions of the cementing unit 200 may be via wired and/or wireless communication means.”; [0092], “The interface circuit 424 may also comprise a communication device, such as a modem or network interface card to facilitate exchange of data with external computing devices via a network (e.g., Ethernet connection, digital subscriber line (DSL), telephone line, coaxial cable, cellular telephone system, satellite, etc.)”; Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 17, Urdaneta’736, Urdaneta ‘569 and Roberts teach the limitations of Claim 16.
Urdaneta‘736 teaches, wherein the network location comprises a database, a storage device, the remote computer, a virtual network function, or combination thereof ([0090], “The controller 410 may be or comprise, for example, one or more processors, special-purpose computing devices, servers, personal computers, personal digital assistant (PDA) devices, smartphones, internet appliances, and/or other types of computing devices,”; [0092], “The interface circuit 424 may also comprise a communication device, such as a modem or network interface card to facilitate exchange of data with external computing devices via a network (e.g., Ethernet connection, digital subscriber line (DSL), telephone line, coaxial cable, cellular telephone system, satellite, etc.)”; Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 18, Urdaneta’736, Urdaneta ‘569 and Roberts teach the limitations of Claim 7.
Urdaneta ‘736 does not teach wherein the indicia of health comprise a visual cue, and audible cue, or both.
Urdaneta ‘569 teaches, wherein the indicia of health comprises a visual cue, and audible cue, or both (Fig.5, [0089], “The controller 310 may also generate warnings (i.e., an indicia) based on comparisons between the health profile of the selected component of the logged pump assembly and the normalized cepstrum amplitude ratio(s) of the selected component of the subsequent pump assembly, such as when the normalized cepstrum amplitude ratio of the selected component of the subsequent pump assembly reaches and/or surpasses warning levels (such as the above described Very Low, Low, Medium, High, and Very High Warnings) that were predetermined based on the health profile” where “The controller 310 may cause the display (i.e., visual indicia) of the health profile of a selected component of the logged pump assembly” [0089]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the indicia cue described in Urdaneta ‘569 to the wellbore servicing method described Urdaneta ‘736 for the purpose of alerting the system and user when there is a detection of erosion or wear that can come from high pressures and abrasive properties of certain fluids on the sealing components or other portions of the pumps. This is advantageous because such defects are often detected late, resulting in pump failures during pumping operations and/or severe damage to the pumps and other equipment. Interruptions during pumping operations may reduce the efficiency of the pumping operations, and lead to reduced production, (e.g., [0003], Urdaneta ‘569).
Regarding Claim 19, Urdaneta’736, Urdaneta ‘569 and Roberts teach the limitations of Claim 1.
Urdaneta‘736 further teaches, the first sensor valve or the second sensor valve comprises a flowrate sensor, a valve position sensors, a tub level sensor, or combinations thereof ([[0053], “include a corresponding actuator and position sensor having the same or similar structure and/or mode of operation as the actuator 229 and the position sensor 230”; [0053], “One or more flow rate sensors 244, 245”; [0039], “Fluid level sensors 211, 213 (i.e., tub level sensor) may be connected or otherwise disposed in association with each of the displacement tanks 210, 212.”; Fig. 2;).
Regarding Claim 20, Urdaneta’736, Urdaneta ‘569 and Roberts teach the limitations of Claim 1.
Urdaneta‘736 further teaches, wherein the wellbore pump unit comprises a mud pump, a cement pumping unit, a blender unit, a water supply unit, or a fracturing pump ([0028], “wellsite system 100 may comprise a cement mixing and pumping unit (i.e., cement pumping unit) 110 (referred to hereinafter as a "cementing unit"; Fig. 1; [0033] “However, it is to be understood that the wellsite system 100 may be operable to mix and/or produce other mixtures and/or fluids that may be mixed by the cementing unit 110 (i.e., blender unit) and injected into the wellbore 104 during other oilfield operations, such as drilling, hydraulic fracturing (i.e., fracturing pump), acidizing, chemical injecting, and/or water jet cutting operations (i.e., water supply unit), among other examples.).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EMMA ALEXANDER/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/Catherine T. Rastovski/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857